User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 271

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing, there are no words to describe Bastion YOU MUST PLAY THE GAME TO UNDERSTAND ITS GREATNESS! The music, the wonderful visuals, the deep characters all bring Bastion into the rank of Legendary. Compared to most AAA titles these days, Bastion is a true breath of fresh air, it takes the bar and launches it straight into the stratosphere. All developers should strive to bring theSimply amazing, there are no words to describe Bastion YOU MUST PLAY THE GAME TO UNDERSTAND ITS GREATNESS! The music, the wonderful visuals, the deep characters all bring Bastion into the rank of Legendary. Compared to most AAA titles these days, Bastion is a true breath of fresh air, it takes the bar and launches it straight into the stratosphere. All developers should strive to bring the quality that Bastion has brought forth to the gaming scene. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The demo doesn't do it justice; Bastion is a slow burner. It starts slow but builds through engaging combat, while all along the art direction and sound design really shine. It won't knock your socks off, nor is it groundbreaking. However, it serves for some pleasurable action-RPG mashing, and as it steadily builds upon itself, it only grows on you. Better than Deathspank or otherThe demo doesn't do it justice; Bastion is a slow burner. It starts slow but builds through engaging combat, while all along the art direction and sound design really shine. It won't knock your socks off, nor is it groundbreaking. However, it serves for some pleasurable action-RPG mashing, and as it steadily builds upon itself, it only grows on you. Better than Deathspank or other pretenders for sure. Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    Well i can say wholeheartedly that this game blew me away, the words fresh and appealing jump to mind when i think of this game. Narration is utterly a fantastic little addition, it makes the game more engaging rather than just another arcade title button masher. You can see with the detail that the game dev's have put there heart and soul into this piece. It really does show. TheWell i can say wholeheartedly that this game blew me away, the words fresh and appealing jump to mind when i think of this game. Narration is utterly a fantastic little addition, it makes the game more engaging rather than just another arcade title button masher. You can see with the detail that the game dev's have put there heart and soul into this piece. It really does show. The floating sky routes focus on stunning colours and artistry, and when rolling around keep you on your toes lest you fall through the gaps. This game is totally justified by its 1200 MS Points Price tag, this is a must have title for arcade. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    I go through video games like I go through cans of Red Bull. Play, Enjoy (or not), then forget. NEXT! A good game is a good game, but it still gets thrown in the closet. Bastion is an exception. When I played it at PAX East, I was worried about the narrator getting annoying, or the combat getting stale. Neither happened, and for those people who it did bother- giving it a 0/10 on thatI go through video games like I go through cans of Red Bull. Play, Enjoy (or not), then forget. NEXT! A good game is a good game, but it still gets thrown in the closet. Bastion is an exception. When I played it at PAX East, I was worried about the narrator getting annoying, or the combat getting stale. Neither happened, and for those people who it did bother- giving it a 0/10 on that alone is a bit absurd and should be ignored.

    I will give people who are curious about the game a tip.
    1)Play through the game
    2)Pick the "Bad Ending."
    3)Play through New Game Plus
    4)Pick the "Good Ending."

    That's all I can say without spoiling anything. Anybody who has beaten Bastion knows EXACTLY what I'm talking about.
    Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The best Indie game so far, and i played many of 'em. If you like Action RPGs, than this is a must buy. Cool narrator, good story, many weapons and skills, and many cool new and fresh ideas. Pair that with a fantastic soundtrack and gorgeous full HD 2D graphics, and you'll get the best bang for the buck in a long time. And it has a lot of replayability too!
  6. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of the year, likely just one of my favorite games. Period. Fantastic combat, art, music (!!!); the narrator is a unique addition that isn't tacked on, but well executed. It's a game I see myself returning to year after year for all those reasons.Including the story actually; by the end I found myself surprisingly invested in it. I can't recommend this game enough,One of my favorite games of the year, likely just one of my favorite games. Period. Fantastic combat, art, music (!!!); the narrator is a unique addition that isn't tacked on, but well executed. It's a game I see myself returning to year after year for all those reasons.Including the story actually; by the end I found myself surprisingly invested in it. I can't recommend this game enough, and the cheap price certainly doesn't hurt. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Anyone who gives this game a 0 is jaded and needs to move on. A 0 really?!? Just in atmosphere, art style it deserves a 70. The game is fun, challenging at times for the average player. Stop and smell the roses and ENJOY a game. This isn't Call of Duty where you are just working on getting to multiplayer. This is an experience. 10/10 easily.
  8. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Beautiful art direction, amazing score, fun gameplay! I enjoyed the heck out of it. Thanks, Supergiant Games, for the most fun I've had with a downloadable title in a while.
  9. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This game was created with more heart than any games of recent. The artwork is stunning, the narration is a creative touch and the music is captivating. These factors add so much to game, yet they do not overshadow the game and the wonderful story that grabs hold of your emotions and doesn't let go. While the RPG elements may not be as apparent as fans of the "rpg" genre may want, there isThis game was created with more heart than any games of recent. The artwork is stunning, the narration is a creative touch and the music is captivating. These factors add so much to game, yet they do not overshadow the game and the wonderful story that grabs hold of your emotions and doesn't let go. While the RPG elements may not be as apparent as fans of the "rpg" genre may want, there is still enough variable gameplay there to make the replay value on this $15 game high. It almost has a Legend of Zelda-like feel to it as far as gameplay goes: variable weapons and upgrades, but with a focus on action and no so much on being a "true" rpg. It worked for Legend of Zelda... it works for Bastion. It takes a little getting used to at first, yes, but you almost instantly pick up the style and once you get lost in the story, you won't want to put it down until you've learned all you can about this fabulous world that Supergiant Games has created. They captivate you in even more with the wonderful music of Darren Korb. All of the songs are so fitting for their parts and put you in the mood of the moment, whether it be slower, sorrow-filled pieces or high-anxiety fight scene themes. The music plays a big part in this game. On top of the music, you have the wonderful narration which not only guides you through, but also reacts to your decisions. The narration makes the game the emotional masterpiece that it is. This is a creative new element to the game which tells you the story as it unfolds as opposed to just telling you the whole story and telling you your end-game. All in all, this game is a wonderful experience, especially for the price. If you love being taken away to new worlds with stories like no other that make you actually feel the emotions of the characters, then this is a must. Expand
  10. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Bastion is a great game all around - the art and music are beautiful, the narrator does an amazing job, and the gameplay itself is incredibly fun! Fast paced action and tight, responsive controls combine to make Bastion an absolute joy to play.
  11. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Best use of 15$. Has definitely skyrocketed to one of my top ten games. It is simply amazing in my opinion. Can't wait to see what the rest of the company has to die for. Even bought the physical copy of their soundtrack. That's how good I found this game guys. Try the demo at least and if you like it get it. If not. That's okay too =)
  12. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    After seeing the giant surge of negative scores, I had to come in and help support Bastion. I do not understand the claim that Bastion is just a "dungeon crawl." I've never known a dungeon crawl to be this intense, fast, and vigorous. If anything, Bastion reminds me more of the SNES games I loved playing when I was younger, such as Secret of Mana and Terrianegma. Bastion was a refreshingAfter seeing the giant surge of negative scores, I had to come in and help support Bastion. I do not understand the claim that Bastion is just a "dungeon crawl." I've never known a dungeon crawl to be this intense, fast, and vigorous. If anything, Bastion reminds me more of the SNES games I loved playing when I was younger, such as Secret of Mana and Terrianegma. Bastion was a refreshing change from all the games made of muzzle flash and gunmetal grey. Every minute of bastion was a joy. Expand
  13. Jul 25, 2011
    8
    The game play becomes secondary in this masterpiece where users with find themselves merely popping enemies to find out what happens next from the narrator. The difficulty scales quite interestingly at the players choosing. All round, the best game I have ever gotten on the XBLA!
  14. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    Bastion has a great story, deep rewarding combat and is a decent length. This game puts Torchlight to shame in every way. Definitely a top tier XBLA title
  15. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    I played about 4 hours and I'm halfway through the game now. I can say it's great. The first few hours left me disturbed, but after a while all the pieces came together (...!) in a magically effortless way. Even for rpg-noobs like me it's an accessible game, with a unique presentation. Only the aiming with some of the weapons could be improved. I give this a 9.25 out of 10
  16. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The team over at Supergiant Games, a studio which was created by a small team of ex-EA employees set out to show the gaming community that you donâ Expand
  17. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    Best 15$ I've spent in a long time! This game is perfect in bits, small doses, or five hour marathons. Love the art style and music, and the gameplay is no slouch
  18. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Oh, wow! And I mean WOW! Bastion is a Disney made indie Japanese RPG minus the **** plus a ton of fun and complexity. Beautiful, unique and narrated throughout, this quirky little RPG.. of sorts.. is worth every MS point of its price. So many tiny interactive elements in such a tiny package!
  19. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    If you like your adventure RPG's with beautifully rendered cartoon graphics(which,for some reason,reminded me of the Breath Of Fire series)great storyline and good replay value,then look no further than Bastion.It's a gem of a game and it's cheap,too..when I see games of this quality appearing on Xbox Live,It makes me wonder how some full-priced games ever get past development.
  20. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    So far, this Summer of Arcade has been a blast. Anyone who enjoys a good hack and slash should definitely pick up Bastion. The narration adds a huge amount of character, and this title will not be one to forget.
  21. FiZ
    Aug 13, 2011
    9
    I can't get over how aesthetically gorgeous this game is. I know the point has been done to death by all the other reviews, but this game is a MUST buy for anyone that enjoys an evocative world for their games to reside in. I have to admit though, the controls are a tad odd (that's why I couldn't give it a perfect 10) but still manageable. The rest of the world and story are so brilliantlyI can't get over how aesthetically gorgeous this game is. I know the point has been done to death by all the other reviews, but this game is a MUST buy for anyone that enjoys an evocative world for their games to reside in. I have to admit though, the controls are a tad odd (that's why I couldn't give it a perfect 10) but still manageable. The rest of the world and story are so brilliantly mysterious and atmospheric that I can't get enough of the game. In terms of originality and fun, it's the Braid of 2011. Expand
  22. Aug 17, 2011
    8
    I couldn't wait to play this game, and when I did, I wasn't disappointed, the narrator speaking through the game is very creative, and fresh, and I always liked hearing him talk about what I was doing, the graphics are pretty and colourful too The story and gameplay are seamless but it was a little too short for me. If you take away the narrator you realise all you're doing is killingI couldn't wait to play this game, and when I did, I wasn't disappointed, the narrator speaking through the game is very creative, and fresh, and I always liked hearing him talk about what I was doing, the graphics are pretty and colourful too The story and gameplay are seamless but it was a little too short for me. If you take away the narrator you realise all you're doing is killing everything while moving from one place to another and the story isn't actually as brilliant (but still damn good) as everyone says. But that in no way stops this game from being worth my money, try the demo first. Expand
  23. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    While the gameplay/combat system is the same duck and roll action buttonmashing you would expect, the artwork and soundtrack really pulls this game to a new level. Beautiful and refreshing.
  24. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    Overall a wonderful action RPG. However, narration and slow fades are annoying when repeated. It is bizarre that this happens at all in a game so conspicuous about not repeating dialogue. But in the grindy earny portion of the game it happens. That's a minor niggle compared to the ending. I'm not going to ruin any of the story, but to have a choice right at the ending does not make yourOverall a wonderful action RPG. However, narration and slow fades are annoying when repeated. It is bizarre that this happens at all in a game so conspicuous about not repeating dialogue. But in the grindy earny portion of the game it happens. That's a minor niggle compared to the ending. I'm not going to ruin any of the story, but to have a choice right at the ending does not make your game clever, thoughtful, or in anyway better. Introducing a gimped forced weapon at the end is a **** horrible game decision. Making the section you'd have to repeat to view the multiple endings a slow and unrewarding section is another horrible decision. This is what people are left with at the end. Ugh. The story is good, what you have to do to get at it is awful. Expand
  25. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Better than I truly expected. Beautiful would be an understatement. Although very linear through to the end, it was an experience through and through. The story really makes you think. I would have liked it if there were a few more voice actors...there is a bit of inconsistency in the end.
  26. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    From the moment you enter the world of Bastion, you can tell it will be a unique and fantastic experience. The art style is colorful and atmospheric and the controls and animations are smooth as silk. As you continue the story begins to unfold through a narrator speaking over the action; good voice acting and excellent writing make the action come alive with meaning without anyFrom the moment you enter the world of Bastion, you can tell it will be a unique and fantastic experience. The art style is colorful and atmospheric and the controls and animations are smooth as silk. As you continue the story begins to unfold through a narrator speaking over the action; good voice acting and excellent writing make the action come alive with meaning without any interruptions. Once in the game you will notice how seamlessly the whole experience is woven together. You are never bogged down by lengthy menu or inventory screens, the story never gets in the way of the action, and the unique missions will always keep you guessing. In terms of combat, the experience can be challenging, but never frustrating. You are always equipped with a shield and dodges to stay out of trouble while you use your choice of weapons (all with their own strengths, weaknesses, and available upgrades) and special abilities to dispatch your foes. When everything is said and done, Bastion is one of the best gaming experiences I've had in a long time and well worth the bargain price. Also, pick up the soundtrack if you can, it is beautifully varied and creative Expand
  27. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    One of the most entertaining and addictive games I've played in a long time. Great graphics, great, atmospheric music, and the levels are engaging and very unique.
  28. rez
    Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Bastion is amazing. The core concept was brilliant and the execution is flawless. When the credits rolled and all I saw were six names, I was floored... not to mention inspired. The aesthetics are absolutely beautiful; it's a living, breathing artwork, and Darren Korb has provided one of the most memorable soundtracks I've heard in a video game in years.
  29. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Fantastic, amazing piece of work. The music, the story, the gameplay, all blends together perfectly to form a beautiful experience like no other game that I've played.
  30. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    It's an XBLA/Steam title from indie developer Supergiant Games. Top-down action adventure. It's biggest claim to fame is that lush art style - and the fact that the story and the levels are narrated to you by a single character who reacts to your actions at a level of detail that rivals the Maddens of the world. It's post-apocalyptic: it takes place in a world that was torn apart byIt's an XBLA/Steam title from indie developer Supergiant Games. Top-down action adventure. It's biggest claim to fame is that lush art style - and the fact that the story and the levels are narrated to you by a single character who reacts to your actions at a level of detail that rivals the Maddens of the world. It's post-apocalyptic: it takes place in a world that was torn apart by something called the Calamity, and your job is to fix it. The game's visual style is highly abstract, colorful and rich. Dial a dreamscape from a painter's storybook to 11 and you might get something like Bastion. I find it about as gorgeous as a game can get. A key thing to point out is the way the landscape flies in: you start out most levels on a single small island floating in a whirling, colorful void. As you move around, fragments of the level will fly in and assume the expected positions. It supports the core premise: that you're seeing a tale spun to life by someone's vocal storytelling, so many details are missing and you're more getting the gist of it - or maybe it's accurate, and it's because of the peculiar way that the Calamity killed the world. The player can decide. My only complaint about the visuals are the enemy designs, some of which were a bit uninspired. The animations were also one of the low points, although at worst they were mediocre, and they tended higher than that. The developers say that they told their musician that they wanted "a fantasy frontier world", and he obliged with a musical style he called â Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    89
    This game is a tribute to action-RPGs of SNES era. It's a cross-breed between Zelda and Secret of Mana. And it is cute as a button and it sounds like a charm. This little adventure is a must-buy for RPG enthusiasts. [Sept 2011]
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    In all it's familiarity the Diabloesque gameplay sucks you in, but it is the beautiful word, the brilliant music, and the genius voice over that keeps you going. Bastion might be a game, but it's much more a fascinating fairy tale told in real time.
  3. Sep 25, 2011
    61
    Teeth-grindingly annoying film noir-style narration over EVERYTHING you do. [Nov 2011, p.91]