Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a revered deity, Asura was betrayed by his fellow gods and stripped of all his powers. Consumed by anger at the injustice he has suffered and swearing vengeance, Asura discovers he can use this fury to his advantage and turn it against his enemies. By channelling his inner rage, Asura is now able to unleash devastating attacks and wreak havoc as he battles against the deities who have wronged him and their earthly forces. Inspired by episodic dramas, Asura's Wrath will be split into distinct sections with gameplay and narrative unfolding as one and building to a final climatic conclusion. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    90
    Asura's Wrath is a glittering, golden starchild of incredulity, and I love it.
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    In terms of story and presentation, the tale of Asura's Wrath is one of the best of this console generation, but a scant six hours of gameplay and lengthy cutscenes holds it back from being perfect.
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    78
    Asura's Wrath is a definite explosive and engaging experience on the first time through but falls short when it comes to replay.
  4. 70
    Asura's Wrath begs for negative criticism. But no unhelpful intellectualising about the boundaries of TV and videogame can magic away the wide grin that sat on our face for most of the game. If you're a fan of massive-attack anime and characters who are only mortal when the battle ends, Asura's Wrath is Naruto for post-pubescents. It's not great value, but it is spectacular entertainment.
  5. Mar 11, 2012
    70
    It's such a tough sell, as it's so short and so little of its running time can actually be defined as 'gameplay'. It's such a maverick, though, and such a bananas way to spend eight hours, that it's almost certainly something everyone should experience. Just don't go expecting the Earth. Asura's already smashed it to pieces.
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    67
    Asura's Wrath is an incredible experience, but not exactly a great game. You spend as much, if not more, time watching cut-scenes as you do actually controlling Asura. There is a lot of promise to this concept, but I am not sure it's implementation belongs in a full-priced, retail game.
  7. Apr 8, 2012
    30
    Those expecting a God of War type experience within Asura's Wrath are bound to be disappointed. Hell, those expecting a game are likely to feel some letdown because the bulk of Asura's Wrath is spent watching things instead of doing them. Hardcore anime fans will probably find something worthwhile here, but those looking for a solid action brawler would be well-advised to keep searching.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Unique, fun and compelling. A non stop action ride in the vicinity of dbz and gow but if you don't like qte then you might not enjoy it as it's a very large percentage of what makes this game so special. Collapse
  2. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Asura's Wrath is a hard game to rate on the one hand, stunning visuals, epic anime duels against robotic god like warriors, over the top videos of a Buddha type character turning the same size as a planet and trying to squash Asura with his continent sized finger. One the other hand, lots of quick time events, very little fighting (in the opening stages at least) and more cutscenes than gameplay but i can't complain about that too much because of cutscenes like the one above.

    So i do rate this with my head rather than my heart, if were to go with my heart i would give this game a solid 9 for originality and maybe just maybe thats what it deserves. However my head keeps telling me otherwise a 7 maybe or 7.5. Firstly i would like to say i am a huge, huge fan of Cyber Connect 2 they have done wonders with their work on Naruto games which as been their staple game to be honest. They know how to design anime or manga beat em ups they are kings of this genre in fact. So the gameplay in Asura's Wrath, well it's everything you come to expect from CyberConnect 2 studios its fast paced, completely over the top, ass kickery (yes that word is made up). Sometimes the fight sequences are downright OTT which you would come to expect from this God based slobber knocker. From headbutting fat guardians of the Gods to being able to shut you nemesis up mid conversation with the press of a button and being rewarded an achievement for it. There are others but i don't feel like ruining the surprise.

    Over the top action is pretty much a given with this studio and they deliver by the bucket load with headbutt after Earth shattering headbutt. Visuals are CyberConnect's forte and they really deliver to be honest if there is one thing they know how to do well its manga/anime. The stunning visuals and graphics in this game are fantastic and i couldn't say otherwise. Also when you unlock all the illustrations and artwork in the options menu it is worth a little peek there is some fantastic work there.

    The backdrop to Asura's Wrath is based around our hero Asura and well his wrath...... Long story short he is betrayed by his fellow gods and they kill the very general they were sworn to protect and frame Asura. In turn they kill Asura's wife and kidnap his daughter as she is superior at controlling the gods energy source Mantra. Then all hell breaks loose Asura was an angry guy anyway but now you frame him for being a traitor and take his family away from oh boy!!!

    The story is really well written and as the story progresses you develop an empathy with Asura when you see what his fellow gods are doing to the mortals who inhabit the planet and at most points in the game you feel almost as angry as he does, just nearly. Sadly where Asura's Wrath falls short on the gameplay section, this game lasts about 6 or 7 hours and about an hour and a half of that is fighting and shooting sections which is a slight let down. Just as you are getting into a fight your burst meter fills up which slings you through to the next section of the level. However you can continue to fight as enemies are never ending only thing is it will effect your rating at the end of the level. I am going to judge this game with my head though and give it a 7.5 even though there are no halves. Asura's Wrath is a fantastic visual masterpiece and the way it is laid out like a television show is charming. Gameplay it is lacking slightly but is still crisp and fluid fighting action. I can't help but think that if this game came out as a downloadable title with additional episodes every fortnight would it get a higher rating as it is a little steep as a full priced on disc release. That said this game is a true showcase of what CyberConnect are capable of visually, technically and in script writing and for that it scores the way it does.
    Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game from start to finish. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of 10 is I don't think you should have had to buy the complete ending. Asura was one of my fav all time video game characters, the art style was superb and loved the story. I recommend everyone give this a try, unless you are just a FPS or sports gamer. You will never forget it. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    Action action action, this game was made for those who suffer from ADD. If you know Anime and grew up on The Fist of the North Star, love the close up action of Street Fighter 4 and watch John Woo films over and over then this is your cup of tea. Great effort and its nice to see Capcom doing something refreshing again like they did with Clover Studios back in the day. Great interactive Anime that gives you feeling of kicking butt like an over the top cut scene from releasing a GF in Final Fantasy. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    Asura's Wrath is essentially an over-the-top, interactive anime. With an amount of yelling and powering up, only second to Dragon Ball Z, this game is one heck of a ride. The graphics are superb and present a uniqueness about them. The game play itself consists mostly of button mashing and timing. Those who can't mash with the best of them, can still enjoy the game, but are fated to get a lower score.

    Scoring consists of 3 categories: Time, Battle, and Synchronization.

    Time is, of course, the amount of time it takes you to complete an episode.
    Battle is how well you perform in open movement fighting.
    Synchronization is how well you do during the button sequences.

    The sound quality, music tracks, and voice acting are all superb. Some of the best and most prestigious voice actors, such as Liam O' Brien (Asura) and Steven Blum (Sergei), lend their voices to this title. The only problem is that you can't always hear them so well. With only a primitive, master volume sound control, you are best off leaving subtitles on.

    With too much watching and not enough game play, this one shoots itself in the foot. The game is unlike anything I've ever played and I am glad that I did. I recommend this to any fans of anime or Capcom.
    Expand
  6. May 2, 2012
    7
    This is like action anime without ankward cuteness, just how I like it. Awesome action clips are really epic, but gameplay isnt very good. Fighting is basically just smashing one button and sometimes using strong attack or shoot, but not anything like Bayonetta or Devil May Cry. Quick Time Events are mostly easy and it wasnt problem for me like hard QTE's in God of War. Mostly QTE's affects only score and only sometimes animation is different. There has come some DLC out. Episode 11.5 (160 live points) is just crappy 10 minutes long anime cartoon of fighting against some gohma with useless QTE's and not actual gameplay. It was so bad I dont even wanna know what Episode 15.5 (160 live points) is. But there is now more!
    At the end of april came DLC episodes 19-22 (560 live points) and oh boy. This completes the game and those should have been in the game at the first place! When I played Asuras Wrath without DLC I was after ending like "Meh.. Game had its good parts, but I probably never play this again." After DLC and real ending I had big smile on my face and whole game felt better. I recommend DLC for everybody who didnt actually hate this game. Overall this is average, but still good and short game. Definedly buy if you like epic fights.
    Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2012
    0
    Ok so i bought it and thought i was buying a game.... i didn't get a game, i got a naff anime cartoon with terrible voice acting, a boring story and absolutely zero fun. Theres 3 parts to the game and each part has 6 episodes. each episode varies in length but is mostly all video... one episode lasted 15 minutes and the time i actually played in this episode was 58 seconds....... it's structured horribly, doesn't feel like a game, definitely not challenging at all, and if you skip every movie cutscene in it you can complete it in 1 hour and 30 minutes. utter tripe. it gets a zero for vaguely representing something that could of been great. bad form Capcom.. bad form. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews