Batman: Arkham Asylum Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1090 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    Simply, the best Batman game ever! What spoils the excellent adventure is the repetition of certain enemies types, Mark Hamill ie the Joker rabbiting on unnecessary at times, and some level design is confusing even in detective mode. Overall a classic in gaming!
  2. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    awesomeness in a X360 box. great that they used the voices from the cartoon show and the joker being mark hamill. the game was awesome. enjoyed tha combat and it is not hard to execute combos. i like the upgrades to the equipment over time allowing new take downs and areas to be unlocked etc.
  3. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Arkham Asylum was everything I expected it to be. An compelling, original story. Good controls, and fun fighting techniques, unique characters, and it looked great all the while. It's everything a super hero game needed to be. I can't wait for Arkham City, definitely picking it up on Stream. this is my favorite super hero game of all time, close to the original Spiderman on Dreamcast!
  4. AustinM
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Honestly, this game is a bit overrated. It's definetely one of the best games I've ever played, and has some great moments. The first thing I noticed was the voice acting was great!! Very few games have as good voice acting as this one, and I found all the dialogue quite decent. 2nd is the graphics, they're beautiful and envrionments look great!! The hand to hand comabt is Honestly, this game is a bit overrated. It's definetely one of the best games I've ever played, and has some great moments. The first thing I noticed was the voice acting was great!! Very few games have as good voice acting as this one, and I found all the dialogue quite decent. 2nd is the graphics, they're beautiful and envrionments look great!! The hand to hand comabt is good, although a lot of button mashing is involved, it's fun once you start getting combos and using special moves. Joker was also excellent. I loved every minute I heard him talking and making Batman suffer. Although the highlight for me was the Scare Crow segments. They were the most interesting parts, the imagination put into those parts were brilliant. The stuff that happened was so amazing!! Some of the bad parts were the riddles, they were fun to find at first, but they're more annoying to find them then fun. Some boss battles were also repetitive, doing the same thing and was just a pattern. And the length, I thought this game was going to be a lot longer, but I was wrong. I'm just glad they're making a sequel. By far the best superhero game I've ever played. Buy this!! You won't regret it! 92/100 for me!! Expand
  5. JamesD
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    Arkham Asylum is masterfully crafted with the Batman name, the graphics are excellent and the gameplay gives you a plethora options, a lot of care has gone into making this the first great batman game.
  6. BrienH
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    The only reason this game does not get a perfect "10" is because it lacks replay value. In one go-through (with some minor back-pedaling), I was able to unlock everything. The challenge maps are fun, but playing them each through a single completion was enough for me. This minor flaw is incredibly overshadowed by the fact that B:AA is not only the best Batman game ever (not that big of a The only reason this game does not get a perfect "10" is because it lacks replay value. In one go-through (with some minor back-pedaling), I was able to unlock everything. The challenge maps are fun, but playing them each through a single completion was enough for me. This minor flaw is incredibly overshadowed by the fact that B:AA is not only the best Batman game ever (not that big of a feat), but also the best superhero game, ever (a tremendous feat). The gameplay really puts you in control of all of the Dark Knights best moves, and plenty more that the Rocksteady devs imagined for him. The DC Universe characters have never looked so good as in this game, and written by Dini (The Animated Series), they truly come to vibrant, maniacal life. If the sequel can add length to the campaign, and overall replay value, there's absolutely no reason it shouldn't be GOTY for 2010/2011. Expand
  7. ajayj
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    this game is very good and has definitley made me a batman fan but i think the fighting combos could be better but beside that this game is worth the rent or buy
  8. GeorgeW
    Dec 29, 2009
    8
    Great game, worth buying. The graphics are great, as are the controls and general atmosphere of the world. The only thing I would say could've been better is the boss battles. Many of them are based around the same tactic, and may as well be the same fight over and over again. The rest of the game makes up for it though. You get a good selection of gadgets to play with, and there are Great game, worth buying. The graphics are great, as are the controls and general atmosphere of the world. The only thing I would say could've been better is the boss battles. Many of them are based around the same tactic, and may as well be the same fight over and over again. The rest of the game makes up for it though. You get a good selection of gadgets to play with, and there are always multiple ways of approaching a fight (except the boss fights). Expand
  9. GaryL
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    Great game overall. Everything about this game is well done except the boss battles, which one might think would be the high point of a batman game. Combat is simple but still allows for the player to achieve a sort of mastery over it. Also, sometimes Batman's dialogue can be laughably bad but most of the time the writing is decent. If you have ever wanted to be Batman at any point Great game overall. Everything about this game is well done except the boss battles, which one might think would be the high point of a batman game. Combat is simple but still allows for the player to achieve a sort of mastery over it. Also, sometimes Batman's dialogue can be laughably bad but most of the time the writing is decent. If you have ever wanted to be Batman at any point in your life, get this game. Expand
  10. AlexP
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Graphics 10/10 - This is the Unreal 3.0 Engine at it's best. Simply stated: It looks and feels better than Gears of War 2, and has artistic that is unparelled by any other game released this year. Sound: 10//10 - The voice acting is right on the money, cut scenes are so well done you could imagine stringing them together into a professional 3D animated movie. Gameplay 10/10 - You Graphics 10/10 - This is the Unreal 3.0 Engine at it's best. Simply stated: It looks and feels better than Gears of War 2, and has artistic that is unparelled by any other game released this year. Sound: 10//10 - The voice acting is right on the money, cut scenes are so well done you could imagine stringing them together into a professional 3D animated movie. Gameplay 10/10 - You will find yourself listening to your heartbeat slow down after intense conflicts, feeling fullfilled with your steath strategies to pacify rooms of guards who never knew you were there. set traps, glide, find secrets, solve riddles. There are seperate achivements for beating it on Easy, Medium and Hard and especially at the latter you will feel addicted to the gameplay's pacing. Negatives: No Multiplayer, co-op would have been spectacular, (could you imagine if it was; Batman and Robin - Arkham Asylum?) You can bet this game will get many Game of the Year Awards and place best of in many technical/artistic catagories. If it isn't a game your going to buy, it at least has to be a game your going to rent. It's one of the best titles Eidos Interactive (Tomb Raider; Hitman) has come out with in the last decade. Expand
  11. JohnnyR
    Nov 22, 2009
    8
    A great game - looks and plays brilliantly. It is definitely too short though - if it slowed between the stages and gave you more opportunity to roam and move off the narrative it would be magnificent. The final stages are a let down too - flawed, clunky boss levels Otherwise though its lots of fun, great graphics, wicked gameplay and never dull.
  12. ClarkGriswold
    Nov 17, 2009
    6
    For every cool thing about this game there are two frustrating and/or annoying things. The coolest things being the villains and voice acting, the worst being the controls and fighting (I'm trying to recall a time I died that wasn't caused by performing an action that was contrary to my input). There was almost enough frustration to make me give up on the game altogether--it was For every cool thing about this game there are two frustrating and/or annoying things. The coolest things being the villains and voice acting, the worst being the controls and fighting (I'm trying to recall a time I died that wasn't caused by performing an action that was contrary to my input). There was almost enough frustration to make me give up on the game altogether--it was a *very* close call--and when I finished it, it was a big "meh." Expand
  13. MarcS
    Nov 13, 2009
    8
    An excellent action game, which takes elements from many different genres of game, and uses them to fantastic effect. My only complaint is the repetitive boss battles, but otherwise this is essential.
  14. DavidB
    Oct 22, 2009
    7
    I wanted to love this game, but instead, I merely like it. The graphics are excellent, if a bit familiar to anyone who's played multiple Unreal Engine 3-based games. The control is very responsive, and while you can get through most hand-to-hand battles with simple button-mashing, if you take the time to get the combos/moves down, the game's fisticuffs can be very satisfying. I wanted to love this game, but instead, I merely like it. The graphics are excellent, if a bit familiar to anyone who's played multiple Unreal Engine 3-based games. The control is very responsive, and while you can get through most hand-to-hand battles with simple button-mashing, if you take the time to get the combos/moves down, the game's fisticuffs can be very satisfying. The AI is a bit uneven, though. The unarmed thugs don't stand a chance against Batman and his arsenal of gadgets and fighting expertise, even when they outnumber him 8 to 1. However, all of the gun-toting goons are absolute deadeyes, and hardly ever miss (even at long distance at night against a moving target wearing black and grey). The game's biggest disappointment has to be the boss battles. Most of them are overly simplistic, and the ones that are a little more challenging can usually be overcome through simple trial and error. The Killer Croc encounter has to be the most disappointing and anti-climactic of the bunch. I played through much of the game with the inevitable encounter with Croc in the back of my mind, only for it to be reduced to a few batarang flings and a lot of running. I picked this game up based on its high Metacritic score and the fact that I'm a Batman fan in general, and while I don't regret the purchase, I think the developers left a lot on the table with this one, and hopefully the sequel will flesh the experience out a bit more. Expand
  15. JelomeE.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I've played. Gameplay is fun and addictive, boss fights are great, and the Challenge Modes require each and every skill the player got.
  16. MorganS
    Oct 20, 2009
    7
    A good game for sure, but not perfect. There are elements which I like; the graphics (the ive seen best on 360 possibly), the controls (very fluid), combat animations, the stealth gameplay, the voice acting, the characters. However, I feel the game is dragged down by several factors. For me, it felt a bit too linear, and a bit too short. I guess thats okay, but it didn't really A good game for sure, but not perfect. There are elements which I like; the graphics (the ive seen best on 360 possibly), the controls (very fluid), combat animations, the stealth gameplay, the voice acting, the characters. However, I feel the game is dragged down by several factors. For me, it felt a bit too linear, and a bit too short. I guess thats okay, but it didn't really thrill me in anyway, and i didnt find myself having too much fun whilst playing it. I really didn't and still don't feel like replaying it any time soon. The playground (consisting of Arkham island) was far too small. I was really hoping for at least a small additional portion of gotham city, but unfortunately we are restricted to the island and its asylum. Limited fun is to be derived from the challenge mode and the riddle solving (which I found incredibly boring) is quite tedious (but thankfully optional). The combat was overly simplified, although it does look good, but i mostly found myself simpling slamming X and Y simultaneously, and again I found that fairly tedious. The fighting againt armed opponents is considerably more satisfying, requiring more planning and reflex, which I did enjoy. The selection of gadgets was on the small side, most of them being fairly similar in my opinion, even after unlocking all the upgrades. Also, there is no opportunity to ride the batmobile or the batjet (or whatever its called), even though they are featured briefly. Perhaps the worst aspect of the game are the boss battles. They were instantly forgettable, and also simple but repetitive. If you are a batman game, you will enjoy this game. If you don't, but enjoy superhero games, it probably is worth buying, as there aren't many superhero games out this generation of any worth. I would have been far more impressed by a game larger in scope; Spider Man The Movie 2 remains my favourite superhero game, maybe its just cas im more of a marvel fan. So overall I rate a 7, which i think is accurate for most gamers (add 1 or 2 to the score if you are a fan of batman or dc). Expand
  17. RonG.
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Amazing game, great story, challenge mode is fun. Would get 9.5 - 10 but not enough replay value for me. Compared to the rest of games in the genre though, I must say it's one of the best I've ever played.
  18. Teli
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Finally a decent superhero game (Chronicles of Riddick aside). The controls are smooth and never overwhelm. Excellent graphics. Finding the Riddlers hidden goods is fun and challenging. Some truly memorable moments.
  19. AdamD
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    A truly outstanding achievement by Rocksteady. Not only is their attention to detail to Batman lore outstanding but it is evident they are also incredibly savvy when it comes to representing well known characters as video game avatars. Batman himself is an absolute revelation and whether it be the predator sections, the hand to hand combat sections or just getting around the map it just A truly outstanding achievement by Rocksteady. Not only is their attention to detail to Batman lore outstanding but it is evident they are also incredibly savvy when it comes to representing well known characters as video game avatars. Batman himself is an absolute revelation and whether it be the predator sections, the hand to hand combat sections or just getting around the map it just feels absolutely right and a joy to play. It's absolutely seamless too, if you have the balls you can mix up hand to hand with your predator skills and create your own fighting style. The choice of Arkham Asylum as the gaming world is also an inspired choice and not since Bioshock have we seen a world so steeped in history and loving attention to detail. The only reason this game doesn't get a perfect ten from me is that the game is over too soon leaving you with admittedly fond memories but also the aching sensation to play more. It's probably a merit to the developers that they're achieved that, and the game does not outstay it's welcome but for a £40 game it can easily be completed in a week. In fact I completed it twice, completed all the challenge maps and attained all the achievement points in that time. Overall, whether you buy it, rent it or borrow it, you really need to play this. Expand
  20. KipR.
    Oct 14, 2009
    9
    A way cool game with lots of variety in the fighting and sneaking. I beat the game straight through before I realized half the moves you can do. There were a lot of things I just assumed you couldn't do, to later discover the opposite. I haven't been this into a game since Resident Evil 4. The challenge mode as well as the Riddler items give it more than just the main story. A A way cool game with lots of variety in the fighting and sneaking. I beat the game straight through before I realized half the moves you can do. There were a lot of things I just assumed you couldn't do, to later discover the opposite. I haven't been this into a game since Resident Evil 4. The challenge mode as well as the Riddler items give it more than just the main story. A little easy and most boss fights aren't real memorable Expand
  21. CRobb
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    Dont get me wrong this is by far the best game thats based on a super hero thats ever been created, what stops it being perfect is the end...Call it a bit of a small complaint but it was the most anti climatic ending iv had in a long time. If you forget that part of it its pretty much pitch perfect
  22. WesE
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    As stated before, Arkham Asylum is simply the best superhero game ever made. Incredible combat, a great story, top notch presentation, and hours of collectibles and challenge maps. The level of detail is incredible, from Batman's costume ripping and facial hair growing throughout the campaign to the Joker's taunts changing when you repeatedly die in the same area. This game As stated before, Arkham Asylum is simply the best superhero game ever made. Incredible combat, a great story, top notch presentation, and hours of collectibles and challenge maps. The level of detail is incredible, from Batman's costume ripping and facial hair growing throughout the campaign to the Joker's taunts changing when you repeatedly die in the same area. This game thinks of everything, and it really makes you feel like Batman. Expand
  23. RickB
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Batman Simulator. Best superhero game ever made. Combine Metal Gear Solid with Zelda and then wrap it in DC comics lore around Batman. You end up with the core mechanics and themes in the game. The execution in this one is non pereil.
  24. michaelm
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    The minute I got the game and started playing, I felt like I was batman. The free flowing combat system is excllent. You can take down ten of jokers men in 5 seconds. The villans are classic and badder than ever, For example, Riddler, Ivy, Bane, and my favorite Killer Croc. The gadgets in the game are helpful in puzzle solving, stealth, and combats. I feel you should go buy this game and The minute I got the game and started playing, I felt like I was batman. The free flowing combat system is excllent. You can take down ten of jokers men in 5 seconds. The villans are classic and badder than ever, For example, Riddler, Ivy, Bane, and my favorite Killer Croc. The gadgets in the game are helpful in puzzle solving, stealth, and combats. I feel you should go buy this game and see if you have what it takes to spend the night at Arkham Aslyum. Expand
  25. TrevorB.
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Only gets a 9 because of some rough spots in the controls and game mechanics, and the lack of multiplayer or a co-op element. Other than that, this is quite possibly the best comic-based video game made to date and was a lot of fun to play through for all of the achievements.
  26. JacquesL
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. It combines alot of elements from some of my favorite games. From stealth, to adventure, to action, Batman: AA rules in them all. But let me warn you - the boss battles aren't all that great. But, let aside the very few cons and Batman: AA is going to be a buy.
  27. JoshR
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    Replay value is minimal, or it would get a 10. This is the first game that has stood out for me graphically in a while (and I'm playing the 360 version, not the PC version), with much "prettier" scenery and character art than anything else I've played. You feel like Batman, though slightly less agile (dodging gunfire while engaged in a fist fight as in the comics/cartoon is not Replay value is minimal, or it would get a 10. This is the first game that has stood out for me graphically in a while (and I'm playing the 360 version, not the PC version), with much "prettier" scenery and character art than anything else I've played. You feel like Batman, though slightly less agile (dodging gunfire while engaged in a fist fight as in the comics/cartoon is not a viable option). This isn't a huge issue though; Batman triumphing through stealth and wits is cooler in my book. But players looking for a pure action game may want to look elsewhere. The story is good, the darker take on many of the villains is refreshing, and even the Riddler missions feel more interesting than the standard "collect the flags" achievements in other games due to the Riddler's repartee and the greater variety. The Riddler maps make it possible to actually do the collections without resorting to online hint guides, while still being a challenge (since you don't know exactly where they are, and the height isn't revealed). A big plus in my book, as constant reference to walkthroughs is kind of a cheat. The only annoying bit is the somewhat repetitive broadcasts by the Joker. You don't notice it if you follow the plot as quickly as possible, but during prolonged exploration for Riddler challenges, it gets noticable and slightly annoying. One nitpick: Why not remove cobwebs after you've walked through them in a ventilation shaft? I don't need full physics rendering of them stretching and snapping, but a simple static change to broken cobwebs around the edges of the shaft would help avoid breaking the immersion. Expand
  28. TheDude
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. I rented it and I already miss it and wish I still had it, even though I finished the whole game. It's the kind of game you can get lost in like the old greats(Castlevania, Legend of Zelda, etc.) for several days and just have a blast. I just rented it because I heard it was short, but I ended up playing it long enough and had such a good time that it would have been Fantastic game. I rented it and I already miss it and wish I still had it, even though I finished the whole game. It's the kind of game you can get lost in like the old greats(Castlevania, Legend of Zelda, etc.) for several days and just have a blast. I just rented it because I heard it was short, but I ended up playing it long enough and had such a good time that it would have been worth a buy. I took my time and tried to find all of the secrets the first time through without the maps(that didn't work, I had to cave in at the end and use the maps to find most of the stuff), but it took me over 15 hours to do it that way. Of course, I've heard of people rushing through it in half that, but I had a blast going at it at the pace I did. In addition to the main story mode, there are also the challenge modes, which are fairly fun too. I spent about four hours on each of the first two, which was a blast when I rented it during the first week it was out, because it was still possible to move way up on the on-line leader boards with a little perseverance then. Now, I'm sure my scores are waaaay back on the lists, but I still got more fun out of those modes than I anticipated, and like I said, I only really messed around much with two of them, so there was still more to do. Anyway, it was a great game, very well done. Creepy and immersive like Bioshock, with a touch of Splinter Cell stealth, and lots of action which all made it a blast. It was kind of like if BioShock and Sam Fisher had a love child, and dressed him up in a Batman costume. Tons of fun. The presentation all around was fantastic, with top-notch production values all around. Oh yeah, and Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn were hot, too. That didn't hurt. Expand
  29. LeefnaS.
    Sep 28, 2009
    4
    It's like there's some kind of conspiracy to trick me into thinking this game doesn't suck. I think we need more games where you run around and look for stuff and pretend like that's what a 'puzzle' is.
  30. JulienT.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Although this game may seem a little too simple for some hardcore gamers at first, it evolves into an immersive storyline with a huge variety of gameplay elements that will make you want more when you finish it, even if there is a ton of end-game content.
  31. JohnnyT.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I played in years! It's like the best elements of the original Metal Gear Solid combined with a fun fighting mechanic, awesome graphics and, well, Batman. I guess if you hate comic books and/or Batman this isn't for you but if you like the idea of a dark stealth action game that is very streamlined and fun to play and doesn't require too much trial and One of the best games I played in years! It's like the best elements of the original Metal Gear Solid combined with a fun fighting mechanic, awesome graphics and, well, Batman. I guess if you hate comic books and/or Batman this isn't for you but if you like the idea of a dark stealth action game that is very streamlined and fun to play and doesn't require too much trial and error check it out! Expand
  32. ToffeeO
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    two words to summarize: nearly flawless. thanks to these guys at rocksteady, now everyone expects games on this level to follow. scarecrow and croc are really scary even if you're grown up. this batman game retains all that's great about the comic, no fancy superpowers just grade-a technology and martial arts. one of only two games that made me collect all 1000 achievement two words to summarize: nearly flawless. thanks to these guys at rocksteady, now everyone expects games on this level to follow. scarecrow and croc are really scary even if you're grown up. this batman game retains all that's great about the comic, no fancy superpowers just grade-a technology and martial arts. one of only two games that made me collect all 1000 achievement points in a game! Expand
  33. HagenM
    Sep 20, 2009
    6
    I went into this game only because my friends begged me to give it a second chance as I was utterly unimpressed by the demo. I'll start off by saying that the character designs are fugly, the dialogue is atrocious, and the script writing is border-line cliche. However, these are just minor annoyances, not big problems. The biggest problem with this game is that it is B O R I N G. I went into this game only because my friends begged me to give it a second chance as I was utterly unimpressed by the demo. I'll start off by saying that the character designs are fugly, the dialogue is atrocious, and the script writing is border-line cliche. However, these are just minor annoyances, not big problems. The biggest problem with this game is that it is B O R I N G. There's really nothing fun to do in this game. The most fun I had was swinging from gargoyles and gliding from the top of buildings. Expand
  34. OliverR
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is not re-inventing the genre, but what's there is incredibly good. Never has a superhero license been made into a better game than this. The developers really managed to get the spirit of the license right, integrated diverse gameplay mechanics in a perfect synergy and polished the presentation to perfection. Thats pretty much all you can ask! The characters Batman: Arkham Asylum is not re-inventing the genre, but what's there is incredibly good. Never has a superhero license been made into a better game than this. The developers really managed to get the spirit of the license right, integrated diverse gameplay mechanics in a perfect synergy and polished the presentation to perfection. Thats pretty much all you can ask! The characters are played brilliantly (with the Joker being my favourite. Well done, Mark Hamill!), graphics and sound are superb and the atmosphere is thrilling. If you like Max Payne and dig the Batman Universe, you wouldn't want to miss out on what might probably be the perfect game for you. Expand
  35. ThomasH
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    Batman: Arkham Ayslum is an amazing achievement by Eidos. The game is enganging from start to finish, with one of the best stories in video games this generation. The gameplay feels smooth and challenging, the graphics are amazing, and the voice acting will bring back memories for those who watched Batman: The Animated Series. Fan or no fan of Batman, they will enjoy this game.
  36. SteveB
    Sep 17, 2009
    8
    Good game, gets a little repetitive, but I still had fun. i'm more into the RPG style game, so take my rating with a grain of salt, but I think it's still impressive for me to give this type of game an 8 when it's not my style. That being said, it's way too quick, not much replay value, so it's best recommended as a rental. Can easily be beaten in under a week.
  37. GeoffreyG
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    Finally, a superhero game that lives up to the hype! Batman: Arkham Asylum is without a doubt one of the best game of 2009. Graphics are excellent, possibly the best so far for this console generation. The sound is incredible. The story and characters are well executed and steeped in the Batman lore. Overall, the game is a little short (6-8 hours max), but it is incredibly well executed Finally, a superhero game that lives up to the hype! Batman: Arkham Asylum is without a doubt one of the best game of 2009. Graphics are excellent, possibly the best so far for this console generation. The sound is incredible. The story and characters are well executed and steeped in the Batman lore. Overall, the game is a little short (6-8 hours max), but it is incredibly well executed and worth playing through twice. The challenge rooms and all the hidden secrets with keep the game fresh for a while to come. Expand
  38. BennyB.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    This game was absolutely incredible! i am a huge gears of war, ufc, and gta4 gamer... but i have to say it.... Batman A.A. is the best game i have ever played. it has a wicked story line.. a badass game play. fantastic graphics and pretty much anything you can ask for ! i am looking forward to the next one... and i'm seriously hoping that it goes to Gotham.. and you can ride the This game was absolutely incredible! i am a huge gears of war, ufc, and gta4 gamer... but i have to say it.... Batman A.A. is the best game i have ever played. it has a wicked story line.. a badass game play. fantastic graphics and pretty much anything you can ask for ! i am looking forward to the next one... and i'm seriously hoping that it goes to Gotham.. and you can ride the batmobile. have a online co-op.. with robin..? or... any other character... but. i completely reccomend this game to anyone who is a gamer... ! wait no longer! your DREAM GAME IS HERE!!!!! / xbox360 account. xTDKx 1MANxARMY .. and i am the leader of THE DARK KNIGHTS. and that is also my youtube account ... please subscribe.. and watch my sick gears of war 2 videos.. ! Expand
  39. HarveyB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    This is "The Dark Knight" of superhero video games. Unlike other poor attempts at giving you full command of the Caped Crusader this game succeeds in all aspects. this game is dark and teeming toxic in a good way. But it is because of the gameplay, the performances, the graphics and the fidelity to the Dark Knight material.
  40. RichardP.
    Sep 15, 2009
    5
    Massive over-hype! Lovely graphics and design, but very little actual gameplay mechanic. I feel as though there's only really 3/4 hours of good gameplay in this game. There after, it repeats and repeats itself to the point of boredom. For those that will disagree with me, that bit with Killer Croc? The game wants you to walk very slowly and throw your batarang a few times. This Massive over-hype! Lovely graphics and design, but very little actual gameplay mechanic. I feel as though there's only really 3/4 hours of good gameplay in this game. There after, it repeats and repeats itself to the point of boredom. For those that will disagree with me, that bit with Killer Croc? The game wants you to walk very slowly and throw your batarang a few times. This section of the game is like pulling teeth. The Scarecrow bits are impressive the first time, but then become cheap and repetitive. The Riddler's riddles are usually just a matter of finding the one out-of-the-ordinary object in a room and focusing on it. Unless you put a huge amount of time into tracking them all down, you're subjected by the Riddler's crappy taunts throughout. Stealth bits are cheap and repetitive. The enemies are boring and repetitive. Poison Ivy boss fight is awful and ridiculous. The final boss fight is boring, mostly just more thugs. Over all though. The design and voice acting is excellent and the bit where Batman relives his parents death is gaming magic ..... but sadly it's the only memorable bit. Expand
  41. MylesW
    Sep 12, 2009
    3
    Extremely overrated. The boss fights are repetitive, the gameplay is subpar, not that much replay value. The graphics and sound make it worthy of a rent, not much more. All reviews fail to note any of the negatives of this game. Watch some gameplay videos, play the demo and rent before you buy or you'll be disappointed as I have been.
  42. orlandon
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    Awesome mix of stealth, adventure, sweet fighting mechanics, and batman huge dark history it feels right to finally play a batman that make justices to the coolest superhero.
  43. juliusk
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    Genius game just genius great story great motion graphics. some poor voice acting but most of it were brilliant. every single second of it is thrilling and very interesting best story in a game since BIOSHOCK.
  44. SlimDWizKid
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    This is an absolute great game.You really do feel like The Dark Knight the whole way thru.From Fighting to detective work to gliding, swinging and,sneaking up on enemies,it's all here for you.Some of the camera 360 degree issues are a bit on the light side,but that's not the real problem.Some of the boss fights don't seem all that difficult,there rarely easy at times.The This is an absolute great game.You really do feel like The Dark Knight the whole way thru.From Fighting to detective work to gliding, swinging and,sneaking up on enemies,it's all here for you.Some of the camera 360 degree issues are a bit on the light side,but that's not the real problem.Some of the boss fights don't seem all that difficult,there rarely easy at times.The controls are very tight and on point with a free flowing combat system,this is more than a button mashing game.Instead of having multiplayer the game has a leaderboard challenge mode,where you can post your best scores,and times.But what stands out is the story.From start to finish you'll battle like hell and it shows,with Batman's ripped cape and armor shown as the game progresses.Another thing that stands out is the voice acting,Mark Hamill as The Joker and Kevin Conroy as Batman really make this game come to life.The music also plays a big part here from begining to end.Gameplay last anywhere from 10-12 hrs,and the graphics are amazing.If you're a Batman fan go get this game,it's money well spent. Expand
  45. catchalltrash
    Sep 10, 2009
    4
    I'm about an hour and a half into the game. So far it has been a disappointing experience. The combat is dreadful, navigating the environment is clunky and awkward, character movement is too slow, and the "checkpoint" system needs work. I'm really glad this is a rental.
  46. JimD.
    Sep 8, 2009
    9
    Excellent use and execution of the Batman license. Not as stealthy as I would like, but still effective. Cool gadgets and combat. Wish I could go to Gotham. Aside from that this is clearly the best comic game yet made, perhaps the best game of the year.
  47. SeanS.
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    A 9.5 and maybe a 9.75 for its ability to do what so many others have not. Liscened games begin with rich engaging stories and deep, understood and elaborate environments or worlds and yet never manage to utilize that which made it great to begin with. Batman does not miss the mark. GI's comment that this is this years Bioshock is dead on. B-Man is able to deliver an extremely A 9.5 and maybe a 9.75 for its ability to do what so many others have not. Liscened games begin with rich engaging stories and deep, understood and elaborate environments or worlds and yet never manage to utilize that which made it great to begin with. Batman does not miss the mark. GI's comment that this is this years Bioshock is dead on. B-Man is able to deliver an extremely immersive gaming experience, allowing us to enter a world we have so longed to do. It is a great example of why games are emerging as the best form of entertainment/media. The unreal engine is spot on with its ability to create a world you will not soon forget. There are improvements that can be made, as there are for so many great games; this is incentive for a sequel in the prison, blackgate. I give it a 9.75 overall because its originality and its ability to do something we have longed for, allow us to actually become a superhero. A bar has been set, like halo, Call of Duty 4, Gears of War, and Bioshock. The standards are now very high, and I am ecstatic. Expand
  48. LandonS.
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    I hate superhero games and never really liked batman until Christian Bale rekindled the movies. Could care less for any comic let alone batman/superman ones. Absolutely loved every minute of this game and was so let down when I beat it only because its over! They really captured what it would feel like to be a badass batman and made it really fun along the way.
  49. zach
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    i would give it a 9.9 but 10 will do first i only have 2 complaints 1 (the biggest) whenever you finish off beat up whatever you want to call it the enemys act like they have a seizure they grab theyre heads and fly up in the air believe it or not this actually takes a lot out of the combat it happens every single time litteraly
  50. MattT
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    It could have had this it could have had that blah blah. Nitpicking when really games just don't get much more fun than this. So well presented and above all I felt like I was actually in a Batman comic, that is the greatest praise I can give.
  51. ObsidianP.
    Sep 3, 2009
    9
    What is so great about this is that it sets the stage for future Batman games. Imagine the next game with an open world in Gotham with the use of the Batmobile or even online co-op with one player as Batman and the other as Robin! After finishing this I am totally excited for the future.This was a dream come true for most of us and it can only get better! It sets the bar high for other What is so great about this is that it sets the stage for future Batman games. Imagine the next game with an open world in Gotham with the use of the Batmobile or even online co-op with one player as Batman and the other as Robin! After finishing this I am totally excited for the future.This was a dream come true for most of us and it can only get better! It sets the bar high for other super hero games. DC got this one right. Now its Marvels turn! Expand
  52. RoniP.
    Sep 2, 2009
    9
    It was a great game, not perfect, but definetely rock solid. The game delivered the combat system and the predator gameplay with definite success, the story was glouriously written and stood by its comic counterparts, felt like actually reading a Batman story. The ending was amazing, definetly a first for big time fans of the bat. The conspiracy behind it was well perceived too and It was a great game, not perfect, but definetely rock solid. The game delivered the combat system and the predator gameplay with definite success, the story was glouriously written and stood by its comic counterparts, felt like actually reading a Batman story. The ending was amazing, definetly a first for big time fans of the bat. The conspiracy behind it was well perceived too and advanced the comic lore even further. It's pointless to point out flaws the game did not tryed to overcome, the game is well-rounded and a great experience, everything comes together just fine. Hoping to see a more in-depth detective system and the riddles explored even further next. Expand
  53. WillC
    Sep 2, 2009
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is sheer greatness from start to finish. Even without the Batman license this would have been a great game, but creating Batman's world around the gameplay makes a great game even better. The atmosphere is great and somehow makes backtracking fun. There is a great story, a slick script and wonderful voice acting (give Mark Hamill a medal) Its a shame there are Batman: Arkham Asylum is sheer greatness from start to finish. Even without the Batman license this would have been a great game, but creating Batman's world around the gameplay makes a great game even better. The atmosphere is great and somehow makes backtracking fun. There is a great story, a slick script and wonderful voice acting (give Mark Hamill a medal) Its a shame there are only 8 villains in the Asylum but the gameplay and atmosphere around them has been polished to a mirror shine. The Scarecrow chapter has to be the best (and creepiest) 15 minutes in gaming for a very long time and i was genuinly scared and immersed. I would rather have 8 very well executed villains then 20 rushed boss fights. (Besides, why use up all the villains now? Just wait for a sequel with new villains) The combat can get pretty easy and even with a map its easy to get lost but these are just nitpicks. All in all this is the Batman game we have been waiting for. It defines genre's. It defines games. Buy this game. Expand
  54. MarkC
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Finally, a Batman game that is worthy of the World's Greatest Detective. From it's opening scenes, which set the tone beautifully, this game promised to be something very special. the voice acting is stellar, with Mark Hamill's Joker the undisputed standout. The environments are as atmospheric and alive as any that I've seen in a game, rich in detail and Dark Knight Finally, a Batman game that is worthy of the World's Greatest Detective. From it's opening scenes, which set the tone beautifully, this game promised to be something very special. the voice acting is stellar, with Mark Hamill's Joker the undisputed standout. The environments are as atmospheric and alive as any that I've seen in a game, rich in detail and Dark Knight lore. The combat, which at first seems deceptively simple, proves to be some of the depest and most engaging fighting on the current console generation. The ability to take down a dozen thugs without being touched truly makes the player feel like the Caped Crusader, and the stealth invisible predator gameplay perfectly captures another facet of Batman's character. Add to that the innovative 'detective mode', and you've got the whole package. But Batman does not have Arkham's spotlight to himself, most of the Rogue's Gallery is accounted for, if not as actual bosses, then through the innovative use of patient interview tapes and other subtle nods to Batman's arch enemies. Of particular note is the Riddler, who, while not physically present, provides a perfect means to turn the often tiresome task of gathering collectibles into a process that not only enriches the overall game, but is quite fun too. Another notable standout is the Scarecrow. Without spoiling anything, I'll just say that Scarecrow's nightmare sequences provide some of the most innovative, and genuinely disturbing, gameplay I've experienced. Overall this is a fantastic superhero game, a must have for fans of Batman...actually, this is a great GAME by any standard, even players who are not fans of this genre can find somthing to enjoy. Highly recommended, definitely my game of the year, so far. Expand
  55. Mobiusm.
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Batman has action, space, music, fights, humour, babes, goons, villians, puzzles, scale, challenges, Nightmares, depth, and above all Gameplay. Batman is a very polished game and there is a OCD just to complete all of riddlers puzzles. This is the first Batman game I have played in the 30 years of gaming that actually lets you belive you are playing a comic book super hero and not some Batman has action, space, music, fights, humour, babes, goons, villians, puzzles, scale, challenges, Nightmares, depth, and above all Gameplay. Batman is a very polished game and there is a OCD just to complete all of riddlers puzzles. This is the first Batman game I have played in the 30 years of gaming that actually lets you belive you are playing a comic book super hero and not some movie licence. there is no reason to slate batman unless your a moody teenager that just wants to be different. Expand
  56. DanielD.
    Sep 1, 2009
    7
    I'm very surprised at how critically acclaimed this game has become. Everything about this new Batman game is good, but could be better. For starters, the fighting is undeniably repetitive, including both the style in which you have to take down goons, and the goons themselves. The graphics are very good, but lacks variety completely. Most of the game takes place in dark, grayish I'm very surprised at how critically acclaimed this game has become. Everything about this new Batman game is good, but could be better. For starters, the fighting is undeniably repetitive, including both the style in which you have to take down goons, and the goons themselves. The graphics are very good, but lacks variety completely. Most of the game takes place in dark, grayish corridors and rooms, with little visual impact once you've grown accustomed to the realism. Gotham City sits in the background ready to be explored, but is left out of the game completely. The game also introduces you to the Batmobile from the very start, but never incorporates it into the game except for videos. There are multiple bosses that you don't even fight; Harley Quinn is a main character throughout much of the game, yet you don't even fight her. You simply kill a bunch of the same goons as always, and a video then catches her and locks her up for you. Overall, I've still enjoyed playing the game, but with a Metacritic score of 92 out of 100, you would expect scenery variety and combat that rivals games like God of War, and the exploration of a game like Tomb Raider. It just doesn't live up to the hype it's generated, although hardcore Batman fans should still make it a must-play. 75 out of 100 for me. Expand
  57. T.J.S.
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    The best game I have played in a long time. If you like stealth, great and easy to learn fighting and insane backstory. This is the game for you. I have not put any other game in my disc drive since buying this game. The depth of gameplay during and after the main story is amazing. I will not stop playing until have solved all of the Riddler challenges. The epic Scarecrow trip-out scenes The best game I have played in a long time. If you like stealth, great and easy to learn fighting and insane backstory. This is the game for you. I have not put any other game in my disc drive since buying this game. The depth of gameplay during and after the main story is amazing. I will not stop playing until have solved all of the Riddler challenges. The epic Scarecrow trip-out scenes are (in my opinion) some of the best scenes in gaming history. Play this game. And by the way, don`t pay attention to the people that have only played the demo or have not even beaten the game. Why they even post reviews, I have no idea. Expand
  58. IvanV.
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This game was awesome, it was better than I imagined. The challenge maps never get boring, the boss fights are great and fun, the gadgets are really nice, the riddles are fun which gets me more addicted to the game, and there is just more stuff I could say about this game but I can't think of it all now because its all blowing my mind.
  59. MarcB.
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Simply awesome. Coming from a game "snob", I have little time to spend on games. So, I need to choose my games carefully. This one stands out as the best super-hero game by an order of magnitude. The only reason it's not getting a 10 is because you need to keep "detective mode" on too much and cannot enjoy the wonderful coloring and graphics of Arkham.
  60. JeffC
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    I Just bought It the day after it came out. It was a fun game with Great graphics and inventive gameplay. The only downside is that it's pretty short. Your probably looking at about ten hours of gameplay, depending on how good you are. Nevertheless you should buy it, especially if you ate a fan of the Dark Knight.
  61. MatthewS.
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Best Comic book game ever only reason i gave it a 9 is i would to play as other players like Robin, Nightwing, or even Batgirl who is Oracle so idk how they would work that out?
  62. JoseV.
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This game is complete rape. The inovation and take down possibilities are endless. The freeflow combat is also very tight and effective in making you feel like the dark knight.
  63. AdR
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Endlessly fun, thrilling and inventive. At last, a game that makes me feel like a superhero when I play it.
  64. MZ
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    In the future, all superhero games will be judged by this one. I don't know what kind of crack the people on here saying it's a 3/10 were smoking. The graphics are beautiful, the acting and writing are superb, and the feel is perfect Batman. I have played plenty of games in the past few years, but I have been missing that "I HAVE to finish this thing" vibe form most of them. I In the future, all superhero games will be judged by this one. I don't know what kind of crack the people on here saying it's a 3/10 were smoking. The graphics are beautiful, the acting and writing are superb, and the feel is perfect Batman. I have played plenty of games in the past few years, but I have been missing that "I HAVE to finish this thing" vibe form most of them. I have not been unable to put down a game like this since God of War 2 came out. I literally could not stop playing Arkham Asylum. Whether you enjoy action games or just love Batman, this is a must have. The only people who won't like this are the juvenile and immature gamers who think a great game has to have buckets of blood and gore, and have no patience for a well crafted story with lots of suspense and interesting gameplay. Expand
  65. CarloT
    Aug 31, 2009
    7
    The game was great, best graphics ever, the plot really really good. But the boss fights? I was extremely disappointed by the fact that we had: The Joker, Harley Quinn, Croc, Bane, Scarecrow, The Riddler and Poison Ivy, and we only get to fight Bane, Poison Ivy, and the joker. The other "boss fights" are just either evading (croc and scarecrow) or looking at them as they shoot you and The game was great, best graphics ever, the plot really really good. But the boss fights? I was extremely disappointed by the fact that we had: The Joker, Harley Quinn, Croc, Bane, Scarecrow, The Riddler and Poison Ivy, and we only get to fight Bane, Poison Ivy, and the joker. The other "boss fights" are just either evading (croc and scarecrow) or looking at them as they shoot you and talk (Harley Quinn). This was a bit frustrating, I went several hours playing, wishing for a boss fight (ever since Bane got pushed to the water), and to my surprise, the next boss fight was 10 minutes before the final boss fight! Also, the first scarecrow scene was great, but they overdid it, I mean, 1 time = good, 2 times = still good, 3 times... errmm ok...? 2 times and 1 fight would've been perfect, but no, croc had to eat him. And croc fight, it's not a fight, you're just running away, avoiding him, and when it seems like you'll fight him, you just press one button to make him fall down in the trap. They could've done so much with the enemies, hope Arkham Asylum 2 improves on this. Expand
  66. JohnnyD
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Exhilarating from start to finish and incredibly addictive engrossing and simple for batman newbies yet enough fan service for the hardcore. You won't want to put it down until you've solved all 240 riddles!
  67. JamesC
    Aug 31, 2009
    8
    Great game although infuriatingly difficult at times. Very well written, brilliant graphics and gameplay. The Scarecrow sections are outstanding. Best licensed game since Chronicles of Riddick.
  68. JoostP
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum has perfect pacing and gameplay. The game really makes you feel like you are Batman and everything is based around that. The Riddler's challenges will keep you busy for a while after you finish the game and then you can also finish all the Challenge maps! Great game with great value!
  69. GargamelDeLaMorte
    Aug 31, 2009
    7
    10? Please. Can you say overhype? I knew you could. Im almost done with it. Its good- definitely the best Batman and best comic book game thus far. Lemme break it down for you. PROS: Great look, very detailed. Expansive. Good play time. Sick gadgets. Slimmed down but great combat. Decent rogues gallery selection. Excellent boss battles. Some good variety in gameplay. CONS: Funky story 10? Please. Can you say overhype? I knew you could. Im almost done with it. Its good- definitely the best Batman and best comic book game thus far. Lemme break it down for you. PROS: Great look, very detailed. Expansive. Good play time. Sick gadgets. Slimmed down but great combat. Decent rogues gallery selection. Excellent boss battles. Some good variety in gameplay. CONS: Funky story line- I think they could have done something different to help tie in the villains. The Titan thing had its moments, but its kinda cheesy and ham-handed...There could have been a better selection of rogues as well- top tier like Mr. Freeze, Two-Face, Mad Hatter...even if not boss battles, it wouldnt have been hard to squeeze in some cameos-biographies and homages just didnt cut the mustard...also lets face it, the Riddlers riddes were corny. Less is more- a few well concieved and memorabe deathtraps/puzzles would have really displayed how badass the Riddler is, with or without an appearance...Finally, the stealth aspect was not very satisfying- AI was decent..but not nearly as challenging as they HYPED it up to be. I was expecting more use of the environment... resourcefulness in taking out henchmen(dropping or throwing cables, boxes on them, knocking guns from their hands****)...when you were surrounded by 7 crooks the only real method of taking them out was to single them out one by one and cape glide- a fully interactive environment would have been much more fun- - also, gargoyles felt like a real cop out, as did detective mode...seeing enemies instantly through cowel vision mode made gameplay less gripping... I definitey think it would have felt more like Batman to do things the old fashioned way- after all, thats what sets Batman apart from other superheroes in the first place! Conclusion: Can't get everything right I guess...Dont get me wrong, theres a lot to like here, but again, ive got some well founded gripes as well. Its frickin good. But not 10 good- BAA is definitely a 7 good. The game is not without some grating flaws-However, I do not regret buying it. Expand
  70. ChrisR
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome. I'm only about 30% through the game, but I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute so far. The graphics are phenomenal, the detective mode is innovative, and all the different things Batman can do make the game so much fun. I think there is a lot of re-play value to this game. In my opinion, it's one of the best games made for the XBOX 360.
  71. JoeC.
    Aug 30, 2009
    6
    This game is way overrated. It doesn't suck, but there's NO WAY it deserves an average Metacritic score comparable to truly great games like Bioshock and Fallout 3. The game environment is beautiful, but disappointingly non-interactive. At least in the demo, Batman can only climb and grapple to a limited set of pre-determined grappling points. I think reviewers are going This game is way overrated. It doesn't suck, but there's NO WAY it deserves an average Metacritic score comparable to truly great games like Bioshock and Fallout 3. The game environment is beautiful, but disappointingly non-interactive. At least in the demo, Batman can only climb and grapple to a limited set of pre-determined grappling points. I think reviewers are going overboard with praise simply because the graphics and sound are so beautiful. However, I think the gameplay (at least in the demo) was pretty dull/average at best. Expand
  72. KeenanS
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Certainly the best game of this year so far. The graphics are AMAZING, a former user reviewer claimed the graphics were "ok" I think this is down to 1. his own xbox or 2. his tv (maybe it isn't HD or HDMI). Certainly the best Super-Hero game to bless the xbox 360. The controls are very well layed out and give you enough time to counter, make stunning combos... many different combos. Certainly the best game of this year so far. The graphics are AMAZING, a former user reviewer claimed the graphics were "ok" I think this is down to 1. his own xbox or 2. his tv (maybe it isn't HD or HDMI). Certainly the best Super-Hero game to bless the xbox 360. The controls are very well layed out and give you enough time to counter, make stunning combos... many different combos. I haven't noticed a glitch yet. There is alot of bonus content to last you a good few hours. The story is very fluent and always keeps you guessing. The baddies are all implemented in different ways. The way the scarecrow was introduced was a matter of genious! This game deserves a 10/10 and it is rightfully given. Expand
  73. JohnS
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Outside of a few little oddities, the game is nearing perfection for defining Batman game, and will be the bar as to which all future superhero games are measured for years to come. Half Batman: The Animated Series, half Batman: The Dark Knight, makes the perfect game for anyone to enjoy.
  74. Chris
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Awesome game. One of the most complete game experiences I have had the pleasure to enjoy. If you are a batman fan, GET THIS GAME! You literally get to do everything you would want to do as batman. Great story, great fun, replayable (if you want to solve all the riddles, or just if you like to have fun). 9 /10
  75. MarkA
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Not only the best Batman/superhero game ever (a farily low bar), but one of the best games of the year period. Takes all the best elements from games such as Metal Gear Solid, Tomb Raider, Splinter Cell, inFAMOUS, James Bond, etc. without any of the bad stuff (poor camera, bad voice acting, boring plot). An amazing game!
  76. DanteO
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This game has very few flaws, and none of them are gamebreaking or even large issues. Everything just has a ton of polish on it, and the various concepts in the game are just fantastic. Scarecrow's nightmares are incredibly surreal, Killer Croc's area has amazing tension during the whole sequence, and every area just has a life of its own. Throw in a challenge mode that actually This game has very few flaws, and none of them are gamebreaking or even large issues. Everything just has a ton of polish on it, and the various concepts in the game are just fantastic. Scarecrow's nightmares are incredibly surreal, Killer Croc's area has amazing tension during the whole sequence, and every area just has a life of its own. Throw in a challenge mode that actually adds to the game (improving your Freeflow skills, or making you a better invisible predator) and you've got 2009's GOTY, no contest. Expand
  77. ConradW
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    There is absolutely nothing about this game that doesn't shine through with polish from the developers. Its perfect in every way. If you are getting one game this summer, THIS GAME IS IT! Thank you Eidos and Warner Bros for this masterpiece!
  78. StevenC
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Great game, best superhero game ever. I don't hand out many 10's, and as this game isn't perfect, it doesn't deserve a 10. I've already beaten it... and for me, that means it is a good game since I rarely beat games. It could be a testament to the simplicity of the controls (as the last game I beat was Prince of Persia). So i guess I should be docking it down a Great game, best superhero game ever. I don't hand out many 10's, and as this game isn't perfect, it doesn't deserve a 10. I've already beaten it... and for me, that means it is a good game since I rarely beat games. It could be a testament to the simplicity of the controls (as the last game I beat was Prince of Persia). So i guess I should be docking it down a couple of points? Either way, I love the game, and will continue to try and solve the riddler's clues and play the challenge maps. Expand
  79. KumasiL
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    When i first heard about arkham asylum. I thought OMG please dont disapoint me. I love batman to death please do let this be some chessey batman game trying to be a bioshock or halo, but I was so wrong and happy from the time I played the demo until its midnight reless. I love this game and im playing it kind of slow because I don't want it to just be over and im in need of a part 2 When i first heard about arkham asylum. I thought OMG please dont disapoint me. I love batman to death please do let this be some chessey batman game trying to be a bioshock or halo, but I was so wrong and happy from the time I played the demo until its midnight reless. I love this game and im playing it kind of slow because I don't want it to just be over and im in need of a part 2 or the next big game. Thanks again Love the game. Please make a part 2 . If you love batman this is a must and i mean a must pick up. if you love action and adventure. this is a must. Just don't let batman be your sleeper hit like fallout 3 was for me. Expand
  80. GioxL
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    Arkham Asylum is undoubtedly the best Batman game to date. If the studio can realize the game's setting in this form, I can only imagine what lengths they can go for a fully realized sandbox-style Gotham City. The look is appropriately eerie, its ambiance cold and terrifying, and its score is nearly as epic as that of The Dark Knight. The combat proves you can still do the popular Arkham Asylum is undoubtedly the best Batman game to date. If the studio can realize the game's setting in this form, I can only imagine what lengths they can go for a fully realized sandbox-style Gotham City. The look is appropriately eerie, its ambiance cold and terrifying, and its score is nearly as epic as that of The Dark Knight. The combat proves you can still do the popular 16-bit era "beat 'em up" and do it well. The only drawback for me is how unfitting Kevin Conroy's voice is for this particular Batman design. Besides that, it's fantastic. Expand
  81. PaulP
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Presents an engrossing environment experience that can only be compared to Bioshock. Paul Dini and his team from the animated series send this game over the top. Story is solid, combat rhythm and flow are beautiful, more than enough to do to keep you busy well after the campaign is beat and they even throw a couple spooks in their courtesy of scarecrow and croc. Overall fun game.
  82. LikC.
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    BEST Batman game ever. Excellent voice cast, gorgeous graphics, fun gameplay and lots of easter eggs and extras to keep you coming back. Super polished and made with a lot of care. One of the best games to come out this generation, 'nuff said.
  83. FernandoF.
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    A fantastic game from a comic book property. The only best one out and to tell you the truth it's about damn time that they did come out with one.
  84. BrentY.
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    ive noticed a few glitches here and there, however the overall game make you feel like batman, and thats enough. The roster is better then what i expected, but another a list villain wouldve been nice. the in game cutscenes sound great, but look terrible and thats the only true negative ive got about this game, however all the other cutscenes are wonderfully done, both audio and visual. ive noticed a few glitches here and there, however the overall game make you feel like batman, and thats enough. The roster is better then what i expected, but another a list villain wouldve been nice. the in game cutscenes sound great, but look terrible and thats the only true negative ive got about this game, however all the other cutscenes are wonderfully done, both audio and visual. the extra battles get boring, but the preditor ones are fun. also, as a little tip, play the game in hard, itll make you do a couple of retries, but normal with the caution prior to their attack is just too easy. Expand
  85. JamesT.
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    Without a doubt the best Batman game ever created and probably one of the best video games in the superhero genre. Finally, Batman has been done justice in video game form.
  86. MattS
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    Been looking forward to this for ages and enjoyed the demo a lot. Am very happy with final product, though special edition not as good at it at first appeared. Main part is game though which is very good.
  87. NelsonZ.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Best Batman Game ever made. Love the cast that is in this game. Makes other past Batman games look like they were made for preschoolers. Will not get tired of this game.
  88. JacobA.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    This game is this years game of the year hands down, if you like batman, whether it be the comics, the cartoons, or the movies, you will fall in love with this game. Beautifully executed cut scenes and life like graphics, the joker will actually give you the chills when your walking him down to Arkham in the beginning of the game. Edios and Warner Bros. have done it this time.
  89. AnonymousMC
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    No, the other reviews are not embellishing. Yes, the game is that good. No, I have not been drinking the kool aid. All the gameplay, graphic, and audio elements come together to truly make you feel like you are Bats (as the Joker now has me calling him), and it's a blast to experience. Best game I've played all year, and a serious contender for GOTY come Jan 2010.
  90. Jacob
    Aug 27, 2009
    3
    The entire world looks incredibly fake, the fighting is very robotic and annoying, and the objectives are not interesting in the slightest. On top of that, they changed Harley Quinn's costume for the worst. From a technical perspective, the lip syncing and facial expressions look like something from the 90s, which really makes the game hard to enjoy. The game didn't entertain The entire world looks incredibly fake, the fighting is very robotic and annoying, and the objectives are not interesting in the slightest. On top of that, they changed Harley Quinn's costume for the worst. From a technical perspective, the lip syncing and facial expressions look like something from the 90s, which really makes the game hard to enjoy. The game didn't entertain me, so i'm giving it a low score. Expand
  91. JoeCatman
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I am about 3/4 of the way through it, and I am obsessed with this game. It lives up to the hype. Make a sequel, please, though I have no idea how you could do it. This is the first Eidos game I've cared about in years. Before the demo I was derisive, but the demo made me a goddamn believer. So much is charming. Also, thank you for making easy mode easy. I have MS and sometimes I am about 3/4 of the way through it, and I am obsessed with this game. It lives up to the hype. Make a sequel, please, though I have no idea how you could do it. This is the first Eidos game I've cared about in years. Before the demo I was derisive, but the demo made me a goddamn believer. So much is charming. Also, thank you for making easy mode easy. I have MS and sometimes it's hard to be really good at games. Rocksteady has made a challenging game accessible to newbies, and compelling to the hardcore. More, please. Expand
  92. Luke
    Aug 26, 2009
    3
    Maybe I'm playing a different game. But the Batman AA game i'm playing suffers from clunky controls, and ok graphics. the gameplay is only so so. I've only played the game for an hour and a half but so far I'm not enjoying it. But the critics love it, so what do I know
  93. KrisA
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    The definitive Batman game. The game screams polish in nearly every facet, from the art design and voice acting to the intuitive control scheme that lets you do almost anything Batman could in the comics or movies. Add to the main game the challenge modes and numerous riddles spread all over Arkham, and here's something you'll be playing for a while.
  94. Karl
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Not perfect but pretty damn close. Definitely a candidate for GOTY. Well balanced with an engrossing atmosphere. The story and telling is interesting. Gameplay and combat is fluid. The riddles are nice addition to make your brain think a little. This is a comic book game done right.
  95. MarkG
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    If you got both a PS3 and a 360, get the PS3 version, the graphics are better, gameplay is even smoother (no tearing in the PS3 version), you can play as The Joker, and you get a Batcave for Playstation Home.
  96. LUcaT
    Aug 26, 2009
    8
    Great Batman game, only good by any other standard. Combat is fun at first but becomes more of a chore by the end of the game. No truly difficult puzzles. The stealth bits are great but few and far between. Few bosses. Beat normal difficulty in just over 6 hours. Was hoping for more.
  97. AkashK.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. Playing as Batman is an exhilarating experience. The story is sorta simple, it could've been a but more complicated. But I have to say that this is probably one of the best superhero games yet (top 5- this would be 2, next to Ultimate Alliance)!!!
  98. BrianM.
    Aug 26, 2009
    7
    The review are right in saying that it's this years "Bioshock." It's an average at best game released during the summer's long drought of game releases, so the reviewers go nuts over it. If it were released 3 months from now, it would not have scored this high. Same with Bioshock. Lots of style but repetitive and boring gameplay.
  99. GlennD
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I was only expecting this to be as good as the demo, and I really enjoyed the demo but after I started playing it simply blew me away I havent even played DEM BONES or as the Joker in the challenge maps because the story is soo good I cant quit playing.Easy one of the very best this year.GREAT JOB ROCKSTEADY!!!!
  100. AndrewC.
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I wish I could give this a 9.5 but a 10 will do because it surely is not just a 9 - I never thought I would give something a near perfect score. The game plys VERY well. I played it for the first time and the only reason I stopped was to sleep. It starts and never lets up. Very involving. When I saw all of the previews I thought well it will be good for what it is. It seemed high quality I wish I could give this a 9.5 but a 10 will do because it surely is not just a 9 - I never thought I would give something a near perfect score. The game plys VERY well. I played it for the first time and the only reason I stopped was to sleep. It starts and never lets up. Very involving. When I saw all of the previews I thought well it will be good for what it is. It seemed high quality but not my type of game. I was VERY wrong. Buy into the hype on this one! it is a really great game from graphics and storyline to gameplay mechanics and combat. I look forward to see more batman games from Rocksteady! Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. What may be one of Batman’s worst nights of his life may end up being one of many players’ best experiences of the year.
  2. This is certainly not a game for just Batman fans, comic fans or action fans; this is a game that everyone should play and thoroughly enjoy. It looks beautiful, plays like a dream and has a superb mix of action, stealth and detective elements. The combat is intuitive, flexible and surprisingly deep too. Give this game a go and you will not be pleasantly surprise, you will be blown away.
  3. Batman Arkham Asylum is a product of absolute value that can count on a cast of colorful characters to build a great game, really fun. The greatest strengths of the production lie in the gameplay built around what are the real capabilities of Batman, mixing action and stealth section, but always related with the universe from which have been extrapolated. Rocksteady's game is certainly the new standard for understanding how produce games under license, adapting for videogaming the very spirit of this historic character.