Assassin's Creed Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 864 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming the role of the main character Altair, have the power to throw their immediate environment into chaos and to shape events during this pivotal moment in history. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  2. About as atmospheric game as they come. The cities of the Holy Land are rendered so beautifully that simply exploring your surroundings feels exciting. It's a pity that there's really not much else to do than rush to your next assassination target. Fortunately, the core gameplay of climbing up walls and slicing up guards never gets boring. [Dec 2007]
  3. Creed has raised my expectations of the visuals and multi-level sandbox games; I am hoping Ubi fixes up the minor flaws for the next go-round as I am now anxiously awaiting the sequel.
  4. It has all the ambitions and potential worthy of a true next-gen title, from its visuals to the freedom it offers to the player, although it falls victim of its own limitations. But this title still has the flavour of something quite innovative. [Dec 2007]
  5. Assassin’s Creed II once again allows players to step into the silent shoes of an assassin, and moves in the right direction providing a more focused and solid playing experience.
  6. There is some enormous potential here, and for all its failings Assassin’s Creed deserves to be played, and its achievements savoured. [Christmas 2007, p.82]
  7. Everything except Altair's athletics feels underdeveloped and painfully shallow, making the end result an overhyped attempt to recoup the development costs for something that's little more than an extended tech demo.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 266
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. Though people complain about its historical Inaccuracy its an amazing game and propelled the series. I suggest this game to anyone looking for a good RPG Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed is truly a wonderful game. The visuals are gorgeous, (except the people--I'll get to that later), the cities teem with life and the ending will shock you to the core.

    However, the people are poorly done, or maybe it's just my PC. Their legs show through their robes when they walk, and their index and middle, ring and pinkie fingers are stuck together, making them look like aliens. It's also rather formulaic, with you completing the same types of things (flag challenges, stealth assassinations, stall destroying) over and over in different circumstances.

    It's great fun to just mess around, though. You don't have to follow the story after a certain point--you can just mess around and kill civilians if you so chose. Seriously, buy this game. You'll love it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed te da una buena oportunidad de disfrutar de los lujos de un mapa bastante grande en toda su exquisita forma (animales, personas, ambientes, enemigos) y una excelente manera de crear una historia, los gráficos son medios pero es un gran paso para Ubisoft. Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    it's an great open world game in the time it was released,the problem of the game is that isn't secondary missions and if you finish the game there is pratically anything to do unless take collectibles. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2013
    6
    assasins creed 4 is coming out so im reviewing the series
    pros:altair is the coolest guy ever, interesting premise, assassinating people is
    as fun as possible, open world, combat is fun enough, cool historical stuff
    cons: combat is the easiest thing ever, next to no replay value, lack of extras
    Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2011
    6
    This is a game with both high and low points. The story is engrossing, the visuals amazing, the stealth and assassinations exciting and the free-roam parkour really outstanding. However, the one-button for all fighting aspect and the stab/kill/run away repetition for killing targets and soldiers gets really tiring very quickly until encountering soldiers and guards becomes a task more than exciting action. The investigations enable you to be able to meticulously plan out attacks on major targets, which is pretty cool and fleeing it over rooftops after is pretty sweet. Unfortunately though you can't replay this game as every encounter becomes an exact rerun of the previous, and for that, as I've said, it becomes rather boring Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    This is without doubt the WORST game I have ever played. It is so pathetic it is beyond a joke. The graphics are abysmal, the controls stink and the padded out gameplay is as repetative as heck. This is nothing but a 1 level repeated ad infinitum padded out repetative as heck beta tech demo. I played it for 3 hours ( 1/12 hours not counting the unskippable cutscenes ) and I was bored senseless. How this game got the reviews that it did I shall never know. I bet they were paid by Ubisoft to give those high scores because they knew they had made a crapfeast of a game.

    Lets look at it one by one shall we:

    Controls - what controls? The controls were the worst I have ever seen in gaming. My hand was aching after trying a couple of moves.

    Graphics - Worst I have ever seen. Biege biege biege with more biege and some biege on the side. Bland boring and horrible.

    Gameplay - What blooming gameplay there wasn't any. Evesdrop, pickpocket, blend, climb walls, collect flags ride horse rinse repeat ad infinitum.

    Story - what blooming story? There wasn't any. Some sci-fi junk about some bartender bieng an assassin in a previous life and that the human genome has memory! Do me a favour. Worst story ever.

    Voice acting - Terrible! you could tell that even the voice actors thought it was a dire script and were only there for the money.

    Overall worst game ever. How this disaster got the reviews that it did and 2 sequels I shall never know. Ubisoft wouldn't know how to make a game if it came up and bit it's face.

    STAY AWAY.
    Expand

See all 266 User Reviews