User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 963 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 963

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HectorS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    No doubt that the visuals are remarkable and the scope of the environment is incredible, but the depth of the game is so poor that I couldn't possibly rate it any higher.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    A true joy of originality for the first few hours, but past that, you'll soon begin to feel the repetitive nature of the gameplay grinding against your brain with every second of play, coupled with a fairly standard plot that doesn't really answer any questions at all paving the way for a sequel, but not in a good way. If you can get past that, a beautiful interpretation of 12th centuryA true joy of originality for the first few hours, but past that, you'll soon begin to feel the repetitive nature of the gameplay grinding against your brain with every second of play, coupled with a fairly standard plot that doesn't really answer any questions at all paving the way for a sequel, but not in a good way. If you can get past that, a beautiful interpretation of 12th century holy land with an astonishing amount of detail, a very suiting soundtrack coupled with some truly awe-insiring moments (synchronising at the peek of the tallest tower in Jerusalem, :O OH MY GOD, BONER-TIME). The combat is intuitive but leaves much to be desired, the actual assassination bits had a lot of potential but amount to no more than drawn out sword fights with multiple guards + your target no matter how well you plot them. The free-running, however, which essentially allows you to kick back and simply direct Altair across the many rooftops with simple ease, is among the greatest inventions in gaming history, and it makes sense, how many rooftops are there in Assassin's Creed, thousands you say? Well I don't want to press "jump" every **** time I jump from rooftop to rooftop, so in short, Ubisoft, I love you :D All in all, Assassin's Creed is a brilliant premise, if Ubisoft can tweak the gameplay so it isn't so monotonous, give a bit of spice and variety to the pre-assassination "intel-gathering" missions and spice up the plot dramatically, then Assassin's Creed II could be one of the greatest games ever made, fingers crossed b!tches Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2010
    5
    its certinly looks preatty and controls very well but thats about it . the gameplay gets repititive really fast . you basically do the same thing over and over again with little feeling of any variation between missions . theres no custimisation on your charicters wepons and gear or look . its just this huge world with nothing really that fun to do. you can look for flags in citys...its certinly looks preatty and controls very well but thats about it . the gameplay gets repititive really fast . you basically do the same thing over and over again with little feeling of any variation between missions . theres no custimisation on your charicters wepons and gear or look . its just this huge world with nothing really that fun to do. you can look for flags in citys... whoopie just what i want to do in a game play hide and go seek ... this game was very overhyped . the story was pretty entertaining but the boringness in the missions made it hard to push through. thankfully the sequel was much much better. if you have never played the assassin's creed games the second one is deffinitly worth playing id say just rent this one so you can get more of the story. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    Poor and repetitive mission objectives, A confusing story, and no replay value take a huge chunk out of the value of this game. While it has a ton of promise, This game sucks.
  5. Dan
    Nov 27, 2007
    6
    Very fun and immersive gameplay. Extremely detailed world and realistic. However, the storyline was unconvincing and incohesive, and the finale was dissapointing. The artificial intelligence was very lacking in the "intelligence" department, and many of the features that you would think are really cool just end up being clunky or too inconvenient to ever use.
  6. BillM.
    Jul 5, 2008
    6
    All the comments about graphics are valid. Easily the best-looking game for the 360 that I've seen, with the possible exception of COD4. Battle mechanics are also pretty good, if not superior. The story, even if you consider it a Matrix rip-off, isn't all that bad, especially given the glut of outright crap that's out there today. What ends up dragging the game down, All the comments about graphics are valid. Easily the best-looking game for the 360 that I've seen, with the possible exception of COD4. Battle mechanics are also pretty good, if not superior. The story, even if you consider it a Matrix rip-off, isn't all that bad, especially given the glut of outright crap that's out there today. What ends up dragging the game down, however, are the repetitive elements, graphics glitches, poor AI, and beyond-useless side quests. Repetitive: I go to four or five cities and hear the same people saying the same things. They went to all this trouble to create beautiful environments, but they couldn't find more than three (literally!) things for street merchants, town criers, bullies, and other city dwellers to say? Hard to believe, but that's exactly what happened. Graphics glitches: Can't tell you how many times I had a horse half in and half out of a hillside, ditto for guards and/or soldiers. A game that looks this good should not have this problem. Poor AI: The only time I was frustrated from being killed was when I knew I should have known better, because any enemies you fight have a standard way of fighting...and nothing else. Truly predictable to the point of being just a button-mashing exercise, and this game looks too good to resort to being a Mortal Kombat clone. Side-quests: This basically consists of collecting flags. That's it. In Jerusalem alone there are 100 of them, and I found 20. As nice as the scenery was, the AI and and repetitive dialogue completely removed any compulsion I might have had to continue looking for the other 80. Ditto for all the other flags and the 60 Knights Templar. I only blew $26 for this game on eBay, counting shipping. I'd be pretty unhappy if I'd paid $60. You can be sure I won't pay more than that for a sequel. Shame on any professional reviewer who gave this game more than a 7 on a 10-scale. Expand
  7. JustinK
    Apr 7, 2009
    6
    Awesome graphics, interesting storyline, initially fun gameplay. Too bad I got bored after the first two missions. I can think of a dozen ways for them to change things up to add replay-ability and more complex, rewarding side missions. It borders between a game you want to own because of the landmark graphics and "parkour done right", and a game you want to rent because of the extremely Awesome graphics, interesting storyline, initially fun gameplay. Too bad I got bored after the first two missions. I can think of a dozen ways for them to change things up to add replay-ability and more complex, rewarding side missions. It borders between a game you want to own because of the landmark graphics and "parkour done right", and a game you want to rent because of the extremely repetitive game play and zero replay value. Expand
  8. JosephE.
    Dec 2, 2007
    3
    The graphics are outstanding. But the gameplay is repetitive and designed to be slow. Imagine playing a game where you're supposed to walk around at a crawl to "hide" - this is that game. Oh and when you can't crawl anymore there are random piles of hay for you to jump into to in case you're not an accomplished slow walker. With graphics like these, hopefully the engine The graphics are outstanding. But the gameplay is repetitive and designed to be slow. Imagine playing a game where you're supposed to walk around at a crawl to "hide" - this is that game. Oh and when you can't crawl anymore there are random piles of hay for you to jump into to in case you're not an accomplished slow walker. With graphics like these, hopefully the engine will be used for a more immersive, compelling game. Expand
  9. JayD.
    Feb 9, 2008
    2
    I really don't know where all the high rating are coming from. This game is a con. ive never know such a repetitive game, its just the same pointless little missions over and over again. pick pocket - evesdrop - intimidate - kill - YAWN!!! the free roaming is good and the graphics are excellent, but once GTA 4 is released I wouldn't see the point of even thinking about getting I really don't know where all the high rating are coming from. This game is a con. ive never know such a repetitive game, its just the same pointless little missions over and over again. pick pocket - evesdrop - intimidate - kill - YAWN!!! the free roaming is good and the graphics are excellent, but once GTA 4 is released I wouldn't see the point of even thinking about getting this game. Expand
  10. JamesL.
    Jul 1, 2008
    4
    Considering the hype...very dissapointing.
  11. AnonymousMC
    Jan 1, 2009
    2
    The things I didn't like about this game are too numerous to mention. Luckily they can be summed up by explaining one aspect of the game.

    You're forced to travel from city to city manually. The distance you have to cover is large and the route is peppered liberally with enemy soldiers. For some unfathomable reason, failure to slow to an absolute crawl by holding down a button
    The things I didn't like about this game are too numerous to mention. Luckily they can be summed up by explaining one aspect of the game.

    You're forced to travel from city to city manually. The distance you have to cover is large and the route is peppered liberally with enemy soldiers. For some unfathomable reason, failure to slow to an absolute crawl by holding down a button (whether on foot or horseback) when passing within metres of these soldiers will result in them chasing and attacking you. This obviously results in the choice between sprinting from area to area in an attempt to outrun them and therefore missing out on a good chunk of the game, or moving at a snails pace and struggling to stay awake. To sum it up you can play this game in one of two way, both of which suck.

    This game falls squarely within a new category of games I have christened "boredom simulators". Games which eschew the most important (in my opinion) element of a game, fun, in favour of "realism".
    Expand
  12. MatthewReeves
    Nov 17, 2007
    6
    I wouldn't say it's terrible, but it's not good. Seemed like it was slopped together and got old very quickly. My opinion is that this is what happens when you try to make a game for more than one platform. Stick to the exclusives devs out there! I don't care what system. Just do it. You're obviously too spread thin or not talented enough to do more than one console.
  13. AnonymousMC
    Nov 18, 2007
    5
    I have played this game half way through and I will not finish it by the end of this week. Not because it's too hard it's because the game gets me so mad I have to put it down for a while. First of all it's very repetitive. If I wanted to go assassinate 3 guards pickpocket someone evesdrop then go all out fight then I'm all for it. But then again would I want to do it aI have played this game half way through and I will not finish it by the end of this week. Not because it's too hard it's because the game gets me so mad I have to put it down for a while. First of all it's very repetitive. If I wanted to go assassinate 3 guards pickpocket someone evesdrop then go all out fight then I'm all for it. But then again would I want to do it a hundred and 1 times in a row. Also there's too many glitches. No not the cutscene glitches but actual gameplay glitches. I'm jumping around and all of a sudden I catch onto a basket laid on the floor. Dangling from it....The only problem is it's like 2 inches from the floor so my legs are in the building. 2nd, When I knock a boss off a wall (Which I've done twice now) They usually die, but then Altair follows them, and does that annoying after death speech. IN MID AIR. I just did it now and I fell through an invisible barrier and ended up in the computer simulator/loading screen Permanently. So first of all, fix these glitches. Make a new twist so I'm not repeating myself. and finally add a multiplayer mode. First one to assassinate the other. Expand
  14. DonJ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    5
    Great visuals and climbing mechanic. I enjoyed the intensity of some of the story elements (when the crazy doctor breaks the guy's legs). I do have to agree though, the game was sooo repeditive. And did anyone else notice that there was NO reason to save civilians? It was stupid, if you try to save a civ by killing the baddies, all of a sudden guards start fighting you too. WTF? Great visuals and climbing mechanic. I enjoyed the intensity of some of the story elements (when the crazy doctor breaks the guy's legs). I do have to agree though, the game was sooo repeditive. And did anyone else notice that there was NO reason to save civilians? It was stupid, if you try to save a civ by killing the baddies, all of a sudden guards start fighting you too. WTF? Also, one of the game's tips was that if you start a fist fight the guards won't attack, but when I started punching the bullies, they drew swords so what the hell am I supposed to do? Saving civilians should have been cut. I feel like there was a lot of ideas that just didn't get fleshed out enough. The whole blending in with the crowd idea was useless except for getting past the guards at the gates of the city. The constant yellow alert that made the annoying sound until you hid in haystack was freaking annoying. I thought the controls were adequte, but while running I noticed that I was holding down A and the right trigger. It shouldn't be that hard. Some game designer was probably tasked with coming up with "innovative controls" and so they made this system for the sake of innovation. I mainly gave the game a 5 because of the huge bug that was preventing me from finishing the game. I would ride to kill your arch nemesis and then all of a sudden I would fall through the level. When I respawned, there were two Altair's and both moved corresponding to my controls. When this happened, none of the scripted events would fire so I couldn't progress. I read on a forum that the solution was to unplug my player 2 controller. What the F? Expand
  15. PensiveNinja
    Dec 16, 2007
    3
    If you are one of those people who like to play Grand Theft Auto just so you can run around beat people up, steal cars, shoot police, and not follow the story line at all then this is a game for you. While I do agree that the graphics are amazing and the world in which you play is vast and beautiful, the storyline is repetitive. Pickpocket for information, eavesdrop for inormation, punch If you are one of those people who like to play Grand Theft Auto just so you can run around beat people up, steal cars, shoot police, and not follow the story line at all then this is a game for you. While I do agree that the graphics are amazing and the world in which you play is vast and beautiful, the storyline is repetitive. Pickpocket for information, eavesdrop for inormation, punch beggars in the face, assaniate the target, repeat....9 times!!! After the third assassin I lost interest and just started running through the environment, scaling walls and picking fights with the guards just to see how long i could fight continuosly before dying. By the time I actually decided to complete the fourth assassination I was just plain bored, so i started my 4th campaign in Halo 3... Needless to say, I traded the game in. Word of advice. Don't get this game. Expand
  16. PeteZ.
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    Fails to deliver on immense potential Repetitious, requires no skill whatsoever, boring at times This is an interactive movie (with non-skippable cutscenes) not a game.
  17. kvan33
    Apr 15, 2008
    6
    Seriously disappointing. Do you like assassinations carried out in Splinter Cell like stealth and finesse? Well, don't play Assassin's Creed then. That is unless you like pick pocketing random people, sitting on benches and eavesdropping, or collecting flags. After you do those tasks enough, you are rewarded with an assassination mission...which is typically just as shallow. Seriously disappointing. Do you like assassinations carried out in Splinter Cell like stealth and finesse? Well, don't play Assassin's Creed then. That is unless you like pick pocketing random people, sitting on benches and eavesdropping, or collecting flags. After you do those tasks enough, you are rewarded with an assassination mission...which is typically just as shallow. Repeat nine times, and you're at the end of the game. Seriously that's it. If this game was a girl, it would be a bimbo with all looks and no brains. Rent or buy it from the bargain bin. Expand
  18. DaveM.
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    Beautiful at first, but the tediousness will prevent you from seeing the end.
  19. TaraldW.
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    What could have been a great game is let down by repetitive, boring gameplay, slow driven storyline which does not engage you in any way, and a shalow fighting system. Disappointment of the year.
  20. Matt
    Nov 15, 2007
    6
    I was really disappointed by this game. It gets repetitve fast and seems to try to do new things for the sake of someone's ego and not for the gamer. Seems the luster has left Ubisoft.
  21. Zachary
    Nov 19, 2007
    3
    This game is utterly one of the greatest disappointments of all times. Do not judge this game off of the high ratings because they are false. Trust me. To even say this game deserves a 10 amazes me. This game deserves nothing more than a 5. I BARELY made my self finish this repetitive nightmare. After the 4th assassination it really goes down hill and there are 9 or 10 or maybe 11 more. I This game is utterly one of the greatest disappointments of all times. Do not judge this game off of the high ratings because they are false. Trust me. To even say this game deserves a 10 amazes me. This game deserves nothing more than a 5. I BARELY made my self finish this repetitive nightmare. After the 4th assassination it really goes down hill and there are 9 or 10 or maybe 11 more. I am not sure of the specific value, because you don't count. You just want to get to the next assassination to be done with it, but no, you have to do side missions. There are 3 side missions, eavesdropping, informant, and interrogation. Eavesdropping is sitting on a bench and listening to 2 guys talk in which they say generally the same thing every time. Informant either makes you kill people, or makes you go and capture flags. Wait, capture flags? Are you serious? You are capturing flags in an assassination game? The A.I. is horrendous. The villagers mindlessly roam around the city. The guards attack you one at a time, and can do exactly the same acrobatic jumps across buildings as you can. You can't swim, an elite assassin, that is a master of the Olympics. Don't worry, the guards can't swim either. No one can swim. Did I mention the pick pocketing mission? You listen to do guys talk for 5 minutes, than you wait 2 seconds for the future pick pocket victim to look left and then right, than you press a button to pick pocket him. But in order to even find these missions, you will spend HOURS climbing the same looking tower, pressing Y on the amazingly convenient wooden planks on EVERY single Birds Eye View Location. When you fail on the Informant missions, which you will a lot because the timed ones are extremely hard, and the flag ones are just ridiculous. If you decide to re-do the mission, you will have to listen to the SAME cut scene, because if you didn't already know, you cannot skip ANY cuts scenes. There are some cut scenes in the game, that are 10 minutes long, and they are completely boring and unexciting. I would never replay this game for that reason alone much less all of the other reasons. Did I even mention it is buggy to the point to where some players can't even play it? This game tries NOTHING new, sure great graphics, but I can name lots of games that blow this game out of the water. Don't reward this under class game by buying it. I suggest renting something else, but if you really want to try and stay awake through this game in which I didn't even go through the mass x and x + right trigger combat system. Go right ahead....oh my gosh this game is bad. Expand
  22. PaulC.
    Nov 21, 2007
    5
    Great graphics, but average game play.
  23. Bender
    Nov 23, 2007
    1
    Don't beleive the hype. Assassins Creed is great for the first hour, but any longer it becomes very repetitive and boring. So boring I was compelled to play other games instead of finishing it. I suggest renting AC first.
  24. C.Q.
    Dec 10, 2007
    5
    Great graphics, great visuals, seemingly interesting story and premise - combat is very stiff, world feels a bit constrained, entertaining for a while - not entertaining enough to actually finish however.
  25. Shane
    Dec 18, 2007
    3
    Pretty pictures, great controls but boooooring repetitive game play. WTH is up with all these great reviews? If you play the game for more then 3 hours, you realize what a scam it is. People need to demand more from games and with reviews like this, we'll never get it.
  26. PabloG.
    Feb 16, 2008
    2
    An embarrassment. The game looks beautiful and the roof jumping is great.... and that's it. You pick-pocket, interrogate, collect flags, and other boring things NINE TIMES just to get to the actual fun part of the game. And don't get me started on the cut scenes. You can't skip them and they go on forever as the characters speak and speak about nothing. One of the biggest An embarrassment. The game looks beautiful and the roof jumping is great.... and that's it. You pick-pocket, interrogate, collect flags, and other boring things NINE TIMES just to get to the actual fun part of the game. And don't get me started on the cut scenes. You can't skip them and they go on forever as the characters speak and speak about nothing. One of the biggest disappointments in video game history. I'm on the 4th mission and I can't take doing the same thing over and over again. Expand
  27. ApocalypseB.
    Feb 22, 2008
    1
    Seriously pissed waiting for this crap, only for it to turn out one of the most over-rated games of all time, next to COD4! I mean forget the Matrix rip-off storyline, the gameplay is broken from the get go. Slash, spy, kill, climb buildings, all in this sequence for the next 15 hours will drive you insane. And the A.I.? I think its an insult to call it A.I., as brain dead cows would have Seriously pissed waiting for this crap, only for it to turn out one of the most over-rated games of all time, next to COD4! I mean forget the Matrix rip-off storyline, the gameplay is broken from the get go. Slash, spy, kill, climb buildings, all in this sequence for the next 15 hours will drive you insane. And the A.I.? I think its an insult to call it A.I., as brain dead cows would have better responses than those clowns. Avoid at all costs! Expand
  28. AbrahamL.
    Nov 19, 2007
    1
    Pathetic. It does look great but it is supposed to be a fun GAME! Not a stupid boring tech demo. You can't even pick up and throw objects like Sam Fisher with his bottles and cans for distraction or just for fun to see the reaction of the bad guys when you hit them with it. This could have been better then the Splinter Cell series, but this is so boring and falls flat on it's Pathetic. It does look great but it is supposed to be a fun GAME! Not a stupid boring tech demo. You can't even pick up and throw objects like Sam Fisher with his bottles and cans for distraction or just for fun to see the reaction of the bad guys when you hit them with it. This could have been better then the Splinter Cell series, but this is so boring and falls flat on it's face. Only three basic weapons? That's it? Where is the crossbow? An axe or spear would have been nice too. And no character or weapons upgrades? It would have been perfect for a game like this. The gameplay developers and testers should be fired for this piece of crap. It's totally not interactive or fun at all. Looks are deceiving and this game is unfortunately the perfect example. Beautiful to look at, very boring to play. Save your money for Devil May Cry 4 or Ninja Gaiden 2. Expand
  29. MikeB.
    Nov 26, 2007
    6
    People should seriously assess what it is that supposedly makes this game so outstanding. Granted, it looks VERY pretty - the cities and landscapes are great to look at and seem full of life. But, take that away and there's no way this game would have gotten the scores it has. I bought it a week agao and here's just a few things that I've picked up on: - Repetitive. And I People should seriously assess what it is that supposedly makes this game so outstanding. Granted, it looks VERY pretty - the cities and landscapes are great to look at and seem full of life. But, take that away and there's no way this game would have gotten the scores it has. I bought it a week agao and here's just a few things that I've picked up on: - Repetitive. And I mean VERY repetitive. Countless assassinations to drive the story... all completed in simlir manner, and all clues leading to them gained in identical ways... listen to this person, pickpocket that person... Even the side missions like saving civilians get tired very quickly. - Camera. If it's not getting in the way of a fight it's often moving at awkward angles just as you try to pull off some speedy free-running... resulting in a long drop in the wrong direction. - Save system. An option to go to spots to save in a game this large would have been a godsend. Instead you only get to save after particular events. - Stealth system. So... I'm out of the line of site of gueards... the indicator says they are still looking for me. I can wait out of site for hours (e.g. atop a tower or behind a wall)... but they'll still be 'looking' until I hide in a specific hiding spot like a random bale of hay. Logical. Also people will become suspicious of you for no apparent reason. Sometimes just for walking. This is hugely annoying when you might have a time limit of 2 or 3 mins to get somewhere without alerting anyone. Basically I'd say it's a very graphically impressive game, but the gameplay itself needs a hell of a lot of thought before they come up with a sequel. The free running needs a polish to make it more fluid, and the whole stealth aspect has been done better in games like the Hitman series. I'm now nearly through it all (final mission), and once it's done I'll be trading it in since in all honesty I don't know why I'd want to go back to it for a few hundred identical side missions. Beware of the hype. Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2011
    3
    Assassin's Creed starts out very promising, but ultimately disappoints. At first, you think you're embarking on what looks to be an engrossing, open-ended, fantastically rendered epic. Quickly, however, you realize that this adventure consists of doing the exact. same. thing. over and over and over again. Now, the same can be said about any open-ended game, to an extent. In Oblivion,Assassin's Creed starts out very promising, but ultimately disappoints. At first, you think you're embarking on what looks to be an engrossing, open-ended, fantastically rendered epic. Quickly, however, you realize that this adventure consists of doing the exact. same. thing. over and over and over again. Now, the same can be said about any open-ended game, to an extent. In Oblivion, Fallout, Mass Effect, etc., the missions all follow the same general arch, but they are least make the missions look and feel different. In Assassin's Creed, there is literally no variation in the actual tasks you have to accomplish in order to complete each mission. If you've done one mission, you've done them all. The game does have some fun elements, to be sure. Stealth kills never get old, nor do Leaps of Faith. But you simply can't play the game for extended periods of time without feeling like you're treading water, even if you're making significant progress. It gets boring fairly quickly, unless you are an achievement-driven completionist who lives for scouring every inch of the a game world for obscure and hidden objects. Expand
  31. Jan 16, 2013
    5
    Assassins Creed is a third person adventure game that can be most closely compared to 'The Prince of Persia' trilogy minus the rewinding of time and with more focus on combat. Despite being released in 2007 it still stands up to any title on the XBox360 in terms of graphics and the controls are very well designed with acrobatic moves and combat easy to pick up.

    The game itself is split
    Assassins Creed is a third person adventure game that can be most closely compared to 'The Prince of Persia' trilogy minus the rewinding of time and with more focus on combat. Despite being released in 2007 it still stands up to any title on the XBox360 in terms of graphics and the controls are very well designed with acrobatic moves and combat easy to pick up.

    The game itself is split into chapters, each tasking you with eliminating a given target. Before you can do this however you must complete one of three basic mission types to gather info on their location and any potential weaknesses. Unfortunately however the gameplay changes very little from the first mission to the last and with a playing time of around 15 hours it becomes rather repetitive. When you find yourself rescuing a citizen being picked on by guards for the 30th time it is easy to lose interest, particular since the storyline is not particularly strong.

    For less than a tenner I would certainly recommend 'Assassins Creed' although you may find it difficult to play the game all the way to the end.
    Expand
  32. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Many people love this franchise but I must be completely honest. Rarely have I been so bored by a game in my life. I played for a couple hours, marveled at its beauty, then put it away. While that may seem unfair for a review, if a $60 game can't keep my attention for for more than 2 hours I find that equally unfair.
  33. Dec 29, 2011
    1
    This game gets 1 point for stunning graphics it is without a doubt the most boring game I've ever played being so repetitive i couldn't finish it because i was afraid of suicide never got to the second one because i would want to understand the story F*** Assassin's Creed
  34. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    The first few hours our alright in this game then it send you to do the exact same thing over and over and over again. You can save civilians and climb towers for bars of health, but after you max it out it becomes pointless to do. Sorry but I forced myself to complete this and after completing it, its one of the most boring games I have played in my entire life. Assassin's Creed 2.0/10
  35. Aug 15, 2013
    4
    The gameplay mechanics were great and one of the first examples of fluid free running mechanics. The world was a glorious scale and detail however the game was hindered by one of the most cripplingly linear and repetitive storylines. It's redeeming grace is it paved the way for some truly breathtaking sequels.
  36. AshleyA.
    Jun 15, 2009
    6
    I was truly amazed when I first picked up the controller and began playing Assassin's Creed. The graphics, storyline, and initial game play really are stunning. However, the repetitiveness of this game is absolutely horrible. After a couple hours of play (if that) you feel like you are doing the exact same missions over and over again. Trying to get from one city to the next is I was truly amazed when I first picked up the controller and began playing Assassin's Creed. The graphics, storyline, and initial game play really are stunning. However, the repetitiveness of this game is absolutely horrible. After a couple hours of play (if that) you feel like you are doing the exact same missions over and over again. Trying to get from one city to the next is dreadful as well... If you so happen to choose to not speed through the 'in between' areas then you must walk at a mind numbing pace in order to keep from being attacked by the guards for quite literally NO reason. Serious *yawn* factor... I liked the game, but there was SO much they could have done to make it better. The game has 0% replay ability. Expand
  37. Aug 23, 2010
    4
    Very well done in terms of the world size and the free running. Interesting way to tell a story also. Unfortunately the entire game is so insanely repetitive that I couldn't even finish. I literally was sick to my stomach from doing the same thing over and over again. You basicly repeat the same mission the entire game.
  38. HarsitamoD
    Oct 23, 2009
    6
    Assassins Creed is a game you can both love and hate at the same time. One thing is that you have to climb and climb until you have scaled everything but because of the graphics it is worth getting to the top. Another is the fighting; killing people and not getting caught is extremely boring but stealth killing is so fun you'll kill civilians even though it will kill you. And the Assassins Creed is a game you can both love and hate at the same time. One thing is that you have to climb and climb until you have scaled everything but because of the graphics it is worth getting to the top. Another is the fighting; killing people and not getting caught is extremely boring but stealth killing is so fun you'll kill civilians even though it will kill you. And the worst part of the game us the investigations but if you do them you can plan your attack and pull off a stealth kill on your main target which is extremely fun. One thing good about this game that doesn't have a bad side is the sandbox after you win, you can run around and have fun without any consequences. For the reason everything has both a good and bad side I am giving this game a five and one point for the sandbox afterwards making it a six. Expand
  39. Oct 10, 2011
    6
    A hit and miss game. Though the free roam platforming is absolutely brilliant, the rest of the game is really repetitive. The story can be a engaging at points but for most of the time, it is really boring. Being an assassin is really awesome. For the first hour. After that, it becomes very repetitive and assassinating people becomes less satisfying and only done out of boredom. Even withA hit and miss game. Though the free roam platforming is absolutely brilliant, the rest of the game is really repetitive. The story can be a engaging at points but for most of the time, it is really boring. Being an assassin is really awesome. For the first hour. After that, it becomes very repetitive and assassinating people becomes less satisfying and only done out of boredom. Even with the negativity, I suggest to give this game a small try. Expand
  40. GregS.
    Nov 28, 2009
    4
    Extremely repetitive. Doesn't use the awesome free-running and combat mechanics to its fullest. However, easy 1000/1000 gamerscore.
  41. Oct 30, 2010
    7
    I'm going to start out this review by saying that Assassin's Creed is an extremely popular game, and one of my favorite games that I own. It also has some very obvious flaws. Missions get boring fairly quickly because of the lack of variety, which is something that every open-world game needs to have. But besides that, everything about this game is executed very well. Assassin's creed isI'm going to start out this review by saying that Assassin's Creed is an extremely popular game, and one of my favorite games that I own. It also has some very obvious flaws. Missions get boring fairly quickly because of the lack of variety, which is something that every open-world game needs to have. But besides that, everything about this game is executed very well. Assassin's creed is set in the Middle East during the Crusades. Basically, you play as an assassin named Altair and go on missions to kill people. The way you do it is that you go to a town, and try to gather information on your target, and then plan a way to strike. However, that's pretty much all you do in the entire game. And believe me, it gets boring after a while. This is not a game like Fallout 3 that you can play for hours at a time and not run into repetition. You should probably take a break and do something else after each mission. Another small gripe I have is with the cutscenes. There are long sequences of dialogue between Altair and the other characters at regular intervals, in which the player can do nothing but pace around in circles like an idiot. The dialogue itself reminds me of boring conversations between the elderly, so you probably won't listen to most of it the first time. The story is actually pretty good if you learn to tolerate the long-winded cutscenes. But the voice acting is a mixed bag. I thought that it was very good, but some people might be put off by the fact that Altair speaks in an American accent. But personally, I thought it was a good decision by Ubisoft to do this, because Altair's background is mostly unknown. Some people may disagree though. However, there are several areas in which this game exceeds. The acrobatics are very fun to perform. It is an absolute blast to watch Altair run, leap and climb across the rooftops. The combat, although limited, can be fast paced and fun if you play it right. The main assassinations are brilliantly designed for the most part, although many of them have fairly long cutscenes to go with them. But like I said, this is a small problem. Assassin's Creed is an amazing game in my opinion, but it's not for everyone. I recommend it to anyone that likes good games and has a good amount of patience. Expand
  42. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    Assassin's Creed is one of my favourite franchises of all time, but the first one was probably the worst in the series. Whilst the story and characters were very imaginative and original, the missions were very dull and repetitive, and so my main objectives in the game were to view the amazing scenery created by Ubisoft. However, the introduction of the free running style game-play wasAssassin's Creed is one of my favourite franchises of all time, but the first one was probably the worst in the series. Whilst the story and characters were very imaginative and original, the missions were very dull and repetitive, and so my main objectives in the game were to view the amazing scenery created by Ubisoft. However, the introduction of the free running style game-play was very good and therefore attracted me to begin following the sequel, as it could only improve from here. Expand
  43. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    I understand that this is the first game in the series, and haven't played the other ones. But this game feels more like a demo than a finished product. Repetitive missions, confusing story, lack of content other than hundreds of flags (collectibles). Combat is repetitive too. Even if you don't abuse counter-hitting, it's still boring. The initial concept isn't bad though, but I'd avoidI understand that this is the first game in the series, and haven't played the other ones. But this game feels more like a demo than a finished product. Repetitive missions, confusing story, lack of content other than hundreds of flags (collectibles). Combat is repetitive too. Even if you don't abuse counter-hitting, it's still boring. The initial concept isn't bad though, but I'd avoid this game when you can buy the later ones, which are apparently better. As an experience though, this was actually better than, say, Batman Arkham Asylum despite being released 2 years easrlier and being worse in every possible way. The soundtrack, composed by Jesper Kyd- is outstanding as it is with Hitman games. Overall the game's strong points are that it isn't broken or frustrating in any way but the collectibles and missions aren't varied enough. Expand
  44. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed is a beautifully detailed, smooth operating, engrossing game that suffers from one glaring fault, repetition. The number of times you must save a harassed citizen is a product of a design team that had to work on all kinds of function and scenery, and than had little time left over to fill the game with missions. The other annoyance to a game that is supposed to favorAssassin's Creed is a beautifully detailed, smooth operating, engrossing game that suffers from one glaring fault, repetition. The number of times you must save a harassed citizen is a product of a design team that had to work on all kinds of function and scenery, and than had little time left over to fill the game with missions. The other annoyance to a game that is supposed to favor stealth and assassin techniques is the constant large scale unavoidable fights the later assassinations produce. I'm sorry, my character is the worst assassin ever if he constantly just walks into a crowd of soldiers.
    Great game mechanics and wonderful detailing largely overcome second rate missions.
    Expand
  45. Cuz
    Jul 30, 2012
    8
    Just now playing this for the first time because of a Steam sale on the series. This is a half-hearted console port but playing with an XBOX controller made it work. The graphics look great given the age of the game and I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the cities. It does get repetitive so not really something you want to sit down and play for hours. I played it over a fewJust now playing this for the first time because of a Steam sale on the series. This is a half-hearted console port but playing with an XBOX controller made it work. The graphics look great given the age of the game and I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the cities. It does get repetitive so not really something you want to sit down and play for hours. I played it over a few weeks just getting in a mission here and there, about 20 hours of total gameplay not finding every flag. I'm giving it an 8 for the quality of the world and story, I very much enjoyed it in spite of the flaws. Expand
  46. May 27, 2012
    5
    I wanted to like this game, but it was a pretty bad game. So repetitive and boring. I beat it just to see it to the end, but i wish i didnt :( thats how bad it was. Great graphics cant save a game i guess.
  47. JulioD.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Although not completely historically accurate. The game still has a fascinating and well thought out story with good replayable gameplay. This game also has awesome graphics and cool cutscenes. Each character is unique and important to storyline and dialog is interesting.
  48. MikeL.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    This was a total waste of time. I was expecting some middle aged cluture where I could be somebody else. The game has nothing going for it that other games havent done. Horses and Climbing -Shadow of the Collosus Stealth Action - Splinter cell Even when the game does get good two bumbling idiots take you out and make you walk over to your bed, go to sleep, and then watch an immensely This was a total waste of time. I was expecting some middle aged cluture where I could be somebody else. The game has nothing going for it that other games havent done. Horses and Climbing -Shadow of the Collosus Stealth Action - Splinter cell Even when the game does get good two bumbling idiots take you out and make you walk over to your bed, go to sleep, and then watch an immensely boring cutscene. Do not buy this game, in order to get the full effect rent it and play the first mission. After that its the same time nine times over again. Expand
  49. Johnny
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    A waste of time past the first 5 minutes when your wowed by the visuals only to find the games 'open ended nature' means doing exactly what the makers intended to do ad infinitum.
  50. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    This is without doubt the WORST game I have ever played. It is so pathetic it is beyond a joke. The graphics are abysmal, the controls stink and the padded out gameplay is as repetative as heck. This is nothing but a 1 level repeated ad infinitum padded out repetative as heck beta tech demo. I played it for 3 hours ( 1/12 hours not counting the unskippable cutscenes ) and I was boredThis is without doubt the WORST game I have ever played. It is so pathetic it is beyond a joke. The graphics are abysmal, the controls stink and the padded out gameplay is as repetative as heck. This is nothing but a 1 level repeated ad infinitum padded out repetative as heck beta tech demo. I played it for 3 hours ( 1/12 hours not counting the unskippable cutscenes ) and I was bored senseless. How this game got the reviews that it did I shall never know. I bet they were paid by Ubisoft to give those high scores because they knew they had made a crapfeast of a game.

    Lets look at it one by one shall we:

    Controls - what controls? The controls were the worst I have ever seen in gaming. My hand was aching after trying a couple of moves.

    Graphics - Worst I have ever seen. Biege biege biege with more biege and some biege on the side. Bland boring and horrible.

    Gameplay - What blooming gameplay there wasn't any. Evesdrop, pickpocket, blend, climb walls, collect flags ride horse rinse repeat ad infinitum.

    Story - what blooming story? There wasn't any. Some sci-fi junk about some bartender bieng an assassin in a previous life and that the human genome has memory! Do me a favour. Worst story ever.

    Voice acting - Terrible! you could tell that even the voice actors thought it was a dire script and were only there for the money.

    Overall worst game ever. How this disaster got the reviews that it did and 2 sequels I shall never know. Ubisoft wouldn't know how to make a game if it came up and bit it's face.

    STAY AWAY.
    Expand
  51. DominicL.
    Jan 6, 2009
    1
    Purely disappointing. After all the talk about this game i wasted my money. Don't buy this. Rent it and see if you like it. But personally to me i didn't like it. Once again, purely disappointing.
  52. May 9, 2011
    3
    I was so looking forward to this game.Interesting lead character & setting,Good graphics,Mingling with the crowds,& Prince of Persia style free running.. What a disappointment though.. The more i saw of the game before release,the more i could sense something wasnt right with it.The odd targetting system,& the Matrix style glitch effects.My fears were all confirmed from what i heard whenI was so looking forward to this game.Interesting lead character & setting,Good graphics,Mingling with the crowds,& Prince of Persia style free running.. What a disappointment though.. The more i saw of the game before release,the more i could sense something wasnt right with it.The odd targetting system,& the Matrix style glitch effects.My fears were all confirmed from what i heard when the game was released.The game wasnt set during the crusades at all! No,the developers felt the need to create this whole pretentious,self satisfying concept that your playing this character 'Desmond'?! in the near future,& your plugged intoi this machine that lets you access 'memories' that are in your head,due to you being their ancestor.I'm sorry? what!!? one word.Why? The developers are trying to be too clever for they're own good i think,but all that nonsense seems so unnesassary & pointless.All it serves to do,is distance yourself from the historical setting,as your not actually in it,but re-living it.I was so disgusted by this design decision with the game,that i didnt buy it for the longest time,& when i did,it was only because i was able to pick it up next to nothing second hand.& even then,because the combat system & setting interested me.But even then,i just couldnt get past the whole ridiculus Animus/Desmond concept.It just bought the whole experience literally down..& i cant believe they're still including it in subsuquent titles.Even if i was able to get past that aspect,i was suprised to find that the game was totally repetitive,doing exactly the same things literally over & over & over again.. Great Combat mechanics(one of the best i've seen in fact,which is why i didnt rate it lower),Shame about the game(& Desmond)! Expand
  53. SevK.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. So far (and I've finished the game) the only flaw would be the shortness in story length, although this is somewhat counter-balanced with flag collecting and templar killing. This game definitely does not deserve a 7.
  54. JasonM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Just a beautiful game and a must own, especially for fans of the Prince of Persia series.
  55. KieferM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Sheer massive in scale, beautiful world, intense combat, lotsa neat tricks, skills and moves. and amazingly to my surprise, its got a bit of sci-fi thrown in there too... the only thing better would be... well, the sequel.
  56. DannyM.
    Mar 7, 2008
    7
    Good, but not amazing. The stoyline quickly became old, and the assassinations became another old thing by the time you reached the end of the story. The graphics however are completly stunning. It really gets into the lives of people in that time of history.
  57. Sindow
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    The only problem many people will have with this game is the lack of their own imaginations. While it seems the developers spent most of their time developing the engine the end result is well worth it. Once you learn Assassin's Creed is about doing awesome things for the sake of being fun instead of having a pop-up box telling you what you did was fun because you get points for it The only problem many people will have with this game is the lack of their own imaginations. While it seems the developers spent most of their time developing the engine the end result is well worth it. Once you learn Assassin's Creed is about doing awesome things for the sake of being fun instead of having a pop-up box telling you what you did was fun because you get points for it you will have a blast. Expand
  58. FilipV.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    Very good graphics, living environment, easy but rewarding combat system and real freedom (climbing on rooftops)
  59. BryceD.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Awesome game!! Don't rush through it and you'll love it all the more. Don't trust that popular review site this is game you're gonna have to play for yourself.
  60. JamesM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    This games more like a 9.5 but I'll round up. It has possibly one of the most interesting stories seen in todays gaming community. Many people complain about the repetitiveness of the pre-assassination but you only have to do 2 or 3 for each kill. Also the gameplay is simplistic but it makes it so pretty much anyone can pick it up and play. The climbing is the best of any game and This games more like a 9.5 but I'll round up. It has possibly one of the most interesting stories seen in todays gaming community. Many people complain about the repetitiveness of the pre-assassination but you only have to do 2 or 3 for each kill. Also the gameplay is simplistic but it makes it so pretty much anyone can pick it up and play. The climbing is the best of any game and worth your while due to the gorgeous environments. There are a few downsides to this game. Sometimes when interrogating someone Altair wont kill them after listening to them talk this leads to the game to be playing but you cant move at all and its just focused on the guy waiting to be killed. Also there are a few instances where you counter kill or grab and end up glitching into the wall or out of the level. These are small blemishes on a amazing game. Its main outstanding feature is that there are no other games like this on the market. Expand
  61. BD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    I was looking forward to this game for over a year. Leading into the release date i was disappointed with the reviews i read. I still bought it on its release. Immediately i was liking it a lot because of the running and climbing. After two hours of playing i was only OK with the game play. It seems, due to reading so many reviews, that each reviewed flaw in the game stood out and annoyed I was looking forward to this game for over a year. Leading into the release date i was disappointed with the reviews i read. I still bought it on its release. Immediately i was liking it a lot because of the running and climbing. After two hours of playing i was only OK with the game play. It seems, due to reading so many reviews, that each reviewed flaw in the game stood out and annoyed me. Now i am little past half way through the game and i am loving it. Once you earn more abilities and weapons and get your characters movements and fighting down the game is awesome. You look past the small flaws and take in how huge the city is as you're just sprinting, diving, and climbing along the rooftops. Just the act of getting from one end of the city to the other becomes fun as you take it to the rooftops. I don't get sick of that. It seems some small details were cut in able to make room for the vastness of area and size, which is fine by me. I tend to stand my ground in fights and take out the surrounding guards with ease. I also love waiting for an archer a couple buildings over to turn around and then run across rooftops and dive into him with a secret blade to the throat. The game plays very much like the prince of persia in an open environment (lot of acrobatics and climbing), mixed with the Hitman series (researching, blending, and assassinating). Expand
  62. AdamU.
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    While I am waiting for this on PC I'm discouraged by the reviews so I rented the game and borrowed my nephews xbox360 to give it a shot. At first it's very fun, but then the typical console problems creep in real fast. The AI is down-right BAD. But frankly there isn't a modern game on any 'next gen' console that has good AI, and thats because the hardware just While I am waiting for this on PC I'm discouraged by the reviews so I rented the game and borrowed my nephews xbox360 to give it a shot. At first it's very fun, but then the typical console problems creep in real fast. The AI is down-right BAD. But frankly there isn't a modern game on any 'next gen' console that has good AI, and thats because the hardware just isn't built for it. Combat looks awesome, but it gets rather old, rather fast. Stealth for a stealth game is way to user unfriendly. Really maybe by the time the PC version comes out this game will be patched up and be decent. But right now with Mass Effect just coming out for consoles, and Crysis, Orange Box, CoD4 and UT3 all having just come out. If it came out on PC today I'd stay clear of it. Expand
  63. RobS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    The levels of immersion in this game are just immense. There are times when youll forget your in the Animus; and there are times when youll forget your playing a game, which is scary but awsome at the same time. The game is only repetitive if you plough through the story without exploring the game. The game in five words, SCALE, BLOODLUST, IMMERSION, DETAIL, FUN. A resounding 9 out of 10.
  64. AbdulS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    the best game on any console. all you critics are really stupid. graphics are the best, storyline is good, the only con is finding flags for achievments, otherwise an almost perfect game.
  65. BrianK.
    Jan 11, 2008
    8
    Graphics alone this is one of the best looking games I've ever seen on the 360. You really can't give this game enough praise in that department. Story is very take it or leave it. I personally could not appreciate the story that much, I really feel like the developers made the most obscure plot so that the fans could obsess about AC2 (yes, the sequel setup is already in place, Graphics alone this is one of the best looking games I've ever seen on the 360. You really can't give this game enough praise in that department. Story is very take it or leave it. I personally could not appreciate the story that much, I really feel like the developers made the most obscure plot so that the fans could obsess about AC2 (yes, the sequel setup is already in place, preorder now!) which is a huge letdown and doesn't command my respect, but it will sell games I guess... Gameplay wise, this is sandbox game. Sandbox games are different from many single player games, you have objectives, but largely you will spend your time doing things unrelated to the single player story. Think of games like GTA, Superman (360), or Saints Row and you have an idea of what AC is, but the styling of the game is so well done, you may not realize it until you're about an hour into the game. One of these things is rescuing citizens from corrupt guards, which means mastering the combat system which is engaging and well designed, but probably too tedious for the amount of combat they have put in the game to get your 100% completion satisfaction. This is not your God of War combat system, it's not so satisfying that you will want to spend gads of time fighting, however if you get creative you can stage fights on rooftops, fling soldiers to their death, and generally have fun with it, it's just too bad the primary obligatory combat in the game means you're always fighting in some street hall or corner. Another common activity is climbing around rooftops and towers, and yes, this is an absolute part of the game you must complete, or at least makes the game much easier when performed. This is probably the most fun activity in the game, it's tons of fun and fills in the gaps between the obligatory elements of pickpocketing, evesdropping, and of course, assassinating. Speaking of which you won't do much assassinating in this game, exactly 9 times to be exact, and a few side quests (and not too many really). And most of all that I found disappointing, most of the time your targets appear on your trusty minimap and have floating arrows above their heads. Yes, we all know your average gamer is clincally stupid, but this huge KILL ME sign wasn't really necessary and the gamer would have more fun if they had to pick out their targets. Imagine with me taking down a slave trader by skillfully eliminating his gang members one at a time, until the perfect moment to strike nears. That won't happen in AC, it's paint by numbers the whole way through. Expand
  66. DaxD.
    Jan 14, 2008
    8
    Great game that keeps rolling on. I am so tired of buying games for $60 buck that last under ten hours. This game even if you do not do every mission or find every view point will take you 20 plus hours of game play. This game gives you the best bang for your buck. The only other game I have played in the last 6 months that was better was Bioshock.
  67. ShanB.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Assasin's Creed is a great game, especialy those who are in to action games. The enviorment and characters all look stunning, the gameplay is fun and will keep you entertained even by just jumping across buildings. The only downside is that it does become a little repetitve near the end of the game. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great game that will not to dispoint.
  68. JG
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    Awesome game. Assassin's creed breaks new gorund in graphics and evironments, but it lacks creative side missions, the game gets a bit repetitive and once beaten there isnt much replay value. Overal 9.3 rent or buy.
  69. AlexF.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    I think this game should rate 10 or at least 9 because you have so much freedom to do what you want and the fighting is just fantastic! and very realistic.
  70. WillS.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Very interesting 3rd person adventure game. It's very refreshing to see one of the big studios make something new for a change. Assassin's Creed has high art quality, and some of the best animation blending i have seen in a game. I like being able to climb on almost ever surface, plus things such as mounted combat and the crowd AI really adds to the gameplay. Worth the buy!
  71. MW
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Simply Fantastic...a must own game..I love Ubisoft.
  72. MatthewV.
    Jun 30, 2008
    8
    A very good game the graphical side of the game was very realistic also knowing that you could jump around on any building to evade or to stork your assassination was extremely clever. The only down side is the game gets very repetitive and boredom sets in but in the end it was a great game to play.
  73. JuhoG
    Jul 1, 2008
    7
    Assassin´s creed would have been a great game if those Ubisoft idiots, wouldn't put that stupid scifi side story to spoil the illusion of a living medieval world. And the side missions? What kinda side mission is collecting flags for some reason! Well at least the graphics are good and controls easy. And why did they even put the scifi side story?And why must they remind of it Assassin´s creed would have been a great game if those Ubisoft idiots, wouldn't put that stupid scifi side story to spoil the illusion of a living medieval world. And the side missions? What kinda side mission is collecting flags for some reason! Well at least the graphics are good and controls easy. And why did they even put the scifi side story?And why must they remind of it everywhere and everyplace!? To make assassin´s creed 2. Greedy bastards. Expand
  74. EdwardS.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Pleasing to say the least. Technically, this game plays great and looks amazing. Top notch graphics for sure. And as a GAME it
  75. MaxG.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    So similar to Prince of Persia but so much better. It reminds me mostly of Theif (remember that one!) except the game is about a thousand times more complex. Plus, you can actually fight.
  76. BradW.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    Great control scheme, though a little difficult to get used to. Awesome Story, voice acting, and Freerunning.
  77. IanC.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I've got an advance copy from *ssshhhhhh*, so this isn't guesswork, I've played a load of this today. My feeling is this is a game that's being marked on expectations, rather than the real deal, and that's a little unfair, and maybe there's also a lesson or two for Ubisoft regarding just how much they reveal about a game or hype it prior to release - you I've got an advance copy from *ssshhhhhh*, so this isn't guesswork, I've played a load of this today. My feeling is this is a game that's being marked on expectations, rather than the real deal, and that's a little unfair, and maybe there's also a lesson or two for Ubisoft regarding just how much they reveal about a game or hype it prior to release - you gotta hold something back, right? So far I'm loving AC. It looks amazing, it feels amazing, and right now I'm having a ton of fun running, climbing, fighting, exploring etc etc. Isn't that the point? So it gets boring later? This might be news for a few reviewers, but fair few games don't get boring after a while. I think this is a tip top title, and worth your pennies. It's courageous, innovative, interesting, and very very clever at times. Yeah it's got some glitches, but give the coders a break will ya, look what else it does! I can climb a tower without the tower looking in anyway as if it's designed for me to clamber on, it's all so fluid and 'natural'. One final comment - why have so many reviewers absolutely insisted on spoiling the storyline? Expand
  78. ScottD.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    Love the stealth features and the new controls.
  79. Nox
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Aslong as you arn't rushing through the game you'll enjoy it, if you are racing to the end you won't. A nice break from the hundreds of shooters this year.
  80. JasonA.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Great game - story is strong, game play is very smooth and innovative, and overall just a great game. The controls can be somewhat challenging and complicated, and a few nits here and there, but overall I really, really love this game.
  81. larzB
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    I am so hyped about Assassins Creed! This game is great. I was excited when I first saw the videos with Jade Raymond describing the game but now that I have it and have been playing it .. OMG!!!!!I love all the interaction with the environment and the people. Ubisoft really blended all the great gaming elements that are popular right now. Great Job!!! Much LOVE
  82. ClintK.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Simply incredible. It's like some of these reviewers are playing a different game. Maybe they've just been spoiled by so many great games this fall.
  83. MichaelR.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Incredibly addictive. Stunning graphics and awesome combat.
  84. JasonL.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Now I don't think this is a perfect game, it is repetetive, but some of the aweful and unfair scores it has recieved makes me rate it a 10 instead of a 9. This is a fantastic game, it looks great the AI is fantastic both the enemies and civilians. The ability to go anywhere and climb anything is refreshing and the different tactics you have to use in order to assassinate your targets Now I don't think this is a perfect game, it is repetetive, but some of the aweful and unfair scores it has recieved makes me rate it a 10 instead of a 9. This is a fantastic game, it looks great the AI is fantastic both the enemies and civilians. The ability to go anywhere and climb anything is refreshing and the different tactics you have to use in order to assassinate your targets adds refreshing twists at each turn. If you are reading this you owe it to yourself to at least give this one a try; if you come in with an open mind you won't be dissappointed. Expand
  85. MikeM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    This game is a beautiful game, no doubt, but it seems kinda slow at times. A little to slow.
  86. RobC.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    I'm confused. I take it everyone who has voted on here before have played a decent amount of games? If so, to the point where so many people's reviews i have read, and the amount of people who have said this game is repetitive really have not played alot of games i have. Can someone tell me a game where every action and every attack (if with swords or guns) is not repeated in I'm confused. I take it everyone who has voted on here before have played a decent amount of games? If so, to the point where so many people's reviews i have read, and the amount of people who have said this game is repetitive really have not played alot of games i have. Can someone tell me a game where every action and every attack (if with swords or guns) is not repeated in some way. I have only just begun assassins creed and compared to alot of games this really is amazing. From the beautifull graphics to the game mechanics. This game (for me) really is one of the top games i have played. Expand
  87. AlexK.
    Nov 29, 2007
    8
    This game is great. There are a couple gripes with the game however - it does get repetitive if you just rush through it and do everything the same way. some of the dialog is repetitive too. Also, there are no subtitles and you cannot skip any cutscenes if you have seen them before. No swimming? Really odd and annoying in the harbors. Good points - Combat is some of the best combat that This game is great. There are a couple gripes with the game however - it does get repetitive if you just rush through it and do everything the same way. some of the dialog is repetitive too. Also, there are no subtitles and you cannot skip any cutscenes if you have seen them before. No swimming? Really odd and annoying in the harbors. Good points - Combat is some of the best combat that I've seen outside of some fighting games. Graphics and animation are top quality. Free-running and climbing is effortless. Cities are huge. For those people experiencing glitches (the ones that arent programmed in, at least) I've played Assassin's Creed for almost forty hours now, and its only frozen on me twice. Also, the infamous cloning glitch that happens in the last assassination is an easily solved problem - disconnect any other controllers (or guitar hero/rock band peripherals) and it won't happen. Obviously, this game is not without its flaws, but there really isn't such a game in existence. I give Assassin's Creed an 8 out of 10. Expand
  88. NealB.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    This game is absolute perfection. It's Immersive, engaging, and compelling in presentation. To the reviewer who argues that the game is slow due to having to walk around at a crawl has clearly mis-interpreted the training scenarios. The proper way of moving about the cities are via the rooftops of by running in high profile mode to escape your perusers.
  89. BrodelE.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Best single player only game I have played in a LONG time!
  90. MatthewR.
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Assassin's Creed flourishes for it's main story; the moment of a kill is everything it has to offer. However, in order to get this Kill the generic sidequests must be completed (often a chore). even with this hindering it the overall gameplay and excellent graphics allow for an amazing expirience.
  91. WesT.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    This game is fantastic. I felt like I had full control of the environment around me. It has a great story line and will leave you deep in thought well after you finish the game. I suggest buying it now.
  92. HugoV.
    Jan 21, 2008
    6
    Good game.... had a great gameplay n exelent controls ......but the mission and submision are all the same in all the game so the game is great but after the first part of the second city turns boring so boring that make me feel sad i hope the second one or the precuel get more mision or more difference.in the missions.
  93. ChristopherP.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    The type of game you want to show off to people. Cinematic, easy to play, open-ended, absolutely gorgeous, and simply awesome to play. It's too bad there's so much trash you have to sit through to enjoy the gameplay and story inside the "virtual reality" sci-fi tale. The ridiculous and trite sci-fi story was completely unnecessary and a terrifically awful idea. You're a kid The type of game you want to show off to people. Cinematic, easy to play, open-ended, absolutely gorgeous, and simply awesome to play. It's too bad there's so much trash you have to sit through to enjoy the gameplay and story inside the "virtual reality" sci-fi tale. The ridiculous and trite sci-fi story was completely unnecessary and a terrifically awful idea. You're a kid remembering what his assassinating ancestors did? Who thought that was at all cool? You have to sit through long cutscenes of it with awkward, stupid, and pointless dialogue. The "characters" present in this part of the story are cardboard cut-out stereotypes who give you monologues which are less graceful than what you'd see in a typical Half-Life fanfiction. The entire thing is horrendous, and it's stunning that they thought it would be better than, you know, you being an actual assassin. There are lots of other God-awful design decisions riddled throughout the game: it's unbelievably easy, for starters. Now, I like easy games. I like games where I can play around without worrying too much about messing up and having to reload a save over and over. But this is just ridiculous. Your health bar (called "sync bar") is near-inexhaustible, even when surrounded by enemies. My brother and I both affectionately call this game "Assassin's Rampage", because you can tear through the entire city and every single guard without any real effort. And it really doesn't matter if you have an army of guards on you, because they *ALWAYS* attack one at a time, with breaks in between each guard you take down. What this means is that you can sit back and hit counter every time one comes at you, and you can take down dozens of them without taking a single hit if you're at all decent (of course, this doesn't matter with your already near-invincibility). There really is no challenging part to this game. The game often suggests things like taking our archers before your primary target so you don't get attacked by them when you have to escape. Well, guess what: It's completely unnecessary. Not only do arrows do almost no damage and barely slow you down, but you might not even run into any archers on your way out. If you do, just charge at them and take them out in one hit. It makes no difference. You can even just grab them and throw them off the building if you feel like it--the result's the same whether you attack or ignore them. I could go on about how you can run through the entire city killing, literally, every single guard and not worry about being discovered because of how ridiculously easy it is to kill or evade them (if Solid Snake were able to sit on a bench with his head down to vanish from oblivious guards running by, he wouldn't need a gun either), or that your primary targets often don't put up any fight at all, but the bottom line is that you're invincible and thus can do whatever the hell you want without worrying about the consequences. So, you're probably thinking "Why in the hell did you give this game a 9, then?" Well, because I like being able to randomly kill anyone I see and walk away. It's actually kind of refreshing to be able to play as if you have cheat codes on the whole time. I often find myself walking through a city toward whatever destination, and if I decide I didn't like how someone was looking at me, I can leap at them and stab them in the throat, and just walk away like nothing happened. I can do it fifty times in between objectives if I feel like it. I can take anyone, throw them to the ground, then leap on top of them and stab their throat in a similar fashion. I can push guards off towers and watch them fly over the edge and yell until they hit the ground as people scatter below. I can walk up behind one of the soapbox preachers and stab them in the back as they're yelling at a crowd. I can throw people into scaffolds and have it collapse over them. I can ride on a horse through a line of guards marching and knock all of them over. Hell, after I save a citizen from guards and listen to them thank me and tell me how honorable I am, I can immediately put a sword through their neck, and still get the bonus for saving them. In short, I can do whatever the hell I want, and the game doesn't care. There are no real rules. You're told there are and get suggestions about how to avoid guards and approach targets and whatever, but they're are all completely superficial. Kill guards in plain sight, or throw a dozen citizens down and stab them all in the neck. There's no actual consequence, and it looks damned cool when you pull it all off. The graphics, music, story (outside, or rather within, the stupid sci-fi crap), and production values are exceptional, too. If the idea of being an unstoppable assassin in a gorgeous world sounds like fun to you by itself, this game is a dream. Awesome. Expand
  94. Pidgeman
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    This game is brilliant. Not really a stealth game like hitman or splinter cell as you might expect. The graphics are easliy some of the best on 360, the view from the high points across the cities is breathtaking and the 'leaps of faith' are a brilliant touch. The gameplay can get a tad repetitve but with such big cities to explore and the ability to run and jump ANYWHERE it This game is brilliant. Not really a stealth game like hitman or splinter cell as you might expect. The graphics are easliy some of the best on 360, the view from the high points across the cities is breathtaking and the 'leaps of faith' are a brilliant touch. The gameplay can get a tad repetitve but with such big cities to explore and the ability to run and jump ANYWHERE it will be a long time before you get bored. Must Own. Expand
  95. PerryS.
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    WTH is up with all you haters! Assassin's creed is a great game but not perfect. Amazing graphics solid controls and not to linear game-play really puts u in the feel of Altair. Repetitive game-play my butt! find me one game that doesn't get repetitive! look at bioshock, a 96 and that is one of the most linear reptitve games i have ever played! i would recommomnd this game to WTH is up with all you haters! Assassin's creed is a great game but not perfect. Amazing graphics solid controls and not to linear game-play really puts u in the feel of Altair. Repetitive game-play my butt! find me one game that doesn't get repetitive! look at bioshock, a 96 and that is one of the most linear reptitve games i have ever played! i would recommomnd this game to anyone who loves their 360. Collapse
  96. Jacky
    Mar 19, 2008
    8
    Assassin's Creed is a great game, albeit it does have flaws. After a while the gameplay became very repetitive, and you found yourself getting rather bored with it. But overall the plot was very good, as were the graphics! So I would recommend getting it. The only thing missing were some nice little puzzles to solve but other than that. GREAT GAME!
  97. JoeA.
    Jul 24, 2008
    8
    Actually, I'd prefer to give this a 7.5, but I'll round up to an '8'. The first hour of this game is pretty dull, as I was expecting a more 'hack-and-slash' combat experience. Upon entering the first assassination mission, however, I started to notice how awesome this game is. The combat is really more about patience than slicing your way through a crows of Actually, I'd prefer to give this a 7.5, but I'll round up to an '8'. The first hour of this game is pretty dull, as I was expecting a more 'hack-and-slash' combat experience. Upon entering the first assassination mission, however, I started to notice how awesome this game is. The combat is really more about patience than slicing your way through a crows of soldiers. Blocking and countering is what it's all about, and it takes some practice before you get the timing for the counters right. When you do, it's pretty rewarding; you feel kinda bad-ass taking own groups of seven or eight soldiers without getting even a single scratch. The graphics are some of the best on the current consoles, but the occasional graphical tear is present. Lighting and textures are amazing. The story is also pretty interesting, if you stick with it. The ending, without giving anything away, is pretty open, obviously leading to a sequel. Conspiracy theorists might like this game for the story alone. The free-running element is the best part. Jumping from rooftop to rooftop, fighting dozens of bad guys is great fun and makes the game very non-linear, as you can approach your target from almost any direction, assassinating him in any way you choose. On the down side, it's pretty repetitive. On each mission you how to discover at least 3 pieces of info on your target before you can kill him. You can pickpocket, eavesdrop, and interrogate different people for info. If you get all the info, you'll be more prepared when it's time for your kill. Also, all the cities look the same. They do look great, and are very large, but there really isn't any difference between, say, Acre and Jerusalem. One of the cities does have a docks section, and it was fun to jump from boat to boat, dodging enemy soldiers. Not a bad game by any means, but I can see how it won't be for everyone. Adventure fans will want to at least give it a rental, but those expecting non-stop balls-to-the-wall action will want to stay away. Expand
  98. KanishkA
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    It amazes me as to how people cannot appreciate this game. This game is brilliant on so many levels and will definitely be remembered as the most well made games of this generation. Form the story lines to the expansive scenes of the towns from the view points. This game is simply breathe taking. The fights are tense and require you to use your skills as a player. Simple button mashing It amazes me as to how people cannot appreciate this game. This game is brilliant on so many levels and will definitely be remembered as the most well made games of this generation. Form the story lines to the expansive scenes of the towns from the view points. This game is simply breathe taking. The fights are tense and require you to use your skills as a player. Simple button mashing won't do. And guard chases are also lot of fun while searching for that very crucial hiding place. This game is just pure unadulterated fun. That is why I am unable to comprehend the reasoning of some of these critics here. Who have given bad reviews to an amazing game and brought down its overall rating. This games deserves nothing but excellent marks for all that it has to offer. Expand
  99. TigheM.
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    I think the main problem people have with Assassin's Creed will be that they are incapable of respecting it for what it is: it's really not that much like most other games. Reading some of the negative posts on this website, It has become clear to me that the most people can come up with to complain about is "It's too repetitive" or "I hated the sci-fi bit because it turns I think the main problem people have with Assassin's Creed will be that they are incapable of respecting it for what it is: it's really not that much like most other games. Reading some of the negative posts on this website, It has become clear to me that the most people can come up with to complain about is "It's too repetitive" or "I hated the sci-fi bit because it turns out I don't really get to be an assassin." In fact, I have seen several official reviews of the game that barely get above this standard themselves. Assassin's Creed is a game that you shouldn't play all in one or two 15-hour sessions; it's best taken an hour or two at a time over a longer period, giving your brain time to absorb all of the little details that make it so compelling. The emails you find on Vidic's computer aare just one example of the time the developers spent creating a vivid fiction to entertain those who can respect such a thing in a video game. If Gears of War is a summer blockbuster, AC is a critically acclaimed, misunderstood masterpiece. The design, ultimately, gives gamers a fun way to experience the cinematic masterpiece that is Assassin's Creed. Many people have been disappointed by the "too easy" fighting system; I think this goes to show that these people aren't taking the time to delve into the 'Assassin' part of the game; the level of satisfaction you get from gathering all of the info there is on your target, doing reconnaiscance, planning your attack, and then pulling off a daring assassination leaves all complaints I have about the fighting system behind. It is the small things that reinforce the overall experience that make this game amazing; the fact that Ubisoft obviously spent time making such a small thing as jumping through a merchant stand cinematic and cool elevates the experience beyond other games. Bottom Line: AC is not for everyone; but if you have patience, curiosity, and a love for cinematic storytelling, Assassin's Creed may just be the best game you'll ever play. Expand
  100. NathanC.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Awesome game! Great controls, nice fighting, everything!
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.