Banjo-Tooie Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LebanM.
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Why are certain reviewers takes this game harshly, & the fact that it's "A derivative of SM64" baffles me, it brings a lot to the table. Besides, we need platformers like this anyway, cause the gaming scene is filled with FPS games, I need more originality, people. Ultimately, it's a long lasting title, that will keep you hooked!
  2. jh
    May 5, 2009
    10
    It's kinda funny how Eurogamer, the same critics that gave Megaman 9 lavish praise, thinks Banjoe Tooie is 'outdated'. Oh, I'm sure Megaman 9 has REALLY stood the test of time. The critics hating on Banjo are really just Super Mario 64 fanboys that can't take the fact that Rare built upon the genre in innovative and exciting ways. Eurogamer and teletext central It's kinda funny how Eurogamer, the same critics that gave Megaman 9 lavish praise, thinks Banjoe Tooie is 'outdated'. Oh, I'm sure Megaman 9 has REALLY stood the test of time. The critics hating on Banjo are really just Super Mario 64 fanboys that can't take the fact that Rare built upon the genre in innovative and exciting ways. Eurogamer and teletext central clearly do not have an issue with nostalgia--so as long as they are the ones deriving it and not you. Expand
  3. HaydenH
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    This game represents some of the best childhood memories involving video games. Not only was this one of the best N64 games created, it innovated in many ways. In Mario 64, you had the same move-set for the entire game, whereas here, you learned new moves as you went. While it's a heck of a game, I've played through it so many times that I've started to notice things that This game represents some of the best childhood memories involving video games. Not only was this one of the best N64 games created, it innovated in many ways. In Mario 64, you had the same move-set for the entire game, whereas here, you learned new moves as you went. While it's a heck of a game, I've played through it so many times that I've started to notice things that bother me just a bit. The game is rather (not to be mean) old, and hasn't really evolved from what it was. Another small quibble is that the FPS sections have a default sensitivity that is much to high. Still, with these minor quibbles aside, let me say that this is one of the N64's best (and platformer's for that matter too). If you have played this game before, buy it again, it won't hurt. If you have never played the game before, what are you waiting for!? The game is $15 and several hours long and it's amazing! Go get it right now if you like anthropomorphic animals, platformers, killing stuff, or awesome games! Expand
  4. BatM
    May 6, 2009
    10
    Really ? Eurogamer calls it a generic platformer ? It's kinda sad because they gave a 100 to Super Mario Galaxy. I mean it's not like it's the same concept from Super Mario 64 or Sunshine reused in space... Nah And Banjo-Tooie was at least a sequel that was released 2 years after Banjo-Kazooie. Not 10 years later without any gameplay changes, 2 years after. There were 11 Really ? Eurogamer calls it a generic platformer ? It's kinda sad because they gave a 100 to Super Mario Galaxy. I mean it's not like it's the same concept from Super Mario 64 or Sunshine reused in space... Nah And Banjo-Tooie was at least a sequel that was released 2 years after Banjo-Kazooie. Not 10 years later without any gameplay changes, 2 years after. There were 11 years between Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Galaxy and what's the difference... well you're moving the wiimote to get launch from stars and collect rocks by pointing at the screen but other than that it's just get stars on X level and then change act and then get X stars on same level Act 2. I'm not saying it's a bad game, I played it, loved it, but Eurogamer is being hypocrite saying platformers are being generic. And since this is an arcade re-release of the old 64 game, you can drop a few 15 to 30 points from your original review. Expand
  5. BobD
    May 6, 2009
    10
    The game is excellent. Who really cares what teletext has to say? Their review should be removed so the real games sites can have their opinion published. As for Eurogamer, the game is just plain fun. It's as fun as it was nearly ten years ago and it has graphics, control and content updates (in the form of Stop N' Swap). This is a classic game - don't let the surprisingly The game is excellent. Who really cares what teletext has to say? Their review should be removed so the real games sites can have their opinion published. As for Eurogamer, the game is just plain fun. It's as fun as it was nearly ten years ago and it has graphics, control and content updates (in the form of Stop N' Swap). This is a classic game - don't let the surprisingly low reviews sway you any other way. The original complaint was the framerate issue - now that's been fixed, what's the problem? Expand
  6. NathanW
    May 7, 2009
    10
    Classic game, i beat the game as a kid, and i'm enjoying the experience once again on the 360. Definitely more than worth the $15 they charge for it. And definitely worth a play though if you love platformers. If your looking for an Arcade game that lasts longer than a few hours to beat, this is the game for you.
  7. [anonymous]
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    This games was and still is a great fun game. i never really liked the Multiplayer games and stuff....... but the story is great resuming right off the first one and with the XBLA version now you can do the Mysterious Stop n' Swop!
  8. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    A great sequel which you'll love if you had even the slightest bit of interest in the original Banjo-Kazooie. Sure, the levels can be a bit confusing sometimes but that's just because they aren't half as linear as the areas in many modern games. Banjo-Tooie takes actual thinking to progress, which is something that can't be said about a lot of games these days. Anyway, it's a really greatA great sequel which you'll love if you had even the slightest bit of interest in the original Banjo-Kazooie. Sure, the levels can be a bit confusing sometimes but that's just because they aren't half as linear as the areas in many modern games. Banjo-Tooie takes actual thinking to progress, which is something that can't be said about a lot of games these days. Anyway, it's a really great title that I highly recommend. Expand
  9. May 22, 2012
    9
    Must have game. The graphic has gotten old, but the fun and game play are still fresh. One of the best adventure arcade games ever made. More skills, maps, possibilities and enemies than the first one. More tasks too. You won't made a mistake.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Banjo-Tooie is a no-frills ROM port that is a slam dunk for those looking to relive some of gaming’s past glory without having to pull out past consoles.
  2. For every moment where the game deviates from predictable platform tropes, there are dozens more when it's really nothing more than a very nicely assembled and presented riff on what other games were pioneering. Banjo-Tooie, then. Not one of the all-time greats, but when you take off the rose-tinted glasses the result is still enough to make it a standout on Live Arcade.
  3. 85
    If you played Banjo-Tooie back in the day it's worth a revisit to remind yourself how good this game was and earn a few achievements. And if you've never played Rare's masterpiece it's high time you found out why it is considered a high point for the genre.