Assassin's Creed Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1093 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KeZ.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Riveting story, beautiful graphics, fun gameplay. Assassin's creed masters all 3 aspects of a good game.
  2. HIroP.
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    While repetition is an issue, the game turns out to be very entertaining and likely one of the best games I've played in a long time. Combat controls are fluid and diverse. Not only that, but you're treated to some cinematic "finishing" moves, especially on counterattacks. All this is done without being annoying or taking control away from the character. The diversity of While repetition is an issue, the game turns out to be very entertaining and likely one of the best games I've played in a long time. Combat controls are fluid and diverse. Not only that, but you're treated to some cinematic "finishing" moves, especially on counterattacks. All this is done without being annoying or taking control away from the character. The diversity of objectives leaves a bit to be desires, but each (apart from Eavesdropping, really) presents it's own set of challenges, location not least among them. I wish they had made it possible to complete more of the game with less combat, but it's not intended as a stealth title, really. Expand
  3. AndyM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    I love the assassinations, but I hate having to get to that point.
  4. KimY.
    Apr 19, 2008
    8
    The graphics of the game were amazing, some of the best that i have seen. The scale of the maps were fantastic. The assassination animation was pretty cool. And thats about it that i really enjoyed about this game. The game got really redundant after 3.5 hours. The scripted scenes were incredibly boring. In fact i had no clue what was happening by the end of it because whenever those The graphics of the game were amazing, some of the best that i have seen. The scale of the maps were fantastic. The assassination animation was pretty cool. And thats about it that i really enjoyed about this game. The game got really redundant after 3.5 hours. The scripted scenes were incredibly boring. In fact i had no clue what was happening by the end of it because whenever those scenes occurred I just blanked out or went to do something for the 20 minutes that they ran. The enemy AI are fools who attack one at a time watching their buddies get decapitated or whatever as they flail their swords and arms pretending to attack. overall, I'd prob not want to play through the game again in fear that I may get more bored of it even more. This is a renting game thats what I did and I still got bored in the 2 days that I had it. Expand
  5. BrennanM
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    Really good game, that's for sure. The combat is repetitve halfway through, but so long as you don't try saving every single citizen and stick to doing the bare minimum for the story to progress, the game flows very well and stays fresh, ESPECIALLY the climbing. My god, the climbing. It's absolutely beautiful, every single time you see a brick hanging out, that means Really good game, that's for sure. The combat is repetitve halfway through, but so long as you don't try saving every single citizen and stick to doing the bare minimum for the story to progress, the game flows very well and stays fresh, ESPECIALLY the climbing. My god, the climbing. It's absolutely beautiful, every single time you see a brick hanging out, that means it's grab-able. The Leaps of Faith from tall points are breathtaking, and I honestly cannot get enough. The game, when doing bare bones minimum (less achievements, but still get all the story), takes 10-15 hours, and my goodness, is it a good 10-15 hours. Expand
  6. JohnP
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    This game is the creme of the crop in terms of graphics. Try perching on top of a Mosque spire and looking at the beautiful world below. If you have an awesome PC, I recommend looking at the Windows version and its godly graphics. The game play is tedious overall, but amazingly fun. Its a bit like Morrowind and Grand Theft Auto toned down a lot, but leaving the sandbox atmosphere of both This game is the creme of the crop in terms of graphics. Try perching on top of a Mosque spire and looking at the beautiful world below. If you have an awesome PC, I recommend looking at the Windows version and its godly graphics. The game play is tedious overall, but amazingly fun. Its a bit like Morrowind and Grand Theft Auto toned down a lot, but leaving the sandbox atmosphere of both games in it. Shanking guards, free running through medieval Jerusalem, or actually playing the game, Assassin's Creed is a very delightful game for those that enjoy a good long game. Expand
  7. ShaunaM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Sneak kill! OH YEAH! As an assassin, I expect to have an arsenal at my disposal that fits the theme of what I do...assassinate. I also expect to have the skills and moves in the game to utilize my character in a way that's...well...assassin-like. I also want to feel like an assassin as I sneak up on my prey and take him out quietly, avoiding alerting the guards and people of the Sneak kill! OH YEAH! As an assassin, I expect to have an arsenal at my disposal that fits the theme of what I do...assassinate. I also expect to have the skills and moves in the game to utilize my character in a way that's...well...assassin-like. I also want to feel like an assassin as I sneak up on my prey and take him out quietly, avoiding alerting the guards and people of the city. And when things go bad, I want to be able to tear it up and fully assault my opposition. This game has all of that and more, I've never felt this close to the character in a game of this type. This may be the best thing since the Thief series, but even better because it's made for next-gen and LOOKS it. That's the other thing, this game looks and plays very well. It's a game I would recommend to anyone. Expand
  8. GrapeApe
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Best musical score of the year. I
  9. RobertP.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Amazing game overall, with a good story, tight controls, stunning visuals and animations, and addictive gameplay. This is easily the Game of The Year.
  10. TerryM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Crowd control! Why has none of the reviewers talked about the crowd interaction in this game? OMFG, it
  11. CodyB.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I agree with the gametrailers and game informer reviews. I think it is an innovative game a deffinately worth buying. The only complaints are the camera can get clunky at times and, yes, the A.I. is idiotic at times but the game play is engaging and the story is what truly makes this game. I am hooked. As far as the repitition. EVERY GAME IS REPITITIOUS!!! There is nothing wrong with this I agree with the gametrailers and game informer reviews. I think it is an innovative game a deffinately worth buying. The only complaints are the camera can get clunky at times and, yes, the A.I. is idiotic at times but the game play is engaging and the story is what truly makes this game. I am hooked. As far as the repitition. EVERY GAME IS REPITITIOUS!!! There is nothing wrong with this game when it comes to that area. The desire to know what happens next in the story overshadows the repitition and should make every other developer feel like they need to step it up. Expand
  12. MarkM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    With a little more refinement, Altair could be Ubisoft's Master Chief. Assassins Creed is (hopefully) the beginning of a great new franchise. Impeccable art direction and (almost) sandbox freedom make Assassin's Creed a must buy. Beautiful, exhilarating, and a twist that rivals the best thrillers, Assassins Creed is a landmark game for the new gen of consoles. Sorry Wii. This With a little more refinement, Altair could be Ubisoft's Master Chief. Assassins Creed is (hopefully) the beginning of a great new franchise. Impeccable art direction and (almost) sandbox freedom make Assassin's Creed a must buy. Beautiful, exhilarating, and a twist that rivals the best thrillers, Assassins Creed is a landmark game for the new gen of consoles. Sorry Wii. This one's for the big boys. ) Expand
  13. TylerK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    It's fresh and just damn fun to play. It gives you the open ended options of a game like Bethesda's Oblivion with a bit more direction - you don't necessarily have to explore everything and do all side quests, but they're there if you want to.
  14. J.McUbermensch
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I understand the reasons why some don't like this game but it is what you make it. If you do ever job the same way then, yes, it will get rather ho hum but if you take your time and change it up a little then it is quite fun.
  15. DanN.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    This game is absolutley amazing. Yeah it does get a bit repetative, but what game doesn't. In the long run, the stoy is good, the visuals are gorgeous , and the controls are actually pretty intuitive once you give them a chance. I would have to say a must own on 360 and I pray they make a sequel.
  16. JoeS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    It was a good game, a little too short however.
  17. Anonymous
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Very driving game at first. Damascus is probably my favorite game level of all time. Although, after 12 hours or so, the game just falls from grace, and keeps falling. Word to the wise, to keep this game great: Only play 3-4 hours a day, to keep yourselves from tiring of it... Because once it starts feeling repetitive, it stays repetitive.
  18. MarkT
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Fabulous game - only drops a point when compared to the genius of COD 4's story telling. But complaints about repetition notwithstanding, the thrill of the chase after a good assassination is fantastic.. the environments are beautiful, animation gorgeous, and unless you like nothing but twitching, AC's mini-games are very fun. So... Muslim assassin-hero chasing Christians fromFabulous game - only drops a point when compared to the genius of COD 4's story telling. But complaints about repetition notwithstanding, the thrill of the chase after a good assassination is fantastic.. the environments are beautiful, animation gorgeous, and unless you like nothing but twitching, AC's mini-games are very fun. So... Muslim assassin-hero chasing Christians from the Holy Land? Interesting concept! Expand
  19. JeffA.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Some of the negative reviews complain the game is too long and repetative. Most videogames are repetative so that's a mute point. As for the game being long, some reviewers complain when a game is too short. Assassin's Creed is great game and should not be missed. Some of the lower scoring reviews must be reviewers trying to make a name for themselves or get attention. Some of the negative reviews complain the game is too long and repetative. Most videogames are repetative so that's a mute point. As for the game being long, some reviewers complain when a game is too short. Assassin's Creed is great game and should not be missed. Some of the lower scoring reviews must be reviewers trying to make a name for themselves or get attention. Assassin's Creed tries to do something different where the safe thing to do is make a cookie cutter type game. Assassin's Creed not only tries to be different, it does it very well. Expand
  20. paulanderson
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    look at the magazine reviews above and look here for the REAL reviews...you know what i mean? we the people, the real gamers decide if this game is good or bad, not the so called critics. main bad word flowing around is that this game is repetative...yeah, and?...thats the idea, when you have a great idea and deliverance, you repeat that...what do they expect? one minute you are anlook at the magazine reviews above and look here for the REAL reviews...you know what i mean? we the people, the real gamers decide if this game is good or bad, not the so called critics. main bad word flowing around is that this game is repetative...yeah, and?...thats the idea, when you have a great idea and deliverance, you repeat that...what do they expect? one minute you are an assassin and next minute its mario brothers? it makes sense to me the game repeats itself..look at games that doesnt, like the all famous bond games...inorder to break repetition they put in off the wall car chases and stupid things like that which makes the experience more like a game, and less like real life. this assassin dude does one thing, he assassinates...period. you collect info, you go bust the target...simple, beautiful, modern...next frickin gen. Expand
  21. RyanC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Great, Really fun, but the investigation gets overly-repetitive. Also, an option to 'fast-forward' to the cities would be nice. I hate riding to the cities.
  22. John
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Altair is one of the best characters ever developed. Who else jumps off of 300 foot tall Church steeples into bails of hay? That being said, this game is absolute perfection. I bought Assassin's Creed the day it came out, and the second I started playing it I wished I had been an assassin during the crusades. The interactive environment and fighting system were ridiculously good and IAltair is one of the best characters ever developed. Who else jumps off of 300 foot tall Church steeples into bails of hay? That being said, this game is absolute perfection. I bought Assassin's Creed the day it came out, and the second I started playing it I wished I had been an assassin during the crusades. The interactive environment and fighting system were ridiculously good and I have never played anything that comes close to this game. All the critics hating on the repetition of the investigations and poor storyline development need to look at the bigger picture. I'll put this simply. Assassin + swords + knives + concealed throat cutting blade = awesome. Expand
  23. RobP.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Lots of fun glad i got it over COD4, agreed that its a really nice break from shooters. I love the combat and hence repeating it is very satisfying. Not to mention great free running and graphics. In response to Johnny, have you ever played a video game? 'doing exactly what the makers intended to do' is exactly why there are people that make games... they make fun things to do. Lots of fun glad i got it over COD4, agreed that its a really nice break from shooters. I love the combat and hence repeating it is very satisfying. Not to mention great free running and graphics. In response to Johnny, have you ever played a video game? 'doing exactly what the makers intended to do' is exactly why there are people that make games... they make fun things to do. If you don't want to do what the makers intended then draw a picture or something. This game doesn't even deserve a 7 rating let alone a zero. Expand
  24. LiamG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I've never played a game as addictive and compelling as Assassin's Creed. I'm a casual gamer, and most games i buy get a few hours play then are put on the shelf - I've got 30 or so 360 games and not completed a single one, but this one i've been playing every single second that i can, and it will definitely be my first 100% title!
  25. HS
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing, the key to getting the most out of the game is not to rush around the place but ake things slowly and explore, then the game truly becomes excellent.
  26. JohnnyQ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    What a challenge. Assasin
  27. NickV.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    THE GOOD THINGS: Visuals: Best looking game I've seen to date, with great character animations, sprawling cities and quality lighting effects. Controls: The game controls great. It's easy and intuitive, with only swordfighting requiring a bit of practice. Storyline: This seems to be one of the key issues with reviewers. Frankly, I feel the dual storylines has been very engaging, THE GOOD THINGS: Visuals: Best looking game I've seen to date, with great character animations, sprawling cities and quality lighting effects. Controls: The game controls great. It's easy and intuitive, with only swordfighting requiring a bit of practice. Storyline: This seems to be one of the key issues with reviewers. Frankly, I feel the dual storylines has been very engaging, and if you don't rush the game, you can get really immersed in the plot. THE BAD THINGS: Details: Really, Ubisoft only failed in the details of this game. First and foremost is that there isn't much variety in dialogue out of the main quest lines, especially in regards to civilians and guards around the city. You'll hear a lot of comments over and over again. Repetition: This is the 2nd big issue reviewers seemed to have, and while it definitely could have used a bit more variety, isn't close to as bad as some might have you believe. I guess it's point of view. But I fail to see how this game gets the stigma of being repetitious, when FPS's (as in shoot-run-hide-repeat every 10 seconds) rarely seem to be branded as such. Overall, this is a 9.5 game, and just misses the perfect mark because of some details that could have used tweaking. Expand
  28. PhilipV.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Very fun,open-ended,and stealthy;what is there NOT to love? (Besides the fact of repetitive side-missions...).
  29. TomE.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    One word to describe this game... WOW!!! This is a great experience. Ubisoft Montreal (Prince of Persia, Splinter Cell, Rainbow 6) is the team behind this outstanding title. The open level design is visually stunning and the puppet system for directing the main character is probably the best aspect of the game. As you progress through the game you gain or "regain" weapons and skills. This One word to describe this game... WOW!!! This is a great experience. Ubisoft Montreal (Prince of Persia, Splinter Cell, Rainbow 6) is the team behind this outstanding title. The open level design is visually stunning and the puppet system for directing the main character is probably the best aspect of the game. As you progress through the game you gain or "regain" weapons and skills. This is where the control system comes back into play. The subtle ability to counter and attack during combat is one of the most rewarding aspects of the game. Time it just right and you unleash an animation sequence that is impressive and different a majority of times it is activated. You have the ability to choose your objectives and the order you want to complete them. You have a vast kingdom to explore and many side quests are available if you have the time. The visuals and open world presentation are what truly sets this apart from other titles. Expand
  30. Max
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Story mode is great and graphics are amazing but the replay value is crappy. I made the mistake of buying this game but it is most definitely worth a rent.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.