Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bastion is an action role-playing game from Supergiant Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Aug 1, 2011
    100
    It says a lot for a "little" XBLA RPG to be able to hold its own sitting next to Batman: Arkham City, as it did in the Warner Bros. Booth at E3 in June. Now we know why: Bastion is something special, clearly made with love and oodles of talent. Here's to one of the very best games of the summer – downloadable or otherwise.
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    95
    Overall Bastion is an exceptional title and a tremendous start to the 2011 Summer of Arcade promotion. This is the first title from Supergiant Games and they have hit a home run with it.
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    91
    Truthfully, Bastion could be sold on its presentation alone; the game's hyper-detailed 2D graphics along with its eclectic and moving soundtrack perfectly match the well-told and understated story. But beneath this pretty packaging, there's a real game here -- and a good one at that. Supergiant Games seems to have done the seemingly impossible by creating the perfect mesh of game and story, all while preventing each of these elements from overpowering one another. Other developers, take note: this is how it's done.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    90
    Bastion is the perfect game to kick off Microsoft's Summer of Arcade, capturing that certain something that Limbo and Braid had in previous years.
  5. Jul 29, 2011
    86
    The Xbox Live 2011 Summer of Arcade is off to a good start with Bastion. Stylish, inventive and original, the small team at Supergiant Games are giants when its comes to crafting an unique tale.
  6. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    In all it's familiarity the Diabloesque gameplay sucks you in, but it is the beautiful word, the brilliant music, and the genius voice over that keeps you going. Bastion might be a game, but it's much more a fascinating fairy tale told in real time.
  7. Sep 25, 2011
    61
    Teeth-grindingly annoying film noir-style narration over EVERYTHING you do. [Nov 2011, p.91]

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 88
  2. Negative: 1 out of 88
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games to be released in 2011.It's just amazing in every sense and the cherry on the cake is...only 15 dollars.This has $60 worth of quality content and then some.You just never know anymore,I was looking forward to Dirt 3 and while very good, it was a let down.This is a game that is just screaming with new ideas and content.It's an Indie game,WHAT?Craaazy Collapse
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Absolutely beautiful game. Highly recommended it, such a beautiful storyline. The narrator is amazing and it's truly an experience I'll never forget.
  3. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've played this year. Beautiful art style, tight controls and subtle but effective story-telling result in a magical game. The game has light RPG elements and training areas to mix up the pace a bit. The narration is unique and very well implemented and fortunately the voice actor is outstanding. The music is AMAZING - I bought the soundtrack the day it became available. I've played though this game twice it was so good. Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Anyone who gives this game a 0 is jaded and needs to move on. A 0 really?!? Just in atmosphere, art style it deserves a 70. The game is fun, challenging at times for the average player. Stop and smell the roses and ENJOY a game. This isn't Call of Duty where you are just working on getting to multiplayer. This is an experience. 10/10 easily. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    I've blogged a bit about Supergiant Games' Bastion previously, and discussed most of its most prominent features; for those who still don't know much about this Xbox Live Arcade downloadable, well, let's just say it's an action RPG infused with style, atmosphere, and just enough poignancy to make the trip feel worth both your time and your hard-earned dollar. If there is only one XBLA downloadable game you get this year, you can bet Bastion should be one of your top choices.

    Recommended For:
    + Action RPG fans
    + Fans of games with style
    + Fans of immersive, story-based games
    + Anybody with an Xbox360

    Not Recommended For:
    - People with no souls.

    See the full review here: http://boredomsadvocate.blogspot.com/2011/07/review-bastion.html
    Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    Having just completed the normal game (going to play new game plus eventually) I fully recommend this indie game to casual and hardcore gamers alike. This game is a steal at $15. The artwork, music, and narration are on par if not better than any triple A title in recent history. The gameplay is simple yet deceptively complex, the array of weapons to choose from keep things fresh. I haven't played a game this gripping since super meat boy earlier this year. The unfortunate thing is the game will only last about 10 hours (if you're a completionist then maybe 13 hours), but you don't want it to end because the story is just that good. If you're looking for something new and fresh to play then pick this one up. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    5
    Clearly, I just don't get this game. While I LOVED the music and thought the art style was great, I gotta admit that I thought the story was stupid and found the game-play to be boring. Plus, the game is less than 5 hours long which is a little less than I would like for $15. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews