Batman: Arkham Asylum Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1061 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    awesomeness in a X360 box. great that they used the voices from the cartoon show and the joker being mark hamill. the game was awesome. enjoyed tha combat and it is not hard to execute combos. i like the upgrades to the equipment over time allowing new take downs and areas to be unlocked etc.
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is an amazing, immersive game that even borders on groundbreaking at times, yet still manages to be let down somewhat by lack of polish in a few key areas. It was the best game i had played in a long time, yet i couldn't help feeling that had as much love been given to basic matters like controls, AI, and boss design as were paid to faithfully creating what it's likeBatman: Arkham Asylum is an amazing, immersive game that even borders on groundbreaking at times, yet still manages to be let down somewhat by lack of polish in a few key areas. It was the best game i had played in a long time, yet i couldn't help feeling that had as much love been given to basic matters like controls, AI, and boss design as were paid to faithfully creating what it's like to BE batman, the game, while definitely a must buy for any action game fan, could have been truly genre-defining.

    The good:
    Combat mechanics are deceptively deep and offer pick-up-and-play simplicity while having a lot more to offer for those who want to polish their skills a little more. Once mastered, combat is quick and intuitive, and there is a real sense of achievement and enjoyment to be had out of gliding toward a bunch of enemies, KO'ing one of them with a glide kick, landing, and proceeding to beat the daylights out of several others, using counters and various special move options to chain together long combos. One partiularly gratifying battle towards the end of the game allows you to go hand to hand with 15+ of the joker's henchmen in a locked room that's barely big enough to swing a cat, but if you've mastered the combat system, you can use batman's phenomenal martial arts skills to drop each and every one of the group over a several minutes long scrap, before continuing onwards towards their boss.

    The Joker, voiced by star-wars actor Mark Hamill, is phenomenal throughout the game, even when not onscreen and making his presence felt through loudspeaker announcements over the asylum's ever present tannoi system. In contrast to batman's stoic, focused persona, his crazy, maniacal, and sometimes downright funny dialogue steals the show at every turn.

    The game's replay value is excellent. Even when you've completed the main story, there are still loads of collectables, trophies, challenges, and one or two very cool secrets and side quests to uncover. Getting to 100% on this game really will take a LONG time.

    The bad:
    Number one on this section has to go to the controls. While they're fine when batman has a bit of space, controls in close combat can be a bit clumsy, resulting in Batman taking an occasional lead pipe over the back of the head, which is never nice, or particularly in one of the games many stealth sections where batman has to creep around an area, covertly taking out armed enemies. Just occasionally, you'll need batman to creep up behind an enemy, kick his legs out from under him, grab him around the neck and choke him out silently before disappearing off into the shadows again, but the game will interpret your control commands as "do a random parry move, then do it again, then kick him in the back and warn him and his buddies that you're there allowing them to blast you into pieces". This can be frustrating at times, but nowhere more so than the game's stealth challenge modes, where the idea is to take out an entire room of armed enemies using stealth tactics and batman's arsenal of tricks and gadgets, in the shortest time possible. In these challenges, every second counts, and it's maddening to know exactly what you want to do, be in a hurry, and have the game do something completely different and blow your cover. Add to this the Xbox's lacklustre analogue d-pad that's used to select one of up to 8 gadgets to help you out when you're in a pinch, and batman thus getting the wrong gizmo out in a crisis, and you have a control system that's not as well designed as it could have been for what you need to do in-game. It's not monumentally flawed, and it works well for the most part, as long as you're not in a hurry, but it's definitely something the upcoming "Batman Arkham City" sequel needs to address.

    The Boss fights are bland and generic affairs that don't really fit in with the overall tone of the game, and are boring and repetitive in parts. Bane, Killer Croc, and in particular Poison Ivy all were either boringly repetitive on normal, or maddeningly cheap and frustrating on higher difficulties. More thought should have been given to overall boss design in this game, as they all feel pretty much tacked on to the overall story.

    Scarecrow. While the addition of scarecrow's platforming levels throughout the course of the game were an interesting twist on the gameplay, i couldn't help feeling that they didn't fit, and just served as an unwelcome distraction from the rest of the action of the game. Overall, despite a handful of faults, this game is still well worth a purchase for any action game fan, and is simply a "must buy" for any Batman or comic book fans in general. More stealth challenges, more polish on the combat and close quarters controls, better boss fights, and slightly less robotic AI would have made this an all time classic, but as it is, it's still well worth picking up. Score 90%.
    Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Game of the year 2010. There is nothing bad i can say about Batman: AA. The combat is fluid and fun, and has great impact, The story is a classic batman plot, that doesn't take too much attention from the game itself, and the game ends exactly when it should, with a solid 30 hour clock for a thorough play through. Presentation wise, the voice acting is simply stunning, and the visualsGame of the year 2010. There is nothing bad i can say about Batman: AA. The combat is fluid and fun, and has great impact, The story is a classic batman plot, that doesn't take too much attention from the game itself, and the game ends exactly when it should, with a solid 30 hour clock for a thorough play through. Presentation wise, the voice acting is simply stunning, and the visuals match the asylum perfectly, being both creepy and comical. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Best game of all time, stealth, combat, amazing voice acting. Everything you want in a game. This game was wall to wall entertainment, and worth every penny.
  5. GeorgeW
    Dec 29, 2009
    8
    Great game, worth buying. The graphics are great, as are the controls and general atmosphere of the world. The only thing I would say could've been better is the boss battles. Many of them are based around the same tactic, and may as well be the same fight over and over again. The rest of the game makes up for it though. You get a good selection of gadgets to play with, and there are Great game, worth buying. The graphics are great, as are the controls and general atmosphere of the world. The only thing I would say could've been better is the boss battles. Many of them are based around the same tactic, and may as well be the same fight over and over again. The rest of the game makes up for it though. You get a good selection of gadgets to play with, and there are always multiple ways of approaching a fight (except the boss fights). Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Arkham Asylum was everything I expected it to be. An compelling, original story. Good controls, and fun fighting techniques, unique characters, and it looked great all the while. It's everything a super hero game needed to be. I can't wait for Arkham City, definitely picking it up on Stream. this is my favorite super hero game of all time, close to the original Spiderman on Dreamcast!
  7. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    I've never been a huge fan of the Batman comics, but I get the general idea and know most of the main characters. The only reason I got Batman: Arkham Asylum was because it kept getting great reviews, and it was on sale, so I thought "eh, why not". I aaaaaam so glad that I did; Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played on a console. The voice acting is great, theI've never been a huge fan of the Batman comics, but I get the general idea and know most of the main characters. The only reason I got Batman: Arkham Asylum was because it kept getting great reviews, and it was on sale, so I thought "eh, why not". I aaaaaam so glad that I did; Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played on a console. The voice acting is great, the graphics are great, the story and presentation are great, and the hand-to-hand fighting system is probably the best I have ever played in a game. Those who are complaining about the controls and the fighting must have some pretty high standards, because to me I found the commands very responsive and the controls tight. Expand
  8. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I currently have 5 games , and of all the five that i've purchased, this is the only game that i can't get enough of. Arkham Asylum is that kind of game which, in my opinion, has re-defined the superhero genre of gaming. The Combat is excellent, the attention to detail is virtually ( aside from L.A Noire ) unrivalled, the voice acting is flawless and, above all ( in my opinion ),the predator tactics are so satisfying that it gives you a real sense of how it is to be the Caped Crusader. The story is so well written by veteran Batman writer Paul Dini and so well presented by Game director Sefton Hill and the rest of the Rocksteady team that it never fails to keep you engrossed. The game is a dream come true for die-hard Batman fans and an absolute delight for casual gamers like myself. Having said all that,however,the game does have a few minor flaws. E.g : The Boss fights get a bit repetitive as the game progresses, the A.I. can be a bit weak at times. But when looking at the game as a whole, it's hard to deny that the entire creative team behind Batman:Arkham Asylum have inevitably raised the bar for superhero games and has proven to be quintessential of a superhero game. Cheers DC Comics!!! Cheers Warner Brothers!!!!! Cheers Rocksteady!!!! Cheers Arkham Asylum!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  9. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 10
    Graphics: 10
    Setting: 8
    Multiplayer: N/A
    Soundtrack: 8
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 6
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 8.8/10 = A
  10. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    I loved batman growing up, I was even obsessed with those horrible batman movies of the 90s, but this game was literally a dream come true. I felt like batman, it's so god damn authentic. The scarecrow parts are by far my favorite parts of the game, holy hell!
  11. BrienH
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    The only reason this game does not get a perfect "10" is because it lacks replay value. In one go-through (with some minor back-pedaling), I was able to unlock everything. The challenge maps are fun, but playing them each through a single completion was enough for me. This minor flaw is incredibly overshadowed by the fact that B:AA is not only the best Batman game ever (not that big of a The only reason this game does not get a perfect "10" is because it lacks replay value. In one go-through (with some minor back-pedaling), I was able to unlock everything. The challenge maps are fun, but playing them each through a single completion was enough for me. This minor flaw is incredibly overshadowed by the fact that B:AA is not only the best Batman game ever (not that big of a feat), but also the best superhero game, ever (a tremendous feat). The gameplay really puts you in control of all of the Dark Knights best moves, and plenty more that the Rocksteady devs imagined for him. The DC Universe characters have never looked so good as in this game, and written by Dini (The Animated Series), they truly come to vibrant, maniacal life. If the sequel can add length to the campaign, and overall replay value, there's absolutely no reason it shouldn't be GOTY for 2010/2011. Expand
  12. ajayj
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    this game is very good and has definitley made me a batman fan but i think the fighting combos could be better but beside that this game is worth the rent or buy
  13. AlexP
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Graphics 10/10 - This is the Unreal 3.0 Engine at it's best. Simply stated: It looks and feels better than Gears of War 2, and has artistic that is unparelled by any other game released this year. Sound: 10//10 - The voice acting is right on the money, cut scenes are so well done you could imagine stringing them together into a professional 3D animated movie. Gameplay 10/10 - You Graphics 10/10 - This is the Unreal 3.0 Engine at it's best. Simply stated: It looks and feels better than Gears of War 2, and has artistic that is unparelled by any other game released this year. Sound: 10//10 - The voice acting is right on the money, cut scenes are so well done you could imagine stringing them together into a professional 3D animated movie. Gameplay 10/10 - You will find yourself listening to your heartbeat slow down after intense conflicts, feeling fullfilled with your steath strategies to pacify rooms of guards who never knew you were there. set traps, glide, find secrets, solve riddles. There are seperate achivements for beating it on Easy, Medium and Hard and especially at the latter you will feel addicted to the gameplay's pacing. Negatives: No Multiplayer, co-op would have been spectacular, (could you imagine if it was; Batman and Robin - Arkham Asylum?) You can bet this game will get many Game of the Year Awards and place best of in many technical/artistic catagories. If it isn't a game your going to buy, it at least has to be a game your going to rent. It's one of the best titles Eidos Interactive (Tomb Raider; Hitman) has come out with in the last decade. Expand
  14. GaryL
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    Great game overall. Everything about this game is well done except the boss battles, which one might think would be the high point of a batman game. Combat is simple but still allows for the player to achieve a sort of mastery over it. Also, sometimes Batman's dialogue can be laughably bad but most of the time the writing is decent. If you have ever wanted to be Batman at any point Great game overall. Everything about this game is well done except the boss battles, which one might think would be the high point of a batman game. Combat is simple but still allows for the player to achieve a sort of mastery over it. Also, sometimes Batman's dialogue can be laughably bad but most of the time the writing is decent. If you have ever wanted to be Batman at any point in your life, get this game. Expand
  15. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    This is certainly not a game for just Batman fans, comic fans or action fans; this is a game that everyone should play and thoroughly enjoy. It looks beautiful, plays like a dream and has a superb mix of action, stealth and detective elements. The combat is intuitive, flexible and surprisingly deep too. Give this game a go and you will not be pleasantly surprise, you will be blown away. AsThis is certainly not a game for just Batman fans, comic fans or action fans; this is a game that everyone should play and thoroughly enjoy. It looks beautiful, plays like a dream and has a superb mix of action, stealth and detective elements. The combat is intuitive, flexible and surprisingly deep too. Give this game a go and you will not be pleasantly surprise, you will be blown away. As someone that plays and sees a fair few average games, it made a nice change to have a title that I could not wait to have another go at. Expand
  16. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    Simply, the best Batman game ever! What spoils the excellent adventure is the repetition of certain enemies types, Mark Hamill ie the Joker rabbiting on unnecessary at times, and some level design is confusing even in detective mode. Overall a classic in gaming!
  17. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I played this game for countless hours, I loved it. Pretty much everything about it is perfect and this is really suprising considering its a Batman game.
  18. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    It was an awesome game in almost every way. The ending, for me, kind of sucked. Also, I felt like I could have rushed right through the game in a few sittings if not for wanting to force myself to take my time and try to accomplish the side quests. I hope the next Batman in this series is longer and more immersive.
  19. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    Rocksteady's Batman: Arkham Asylum is the greatest game based on a comic book to date. Why, you ask? Firstly, the game remains true to the world of the Dark Knight. The characters in the game are authentic in terms of their physical appearance and their respective personalities. The game is oveflowing with characters from the Batman world, including The Joker, who is voiced brilliantly byRocksteady's Batman: Arkham Asylum is the greatest game based on a comic book to date. Why, you ask? Firstly, the game remains true to the world of the Dark Knight. The characters in the game are authentic in terms of their physical appearance and their respective personalities. The game is oveflowing with characters from the Batman world, including The Joker, who is voiced brilliantly by Mark Hamill. You will also come across Bane, Poison Ivy, Scarecrow and Killer Croc just to name a few. The story is excellent in entwining the various themes from the comics to produce a narrative that will keep the player coming back for more. The gameplay mechanic, which introduces the Free-Flow combat system, is great. This allows combat to be fluid and cinematic, immersing the player in Batman's encounters with his enemies. The system itself is easy to learn, but hard to master. Stringing together perfect combos takes a while to grasp and to be executed perfectly. The combat will evolve throughout the game, introducing the player to new gadgets at regular intervals. If I have to nit, it would have been nice to face-off against a wider variety of enemies. You will encounter armed, as well as unarmed thugs, along with the occasional boss battles. On the technical side, the game is amazing. The graphics are sharp, with excellent character models that adopt a comic book approach. The lighting and shading are also on par without any dips in the frame rate. In terms of sound, all the characters are voiced impeccably, from The Joker to the mere security guard. All in all, this makes for a fantastic experience as Batman, engrossing the player in a setting that is vast and beautiful.I suggest, whether you are a Batman fan or not, to lend about eight hours of your time to this title. You will indeed love it. Expand
  20. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    I really enjoy this game. I think this is first good game about Batman. Arkham asylum is a masterpiece, for graphics and for level design. Fight is easy to learn, but hard to master. Detective mode made it a little to easy, but generally game is awesome. Can't wait for more.
  21. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    Before I talk great about this game let me give you a little back story of me and Batman games. I love Batman, I think he is one of the coolest superheros of all time and it never seemed that Batman could not get a good game out on the market. I have played numerous Batman games like Batman Forever, The Adventures of Batman and Robin, Batman Begins, and lastly Batman Vengeance. AfterBefore I talk great about this game let me give you a little back story of me and Batman games. I love Batman, I think he is one of the coolest superheros of all time and it never seemed that Batman could not get a good game out on the market. I have played numerous Batman games like Batman Forever, The Adventures of Batman and Robin, Batman Begins, and lastly Batman Vengeance. After Batman Vengeance, I never thought that Batman would make a Blockbuster game. Well on August, 2009 I played Arkham Asylum and I was blown away from what I saw. Its the second best Batman game to date only behind it's sequel Arkham City. The Graphics, the fighting, the story, the villains, the setting, everything was just perfect! The plot of the game is your Batman and you have just caught the joker and you are sending him away to Arkham Asylum where all the high end criminals and Lunatics are at. Batman is suspicious about the Joker because he caught the him without any issues. His fears became real when the Joker devised a plan to release all of Batman's main enemies like Killer Croc, Poison Ivy, Bane, Scarecrow,etc. Batman must stop these criminals before they reach Arkham city and cause terror. All of the actors from the Batman Animated series reprise their roles like Kevin Conroy as Batman and Mark Hamill as the Joker. It is extremely fun to fight these enemies and have to go through a series of puzzles and problem solving in order to defeat them. There are a lot of side-missions you can play and it is exciting to do these missions because they add something to the story. As Batman, you have a lot of gadgets to choose from like the Batarang, Explosive Gel, Grapple gun and many more. Even though there a lot of good things about the game, there is some frustrating parts as well. There are some missions where it might feel a little slow, the boss battles are way too easy, the menu might have too much information you need to know, and there are some parts that the game doesn't exactly tell you what to do so it might leave you confused and it will piss you off. Regardless, this game is awesome and you should really try this game. Expand
  22. Jul 18, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Arkham series really hit the nail on it's head with Asylum. This game is a complete package, one that you won't easily forget. That doesn't mean that the game is perfect. It does have a few flaws that hold the experience back a little.
    Let's kick off with the good: the story for example. While the beginning was a little predictable after just a few minutes in, that (thankfully) doesn't hold it back. The gameplay? Amazing. Batman controls really well and it's satisfying to beat up some baddies. The fighting sections are an absolute joy, even though they take some getting used to. While the controls are tight, they do have to grow on you. I noticed that early on. You will take some unnecessary hits because the control scheme is kind of strange. Later though you will have no problem, as you only have to get used to it.
    Now, one of my favorite things in the game: the stealth sections. They pretty much outshine everything else. You can plan out so many strategies before even moving an inch. Also, the reactions from some of the guards are hilarious. Driving them crazy was one of my favorite things to do in the game. And why you ask? Because it's easy to manage and it's extremely satisfying. Especially after gaining a few upgrades (which are implemented beautifully) it's even easier and even more satisfying.
    That's it for the good stuff, let's move on to what was not executed so well. First, the island itself. Arkham Island is nice place to discover with tons of secrets to find, but the island itself has no purpose. It's there to get you from point A to point B. And is there something wrong with that? Well, yeah, sort of. If you are creating this semi-large world for me to be in, there has to be some incentive to do some exploring right? Sadly, there is none. Well, if you like collecting all the trophies and finding all the secrets then yeah, you can do that. But we are playing a Batman game, one that has a story that you want to play through. You are not playing this game to discover a world. Should they have used long hallways and non-branching pathways? No, absolutely not, but there is hardly any reason to be out there in the field. Beating up bad guys and finding these trophies being the only thing you can, why would I spend time mindlessly running around when I can advance in this awesome story?

    That was only a minor complaint on an otherwise amazing and engrossing experience. Definitely worth your time and money.
    Expand
  23. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    At long last, a developer who saved the Batman franchise crumbling to death, Batman Arkham Asylum is what Batman fans or super heroes fans want. Strong combat design makes every punch alive , nice detailed graphics is outstanding, Rock Steady did well in their attempt to save Mr. Bat
  24. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the greatest games I've ever played. Definitely the best Batman game ever and it's about time. If you're a fan of beat em' up, superhero games this is a must.
  25. AustinM
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Honestly, this game is a bit overrated. It's definetely one of the best games I've ever played, and has some great moments. The first thing I noticed was the voice acting was great!! Very few games have as good voice acting as this one, and I found all the dialogue quite decent. 2nd is the graphics, they're beautiful and envrionments look great!! The hand to hand comabt is Honestly, this game is a bit overrated. It's definetely one of the best games I've ever played, and has some great moments. The first thing I noticed was the voice acting was great!! Very few games have as good voice acting as this one, and I found all the dialogue quite decent. 2nd is the graphics, they're beautiful and envrionments look great!! The hand to hand comabt is good, although a lot of button mashing is involved, it's fun once you start getting combos and using special moves. Joker was also excellent. I loved every minute I heard him talking and making Batman suffer. Although the highlight for me was the Scare Crow segments. They were the most interesting parts, the imagination put into those parts were brilliant. The stuff that happened was so amazing!! Some of the bad parts were the riddles, they were fun to find at first, but they're more annoying to find them then fun. Some boss battles were also repetitive, doing the same thing and was just a pattern. And the length, I thought this game was going to be a lot longer, but I was wrong. I'm just glad they're making a sequel. By far the best superhero game I've ever played. Buy this!! You won't regret it! 92/100 for me!! Expand
  26. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    The best game that I posess. The game is simply genius in every way and the story is absolutely outstanding. IF you don't have it, than buy it! It is a game that at moments I have found difficult but altogether I didn't struggle with it too much.
  27. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = The best superhero game of all time is either this or spiderman 2. This game is very sexy and was also one of the biggest gaming surprises ever.
  28. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    An amazing game let down by how stupidly easy is.Even on Hard,it's not challenging at all.Having said that though,it's a brilliant Batman game and I expect better from the sequel.
  29. LandonS.
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    I hate superhero games and never really liked batman until Christian Bale rekindled the movies. Could care less for any comic let alone batman/superman ones. Absolutely loved every minute of this game and was so let down when I beat it only because its over! They really captured what it would feel like to be a badass batman and made it really fun along the way.
  30. zach
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    i would give it a 9.9 but 10 will do first i only have 2 complaints 1 (the biggest) whenever you finish off beat up whatever you want to call it the enemys act like they have a seizure they grab theyre heads and fly up in the air believe it or not this actually takes a lot out of the combat it happens every single time litteraly
  31. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever. Great in all aspects. I believe we will have to wait a long time to see a game as good as this one. Never played the other versions but I believe they must be as good as this one.
  32. Jul 13, 2011
    8
    In my opinion this is a fun stealth, and action game. The story is pretty good, along with the side modes, and just swooping down and taking down enemies is pretty fun. Even though one negative for me is that my whole game file was somehow deleted, this is still a game worth getting.
  33. May 20, 2013
    10
    I just finished getting all of the achievements for this game. So, that means I have beat it on easy, normal, and hard modes, gotten 100% of riddles, and scored three medals on every combat and predator challenge. It took me a month to do all of this. I am an avid gamer- I play for about 4-5 hours per day and I only play one game at a time. For an OCD achievement person, like me, this is aI just finished getting all of the achievements for this game. So, that means I have beat it on easy, normal, and hard modes, gotten 100% of riddles, and scored three medals on every combat and predator challenge. It took me a month to do all of this. I am an avid gamer- I play for about 4-5 hours per day and I only play one game at a time. For an OCD achievement person, like me, this is a really balanced set of achievements. I felt like playing the different difficulties was satisfying because they actually did get progressively harder- but not ever impossible.

    For the more casual gamer, looking for a simple review:

    Pros:
    Beautiful graphics
    Awesome storyline
    NO BUGS- which is quite an accomplishment
    Combat feels great

    Cons:
    Very linear
    Cannot drive any vehicles- hello Rocksteady- Batmobile?!
    Rewards not well matched for the challenge.
    Expand
  34. TheDude
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. I rented it and I already miss it and wish I still had it, even though I finished the whole game. It's the kind of game you can get lost in like the old greats(Castlevania, Legend of Zelda, etc.) for several days and just have a blast. I just rented it because I heard it was short, but I ended up playing it long enough and had such a good time that it would have been Fantastic game. I rented it and I already miss it and wish I still had it, even though I finished the whole game. It's the kind of game you can get lost in like the old greats(Castlevania, Legend of Zelda, etc.) for several days and just have a blast. I just rented it because I heard it was short, but I ended up playing it long enough and had such a good time that it would have been worth a buy. I took my time and tried to find all of the secrets the first time through without the maps(that didn't work, I had to cave in at the end and use the maps to find most of the stuff), but it took me over 15 hours to do it that way. Of course, I've heard of people rushing through it in half that, but I had a blast going at it at the pace I did. In addition to the main story mode, there are also the challenge modes, which are fairly fun too. I spent about four hours on each of the first two, which was a blast when I rented it during the first week it was out, because it was still possible to move way up on the on-line leader boards with a little perseverance then. Now, I'm sure my scores are waaaay back on the lists, but I still got more fun out of those modes than I anticipated, and like I said, I only really messed around much with two of them, so there was still more to do. Anyway, it was a great game, very well done. Creepy and immersive like Bioshock, with a touch of Splinter Cell stealth, and lots of action which all made it a blast. It was kind of like if BioShock and Sam Fisher had a love child, and dressed him up in a Batman costume. Tons of fun. The presentation all around was fantastic, with top-notch production values all around. Oh yeah, and Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn were hot, too. That didn't hurt. Expand
  35. JohnnyT.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I played in years! It's like the best elements of the original Metal Gear Solid combined with a fun fighting mechanic, awesome graphics and, well, Batman. I guess if you hate comic books and/or Batman this isn't for you but if you like the idea of a dark stealth action game that is very streamlined and fun to play and doesn't require too much trial and One of the best games I played in years! It's like the best elements of the original Metal Gear Solid combined with a fun fighting mechanic, awesome graphics and, well, Batman. I guess if you hate comic books and/or Batman this isn't for you but if you like the idea of a dark stealth action game that is very streamlined and fun to play and doesn't require too much trial and error check it out! Expand
  36. JoshR
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    Replay value is minimal, or it would get a 10. This is the first game that has stood out for me graphically in a while (and I'm playing the 360 version, not the PC version), with much "prettier" scenery and character art than anything else I've played. You feel like Batman, though slightly less agile (dodging gunfire while engaged in a fist fight as in the comics/cartoon is not Replay value is minimal, or it would get a 10. This is the first game that has stood out for me graphically in a while (and I'm playing the 360 version, not the PC version), with much "prettier" scenery and character art than anything else I've played. You feel like Batman, though slightly less agile (dodging gunfire while engaged in a fist fight as in the comics/cartoon is not a viable option). This isn't a huge issue though; Batman triumphing through stealth and wits is cooler in my book. But players looking for a pure action game may want to look elsewhere. The story is good, the darker take on many of the villains is refreshing, and even the Riddler missions feel more interesting than the standard "collect the flags" achievements in other games due to the Riddler's repartee and the greater variety. The Riddler maps make it possible to actually do the collections without resorting to online hint guides, while still being a challenge (since you don't know exactly where they are, and the height isn't revealed). A big plus in my book, as constant reference to walkthroughs is kind of a cheat. The only annoying bit is the somewhat repetitive broadcasts by the Joker. You don't notice it if you follow the plot as quickly as possible, but during prolonged exploration for Riddler challenges, it gets noticable and slightly annoying. One nitpick: Why not remove cobwebs after you've walked through them in a ventilation shaft? I don't need full physics rendering of them stretching and snapping, but a simple static change to broken cobwebs around the edges of the shaft would help avoid breaking the immersion. Expand
  37. MarkA
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Not only the best Batman/superhero game ever (a farily low bar), but one of the best games of the year period. Takes all the best elements from games such as Metal Gear Solid, Tomb Raider, Splinter Cell, inFAMOUS, James Bond, etc. without any of the bad stuff (poor camera, bad voice acting, boring plot). An amazing game!
  38. KumasiL
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    When i first heard about arkham asylum. I thought OMG please dont disapoint me. I love batman to death please do let this be some chessey batman game trying to be a bioshock or halo, but I was so wrong and happy from the time I played the demo until its midnight reless. I love this game and im playing it kind of slow because I don't want it to just be over and im in need of a part 2 When i first heard about arkham asylum. I thought OMG please dont disapoint me. I love batman to death please do let this be some chessey batman game trying to be a bioshock or halo, but I was so wrong and happy from the time I played the demo until its midnight reless. I love this game and im playing it kind of slow because I don't want it to just be over and im in need of a part 2 or the next big game. Thanks again Love the game. Please make a part 2 . If you love batman this is a must and i mean a must pick up. if you love action and adventure. this is a must. Just don't let batman be your sleeper hit like fallout 3 was for me. Expand
  39. StevenC
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Great game, best superhero game ever. I don't hand out many 10's, and as this game isn't perfect, it doesn't deserve a 10. I've already beaten it... and for me, that means it is a good game since I rarely beat games. It could be a testament to the simplicity of the controls (as the last game I beat was Prince of Persia). So i guess I should be docking it down a Great game, best superhero game ever. I don't hand out many 10's, and as this game isn't perfect, it doesn't deserve a 10. I've already beaten it... and for me, that means it is a good game since I rarely beat games. It could be a testament to the simplicity of the controls (as the last game I beat was Prince of Persia). So i guess I should be docking it down a couple of points? Either way, I love the game, and will continue to try and solve the riddler's clues and play the challenge maps. Expand
  40. Mobiusm.
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Batman has action, space, music, fights, humour, babes, goons, villians, puzzles, scale, challenges, Nightmares, depth, and above all Gameplay. Batman is a very polished game and there is a OCD just to complete all of riddlers puzzles. This is the first Batman game I have played in the 30 years of gaming that actually lets you belive you are playing a comic book super hero and not some Batman has action, space, music, fights, humour, babes, goons, villians, puzzles, scale, challenges, Nightmares, depth, and above all Gameplay. Batman is a very polished game and there is a OCD just to complete all of riddlers puzzles. This is the first Batman game I have played in the 30 years of gaming that actually lets you belive you are playing a comic book super hero and not some movie licence. there is no reason to slate batman unless your a moody teenager that just wants to be different. Expand
  41. RoniP.
    Sep 2, 2009
    9
    It was a great game, not perfect, but definetely rock solid. The game delivered the combat system and the predator gameplay with definite success, the story was glouriously written and stood by its comic counterparts, felt like actually reading a Batman story. The ending was amazing, definetly a first for big time fans of the bat. The conspiracy behind it was well perceived too and It was a great game, not perfect, but definetely rock solid. The game delivered the combat system and the predator gameplay with definite success, the story was glouriously written and stood by its comic counterparts, felt like actually reading a Batman story. The ending was amazing, definetly a first for big time fans of the bat. The conspiracy behind it was well perceived too and advanced the comic lore even further. It's pointless to point out flaws the game did not tryed to overcome, the game is well-rounded and a great experience, everything comes together just fine. Hoping to see a more in-depth detective system and the riddles explored even further next. Expand
  42. ObsidianP.
    Sep 3, 2009
    9
    What is so great about this is that it sets the stage for future Batman games. Imagine the next game with an open world in Gotham with the use of the Batmobile or even online co-op with one player as Batman and the other as Robin! After finishing this I am totally excited for the future.This was a dream come true for most of us and it can only get better! It sets the bar high for other What is so great about this is that it sets the stage for future Batman games. Imagine the next game with an open world in Gotham with the use of the Batmobile or even online co-op with one player as Batman and the other as Robin! After finishing this I am totally excited for the future.This was a dream come true for most of us and it can only get better! It sets the bar high for other super hero games. DC got this one right. Now its Marvels turn! Expand
  43. AdamD
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    A truly outstanding achievement by Rocksteady. Not only is their attention to detail to Batman lore outstanding but it is evident they are also incredibly savvy when it comes to representing well known characters as video game avatars. Batman himself is an absolute revelation and whether it be the predator sections, the hand to hand combat sections or just getting around the map it just A truly outstanding achievement by Rocksteady. Not only is their attention to detail to Batman lore outstanding but it is evident they are also incredibly savvy when it comes to representing well known characters as video game avatars. Batman himself is an absolute revelation and whether it be the predator sections, the hand to hand combat sections or just getting around the map it just feels absolutely right and a joy to play. It's absolutely seamless too, if you have the balls you can mix up hand to hand with your predator skills and create your own fighting style. The choice of Arkham Asylum as the gaming world is also an inspired choice and not since Bioshock have we seen a world so steeped in history and loving attention to detail. The only reason this game doesn't get a perfect ten from me is that the game is over too soon leaving you with admittedly fond memories but also the aching sensation to play more. It's probably a merit to the developers that they're achieved that, and the game does not outstay it's welcome but for a £40 game it can easily be completed in a week. In fact I completed it twice, completed all the challenge maps and attained all the achievement points in that time. Overall, whether you buy it, rent it or borrow it, you really need to play this. Expand
  44. JelomeE.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I've played. Gameplay is fun and addictive, boss fights are great, and the Challenge Modes require each and every skill the player got.
  45. michaelm
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    The minute I got the game and started playing, I felt like I was batman. The free flowing combat system is excllent. You can take down ten of jokers men in 5 seconds. The villans are classic and badder than ever, For example, Riddler, Ivy, Bane, and my favorite Killer Croc. The gadgets in the game are helpful in puzzle solving, stealth, and combats. I feel you should go buy this game and The minute I got the game and started playing, I felt like I was batman. The free flowing combat system is excllent. You can take down ten of jokers men in 5 seconds. The villans are classic and badder than ever, For example, Riddler, Ivy, Bane, and my favorite Killer Croc. The gadgets in the game are helpful in puzzle solving, stealth, and combats. I feel you should go buy this game and see if you have what it takes to spend the night at Arkham Aslyum. Expand
  46. RickB
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Batman Simulator. Best superhero game ever made. Combine Metal Gear Solid with Zelda and then wrap it in DC comics lore around Batman. You end up with the core mechanics and themes in the game. The execution in this one is non pereil.
  47. BobT.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This game kicks ass. F... Gamepros score of 80......what the f... do they know about video games? F... gamepro. Game informer kicks their ass and has always been 100x better.
  48. FernandoL
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Arkham Asylum is easily the best Batman game so far, and maybe the best super hero game ever made. You really feel like Batman, using all of his famous gadgets and facing some of his old enemies. The Free Flow combat is interesting and it works perfectly. Rocksteady should work on a sequel. This is the GOTY.
  49. AndrewC.
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I wish I could give this a 9.5 but a 10 will do because it surely is not just a 9 - I never thought I would give something a near perfect score. The game plys VERY well. I played it for the first time and the only reason I stopped was to sleep. It starts and never lets up. Very involving. When I saw all of the previews I thought well it will be good for what it is. It seemed high quality I wish I could give this a 9.5 but a 10 will do because it surely is not just a 9 - I never thought I would give something a near perfect score. The game plys VERY well. I played it for the first time and the only reason I stopped was to sleep. It starts and never lets up. Very involving. When I saw all of the previews I thought well it will be good for what it is. It seemed high quality but not my type of game. I was VERY wrong. Buy into the hype on this one! it is a really great game from graphics and storyline to gameplay mechanics and combat. I look forward to see more batman games from Rocksteady! Expand
  50. MattS
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    Been looking forward to this for ages and enjoyed the demo a lot. Am very happy with final product, though special edition not as good at it at first appeared. Main part is game though which is very good.
  51. GioxL
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    Arkham Asylum is undoubtedly the best Batman game to date. If the studio can realize the game's setting in this form, I can only imagine what lengths they can go for a fully realized sandbox-style Gotham City. The look is appropriately eerie, its ambiance cold and terrifying, and its score is nearly as epic as that of The Dark Knight. The combat proves you can still do the popular Arkham Asylum is undoubtedly the best Batman game to date. If the studio can realize the game's setting in this form, I can only imagine what lengths they can go for a fully realized sandbox-style Gotham City. The look is appropriately eerie, its ambiance cold and terrifying, and its score is nearly as epic as that of The Dark Knight. The combat proves you can still do the popular 16-bit era "beat 'em up" and do it well. The only drawback for me is how unfitting Kevin Conroy's voice is for this particular Batman design. Besides that, it's fantastic. Expand
  52. JamesC
    Aug 31, 2009
    8
    Great game although infuriatingly difficult at times. Very well written, brilliant graphics and gameplay. The Scarecrow sections are outstanding. Best licensed game since Chronicles of Riddick.
  53. MZ
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    In the future, all superhero games will be judged by this one. I don't know what kind of crack the people on here saying it's a 3/10 were smoking. The graphics are beautiful, the acting and writing are superb, and the feel is perfect Batman. I have played plenty of games in the past few years, but I have been missing that "I HAVE to finish this thing" vibe form most of them. I In the future, all superhero games will be judged by this one. I don't know what kind of crack the people on here saying it's a 3/10 were smoking. The graphics are beautiful, the acting and writing are superb, and the feel is perfect Batman. I have played plenty of games in the past few years, but I have been missing that "I HAVE to finish this thing" vibe form most of them. I have not been unable to put down a game like this since God of War 2 came out. I literally could not stop playing Arkham Asylum. Whether you enjoy action games or just love Batman, this is a must have. The only people who won't like this are the juvenile and immature gamers who think a great game has to have buckets of blood and gore, and have no patience for a well crafted story with lots of suspense and interesting gameplay. Expand
  54. ConradW
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    There is absolutely nothing about this game that doesn't shine through with polish from the developers. Its perfect in every way. If you are getting one game this summer, THIS GAME IS IT! Thank you Eidos and Warner Bros for this masterpiece!
  55. ToffeeO
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    two words to summarize: nearly flawless. thanks to these guys at rocksteady, now everyone expects games on this level to follow. scarecrow and croc are really scary even if you're grown up. this batman game retains all that's great about the comic, no fancy superpowers just grade-a technology and martial arts. one of only two games that made me collect all 1000 achievement two words to summarize: nearly flawless. thanks to these guys at rocksteady, now everyone expects games on this level to follow. scarecrow and croc are really scary even if you're grown up. this batman game retains all that's great about the comic, no fancy superpowers just grade-a technology and martial arts. one of only two games that made me collect all 1000 achievement points in a game! Expand
  56. OliverR
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is not re-inventing the genre, but what's there is incredibly good. Never has a superhero license been made into a better game than this. The developers really managed to get the spirit of the license right, integrated diverse gameplay mechanics in a perfect synergy and polished the presentation to perfection. Thats pretty much all you can ask! The characters Batman: Arkham Asylum is not re-inventing the genre, but what's there is incredibly good. Never has a superhero license been made into a better game than this. The developers really managed to get the spirit of the license right, integrated diverse gameplay mechanics in a perfect synergy and polished the presentation to perfection. Thats pretty much all you can ask! The characters are played brilliantly (with the Joker being my favourite. Well done, Mark Hamill!), graphics and sound are superb and the atmosphere is thrilling. If you like Max Payne and dig the Batman Universe, you wouldn't want to miss out on what might probably be the perfect game for you. Expand
  57. WillC
    Sep 2, 2009
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is sheer greatness from start to finish. Even without the Batman license this would have been a great game, but creating Batman's world around the gameplay makes a great game even better. The atmosphere is great and somehow makes backtracking fun. There is a great story, a slick script and wonderful voice acting (give Mark Hamill a medal) Its a shame there are Batman: Arkham Asylum is sheer greatness from start to finish. Even without the Batman license this would have been a great game, but creating Batman's world around the gameplay makes a great game even better. The atmosphere is great and somehow makes backtracking fun. There is a great story, a slick script and wonderful voice acting (give Mark Hamill a medal) Its a shame there are only 8 villains in the Asylum but the gameplay and atmosphere around them has been polished to a mirror shine. The Scarecrow chapter has to be the best (and creepiest) 15 minutes in gaming for a very long time and i was genuinly scared and immersed. I would rather have 8 very well executed villains then 20 rushed boss fights. (Besides, why use up all the villains now? Just wait for a sequel with new villains) The combat can get pretty easy and even with a map its easy to get lost but these are just nitpicks. All in all this is the Batman game we have been waiting for. It defines genre's. It defines games. Buy this game. Expand
  58. MattT
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    It could have had this it could have had that blah blah. Nitpicking when really games just don't get much more fun than this. So well presented and above all I felt like I was actually in a Batman comic, that is the greatest praise I can give.
  59. JamesD
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    Arkham Asylum is masterfully crafted with the Batman name, the graphics are excellent and the gameplay gives you a plethora options, a lot of care has gone into making this the first great batman game.
  60. JacquesL
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. It combines alot of elements from some of my favorite games. From stealth, to adventure, to action, Batman: AA rules in them all. But let me warn you - the boss battles aren't all that great. But, let aside the very few cons and Batman: AA is going to be a buy.
  61. TrevorB.
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Only gets a 9 because of some rough spots in the controls and game mechanics, and the lack of multiplayer or a co-op element. Other than that, this is quite possibly the best comic-based video game made to date and was a lot of fun to play through for all of the achievements.
  62. WesE
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    As stated before, Arkham Asylum is simply the best superhero game ever made. Incredible combat, a great story, top notch presentation, and hours of collectibles and challenge maps. The level of detail is incredible, from Batman's costume ripping and facial hair growing throughout the campaign to the Joker's taunts changing when you repeatedly die in the same area. This game As stated before, Arkham Asylum is simply the best superhero game ever made. Incredible combat, a great story, top notch presentation, and hours of collectibles and challenge maps. The level of detail is incredible, from Batman's costume ripping and facial hair growing throughout the campaign to the Joker's taunts changing when you repeatedly die in the same area. This game thinks of everything, and it really makes you feel like Batman. Expand
  63. JeffL.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    You just can't ask for more out of a game. In a lot of ways Batman simply incorporates successful elements from other popular games (free running from Assassin's Creed, platforming from Tenchu, Stealth and "goggle vision" from Metal Gear Solid, enjoyability and high quality story/cinematics/production like Bioshock, and more...). But then the real success is achieved when all You just can't ask for more out of a game. In a lot of ways Batman simply incorporates successful elements from other popular games (free running from Assassin's Creed, platforming from Tenchu, Stealth and "goggle vision" from Metal Gear Solid, enjoyability and high quality story/cinematics/production like Bioshock, and more...). But then the real success is achieved when all the elements listed above as well as several additional novel ideas are perfectly molded into Batman's character and how he would really act. No joke, you do feel like Batman and it is insanely satisfying when you do his job well. This is the best release from the past few months and easily one of the best games that will be released this year. Expand
  64. AkashK.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. Playing as Batman is an exhilarating experience. The story is sorta simple, it could've been a but more complicated. But I have to say that this is probably one of the best superhero games yet (top 5- this would be 2, next to Ultimate Alliance)!!!
  65. LUcaT
    Aug 26, 2009
    8
    Great Batman game, only good by any other standard. Combat is fun at first but becomes more of a chore by the end of the game. No truly difficult puzzles. The stealth bits are great but few and far between. Few bosses. Beat normal difficulty in just over 6 hours. Was hoping for more.
  66. GlennD
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I was only expecting this to be as good as the demo, and I really enjoyed the demo but after I started playing it simply blew me away I havent even played DEM BONES or as the Joker in the challenge maps because the story is soo good I cant quit playing.Easy one of the very best this year.GREAT JOB ROCKSTEADY!!!!
  67. AnonymousMC
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    No, the other reviews are not embellishing. Yes, the game is that good. No, I have not been drinking the kool aid. All the gameplay, graphic, and audio elements come together to truly make you feel like you are Bats (as the Joker now has me calling him), and it's a blast to experience. Best game I've played all year, and a serious contender for GOTY come Jan 2010.
  68. NelsonZ.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Best Batman Game ever made. Love the cast that is in this game. Makes other past Batman games look like they were made for preschoolers. Will not get tired of this game.
  69. JamesT.
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    Without a doubt the best Batman game ever created and probably one of the best video games in the superhero genre. Finally, Batman has been done justice in video game form.
  70. BrentY.
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    ive noticed a few glitches here and there, however the overall game make you feel like batman, and thats enough. The roster is better then what i expected, but another a list villain wouldve been nice. the in game cutscenes sound great, but look terrible and thats the only true negative ive got about this game, however all the other cutscenes are wonderfully done, both audio and visual. ive noticed a few glitches here and there, however the overall game make you feel like batman, and thats enough. The roster is better then what i expected, but another a list villain wouldve been nice. the in game cutscenes sound great, but look terrible and thats the only true negative ive got about this game, however all the other cutscenes are wonderfully done, both audio and visual. the extra battles get boring, but the preditor ones are fun. also, as a little tip, play the game in hard, itll make you do a couple of retries, but normal with the caution prior to their attack is just too easy. Expand
  71. MatthewS.
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Best Comic book game ever only reason i gave it a 9 is i would to play as other players like Robin, Nightwing, or even Batgirl who is Oracle so idk how they would work that out?
  72. JoseV.
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This game is complete rape. The inovation and take down possibilities are endless. The freeflow combat is also very tight and effective in making you feel like the dark knight.
  73. MarcB.
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Simply awesome. Coming from a game "snob", I have little time to spend on games. So, I need to choose my games carefully. This one stands out as the best super-hero game by an order of magnitude. The only reason it's not getting a 10 is because you need to keep "detective mode" on too much and cannot enjoy the wonderful coloring and graphics of Arkham.
  74. JoostP
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum has perfect pacing and gameplay. The game really makes you feel like you are Batman and everything is based around that. The Riddler's challenges will keep you busy for a while after you finish the game and then you can also finish all the Challenge maps! Great game with great value!
  75. DanteO
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This game has very few flaws, and none of them are gamebreaking or even large issues. Everything just has a ton of polish on it, and the various concepts in the game are just fantastic. Scarecrow's nightmares are incredibly surreal, Killer Croc's area has amazing tension during the whole sequence, and every area just has a life of its own. Throw in a challenge mode that actually This game has very few flaws, and none of them are gamebreaking or even large issues. Everything just has a ton of polish on it, and the various concepts in the game are just fantastic. Scarecrow's nightmares are incredibly surreal, Killer Croc's area has amazing tension during the whole sequence, and every area just has a life of its own. Throw in a challenge mode that actually adds to the game (improving your Freeflow skills, or making you a better invisible predator) and you've got 2009's GOTY, no contest. Expand
  76. Chris
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Awesome game. One of the most complete game experiences I have had the pleasure to enjoy. If you are a batman fan, GET THIS GAME! You literally get to do everything you would want to do as batman. Great story, great fun, replayable (if you want to solve all the riddles, or just if you like to have fun). 9 /10
  77. JohnS
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Outside of a few little oddities, the game is nearing perfection for defining Batman game, and will be the bar as to which all future superhero games are measured for years to come. Half Batman: The Animated Series, half Batman: The Dark Knight, makes the perfect game for anyone to enjoy.
  78. JohnnyD
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Exhilarating from start to finish and incredibly addictive engrossing and simple for batman newbies yet enough fan service for the hardcore. You won't want to put it down until you've solved all 240 riddles!
  79. KeenanS
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Certainly the best game of this year so far. The graphics are AMAZING, a former user reviewer claimed the graphics were "ok" I think this is down to 1. his own xbox or 2. his tv (maybe it isn't HD or HDMI). Certainly the best Super-Hero game to bless the xbox 360. The controls are very well layed out and give you enough time to counter, make stunning combos... many different combos. Certainly the best game of this year so far. The graphics are AMAZING, a former user reviewer claimed the graphics were "ok" I think this is down to 1. his own xbox or 2. his tv (maybe it isn't HD or HDMI). Certainly the best Super-Hero game to bless the xbox 360. The controls are very well layed out and give you enough time to counter, make stunning combos... many different combos. I haven't noticed a glitch yet. There is alot of bonus content to last you a good few hours. The story is very fluent and always keeps you guessing. The baddies are all implemented in different ways. The way the scarecrow was introduced was a matter of genious! This game deserves a 10/10 and it is rightfully given. Expand
  80. AdR
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Endlessly fun, thrilling and inventive. At last, a game that makes me feel like a superhero when I play it.
  81. ChrisR
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome. I'm only about 30% through the game, but I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute so far. The graphics are phenomenal, the detective mode is innovative, and all the different things Batman can do make the game so much fun. I think there is a lot of re-play value to this game. In my opinion, it's one of the best games made for the XBOX 360.
  82. SlimDWizKid
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    This is an absolute great game.You really do feel like The Dark Knight the whole way thru.From Fighting to detective work to gliding, swinging and,sneaking up on enemies,it's all here for you.Some of the camera 360 degree issues are a bit on the light side,but that's not the real problem.Some of the boss fights don't seem all that difficult,there rarely easy at times.The This is an absolute great game.You really do feel like The Dark Knight the whole way thru.From Fighting to detective work to gliding, swinging and,sneaking up on enemies,it's all here for you.Some of the camera 360 degree issues are a bit on the light side,but that's not the real problem.Some of the boss fights don't seem all that difficult,there rarely easy at times.The controls are very tight and on point with a free flowing combat system,this is more than a button mashing game.Instead of having multiplayer the game has a leaderboard challenge mode,where you can post your best scores,and times.But what stands out is the story.From start to finish you'll battle like hell and it shows,with Batman's ripped cape and armor shown as the game progresses.Another thing that stands out is the voice acting,Mark Hamill as The Joker and Kevin Conroy as Batman really make this game come to life.The music also plays a big part here from begining to end.Gameplay last anywhere from 10-12 hrs,and the graphics are amazing.If you're a Batman fan go get this game,it's money well spent. Collapse
  83. juliusk
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    Genius game just genius great story great motion graphics. some poor voice acting but most of it were brilliant. every single second of it is thrilling and very interesting best story in a game since BIOSHOCK.
  84. T.J.S.
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    The best game I have played in a long time. If you like stealth, great and easy to learn fighting and insane backstory. This is the game for you. I have not put any other game in my disc drive since buying this game. The depth of gameplay during and after the main story is amazing. I will not stop playing until have solved all of the Riddler challenges. The epic Scarecrow trip-out scenes The best game I have played in a long time. If you like stealth, great and easy to learn fighting and insane backstory. This is the game for you. I have not put any other game in my disc drive since buying this game. The depth of gameplay during and after the main story is amazing. I will not stop playing until have solved all of the Riddler challenges. The epic Scarecrow trip-out scenes are (in my opinion) some of the best scenes in gaming history. Play this game. And by the way, don`t pay attention to the people that have only played the demo or have not even beaten the game. Why they even post reviews, I have no idea. Expand
  85. orlandon
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    Awesome mix of stealth, adventure, sweet fighting mechanics, and batman huge dark history it feels right to finally play a batman that make justices to the coolest superhero.
  86. GeoffreyG
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    Finally, a superhero game that lives up to the hype! Batman: Arkham Asylum is without a doubt one of the best game of 2009. Graphics are excellent, possibly the best so far for this console generation. The sound is incredible. The story and characters are well executed and steeped in the Batman lore. Overall, the game is a little short (6-8 hours max), but it is incredibly well executed Finally, a superhero game that lives up to the hype! Batman: Arkham Asylum is without a doubt one of the best game of 2009. Graphics are excellent, possibly the best so far for this console generation. The sound is incredible. The story and characters are well executed and steeped in the Batman lore. Overall, the game is a little short (6-8 hours max), but it is incredibly well executed and worth playing through twice. The challenge rooms and all the hidden secrets with keep the game fresh for a while to come. Expand
  87. BennyB.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    This game was absolutely incredible! i am a huge gears of war, ufc, and gta4 gamer... but i have to say it.... Batman A.A. is the best game i have ever played. it has a wicked story line.. a badass game play. fantastic graphics and pretty much anything you can ask for ! i am looking forward to the next one... and i'm seriously hoping that it goes to Gotham.. and you can ride the This game was absolutely incredible! i am a huge gears of war, ufc, and gta4 gamer... but i have to say it.... Batman A.A. is the best game i have ever played. it has a wicked story line.. a badass game play. fantastic graphics and pretty much anything you can ask for ! i am looking forward to the next one... and i'm seriously hoping that it goes to Gotham.. and you can ride the batmobile. have a online co-op.. with robin..? or... any other character... but. i completely reccomend this game to anyone who is a gamer... ! wait no longer! your DREAM GAME IS HERE!!!!! / xbox360 account. xTDKx 1MANxARMY .. and i am the leader of THE DARK KNIGHTS. and that is also my youtube account ... please subscribe.. and watch my sick gears of war 2 videos.. ! Expand
  88. MarkC
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Finally, a Batman game that is worthy of the World's Greatest Detective. From it's opening scenes, which set the tone beautifully, this game promised to be something very special. the voice acting is stellar, with Mark Hamill's Joker the undisputed standout. The environments are as atmospheric and alive as any that I've seen in a game, rich in detail and Dark Knight Finally, a Batman game that is worthy of the World's Greatest Detective. From it's opening scenes, which set the tone beautifully, this game promised to be something very special. the voice acting is stellar, with Mark Hamill's Joker the undisputed standout. The environments are as atmospheric and alive as any that I've seen in a game, rich in detail and Dark Knight lore. The combat, which at first seems deceptively simple, proves to be some of the depest and most engaging fighting on the current console generation. The ability to take down a dozen thugs without being touched truly makes the player feel like the Caped Crusader, and the stealth invisible predator gameplay perfectly captures another facet of Batman's character. Add to that the innovative 'detective mode', and you've got the whole package. But Batman does not have Arkham's spotlight to himself, most of the Rogue's Gallery is accounted for, if not as actual bosses, then through the innovative use of patient interview tapes and other subtle nods to Batman's arch enemies. Of particular note is the Riddler, who, while not physically present, provides a perfect means to turn the often tiresome task of gathering collectibles into a process that not only enriches the overall game, but is quite fun too. Another notable standout is the Scarecrow. Without spoiling anything, I'll just say that Scarecrow's nightmare sequences provide some of the most innovative, and genuinely disturbing, gameplay I've experienced. Overall this is a fantastic superhero game, a must have for fans of Batman...actually, this is a great GAME by any standard, even players who are not fans of this genre can find somthing to enjoy. Highly recommended, definitely my game of the year, so far. Expand
  89. SeanS.
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    A 9.5 and maybe a 9.75 for its ability to do what so many others have not. Liscened games begin with rich engaging stories and deep, understood and elaborate environments or worlds and yet never manage to utilize that which made it great to begin with. Batman does not miss the mark. GI's comment that this is this years Bioshock is dead on. B-Man is able to deliver an extremely A 9.5 and maybe a 9.75 for its ability to do what so many others have not. Liscened games begin with rich engaging stories and deep, understood and elaborate environments or worlds and yet never manage to utilize that which made it great to begin with. Batman does not miss the mark. GI's comment that this is this years Bioshock is dead on. B-Man is able to deliver an extremely immersive gaming experience, allowing us to enter a world we have so longed to do. It is a great example of why games are emerging as the best form of entertainment/media. The unreal engine is spot on with its ability to create a world you will not soon forget. There are improvements that can be made, as there are for so many great games; this is incentive for a sequel in the prison, blackgate. I give it a 9.75 overall because its originality and its ability to do something we have longed for, allow us to actually become a superhero. A bar has been set, like halo, Call of Duty 4, Gears of War, and Bioshock. The standards are now very high, and I am ecstatic. Expand
  90. JimD.
    Sep 8, 2009
    9
    Excellent use and execution of the Batman license. Not as stealthy as I would like, but still effective. Cool gadgets and combat. Wish I could go to Gotham. Aside from that this is clearly the best comic game yet made, perhaps the best game of the year.
  91. CRobb
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    Dont get me wrong this is by far the best game thats based on a super hero thats ever been created, what stops it being perfect is the end...Call it a bit of a small complaint but it was the most anti climatic ending iv had in a long time. If you forget that part of it its pretty much pitch perfect
  92. KipR.
    Oct 14, 2009
    9
    A way cool game with lots of variety in the fighting and sneaking. I beat the game straight through before I realized half the moves you can do. There were a lot of things I just assumed you couldn't do, to later discover the opposite. I haven't been this into a game since Resident Evil 4. The challenge mode as well as the Riddler items give it more than just the main story. A A way cool game with lots of variety in the fighting and sneaking. I beat the game straight through before I realized half the moves you can do. There were a lot of things I just assumed you couldn't do, to later discover the opposite. I haven't been this into a game since Resident Evil 4. The challenge mode as well as the Riddler items give it more than just the main story. A little easy and most boss fights aren't real memorable Expand
  93. Teli
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Finally a decent superhero game (Chronicles of Riddick aside). The controls are smooth and never overwhelm. Excellent graphics. Finding the Riddlers hidden goods is fun and challenging. Some truly memorable moments.
  94. RonG.
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Amazing game, great story, challenge mode is fun. Would get 9.5 - 10 but not enough replay value for me. Compared to the rest of games in the genre though, I must say it's one of the best I've ever played.
  95. MikeB.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This game is brilliant...a perfect mix of kicking ass as the caped crusader, stealth, puzzle, and exploration. Anyone who's ever had even a passing interest in the Batman should put this game at the top of their to-do list.
  96. Carlos
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Got the game today for the PS3 slim and is purely a masterpiece. From gameplay through graphics I'm nominating it right now for GOTY. Is that good, really.
  97. MarkG
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    If you got both a PS3 and a 360, get the PS3 version, the graphics are better, gameplay is even smoother (no tearing in the PS3 version), you can play as The Joker, and you get a Batcave for Playstation Home.
  98. Karl
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Not perfect but pretty damn close. Definitely a candidate for GOTY. Well balanced with an engrossing atmosphere. The story and telling is interesting. Gameplay and combat is fluid. The riddles are nice addition to make your brain think a little. This is a comic book game done right.
  99. KrisA
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    The definitive Batman game. The game screams polish in nearly every facet, from the art design and voice acting to the intuitive control scheme that lets you do almost anything Batman could in the comics or movies. Add to the main game the challenge modes and numerous riddles spread all over Arkham, and here's something you'll be playing for a while.
  100. JoeCatman
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I am about 3/4 of the way through it, and I am obsessed with this game. It lives up to the hype. Make a sequel, please, though I have no idea how you could do it. This is the first Eidos game I've cared about in years. Before the demo I was derisive, but the demo made me a goddamn believer. So much is charming. Also, thank you for making easy mode easy. I have MS and sometimes I am about 3/4 of the way through it, and I am obsessed with this game. It lives up to the hype. Make a sequel, please, though I have no idea how you could do it. This is the first Eidos game I've cared about in years. Before the demo I was derisive, but the demo made me a goddamn believer. So much is charming. Also, thank you for making easy mode easy. I have MS and sometimes it's hard to be really good at games. Rocksteady has made a challenging game accessible to newbies, and compelling to the hardcore. More, please. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. What may be one of Batman’s worst nights of his life may end up being one of many players’ best experiences of the year.
  2. This is certainly not a game for just Batman fans, comic fans or action fans; this is a game that everyone should play and thoroughly enjoy. It looks beautiful, plays like a dream and has a superb mix of action, stealth and detective elements. The combat is intuitive, flexible and surprisingly deep too. Give this game a go and you will not be pleasantly surprise, you will be blown away.
  3. Batman Arkham Asylum is a product of absolute value that can count on a cast of colorful characters to build a great game, really fun. The greatest strengths of the production lie in the gameplay built around what are the real capabilities of Batman, mixing action and stealth section, but always related with the universe from which have been extrapolated. Rocksteady's game is certainly the new standard for understanding how produce games under license, adapting for videogaming the very spirit of this historic character.