Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Games Master UK
    Sep 25, 2011
    61
    Teeth-grindingly annoying film noir-style narration over EVERYTHING you do. [Nov 2011, p.91]
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    65
    Is the game worth playing? Certainly. It's a decent little adventure that will provide enough solid gameplay to be worth the money. Just make sure one expects no more than that, and it'll be a most worthy purchase. Bastion is fun enough for what it is, but it does not transcend to the levels that it would like you to believe it does.
  3. games(TM)
    Sep 13, 2011
    70
    If it weren't presented with such craft and imagination, Bastion would be just another XBLA also-ran. But that's not a criticism, not should it be. [Issue#113, p.98]
  4. Jul 21, 2011
    70
    The combat might never feel as clever as the visuals and narration but this is still an engrossing and distinctive action role-player.
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    65
    After I'd seen the plot play out and was able to mentally put it aside, it became clear that the lion's share of the pleasure I derived from Bastion was of the technical, hack-'em-up kind. In that regard, I salute it. On the other hand, while my hands enjoyed the time I spent with Bastion, my brain and my heart were left untouched.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Sep 19, 2011
    70
    The way the levels unfold, literally paving the way out before your feet, removes any sense of exploration. [Issue#76, p.100]
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 288
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games to be released in 2011.It's just amazing in every sense and the cherry on the cake is...only 15 dollars.ThisThis is one of the best games to be released in 2011.It's just amazing in every sense and the cherry on the cake is...only 15 dollars.This has $60 worth of quality content and then some.You just never know anymore,I was looking forward to Dirt 3 and while very good, it was a let down.This is a game that is just screaming with new ideas and content.It's an Indie game,WHAT?Craaazy Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing, there are no words to describe Bastion YOU MUST PLAY THE GAME TO UNDERSTAND ITS GREATNESS! The music, the wonderful visuals,Simply amazing, there are no words to describe Bastion YOU MUST PLAY THE GAME TO UNDERSTAND ITS GREATNESS! The music, the wonderful visuals, the deep characters all bring Bastion into the rank of Legendary. Compared to most AAA titles these days, Bastion is a true breath of fresh air, it takes the bar and launches it straight into the stratosphere. All developers should strive to bring the quality that Bastion has brought forth to the gaming scene. Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    My take on Bastion:
    1. Inventive and unique use of narrator (cuts out pretty much all reading and lets the narrator tell the story)
    2. Upgrade
    My take on Bastion:
    1. Inventive and unique use of narrator (cuts out pretty much all reading and lets the narrator tell the story)
    2. Upgrade system for weapons gives you a large variety of customization, and the training grounds for each adds some challenges for rewards
    3. Story length is 7-8 hours, but with New Game+ you can burn through it in 1-2 hours tops
    4. 'Idols' that can be activated to add challenge with small rewards given
    5. Not much re-playability; an hour into New Game+ I had all weapons upgraded and hit max level of 10

    All in all, worth the $15 for a fun game that'll last you a week as a casual gamer, and maybe a weekend if you play more often.
    Full Review »