Assassin's Creed Xbox 360

Assassin's Creed Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1048 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming theThe first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming the role of the main character Altair, have the power to throw their immediate environment into chaos and to shape events during this pivotal moment in history. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    92
    About as atmospheric game as they come. The cities of the Holy Land are rendered so beautifully that simply exploring your surroundings feels exciting. It's a pity that there's really not much else to do than rush to your next assassination target. Fortunately, the core gameplay of climbing up walls and slicing up guards never gets boring. [Dec 2007]
  3. Even with "Halo 3" and "Bioshock" adding to my 360 game collection, Assassin’s Creed has stepped in and stopped me worrying about what to choose for our ‘Game Of The Year’ article this year. Clear enough for you?
  4. The open-world genre has never looked so good, but it could've played a bit more realistically given the subject matter. A few fewer Biblical references would've been nice, too.
  5. 80
    A game that attempts a lot of major development moves and it shows a lot of promise, even if it isn't always executed well.
  6. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?
  7. X-ONE Magazine UK
    50
    No game, regardless of what it may be, can try and get away with developing one level and then replicating it over the course of 12 hours. A massive shame, because there are some truly breathtaking elements. [Issue 27, p.82]

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 284
  1. JulioD.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Although not completely historically accurate. The game still has a fascinating and well thought out story with good replayable gameplay. Although not completely historically accurate. The game still has a fascinating and well thought out story with good replayable gameplay. This game also has awesome graphics and cool cutscenes. Each character is unique and important to storyline and dialog is interesting. Expand
  2. TimE.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Beautiful game, wonderful concepts and it's dependant on how you play the game. Where one man says repetition, I say change what Beautiful game, wonderful concepts and it's dependant on how you play the game. Where one man says repetition, I say change what you're doing. Yes, there are a limited number of side mission types, however despite this the game still manages to be exciting and enveloping. I for one enjoy the dual story line that is weaved throughout the game and enjoy playing the assassin and listening to the other story. Expand
  3. May 25, 2013
    9
    I first came across Assassin's Creed through Prince of Persia, Assassin's Creed's spiritual successor. and when I played this game, I knew itI first came across Assassin's Creed through Prince of Persia, Assassin's Creed's spiritual successor. and when I played this game, I knew it took the prince of Persia formula and made it even better. The story for the game is half and half for me. The story of Altair is great. it manages to tie everything together, and the plot twist at the game actually surprised me a lot. Desmond's story, however, isn't that great. or good. This story is seriously not needed in every possible way, and why it was even created or affected the main storyline in the past will always be a mystery to me. The gameplay is pretty nice. the open-world roaming and combat are fun and addicting, and it definitely shows relation to Prince of Persia. though I sometimes thought Altair wasn't fast enough. his climbing felt very slow, and didn't seem to run that fast. the music in the game is decent, but isn't very memorable. the graphics for the game are great. for a game that came out almost 2 years in the 360's life span, the graphics are really nice, especially for the first in a series of games. I did notice a few issues with character models, like lip-syncing, but that was little. Something I found very enjoyable with the game was the voice acting. Altair's voice actor fits perfectly, along with characters like Al Mualim, Malik, and even Desmond. Side missions in the game are passable. some can be simple, like eavesdropping, and others can get repetitive, like killing certain targets to clear an assassin. this game also has replay elements. for example, all side missions must be completed to get a full sync in a memory sequence, or section of the game. unfortunately, that involves flag collecting, which is the worst part of the game. I'm all about having things in a game to add replay ability, but the flags are not a good way of showing it. There are hundreds and hundreds of flags to collect, and by the time I got 60 flags, I was shut off of flag collecting. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great start to such an amazing series. the gameplay is awesome by taking elements from prince of Persia, the replay value is huge, and Altair's story is well-crafted. if you're a fan of action-adventure games, give Assassin's Creed a try. you may just end up loving it. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game, the first in a line of greats, gave a great beginning to the Assassin's Creed story. The actions were something at the time never were available. The game although boring at times, had a very good story line that would give the designers the ability to develop it further. Overall not a great game, just good but nonetheless still a classic. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2016
    7
    I remember watching the trailer and thinking "wow, this game is gonna be awesome". Fast forward to the moment I played and realized I wasI remember watching the trailer and thinking "wow, this game is gonna be awesome". Fast forward to the moment I played and realized I was wrong. Now, this game is Ok, obviously not the masterpiece I was expecting, but still descent.
    Now the main problem is the repetitive nature of the game. Go and assasinate this guy, return to the creed, and repeat ten more times.
    I played the first 2 missions and got BORED! I didn't touch the game for 6 months, just the thought of me playing it was enough for me to get bored.
    Finally decided to play it again, and even though it was repetitve as f..k I enjoyed the story. And I have to say that was the only thing that made me buy ACII, wanting to know what will happen to Desmond and Lucy.
    Not an awesome game, repetitve as hell, but great story and great visuals. Give it a try.
    Expand
  6. HarsitamoD
    Oct 23, 2009
    6
    Assassins Creed is a game you can both love and hate at the same time. One thing is that you have to climb and climb until you have scaled Assassins Creed is a game you can both love and hate at the same time. One thing is that you have to climb and climb until you have scaled everything but because of the graphics it is worth getting to the top. Another is the fighting; killing people and not getting caught is extremely boring but stealth killing is so fun you'll kill civilians even though it will kill you. And the worst part of the game us the investigations but if you do them you can plan your attack and pull off a stealth kill on your main target which is extremely fun. One thing good about this game that doesn't have a bad side is the sandbox after you win, you can run around and have fun without any consequences. For the reason everything has both a good and bad side I am giving this game a five and one point for the sandbox afterwards making it a six. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2014
    0
    One of the most overrated games I've ever played. For a game about assassinating people, I haven't done much assassinating for the first fewOne of the most overrated games I've ever played. For a game about assassinating people, I haven't done much assassinating for the first few levels. Lots of walking around "blending" in. I.E. Moving VERY slow. The first guy I killed, I didn't even "assassinate". I couldn't get out of his way fast enough because if you do anything besides the slow, slow, prayer walk, the guards will just attack you. So he walks up to me and screams "YOU DARE CHALLENGE ME?!" and attacks. So I kill him then just...ran away? They could have gotten anyone to do that. Not a highly trained assassin.

    Oh, and look at that guy, trotting on his horse in the middle of the countryside...KILL HIM. I can only imagine they make you move so slow most of the time....was to pad the game out.

    Terrible game.
    Expand

See all 284 User Reviews