User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 286 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 286

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2016
    6
    Bastion is an indie developed RPG featuring beautiful hand drawn graphics and, uniquely, a narrator that comments upon the actions taken by the player. The gameplay itself largely consists of battling through small areas infested with enemies in order to collect ‘cores’ that the protagonist hopes will restore the world following an event known only as the calamity. Thanks to a largeBastion is an indie developed RPG featuring beautiful hand drawn graphics and, uniquely, a narrator that comments upon the actions taken by the player. The gameplay itself largely consists of battling through small areas infested with enemies in order to collect ‘cores’ that the protagonist hopes will restore the world following an event known only as the calamity. Thanks to a large selection of upgradable weaponry and abilities, as well as a decent variety of enemy types, there is good depth to this combat ensuring that things don’t really start to ever become too repetitive within the games 6 hour running time. The story is told through the narrator and short cut scenes and, while it is passable, it is certainly to the games benefit that it never becomes too bogged down in trying to explain its plot.

    Bastion isn't quite up there with the very best Xbox Live games but it is an interesting title nonetheless and worth trying for yourself if you can pick it up for a decent price.
    Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2014
    6
    Style over substance, the world building while you walk gets old real fast and very frustrating! The gameplay is average, the story is non-existant, the narrator's voice gets annoying by the end. However, I still had fun for a few hours.
  3. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    In quest’avventura vestiremo i panni del bellicoso Kid, un valoroso ragazzino dai capelli bianchi. Disturbato nel sonno dalla terra in tumulto, si sveglia e guardandosi attorno, vede che tutto ciò che è rimasto attorno a lui è il vuoto. Il mondo che conosceva è stato spazzato via dalla Calamità. I primi passi verso il nulla sollevano sotto ai suoi piedi il sentiero che percorrerà perIn quest’avventura vestiremo i panni del bellicoso Kid, un valoroso ragazzino dai capelli bianchi. Disturbato nel sonno dalla terra in tumulto, si sveglia e guardandosi attorno, vede che tutto ciò che è rimasto attorno a lui è il vuoto. Il mondo che conosceva è stato spazzato via dalla Calamità. I primi passi verso il nulla sollevano sotto ai suoi piedi il sentiero che percorrerà per raggiungere un luogo sicuro in cui rifugiarsi in caso si pericolo: il Bastion. Giunto sul posto, incontrerà un vecchio saggio, Rucks, che lo indirizzerà allo Skyway, la piattaforma che lo farà volare fino a precipitare e schiantarsi su zone ignote alla ricerca di nuclei capaci di ristabilire la pace. Armato del suo fidato martello, Kid intraprende così il cammino che lo porterà ad affrontare enormi schiere di nemici pronti a far di tutto pur di fermare il suo nobile intento.

    Bastion è un Hack 'N' Slash e come tale trae le sue basi dalla classica formula di Diablo. A nostra disposizione abbiamo un arsenale composto da una decina di armi, sbloccabili proseguendo con la storia. Con noi ne potremmo portare solo due alla volta, ognuna delle quali possiede una potente abilità segreta diversa dalle altre che richiede tonici neri per essere utilizzata. Oltre al semplice tasto della capriola, per difenderci dagli attacchi nemici, all’inizio del gioco troveremo lo scudo, indispensabile per deviare i colpi avversari. Subendo dei danni la nostra salute calerà. Per ripristinarla vi basterà usare i tonici della salute, mentre se dovreste essere sconfitti prima avrete una possibilità per continuare proseguendo dal punto esatto in cui siete caduti, dopodiché esaurita anche questa dovrete ricominciare la zona dall’inizio. Conseguendo esperienza sconfiggendo nemici e recuperando cimeli sparsi per lo scenario, passeremo di livello e otterremo un leggero incremento della salute massima, aumentando di un numero il limite di “bevute” alla distilleria. Al ritrovamento di ogni nucleo, che andrà collocato al centro del Bastion, ci sarà data la possibilità di erigere uno dei sei edifici che ci permetteranno di gestire diversi aspetti del gioco. Vediamoli nel dettaglio: la Distilleria ci permette di equipaggiare i vari spiriti così da fornirci bonus passivi inerenti a salute massima, danni inferti e difesa aumentata; l’Arsenale ci consente di cambiare le armi a nostra disposizione; la Fornace ci consente di potenziare e migliorare le armi consumando i materiali richiesti e spendendo i Frammenti raccolti lungo il percorso, usati come moneta nel gioco; dal rivenditore Oggetti smarriti possiamo acquistare materiali, spiriti e cimeli; il Memoriale è una bacheca dove sono affissi dei fogli che ci incaricano di svolgere determinate azioni ricompensate con i frammenti; e per finire il Tempio, luogo in cui è possibile aumentare la difficoltà del gioco a nostro piacimento, invocando gli idoli che incideranno sul comportamento dei nemici, rendendoli più resistenti e aggressivi. Nel Bastion c’è ben altro oltre alle strutture che vi ho elencato, infatti se interagirete con determinati oggetti vi porteranno a Chissà dove… Avanzando nella storia, avrete accesso a zone opzionali chiamate campi di addestramento, che metteranno alla prova la vostra abilità nell’uso delle armi. Completando queste sfide otterrete materiali e abilità segrete in base alla qualità della vostra prestazione. Insomma, Bastion offre davvero molto dal punto di vista del gameplay, dando prova di essere completo sotto ogni aspetto che lo caratterizza e si consolida con un livello di sfida che saprà impegnare anche i giocatori più esigenti.

    La visuale isometrica si fonde alla perfezione con il mondo di gioco in costante mutamento. Varcare la soglia del vuoto non sapendo se si costruirà o no il nostro passaggio per poi veder crescere statue, giardini o edifici, il tutto disegnato a pastello, ricco di dettagli e colori, è una gioia per gli occhi! Il fascino unico di queste immagini vi spronerà ad esplorare ogni angolo della zona, accompagnati sempre dalla voce narrante fuori campo che interverrà ad ogni vostra azione, dalla caduta accidentale fuori dal campo alla sconfitta, con quel pizzico di humor che dona ancor più valore a questo piccolo capolavoro artistico. Non da meno la soundtrack diretta da Darren Korb, vincitrice tra l’altro ai VGA 2011 dei premi “Best Original Score” e “Best Song in a Game” con il brano “Build That Wall” cantato dalla splendida voce di Ashley Lynn Barrett, entrambi coinvolti anche nel recente Transistor, secondo gioco sviluppato da Supergiant Games.

    Bastion è un acquisto imprescindibile per i possessori di Xbox 360, PC e iPad/iPhone. La sua originale vena artistica e l’immediatezza del suo gameplay lo riconoscono come il meritato vincitore del premio “Best Downloadable Game” ai VGA 2011. Unica nota “negativa” è la longevità. Per portare a termine l’avventura vi basteranno 4-5 ore, senza prendere in considerazione però l’attivazione degli idoli e sfide varie da affrontare.
    Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2014
    6
    Pretty much just an isometric dungeon crawler. This game was enjoyable but it got it's d*ck sucked a little more than it should have because of a voiceover style that apparently was the best thing ever created since vaginas. It's alright, but it's certainly no vagina.
  5. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This is a must have game for any 360 owner! Went back and played through again after finishing the game the first time two years ago. Game still holds up well and is just as much fun. Well worth the $15 price tag! Hoping for a sequel with co-op play!
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    I love Bastion. It has one of the best soundtracks you'll find, plus a narrator that is unforgettable. The story is also top-notch. Combine that with tons of unlocks, a visually stunning world and fun gameplay and you have yourself a winner. It can be slightly repetitive at times, but you'll be hard-pressed to find a better downloadable game.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    The sense of wonder and exploration is eliminated by the world's creation as you play. The context narration is innovative, but could have done without the cheese.
  8. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    I was originally planning on writing a long, complex review that perfectly captures my love for this game, it's universe, story, and Logan Cunningham (the Narrator). Unfortunately, nothing I wrote could really make the cut and I erased it to write this instead. Don't be dissuaded by some critics calling it a casual romp--while there is a case to be made for that in some ways--this game isI was originally planning on writing a long, complex review that perfectly captures my love for this game, it's universe, story, and Logan Cunningham (the Narrator). Unfortunately, nothing I wrote could really make the cut and I erased it to write this instead. Don't be dissuaded by some critics calling it a casual romp--while there is a case to be made for that in some ways--this game is deep, emotional, and bittersweet, and flawless where it truly matters; it is a testament to originality, a triumph of narrative excellence, sophistication, and authenticity, and an unparalleled example of charm and beauty in a universe that takes itself seriously. I only wish I played it sooner. Expand
  9. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    I have yet to complete the game, but even if the ending is somehow disappointing (I do not believe that it will be), I will stand by my score right now because it is one of the most fun experiences I have had with a solo video game all year. It cannot be stated enough just how perfect the score and the narration are, doing more than simply enhancing the experience - without them, the gameI have yet to complete the game, but even if the ending is somehow disappointing (I do not believe that it will be), I will stand by my score right now because it is one of the most fun experiences I have had with a solo video game all year. It cannot be stated enough just how perfect the score and the narration are, doing more than simply enhancing the experience - without them, the game would definitely be less. The gameplay reminds me a little of one of my favorite NES games - Crystalis. The weapon choices and the challenges for each individual weapon are a lot of fun. The story can be a bit difficult to follow at times, but I think that in part has to do with the confusion the Kid is experiencing. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a solid challenge. Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This game is what i would consider a close as possible to a perfect game. NO game is perfect, but this game is a close! I can't give a 9.5 /10 so 10/10 is the way to go. Bastion is amazing in every way, It is truly a MUST BUY!
  11. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time. Old school, yet still inventive story telling, fun and relatively balanced action, varied enemies, beautiful graphics, and a fantastic and thoughtful experience. I couldn't really ask for much more. Action RPGs make a lot of missteps these days, but Bastion is a game that does it completely right. A must buy, especially for the price.
  12. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    The polished gameplay and stylish art running to the AMAZING soundtrack makes this one of the best games on XBLA - one of the games that makes me happy I bought the console to begin with.
  13. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    This game is just plain awesome. I honestly can't find any faults with it. There are a multitude of weapons that can be upgrade and tweak to your preference. The challenges are fun (although some are a massive pain the...). The story is interesting and it actually has replay value because it's just fun to run around in that world. Definitely recommend this game to anyone who has a 360!
  14. Apr 6, 2012
    5
    Clearly, I just don't get this game. While I LOVED the music and thought the art style was great, I gotta admit that I thought the story was stupid and found the game-play to be boring. Plus, the game is less than 5 hours long which is a little less than I would like for $15.
  15. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    The gameplay and combat is standard fare for an action-RPG, nothing stood out to me as particularly positive or negative in this aspect. What truly stands out in the game to me is the constant voiceover from the narrator. I found myself intentionally jumping off of cliffs and running around destroying everything just to get different reactions from the narrator. Not only does it provide aThe gameplay and combat is standard fare for an action-RPG, nothing stood out to me as particularly positive or negative in this aspect. What truly stands out in the game to me is the constant voiceover from the narrator. I found myself intentionally jumping off of cliffs and running around destroying everything just to get different reactions from the narrator. Not only does it provide a quirky and unique aspect to the game, the narration also develops into one of the game's strongest points as the story becomes fully unveiled towards the ending. The storyline is absolutely fantastic. Expand
  16. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    This is a great, and simple game.
    It's greatness lies in is simple tale, with solid gameplay.
    This is a linear level-design platformer with a wide variety of weapons. Don't look for a branching plotline or deep RPG elements here. Most of all, I love the feel of the game. The art, the sounds, the feel of playing it. In this Bastion does right what so many bigger game do wrong. It is a
    This is a great, and simple game.
    It's greatness lies in is simple tale, with solid gameplay.
    This is a linear level-design platformer with a wide variety of weapons. Don't look for a branching plotline or deep RPG elements here.
    Most of all, I love the feel of the game. The art, the sounds, the feel of playing it. In this Bastion does right what so many bigger game do wrong. It is a cohesive experience that has a good flow to it. I like big games (ME, Elder Scrolls, etc), but sometimes I just want that simple experience and this game does it to a T.
    Expand
  17. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Bastion shows yet again the ability of XBLA to produce high quality titles. It is relentlessly imaginative and the ever-present narrator is a terrific and original touch. The most striking thing about Bastion is its presenatation. The ground rises beneath your feet against a backdrop of beautiful, sharp visuals. The story may not be the most riveting you've ever heard but the way that itBastion shows yet again the ability of XBLA to produce high quality titles. It is relentlessly imaginative and the ever-present narrator is a terrific and original touch. The most striking thing about Bastion is its presenatation. The ground rises beneath your feet against a backdrop of beautiful, sharp visuals. The story may not be the most riveting you've ever heard but the way that it is told (the narrator) definitely is. Combat is satisfying although a bit simplistic but the upgrade adds a little more depth. New Game + gives the game plenty of replay value which means that you are getting a lot of content for your money. Expand
  18. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This is most definitely the greatest Xbox Live Arcade game I have ever played. Every aspect of the game flows together so well it is surreal. At first the game seems like an average RPG with a unique art style but quickly proves its mettle. Bastion is not a game, it is a masterpiece. The art style is beautiful and the gameplay mechanics work excellently. The story is the strongest point ofThis is most definitely the greatest Xbox Live Arcade game I have ever played. Every aspect of the game flows together so well it is surreal. At first the game seems like an average RPG with a unique art style but quickly proves its mettle. Bastion is not a game, it is a masterpiece. The art style is beautiful and the gameplay mechanics work excellently. The story is the strongest point of the game. The story is told through a narrator that redefines the way games should tell their stories. The game pulls you in through its intriguing story and immersive gameplay. Bastion also has one of the greatest soundtracks I have ever heard in a video game ever. The music helps set the mood, the game seems like a graphic novel almost but instead you are playing it and has many touching moments in the storyline. The game is only 15 dollars but it should cost so much more for the quality of it. Bastion deserves all the hype and if I were to complain about anything at all, it would be the fact that I can never experience this game for the first time ever again. Expand
  19. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best games of 2011. Every thing is tied together perfectly, creating a seamless, coherent experience. Everything about the game - the music, the art style, the gameplay - ties into the theme. A perfect, perfect game.
  20. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    Bastion is, when it's working, a great game. The combat is great and varied, it looks great, and the story really got me thinking. However, it ran very poorly on my Xbox 360 (I have no idea why), took a very long time to load just the start, and then would keep crashing after a certain point of the game.

    I do recommend this game to anyone as it is quite good, I just hope yours works.
  21. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Bastion is, in my opinion, one of 2011's best games yet. Satisfying gameplay, lush and detailed art, immersive music, and an amazing narrator all contribute to Bastion's experience. I would have paid $60 for this game. At $12-15, it's crazy to not own it.
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game that should be played by all. Really shows what can be accomplished with a downloadable title. At the very least the free demo is worth your time, and good luck not purchasing the game after playing it.
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs I have played. Just wow, my only complaint is that it was a little short, but for 15 dollars it was more than worth it. The soundtrack sent shivers down my spine. The story was thrilling and engaging. The narrator added something no other game has (an awesome narrator.) Simple and fun game mechanics, overall I would have happily paid double for this and still have beenOne of the best RPGs I have played. Just wow, my only complaint is that it was a little short, but for 15 dollars it was more than worth it. The soundtrack sent shivers down my spine. The story was thrilling and engaging. The narrator added something no other game has (an awesome narrator.) Simple and fun game mechanics, overall I would have happily paid double for this and still have been satisfied. Well done Supergiant Games for making the best game I have played in a long time. I am praying you guys make a sequel! Expand
  24. Oct 11, 2011
    8
    loved the fast paced feeling of this mixture of rpg and action. albeit its short campaign the game features two (not too different) endings and a new game plus feature. love the art style too!
  25. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Bastion is a charming game with a great sense of mystery. I found myself continuing on not only to find out what was next in the story but also just because i wanted to make my character more powerful or try out the many different weapons and their upgrades. The combat is simplistic yet challenging at the same time. The art and music of the game are simply put, beautiful to experienceBastion is a charming game with a great sense of mystery. I found myself continuing on not only to find out what was next in the story but also just because i wanted to make my character more powerful or try out the many different weapons and their upgrades. The combat is simplistic yet challenging at the same time. The art and music of the game are simply put, beautiful to experience and i find myself now looking forward to future projects from Super Giant. I'm currently debating buying it again to add to my steam library as well.. Expand
  26. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Great game, brilliant story told in a novel and intriguing way, combat solid, interesting character with good back story, plenty of re-playability. Given the price and how well built it is definitely one of the best games of the year.
  27. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Everything that makes up a good games is here and then some and not only it blows my expectation of this game but also blows what I thought about indie genre.
  28. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. The narrator is awesome to listen to and never felt over bearing or repetitive. The visuals are top notch and the gameplay is great. Can't wait to see the end of this one.
  29. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best downloadable title this year as far as Xbox arcade goes. I'll start with the amazing atmosphere to the game, which Bastion must be applauded for. Never have I been so sucked into arcade title, and yes the narration is a great part of that. I won't spoil the ending but by the time you get there you feel very much apart of this world. All the decisions you make while notThis is the best downloadable title this year as far as Xbox arcade goes. I'll start with the amazing atmosphere to the game, which Bastion must be applauded for. Never have I been so sucked into arcade title, and yes the narration is a great part of that. I won't spoil the ending but by the time you get there you feel very much apart of this world. All the decisions you make while not black & white have a different weight to them, you begin to wonder if there is a right or wrong. The game play is spot on hack and slash with a little rpg element care fully added in the form of upgrades and perks. Plus the game + mode only adds to the need to unlock all upgrades. At this point I've played through the campaign 6 times and it still seems fresh. Amazing! Expand
  30. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of the best games I have played this year. It deserves all the praise it has received and more. Do yourself a favor and go buy this, now!
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    89
    This game is a tribute to action-RPGs of SNES era. It's a cross-breed between Zelda and Secret of Mana. And it is cute as a button and it sounds like a charm. This little adventure is a must-buy for RPG enthusiasts. [Sept 2011]
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    In all it's familiarity the Diabloesque gameplay sucks you in, but it is the beautiful word, the brilliant music, and the genius voice over that keeps you going. Bastion might be a game, but it's much more a fascinating fairy tale told in real time.
  3. Games Master UK
    Sep 25, 2011
    61
    Teeth-grindingly annoying film noir-style narration over EVERYTHING you do. [Nov 2011, p.91]