Batman: Arkham Asylum Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1090 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JacobA.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    This game is this years game of the year hands down, if you like batman, whether it be the comics, the cartoons, or the movies, you will fall in love with this game. Beautifully executed cut scenes and life like graphics, the joker will actually give you the chills when your walking him down to Arkham in the beginning of the game. Edios and Warner Bros. have done it this time.
  2. FernandoF.
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    A fantastic game from a comic book property. The only best one out and to tell you the truth it's about damn time that they did come out with one.
  3. LikC.
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    BEST Batman game ever. Excellent voice cast, gorgeous graphics, fun gameplay and lots of easter eggs and extras to keep you coming back. Super polished and made with a lot of care. One of the best games to come out this generation, 'nuff said.
  4. PaulP
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Presents an engrossing environment experience that can only be compared to Bioshock. Paul Dini and his team from the animated series send this game over the top. Story is solid, combat rhythm and flow are beautiful, more than enough to do to keep you busy well after the campaign is beat and they even throw a couple spooks in their courtesy of scarecrow and croc. Overall fun game.
  5. JeffC
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    I Just bought It the day after it came out. It was a fun game with Great graphics and inventive gameplay. The only downside is that it's pretty short. Your probably looking at about ten hours of gameplay, depending on how good you are. Nevertheless you should buy it, especially if you ate a fan of the Dark Knight.
  6. IvanV.
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This game was awesome, it was better than I imagined. The challenge maps never get boring, the boss fights are great and fun, the gadgets are really nice, the riddles are fun which gets me more addicted to the game, and there is just more stuff I could say about this game but I can't think of it all now because its all blowing my mind.
  7. HarveyB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    This is "The Dark Knight" of superhero video games. Unlike other poor attempts at giving you full command of the Caped Crusader this game succeeds in all aspects. this game is dark and teeming toxic in a good way. But it is because of the gameplay, the performances, the graphics and the fidelity to the Dark Knight material.
  8. SteveB
    Sep 17, 2009
    8
    Good game, gets a little repetitive, but I still had fun. i'm more into the RPG style game, so take my rating with a grain of salt, but I think it's still impressive for me to give this type of game an 8 when it's not my style. That being said, it's way too quick, not much replay value, so it's best recommended as a rental. Can easily be beaten in under a week.
  9. ThomasH
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    Batman: Arkham Ayslum is an amazing achievement by Eidos. The game is enganging from start to finish, with one of the best stories in video games this generation. The gameplay feels smooth and challenging, the graphics are amazing, and the voice acting will bring back memories for those who watched Batman: The Animated Series. Fan or no fan of Batman, they will enjoy this game.
  10. JulienT.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Although this game may seem a little too simple for some hardcore gamers at first, it evolves into an immersive storyline with a huge variety of gameplay elements that will make you want more when you finish it, even if there is a ton of end-game content.
  11. MarcS
    Nov 13, 2009
    8
    An excellent action game, which takes elements from many different genres of game, and uses them to fantastic effect. My only complaint is the repetitive boss battles, but otherwise this is essential.
  12. JohnnyR
    Nov 22, 2009
    8
    A great game - looks and plays brilliantly. It is definitely too short though - if it slowed between the stages and gave you more opportunity to roam and move off the narrative it would be magnificent. The final stages are a let down too - flawed, clunky boss levels Otherwise though its lots of fun, great graphics, wicked gameplay and never dull.
  13. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Generally, super hero games don't do well when transported into videogame form. Some have triumphed and some have failed but Arkham Asylum is a bloody triumph. This game does make you feel like you are Batman, the greatest superhero ever. It has a unique, surreal art style, the combat and stealth elements never outbalanced each other and as a result, has a really well rounded gameplay andGenerally, super hero games don't do well when transported into videogame form. Some have triumphed and some have failed but Arkham Asylum is a bloody triumph. This game does make you feel like you are Batman, the greatest superhero ever. It has a unique, surreal art style, the combat and stealth elements never outbalanced each other and as a result, has a really well rounded gameplay and the story is a batman fan's dream come true as not only it stays faithful to the comics and other media, it is told in such a careful pace, that you are hooked in after just a couple of minutes playing it. Expand
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    **** genius. Why coulnd't they make all superhero games like this? Fun doesn't begin to describe this game. It's just like **** you, this is the game to play. **** call of duty and all that bullshit," It's up there.
  15. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome! It takes a little bit to get going but once it really starts rolling this game is a blast. Even though you really are on such a small place and you visit the same places multiple times, this game still finds a way to keep you hooked. With that said thought the setting can get a little boring, purely because everything looks the same and its always really dim... butThis game is awesome! It takes a little bit to get going but once it really starts rolling this game is a blast. Even though you really are on such a small place and you visit the same places multiple times, this game still finds a way to keep you hooked. With that said thought the setting can get a little boring, purely because everything looks the same and its always really dim... but that just helps set the mood I guess. Combat is super fun and easy to understand at first, and pretty difficult to really become awesome. Some of the voice acting in conversations is pretty bad, and batmans face is super stiff. But thats such a small part of the game that its barely a gripe. The Joker still makes a fantastic villain, and you hear his voice and see his face throughout the game cause he has taken over the whole asylum and all its microphones and cameras. You meet various other villains and most of them are pretty fun to conquer. Anyone who owns an Xbox should most definitely play this game. Expand
  16. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    A game that truly makes you feel like Batman. You have access to Batman's cool gadgets and combat skills in a game that features one of the best Batman stories of all time. With a lengthy campaign and plenty of bonus content to keep you coming back, this is enough to satisfy even the most demanding of Dark Knight fans. I'm just going to come out and say it, if you are a Batman fan and haveA game that truly makes you feel like Batman. You have access to Batman's cool gadgets and combat skills in a game that features one of the best Batman stories of all time. With a lengthy campaign and plenty of bonus content to keep you coming back, this is enough to satisfy even the most demanding of Dark Knight fans. I'm just going to come out and say it, if you are a Batman fan and have not yet played this game then you need to asap.

    The game's story is amazing and filled to the brim with references to the Dark Knight's length history. Casual Batman fans will find plenty of recognizable faces, but the hardcore fans will be in for a real treat thanks to the constant references to obscure villains and other characters from the comics. My only complaint with the story is that some of the characters voice acting can come across as way too cheesy. You have several fantastic voice actors from the animated series reprising their roles who do a fantastic job, but then you have the occasional goofy voice actor who seems like a weird choice for the character and is at odds with the more mature story being told here. The voice actors of Killer Croc and Warden Sharp are the worst offenders. Still this is a minor issue and doesn't really detract from the excellent story.

    Gameplay is finely tuned. The combat system here is excellent and truly makes you feel like the awesome combatant that Batman is. Excellent puzzles, boss battles, and exploration make this game an absolute blast. I love how new areas of the game open up as you gain new gadgets. The game also features surprisingly fun challenge modes and is one of the few games I've actually felt the need to find every collectible there is. Some minor camera and control responsiveness issues can show up from time to time, but for the most part everything is top-notch and shows an extremely high level of quality.

    Like I said before if you have ever considered yourself a Batman fan then this is a must play. Batman hasn't been known for starring in good video games, but this is one of those titles that changes that rep. It provides hours of high-quality content that will make it hard to put down your controller. Heck, even if you aren't a Batman fan you should give this game a try.
    Expand
  17. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    In much the same way as the Dark Night set a new standard for comic book movies Batman: Arkham Asylum raises the bar for all superhero games to follow. The creators have faithfully reproduced the brooding atmosphere associated with the caped crusader fully immersing the player in the world they have created. Most importantly however the game allows full access to all of Batman's abilitiesIn much the same way as the Dark Night set a new standard for comic book movies Batman: Arkham Asylum raises the bar for all superhero games to follow. The creators have faithfully reproduced the brooding atmosphere associated with the caped crusader fully immersing the player in the world they have created. Most importantly however the game allows full access to all of Batman's abilities right from the outset, thankfully avoiding the common video game trick of having them slowly unlocked during play.

    Much of the game is played in one of two ways. Firstly there are the out and out brawls that find Batman surrounded by groups of enemies. The controls are simple but very effective allowing for a brilliant flow of attacks and counter attacks that really makes the player feel like they are in control of a superhero. In between these brawls, usually when meeting enemies armed with guns, the player is able to make use of a greater variety of tricks. These 'stealth' sections require the player to stalk their enemies before unleashing a lightning fast attack and returning to the shadows without being spotted and are every bit as enjoyable as the regular combat.

    Aside from the disappointingly generic final battle with the Joker the boss fights are also fairly imaginative helping to provide some variety to proceedings making for a truly fantastic video game.

    The Game of the Year Edition provides four additional challenge maps (which I believe can also be downloaded from Xbox Live) as well as a very basic 3D mode that adds little to the game. As a result it is only worth purchasing if you don’t own the original already.
    Expand
  18. May 28, 2012
    10
    Batman Arkham Asylum is one of the best Batman games in the world.It gives us a whole new expierience in controlling Batman. The gadgets,detectivemode etc. are very good.The graphics,sound,picture quality are spellbounding.I give you an advice that please play the game if you are a batman fan.
  19. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Like the movie, the Arkham Asylum game has the dark and sinister feel thats one of the reasons the dark knight was a huge success. The game has great boss fights and great fighting techniques.
  20. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    The graphics aren't as good as the PC version, and the controls in combat are much more difficult and restricted compared to keyboard and mouse, but other than that this game is definitely among the best Xbox 360 games. The combat, the collectibles, the characters, the stealth, the gadgets and the challenge modes are all so innovative and executed flawlessly that it's easily a game toThe graphics aren't as good as the PC version, and the controls in combat are much more difficult and restricted compared to keyboard and mouse, but other than that this game is definitely among the best Xbox 360 games. The combat, the collectibles, the characters, the stealth, the gadgets and the challenge modes are all so innovative and executed flawlessly that it's easily a game to recommend to anyone regardless of their tastes in video games. What I love about the collectibles is that you can easily find them all without looking them up, yet you still have to work to get them. They're also quite fun to go for due to the variety. The achievements are done very well. Everything you do you get an achievement for, and there are no silly pointless ones. This game is just so high quality, so solid, so recommendable and so innovative. The only downside in my opinion is that it's a little too repetitive and lacks variety. The story is also REALLY BAD. Overall, Arkham Asylum is definitely a strong game with few flaws, however those that have played Arkham City or the PC version will find this to be a step backwards, and less enjoyable. If you've not played this game or Arkham City before, I can pretty much guarantee that you will not be dissapointed with this premium title. Expand
  21. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is a great game, I love this game! Everything about the game is just amazing! Arkham Asylum is like a great playground for Batman, you can use your gadgets to to explore the areas and traverse this place, unlocking many hidden goodies along the way. The control scheme is perfect, the way you can control Batman and how easily you can fight as the Caped CrusaderBatman: Arkham Asylum is a great game, I love this game! Everything about the game is just amazing! Arkham Asylum is like a great playground for Batman, you can use your gadgets to to explore the areas and traverse this place, unlocking many hidden goodies along the way. The control scheme is perfect, the way you can control Batman and how easily you can fight as the Caped Crusader deserves credit as you can flawlessly string together combos and effortlessly move Batman. The upgrades that you can acquire are all so amazing, you can use these tricks to decimate your enemies and explore the area much better. The characterization of Arkham Asylum is just amazing, Arkham Asylum is pumping out life as all the people and the environments have unique characteristics that make them stand out. The characters like Batman and The Joker all stand out with their unique characteristics and the Voice Acting for the characters is mind-blowing. I especially like the Joker as one of the greatest villains of all time because is character is so freaky that he sends chills up the spines of everyone. The graphics and visual detail is pretty amazing too, the whole area has SO MUCH detail. Batman has so much detail as his suit gets more worn and torn as the game progreses. That is cool, the developers obviously put a lot of effort into this snd the end result is an amazing game. The plot is also amazing as it keeps propelling you forwards and keeps you absorbed till the end, there were a few kinks in the plot, especially in the finale but that is a small dent in the overall package. The predator and combat moves are both amazing additions to Arkham Asylum that allow you to demonstrate you combat skill or your stealth skills. Overall Batman: Arkham Asylum is an amazing game, I highly reccomend playing it. If you decide not to play it because you think that just because it has Batman that it is stupid then you are mistaken because it is not. You only play as Batman and battle the Batman villains but everything else is just amazing. Arkham Asylum is a game worth playing, I loved this game just like GTA IV. Arkham Asylum is a must-play and it will help you be familiar with Arkham City. The game is amzing, I can't say anything else about it. Expand
  22. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is a mammoth game, and one which comes extremely close to absolute perfection. In a genre dominated by big name releases such as Assassin's Creed, Uncharted and Dead Space, it's unique to see a small game developer based in London, develop one of the best games in recent memory. Rocksteady Studios have definitely established themselves as a top-tier British gameBatman: Arkham Asylum is a mammoth game, and one which comes extremely close to absolute perfection. In a genre dominated by big name releases such as Assassin's Creed, Uncharted and Dead Space, it's unique to see a small game developer based in London, develop one of the best games in recent memory. Rocksteady Studios have definitely established themselves as a top-tier British game developer, alongside the likes of Codemasters, Lionhead Studios and Rare. Batman: Arkham Asylum is practically oozing quality, in everything from its gameplay, to animations, to story and characters, and much more. What's really special though, is how the game makes you feel like Batman - things like the FreeFlow combat system, Gadgets, and stealth gameplay empowers the player in a way other games simply don't. After playing the game for a few hours, it becomes quickly clear that Rocksteady revere the Batman universe like any passionate fan, and they've gone as far to craft their own, unique interpretation of the characters and fiction. The art in Batman: Arkham Asylum is truly stunning, with each character lovingly detailed, while the voice-acting is definitely some of the best I've heard in a long while. The only downside of the game lies in the Boss Battles, as they do get repetitive, but overall, they barely dampen the incredible experience the game offers. Overall, Batman: Arkham Asylum is the ultimate Batman experience, which any fan of the comic-book character should have - in fact, any fan of games should have. Expand
  23. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Positives: A great story in a linear fashion but in an open world, driven by the Batman characters as they should be as opposed to other interpretations. The combat is excellent and some of the boss battles are sudden and impressive and the history of the asylum and its residents are retold in audio logs and strange plaques to be discovered.

    Negatives: Although visual impressive in a
    Positives: A great story in a linear fashion but in an open world, driven by the Batman characters as they should be as opposed to other interpretations. The combat is excellent and some of the boss battles are sudden and impressive and the history of the asylum and its residents are retold in audio logs and strange plaques to be discovered.

    Negatives: Although visual impressive in a gritty realism, clipping during fights and awkward camera angles can be annoying. Although some boss battles are great and the characters portrayed as they should be, a few can be disappointing such as Bane who should be a mastermind of the criminal underworld but is instead a roided up rhino with no intelligence and Killer Croc has hours of build up, being introduced at the very beginning of the game and his own 20 minute sewer sequence but in the end you just knock him down every time he jumps out of the water like hitting him with a rolled up newspaper while shouting "bad dog".

    Overall, 9.5
    Expand
  24. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    A masterful game after a long time. Normally Super hero games fall short on expectations and this is the exception. Well written story and amazing game-play. Voice acting just good like Metal Gear Solid. The Villains are very different from each other. I would highly recommend for anyone who wants to play and excellent story.
  25. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best superhero game of all time, and certainly one of the best games of 2009. Arkham Asylum has easy to use, hard to master free flow combat which works brilliantly, excellent steal segments with smart AI, an intriguing storyline, beautiful graphics, top notch voice acting by Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill and a dark gritty feel that makes you truly feel like the Dark Knight!
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Great games sometimes come from out of the dark and batman is one of those games. This game has something for almost every type of player in mind. It has a great story awesome graphics and makes you not only want to play it till the end but you end up going back to find all those riddles. This game is now at a price of 19.99 or maybe even less some you will get your money's worth here. TheGreat games sometimes come from out of the dark and batman is one of those games. This game has something for almost every type of player in mind. It has a great story awesome graphics and makes you not only want to play it till the end but you end up going back to find all those riddles. This game is now at a price of 19.99 or maybe even less some you will get your money's worth here. The game play is part beatem up part rpg part adventure game and your skills will be tested when playing it on hard. Gamers if you don't have this game what are you waiting for its worth every penny. BUY IT. Expand
  27. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite comic book based video game hands down. Arkham Asylum has a great story, great graphics, and a ton of replay value (its also rather addictive). A must play imo.
  28. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    What a superhero game should aspire to be. Any Batman fan's wet dream. Fantastic controls and combat system, gadgets, eerie graphics and colors, the way Gotham and Arkham would ideally be portrayed, and a fun story with great moments, and crazy amounts of Riddler trophies and riddles to solve. Must have.
  29. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Batman : Arkham Asylum, a game with simple combat system yet interesting and stylish. Not only that, the detective mode game-play really has it's fun. Stealth game play,ooooohh, I love hanging the enemies on the gargoyles. I mean, what more could you ask from a game? Conclusion, one hell of a great game. Don't think, play it.
  30. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Playing the amazing Arkham city, I had to play this game! Arkham Asylum is also a amazing game. Well thought storyline, better story then arkham city. Characters are awesome, Joker and Harley looking good and Scarecrow looking wicked. Great gamepla as well. The downer to this game is that it has no replay value, I mean just like in arkham city I wanted to replay it with all my upgrades andPlaying the amazing Arkham city, I had to play this game! Arkham Asylum is also a amazing game. Well thought storyline, better story then arkham city. Characters are awesome, Joker and Harley looking good and Scarecrow looking wicked. Great gamepla as well. The downer to this game is that it has no replay value, I mean just like in arkham city I wanted to replay it with all my upgrades and gear. But other then that what a amazing game. Batman Arkham Asylum 9.3/10 Expand
  31. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I finished this game without help from a walk through guide and I'm surprised that it is quite easy. My game completion is 74 or 75% which I thought was good. But it's 'cause I'd only fully utilized the detective mode halfway through the story so I definitely missed out on many of the puzzles. Story is simply amazing. I think this is one of those times that a game could be made into a movie and not the other way around.
    Audio, including soundtrack, overall was done great, and I really liked the fact that Batman, Joker and Harley were voiced by the original actors from the series from the '90s. It's like watching the animated series all over again, only this time you get to control Batman. Combat was somewhat repetitive but is still solid and fun. It's the puzzles that will really challenge you. I think I only solved 65%. Overall, a solid 9. Definitely a highly recommended game for anyone whether you are a fan of the Dark Knight or not.
    Expand
  32. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    An amazing Batman Adventure. With graphics that will make even the best games jealous, an original and unpredictable storyline, and an original game-play style, this game is no doubt a n intense Batman adventure. As you play, you feel as if you truly are Batman. Although be warned, this game is very, very hard, even on easy.
  33. May 27, 2012
    9
    A great solid game, was really fun. You really feel like batman. Best superhero game I've played.
  34. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Few "superhero games" truly capture the essence of their namesake as Batman: Arkham Asylum has. The game paints an excellent picture of the caped crusader in a fresh, exciting adventure that has all the elements of a classic Batman story: stealth, action, mystery, thrills, and more. They've taken relatively untouched villains - a killer crocodile and tally marking serial killer for exampleFew "superhero games" truly capture the essence of their namesake as Batman: Arkham Asylum has. The game paints an excellent picture of the caped crusader in a fresh, exciting adventure that has all the elements of a classic Batman story: stealth, action, mystery, thrills, and more. They've taken relatively untouched villains - a killer crocodile and tally marking serial killer for example - and breathed new life into them. As always, everyone's favorite Clown Prince of Crime stands out as an excellent villain for Batman - Mark Hamill is, and always will be, the master at putting himself into his purple clown shoes. For hardcore Batman fans, the game offers interesting quips of information and little known facts. For those eager to complete a challenge, there are plenty of side missions to complete - including a riddle or a dozen. All in all, Batman: Arkham Asylum is an excellent game. For anyone who enjoys stealth, action, or (obvisouly) Batman games, then AA is the game for you. One of the best games of 2009. Any minor flaws (such as Batman's own character depth, or lack thereof) are completely overshadowed by the landmark success that the game has achieved. Expand
  35. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best Batman game made so far, I haven't played Arkham City yet but Im I will get the chance, Im reviewing Batman Arkham Asylum because Arkham Origins is coming out soon. BAA has an awesome combat system, a very interesting story, and the voice acting is great, You would have so many hours of fun with finding Riddles and fighting bad guys just like I did. If you haven't played this game before then get it. 10/10 Expand
  36. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Best batman video game of all time really captures the experiences and feeling of being the bat, only downside is probably the fact that the controls are rather clunky at times and you cant increase the sensitivity of the controller still 10/10 would bang if it was a beautiful lady mmmmmmm
  37. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    I had heard good things about the Batman series but I thought the combat looked a bit wonky from the videos I saw so I haven't been to eager today them. I was quite pleased how in the beginning of the game I wasn't thrown into some 3 hour get used to the controls phase. I was able to pick up the controls extremely quickly and I was on my way to hunt down The Joker. I think the combat stoodI had heard good things about the Batman series but I thought the combat looked a bit wonky from the videos I saw so I haven't been to eager today them. I was quite pleased how in the beginning of the game I wasn't thrown into some 3 hour get used to the controls phase. I was able to pick up the controls extremely quickly and I was on my way to hunt down The Joker. I think the combat stood out to me the most as being the best part of this game; when I got a rhythm I would average about a 8-10 hit combo. It felt very arcade like, but it was within a large world -- something I have never experienced before -- which I found to be extremely awesome! The rate at which the game progressed was perfect. It allowed you to explore if you wanted to but always had the next step in front of you ready to go. To constant smooth action as well as interesting story made this game a 3 sitting play through. I don't know what the overall time was but as I didn't really dabble in the riddler stuff or the challenges I'm guessing it was fairly short compared to most. Expand
  38. May 5, 2016
    9
    Have you ever wondered what it is like to be The Batman? Well I have an answer for you, it's called Batman: Arkham Asylum. This game puts you in the role of the Caped Crusader and thanks to great gameplay, a good range of gadgets, a fantastically well structured story and a bunch of great secrets and easter eggs - you will end the game saying to yourself "I'M BATMAN".
  39. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Arkham Asylum not only proved us that Batman games were still possible, it also proved us that they can be masterpieces. The gameplay is simple, but addicting, the atmosphere is dark, and I mean *really* dark. You are free to explore Arkham Asylum to continue the story, or to find collectibles.

    This was 2009's Game of the Year.
  40. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Bought this game intending on buying another one. There wasn't any new ones out that I was interested in and the clerk recommended "Arkham City" but said to play this one first. I started it and the visual details were stunning. I enjoyed it from beginning to end and now I'm excited about playing "City".
  41. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    Excellent. Pretty much THE definitive Batman game. Rocksteady has made the best comic book video game of all time. I can not fault this game in any way, it is as close to perfect as a game can get.
  42. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    Great game with a good mix of stealth and beat-em-up. The series of collectables made me want to revisit places I have been and start anew with new gadgets.
  43. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    When I remember my feelings about the game coming in Batman universe I must say that I never had much hope. Too many games that used license for popular comics series wasted their chance of satisfying gamers. The time of playing came to me when I had no other games to play (in rarely but happens). By that time "Arkham Asylum" already had received many awards and I had realized, that theWhen I remember my feelings about the game coming in Batman universe I must say that I never had much hope. Too many games that used license for popular comics series wasted their chance of satisfying gamers. The time of playing came to me when I had no other games to play (in rarely but happens). By that time "Arkham Asylum" already had received many awards and I had realized, that the game could not be as bad as any typical comics game. The opening sequence shocked me in a good sense when I saw stunning graphics and hilarious acting of main characters. It took not much to get into action that amazed me by its dynamics, performance and comfortable gameplay. It was very easy to get into Batman's world thanks to perfect control settings (I still can't imagine this game being played without gamepad).
    What still amazes me is the fact that new gameplay features were gradually added with each new stage. We've just started with fighting sequence and when you are about to get used to it detective mode is introduced. As soon as you realize its power, stealth stages are introduced. When it seems that there is not much space for you, open environment gives Batman flying practising and different approach for taking out enemies. Eidos knew what and just how much a gamer wanted and "Arkham Asylum" provides you with it. Each fight looks terrific, camera always finds appropriate angle to show the best view for another kick out. New weapons introduced, different types of stage walkthrough (that sometimes feels like completely open world) and amazing story (that even without excellence of other game's element would make a good game) just won't let you down for a minute. "Arkham Asylum" also has plenty of little side quests (Riddler's puzzles) that will keep you in game for hours. These puzzles feel like a new kind of challenge that are well rewarded.
    But as many games, "Batman: Arkham Asylum" has its own problem, and I have to say, the only one I can remember. It is the marker. I have to say that it was easy for me to get lost. Puzzlement came when I knew that locations around were cleaned and marker did not show exactly where I was supposed to go.
    A friend of mine, who receieved a copy of the game from me on his birthday, complained about this very issue. Getting lost made him quit playing the game till the time he's out of other games (although he's absolutely positive, that the game is worth playing). Also, it seems that I.. suck at fighting games and slashers. It's definitely not a game's problem, but totally mine, but I had to switch to easy level, because crowds of enemies beat my ass frequently. And yet easy difficulty left good memories of the game and normal was a challenge for me. Loosing a game and hearing Harley Quinn's "Looser, looser, looser, ha!" or Joker's taunting just made me want to play the game more that I actually never did because of "Arkham City" coming out and this damn marker
    Expand
  44. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    This was an excellent game. I personally enjoyed playing the game, and it is exciting to try and find all the riddler trophies and solve all the riddles.
  45. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Like most gamers, I love certain elements of a game whether its story, graphics, game play, characters, etc.

    But ultimately, to deserve a 10 you really need just 2 things: 1) A couple of HOLY CRAP moments throughout the play through that stays with you permanently 2) It gives you that aching pain in your stomach and knocks you in the brain dome telling you to play it to the end
    Like most gamers, I love certain elements of a game whether its story, graphics, game play, characters, etc.

    But ultimately, to deserve a 10 you really need just 2 things:

    1) A couple of HOLY CRAP moments throughout the play through that stays with you permanently
    2) It gives you that aching pain in your stomach and knocks you in the brain dome telling you to play it to the end because you have to see it to it's conclusion to be satisfied

    Arkham Asylum does these two things easily.

    Its not the biggest package as the game could be considered somewhat small
    It's boss fights are not particularly difficult which might seem unsatisfying

    It doesn't matter because this game is the balls
    Expand
  46. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Best super hero video game ever (well, until Arkham City came out). The graphics are great, the action/stealth gameplay is very well done, and the game immerses you into the world of Batman. The only issue with this game are the boss battles, which are repetitious and boring. A most own for all Batman fans.
  47. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    This game is not just a Game Of The Year, but it also offers one of the most incredible Batman gaming experiences there is around. Let's just be sure that the new Batman game is as great as it sounds.
  48. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    This game features excellent graphics and atmosphere as well as an intriguing story with top notch voice work. The game is a good blend of action, strategy, puzzle-solving and cinematic presentation. Well worth the money. The challenge maps get repetitive and don't really add much to the value but the single player story is where it is at anyway.
  49. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    this a great game. this best super hero game i ever played. story and combat are to perfection. graphics are pretty spectacular. joker is at his best being played by mark hamil.
  50. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    I reviewed arkham city before I did this one as I just started my account. I will say the game is solid. Nothing is broken in this and the free flowing combat is amazing. The upgrades and riddller challanges keep you glued to your chair. There is one let down to the game though and that is the final boss fight, this was a missed oppertunity in itself. Thankfully that was fixed in theI reviewed arkham city before I did this one as I just started my account. I will say the game is solid. Nothing is broken in this and the free flowing combat is amazing. The upgrades and riddller challanges keep you glued to your chair. There is one let down to the game though and that is the final boss fight, this was a missed oppertunity in itself. Thankfully that was fixed in the follwoing game which is a 10 Expand
  51. May 29, 2013
    8
    A very good game. If you're a batman fan, you're going to love this. Fighting people is well done, stealth missions are great, all the villains were done well and storyline was good. Have to take off points for it's piss poor boss fights and it's lack of replay value. Otherwise, good game. Worth a buy.
  52. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    Ok batman is my favourite superhero of all time so it bums me out looking at some of his games it's like bad (batman and robin the game) wasted potential (batman dark tommorow) actually good (batman begins the game) and the why did you cancel the game based on the best film (the dark knight game) but arkham asylum is an awesome game and here's why.Ok batman is my favourite superhero of all time so it bums me out looking at some of his games it's like bad (batman and robin the game) wasted potential (batman dark tommorow) actually good (batman begins the game) and the why did you cancel the game based on the best film (the dark knight game) but arkham asylum is an awesome game and here's why. Pros: fun combat, really great story, Kevin Conroy Mark Hamill and all the voice actors are perfect for their roles, the atmosphere is epic and realistic, the awesome redesigns for the characters, joker challenge maps, makes you feel like batman, the extras like riddler challenges and patient interview tapes along with Amaudaus arkham tapes. Cons: needs more enemy variety in thugs and boss battles, a little too easy, why can't I play as joker on the Xbox version, not much else. I want to thank rocksteady for giving us a great batman game and they better continue the franchise after arkham city Expand
  53. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    This is the Batman game that everyone wanted. The dark way in this game is perfect for the dark knight. Great voice acting. The best part has to be the final fight or all of the Scarecrow scenes.
  54. Oct 31, 2015
    9
    Bought it on sale on xbox live and It was totally worth the money, Amazing game , I bought the same day arkham city which I enojoyed even more. When I buy an xboxone I'm definatly buying arkham knight... To be honest I expected a bad game , usually overhyped games are not that good. But this one delivered
  55. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Fantastic superhero game that sets the bar for atmosphere, storytelling, and action. Never been a Batman comic book fan, but found myself getting drawn into the lore and the batman universe. Everybody who enjoys action game should try this!
  56. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    this game has a story mode and a combat system practically spotless, this game is based on one of the best super-heroes.the game has a different system but this game has side quests and it makes not much to do on your map.
  57. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best Batman games and started a revolution when it released becoming the best super hero game ever to be created and I gave it a 9.8 out of 10.
  58. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played. Great stealth, Great Story, and Great Combat. The story has Batman bringing Joker back to Arkham. And after he escapes (Not a spoiler we all knew that was going to happen) Batman has to bring order back to Arkham. But before he meets some of his most popular villains. The stealth feels great in this game, you feel likeBatman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played. Great stealth, Great Story, and Great Combat. The story has Batman bringing Joker back to Arkham. And after he escapes (Not a spoiler we all knew that was going to happen) Batman has to bring order back to Arkham. But before he meets some of his most popular villains. The stealth feels great in this game, you feel like batman. You can grapple to gargoyles to find your enemies and take 'em out one by one. The combat feels great, too. You can string combos and counters and special moves together so seamlessly it is awesome. You hug your control in this game, making full use. You can do Riddler challenges throughout the Asylum, it could be Riddler trophies or challenges you have to find and scan, or chronicles of Arkham, and joker teeth you can destroy.

    Great game, must buy!
    Expand
  59. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Finally a videogame where we get to really feel what it's like to be Batman and it really has a depth that can be enjoyed by anyone but for Bat fans this game is heaven. The combat and stealth mechanics are balanced perfectly in a beautifully built world that gives insights into the world of the dark knight through its story and collectibles. The voice acting is of the high standard ofFinally a videogame where we get to really feel what it's like to be Batman and it really has a depth that can be enjoyed by anyone but for Bat fans this game is heaven. The combat and stealth mechanics are balanced perfectly in a beautifully built world that gives insights into the world of the dark knight through its story and collectibles. The voice acting is of the high standard of the 90s animated TV show and stars most of the cast who do a great job. This is a perfectly designed 3rd person action/adventure game with one of the most lovable characters (who's success in videogames should have come sooner as they are well matched) in modern pop culture and because of this Arkham Asylum earns my 2009 game of the year. Expand
  60. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    Games don't get much better than this. It's 2014 and the graphics are still awesome compared to today's standard. This is a story driven game. If you like a good story then you will like this game. It can be really hard at parts, but I didn't think it was too challenging.
  61. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    I don't really have much to say about this game apart from up un till Arkham City came out this was the best superhero game you could buy. Great story, voice acting and gadgets
    9/10
  62. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    Now as the most geeky person around my corner, i know a lot about comic books and how they usually transport into video games, so when this game was announced i was like "Man really another superhero game :( First x-men then spider man and now batman. I wonder how they will **** this up" Oh oh oh man how wrong was i. There is not much to say about this game, it is just nigh perfect,Now as the most geeky person around my corner, i know a lot about comic books and how they usually transport into video games, so when this game was announced i was like "Man really another superhero game :( First x-men then spider man and now batman. I wonder how they will **** this up" Oh oh oh man how wrong was i. There is not much to say about this game, it is just nigh perfect, almost "The super hero gamus supremos" because that title is deserved by this game's even better sequel. Expand
  63. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    Incredible incredible game.... I got this a couple of years after it came out and maybe after all the hype had dies down at dirt cheap prices, so I am even more happy with the game. Incredibly graphics, great gameplay and a good story makes this a must have in any game collection.
  64. Jun 2, 2015
    9
    I hate to admit that up to now i have never played a Batman game, so with the Arkham Knight coming out very soon i decided to get my old 360 back up and running and get through Asylum, City & Origins.

    THIS GAME IS EPIC!!!! Im not even that big of a super hero fan but this is a truly fantastic game and has got me very exicted for Arkham Knight!!!
  65. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    I think it's the best game of batman ever.

    Why ? Cause actually I like close world games and small location ,but of course that doesn't include gta
  66. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    Uma grande franquia da sua geração. Elevou a um novo patamar os jogos baseados em personagens dos quadrinhos. Simplesmente um classico pela excelente mecanica,a essencia do homem morcego é incrivelmente demonstrada aqui.
  67. Nov 7, 2014
    10
    I never considered myself a comic book fan. I used to think that Batman was dumb and pointless. Then I played this game. The graphics are amazing, the story is well done and the gameplay is solid. The game is lengthy, taking from 12 hours to 20 hours based on how much extra things you complete. Overall, Batman: Arkham Asylum is amazing and one of the best games I've ever played. It alsoI never considered myself a comic book fan. I used to think that Batman was dumb and pointless. Then I played this game. The graphics are amazing, the story is well done and the gameplay is solid. The game is lengthy, taking from 12 hours to 20 hours based on how much extra things you complete. Overall, Batman: Arkham Asylum is amazing and one of the best games I've ever played. It also changed my perspective on Batman the character as a whole. 10 Expand
  68. Feb 8, 2016
    9
    Rocksteady has done an excellent job with Arkham Asylum, the combat is fast, fun and responsive. The story is interesting, and does justice to fan-favourite Batman villains. And Batman's gadgets are fun to mess around with too. This game would be a 10/10, If it weren't for the massively big letdown of a final boss fight. Apart from that, you should buy Arkham Asylum immediately.
  69. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. awesomeness in a X360 box. great that they used the voices from the cartoon show and the joker being mark hamill. the game was awesome. enjoyed tha combat and it is not hard to execute combos. i like the upgrades to the equipment over time allowing new take downs and areas to be unlocked etc. Expand
  70. Dec 26, 2015
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum was one of the things that got me into Batman at a young age. This is an incredible game that is still replayable, but hard to get back into after playing the newer titles like Arkham Knight. This game deserves all the praise it gets. The combat and predator gameplay mechanics are revolutionary, the story was great, the collectibles can be challenging to find, butBatman: Arkham Asylum was one of the things that got me into Batman at a young age. This is an incredible game that is still replayable, but hard to get back into after playing the newer titles like Arkham Knight. This game deserves all the praise it gets. The combat and predator gameplay mechanics are revolutionary, the story was great, the collectibles can be challenging to find, but they're worth it. The open world isn't really that open, but is still fun to explore and is littered with collectibles. This game was revolutionary and showed that comic book characters can actually have great video games, even if Batman is the only comic book character to get his own games now, excluding LEGO games. It was an incredible start to an incredible franchise. Expand
  71. Feb 21, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A damn near masterpiece of a game with amazing graphics,superb game play and brilliant voice acting but what keeps this from being a 10/10 is when you beat the main story and collect all the Riddler trophies that's it and thankfully future Arkham games added a lot more things to do and some of the boss battles *cough* titan joker *cough* are very bland and uninspired but the way the asylum looks and fells just makes this game a blast to play through. Plus this introduced the best combat in action adventure game history and is now trying to be emulated by other developers. This game was the start to a perfect trilogy and my personal favorite trilogy of games and I highly recommend it to anyone. Expand
  72. Feb 23, 2016
    10
    Just plain fantastic and very much enjoyable . I had so much fun with this game . The narration and plot are brilliantly done . What I enjoy most here is the stealth parts of the game where you are predator praying on armed cowards
  73. Jul 18, 2016
    9
    (Before I review, I love this game. I just think it gets too much credit). This game blew people away... at the time. Yes this game is responsible for making Batman games some the best games ever, the game play was incredible, impressive graphics and some great boss battles. But the game lacked so much story, Batman is known for creating some of the best stories ever, in comic books, TV(Before I review, I love this game. I just think it gets too much credit). This game blew people away... at the time. Yes this game is responsible for making Batman games some the best games ever, the game play was incredible, impressive graphics and some great boss battles. But the game lacked so much story, Batman is known for creating some of the best stories ever, in comic books, TV shows, and movies. The level design can be very dull, the game play is what did it, but the levels felt too simple.

    I'm giving this game a solid 9/10. The only reason I'm dissing it is because it gets way too much praise, but that doesn't mean it's not a greatt game
    Expand
  74. Mar 25, 2016
    8
    A game that truly defied any expectation that it may have had on it, Arkham Asylum is a genre-defining game that will set the standard for any superhero game to come.

    A flawless combat system is one of the main talking points from this game, the ability to be the Batman by taking on huge gangs of thugs with relative ease when using different combos and counter-attacks to make you feel
    A game that truly defied any expectation that it may have had on it, Arkham Asylum is a genre-defining game that will set the standard for any superhero game to come.

    A flawless combat system is one of the main talking points from this game, the ability to be the Batman by taking on huge gangs of thugs with relative ease when using different combos and counter-attacks to make you feel very good about yourself when you look around after the battle to see bodies laying everywhere. As well as this, being able to switch to detective mode, and clear a whole room without anyone realising you're there is also hugely rewarding. The scarecrow nightmare missions are exceptional, and even includes a very clever fourth-wall break. Though the voice acting is solid on all parts, the real star of the show is Mark Hamill as the Joker. Hilariously vicious, Hamill does everything in his power to make the Joker both true to the character and memorable within the game, and he excels at both.

    The only real issue within the game is how compact the Asylum actually is. I often got myself lost when trying to find the correct place to go, wandering around the Asylum in all kinds of rooms and areas apart from the correct ones. This is something the sequel addresses in spectacular fashion.

    Batman: Arkham Asylum makes sure that the superhero game is now not an afterthought or a addition to a superhero movie, but hopefully the defining chapter in what could be an exciting time for superhero games. Thank you, Rocksteady, thank you.
    Expand
  75. Jun 7, 2016
    9
    Esta genial,pero tienen que controlar los sonidos de pelea.
    Los graficos perfectos.
    Solo nesesitaba un poco de duracion y mejores efecto de sonido.
    Calificacion:94
  76. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    Juegazo como la copa de una catedral. Lo compré de segunda mano a mi hermano pequeño que le gustaban mucho los cómics y al final acabé jugándolo yo, el pobre como me miraba jaja.
    La jugabilidad es increible, como manejas a batman, no recuerdo ningun otro videojuego que mueva tambien en el combate al personaje. Los gráficos y ese lugar, Arkham, me encantó esa localización donde transcurre
    Juegazo como la copa de una catedral. Lo compré de segunda mano a mi hermano pequeño que le gustaban mucho los cómics y al final acabé jugándolo yo, el pobre como me miraba jaja.
    La jugabilidad es increible, como manejas a batman, no recuerdo ningun otro videojuego que mueva tambien en el combate al personaje. Los gráficos y ese lugar, Arkham, me encantó esa localización donde transcurre la historia, 10/10.
    Expand
  77. Nov 21, 2016
    9
    é dificil ver bons jogos de super-herois, mais dificil ainda é ver um jogo excelente de super-heroi, e Batman Arkham Asylum é excelente, começou muito bem a saga dos jogos do Batman pela Rocksteady, a dublagem é excelente, tem ótimos momentos, Coringa é um vilao excelente no game, é muito bem representado, o grafico é muito bom, tem cenas marcantes, como por exemplo no começo que aparece oé dificil ver bons jogos de super-herois, mais dificil ainda é ver um jogo excelente de super-heroi, e Batman Arkham Asylum é excelente, começou muito bem a saga dos jogos do Batman pela Rocksteady, a dublagem é excelente, tem ótimos momentos, Coringa é um vilao excelente no game, é muito bem representado, o grafico é muito bom, tem cenas marcantes, como por exemplo no começo que aparece o Crocodillo no corredor, Batman Arkham Asylum começa a melhor saga de games de um super-heroi. Nota 9.3 Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. What may be one of Batman’s worst nights of his life may end up being one of many players’ best experiences of the year.
  2. This is certainly not a game for just Batman fans, comic fans or action fans; this is a game that everyone should play and thoroughly enjoy. It looks beautiful, plays like a dream and has a superb mix of action, stealth and detective elements. The combat is intuitive, flexible and surprisingly deep too. Give this game a go and you will not be pleasantly surprise, you will be blown away.
  3. Batman Arkham Asylum is a product of absolute value that can count on a cast of colorful characters to build a great game, really fun. The greatest strengths of the production lie in the gameplay built around what are the real capabilities of Batman, mixing action and stealth section, but always related with the universe from which have been extrapolated. Rocksteady's game is certainly the new standard for understanding how produce games under license, adapting for videogaming the very spirit of this historic character.