Assassin's Creed Xbox 360

Assassin's Creed Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1093 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming theThe first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming the role of the main character Altair, have the power to throw their immediate environment into chaos and to shape events during this pivotal moment in history. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    92
    About as atmospheric game as they come. The cities of the Holy Land are rendered so beautifully that simply exploring your surroundings feels exciting. It's a pity that there's really not much else to do than rush to your next assassination target. Fortunately, the core gameplay of climbing up walls and slicing up guards never gets boring. [Dec 2007]
  3. Even with "Halo 3" and "Bioshock" adding to my 360 game collection, Assassin’s Creed has stepped in and stopped me worrying about what to choose for our ‘Game Of The Year’ article this year. Clear enough for you?
  4. The open-world genre has never looked so good, but it could've played a bit more realistically given the subject matter. A few fewer Biblical references would've been nice, too.
  5. 80
    A game that attempts a lot of major development moves and it shows a lot of promise, even if it isn't always executed well.
  6. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?
  7. X-ONE Magazine UK
    50
    No game, regardless of what it may be, can try and get away with developing one level and then replicating it over the course of 12 hours. A massive shame, because there are some truly breathtaking elements. [Issue 27, p.82]

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 293
  1. JulioD.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Although not completely historically accurate. The game still has a fascinating and well thought out story with good replayable gameplay. Although not completely historically accurate. The game still has a fascinating and well thought out story with good replayable gameplay. This game also has awesome graphics and cool cutscenes. Each character is unique and important to storyline and dialog is interesting. Expand
  2. Barry
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    It's just the perfect game. By far the best game graphically to ever come into the gaming world. Vast climbing environments makes it It's just the perfect game. By far the best game graphically to ever come into the gaming world. Vast climbing environments makes it incredibly fun to jolt around off rooftops and performing leap off faiths from high up view points into hay. Free running is amazing, as is the gently pushing mechanism. Everything about Altair's body movements just oozes realism. Just look at the way he gets his foot ready to walk across beams, the way he jumps off buildings into hay, the way he climbs and the interacting of AI & player. An epic game that you need to add to your collection. Truely amazing! Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    Although I didn't give this game a shot until 2011, I am very glad that I did! While the graphics don't hold up that well compared to recentAlthough I didn't give this game a shot until 2011, I am very glad that I did! While the graphics don't hold up that well compared to recent releases, the gameplay and story line keep you entertained and eager to keep playing. If you were to run through the story-driven missions without taking any time to sight-see or attempt side missions, it is around a 10hr game. I took my sweet time and played much longer. There are fun weapons and ways in which you can "take care" of your targets. All in all, my favorite thing about the AC franchise is free running around the city and jumping off the tops of ancient wonders. Oh yeah, the historical accuracy in AC is quite riveting. As a history buff I thoroughly enjoyed seeing much of the game's story line and characters following their destiny. Great game. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game, the first in a line of greats, gave a great beginning to the Assassin's Creed story. The actions were something at the time never were available. The game although boring at times, had a very good story line that would give the designers the ability to develop it further. Overall not a great game, just good but nonetheless still a classic. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2016
    7
    The first Assassin's Creed game was good, if a bit repetitive. I'll admit the climbing mechanics are clunky and annoying, but it was the firstThe first Assassin's Creed game was good, if a bit repetitive. I'll admit the climbing mechanics are clunky and annoying, but it was the first game and it was released back in 2007. The guard fights were repetitive and at times frustrating. The beggars and insane individuals were also very annoying. But aside from all of that, Assassin's Creed was a good game with a good story and good plot twist. I recommend to buy it if your a fan of the Assassin's Creed series. Expand
  6. JustinK
    Apr 7, 2009
    6
    Awesome graphics, interesting storyline, initially fun gameplay. Too bad I got bored after the first two missions. I can think of a dozen Awesome graphics, interesting storyline, initially fun gameplay. Too bad I got bored after the first two missions. I can think of a dozen ways for them to change things up to add replay-ability and more complex, rewarding side missions. It borders between a game you want to own because of the landmark graphics and "parkour done right", and a game you want to rent because of the extremely repetitive game play and zero replay value. Expand
  7. Sep 16, 2016
    0
    This game is so horrible. I can't believe. Horrible game. Everything is horrible. I'll burn this game. I'll burn my console after played it.This game is so horrible. I can't believe. Horrible game. Everything is horrible. I'll burn this game. I'll burn my console after played it. I need burn everything. Expand

See all 293 User Reviews