Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bastion is an action role-playing game from Supergiant Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Aug 1, 2011
    100
    It says a lot for a "little" XBLA RPG to be able to hold its own sitting next to Batman: Arkham City, as it did in the Warner Bros. Booth at E3 in June. Now we know why: Bastion is something special, clearly made with love and oodles of talent. Here's to one of the very best games of the summer – downloadable or otherwise.
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    95
    Overall Bastion is an exceptional title and a tremendous start to the 2011 Summer of Arcade promotion. This is the first title from Supergiant Games and they have hit a home run with it.
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    91
    Truthfully, Bastion could be sold on its presentation alone; the game's hyper-detailed 2D graphics along with its eclectic and moving soundtrack perfectly match the well-told and understated story. But beneath this pretty packaging, there's a real game here -- and a good one at that. Supergiant Games seems to have done the seemingly impossible by creating the perfect mesh of game and story, all while preventing each of these elements from overpowering one another. Other developers, take note: this is how it's done.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    90
    Bastion is the perfect game to kick off Microsoft's Summer of Arcade, capturing that certain something that Limbo and Braid had in previous years.
  5. Jul 29, 2011
    86
    The Xbox Live 2011 Summer of Arcade is off to a good start with Bastion. Stylish, inventive and original, the small team at Supergiant Games are giants when its comes to crafting an unique tale.
  6. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    In all it's familiarity the Diabloesque gameplay sucks you in, but it is the beautiful word, the brilliant music, and the genius voice over that keeps you going. Bastion might be a game, but it's much more a fascinating fairy tale told in real time.
  7. Sep 25, 2011
    61
    Teeth-grindingly annoying film noir-style narration over EVERYTHING you do. [Nov 2011, p.91]

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games to be released in 2011.It's just amazing in every sense and the cherry on the cake is...only 15 dollars.This has $60 worth of quality content and then some.You just never know anymore,I was looking forward to Dirt 3 and while very good, it was a let down.This is a game that is just screaming with new ideas and content.It's an Indie game,WHAT?Craaazy Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Absolutely beautiful game. Highly recommended it, such a beautiful storyline. The narrator is amazing and it's truly an experience I'll never forget.
  3. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of the best games I have played this year. It deserves all the praise it has received and more. Do yourself a favor and go buy this, now! Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Anyone who gives this game a 0 is jaded and needs to move on. A 0 really?!? Just in atmosphere, art style it deserves a 70. The game is fun, challenging at times for the average player. Stop and smell the roses and ENJOY a game. This isn't Call of Duty where you are just working on getting to multiplayer. This is an experience. 10/10 easily. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    I played about 4 hours and I'm halfway through the game now. I can say it's great. The first few hours left me disturbed, but after a while all the pieces came together (...!) in a magically effortless way. Even for rpg-noobs like me it's an accessible game, with a unique presentation. Only the aiming with some of the weapons could be improved. I give this a 9.25 out of 10 Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    Well i can say wholeheartedly that this game blew me away, the words fresh and appealing jump to mind when i think of this game. Narration is utterly a fantastic little addition, it makes the game more engaging rather than just another arcade title button masher. You can see with the detail that the game dev's have put there heart and soul into this piece. It really does show. The floating sky routes focus on stunning colours and artistry, and when rolling around keep you on your toes lest you fall through the gaps. This game is totally justified by its 1200 MS Points Price tag, this is a must have title for arcade. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    5
    Clearly, I just don't get this game. While I LOVED the music and thought the art style was great, I gotta admit that I thought the story was stupid and found the game-play to be boring. Plus, the game is less than 5 hours long which is a little less than I would like for $15. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews