Batman: Arkham Asylum Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1093 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2017
    10
    Everything is great the story the game play the graphics the characters the music everything the only problem is you can't play as The Joker in this version but it doesn't away too much and yes the final boss was boring and too easy but it is fine because every other boss fight like the Bane and Poison Ivy boss fight to name a few and the upgrade system works so well and getting newEverything is great the story the game play the graphics the characters the music everything the only problem is you can't play as The Joker in this version but it doesn't away too much and yes the final boss was boring and too easy but it is fine because every other boss fight like the Bane and Poison Ivy boss fight to name a few and the upgrade system works so well and getting new gadgets is always exciting the fighting is great and fun the story is wonderful and its great solving riddles that are like little Easter eggs to the villains who weren't in the game like Mr. Freeze and The Penguin but that leads me to my next problem my favorite Batman villain Two-Face is not in the game and it may sound whiny but they mentioned him literally three times once at the end once early in the game by The Joker which made me think he was gonna show up later but at last no and they made two riddles for him that's just a missed opportunity I would have like to see him loads more than Poison Ivy but enough of me being a pissed fan boy this is such a good game that the cons i mentioned don't effect me that much and they were hard to come up with really the only cons that bugged me is they didn't make Joker playable in this version and the ending boss fight but i'm gonna keep this spoiler free and overall this game is still a 10/10 buy it! especially if your a comic fan! Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2017
    4
    On sent bien que ce jeu a fait l'objet d'un soin très attentif, surtout techniquement : Rocksteady maîtrise parfaitement l'Unreal Engine, toujours beau et fluide sans compter les temps de chargement quasi-inexistants ; ensuite le système de combat au corps-à-corps bien que basé sur une mécanique de mini-QTE est distrayant mais répétitif à la longue. Une mention spéciale (tout de même !)On sent bien que ce jeu a fait l'objet d'un soin très attentif, surtout techniquement : Rocksteady maîtrise parfaitement l'Unreal Engine, toujours beau et fluide sans compter les temps de chargement quasi-inexistants ; ensuite le système de combat au corps-à-corps bien que basé sur une mécanique de mini-QTE est distrayant mais répétitif à la longue. Une mention spéciale (tout de même !) pour la VF, parfaite.

    Sorti de là, il reste que la musique est passe-partout et n'a jamais le caractère épique des 2 premiers films de Tim Burton. Le jeu est très (trop) dirigiste : quand on a contourné un groupe et qu'on lit à la porte suivante "vous devez tout nettoyer avant de continuer", c'est un peu dur à avaler ! les passages "action" ou "furtif" sont de toute façon imposés, pas d'alternative, alors que la disposition de l'île laissait présager une certaine liberté. Les énigmes sont pour leur part assez ridicules et simplistes.

    Destinées à varier le gameplay, les phases "plate-forme" en vue de profil nous ramènent 25 ans en arrière et ne sont pas du meilleur goût. Quant à l'interface, elle est souvent inutilement compliquée comme le nombre d'étapes pour faire exploser un mur par exemple ; manque de suite dans les idées également (pourquoi devoir maintenir la gâchette quand on passe en "furtif" ?...).

    Bref, fidèle adaptation sur le papier d'une licence basse de plafond mais qui ne m'a pas impressionné plus que ça : je ne me suis pas emmerdé mais je ne me suis pas vraiment amusé non plus ! ça manque de passion et on n'a d'ailleurs aucune sympathie particulière pour ce héros bodybuildé qui se prend très au sérieux (contrairement aux films de Tim Burton qui a su voir plus loin).
    Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2016
    9
    é dificil ver bons jogos de super-herois, mais dificil ainda é ver um jogo excelente de super-heroi, e Batman Arkham Asylum é excelente, começou muito bem a saga dos jogos do Batman pela Rocksteady, a dublagem é excelente, tem ótimos momentos, Coringa é um vilao excelente no game, é muito bem representado, o grafico é muito bom, tem cenas marcantes, como por exemplo no começo que aparece oé dificil ver bons jogos de super-herois, mais dificil ainda é ver um jogo excelente de super-heroi, e Batman Arkham Asylum é excelente, começou muito bem a saga dos jogos do Batman pela Rocksteady, a dublagem é excelente, tem ótimos momentos, Coringa é um vilao excelente no game, é muito bem representado, o grafico é muito bom, tem cenas marcantes, como por exemplo no começo que aparece o Crocodillo no corredor, Batman Arkham Asylum começa a melhor saga de games de um super-heroi. Nota 9.3 Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2016
    9
    (Before I review, I love this game. I just think it gets too much credit). This game blew people away... at the time. Yes this game is responsible for making Batman games some the best games ever, the game play was incredible, impressive graphics and some great boss battles. But the game lacked so much story, Batman is known for creating some of the best stories ever, in comic books, TV(Before I review, I love this game. I just think it gets too much credit). This game blew people away... at the time. Yes this game is responsible for making Batman games some the best games ever, the game play was incredible, impressive graphics and some great boss battles. But the game lacked so much story, Batman is known for creating some of the best stories ever, in comic books, TV shows, and movies. The level design can be very dull, the game play is what did it, but the levels felt too simple.

    I'm giving this game a solid 9/10. The only reason I'm dissing it is because it gets way too much praise, but that doesn't mean it's not a greatt game
    Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    Juegazo como la copa de una catedral. Lo compré de segunda mano a mi hermano pequeño que le gustaban mucho los cómics y al final acabé jugándolo yo, el pobre como me miraba jaja.
    La jugabilidad es increible, como manejas a batman, no recuerdo ningun otro videojuego que mueva tambien en el combate al personaje. Los gráficos y ese lugar, Arkham, me encantó esa localización donde transcurre
    Juegazo como la copa de una catedral. Lo compré de segunda mano a mi hermano pequeño que le gustaban mucho los cómics y al final acabé jugándolo yo, el pobre como me miraba jaja.
    La jugabilidad es increible, como manejas a batman, no recuerdo ningun otro videojuego que mueva tambien en el combate al personaje. Los gráficos y ese lugar, Arkham, me encantó esa localización donde transcurre la historia, 10/10.
    Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2016
    9
    Esta genial,pero tienen que controlar los sonidos de pelea.
    Los graficos perfectos.
    Solo nesesitaba un poco de duracion y mejores efecto de sonido.
    Calificacion:94
  7. May 5, 2016
    9
    Have you ever wondered what it is like to be The Batman? Well I have an answer for you, it's called Batman: Arkham Asylum. This game puts you in the role of the Caped Crusader and thanks to great gameplay, a good range of gadgets, a fantastically well structured story and a bunch of great secrets and easter eggs - you will end the game saying to yourself "I'M BATMAN".
  8. Mar 25, 2016
    8
    A game that truly defied any expectation that it may have had on it, Arkham Asylum is a genre-defining game that will set the standard for any superhero game to come.

    A flawless combat system is one of the main talking points from this game, the ability to be the Batman by taking on huge gangs of thugs with relative ease when using different combos and counter-attacks to make you feel
    A game that truly defied any expectation that it may have had on it, Arkham Asylum is a genre-defining game that will set the standard for any superhero game to come.

    A flawless combat system is one of the main talking points from this game, the ability to be the Batman by taking on huge gangs of thugs with relative ease when using different combos and counter-attacks to make you feel very good about yourself when you look around after the battle to see bodies laying everywhere. As well as this, being able to switch to detective mode, and clear a whole room without anyone realising you're there is also hugely rewarding. The scarecrow nightmare missions are exceptional, and even includes a very clever fourth-wall break. Though the voice acting is solid on all parts, the real star of the show is Mark Hamill as the Joker. Hilariously vicious, Hamill does everything in his power to make the Joker both true to the character and memorable within the game, and he excels at both.

    The only real issue within the game is how compact the Asylum actually is. I often got myself lost when trying to find the correct place to go, wandering around the Asylum in all kinds of rooms and areas apart from the correct ones. This is something the sequel addresses in spectacular fashion.

    Batman: Arkham Asylum makes sure that the superhero game is now not an afterthought or a addition to a superhero movie, but hopefully the defining chapter in what could be an exciting time for superhero games. Thank you, Rocksteady, thank you.
    Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2016
    10
    Just plain fantastic and very much enjoyable . I had so much fun with this game . The narration and plot are brilliantly done . What I enjoy most here is the stealth parts of the game where you are predator praying on armed cowards
  10. Feb 21, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A damn near masterpiece of a game with amazing graphics,superb game play and brilliant voice acting but what keeps this from being a 10/10 is when you beat the main story and collect all the Riddler trophies that's it and thankfully future Arkham games added a lot more things to do and some of the boss battles *cough* titan joker *cough* are very bland and uninspired but the way the asylum looks and fells just makes this game a blast to play through. Plus this introduced the best combat in action adventure game history and is now trying to be emulated by other developers. This game was the start to a perfect trilogy and my personal favorite trilogy of games and I highly recommend it to anyone. Expand
  11. Feb 8, 2016
    9
    Rocksteady has done an excellent job with Arkham Asylum, the combat is fast, fun and responsive. The story is interesting, and does justice to fan-favourite Batman villains. And Batman's gadgets are fun to mess around with too. This game would be a 10/10, If it weren't for the massively big letdown of a final boss fight. Apart from that, you should buy Arkham Asylum immediately.
  12. Dec 26, 2015
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum was one of the things that got me into Batman at a young age. This is an incredible game that is still replayable, but hard to get back into after playing the newer titles like Arkham Knight. This game deserves all the praise it gets. The combat and predator gameplay mechanics are revolutionary, the story was great, the collectibles can be challenging to find, butBatman: Arkham Asylum was one of the things that got me into Batman at a young age. This is an incredible game that is still replayable, but hard to get back into after playing the newer titles like Arkham Knight. This game deserves all the praise it gets. The combat and predator gameplay mechanics are revolutionary, the story was great, the collectibles can be challenging to find, but they're worth it. The open world isn't really that open, but is still fun to explore and is littered with collectibles. This game was revolutionary and showed that comic book characters can actually have great video games, even if Batman is the only comic book character to get his own games now, excluding LEGO games. It was an incredible start to an incredible franchise. Expand
  13. Oct 31, 2015
    9
    Bought it on sale on xbox live and It was totally worth the money, Amazing game , I bought the same day arkham city which I enojoyed even more. When I buy an xboxone I'm definatly buying arkham knight... To be honest I expected a bad game , usually overhyped games are not that good. But this one delivered
  14. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. awesomeness in a X360 box. great that they used the voices from the cartoon show and the joker being mark hamill. the game was awesome. enjoyed tha combat and it is not hard to execute combos. i like the upgrades to the equipment over time allowing new take downs and areas to be unlocked etc. Expand
  15. Jun 2, 2015
    9
    I hate to admit that up to now i have never played a Batman game, so with the Arkham Knight coming out very soon i decided to get my old 360 back up and running and get through Asylum, City & Origins.

    THIS GAME IS EPIC!!!! Im not even that big of a super hero fan but this is a truly fantastic game and has got me very exicted for Arkham Knight!!!
  16. Jan 21, 2015
    6
    This game is fun, but needs a lot of work.

    PROS
    -Nice combat
    -good graphics

    CONS
    -boring
    -poor story
    -long and confusing gameplay
    -bad controls
  17. Nov 7, 2014
    10
    I never considered myself a comic book fan. I used to think that Batman was dumb and pointless. Then I played this game. The graphics are amazing, the story is well done and the gameplay is solid. The game is lengthy, taking from 12 hours to 20 hours based on how much extra things you complete. Overall, Batman: Arkham Asylum is amazing and one of the best games I've ever played. It alsoI never considered myself a comic book fan. I used to think that Batman was dumb and pointless. Then I played this game. The graphics are amazing, the story is well done and the gameplay is solid. The game is lengthy, taking from 12 hours to 20 hours based on how much extra things you complete. Overall, Batman: Arkham Asylum is amazing and one of the best games I've ever played. It also changed my perspective on Batman the character as a whole. 10 Expand
  18. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    I think it's the best game of batman ever.

    Why ? Cause actually I like close world games and small location ,but of course that doesn't include gta
  19. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    I don't really have much to say about this game apart from up un till Arkham City came out this was the best superhero game you could buy. Great story, voice acting and gadgets
    9/10
  20. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    Games don't get much better than this. It's 2014 and the graphics are still awesome compared to today's standard. This is a story driven game. If you like a good story then you will like this game. It can be really hard at parts, but I didn't think it was too challenging.
  21. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    Uma grande franquia da sua geração. Elevou a um novo patamar os jogos baseados em personagens dos quadrinhos. Simplesmente um classico pela excelente mecanica,a essencia do homem morcego é incrivelmente demonstrada aqui.
  22. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    To be brutally honest here, having played this game on other systems, I was very disappointed with the Xbox 360 version. In all fairness this game without knowledge of how much better it was on another system really deserved at best a 4, maybe less. The problems that where rampant achievements would not be acknowledged making you go back and repeat something over and over if you wantedTo be brutally honest here, having played this game on other systems, I was very disappointed with the Xbox 360 version. In all fairness this game without knowledge of how much better it was on another system really deserved at best a 4, maybe less. The problems that where rampant achievements would not be acknowledged making you go back and repeat something over and over if you wanted credit, just sad all day long on Xbox. Expand
  23. Jul 18, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Arkham series really hit the nail on it's head with Asylum. This game is a complete package, one that you won't easily forget. That doesn't mean that the game is perfect. It does have a few flaws that hold the experience back a little.
    Let's kick off with the good: the story for example. While the beginning was a little predictable after just a few minutes in, that (thankfully) doesn't hold it back. The gameplay? Amazing. Batman controls really well and it's satisfying to beat up some baddies. The fighting sections are an absolute joy, even though they take some getting used to. While the controls are tight, they do have to grow on you. I noticed that early on. You will take some unnecessary hits because the control scheme is kind of strange. Later though you will have no problem, as you only have to get used to it.
    Now, one of my favorite things in the game: the stealth sections. They pretty much outshine everything else. You can plan out so many strategies before even moving an inch. Also, the reactions from some of the guards are hilarious. Driving them crazy was one of my favorite things to do in the game. And why you ask? Because it's easy to manage and it's extremely satisfying. Especially after gaining a few upgrades (which are implemented beautifully) it's even easier and even more satisfying.
    That's it for the good stuff, let's move on to what was not executed so well. First, the island itself. Arkham Island is nice place to discover with tons of secrets to find, but the island itself has no purpose. It's there to get you from point A to point B. And is there something wrong with that? Well, yeah, sort of. If you are creating this semi-large world for me to be in, there has to be some incentive to do some exploring right? Sadly, there is none. Well, if you like collecting all the trophies and finding all the secrets then yeah, you can do that. But we are playing a Batman game, one that has a story that you want to play through. You are not playing this game to discover a world. Should they have used long hallways and non-branching pathways? No, absolutely not, but there is hardly any reason to be out there in the field. Beating up bad guys and finding these trophies being the only thing you can, why would I spend time mindlessly running around when I can advance in this awesome story?

    That was only a minor complaint on an otherwise amazing and engrossing experience. Definitely worth your time and money.
    Expand
  24. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    Now as the most geeky person around my corner, i know a lot about comic books and how they usually transport into video games, so when this game was announced i was like "Man really another superhero game :( First x-men then spider man and now batman. I wonder how they will **** this up" Oh oh oh man how wrong was i. There is not much to say about this game, it is just nigh perfect,Now as the most geeky person around my corner, i know a lot about comic books and how they usually transport into video games, so when this game was announced i was like "Man really another superhero game :( First x-men then spider man and now batman. I wonder how they will **** this up" Oh oh oh man how wrong was i. There is not much to say about this game, it is just nigh perfect, almost "The super hero gamus supremos" because that title is deserved by this game's even better sequel. Expand
  25. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    Incredible incredible game.... I got this a couple of years after it came out and maybe after all the hype had dies down at dirt cheap prices, so I am even more happy with the game. Incredibly graphics, great gameplay and a good story makes this a must have in any game collection.
  26. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    Great game with a good mix of stealth and beat-em-up. The series of collectables made me want to revisit places I have been and start anew with new gadgets.
  27. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    A game that truly makes you feel like Batman. You have access to Batman's cool gadgets and combat skills in a game that features one of the best Batman stories of all time. With a lengthy campaign and plenty of bonus content to keep you coming back, this is enough to satisfy even the most demanding of Dark Knight fans. I'm just going to come out and say it, if you are a Batman fan and haveA game that truly makes you feel like Batman. You have access to Batman's cool gadgets and combat skills in a game that features one of the best Batman stories of all time. With a lengthy campaign and plenty of bonus content to keep you coming back, this is enough to satisfy even the most demanding of Dark Knight fans. I'm just going to come out and say it, if you are a Batman fan and have not yet played this game then you need to asap.

    The game's story is amazing and filled to the brim with references to the Dark Knight's length history. Casual Batman fans will find plenty of recognizable faces, but the hardcore fans will be in for a real treat thanks to the constant references to obscure villains and other characters from the comics. My only complaint with the story is that some of the characters voice acting can come across as way too cheesy. You have several fantastic voice actors from the animated series reprising their roles who do a fantastic job, but then you have the occasional goofy voice actor who seems like a weird choice for the character and is at odds with the more mature story being told here. The voice actors of Killer Croc and Warden Sharp are the worst offenders. Still this is a minor issue and doesn't really detract from the excellent story.

    Gameplay is finely tuned. The combat system here is excellent and truly makes you feel like the awesome combatant that Batman is. Excellent puzzles, boss battles, and exploration make this game an absolute blast. I love how new areas of the game open up as you gain new gadgets. The game also features surprisingly fun challenge modes and is one of the few games I've actually felt the need to find every collectible there is. Some minor camera and control responsiveness issues can show up from time to time, but for the most part everything is top-notch and shows an extremely high level of quality.

    Like I said before if you have ever considered yourself a Batman fan then this is a must play. Batman hasn't been known for starring in good video games, but this is one of those titles that changes that rep. It provides hours of high-quality content that will make it hard to put down your controller. Heck, even if you aren't a Batman fan you should give this game a try.
    Expand
  28. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Finally a videogame where we get to really feel what it's like to be Batman and it really has a depth that can be enjoyed by anyone but for Bat fans this game is heaven. The combat and stealth mechanics are balanced perfectly in a beautifully built world that gives insights into the world of the dark knight through its story and collectibles. The voice acting is of the high standard ofFinally a videogame where we get to really feel what it's like to be Batman and it really has a depth that can be enjoyed by anyone but for Bat fans this game is heaven. The combat and stealth mechanics are balanced perfectly in a beautifully built world that gives insights into the world of the dark knight through its story and collectibles. The voice acting is of the high standard of the 90s animated TV show and stars most of the cast who do a great job. This is a perfectly designed 3rd person action/adventure game with one of the most lovable characters (who's success in videogames should have come sooner as they are well matched) in modern pop culture and because of this Arkham Asylum earns my 2009 game of the year. Expand
  29. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played. Great stealth, Great Story, and Great Combat. The story has Batman bringing Joker back to Arkham. And after he escapes (Not a spoiler we all knew that was going to happen) Batman has to bring order back to Arkham. But before he meets some of his most popular villains. The stealth feels great in this game, you feel likeBatman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played. Great stealth, Great Story, and Great Combat. The story has Batman bringing Joker back to Arkham. And after he escapes (Not a spoiler we all knew that was going to happen) Batman has to bring order back to Arkham. But before he meets some of his most popular villains. The stealth feels great in this game, you feel like batman. You can grapple to gargoyles to find your enemies and take 'em out one by one. The combat feels great, too. You can string combos and counters and special moves together so seamlessly it is awesome. You hug your control in this game, making full use. You can do Riddler challenges throughout the Asylum, it could be Riddler trophies or challenges you have to find and scan, or chronicles of Arkham, and joker teeth you can destroy.

    Great game, must buy!
    Expand
  30. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    This game was frustrating to play. I say "was" because I didn't bother to finish it and turned it in for credit for another, different game. During the fighting (Poison Ive and the Party at the Penitentiary fighting) the control input vs. Batman's reaction was so frustrating that I gave up playing.
    If you want to play a Batman game I would recommend skipping over this game and get
    This game was frustrating to play. I say "was" because I didn't bother to finish it and turned it in for credit for another, different game. During the fighting (Poison Ive and the Party at the Penitentiary fighting) the control input vs. Batman's reaction was so frustrating that I gave up playing.
    If you want to play a Batman game I would recommend skipping over this game and get Arkham City instead.
    Arkham City is sooo much better!
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. What may be one of Batman’s worst nights of his life may end up being one of many players’ best experiences of the year.
  2. This is certainly not a game for just Batman fans, comic fans or action fans; this is a game that everyone should play and thoroughly enjoy. It looks beautiful, plays like a dream and has a superb mix of action, stealth and detective elements. The combat is intuitive, flexible and surprisingly deep too. Give this game a go and you will not be pleasantly surprise, you will be blown away.
  3. Batman Arkham Asylum is a product of absolute value that can count on a cast of colorful characters to build a great game, really fun. The greatest strengths of the production lie in the gameplay built around what are the real capabilities of Batman, mixing action and stealth section, but always related with the universe from which have been extrapolated. Rocksteady's game is certainly the new standard for understanding how produce games under license, adapting for videogaming the very spirit of this historic character.