Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 878 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Batman: Arkham Asylum, the player assumes the role of Batman as he delivers The Joker to Arkham Asylum. There, the imprisoned super-villains have set a trap and an immersive combat gaming experience unfolds. With an original script penned by Emmy Award-winning Batman writer Paul Dini, the game brings the universe of DC Comics' detective to life with stunning graphics. Batman: Arkham Asylum offers players the chance to battle Gotham's worst villains with Batman's physical and psychological strength in a graphically distinct and story-driven game. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. 100
    Batman's trip to the asylum has hardly any flaws. The controls fit perfectly and the missions will entertain you every second you play this game. Buy it, play it, love it.
  2. Batman: Arkham Asylum is not just the best comic game ever, the game actually managed to rank high in our best games of all time list. Whichever system you own and regardless of your gaming budget, the Dark Knight’s latest adventure is not one to be missed.
  3. A phenomenal achievement, and I can’t wait to see what Rocksteady has in store next—personally, I’m hoping for a sequel set in Gotham City. Arkham Asylum is the kind of game you can’t stop playing, yet don’t ever want to end; it was almost a shame to have to review it, because I really wanted to take my time and enjoy every inch of Arkham Island.
  4. With fantastic voice acting, gorgeous graphics, and a well-written plot, what else could you want from a game? Great for hardcore Batmaniacs as well as gamers looking for a solid action/adventure game, I'm happy to declare Batman: Arkham Asylum as the best Batman game ever.
  5. Batman: Arkham Asylum isn't just for the fans: it delivers a great experience to all lovers of action games. The game effortlessly combines puzzle-, stealth- and fighting-elements. Arkham Asykum sets the new standard for future licensed games.
  6. While it’s slightly hurt by a few minor problems, Batman: Arkham Asylum rises above them to provide an unforgettable experience. Part of it is due to the well-crafted storyline, but it’s also due to the well-made gameplay that makes most things easy to do and certainly more than any Batman game released in the last 15 years.
  7. 80
    Batman: Arkham Asylum doesn't quite deliver on all of its big ideas, and thus dodges the highest of accolades, but its rousing peaks make its low points more than bearable. Its best moments of dazzling showmanship easily qualify as must-see entertainment, even if they're not sufficient to make the game as a whole a must-play.

See all 78 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 183
  1. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    awesomeness in a X360 box. great that they used the voices from the cartoon show and the joker being mark hamill. the game was awesome. enjoyed tha combat and it is not hard to execute combos. i like the upgrades to the equipment over time allowing new take downs and areas to be unlocked etc. Expand
  2. May 20, 2013
    10
    I just finished getting all of the achievements for this game. So, that means I have beat it on easy, normal, and hard modes, gotten 100% of riddles, and scored three medals on every combat and predator challenge. It took me a month to do all of this. I am an avid gamer- I play for about 4-5 hours per day and I only play one game at a time. For an OCD achievement person, like me, this is a really balanced set of achievements. I felt like playing the different difficulties was satisfying because they actually did get progressively harder- but not ever impossible.

    For the more casual gamer, looking for a simple review:

    Pros:
    Beautiful graphics
    Awesome storyline
    NO BUGS- which is quite an accomplishment
    Combat feels great

    Cons:
    Very linear
    Cannot drive any vehicles- hello Rocksteady- Batmobile?!
    Rewards not well matched for the challenge.
    Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    I really enjoy this game. I think this is first good game about Batman. Arkham asylum is a masterpiece, for graphics and for level design. Fight is easy to learn, but hard to master. Detective mode made it a little to easy, but generally game is awesome. Can't wait for more. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is a mammoth game, and one which comes extremely close to absolute perfection. In a genre dominated by big name releases such as Assassin's Creed, Uncharted and Dead Space, it's unique to see a small game developer based in London, develop one of the best games in recent memory. Rocksteady Studios have definitely established themselves as a top-tier British game developer, alongside the likes of Codemasters, Lionhead Studios and Rare. Batman: Arkham Asylum is practically oozing quality, in everything from its gameplay, to animations, to story and characters, and much more. What's really special though, is how the game makes you feel like Batman - things like the FreeFlow combat system, Gadgets, and stealth gameplay empowers the player in a way other games simply don't. After playing the game for a few hours, it becomes quickly clear that Rocksteady revere the Batman universe like any passionate fan, and they've gone as far to craft their own, unique interpretation of the characters and fiction. The art in Batman: Arkham Asylum is truly stunning, with each character lovingly detailed, while the voice-acting is definitely some of the best I've heard in a long while. The only downside of the game lies in the Boss Battles, as they do get repetitive, but overall, they barely dampen the incredible experience the game offers. Overall, Batman: Arkham Asylum is the ultimate Batman experience, which any fan of the comic-book character should have - in fact, any fan of games should have. Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    A game that truly makes you feel like Batman. You have access to Batman's cool gadgets and combat skills in a game that features one of the best Batman stories of all time. With a lengthy campaign and plenty of bonus content to keep you coming back, this is enough to satisfy even the most demanding of Dark Knight fans. I'm just going to come out and say it, if you are a Batman fan and have not yet played this game then you need to asap.

    The game's story is amazing and filled to the brim with references to the Dark Knight's length history. Casual Batman fans will find plenty of recognizable faces, but the hardcore fans will be in for a real treat thanks to the constant references to obscure villains and other characters from the comics. My only complaint with the story is that some of the characters voice acting can come across as way too cheesy. You have several fantastic voice actors from the animated series reprising their roles who do a fantastic job, but then you have the occasional goofy voice actor who seems like a weird choice for the character and is at odds with the more mature story being told here. The voice actors of Killer Croc and Warden Sharp are the worst offenders. Still this is a minor issue and doesn't really detract from the excellent story.

    Gameplay is finely tuned. The combat system here is excellent and truly makes you feel like the awesome combatant that Batman is. Excellent puzzles, boss battles, and exploration make this game an absolute blast. I love how new areas of the game open up as you gain new gadgets. The game also features surprisingly fun challenge modes and is one of the few games I've actually felt the need to find every collectible there is. Some minor camera and control responsiveness issues can show up from time to time, but for the most part everything is top-notch and shows an extremely high level of quality.

    Like I said before if you have ever considered yourself a Batman fan then this is a must play. Batman hasn't been known for starring in good video games, but this is one of those titles that changes that rep. It provides hours of high-quality content that will make it hard to put down your controller. Heck, even if you aren't a Batman fan you should give this game a try.
    Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    The graphics aren't as good as the PC version, and the controls in combat are much more difficult and restricted compared to keyboard and mouse, but other than that this game is definitely among the best Xbox 360 games. The combat, the collectibles, the characters, the stealth, the gadgets and the challenge modes are all so innovative and executed flawlessly that it's easily a game to recommend to anyone regardless of their tastes in video games. What I love about the collectibles is that you can easily find them all without looking them up, yet you still have to work to get them. They're also quite fun to go for due to the variety. The achievements are done very well. Everything you do you get an achievement for, and there are no silly pointless ones. This game is just so high quality, so solid, so recommendable and so innovative. The only downside in my opinion is that it's a little too repetitive and lacks variety. The story is also REALLY BAD. Overall, Arkham Asylum is definitely a strong game with few flaws, however those that have played Arkham City or the PC version will find this to be a step backwards, and less enjoyable. If you've not played this game or Arkham City before, I can pretty much guarantee that you will not be dissapointed with this premium title. Expand
  7. Sep 3, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is wildly overrated, in that everyone seems to think that running around a bafflingly linear environment while mashing the 'X' button during combat is somehow fun. There is no point to any of the combat, or combos, or weapon use, because it's all just part of a redundant routine that plays out exactly the same no matter how many enemies you fight. What's more, some sequences are designed to kill you at least 30 times, requiring you to play the same five minutes over and over again until the AI lets you get lucky. The point I stuffed it back in the box was the time when I walked into a room with six gun thugs and booby-trapped gargoyles, thereby ensuring total failure and unlimited amount of times. This is not fun, and I don't see how anyone could possibly find it fun. Expand

See all 183 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.