User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 931 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 931

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2010
    4
    Very well done in terms of the world size and the free running. Interesting way to tell a story also. Unfortunately the entire game is so insanely repetitive that I couldn't even finish. I literally was sick to my stomach from doing the same thing over and over again. You basicly repeat the same mission the entire game.
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    6
    A hit and miss game. Though the free roam platforming is absolutely brilliant, the rest of the game is really repetitive. The story can be a engaging at points but for most of the time, it is really boring. Being an assassin is really awesome. For the first hour. After that, it becomes very repetitive and assassinating people becomes less satisfying and only done out of boredom. Even withA hit and miss game. Though the free roam platforming is absolutely brilliant, the rest of the game is really repetitive. The story can be a engaging at points but for most of the time, it is really boring. Being an assassin is really awesome. For the first hour. After that, it becomes very repetitive and assassinating people becomes less satisfying and only done out of boredom. Even with the negativity, I suggest to give this game a small try. Collapse
  3. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    This is without doubt the WORST game I have ever played. It is so pathetic it is beyond a joke. The graphics are abysmal, the controls stink and the padded out gameplay is as repetative as heck. This is nothing but a 1 level repeated ad infinitum padded out repetative as heck beta tech demo. I played it for 3 hours ( 1/12 hours not counting the unskippable cutscenes ) and I was boredThis is without doubt the WORST game I have ever played. It is so pathetic it is beyond a joke. The graphics are abysmal, the controls stink and the padded out gameplay is as repetative as heck. This is nothing but a 1 level repeated ad infinitum padded out repetative as heck beta tech demo. I played it for 3 hours ( 1/12 hours not counting the unskippable cutscenes ) and I was bored senseless. How this game got the reviews that it did I shall never know. I bet they were paid by Ubisoft to give those high scores because they knew they had made a crapfeast of a game.

    Lets look at it one by one shall we:

    Controls - what controls? The controls were the worst I have ever seen in gaming. My hand was aching after trying a couple of moves.

    Graphics - Worst I have ever seen. Biege biege biege with more biege and some biege on the side. Bland boring and horrible.

    Gameplay - What blooming gameplay there wasn't any. Evesdrop, pickpocket, blend, climb walls, collect flags ride horse rinse repeat ad infinitum.

    Story - what blooming story? There wasn't any. Some sci-fi junk about some bartender bieng an assassin in a previous life and that the human genome has memory! Do me a favour. Worst story ever.

    Voice acting - Terrible! you could tell that even the voice actors thought it was a dire script and were only there for the money.

    Overall worst game ever. How this disaster got the reviews that it did and 2 sequels I shall never know. Ubisoft wouldn't know how to make a game if it came up and bit it's face.

    STAY AWAY.
    Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    A true joy of originality for the first few hours, but past that, you'll soon begin to feel the repetitive nature of the gameplay grinding against your brain with every second of play, coupled with a fairly standard plot that doesn't really answer any questions at all paving the way for a sequel, but not in a good way. If you can get past that, a beautiful interpretation of 12th centuryA true joy of originality for the first few hours, but past that, you'll soon begin to feel the repetitive nature of the gameplay grinding against your brain with every second of play, coupled with a fairly standard plot that doesn't really answer any questions at all paving the way for a sequel, but not in a good way. If you can get past that, a beautiful interpretation of 12th century holy land with an astonishing amount of detail, a very suiting soundtrack coupled with some truly awe-insiring moments (synchronising at the peek of the tallest tower in Jerusalem, :O OH MY GOD, BONER-TIME). The combat is intuitive but leaves much to be desired, the actual assassination bits had a lot of potential but amount to no more than drawn out sword fights with multiple guards + your target no matter how well you plot them. The free-running, however, which essentially allows you to kick back and simply direct Altair across the many rooftops with simple ease, is among the greatest inventions in gaming history, and it makes sense, how many rooftops are there in Assassin's Creed, thousands you say? Well I don't want to press "jump" every **** time I jump from rooftop to rooftop, so in short, Ubisoft, I love you :D All in all, Assassin's Creed is a brilliant premise, if Ubisoft can tweak the gameplay so it isn't so monotonous, give a bit of spice and variety to the pre-assassination "intel-gathering" missions and spice up the plot dramatically, then Assassin's Creed II could be one of the greatest games ever made, fingers crossed b!tches Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2010
    5
    its certinly looks preatty and controls very well but thats about it . the gameplay gets repititive really fast . you basically do the same thing over and over again with little feeling of any variation between missions . theres no custimisation on your charicters wepons and gear or look . its just this huge world with nothing really that fun to do. you can look for flags in citys...its certinly looks preatty and controls very well but thats about it . the gameplay gets repititive really fast . you basically do the same thing over and over again with little feeling of any variation between missions . theres no custimisation on your charicters wepons and gear or look . its just this huge world with nothing really that fun to do. you can look for flags in citys... whoopie just what i want to do in a game play hide and go seek ... this game was very overhyped . the story was pretty entertaining but the boringness in the missions made it hard to push through. thankfully the sequel was much much better. if you have never played the assassin's creed games the second one is deffinitly worth playing id say just rent this one so you can get more of the story. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    Poor and repetitive mission objectives, A confusing story, and no replay value take a huge chunk out of the value of this game. While it has a ton of promise, This game sucks.
  7. Oct 30, 2010
    7
    I'm going to start out this review by saying that Assassin's Creed is an extremely popular game, and one of my favorite games that I own. It also has some very obvious flaws. Missions get boring fairly quickly because of the lack of variety, which is something that every open-world game needs to have. But besides that, everything about this game is executed very well. Assassin's creed isI'm going to start out this review by saying that Assassin's Creed is an extremely popular game, and one of my favorite games that I own. It also has some very obvious flaws. Missions get boring fairly quickly because of the lack of variety, which is something that every open-world game needs to have. But besides that, everything about this game is executed very well. Assassin's creed is set in the Middle East during the Crusades. Basically, you play as an assassin named Altair and go on missions to kill people. The way you do it is that you go to a town, and try to gather information on your target, and then plan a way to strike. However, that's pretty much all you do in the entire game. And believe me, it gets boring after a while. This is not a game like Fallout 3 that you can play for hours at a time and not run into repetition. You should probably take a break and do something else after each mission. Another small gripe I have is with the cutscenes. There are long sequences of dialogue between Altair and the other characters at regular intervals, in which the player can do nothing but pace around in circles like an idiot. The dialogue itself reminds me of boring conversations between the elderly, so you probably won't listen to most of it the first time. The story is actually pretty good if you learn to tolerate the long-winded cutscenes. But the voice acting is a mixed bag. I thought that it was very good, but some people might be put off by the fact that Altair speaks in an American accent. But personally, I thought it was a good decision by Ubisoft to do this, because Altair's background is mostly unknown. Some people may disagree though. However, there are several areas in which this game exceeds. The acrobatics are very fun to perform. It is an absolute blast to watch Altair run, leap and climb across the rooftops. The combat, although limited, can be fast paced and fun if you play it right. The main assassinations are brilliantly designed for the most part, although many of them have fairly long cutscenes to go with them. But like I said, this is a small problem. Assassin's Creed is an amazing game in my opinion, but it's not for everyone. I recommend it to anyone that likes good games and has a good amount of patience. Expand
  8. Mar 9, 2011
    3
    Assassin's Creed starts out very promising, but ultimately disappoints. At first, you think you're embarking on what looks to be an engrossing, open-ended, fantastically rendered epic. Quickly, however, you realize that this adventure consists of doing the exact. same. thing. over and over and over again. Now, the same can be said about any open-ended game, to an extent. In Oblivion,Assassin's Creed starts out very promising, but ultimately disappoints. At first, you think you're embarking on what looks to be an engrossing, open-ended, fantastically rendered epic. Quickly, however, you realize that this adventure consists of doing the exact. same. thing. over and over and over again. Now, the same can be said about any open-ended game, to an extent. In Oblivion, Fallout, Mass Effect, etc., the missions all follow the same general arch, but they are least make the missions look and feel different. In Assassin's Creed, there is literally no variation in the actual tasks you have to accomplish in order to complete each mission. If you've done one mission, you've done them all. The game does have some fun elements, to be sure. Stealth kills never get old, nor do Leaps of Faith. But you simply can't play the game for extended periods of time without feeling like you're treading water, even if you're making significant progress. It gets boring fairly quickly, unless you are an achievement-driven completionist who lives for scouring every inch of the a game world for obscure and hidden objects. Expand
  9. May 9, 2011
    3
    I was so looking forward to this game.Interesting lead character & setting,Good graphics,Mingling with the crowds,& Prince of Persia style free running.. What a disappointment though.. The more i saw of the game before release,the more i could sense something wasnt right with it.The odd targetting system,& the Matrix style glitch effects.My fears were all confirmed from what i heard whenI was so looking forward to this game.Interesting lead character & setting,Good graphics,Mingling with the crowds,& Prince of Persia style free running.. What a disappointment though.. The more i saw of the game before release,the more i could sense something wasnt right with it.The odd targetting system,& the Matrix style glitch effects.My fears were all confirmed from what i heard when the game was released.The game wasnt set during the crusades at all! No,the developers felt the need to create this whole pretentious,self satisfying concept that your playing this character 'Desmond'?! in the near future,& your plugged intoi this machine that lets you access 'memories' that are in your head,due to you being their ancestor.I'm sorry? what!!? one word.Why? The developers are trying to be too clever for they're own good i think,but all that nonsense seems so unnesassary & pointless.All it serves to do,is distance yourself from the historical setting,as your not actually in it,but re-living it.I was so disgusted by this design decision with the game,that i didnt buy it for the longest time,& when i did,it was only because i was able to pick it up next to nothing second hand.& even then,because the combat system & setting interested me.But even then,i just couldnt get past the whole ridiculus Animus/Desmond concept.It just bought the whole experience literally down..& i cant believe they're still including it in subsuquent titles.Even if i was able to get past that aspect,i was suprised to find that the game was totally repetitive,doing exactly the same things literally over & over & over again.. Great Combat mechanics(one of the best i've seen in fact,which is why i didnt rate it lower),Shame about the game(& Desmond)! Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    Assassin's Creed is one of my favourite franchises of all time, but the first one was probably the worst in the series. Whilst the story and characters were very imaginative and original, the missions were very dull and repetitive, and so my main objectives in the game were to view the amazing scenery created by Ubisoft. However, the introduction of the free running style game-play wasAssassin's Creed is one of my favourite franchises of all time, but the first one was probably the worst in the series. Whilst the story and characters were very imaginative and original, the missions were very dull and repetitive, and so my main objectives in the game were to view the amazing scenery created by Ubisoft. However, the introduction of the free running style game-play was very good and therefore attracted me to begin following the sequel, as it could only improve from here. Expand
  11. Jan 16, 2013
    5
    Assassins Creed is a third person adventure game that can be most closely compared to 'The Prince of Persia' trilogy minus the rewinding of time and with more focus on combat. Despite being released in 2007 it still stands up to any title on the XBox360 in terms of graphics and the controls are very well designed with acrobatic moves and combat easy to pick up.

    The game itself is split
    Assassins Creed is a third person adventure game that can be most closely compared to 'The Prince of Persia' trilogy minus the rewinding of time and with more focus on combat. Despite being released in 2007 it still stands up to any title on the XBox360 in terms of graphics and the controls are very well designed with acrobatic moves and combat easy to pick up.

    The game itself is split into chapters, each tasking you with eliminating a given target. Before you can do this however you must complete one of three basic mission types to gather info on their location and any potential weaknesses. Unfortunately however the gameplay changes very little from the first mission to the last and with a playing time of around 15 hours it becomes rather repetitive. When you find yourself rescuing a citizen being picked on by guards for the 30th time it is easy to lose interest, particular since the storyline is not particularly strong.

    For less than a tenner I would certainly recommend 'Assassins Creed' although you may find it difficult to play the game all the way to the end.
    Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    I understand that this is the first game in the series, and haven't played the other ones. But this game feels more like a demo than a finished product. Repetitive missions, confusing story, lack of content other than hundreds of flags (collectibles). Combat is repetitive too. Even if you don't abuse counter-hitting, it's still boring. The initial concept isn't bad though, but I'd avoidI understand that this is the first game in the series, and haven't played the other ones. But this game feels more like a demo than a finished product. Repetitive missions, confusing story, lack of content other than hundreds of flags (collectibles). Combat is repetitive too. Even if you don't abuse counter-hitting, it's still boring. The initial concept isn't bad though, but I'd avoid this game when you can buy the later ones, which are apparently better. As an experience though, this was actually better than, say, Batman Arkham Asylum despite being released 2 years easrlier and being worse in every possible way. The soundtrack, composed by Jesper Kyd- is outstanding as it is with Hitman games. Overall the game's strong points are that it isn't broken or frustrating in any way but the collectibles and missions aren't varied enough. Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Many people love this franchise but I must be completely honest. Rarely have I been so bored by a game in my life. I played for a couple hours, marveled at its beauty, then put it away. While that may seem unfair for a review, if a $60 game can't keep my attention for for more than 2 hours I find that equally unfair.
  14. Dec 29, 2011
    1
    This game gets 1 point for stunning graphics it is without a doubt the most boring game I've ever played being so repetitive i couldn't finish it because i was afraid of suicide never got to the second one because i would want to understand the story F*** Assassin's Creed
  15. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    The first few hours our alright in this game then it send you to do the exact same thing over and over and over again. You can save civilians and climb towers for bars of health, but after you max it out it becomes pointless to do. Sorry but I forced myself to complete this and after completing it, its one of the most boring games I have played in my entire life. Assassin's Creed 2.0/10
  16. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed is a beautifully detailed, smooth operating, engrossing game that suffers from one glaring fault, repetition. The number of times you must save a harassed citizen is a product of a design team that had to work on all kinds of function and scenery, and than had little time left over to fill the game with missions. The other annoyance to a game that is supposed to favorAssassin's Creed is a beautifully detailed, smooth operating, engrossing game that suffers from one glaring fault, repetition. The number of times you must save a harassed citizen is a product of a design team that had to work on all kinds of function and scenery, and than had little time left over to fill the game with missions. The other annoyance to a game that is supposed to favor stealth and assassin techniques is the constant large scale unavoidable fights the later assassinations produce. I'm sorry, my character is the worst assassin ever if he constantly just walks into a crowd of soldiers.
    Great game mechanics and wonderful detailing largely overcome second rate missions.
    Expand
  17. Cuz
    Jul 30, 2012
    8
    Just now playing this for the first time because of a Steam sale on the series. This is a half-hearted console port but playing with an XBOX controller made it work. The graphics look great given the age of the game and I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the cities. It does get repetitive so not really something you want to sit down and play for hours. I played it over a fewJust now playing this for the first time because of a Steam sale on the series. This is a half-hearted console port but playing with an XBOX controller made it work. The graphics look great given the age of the game and I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the cities. It does get repetitive so not really something you want to sit down and play for hours. I played it over a few weeks just getting in a mission here and there, about 20 hours of total gameplay not finding every flag. I'm giving it an 8 for the quality of the world and story, I very much enjoyed it in spite of the flaws. Expand
  18. May 27, 2012
    5
    I wanted to like this game, but it was a pretty bad game. So repetitive and boring. I beat it just to see it to the end, but i wish i didnt :( thats how bad it was. Great graphics cant save a game i guess.
  19. Aug 15, 2013
    4
    The gameplay mechanics were great and one of the first examples of fluid free running mechanics. The world was a glorious scale and detail however the game was hindered by one of the most cripplingly linear and repetitive storylines. It's redeeming grace is it paved the way for some truly breathtaking sequels.
  20. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Assassin's Creed is a great game and a must have any action/adventure gamer. Pros:

    Exploration: One of the highlights of the game is exploration. You can go anywhere, climb any building and ride a horse in any feild. In between locations is huge country and mountain side for you to explore or wreck havoc. The citites are huge and very enjoyable to search the place for nook and cranny.
    Assassin's Creed is a great game and a must have any action/adventure gamer. Pros:

    Exploration: One of the highlights of the game is exploration. You can go anywhere, climb any building and ride a horse in any feild. In between locations is huge country and mountain side for you to explore or wreck havoc. The citites are huge and very enjoyable to search the place for nook and cranny.

    Gameplay: The gameplay is very cool. There are no levels just assassination contracts. You could do them stealthly or all out swords.

    Grpahics: Graphics make use of the X-Box egine and is very detailed. The cities don't look generic but has a style of their own. Voice Acting/Plot: The voice acting is great and the plot is straight thriller satutes giving twist and turns.

    Cons:

    Combat: While the combat is very cool, you only get three different kind weapons. The Hidden Blade, a sword and a small dagger. Each weapon has a unique set of moves but their the same for the enitre game. Never improving and no unlockables.

    Weapons: There is no weapons system no upgrades for weapons except for damage. It would be cool to get other weapons.

    Minor Tecnical Glitches: There minor ones, when Altair goes on the view points his cape goes through the floorboards. Enemy AI can get stupid sometimes and you can lose them sometimes too quickly.

    Overall Consensus: AC's combat system is reaptive but it still provide thrills and a good refreshing entry into the action genre. 90%
    Expand
  21. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    I really enjoyed this game; the ability to climb on nearly every building in several city and rural locations is both a brilliant idea and extremely well executed. The graphics are very impressive, especially when you look over the city from a viewpoint, and I found the story to be interesting to the end, with the sci-fi twist that I was not expecting. The gameplay is fun too, despite aI really enjoyed this game; the ability to climb on nearly every building in several city and rural locations is both a brilliant idea and extremely well executed. The graphics are very impressive, especially when you look over the city from a viewpoint, and I found the story to be interesting to the end, with the sci-fi twist that I was not expecting. The gameplay is fun too, despite a lack in variation of missions, the fun you can get just sneaking around stealth killing guards and civilians is unmatched by any other game, and there are tons of collectibles to found from viewpoints, to flags, to templars to assassinate. If you haven't had a go at the AC series yet, I recommend you play this one. Expand
  22. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    Somewhat repetitive game play and missions, but the visuals and imaginative story line make for an enjoyable experience. The flag collecting felt dated, but makes for some each gamerscore accumulation
  23. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    lets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society then andlets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society then and thru history, including the assassin's who are the "good" guys who are trying to stop the templars. It gets deeper, but i don't want to ruin it for you. Also the setting is amazing! the detail that goes into the architecture is quite stunning, and there are three cities that the assassinations take place (Acre, Jerusalem and Damascus). CONS:( it can be very slow sometimes, it takes a measure of patience to play this game. What makes it slow is that you have to ride everywhere, walk (or climb) around the huge cities to get somewhere. another con is that even tho the detail that went into making the cities is amazing, its bland. What i mean is, is there is not a lot of color, for instance Acre is a cool, dark medieval city, and thats it. the weather is always overcast, then Damascus is like a desert town full of browns and oranges for coloring. Also i wish they would have put in weather affects, its an open world and i would have liked at least a night and day cycle. Another thing i wish was just a bit different is combat, now its satisfying when you counterattack and shove your sword thru someone's gut, but its slow attacking first is like hitting with the slowest attack you can throw at him, quite annoying after awhile. I give it an 8.2 out of 10. For stunning visuals and sound+
    Amazing story+
    Drags on during some parts-
    Combat is slow, but counterattacks are nice-
    Expand
  24. Mar 14, 2011
    7
    Ubisoft has created another unique game, the graphics do show a little age now but it's easy to see that it was at the top of the visual pile when it came out, and the sound is great, the controls are great but do take some getting used too, and the story will suck you and will have you trying to go through all the dialog with Lucy and looking for other secrets to find out what's going on,Ubisoft has created another unique game, the graphics do show a little age now but it's easy to see that it was at the top of the visual pile when it came out, and the sound is great, the controls are great but do take some getting used too, and the story will suck you and will have you trying to go through all the dialog with Lucy and looking for other secrets to find out what's going on, but the problems with this is that it gets extremely repetitive, the combat isn't much fun, and the plat-forming borrows from Ubisoft's other game series Prince of Persia but is no where near as fun, if your looking for a unique game that has a fantastic story look no further but keep in mind it gets really boring at times. Expand
  25. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    I picked this game up 2012 and i wasn't expecting it to be anything special. Once i started playing it and realized it came out in 2007 i was blown away, the smoothness of movement, interesting plot in "present." The game was flawed in many ways, the combat got very repetitive, the information mission were pretty repetituos and the random detections by the soldiers were really annoying.I picked this game up 2012 and i wasn't expecting it to be anything special. Once i started playing it and realized it came out in 2007 i was blown away, the smoothness of movement, interesting plot in "present." The game was flawed in many ways, the combat got very repetitive, the information mission were pretty repetituos and the random detections by the soldiers were really annoying.

    What AC did right was capture annoying beggars and the "disturbed" though the beggars sometimes shoved you and therefore soldiers would detect you. The smoothness of movement was really great, you really didn't jump where you didn't want to, which is much better than as example in Prince of Persia: Forgotten Sands. You also have to give credit to the player involvement in cut scenes/dialogue, the player was rarely cut off from the game watching a cut scene, instead what they added was a "memory error" a little interactive camera angle switch which kept the player aware. The only place where i felt the player was stripped of his control was finishers, i would have loved to actually get to press each move myself and not watch my guy just roll a certain animation in a canned film manner.

    Overall, AC was a entertaining package with its repetitiveness and solid game play.
    Expand
  26. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    1.
    1. lets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society
    1.
    1. lets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society then and thru history, including the assassin's who are the "good" guys who are trying to stop the templars. It gets deeper, but i don't want to ruin it for you. Also the setting is amazing! the detail that goes into the architecture is quite stunning, and there are three cities that the assassinations take place (Acre, Jerusalem and Damascus). CONS:( it can be very slow sometimes, it takes a measure of patience to play this game. What makes it slow is that you have to ride everywhere, walk (or climb) around the huge cities to get somewhere. another con is that even tho the detail that went into making the cities is amazing, its bland. What i mean is, is there is not a lot of color, for instance Acre is a cool, dark medieval city, and thats it. the weather is always overcast, then Damascus is like a desert town full of browns and oranges for coloring. Also i wish they would have put in weather affects, its an open world and i would have liked at least a night and day cycle. Another thing i wish was just a bit different is combat, now its satisfying when you counterattack and shove your sword thru someone's gut, but its slow attacking first is like hitting with the slowest attack you can throw at him, quite annoying after awhile. I give it an 8.2 out of 10. For stunning visuals and sound+ Amazing story+ Drags on during some parts- Combat is slow, but counterattacks are nice-
    Expand
  27. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    I loved the story and it played so well. It's kinda of a little bit too easy though. The original does not compare to AC: Brotherhood, but it might be better than AC2.
  28. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    I had long dreamed of having an Assassin Creed's game, but it was only until now that I had a chance to buy one. I decided to start from the first one and here I am doing a review, consisting of my thoughts about half-way into the game.

    Gameplay is great all-around, but the fact is that it gets repetitive really quickly. Basically, for the bulk of the game, you have to go to one of the
    I had long dreamed of having an Assassin Creed's game, but it was only until now that I had a chance to buy one. I decided to start from the first one and here I am doing a review, consisting of my thoughts about half-way into the game.

    Gameplay is great all-around, but the fact is that it gets repetitive really quickly. Basically, for the bulk of the game, you have to go to one of the cities, investigate the area through pickpocketing, eavesdropping, interrogating and so on. After gaining enough info about a target, you get to kill the dude. The whole process is fun for two or three times, but becomes extremely tedious and annoying when you realise you have to do this for around 10 times for the whole game. Visiting view points and saving citizens becomes a chore and adds to the frustration. Also, the inclusion of flag-collecting serves no more than an achievement-oriented item. By the time you finish the story, there is absolutely minimal motivation in letting you replaying the game to collect the random collectables.

    Story-wise, the plot starts off promisingly but similar to the gameplay, it seems to lose it's direction and sense of progression afterwards. The whole plot seems to disappear in the middle part of the game as you just hunt down targets one by one, without any sort of twist or surprise in the story. The lack of subtitles is downright weird for a game with so many cutscenes and dialogues, which not only makes people hard to follow what they're talking about, but also deters people from becoming engaged in the story.

    Bearing in mind this was a 2007 game, the graphics are fantastic even when playing in the year 2012. The stunning graphics is what glues the game together, otherwise no one would be bothered to leap around the city and scale towers again and again. The views of the cities from up-top is fantastic and the kills are made to look rewarding.

    In conclusion, the core gameplay is excellent with great combat and free-running mechanics. It is visually breathtaking and dialogue/sounds are decent. However, it's biggest flaw is repetitiveness. If the game was 3-hours long, this would have been rated a 9 or even 9.5, but unfortunately it is not. The lack of replayablity, along with repetitiveness, means it downgrades an excellent game into a good game.
    Expand
  29. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    Before I played Assassin's Creed i thought that it was going to be a cool game but wow they just blew me out of the water. I love so much about this game that it's difficult to even begin how amazing it is. That being said that there are a few flaws that detract from the game.
  30. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    Though the missions get repetitive quickly, the sheer joy of stalking your target from the rooftops before sneaking in for a brutal assassination managed to keep me hooked the whole way through. The graphics are absolutely stunning, especially standing at the peak of a tower or church steeple and looking around you. Combat is deceptively simple and not hugely innovative, and it's theThough the missions get repetitive quickly, the sheer joy of stalking your target from the rooftops before sneaking in for a brutal assassination managed to keep me hooked the whole way through. The graphics are absolutely stunning, especially standing at the peak of a tower or church steeple and looking around you. Combat is deceptively simple and not hugely innovative, and it's the assassination feature that will really grab your attention. The storyline is gripping and intelligent and comes together with the rest of the features to create a hugely immersive and impressive title. Expand
  31. Oct 10, 2011
    0
    A hit and miss game. Though the free roam platforming is absolutely brilliant, the rest of the game is really repetitive. The story can be a engaging at points but for most of the time, it is really boring. Being an assassin is really awesome. For the first hour. After that, it becomes very repetitive and assassinating people becomes less satisfying and only done out of boredom. Even withA hit and miss game. Though the free roam platforming is absolutely brilliant, the rest of the game is really repetitive. The story can be a engaging at points but for most of the time, it is really boring. Being an assassin is really awesome. For the first hour. After that, it becomes very repetitive and assassinating people becomes less satisfying and only done out of boredom. Even with the negativity, I suggest to give this game a small try. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.