User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 971 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 971

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnnyT.
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I played in years! It's like the best elements of the original Metal Gear Solid combined with a fun fighting mechanic, awesome graphics and, well, Batman. I guess if you hate comic books and/or Batman this isn't for you but if you like the idea of a dark stealth action game that is very streamlined and fun to play and doesn't require too much trial and One of the best games I played in years! It's like the best elements of the original Metal Gear Solid combined with a fun fighting mechanic, awesome graphics and, well, Batman. I guess if you hate comic books and/or Batman this isn't for you but if you like the idea of a dark stealth action game that is very streamlined and fun to play and doesn't require too much trial and error check it out! Expand
  2. KumasiL
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    When i first heard about arkham asylum. I thought OMG please dont disapoint me. I love batman to death please do let this be some chessey batman game trying to be a bioshock or halo, but I was so wrong and happy from the time I played the demo until its midnight reless. I love this game and im playing it kind of slow because I don't want it to just be over and im in need of a part 2 When i first heard about arkham asylum. I thought OMG please dont disapoint me. I love batman to death please do let this be some chessey batman game trying to be a bioshock or halo, but I was so wrong and happy from the time I played the demo until its midnight reless. I love this game and im playing it kind of slow because I don't want it to just be over and im in need of a part 2 or the next big game. Thanks again Love the game. Please make a part 2 . If you love batman this is a must and i mean a must pick up. if you love action and adventure. this is a must. Just don't let batman be your sleeper hit like fallout 3 was for me. Expand
  3. Mobiusm.
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Batman has action, space, music, fights, humour, babes, goons, villians, puzzles, scale, challenges, Nightmares, depth, and above all Gameplay. Batman is a very polished game and there is a OCD just to complete all of riddlers puzzles. This is the first Batman game I have played in the 30 years of gaming that actually lets you belive you are playing a comic book super hero and not some Batman has action, space, music, fights, humour, babes, goons, villians, puzzles, scale, challenges, Nightmares, depth, and above all Gameplay. Batman is a very polished game and there is a OCD just to complete all of riddlers puzzles. This is the first Batman game I have played in the 30 years of gaming that actually lets you belive you are playing a comic book super hero and not some movie licence. there is no reason to slate batman unless your a moody teenager that just wants to be different. Expand
  4. JelomeE.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I've played. Gameplay is fun and addictive, boss fights are great, and the Challenge Modes require each and every skill the player got.
  5. michaelm
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    The minute I got the game and started playing, I felt like I was batman. The free flowing combat system is excllent. You can take down ten of jokers men in 5 seconds. The villans are classic and badder than ever, For example, Riddler, Ivy, Bane, and my favorite Killer Croc. The gadgets in the game are helpful in puzzle solving, stealth, and combats. I feel you should go buy this game and The minute I got the game and started playing, I felt like I was batman. The free flowing combat system is excllent. You can take down ten of jokers men in 5 seconds. The villans are classic and badder than ever, For example, Riddler, Ivy, Bane, and my favorite Killer Croc. The gadgets in the game are helpful in puzzle solving, stealth, and combats. I feel you should go buy this game and see if you have what it takes to spend the night at Arkham Aslyum. Expand
  6. RickB
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Batman Simulator. Best superhero game ever made. Combine Metal Gear Solid with Zelda and then wrap it in DC comics lore around Batman. You end up with the core mechanics and themes in the game. The execution in this one is non pereil.
  7. BobT.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This game kicks ass. F... Gamepros score of 80......what the f... do they know about video games? F... gamepro. Game informer kicks their ass and has always been 100x better.
  8. FernandoL
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Arkham Asylum is easily the best Batman game so far, and maybe the best super hero game ever made. You really feel like Batman, using all of his famous gadgets and facing some of his old enemies. The Free Flow combat is interesting and it works perfectly. Rocksteady should work on a sequel. This is the GOTY.
  9. AndrewC.
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I wish I could give this a 9.5 but a 10 will do because it surely is not just a 9 - I never thought I would give something a near perfect score. The game plys VERY well. I played it for the first time and the only reason I stopped was to sleep. It starts and never lets up. Very involving. When I saw all of the previews I thought well it will be good for what it is. It seemed high quality I wish I could give this a 9.5 but a 10 will do because it surely is not just a 9 - I never thought I would give something a near perfect score. The game plys VERY well. I played it for the first time and the only reason I stopped was to sleep. It starts and never lets up. Very involving. When I saw all of the previews I thought well it will be good for what it is. It seemed high quality but not my type of game. I was VERY wrong. Buy into the hype on this one! it is a really great game from graphics and storyline to gameplay mechanics and combat. I look forward to see more batman games from Rocksteady! Expand
  10. MattS
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    Been looking forward to this for ages and enjoyed the demo a lot. Am very happy with final product, though special edition not as good at it at first appeared. Main part is game though which is very good.
  11. MZ
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    In the future, all superhero games will be judged by this one. I don't know what kind of crack the people on here saying it's a 3/10 were smoking. The graphics are beautiful, the acting and writing are superb, and the feel is perfect Batman. I have played plenty of games in the past few years, but I have been missing that "I HAVE to finish this thing" vibe form most of them. I In the future, all superhero games will be judged by this one. I don't know what kind of crack the people on here saying it's a 3/10 were smoking. The graphics are beautiful, the acting and writing are superb, and the feel is perfect Batman. I have played plenty of games in the past few years, but I have been missing that "I HAVE to finish this thing" vibe form most of them. I have not been unable to put down a game like this since God of War 2 came out. I literally could not stop playing Arkham Asylum. Whether you enjoy action games or just love Batman, this is a must have. The only people who won't like this are the juvenile and immature gamers who think a great game has to have buckets of blood and gore, and have no patience for a well crafted story with lots of suspense and interesting gameplay. Expand
  12. ConradW
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    There is absolutely nothing about this game that doesn't shine through with polish from the developers. Its perfect in every way. If you are getting one game this summer, THIS GAME IS IT! Thank you Eidos and Warner Bros for this masterpiece!
  13. ToffeeO
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    two words to summarize: nearly flawless. thanks to these guys at rocksteady, now everyone expects games on this level to follow. scarecrow and croc are really scary even if you're grown up. this batman game retains all that's great about the comic, no fancy superpowers just grade-a technology and martial arts. one of only two games that made me collect all 1000 achievement two words to summarize: nearly flawless. thanks to these guys at rocksteady, now everyone expects games on this level to follow. scarecrow and croc are really scary even if you're grown up. this batman game retains all that's great about the comic, no fancy superpowers just grade-a technology and martial arts. one of only two games that made me collect all 1000 achievement points in a game! Collapse
  14. MattT
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    It could have had this it could have had that blah blah. Nitpicking when really games just don't get much more fun than this. So well presented and above all I felt like I was actually in a Batman comic, that is the greatest praise I can give.
  15. LandonS.
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    I hate superhero games and never really liked batman until Christian Bale rekindled the movies. Could care less for any comic let alone batman/superman ones. Absolutely loved every minute of this game and was so let down when I beat it only because its over! They really captured what it would feel like to be a badass batman and made it really fun along the way.
  16. JacquesL
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. It combines alot of elements from some of my favorite games. From stealth, to adventure, to action, Batman: AA rules in them all. But let me warn you - the boss battles aren't all that great. But, let aside the very few cons and Batman: AA is going to be a buy.
  17. WesE
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    As stated before, Arkham Asylum is simply the best superhero game ever made. Incredible combat, a great story, top notch presentation, and hours of collectibles and challenge maps. The level of detail is incredible, from Batman's costume ripping and facial hair growing throughout the campaign to the Joker's taunts changing when you repeatedly die in the same area. This game As stated before, Arkham Asylum is simply the best superhero game ever made. Incredible combat, a great story, top notch presentation, and hours of collectibles and challenge maps. The level of detail is incredible, from Batman's costume ripping and facial hair growing throughout the campaign to the Joker's taunts changing when you repeatedly die in the same area. This game thinks of everything, and it really makes you feel like Batman. Expand
  18. JeffL.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    You just can't ask for more out of a game. In a lot of ways Batman simply incorporates successful elements from other popular games (free running from Assassin's Creed, platforming from Tenchu, Stealth and "goggle vision" from Metal Gear Solid, enjoyability and high quality story/cinematics/production like Bioshock, and more...). But then the real success is achieved when all You just can't ask for more out of a game. In a lot of ways Batman simply incorporates successful elements from other popular games (free running from Assassin's Creed, platforming from Tenchu, Stealth and "goggle vision" from Metal Gear Solid, enjoyability and high quality story/cinematics/production like Bioshock, and more...). But then the real success is achieved when all the elements listed above as well as several additional novel ideas are perfectly molded into Batman's character and how he would really act. No joke, you do feel like Batman and it is insanely satisfying when you do his job well. This is the best release from the past few months and easily one of the best games that will be released this year. Expand
  19. GlennD
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I was only expecting this to be as good as the demo, and I really enjoyed the demo but after I started playing it simply blew me away I havent even played DEM BONES or as the Joker in the challenge maps because the story is soo good I cant quit playing.Easy one of the very best this year.GREAT JOB ROCKSTEADY!!!!
  20. AnonymousMC
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    No, the other reviews are not embellishing. Yes, the game is that good. No, I have not been drinking the kool aid. All the gameplay, graphic, and audio elements come together to truly make you feel like you are Bats (as the Joker now has me calling him), and it's a blast to experience. Best game I've played all year, and a serious contender for GOTY come Jan 2010.
  21. NelsonZ.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Best Batman Game ever made. Love the cast that is in this game. Makes other past Batman games look like they were made for preschoolers. Will not get tired of this game.
  22. JoseV.
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This game is complete rape. The inovation and take down possibilities are endless. The freeflow combat is also very tight and effective in making you feel like the dark knight.
  23. JoostP
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum has perfect pacing and gameplay. The game really makes you feel like you are Batman and everything is based around that. The Riddler's challenges will keep you busy for a while after you finish the game and then you can also finish all the Challenge maps! Great game with great value!
  24. DanteO
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This game has very few flaws, and none of them are gamebreaking or even large issues. Everything just has a ton of polish on it, and the various concepts in the game are just fantastic. Scarecrow's nightmares are incredibly surreal, Killer Croc's area has amazing tension during the whole sequence, and every area just has a life of its own. Throw in a challenge mode that actually This game has very few flaws, and none of them are gamebreaking or even large issues. Everything just has a ton of polish on it, and the various concepts in the game are just fantastic. Scarecrow's nightmares are incredibly surreal, Killer Croc's area has amazing tension during the whole sequence, and every area just has a life of its own. Throw in a challenge mode that actually adds to the game (improving your Freeflow skills, or making you a better invisible predator) and you've got 2009's GOTY, no contest. Expand
  25. JohnS
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Outside of a few little oddities, the game is nearing perfection for defining Batman game, and will be the bar as to which all future superhero games are measured for years to come. Half Batman: The Animated Series, half Batman: The Dark Knight, makes the perfect game for anyone to enjoy.
  26. JohnnyD
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Exhilarating from start to finish and incredibly addictive engrossing and simple for batman newbies yet enough fan service for the hardcore. You won't want to put it down until you've solved all 240 riddles!
  27. KeenanS
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Certainly the best game of this year so far. The graphics are AMAZING, a former user reviewer claimed the graphics were "ok" I think this is down to 1. his own xbox or 2. his tv (maybe it isn't HD or HDMI). Certainly the best Super-Hero game to bless the xbox 360. The controls are very well layed out and give you enough time to counter, make stunning combos... many different combos. Certainly the best game of this year so far. The graphics are AMAZING, a former user reviewer claimed the graphics were "ok" I think this is down to 1. his own xbox or 2. his tv (maybe it isn't HD or HDMI). Certainly the best Super-Hero game to bless the xbox 360. The controls are very well layed out and give you enough time to counter, make stunning combos... many different combos. I haven't noticed a glitch yet. There is alot of bonus content to last you a good few hours. The story is very fluent and always keeps you guessing. The baddies are all implemented in different ways. The way the scarecrow was introduced was a matter of genious! This game deserves a 10/10 and it is rightfully given. Expand
  28. AdR
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Endlessly fun, thrilling and inventive. At last, a game that makes me feel like a superhero when I play it.
  29. ChrisR
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome. I'm only about 30% through the game, but I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute so far. The graphics are phenomenal, the detective mode is innovative, and all the different things Batman can do make the game so much fun. I think there is a lot of re-play value to this game. In my opinion, it's one of the best games made for the XBOX 360.
  30. juliusk
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    Genius game just genius great story great motion graphics. some poor voice acting but most of it were brilliant. every single second of it is thrilling and very interesting best story in a game since BIOSHOCK.
  31. T.J.S.
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    The best game I have played in a long time. If you like stealth, great and easy to learn fighting and insane backstory. This is the game for you. I have not put any other game in my disc drive since buying this game. The depth of gameplay during and after the main story is amazing. I will not stop playing until have solved all of the Riddler challenges. The epic Scarecrow trip-out scenes The best game I have played in a long time. If you like stealth, great and easy to learn fighting and insane backstory. This is the game for you. I have not put any other game in my disc drive since buying this game. The depth of gameplay during and after the main story is amazing. I will not stop playing until have solved all of the Riddler challenges. The epic Scarecrow trip-out scenes are (in my opinion) some of the best scenes in gaming history. Play this game. And by the way, don`t pay attention to the people that have only played the demo or have not even beaten the game. Why they even post reviews, I have no idea. Expand
  32. orlandon
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    Awesome mix of stealth, adventure, sweet fighting mechanics, and batman huge dark history it feels right to finally play a batman that make justices to the coolest superhero.
  33. GeoffreyG
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    Finally, a superhero game that lives up to the hype! Batman: Arkham Asylum is without a doubt one of the best game of 2009. Graphics are excellent, possibly the best so far for this console generation. The sound is incredible. The story and characters are well executed and steeped in the Batman lore. Overall, the game is a little short (6-8 hours max), but it is incredibly well executed Finally, a superhero game that lives up to the hype! Batman: Arkham Asylum is without a doubt one of the best game of 2009. Graphics are excellent, possibly the best so far for this console generation. The sound is incredible. The story and characters are well executed and steeped in the Batman lore. Overall, the game is a little short (6-8 hours max), but it is incredibly well executed and worth playing through twice. The challenge rooms and all the hidden secrets with keep the game fresh for a while to come. Expand
  34. BennyB.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    This game was absolutely incredible! i am a huge gears of war, ufc, and gta4 gamer... but i have to say it.... Batman A.A. is the best game i have ever played. it has a wicked story line.. a badass game play. fantastic graphics and pretty much anything you can ask for ! i am looking forward to the next one... and i'm seriously hoping that it goes to Gotham.. and you can ride the This game was absolutely incredible! i am a huge gears of war, ufc, and gta4 gamer... but i have to say it.... Batman A.A. is the best game i have ever played. it has a wicked story line.. a badass game play. fantastic graphics and pretty much anything you can ask for ! i am looking forward to the next one... and i'm seriously hoping that it goes to Gotham.. and you can ride the batmobile. have a online co-op.. with robin..? or... any other character... but. i completely reccomend this game to anyone who is a gamer... ! wait no longer! your DREAM GAME IS HERE!!!!! / xbox360 account. xTDKx 1MANxARMY .. and i am the leader of THE DARK KNIGHTS. and that is also my youtube account ... please subscribe.. and watch my sick gears of war 2 videos.. ! Expand
  35. MarkC
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Finally, a Batman game that is worthy of the World's Greatest Detective. From it's opening scenes, which set the tone beautifully, this game promised to be something very special. the voice acting is stellar, with Mark Hamill's Joker the undisputed standout. The environments are as atmospheric and alive as any that I've seen in a game, rich in detail and Dark Knight Finally, a Batman game that is worthy of the World's Greatest Detective. From it's opening scenes, which set the tone beautifully, this game promised to be something very special. the voice acting is stellar, with Mark Hamill's Joker the undisputed standout. The environments are as atmospheric and alive as any that I've seen in a game, rich in detail and Dark Knight lore. The combat, which at first seems deceptively simple, proves to be some of the depest and most engaging fighting on the current console generation. The ability to take down a dozen thugs without being touched truly makes the player feel like the Caped Crusader, and the stealth invisible predator gameplay perfectly captures another facet of Batman's character. Add to that the innovative 'detective mode', and you've got the whole package. But Batman does not have Arkham's spotlight to himself, most of the Rogue's Gallery is accounted for, if not as actual bosses, then through the innovative use of patient interview tapes and other subtle nods to Batman's arch enemies. Of particular note is the Riddler, who, while not physically present, provides a perfect means to turn the often tiresome task of gathering collectibles into a process that not only enriches the overall game, but is quite fun too. Another notable standout is the Scarecrow. Without spoiling anything, I'll just say that Scarecrow's nightmare sequences provide some of the most innovative, and genuinely disturbing, gameplay I've experienced. Overall this is a fantastic superhero game, a must have for fans of Batman...actually, this is a great GAME by any standard, even players who are not fans of this genre can find somthing to enjoy. Highly recommended, definitely my game of the year, so far. Expand
  36. zach
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    i would give it a 9.9 but 10 will do first i only have 2 complaints 1 (the biggest) whenever you finish off beat up whatever you want to call it the enemys act like they have a seizure they grab theyre heads and fly up in the air believe it or not this actually takes a lot out of the combat it happens every single time litteraly
  37. AlexP
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Graphics 10/10 - This is the Unreal 3.0 Engine at it's best. Simply stated: It looks and feels better than Gears of War 2, and has artistic that is unparelled by any other game released this year. Sound: 10//10 - The voice acting is right on the money, cut scenes are so well done you could imagine stringing them together into a professional 3D animated movie. Gameplay 10/10 - You Graphics 10/10 - This is the Unreal 3.0 Engine at it's best. Simply stated: It looks and feels better than Gears of War 2, and has artistic that is unparelled by any other game released this year. Sound: 10//10 - The voice acting is right on the money, cut scenes are so well done you could imagine stringing them together into a professional 3D animated movie. Gameplay 10/10 - You will find yourself listening to your heartbeat slow down after intense conflicts, feeling fullfilled with your steath strategies to pacify rooms of guards who never knew you were there. set traps, glide, find secrets, solve riddles. There are seperate achivements for beating it on Easy, Medium and Hard and especially at the latter you will feel addicted to the gameplay's pacing. Negatives: No Multiplayer, co-op would have been spectacular, (could you imagine if it was; Batman and Robin - Arkham Asylum?) You can bet this game will get many Game of the Year Awards and place best of in many technical/artistic catagories. If it isn't a game your going to buy, it at least has to be a game your going to rent. It's one of the best titles Eidos Interactive (Tomb Raider; Hitman) has come out with in the last decade. Expand
  38. MikeB.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This game is brilliant...a perfect mix of kicking ass as the caped crusader, stealth, puzzle, and exploration. Anyone who's ever had even a passing interest in the Batman should put this game at the top of their to-do list.
  39. Carlos
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Got the game today for the PS3 slim and is purely a masterpiece. From gameplay through graphics I'm nominating it right now for GOTY. Is that good, really.
  40. JoeCatman
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    I am about 3/4 of the way through it, and I am obsessed with this game. It lives up to the hype. Make a sequel, please, though I have no idea how you could do it. This is the first Eidos game I've cared about in years. Before the demo I was derisive, but the demo made me a goddamn believer. So much is charming. Also, thank you for making easy mode easy. I have MS and sometimes I am about 3/4 of the way through it, and I am obsessed with this game. It lives up to the hype. Make a sequel, please, though I have no idea how you could do it. This is the first Eidos game I've cared about in years. Before the demo I was derisive, but the demo made me a goddamn believer. So much is charming. Also, thank you for making easy mode easy. I have MS and sometimes it's hard to be really good at games. Rocksteady has made a challenging game accessible to newbies, and compelling to the hardcore. More, please. Expand
  41. JacobA.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    This game is this years game of the year hands down, if you like batman, whether it be the comics, the cartoons, or the movies, you will fall in love with this game. Beautifully executed cut scenes and life like graphics, the joker will actually give you the chills when your walking him down to Arkham in the beginning of the game. Edios and Warner Bros. have done it this time.
  42. FernandoF.
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    A fantastic game from a comic book property. The only best one out and to tell you the truth it's about damn time that they did come out with one.
  43. LikC.
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    BEST Batman game ever. Excellent voice cast, gorgeous graphics, fun gameplay and lots of easter eggs and extras to keep you coming back. Super polished and made with a lot of care. One of the best games to come out this generation, 'nuff said.
  44. PaulP
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Presents an engrossing environment experience that can only be compared to Bioshock. Paul Dini and his team from the animated series send this game over the top. Story is solid, combat rhythm and flow are beautiful, more than enough to do to keep you busy well after the campaign is beat and they even throw a couple spooks in their courtesy of scarecrow and croc. Overall fun game.
  45. IvanV.
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This game was awesome, it was better than I imagined. The challenge maps never get boring, the boss fights are great and fun, the gadgets are really nice, the riddles are fun which gets me more addicted to the game, and there is just more stuff I could say about this game but I can't think of it all now because its all blowing my mind.
  46. HarveyB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    This is "The Dark Knight" of superhero video games. Unlike other poor attempts at giving you full command of the Caped Crusader this game succeeds in all aspects. this game is dark and teeming toxic in a good way. But it is because of the gameplay, the performances, the graphics and the fidelity to the Dark Knight material.
  47. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Arkham Asylum was everything I expected it to be. An compelling, original story. Good controls, and fun fighting techniques, unique characters, and it looked great all the while. It's everything a super hero game needed to be. I can't wait for Arkham City, definitely picking it up on Stream. this is my favorite super hero game of all time, close to the original Spiderman on Dreamcast!
  48. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    awesomeness in a X360 box. great that they used the voices from the cartoon show and the joker being mark hamill. the game was awesome. enjoyed tha combat and it is not hard to execute combos. i like the upgrades to the equipment over time allowing new take downs and areas to be unlocked etc.
  49. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    **** genius. Why coulnd't they make all superhero games like this? Fun doesn't begin to describe this game. It's just like **** you, this is the game to play. **** call of duty and all that bullshit," It's up there.
  50. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Game of the year 2010. There is nothing bad i can say about Batman: AA. The combat is fluid and fun, and has great impact, The story is a classic batman plot, that doesn't take too much attention from the game itself, and the game ends exactly when it should, with a solid 30 hour clock for a thorough play through. Presentation wise, the voice acting is simply stunning, and the visualsGame of the year 2010. There is nothing bad i can say about Batman: AA. The combat is fluid and fun, and has great impact, The story is a classic batman plot, that doesn't take too much attention from the game itself, and the game ends exactly when it should, with a solid 30 hour clock for a thorough play through. Presentation wise, the voice acting is simply stunning, and the visuals match the asylum perfectly, being both creepy and comical. Expand
  51. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I played this game for countless hours, I loved it. Pretty much everything about it is perfect and this is really suprising considering its a Batman game.
  52. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever. Great in all aspects. I believe we will have to wait a long time to see a game as good as this one. Never played the other versions but I believe they must be as good as this one.
  53. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    Rocksteady's Batman: Arkham Asylum is the greatest game based on a comic book to date. Why, you ask? Firstly, the game remains true to the world of the Dark Knight. The characters in the game are authentic in terms of their physical appearance and their respective personalities. The game is oveflowing with characters from the Batman world, including The Joker, who is voiced brilliantly byRocksteady's Batman: Arkham Asylum is the greatest game based on a comic book to date. Why, you ask? Firstly, the game remains true to the world of the Dark Knight. The characters in the game are authentic in terms of their physical appearance and their respective personalities. The game is oveflowing with characters from the Batman world, including The Joker, who is voiced brilliantly by Mark Hamill. You will also come across Bane, Poison Ivy, Scarecrow and Killer Croc just to name a few. The story is excellent in entwining the various themes from the comics to produce a narrative that will keep the player coming back for more. The gameplay mechanic, which introduces the Free-Flow combat system, is great. This allows combat to be fluid and cinematic, immersing the player in Batman's encounters with his enemies. The system itself is easy to learn, but hard to master. Stringing together perfect combos takes a while to grasp and to be executed perfectly. The combat will evolve throughout the game, introducing the player to new gadgets at regular intervals. If I have to nit, it would have been nice to face-off against a wider variety of enemies. You will encounter armed, as well as unarmed thugs, along with the occasional boss battles. On the technical side, the game is amazing. The graphics are sharp, with excellent character models that adopt a comic book approach. The lighting and shading are also on par without any dips in the frame rate. In terms of sound, all the characters are voiced impeccably, from The Joker to the mere security guard. All in all, this makes for a fantastic experience as Batman, engrossing the player in a setting that is vast and beautiful.I suggest, whether you are a Batman fan or not, to lend about eight hours of your time to this title. You will indeed love it. Expand
  54. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    I really enjoy this game. I think this is first good game about Batman. Arkham asylum is a masterpiece, for graphics and for level design. Fight is easy to learn, but hard to master. Detective mode made it a little to easy, but generally game is awesome. Can't wait for more.
  55. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Best game of all time, stealth, combat, amazing voice acting. Everything you want in a game. This game was wall to wall entertainment, and worth every penny.
  56. May 28, 2012
    10
    Batman Arkham Asylum is one of the best Batman games in the world.It gives us a whole new expierience in controlling Batman. The gadgets,detectivemode etc. are very good.The graphics,sound,picture quality are spellbounding.I give you an advice that please play the game if you are a batman fan.
  57. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    I've never been a huge fan of the Batman comics, but I get the general idea and know most of the main characters. The only reason I got Batman: Arkham Asylum was because it kept getting great reviews, and it was on sale, so I thought "eh, why not". I aaaaaam so glad that I did; Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played on a console. The voice acting is great, theI've never been a huge fan of the Batman comics, but I get the general idea and know most of the main characters. The only reason I got Batman: Arkham Asylum was because it kept getting great reviews, and it was on sale, so I thought "eh, why not". I aaaaaam so glad that I did; Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played on a console. The voice acting is great, the graphics are great, the story and presentation are great, and the hand-to-hand fighting system is probably the best I have ever played in a game. Those who are complaining about the controls and the fighting must have some pretty high standards, because to me I found the commands very responsive and the controls tight. Expand
  58. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I currently have 5 games , and of all the five that i've purchased, this is the only game that i can't get enough of. Arkham Asylum is that kind of game which, in my opinion, has re-defined the superhero genre of gaming. The Combat is excellent, the attention to detail is virtually ( aside from L.A Noire ) unrivalled, the voice acting is flawless and, above all ( in my opinion ),the predator tactics are so satisfying that it gives you a real sense of how it is to be the Caped Crusader. The story is so well written by veteran Batman writer Paul Dini and so well presented by Game director Sefton Hill and the rest of the Rocksteady team that it never fails to keep you engrossed. The game is a dream come true for die-hard Batman fans and an absolute delight for casual gamers like myself. Having said all that,however,the game does have a few minor flaws. E.g : The Boss fights get a bit repetitive as the game progresses, the A.I. can be a bit weak at times. But when looking at the game as a whole, it's hard to deny that the entire creative team behind Batman:Arkham Asylum have inevitably raised the bar for superhero games and has proven to be quintessential of a superhero game. Cheers DC Comics!!! Cheers Warner Brothers!!!!! Cheers Rocksteady!!!! Cheers Arkham Asylum!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  59. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the greatest games I've ever played. Definitely the best Batman game ever and it's about time. If you're a fan of beat em' up, superhero games this is a must.
  60. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    The best game that I posess. The game is simply genius in every way and the story is absolutely outstanding. IF you don't have it, than buy it! It is a game that at moments I have found difficult but altogether I didn't struggle with it too much.
  61. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Like the movie, the Arkham Asylum game has the dark and sinister feel thats one of the reasons the dark knight was a huge success. The game has great boss fights and great fighting techniques.
  62. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is a great game, I love this game! Everything about the game is just amazing! Arkham Asylum is like a great playground for Batman, you can use your gadgets to to explore the areas and traverse this place, unlocking many hidden goodies along the way. The control scheme is perfect, the way you can control Batman and how easily you can fight as the Caped CrusaderBatman: Arkham Asylum is a great game, I love this game! Everything about the game is just amazing! Arkham Asylum is like a great playground for Batman, you can use your gadgets to to explore the areas and traverse this place, unlocking many hidden goodies along the way. The control scheme is perfect, the way you can control Batman and how easily you can fight as the Caped Crusader deserves credit as you can flawlessly string together combos and effortlessly move Batman. The upgrades that you can acquire are all so amazing, you can use these tricks to decimate your enemies and explore the area much better. The characterization of Arkham Asylum is just amazing, Arkham Asylum is pumping out life as all the people and the environments have unique characteristics that make them stand out. The characters like Batman and The Joker all stand out with their unique characteristics and the Voice Acting for the characters is mind-blowing. I especially like the Joker as one of the greatest villains of all time because is character is so freaky that he sends chills up the spines of everyone. The graphics and visual detail is pretty amazing too, the whole area has SO MUCH detail. Batman has so much detail as his suit gets more worn and torn as the game progreses. That is cool, the developers obviously put a lot of effort into this snd the end result is an amazing game. The plot is also amazing as it keeps propelling you forwards and keeps you absorbed till the end, there were a few kinks in the plot, especially in the finale but that is a small dent in the overall package. The predator and combat moves are both amazing additions to Arkham Asylum that allow you to demonstrate you combat skill or your stealth skills. Overall Batman: Arkham Asylum is an amazing game, I highly reccomend playing it. If you decide not to play it because you think that just because it has Batman that it is stupid then you are mistaken because it is not. You only play as Batman and battle the Batman villains but everything else is just amazing. Arkham Asylum is a game worth playing, I loved this game just like GTA IV. Arkham Asylum is a must-play and it will help you be familiar with Arkham City. The game is amzing, I can't say anything else about it. Expand
  63. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    A masterful game after a long time. Normally Super hero games fall short on expectations and this is the exception. Well written story and amazing game-play. Voice acting just good like Metal Gear Solid. The Villains are very different from each other. I would highly recommend for anyone who wants to play and excellent story.
  64. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best superhero game of all time, and certainly one of the best games of 2009. Arkham Asylum has easy to use, hard to master free flow combat which works brilliantly, excellent steal segments with smart AI, an intriguing storyline, beautiful graphics, top notch voice acting by Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill and a dark gritty feel that makes you truly feel like the Dark Knight!
  65. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite comic book based video game hands down. Arkham Asylum has a great story, great graphics, and a ton of replay value (its also rather addictive). A must play imo.
  66. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Batman : Arkham Asylum, a game with simple combat system yet interesting and stylish. Not only that, the detective mode game-play really has it's fun. Stealth game play,ooooohh, I love hanging the enemies on the gargoyles. I mean, what more could you ask from a game? Conclusion, one hell of a great game. Don't think, play it.
  67. May 20, 2013
    10
    I just finished getting all of the achievements for this game. So, that means I have beat it on easy, normal, and hard modes, gotten 100% of riddles, and scored three medals on every combat and predator challenge. It took me a month to do all of this. I am an avid gamer- I play for about 4-5 hours per day and I only play one game at a time. For an OCD achievement person, like me, this is aI just finished getting all of the achievements for this game. So, that means I have beat it on easy, normal, and hard modes, gotten 100% of riddles, and scored three medals on every combat and predator challenge. It took me a month to do all of this. I am an avid gamer- I play for about 4-5 hours per day and I only play one game at a time. For an OCD achievement person, like me, this is a really balanced set of achievements. I felt like playing the different difficulties was satisfying because they actually did get progressively harder- but not ever impossible.

    For the more casual gamer, looking for a simple review:

    Pros:
    Beautiful graphics
    Awesome storyline
    NO BUGS- which is quite an accomplishment
    Combat feels great

    Cons:
    Very linear
    Cannot drive any vehicles- hello Rocksteady- Batmobile?!
    Rewards not well matched for the challenge.
    Expand
  68. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best Batman game made so far, I haven't played Arkham City yet but Im I will get the chance, Im reviewing Batman Arkham Asylum because Arkham Origins is coming out soon. BAA has an awesome combat system, a very interesting story, and the voice acting is great, You would have so many hours of fun with finding Riddles and fighting bad guys just like I did. If you haven't played this game before then get it. 10/10 Expand
  69. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Best batman video game of all time really captures the experiences and feeling of being the bat, only downside is probably the fact that the controls are rather clunky at times and you cant increase the sensitivity of the controller still 10/10 would bang if it was a beautiful lady mmmmmmm
  70. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Arkham Asylum not only proved us that Batman games were still possible, it also proved us that they can be masterpieces. The gameplay is simple, but addicting, the atmosphere is dark, and I mean *really* dark. You are free to explore Arkham Asylum to continue the story, or to find collectibles.

    This was 2009's Game of the Year.
  71. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    When I remember my feelings about the game coming in Batman universe I must say that I never had much hope. Too many games that used license for popular comics series wasted their chance of satisfying gamers. The time of playing came to me when I had no other games to play (in rarely but happens). By that time "Arkham Asylum" already had received many awards and I had realized, that theWhen I remember my feelings about the game coming in Batman universe I must say that I never had much hope. Too many games that used license for popular comics series wasted their chance of satisfying gamers. The time of playing came to me when I had no other games to play (in rarely but happens). By that time "Arkham Asylum" already had received many awards and I had realized, that the game could not be as bad as any typical comics game. The opening sequence shocked me in a good sense when I saw stunning graphics and hilarious acting of main characters. It took not much to get into action that amazed me by its dynamics, performance and comfortable gameplay. It was very easy to get into Batman's world thanks to perfect control settings (I still can't imagine this game being played without gamepad).
    What still amazes me is the fact that new gameplay features were gradually added with each new stage. We've just started with fighting sequence and when you are about to get used to it detective mode is introduced. As soon as you realize its power, stealth stages are introduced. When it seems that there is not much space for you, open environment gives Batman flying practising and different approach for taking out enemies. Eidos knew what and just how much a gamer wanted and "Arkham Asylum" provides you with it. Each fight looks terrific, camera always finds appropriate angle to show the best view for another kick out. New weapons introduced, different types of stage walkthrough (that sometimes feels like completely open world) and amazing story (that even without excellence of other game's element would make a good game) just won't let you down for a minute. "Arkham Asylum" also has plenty of little side quests (Riddler's puzzles) that will keep you in game for hours. These puzzles feel like a new kind of challenge that are well rewarded.
    But as many games, "Batman: Arkham Asylum" has its own problem, and I have to say, the only one I can remember. It is the marker. I have to say that it was easy for me to get lost. Puzzlement came when I knew that locations around were cleaned and marker did not show exactly where I was supposed to go.
    A friend of mine, who receieved a copy of the game from me on his birthday, complained about this very issue. Getting lost made him quit playing the game till the time he's out of other games (although he's absolutely positive, that the game is worth playing). Also, it seems that I.. suck at fighting games and slashers. It's definitely not a game's problem, but totally mine, but I had to switch to easy level, because crowds of enemies beat my ass frequently. And yet easy difficulty left good memories of the game and normal was a challenge for me. Loosing a game and hearing Harley Quinn's "Looser, looser, looser, ha!" or Joker's taunting just made me want to play the game more that I actually never did because of "Arkham City" coming out and this damn marker
    Expand
  72. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    Before I talk great about this game let me give you a little back story of me and Batman games. I love Batman, I think he is one of the coolest superheros of all time and it never seemed that Batman could not get a good game out on the market. I have played numerous Batman games like Batman Forever, The Adventures of Batman and Robin, Batman Begins, and lastly Batman Vengeance. AfterBefore I talk great about this game let me give you a little back story of me and Batman games. I love Batman, I think he is one of the coolest superheros of all time and it never seemed that Batman could not get a good game out on the market. I have played numerous Batman games like Batman Forever, The Adventures of Batman and Robin, Batman Begins, and lastly Batman Vengeance. After Batman Vengeance, I never thought that Batman would make a Blockbuster game. Well on August, 2009 I played Arkham Asylum and I was blown away from what I saw. Its the second best Batman game to date only behind it's sequel Arkham City. The Graphics, the fighting, the story, the villains, the setting, everything was just perfect! The plot of the game is your Batman and you have just caught the joker and you are sending him away to Arkham Asylum where all the high end criminals and Lunatics are at. Batman is suspicious about the Joker because he caught the him without any issues. His fears became real when the Joker devised a plan to release all of Batman's main enemies like Killer Croc, Poison Ivy, Bane, Scarecrow,etc. Batman must stop these criminals before they reach Arkham city and cause terror. All of the actors from the Batman Animated series reprise their roles like Kevin Conroy as Batman and Mark Hamill as the Joker. It is extremely fun to fight these enemies and have to go through a series of puzzles and problem solving in order to defeat them. There are a lot of side-missions you can play and it is exciting to do these missions because they add something to the story. As Batman, you have a lot of gadgets to choose from like the Batarang, Explosive Gel, Grapple gun and many more. Even though there a lot of good things about the game, there is some frustrating parts as well. There are some missions where it might feel a little slow, the boss battles are way too easy, the menu might have too much information you need to know, and there are some parts that the game doesn't exactly tell you what to do so it might leave you confused and it will piss you off. Regardless, this game is awesome and you should really try this game. Expand
  73. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Like most gamers, I love certain elements of a game whether its story, graphics, game play, characters, etc.

    But ultimately, to deserve a 10 you really need just 2 things: 1) A couple of HOLY CRAP moments throughout the play through that stays with you permanently 2) It gives you that aching pain in your stomach and knocks you in the brain dome telling you to play it to the end
    Like most gamers, I love certain elements of a game whether its story, graphics, game play, characters, etc.

    But ultimately, to deserve a 10 you really need just 2 things:

    1) A couple of HOLY CRAP moments throughout the play through that stays with you permanently
    2) It gives you that aching pain in your stomach and knocks you in the brain dome telling you to play it to the end because you have to see it to it's conclusion to be satisfied

    Arkham Asylum does these two things easily.

    Its not the biggest package as the game could be considered somewhat small
    It's boss fights are not particularly difficult which might seem unsatisfying

    It doesn't matter because this game is the balls
    Expand
  74. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    This is the Batman game that everyone wanted. The dark way in this game is perfect for the dark knight. Great voice acting. The best part has to be the final fight or all of the Scarecrow scenes.
  75. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Fantastic superhero game that sets the bar for atmosphere, storytelling, and action. Never been a Batman comic book fan, but found myself getting drawn into the lore and the batman universe. Everybody who enjoys action game should try this!
  76. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played. Great stealth, Great Story, and Great Combat. The story has Batman bringing Joker back to Arkham. And after he escapes (Not a spoiler we all knew that was going to happen) Batman has to bring order back to Arkham. But before he meets some of his most popular villains. The stealth feels great in this game, you feel likeBatman: Arkham Asylum is one of the best games I have ever played. Great stealth, Great Story, and Great Combat. The story has Batman bringing Joker back to Arkham. And after he escapes (Not a spoiler we all knew that was going to happen) Batman has to bring order back to Arkham. But before he meets some of his most popular villains. The stealth feels great in this game, you feel like batman. You can grapple to gargoyles to find your enemies and take 'em out one by one. The combat feels great, too. You can string combos and counters and special moves together so seamlessly it is awesome. You hug your control in this game, making full use. You can do Riddler challenges throughout the Asylum, it could be Riddler trophies or challenges you have to find and scan, or chronicles of Arkham, and joker teeth you can destroy.

    Great game, must buy!
    Expand
  77. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Finally a videogame where we get to really feel what it's like to be Batman and it really has a depth that can be enjoyed by anyone but for Bat fans this game is heaven. The combat and stealth mechanics are balanced perfectly in a beautifully built world that gives insights into the world of the dark knight through its story and collectibles. The voice acting is of the high standard ofFinally a videogame where we get to really feel what it's like to be Batman and it really has a depth that can be enjoyed by anyone but for Bat fans this game is heaven. The combat and stealth mechanics are balanced perfectly in a beautifully built world that gives insights into the world of the dark knight through its story and collectibles. The voice acting is of the high standard of the 90s animated TV show and stars most of the cast who do a great job. This is a perfectly designed 3rd person action/adventure game with one of the most lovable characters (who's success in videogames should have come sooner as they are well matched) in modern pop culture and because of this Arkham Asylum earns my 2009 game of the year. Expand
  78. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    Games don't get much better than this. It's 2014 and the graphics are still awesome compared to today's standard. This is a story driven game. If you like a good story then you will like this game. It can be really hard at parts, but I didn't think it was too challenging.
  79. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    I think it's the best game of batman ever.

    Why ? Cause actually I like close world games and small location ,but of course that doesn't include gta
  80. Nov 7, 2014
    10
    I never considered myself a comic book fan. I used to think that Batman was dumb and pointless. Then I played this game. The graphics are amazing, the story is well done and the gameplay is solid. The game is lengthy, taking from 12 hours to 20 hours based on how much extra things you complete. Overall, Batman: Arkham Asylum is amazing and one of the best games I've ever played. It alsoI never considered myself a comic book fan. I used to think that Batman was dumb and pointless. Then I played this game. The graphics are amazing, the story is well done and the gameplay is solid. The game is lengthy, taking from 12 hours to 20 hours based on how much extra things you complete. Overall, Batman: Arkham Asylum is amazing and one of the best games I've ever played. It also changed my perspective on Batman the character as a whole. 10 Expand
  81. TheDude
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. I rented it and I already miss it and wish I still had it, even though I finished the whole game. It's the kind of game you can get lost in like the old greats(Castlevania, Legend of Zelda, etc.) for several days and just have a blast. I just rented it because I heard it was short, but I ended up playing it long enough and had such a good time that it would have been Fantastic game. I rented it and I already miss it and wish I still had it, even though I finished the whole game. It's the kind of game you can get lost in like the old greats(Castlevania, Legend of Zelda, etc.) for several days and just have a blast. I just rented it because I heard it was short, but I ended up playing it long enough and had such a good time that it would have been worth a buy. I took my time and tried to find all of the secrets the first time through without the maps(that didn't work, I had to cave in at the end and use the maps to find most of the stuff), but it took me over 15 hours to do it that way. Of course, I've heard of people rushing through it in half that, but I had a blast going at it at the pace I did. In addition to the main story mode, there are also the challenge modes, which are fairly fun too. I spent about four hours on each of the first two, which was a blast when I rented it during the first week it was out, because it was still possible to move way up on the on-line leader boards with a little perseverance then. Now, I'm sure my scores are waaaay back on the lists, but I still got more fun out of those modes than I anticipated, and like I said, I only really messed around much with two of them, so there was still more to do. Anyway, it was a great game, very well done. Creepy and immersive like Bioshock, with a touch of Splinter Cell stealth, and lots of action which all made it a blast. It was kind of like if BioShock and Sam Fisher had a love child, and dressed him up in a Batman costume. Tons of fun. The presentation all around was fantastic, with top-notch production values all around. Oh yeah, and Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn were hot, too. That didn't hurt. Expand
  82. JoshR
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    Replay value is minimal, or it would get a 10. This is the first game that has stood out for me graphically in a while (and I'm playing the 360 version, not the PC version), with much "prettier" scenery and character art than anything else I've played. You feel like Batman, though slightly less agile (dodging gunfire while engaged in a fist fight as in the comics/cartoon is not Replay value is minimal, or it would get a 10. This is the first game that has stood out for me graphically in a while (and I'm playing the 360 version, not the PC version), with much "prettier" scenery and character art than anything else I've played. You feel like Batman, though slightly less agile (dodging gunfire while engaged in a fist fight as in the comics/cartoon is not a viable option). This isn't a huge issue though; Batman triumphing through stealth and wits is cooler in my book. But players looking for a pure action game may want to look elsewhere. The story is good, the darker take on many of the villains is refreshing, and even the Riddler missions feel more interesting than the standard "collect the flags" achievements in other games due to the Riddler's repartee and the greater variety. The Riddler maps make it possible to actually do the collections without resorting to online hint guides, while still being a challenge (since you don't know exactly where they are, and the height isn't revealed). A big plus in my book, as constant reference to walkthroughs is kind of a cheat. The only annoying bit is the somewhat repetitive broadcasts by the Joker. You don't notice it if you follow the plot as quickly as possible, but during prolonged exploration for Riddler challenges, it gets noticable and slightly annoying. One nitpick: Why not remove cobwebs after you've walked through them in a ventilation shaft? I don't need full physics rendering of them stretching and snapping, but a simple static change to broken cobwebs around the edges of the shaft would help avoid breaking the immersion. Expand
  83. MarkA
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Not only the best Batman/superhero game ever (a farily low bar), but one of the best games of the year period. Takes all the best elements from games such as Metal Gear Solid, Tomb Raider, Splinter Cell, inFAMOUS, James Bond, etc. without any of the bad stuff (poor camera, bad voice acting, boring plot). An amazing game!
  84. StevenC
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Great game, best superhero game ever. I don't hand out many 10's, and as this game isn't perfect, it doesn't deserve a 10. I've already beaten it... and for me, that means it is a good game since I rarely beat games. It could be a testament to the simplicity of the controls (as the last game I beat was Prince of Persia). So i guess I should be docking it down a Great game, best superhero game ever. I don't hand out many 10's, and as this game isn't perfect, it doesn't deserve a 10. I've already beaten it... and for me, that means it is a good game since I rarely beat games. It could be a testament to the simplicity of the controls (as the last game I beat was Prince of Persia). So i guess I should be docking it down a couple of points? Either way, I love the game, and will continue to try and solve the riddler's clues and play the challenge maps. Expand
  85. RoniP.
    Sep 2, 2009
    9
    It was a great game, not perfect, but definetely rock solid. The game delivered the combat system and the predator gameplay with definite success, the story was glouriously written and stood by its comic counterparts, felt like actually reading a Batman story. The ending was amazing, definetly a first for big time fans of the bat. The conspiracy behind it was well perceived too and It was a great game, not perfect, but definetely rock solid. The game delivered the combat system and the predator gameplay with definite success, the story was glouriously written and stood by its comic counterparts, felt like actually reading a Batman story. The ending was amazing, definetly a first for big time fans of the bat. The conspiracy behind it was well perceived too and advanced the comic lore even further. It's pointless to point out flaws the game did not tryed to overcome, the game is well-rounded and a great experience, everything comes together just fine. Hoping to see a more in-depth detective system and the riddles explored even further next. Expand
  86. ObsidianP.
    Sep 3, 2009
    9
    What is so great about this is that it sets the stage for future Batman games. Imagine the next game with an open world in Gotham with the use of the Batmobile or even online co-op with one player as Batman and the other as Robin! After finishing this I am totally excited for the future.This was a dream come true for most of us and it can only get better! It sets the bar high for other What is so great about this is that it sets the stage for future Batman games. Imagine the next game with an open world in Gotham with the use of the Batmobile or even online co-op with one player as Batman and the other as Robin! After finishing this I am totally excited for the future.This was a dream come true for most of us and it can only get better! It sets the bar high for other super hero games. DC got this one right. Now its Marvels turn! Expand
  87. BrienH
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    The only reason this game does not get a perfect "10" is because it lacks replay value. In one go-through (with some minor back-pedaling), I was able to unlock everything. The challenge maps are fun, but playing them each through a single completion was enough for me. This minor flaw is incredibly overshadowed by the fact that B:AA is not only the best Batman game ever (not that big of a The only reason this game does not get a perfect "10" is because it lacks replay value. In one go-through (with some minor back-pedaling), I was able to unlock everything. The challenge maps are fun, but playing them each through a single completion was enough for me. This minor flaw is incredibly overshadowed by the fact that B:AA is not only the best Batman game ever (not that big of a feat), but also the best superhero game, ever (a tremendous feat). The gameplay really puts you in control of all of the Dark Knights best moves, and plenty more that the Rocksteady devs imagined for him. The DC Universe characters have never looked so good as in this game, and written by Dini (The Animated Series), they truly come to vibrant, maniacal life. If the sequel can add length to the campaign, and overall replay value, there's absolutely no reason it shouldn't be GOTY for 2010/2011. Expand
  88. AdamD
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    A truly outstanding achievement by Rocksteady. Not only is their attention to detail to Batman lore outstanding but it is evident they are also incredibly savvy when it comes to representing well known characters as video game avatars. Batman himself is an absolute revelation and whether it be the predator sections, the hand to hand combat sections or just getting around the map it just A truly outstanding achievement by Rocksteady. Not only is their attention to detail to Batman lore outstanding but it is evident they are also incredibly savvy when it comes to representing well known characters as video game avatars. Batman himself is an absolute revelation and whether it be the predator sections, the hand to hand combat sections or just getting around the map it just feels absolutely right and a joy to play. It's absolutely seamless too, if you have the balls you can mix up hand to hand with your predator skills and create your own fighting style. The choice of Arkham Asylum as the gaming world is also an inspired choice and not since Bioshock have we seen a world so steeped in history and loving attention to detail. The only reason this game doesn't get a perfect ten from me is that the game is over too soon leaving you with admittedly fond memories but also the aching sensation to play more. It's probably a merit to the developers that they're achieved that, and the game does not outstay it's welcome but for a £40 game it can easily be completed in a week. In fact I completed it twice, completed all the challenge maps and attained all the achievement points in that time. Overall, whether you buy it, rent it or borrow it, you really need to play this. Expand
  89. GioxL
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    Arkham Asylum is undoubtedly the best Batman game to date. If the studio can realize the game's setting in this form, I can only imagine what lengths they can go for a fully realized sandbox-style Gotham City. The look is appropriately eerie, its ambiance cold and terrifying, and its score is nearly as epic as that of The Dark Knight. The combat proves you can still do the popular Arkham Asylum is undoubtedly the best Batman game to date. If the studio can realize the game's setting in this form, I can only imagine what lengths they can go for a fully realized sandbox-style Gotham City. The look is appropriately eerie, its ambiance cold and terrifying, and its score is nearly as epic as that of The Dark Knight. The combat proves you can still do the popular 16-bit era "beat 'em up" and do it well. The only drawback for me is how unfitting Kevin Conroy's voice is for this particular Batman design. Besides that, it's fantastic. Expand
  90. OliverR
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is not re-inventing the genre, but what's there is incredibly good. Never has a superhero license been made into a better game than this. The developers really managed to get the spirit of the license right, integrated diverse gameplay mechanics in a perfect synergy and polished the presentation to perfection. Thats pretty much all you can ask! The characters Batman: Arkham Asylum is not re-inventing the genre, but what's there is incredibly good. Never has a superhero license been made into a better game than this. The developers really managed to get the spirit of the license right, integrated diverse gameplay mechanics in a perfect synergy and polished the presentation to perfection. Thats pretty much all you can ask! The characters are played brilliantly (with the Joker being my favourite. Well done, Mark Hamill!), graphics and sound are superb and the atmosphere is thrilling. If you like Max Payne and dig the Batman Universe, you wouldn't want to miss out on what might probably be the perfect game for you. Expand
  91. WillC
    Sep 2, 2009
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is sheer greatness from start to finish. Even without the Batman license this would have been a great game, but creating Batman's world around the gameplay makes a great game even better. The atmosphere is great and somehow makes backtracking fun. There is a great story, a slick script and wonderful voice acting (give Mark Hamill a medal) Its a shame there are Batman: Arkham Asylum is sheer greatness from start to finish. Even without the Batman license this would have been a great game, but creating Batman's world around the gameplay makes a great game even better. The atmosphere is great and somehow makes backtracking fun. There is a great story, a slick script and wonderful voice acting (give Mark Hamill a medal) Its a shame there are only 8 villains in the Asylum but the gameplay and atmosphere around them has been polished to a mirror shine. The Scarecrow chapter has to be the best (and creepiest) 15 minutes in gaming for a very long time and i was genuinly scared and immersed. I would rather have 8 very well executed villains then 20 rushed boss fights. (Besides, why use up all the villains now? Just wait for a sequel with new villains) The combat can get pretty easy and even with a map its easy to get lost but these are just nitpicks. All in all this is the Batman game we have been waiting for. It defines genre's. It defines games. Buy this game. Expand
  92. JamesD
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    Arkham Asylum is masterfully crafted with the Batman name, the graphics are excellent and the gameplay gives you a plethora options, a lot of care has gone into making this the first great batman game.
  93. TrevorB.
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Only gets a 9 because of some rough spots in the controls and game mechanics, and the lack of multiplayer or a co-op element. Other than that, this is quite possibly the best comic-based video game made to date and was a lot of fun to play through for all of the achievements.
  94. AkashK.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. Playing as Batman is an exhilarating experience. The story is sorta simple, it could've been a but more complicated. But I have to say that this is probably one of the best superhero games yet (top 5- this would be 2, next to Ultimate Alliance)!!!
  95. JamesT.
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    Without a doubt the best Batman game ever created and probably one of the best video games in the superhero genre. Finally, Batman has been done justice in video game form.
  96. BrentY.
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    ive noticed a few glitches here and there, however the overall game make you feel like batman, and thats enough. The roster is better then what i expected, but another a list villain wouldve been nice. the in game cutscenes sound great, but look terrible and thats the only true negative ive got about this game, however all the other cutscenes are wonderfully done, both audio and visual. ive noticed a few glitches here and there, however the overall game make you feel like batman, and thats enough. The roster is better then what i expected, but another a list villain wouldve been nice. the in game cutscenes sound great, but look terrible and thats the only true negative ive got about this game, however all the other cutscenes are wonderfully done, both audio and visual. the extra battles get boring, but the preditor ones are fun. also, as a little tip, play the game in hard, itll make you do a couple of retries, but normal with the caution prior to their attack is just too easy. Expand
  97. MatthewS.
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Best Comic book game ever only reason i gave it a 9 is i would to play as other players like Robin, Nightwing, or even Batgirl who is Oracle so idk how they would work that out?
  98. MarcB.
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Simply awesome. Coming from a game "snob", I have little time to spend on games. So, I need to choose my games carefully. This one stands out as the best super-hero game by an order of magnitude. The only reason it's not getting a 10 is because you need to keep "detective mode" on too much and cannot enjoy the wonderful coloring and graphics of Arkham.
  99. Chris
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Awesome game. One of the most complete game experiences I have had the pleasure to enjoy. If you are a batman fan, GET THIS GAME! You literally get to do everything you would want to do as batman. Great story, great fun, replayable (if you want to solve all the riddles, or just if you like to have fun). 9 /10
  100. SlimDWizKid
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    This is an absolute great game.You really do feel like The Dark Knight the whole way thru.From Fighting to detective work to gliding, swinging and,sneaking up on enemies,it's all here for you.Some of the camera 360 degree issues are a bit on the light side,but that's not the real problem.Some of the boss fights don't seem all that difficult,there rarely easy at times.The This is an absolute great game.You really do feel like The Dark Knight the whole way thru.From Fighting to detective work to gliding, swinging and,sneaking up on enemies,it's all here for you.Some of the camera 360 degree issues are a bit on the light side,but that's not the real problem.Some of the boss fights don't seem all that difficult,there rarely easy at times.The controls are very tight and on point with a free flowing combat system,this is more than a button mashing game.Instead of having multiplayer the game has a leaderboard challenge mode,where you can post your best scores,and times.But what stands out is the story.From start to finish you'll battle like hell and it shows,with Batman's ripped cape and armor shown as the game progresses.Another thing that stands out is the voice acting,Mark Hamill as The Joker and Kevin Conroy as Batman really make this game come to life.The music also plays a big part here from begining to end.Gameplay last anywhere from 10-12 hrs,and the graphics are amazing.If you're a Batman fan go get this game,it's money well spent. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. What may be one of Batman’s worst nights of his life may end up being one of many players’ best experiences of the year.
  2. This is certainly not a game for just Batman fans, comic fans or action fans; this is a game that everyone should play and thoroughly enjoy. It looks beautiful, plays like a dream and has a superb mix of action, stealth and detective elements. The combat is intuitive, flexible and surprisingly deep too. Give this game a go and you will not be pleasantly surprise, you will be blown away.
  3. Batman Arkham Asylum is a product of absolute value that can count on a cast of colorful characters to build a great game, really fun. The greatest strengths of the production lie in the gameplay built around what are the real capabilities of Batman, mixing action and stealth section, but always related with the universe from which have been extrapolated. Rocksteady's game is certainly the new standard for understanding how produce games under license, adapting for videogaming the very spirit of this historic character.