User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1218 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    I loved Arkham Asylum and now I really love Arkham City! The Batman experience is captured masterfully in this superb game. Wield all of Batman's gadgets as you glide over the streets of Arkham City taming the wild criminals that make it their home. Fight criminals like Dr. Freeze, Joker, Clay-Face, Harley, Penguin, and many more. The game offers impressive graphics as well as good character models. Rocksteady brings the Batman world to life in this legendary game. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    Presentation: 10/10 How do you make a sequel to the game that did everything right, setting the bar for what a comic book game could be? Add more. More challenges, more villains, more gadgets, more options, more places to go, more things to do. This is Arkham Asylum x10! A true Batman sim and the greatest game I've played in a long time. Gameplay: 9/10 Once you get used to the controls, gliding through the city, performing silent takedowns and taking on a dozen thugs at once is second nature and tons of fun. As for the environment, it's Gotham City. A piece of it anyway. As you have seen is in the comics, movies, and animation. It's Batman's play ground and every alleyway, overpass, and roof top feels the way it's supposed to. You are Batman. Graphics: 9/10 Beautiful and dark in a dirty way. The city looks and feels like it's seen better days and that's a good thing. It rains and snows in places as spotlights scan the night sky and it all looks so saturated in the Unreal Engine sheen. Texture pop-in is rare but present but when everything looks as it should it's easy to forget. Sound: 10/10 Countering a thug with his own baseball bat makes an expected crack, that's just one example that comes to mind. Sounds are never recycled and there a hundreds of them. Voice acting is some of the best in any video game and the music is moody and appropriate for Batman with obvious nods to Tim Burtons 1989 score and Hans Zimmer's latest from the Nolan films. Value: 10/10 The side missions alone feel like there own game. If the developer was greedy they could have cut this game into 3rds. They could have sold the main story for $60 and the others as DLC and you would still be getting your moneys worth just the base game with it's collectables and challenge maps. The new game plus, upgrades, and achievements make sure that the game isn't over just because you finished the main story line. You could sink a good 15 hours in your first play through without collecting a single Riddler trophy or trying your skills in a challenge map. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    The best comic book game of all time hands down, it continues on the story and expands the universe introducing a number of new characters whilst maintaining the personal stories of the old ones
  4. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Arkham city is an amazing game that reinnovates and reillustrates the traditional batman games that were out years ago, it is great, even for the people who would rather not watch man dressed in a tight, most probably latex bat suit. The action is great and non super hero fans will love this game
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    My review is a review of this game, but it is also for anyone who has never played Batman: Arkham Asylum first..........I'm going to try to stay away from what's been said ad naseum here, but a little may be repetetive, to sum up: Batman: Arkham City is the best game I have ever played. this review is for us casual gamers, that likes to try something new, or loves Batman, or is trying out highly scored titles, like me. I have never played an open world, or sandbox, game like it. The visuals and voice acting is unparalleled (mark hamill as joker, and he's amazing? are u kidding me?!!?), the flying around, grappling, was amazing, and once you get the hang of it is fun in and of itself. However, to me the golden goose of the game, besides the Dark Knight himself, is the combat. And by combat, I don't just mean combat style, but the weapons and tools you get to work with in these combats, not to mention the interesting combos and perks earned. I LOVE the combat style. What some have called button mashing is actually a free flow artistic dance that rewards you for timing of your hits and counters more than anything, I can say that anyone saying the combat is too simplistic would be saying that it is too difficult to master had it been a little more developed. Now, getting to my two points that i havent seen made that clearly need to be: 1. DO NOT, as a casual gamer or otherwise, play Asylum after playing City and think that it will be a similarly entertaining experience, because unfortunately it won't be, at all. If i were to give Asylum a grade, it would be lower than it's worth for the sole reason that I am comparing it to City, and that isn't right at all, it is the sequel's job to improve on the predecessor. I am saddened by the fact that because of what I played first Asylum felt like a completely watered down version of City. (It amazes me what was upgraded,polished, and refined in less than two years! I'm sorry, but anyone saying they are in the same league are almost as crazy as those saying that Asylum was better) and 2. COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE DLC PACKS: dlc's are almost single handedly ruining the gaming experience. We know this. It's bad enough we pay 60 dollars a game......but they are leaving things out of games now just to get more money from us, and that is every game, and we as gamers need to do the only thing we can do: stop buying games we are completely unsure of enjoying or wanting. DLC needs to stop, or made into gifts given as u get better or go farther in games. HAVING SAID THAT: this is not a game where complaints can be made concerning dlc!!!! Why? because the game is the best I've ever played even without a single DLC, and the game is not hampered at all by not having a DLC, and it is in this exact game that i say 'bring on the DLC for more and more fun at a price thats deserving! Any other game I would say stop making DLC and use that time and money to make better games, better consoles, and better UI.
    Summary: Arkham City is the best game of the year, but do yourself a favor if you haven't played either and play Asylum first, you will probably love and appreciate both.
    Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    9
    Words cannot describe the fun and excitement that I had playing Batman Arkham City. An already amazing predecessor and even better sequel. Let me begin with the graphics. They are exceptionally well designed from top to bottom. Not a single time I looked around and found something that I didn't like. The gameplay. A little sketchy at some points to be honest because the gadgets are sometimes a pain to get to in time of need and at certain times, overall movement isn't all that responsive. But believe me, the game makes up with everything else for these stupid little things that I'm pointing out. Through out the campaign, the game does a great job keeping you busy with secondary missions and side objectives while the game progresses. A nice way to keep you entertained without finishing the campaign in 2 - 3 days (general time I complete the base story for a game). Batman: Arkham City does a relatively good job keeping you entertained and on track with the story with the story, but I find myself walking through the same hallways over and over again during a primary objective. But like I said the game always makes up for it afterwards. Arkham City blew my mind, it's not good, it's not really good. It's amazing. It's Batman: Arkham City. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Overrated and overhyped. I expected much more from a game that so many claimed would be game of the year. The campaign quickly becomes repetitive and has done little to move forward from Arkham Asylum. It brings nothing new to the table aside from the expansion into a city. All this expansion has done, however, is made it easier to draw comparisons between Arkham City and Assassins Creed, with Assassins Creed doing the job much better and well before. The only truly enjoyable part of the game was the Riddler's side missions. If this game receives anywhere near the number of accolades it's predecessor did then it shall be a great misjustice. Expand
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    By, far the best superhero game ever created. Rocksteady clearly knows the trick, and my only advice for them is to run with it. This game perfects the ideas introduced by Arkham Asylum and at the same time it introduces bigger and even more ambitious ideas. A truly fantastic game from start to finish.
  9. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Wow, I am out of words on how fantastic this game was. It not only fixes every fault of the first game, but adds more fun things. Arkham City is huge and you can explore it at your own will whenever you want. There are many collectibles to be found such as the riddler trophies. This game is definitely an example of what superhero games should be like. The story is very interesting with many twists and turns. Once you finish the game it is not over as the world is loitered with hundreds of side quests, and even once you finish them you can still travel around the city and fight thugs. The gadgets are a blast to use. The riddle challenges and maps are very fun. Catwoman missions are extremely fun and traveling around the world while playing her is also a blast. This games graphics are breathtaking. Batman Arkham City is one of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  10. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Arkham City is the essential Batman game, incorporating perfectly the characters, themes and style of the comics and films. It expands on its predecessor in every way. The story is more exciting and fast paced, with plenty of characters but never feeling overstuffed. Voice acting and great writing bring these characters to life and give them their own unique spin. The combat is similar but improved and more varied. Its greatest achievement is making you feel like you really are Batman. The stealth is excellent and the gadgets lead to creative ways of remaining hidden. The game has an insane amount of replay value thanks to the challenge maps and Riddler trophies. Definitely one of the best games of 2011. Expand
  11. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    got this game just a few days after it was released. I never had Arkham Asylum or even the demo so didn't have a clue what to expect. I had never bought a game before purely off reviews due to the fact that if I did I could make a mistake. However with this game when I saw gameplay I thought it looked, average. I decided to buy it with some spare money and it actually turned out to be one of the best games I have ever played. The graphics are up-to-date and the story is so magnetic you can't stay away from it. Due to buying this game I ended up buying Arkham Asylum and you can clearly see the improvements from Arkham Asylum. The map feels fun to explore and Rocksteady have clearly put a lot of effort into this production. If you are pondering whether to buy this game, buy it or rent it, don't hesitate. The only bad thing I would say is that the story just isn't that long. If you really wanted to you could finish the story in a day but I do not think that is such a bad thing due to the pure quality and atmosphere that this story brings to your homes so I have to rate this game a 10 Expand
  12. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    superb game in almost every aspect, the aspect this game really lacks in is the level design, i have never been forced to watch youtube so much as i did playing through this game. sometimes its impossible to find certain things throughout the game. other then that, splended visualls, voiceacting and gameplay. this game is solid and its guarenteed you will have a blast, batman fan or not.
  13. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Arkham city has so much content that will keep you coming back for months, but i did came across some glitches on accident, but those are minor nitpicks, I have been wanting to play this game for a long time. The ending is one of the best i have seen, and i expected no less from paul dini. A 10/10, go buy this game. Expand
  14. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    I'll rarely give out a 10 star rating but this games amazing. from game play to voice acting, its real good. I don't know why people gave it such a low grade other than they don't know games. anyways, awesome game, highly recommend
  15. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    I don't often dish out praise like this, but this game is phenomenal. Everything that was good about Arkham Asylum is back and, somehow, even better. Like it's predecessor, AC's core gameplay balances combat, stealth, exploration, and detective skills perfectly. In addition, Arkham City offers a lot of cool new gadgets, tougher enemies, and a way bigger sandbox to play in. I've been playing this game for over a month, and I'm still enjoying it (an extreme rarity, due in part to the lack of original ideas new games offer, and in part to my own short attention span). I'm actually finding it hard to find anything to complain about. The only thing that comes to mind is that Rocksteady may have gone a bit overboard on the Riddler challenges this time (440?!), as I'm still not done finding them all. I do wish that the refresh rate on the smoke pellet was a bit quicker, and that it had it's own quick-button combination (when under fire, you can simply hit Y, but when facing any other enemies you have to manually select it and hit LT+RB to drop it). Other reviews I've read have complained about the boss battles being too easy, but I actually had a tough time with both Mr. Freeze and Two-Face (for the latter, the endlessly spawning henchmen is a bit of a cop-out, Rocksteady). Other than that, it would have been nice to free-roam as Robin or Nightwing, but this is not a big deal.

    I recommend Arkham City for anyone who likes action-adventure games, stealth-based combat games, or games based on comic books. If you enjoyed Arkham Asylum, you will absolutely love Arkham City. If you never played AA, you missed out on an awesome game, but AC is great place to jump back in. The only question now is where will Rocksteady take Batman next...?
    Expand
  16. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    An outstanding game that features epic scale and dramatic scope. It has a bit of a learning curve in terms of control and gameplay, but the narrative is strong and the production design is outstanding. As someone who finished the game and has claimed the Riddler Rewards, I should have stopped at the end of the original campaign. It's a major time consumer to solve the Riddles and get all of the Rewards. It's a highly rewarding game experience, that could have used a touch of more emotional pull. Batman kicks ass, but the depth could have made this near perfect. Expand
  17. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    I feel it improved from the first game but it also featured a lot more problems. The world is bigger and because of it there is lag and a very noticeable drop in frame-rates when you get to certain areas. I liked how great the environments look and how every character has dropped their bodybuilder look for something more original. There are a ton more challenge maps ,which is good and annoying, that are a lot tougher to complete. A ton more riddler challenges as well (which I love doing) that are a lot harder then the first game.

    There are a ton of new bosses in the game. Although i hated how the boss fights were over almost as soon as they started (literally one punch for some of them), It took away from what made the first game so good (a few bosses but all with their original boss fights).

    Overall, I liked it almost as much as the first game but it didnt really capture me the way the first game did.
    Expand
  18. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is a big advancement from the original. With many many things to do other than just the story plot, AC is one of my favorite super hero games of all time. If you are a batman fan of any kind, you need to pick up this game. All of Batman biggest enemies are in the game, and some might even surprise you. Even if you're not a fan of batman, you need to pick up this game. I wasn't a fan of batman, until I played both games. Take my word for it. Expand
  19. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This is the best under-M rated game of the year (the best M-rated is Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim). Not only is this the best superhero game ever, but the most intuitive and mind-racking game that challenges you to use your wits with an arsenal of improved and new gadgets from Batman: Arkham Asylum. To be honest, I had never heard of Rocksteady Studios before Batman: Arkham Asylum, but now I'm like, "Why hadn't I heard of this before?!" Oh, and one last thing: It runs on Unreal Technology. YAY!!!! Expand
  20. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Rocksteady went through a hell of a lot of work to bring this one. Batman: Arkham City is essentially Batman: Arkham Asylum on steroids, with a bigger world, side content besides picking up trophies, and an amazing story. Firstly, the game play. As with Arkham Asylum, Batman will be going from hand-to-hand combat against thugs, and criminals, and stealth based game play against armed men,both of which employ a variety of gadgets, and strategies to overcome the intimidating odds. While that was the majority of Arkham Asylum, this time around Batman has even more gadgets, and a massive open world to run around in. Before, the transitions between combat, and stealth were obvious, but Arkham City does this with smooth transitions, that unless prepared for it doesn't appear as a change at all. This serves to create a very believable environment, adding to the realistic, grittiness of the game, which is one of the reasons Arkham Asylum was so popular. As well as this, for this instalment, Batman is not the only playable character as a very attractive, and curvy Catwoman is playable for a few missions of the game, and indefinitely once the story is completed and a "free play" mode is possible. While this serves for a change in game play (slight, but still refreshing), it also serves to feed all the hormone pumped geeks, like myself, hungry for some virtual boob. The game is also stunning in the graphical, and sound department. I encountered no obvious game bugs, or glitches during my playthrough, a very shocking, and unlikely thing to occur in an open world game. The voice acting, like the the last game is spectacular with the voices from the last game such as Mark Hamill, aka Luke Skywalker the most notable, being The Joker. As well as that, there is a ton of content in the form of radio communication, and audio tapes that do nothing, but add to the amount of basis on the original Batman comics. Now with all the good there must also be some bad. Many of the added features, such as the new gadgets are unnecessary beyond the one or two puzzles they're needed for, and one can still easily make it through the game without many of the upgrades you can get. That being said however, the game does have a significant amount of upgrades for Batman, and very few for Catwoman, making it apparent that she was not put into the game beyond the occasional switch up to keep interest, and another selling point. My biggest gripe however is the addition of downloadable characters. Catwoman, Robin, and Nightwing all can be currently bought, and used in the challenge mode of the game, but that's it. Robin does make an appearance in the campaign of the game, but both him and Nightwing are only usable for a quick combat or stealth section of the challenge mode, making them again just an addition for more money to be made. This is a huge disappointment to me as I would have enjoying roaming the entirety of Arkham City as either Robin, or Nightwing, and onto that, why bother have Robin appear in the game at all if he wasn't going to do anything? But I digress, Batman: Arkham City is by far a fantastic game, and had a fantastic... well everything. A game with such a emphasis on the original comics, with such entertaining content, and riveting story make it a must buy. A well deserved 9, and indeed almost a perfect score. Expand
  21. Jan 2, 2012
    8
    I love every bit of this game, I didn't run into any bugs or anything, but the playtime is just too small. I mean the main storyline. Of course there are challenges and stuff, but that's just a filler already rather than another game mode. Very dissapointed with the gameplay time.
  22. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    Easily one of the best games of 2011, the voice acting and characters alone set this apart from most of everything else from 2011. I personally felt that Arkham Asylum got a bit too repetitive and this one was no better. However the story and everything that revolved around that really makes this a great game, if for nothing else than to hear Mark Hamill perform his final performance of the Joker. The ending is great and I feel that everyone should play this if just to see how things turn out for our favorite bat. A couple of issues I saw were that Catwoman's story, a major part of the game, is not available from the start. You need to download it and good luck if you buy this used. Playing her story will cost you 10 more bucks, which means you should just buy it new until the price goes down if you want to experience the full story. Another thing I didn't like was the fact that pretty much 90% of the available side missions in the game were just to collect Riddler trophies. I expected something more when they said there would be hours of side missions to do. I did not want to waste around 8-9 hours of my life on a glorified fetch quest. Other than those things, this is a must play. Whether you want to experience the catwoman part of the story is completely up to you as it's not totally necessary to enjoy this game but you will miss out on alot if you don't play it. Expand
  23. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham Asylum was almost perfect, but Batman Arkham City was the perfect sequel!! It has fantastic graphics; memorable villains; a bigger world to explore; there are more than hard riddles to complete, but challenges; you can control Catwoman in her own story mode; DLCs with Robin and Nightwing are great, but could have a story mode for them too; Batman is still a hero, he doesn't kill anyone; we don't get tired to play it again and again; this game marked 2011 forever, and we will still play it till the other game to be released!! Thank you Rocksteady, for this great and fun game, you certainly deserve all the prices you've won!!! Expand
  24. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Arkham City has a lot of pressure to deliver, as Batman: Arkham Asylum was one of the best games of the generation. And in almost every way, Arkham City delivers. Pretty much every villain ever, lots of wonderful new toys, genius Predator maps. In fact, once you really get into Arkham City, there's no returning to Arkham Asylum. You get so good with these new tools, AA's Batman feels ill-suited to the job. The story isn't quite as tight as Asylum's however, with villains in their many not fulfilling their potential. The ending is also fairly weak besides the very last gasp: a shocker that changes Batman himself. But, overall Arkham City is a super sequel, and improves on the previous game in almost every way. Expand
  25. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    A really great game. Pros: Fantastic Graphics
    Great storyline
    Tons of side quests
    Amazing gameplay

    Cons: Expected a larger environment from all of the hype
    Irritated by the ammount of dlc downloads.
    I think the skins should be unlockable instead of dlc.
  26. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Arkham Asylum was fun because it reminded the world why Batman is awesome. Fighting rooms full of thugs, stealthing armed thugs, and having full access to Batman's toys was the name of the game, and it was undeniably fun. Arkham City took everything we loved in the old game and made it better. Expanded combat options, more techniques to use against armed guards, and even more toys are all present, but of course that's not all. The linearity of the old game was completely removed in favor of a sandbox full of sidequests, collectibles, and tons of bad guys. top that off with an excellent story with a dynamite ending, and you have a game that is worthy of being owned and praised by gamers for years to come. Expand
  27. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Since the creation of gaming, Superhero games have all suffered the same treatment of cheap, short, repetitve games which struggle to keep even the most casual of gamers hooked. That was until 2009s Batman Arkham Asylum. The in depth and truth in the characters created the greatest superhero game of that decade. So, the sequel was under a lot of pressure to be great, and undeniably, it is 10x much more than that! Who knew that to create the game with the most in-depth characters would be from a superhero game? The story is probaly the weakest aspect of the game nd even that alone alone deserves a rating of 9. The combat is as great as ever with a host of new moves. There are new moves and now sub-missions to fit the larger scope of the urban playground. And there is the return of riddles (hoorah)! I would put this up there with the customisation of Skyrim and the addictiveness of MW3 as one of the greatest games of the is year. Enjoy! Expand
  28. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Batman: Arkham City is one of the best, if not the best, video games of 2011 and probably one of the top games ever. Arkham City continues the story (and success) of Batman: Arkham Asylum, with the Mayor creating an Arkham City for the biggest criminals of Gotham City. Seeing villains like the Joker, Doctor Strange, Mr. Freeze (who possesses one of the best boss fights ever!), Two-Face, Poison Ivy, Penguin, and Ra's al Ghul was really fun, though I would have liked it if some of the villains to have a little more screen time (i.e. Two-Face, Mad-Hatter, etc.). Catwoman as a playable character (as well as Robin and Nightwing in DLC) was a really good addition for the game as she possesses a unique set of moves. The gameplay is smoother than ever as gaining combos is easier as you can continue combos even when you counter. The stealth gameplay is even better than before as with the new items and the upgrades you have gained. The collectables and challenges have increased in quantity, thus making this game bigger than Asylum. Overall, this was a great game that improves pretty much everything from the first game. Expand
  29. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    Great game. The only downside is the lack of endgame content theres not much to do after you've completed the story and theres no incentive to carry on playing but when youre in the full swing of the story you'll fall in love with this game! Stunning graphics too!
  30. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    This game is great. The visuals, gameplay, story, and characters are great. I wish some of the other villains had more screen time, but it all adheres to the DC Universe quite well. I'm playing through for a second time, and I found a ton of stuff that I missed the first time. It's a linear open world, but I like games with a story to be a little bit linear. Overall great game.
  31. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    Honestly this game is far too overrated, if your a fan of batman then ok it's the game for you. But as I am not that, I am a gamer and as a gamer I think Batman Arkham City is not a good game, the story is far too simple and predictable. The combat is un-pollished button mashing and there is far to little content to be worth buying, along with them trying to charge you extra for skins. From Arkham asylum not much gameplay content has been added, and the free roam is doesn't really suit this genre. The characters in this game are all over the place, and what rocksteady should have done is expanded more on each of the villains rather than making batman jump from place to place with no real drive, this would have also helped with the fact that you can finnish the game in only a few hours. This game is repetitive, clunky and overrated. The lack of content, and horrible story are by far the greatest let downs. Expand
  32. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    WwowW: Ask and ye shall receive!!! I just reviewed Batman: Arkham City a few days ago and one of my comments was that it would have "been nice to change outfits within the main game (I got tired of running around in a dirty, shredded out uniform!!!)''. Now Rocksteady has not only given us gamers a free dlc Batman, Inc. uniform to wear, but also made each of Batman's dlc costumes available for wear during the regular gameplay campaign too (not just in the challenge mode). No more "running around in a dirty, shredded out uniform"! Another request of mine, the Batcave, has also been made accessible via dlc (for Challenge mode only)!! VERY NICE, Rocksteady!!! Kudos!!! This game keeps getting better and better!! Expand
  33. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    I may not be the biggest superhero fan but this game is incredible the graphics the dlc the side missons and of course catwoman This game needs the catwoman opening because thats how the game should really kicked off
  34. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    It's definitely an awesome game, and I had a lot of fun with it, but i felt it was too short and mildly easy. Sure, new game plus makes things harder but It was really a case of been there done that, I'm not one for replaying games personally, there's too many other awesome games out there to be going over old ground again. Don't even get me started on the DLC, I payed nearly a $100.00 Australian for my copy and then I have to pay more for content that really should have been included initially, how much money do you need you greedy c*nts? I couldn't believe when i finished it, i thought i was maybe halfway through and then it ended on what I thought was a fairly unmemorable boss fight. I found the side quests to be a little bland as well. All in all its a rad game, I just don't feel the value for money is there for a single player game. Bang for Buck? Skyrim all the way. Expand
  35. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Great story, great sound, great voice acting and most importantly great to play. It just didnt last long enough for me. Hopefully we can get some DLC to extend the life of this because id love to have a reason to go back to Arkham City
  36. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Batman: Arkham City is a very good game. It's not great such as a Batman: Arkham Asylum, but this sequel is maybe one of the best games of 2011.It wasn't made for money. It was made for gamers and players. I really recommend this game.
  37. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    This game is a solid 8. I got bored at first with the fighting mechanic, pretty much the same as was in the first one. What really makes the game great is the environment, the developers did a great job making a big world with tons of references to the Batman mythos. The story and voice acting really are stellar, and add in a big way to this game!
  38. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Arkham City took everything I loved about Asylum and blew it out of the water! Instead of confined corridors, Batman now has an entire city full of charismatic villains played by top notch actors, beautiful graphics, a great score, excellent gameplay and lots of re-playability! My definite GOTY!
  39. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    A Stellar sequel to an already stellar game , Batman : Arkham City once again captivates and mesmerizes with its ever-faithful portrayal of the titular character and cements itself as one of the most entertaining adventures of 2011 .
  40. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    "Arkham Asylum" is as close to to a masterpiece as video-games get for me, and this isn't. The atmospheres are nearly identical, and there's not much new to do. Occasionally very fun (the flying sequence), but disappointing.
  41. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    I've been playing video games since about 1992 and this is hands down the best video game I've ever played. If you consider yourself and avid gamer you are seriously missing out if you don't buy this game.
  42. Dec 8, 2011
    7
    Arkham City is a fun and a worth while single player game but is not the masterpiece many claim. I enjoyed the open world of Arkham city and found gliding and fighting around at my own leisure fun for a time. The environmental graphics are good, batman also looks good with a great animating cape. The story has a few moments but did not surprise me at all and ends up being completely unbelievable even for a cartoon which is unacceptable for a claimed 'masterpiece'. The combat is good and feels unique (much improved from Arkham Asylum being more fluid and giving the player more options in combat). Most of the Batman franchise is over used in the game with too many villains that are just there for the sake of it without much use or need. unfortunately as its a franchise Batman will never really learn any real lessons about crime or criminals and there never will be an end to Batman's troubles, batman is never going to die which destroys any suspense of danger, he will never totally defeat his enemies either, Joker will always come back again and again and again which does water down the any story's significance. Recommened. Expand
  43. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Overall Arkham City is Arkham Asylum only bigger, better, more polished and well deserving of the 9 out of 10 score I was going to give it ... until I reached the ending. Like a good anecdote which should gradually build into a joke deserving of the prolonged build up the game was building up nicely only for the punch line to be forgotten to the disappointment of those whom had been gripped only to be let down at the finale. The ending was such a disappointment for me that I verbally exclaimed "WTF? Bull!"Â Expand
  44. Dec 4, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is not better than AA except for a few places. I really hope they take a break from Batman and do something else otherwise I fear the next game will kill this otherwise good series.

    The pluses: area is bigger, the side missions are generally fun, the combat is slightly better, the story is more interesting for the most part.

    The negatives: the ending is horrible (reminds me of the X-Men series), the pit battle is so anti-batman that it is just plain stupid, the AR missions (you're on a tight timeline, you get some new gear and...you do training in the middle of a prison), the riddle puzzles force you to use techniques that you'll never, ever use elsewhere just to show off the mechanisms, catwoman parts, robin's appearance.

    I don't understand why publishers feel that movie, comic, TV show writers are bragging points when it comes to a game's narrative. The medias are different. AC has one of the stupider endings I've played in a long time.

    I also think they went way overboard on the combat stuff this time. I think they were trying to show off or something. The combat just didn't feel as fun in AC.

    Overall it is still a good game but not better than AA. I just hope they don't try to continue the series anytime soon because the next one will probably suck.
    Expand
  45. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Arkham City has everything you want in a game; exciting storyline, good combat, free roaming and plenty of side missions. On top of this put battle arenas, riddles and some exceptionable voice acting, this has everything you could want in a game. Whether a fan of Batman or not, buy this game!
  46. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is by far my top contender for game of the year. The Freeflow combat system was so much fun. It is one of those combate systems that is easy to learn, but hard to master. The story was completely faithful to batman fans, the characters are all voiced by ther respective actors,(except harley quinn and catwoman) and it feels like I am actually batman. Of course this is my review for the original Arkham, but they made it some much bigger with so much more stuff to do. Although the dialogue is a little bit more cheesy than the original. If I could give this game and 11, I would. Call of duty: Modern Warfare 3 can kiss Batmans Caped ass. Expand
  47. Nov 28, 2011
    5
    Reason:
    Like Everyone says game is nothing but a free roam sandbox, well i understand this

    but why is Assassins Creed Revelations is rated 79 if games are all the same with previous series ?
  48. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Combat is satisfying and uniquely rhythmic, as it was in Arkham Asylum, but additional combat moves make free-flow the best melee combat gameplay in any recent game. The additional take-downs and gadgets make predator far more interesting too. The biggest change, however, is the gliding system, which makes navigating the beautifully rendered city a lot of fun. The voice acting is phenomenal, aside from the fact that all the thugs seem to be played by the same 3 voice actors. My only other complaint is that many characters did not get the time they deserved. Expand
  49. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Arkham City is great game, the graphics are second to none, the acting is oscar worthy, the game play is just fun. Everything that is Batman is depicted in this game and the one before it. Rocksteady studios is doing a great job and I will pay attention to any future releases they have coming out. They are a really hard working team that really puts their all into a project. You can see how much care was put into every detail of this game, and it goes to show hard work pays off. Expand
  50. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    after playing arkham asylum i was looking forward to the second installment,i bought the game with high hopes and i was not dissapointed,the story is excellent and the end is mind-blowing!the riddler challenges are life-consuming finding all 400 isn't easy,but it's not like collecting hidden packages from gta,they are fun to get!the only flaw is that once you complete the game,all that's left is the riddler challenge maps,which are good but get boring fast.excellent game but boring after completion. Expand
  51. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    just a awesome game. nothing else i can really say. great buy. beat the campaign and still have tons of more to do. if your debating on getting it, just do it.
  52. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    "Batman: Arkham City" is an amazing game that is just flat-out fun and interesting, most definately one of the best games of 2011. Arkham City is bigger and better than Arkham Asylum. The graphics and voicework is amazing and top-notch, Arkham City feels alive and breathing, you have so much exploration and so much to do in Arkham City that you will be long entertained. The plot is pretty awesome too as the plot is now much more than just trying to stop the Joker from escaping. The gameplay is perfect as always with the combat staying the same, I love Arkham City's combat controls as it makes combat intuitive and fun. There are many riddler challenges all accross the map and it is very addicting to do them. Arkham City is a mega-hit game that doesn't fail to entertain. The only flaw I see with Arkham City is that one too many villains were in the story and so some villains did not get as much spotlight as they should have but this is a tiny flaw compared to the rest of the game, nothing to damamge the experience. Overal, Arkham City is a great game that is absolutely worth playing, possibly the Game of 2011. If you like Arkham Asylum then you will definately love Arkham City. Breakdown for "Batman: Arkham City": Presentation: 9.8, Graphics: 10, Sound: 10, Playability: 10, Lasting Appeal: 9.7, Verdict: 9.8 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  53. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Batman Arkham City doesn't just do Batman justice, it does him perfection. From the incredible story, to the fully realized open world of Arkham City, Batman has never looked nor played so well, and this game truly shows it. Rocksteady Studios has once again outdone themselves, best they move on to Superman now.
  54. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    batman arkham ciry is full game in story/sound /gameplay/design and ...if you love batman this game has it all. all kinds of famous batman characters are here you name it joker, two face, catwoman, bane, penguin, even less popular characters like dead shot are in it. the world you explore is HUGE and theres tons of content. there were times when i just couldn't stay on the main path because there were so many side quests. one involved helping bane, another involved tracking down a killer through phone signals. all the gadgets form the last game are here and there are new ones too. the story is great there is tons of fan service. my only small complaint is that the stealth sections can be really frustrating. on hard mode guns kill you in like 3 hits and i know the game is just trying to be challenging but i cant help but feel its a bit ridiculous that batman( wearing high tech armor) can be killed with a few bullets...and trust me this will lead to extreme frustrations every now and then Expand
  55. Nov 24, 2011
    3
    At first this game was AMAZING through about the first 3rd of it was fun. And then it dropped. A lot. It became repetitive and annoying. After completing this game I was furious after playing Asylum and loving it this was the biggest disappointment of my gaming history there was nothing what made you feel like batman. I played most side mission and augmented reality's and they made the game worse they were stale and tedious. The only reason im not giving this a 0 is because of the combat what was the only thing done well. if they spent more time perfecting the story and length this would be a flawless 10. Expand
  56. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is sweet on the eyes, and even sweeter on anyone who has the most basic grasp on the DC universe. It's bigger in terms of sheer size, content and entertainment value than its' predecessor - and if you'd believe it: even darker and grittier than Arkham Asylum. Amidst turf wars, a race against time on Batman's personal level and the many challenges found within the game, there's a constant sense of urgency. As it should be. While a great game, it sometimes feel as if some of the many challenge modes and smaller challenges are discreetly put aside, in favor of the main story. Add to that, that while there's a bundle of alternate characters and costumes, only a select few are available in more than a few modes of gameplay... It came off as lazy. 9/10 Expand
  57. Nov 23, 2011
    4
    This game is a joke, I can complete it within 10 minutes and the story line isn't even that good. If you want to play a game for BEGINNGERS and KIDS play this game, but for SERIOUS GAMERS this isn't even worth the time. Don't waste the time on it unless you're either a kid or a beginner to gaming.
  58. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I have just played a complete playthrough of this game, it took 6 minutes for me, a serious gamer to complete. If you want a game that is for BEGINNERS and KIDS, then waste your momney on this, if however, you are a serious gamer like me buy a game like big rigs otrr, bf3 or skyrim
  59. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    A really fun adventure through the Batman universe with a great twist ending! Once again Rocksteady Studios nails it! The combat has been improved with cool new tricks for Batman as well as new gadgets. There are far more villains to take down and not to mention the ability to play as Catwoman which adds a new twist on things! Mark Hamel also does a spectacular job playing the Joker. Actually most of the voice cast does a great job voicing the heroes and villains. There are some unpolished character models and areas and at times it feels like they put too many villains in for you to wrap your head around. Either way this is the best superhero game to date! Expand
  60. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    What can I say that hasn't already been said? The storyline is awesome. The graphics and gameplay are impressive. The game is worth every penny. I will be playing this game over and over for quite some time.
  61. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Very good gameplay, I enjoyed the storyline as well. The fighting is very smooth, but tends to be the same thing over and over again. I do like how it incorporates most if not all the villains. Better than the first which is good and a def must have for most gamers.
  62. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Great game the story was good and i found it easier to follow doing the side missions after the main story. the combat was smooth but i never found myself using any quickfire gadgets except for the batclaw. some of the riddler challenges were challenging until you thought of it like a detective. a lot of the Super-criminals received the short end of the stick but others were perfect. the beginning and the ending were fantastic and moving around the city was great once I got gliding down and it fit in perfectly for Batman and if i got tired of it i would zip-line around. I felt like i actually had a boss battle something that hasn't worked for me in along time. The riddler was probably the most satisfying enemy because i really felt like i had to work for it. if you don't like collecting things don't but i thought it worked greatly. I am a bit of an achievement hunter and was looking forward to collecting all of them when i noticed that one you have to have Robin which i didnt preorder and you have to buy Nightwing which doesn't seem fair those achievements should have been downloaded after you downloaded the characters. Just a minor setback for a fantastic game definitely one of the need to buy games of the year even if you don't like Batman because i didn't really care for it until I played Arkham Asylum and i have learned that Batman is the best super hero because he doesn't have superpower. Amazing follow up to an amazing original Rocksteady keep up the great work Expand
  63. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    This game was great. Was a step up from Arkham Asylum. Wonderfully written story and plenty of the Batman universe to go around. I would recommend renting it unless your a Die Hard Batman fan.

    My first review was reset to 10 when I wanted to give this an 8.
  64. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is the best game of 2011 for sure and probably one of the best Xbox 360 titles ever. The Arkham series have created a perfect adaptation of Batman pulling from his roots as a detective and a crime fighter rather than an action hero. The combat is great and I love the aspect of looking for clues and solving riddles. I truly feel that I am button mashing with a purpose in this game. This game is packed full of content (i beat the game and am only 40% done), the graphics are pretty good, game play is almost perfect (a little stiff sometimes) and the characters and story is fun and keeps you interested. 100% Recommend this one. Expand
  65. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is amazing! The bosses, the story, the surprises and the fighting in a open world! I don't want to tell you much or ill rune the game for you. This is how you change a game so its not repetitive like the first and still keep the heart of the original. The only fault I see in the game is the fighting, its decent but something feels off at lest for Arkham city. Catwomen I could of done without. Don't get me wrong she was fun to try however in the end she wasn't necessary. I would pass on the DLC's your not missing much. I would say not only the best batman game out there, but best story as well, The game reminds me of the animated series and makes The Dark Knight not so epic after all. In order to love this game you have to love The Dark Knight and the Animated series. If you love both of those you will see what Arkham city built and why this is the best superhero game ever. Arkham asylum was a horror story two different styles of games, get over it change is good people, your there reason why we have **** remakes of movies ;). P.S don't skip the credits surprise! Expand
  66. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best experiences I have ever played. It is as amazing as the first time I played through FFVII. Batman is hands down my favorite super hero of all time and that definitely added to experience. The game starts out with a bang and just gets the player feeling the rush of gliding through the city. Combat is once again just fluent as can be with some awesome additions to the combos and gadgets. Graphics were outstanding from every alley way to every building top. The story was amazing and showed how this is its own take on Batman while still keeping true to source materials. What blew my mind was the ability for them to weave so many villains into the game without it feeling like it was forced presence. The way Batman allied with villains for a mutual gain was amazing. I loved the whole side mission involving Jervis. The surprise villain at the end was jawdropping for me. Bottom line with the way Nightwing and Robin got their own playable challenge maps I would love to see mini campaigns that involved both that would tie them into the next game. Expand
  67. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a batman fans dream. There is so much stuff in this game that is ridiculous. The main story is awesome. There are surprises and shocking moments. They touch on every major batman villain in some way. Easter eggs all over the place for players to discover.
  68. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    So i gave Skyrim a 9, and that makes me want to give this game a 9...after all both games have a few problems. But looking back on my experience playing AC, i just couldnt put it down until i finished the game. The story and setting are just that good. Now the story does stumble here and there but overall its just awesome! Gameplay is some of the best of this generation. Hope this helped!
  69. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. I enjoy the combat, the story and use of gadgets and more advanced riddler challenges. The open world is also fun to explore. With all that being said, I have a big problem with this game, and it's not just me. Some peoples game data is being deleted on xbox 360 versions of the game. If it was just happening to me, then I wouldn't put it in the review, but because it is happening to many people, i see it as a major flaw in the game. I put many hours into this game and now I have to start from the beginning and make a back up save data just in case this happens again. I hope they can fix this problem soon because I really do enjoy this game. Expand
  70. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. WOW. What a freaking blast! Batman:AA redefined what it meant to be Batman, This game only improves upon the format. Excellent in every way. Including some of the more memorable villians in Batman's rogues gallery was a great move, and the only complaint I have is that Bats never really got to beat the crap out of two-face, and left that to catwoman. SPOILER ALERT ***** Joker dying, and Batman walking out through the gates of the city with him in his arms.... EPIC. Expand
  71. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is my Game of the Year! it has an amazing story with some amazing side missions. If you liked the first game, then you'll love this one. it brings back the epic combat from arkham asylum, and and adds the free-roam capability. also, if you don't feel like playing the story mode there are other modes that you can play. you can either play as batman or catwoman in riddlers revenge. which pretty much you beating up a whole bunch of bad guys during each wave. also there are dlc for the game. there is the nightwing and the robin dlc. overall, this game is amazing. you need to get it! Expand
  72. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Arkham city takes the same successful game and builds on it. Rocksteady deserves a large pat on the back as they deliver a stunning game I will never forget. From the exciting start to the unforgettable ending and credits, the game is always exciting. My only complaints are that the story is too short, and some villains are thrown in there for no reason. Other than that, the graphics, and the voice acting are perfect. Every villains presence is exciting and batman shows his true colors as gothams hero. The flaws are unnoticable from how much fun you will be having, go buy this game NOW. If you are readying this rocksteady, thank you for a classic game that will go down in history. Expand
  73. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love this game. I've been a huge Batman fan all my life, and this is the perfect game for any fans out there who want to feel what it is like to be Batman. The campaign has a decent length, the side missions and Riddler challenges are abundant, and the voice acting is superb. Hopefully Rocksteady can give us another great Bats game in the next view years, or maybe give another hero that has been plagued by bad games a chance *cough* Superman *cough* Expand
  74. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I have to say coming into this game I had very high hopes for it I loved Arkham Asylum and with the exception of two little parts mediocre boss fights and the end it was a near perfect game. It improves upon the previous game immensely. the sheer size alone is aw inspiring when you first set your eyes on Arkham City it can be a tad overwhelming but the first time I grappled along the rooftops and started zipping along the city taking out thugs and finding those freaking riddlers trophies I felt right at home as Batman. The voice acting of all the major players is top notch and the story is pretty seamless and flowing. Yes you can do the plethora of side quests along side the main one but I did find myself always getting drawn back into the main story line wondering what happened next and who I would run into next. I won't spoil anything but its hard not to run into some bat villain either main stream or obscure to the bat universe. The boss fights are more varied and a much improvement over the last game and the ending just wow which is all I will say. After the game is done there was still plenty of to do and finish up. My only real criticisms of the game is are minor ones but its what keeps the game from being a 10 in my opinion. The catwoman stages are not bad but they feel a bit tacked on and detract a little bit from the main story and that last part is a giant pain in the rear. The only part is those Riddler trophies I have about 1/2 of them complete but kinda lost the desire to finish them off its just a tad overwhelming. But that aside the whole game is a complete package and a must play for any Batfan Expand
  75. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game from start to finish. It is packed with tons of content from the main story, to 440 riddles to solve, along with many exciting side missions, that will leave you wanting for more. Once you beat the game, you can play it again on the new game plus, which makes it much more exciting. The combat challenges are a blast! You can play as Batman, Catwoman, Nightwing, and Robin. If you are looking for a game that has lasting appeal, and fun action-packed content, Batman Arkham City is the game for you. Rocksteady created yet another amazing game. THIS IS A MUST PLAY GAME. Expand
  76. Nov 18, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I cannot, understand how this game has been rated so high. It is clearly a step backward from Asylum for variety of reasons. The storyline is poorly developed, at the game's onset you hear about Protocol 10, then promptly spend the next several hours doing nothing about it. When it all goes down, the end comes quickly and without much excitement. They cram as many villains as they can into the game, which I felt took away from the story. It felt forced, jumping from freeze to penguin to joker to Ras to twoface to mundy to Harly to ivy to clayface to the most annoying riddler to listen to in the history of the riddler. The City is maddening to go through. Did you play Spidermsn 2 with all of the swinging through New York? This was the exact same, except with a grappling hook. It was tedious, repetitive, choppy, and constantly interrupted by snipers, 'political prisoner assaults', phone calls from the Joker (which were sometimes entertaining), and so on. In my opinion, Batman was 'off' throughout the game. His actions, threats, demeanor, and total lack of emotion when two prominent characters die is maddening. He's stiff and inhuman. It's almost like they tried too hard to make Batman more tough and awesome...well, he's Batman and doesn't need the help. Playing as Catwoman is overrated. It's mostly repitition of tasks to find a Riddler trophy, which adds time to the game, but it's meaningless time. Inmates talking about 'getting with Catwoman' gets old, and it's constant. Combat takes a step backward too. There are countless gadgets that serve little purpose, and numerous new enemy types that frustrate and un-fun combat. The game has an excellent soundtrack and I was very impressed by the graphical design of the City. For me though, the terrible story, choppy travel and combat, and different demeanor Batman make this a game to pass on. There are out-of-story challenges and an interesting 'new game plus' option, but I was so frustrated by the game on my first play through I think I'll pass and send this straight to eBay. If you are a fan of the TV show 'Lost', the Joker does have a great reference kind of bashing the show that got me to laugh out loud...unfortunately, that's really the best thing I can say about the game. Expand
  77. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt the most entertaining and rewarding game I have ever played. For a comicbook and videogame nerd, this game hit all the right marks and left me wanting more.
  78. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Its bigger but not better. The game features a rather noticeable drop in frame rate in some areas, Boss fights are short and make poor uses of good characters, The campaign (including main and side missions) are rather short as well. It doesnt have the same addictive feel that the previous game had either. Its a good game but not as great as the previous one.
  79. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City has got to be _the_ most immersive, engaging video game I have ever played through. After finishing, there were actually chills and tears over the storyline. Several times, I was actually stunned at the plot twists. The ending left me without longing... except for a sequel.
  80. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    I've been waiting for this game ever since I completed Arkham asylum which is over 2 years. And I can say that it is an excellent game in every aspect. The game length can be as long as you want it to be because there are so many side missions. You dont have to complete them but if you dont then you miss out on A LOT of the story. An example is the Riddler missions, I missed them out completely on my 1st play though... and missed out on the story. My only complaints with the game and the reason I gave it 9 not 10 is because I was dissapointed with the ending, the game seems to just end with no indication as to weather or not there will be a 3rd game. Also I miss the Scarecrow... He was fantastic in Arkham asylum. Expand
  81. KON
    Nov 17, 2011
    9
    The game is all good and has free roam optional. Besides the intense graphics and the higher video requirements, I daresay this game is indeed an upgrade from the previous Batman-Arkham Asylum.
    High end PC gamers can take huge advantage of this game from CUDA and Phys-X as well. Although
    Campaign seems to be a lot longer than the previous game and the intensity of the game brings you

    straight into the story.
    Expand
  82. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    I loved Batman Arkham Asylum, but my only problem with the game was the story was just to short, and I'm afraid to say that Arkham City is exactly the same. With the game being bigger the story is a little longer but not as long as I would of liked. Side Missions are great fun and are a welcome distraction to the main story, Catwoman's story blends nicely into the game making it seamless, sometimes DLC can be a little cut and paste and doesn't make much sense. I would highly recommend this game to anyone who loved Arkham Asylum and players new to the franchise.... Good work Rocksteady when's the next one :-) Expand
  83. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    I won't go over all the thecnical aspects of the game or how fun it is cause it's all been said already. I will just say one thing tho : don't beleive all the hype, it's a good game, but not the best you've ever played
  84. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Got the game yesterday and instantly love it! I enjoyed the first game and found myself playing for hours on end, but im even more impressed with the follow up and find myself losing all track of time whilst playing. Overall a fantastic sequel and i hope there's more to come!
  85. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Batman Arkham City is a well-executed game that doesn't diverge from it's predecessor too much. I'll start off with the good, as there is plenty of it. The game's overall concept is innovative and created relatively high expectations. For the most part, these expectations were met. The award-winning combat system is back and the addition of new gadgets, combos, and new characters is enough to evolve this feature. There are plenty of characters in this game, which some pop out of nowhere as a surprise, which keeps the excitement rolling. There is plenty of gameplay, with the addition of side-missions, Riddler's Revenge, other characters' campaigns, etcs. The game's drawbacks are quite noticable to a veteran gamer. The story is sloppy and will make you question Batman's decision-making abilities. The overall experience may be fun, but you'll soon realize that Arkham City is quite small, and it becomes extremely formulaic beyond the main story. While there are more things to do than in Arkham Asylum, it's not too far off from being AA 1.5, which means this game cannot be considered revolutionary. That title belongs to AA. The graphics are sub-par and nothing to be excited about. If you've been gaming on this gen since the start (back in 2005), then you're probably begging for a new generation to pop up already. Perhaps some sort of innovative multiplayer may have boosted the score to a 9. Assassin's Creed did this, which ended up being a huge success. In sum, if you enjoyed AA, you'll enjoy this game too. Luckily, Rocksteady will most likely put off Batman 3 until next gen, which will hopefully feature all of Gotham City. Expand
  86. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    All the facts in this game are 10/10 Graphics, sound, gameplay, story, everything is great... but i set 9 cause i wanted more and more and more... but main story was kinda short to me.
  87. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    It can be hard to top a previous game that became such a mega hit, especially on a franchise that has never produced a "good game." But dear God they did it! At first I was unsure if this game could survive in a sandbox world, but everything felt just as motivated as Arkham Asylum. The story, the voice acting (*insert slow clap here for Mark Hamil*), the combat, it all feels perfect. I will warn you, just like Assassin's Creed, this game does suffer from "collect-too-many-ingame-items-itus" (to the point that it wants you to collect over 400 trophies to continue an optional story line). But if you're into that kind of game mechanic to lengthen your gameplay, then by all means, play on! Overall; a great title, a great story, and I look forward to anymore story driven DLC that comes out! Expand
  88. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best Super Hero games of all time gets an even better sequel. Batman: Arkham City had a lot of hype to live up to and it delivers big time. The story is not only excellent but it is one of the best Batman stories told and that includes the comics. The voice acting once again is superb thanks to the great cast of actors including Mark Hamill (Joker) and Kevin Conroy (Batman). Graphically the game is refined over its predecessor and Arkham Asylum was a great looking game. The musical score is fantastic as it transitions between a light moody track to an intense orchestral piece flawlessly and at the right moments. Now the most important thing about a game is the game play and Arkham City takes an already intuitive combat system and adds more to it. Chaining combos and using gadgets has never felt so satisfying and perfect. There's nothing like taking on a dozen enemies and being able to handle them without a single problem only to finish them off with a takedown. But that's not the only thing that is great about the gameplay. Gliding around the immense city is handled in a way that it feels natural. Being able to move swiftly and engage in combat as well as puzzles is both fun and it makes you feel like The Dark Knight himself. Arkham City also gives you the Ability to play as Catwoman. She is playable for a few missions during the main story and she has her own challenge mode. Now this is probably the only complain I might have against the game but after moving around the city with Batman, Catwoman feels somewhat limited and it makes for some weird things that you didn't want. One example was when I was trying to solve a puzzle but due to her limited mobility I ended up landing on top of a building with armed guards who in return shot me to death. But as limited as her movements are while moving around the city her combat is still very good, even though she has less gadgets than Batman she can still hold her own against any number of enemies. Overall Batman: Arkham City is not only a fantastic game but one of the best of the year. Rocksteady set out to outdo themselves over Arkhan Asylum and they accomplished it brilliantly. Where Rocksteady and Batman go from here is not yet clear but now they have an even bigger challenge ahead and if they show the same passion and care they did with Arkham City I'm sure they will be successful. Expand
  89. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    It's Batman. In Gotham City (At least a large part of it) And it has Mark Hamill's swan song (seemingly) of the Clown Prince of Crime. If you love video games, if you love comic video games, and most of all, if you love the goddam batman, than I don't need to explain why this game is so damn good, just see for yourself. BUY IT.
  90. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    A truly stunning game that is a completely worthy sequel to the amazing Arkham Asylum. What the story lacks in focus is made up for with a huge amount of content and detail within the city itself. This game also contains the best sub-quests of any game because they feel like whole plots within themselves. A massive lifespan and stunning looks makes this game a must buy.
  91. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This game simply is a fantastic and flawless follow up to Arkham Asylum. We as gamers sometimes take for granted how difficult it is to follow up one of the best games produced for any platform. In Batman: Arkham City, Rocksteady has done an incredible job. A few new features have been added. New gadgets give you an array of choices when fending off enemies. If you played the previous game, gliding and grappling has a similar feel but features a new way to attack foes and to navigate the immense city. The combat "free flow" system is once again near perfection and crushing foes to senseless piles of meat never gets old. The voice acting is superb as was the first. I certainly am going to miss Mark Hamill (aka Luke Skywalker) as he said that this is his last voice act for The Joker. Here is a pretty cool vid I found on youtube on his Joker voice acting. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gBWpWwIBKw. He's phenomenal as are Quinn, Strange, Catwoman and the others. The story is engrossing, addictive and keeps your interest with worthwhile side missions that gently divert you from the main story. It is extremely easy however to refocus to the main story at any time. Boss fights are challenging but somewhat predictable at any difficulty and the new "game plus" mode will challenge the most experienced gamers skills. The online "challenge modes" are a little repetitive as you fight waves of enemies. It is good however to hone in your hand to hand combat skills. This game has a monster amount of Riddler trophies that make you use your noggin, some of them are extremely difficult to solve but are extremely rewarding once you solve them. In conclusion this game will immerse you with it's genius storytelling, voice acting, free flow combat system, graphics and game mechanics. A genuine GOTY contender and a must play! Expand
  92. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Great story, stellar voice cast, and brilliant setting, Arkham Asylum was one of the sleeper hits of 2009, and Rocksteady showing once more they can make it with the big boys. This game is a must for any gamer, not just comic junkie, loads of variety, and hard to put down, my only complaint is that they could have made the world slightly bigger, as opening upgrades means you can get across it a little too quick, but the future is bright for this franchise.. Expand
  93. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    loved the first one and this is an even better version of that. More areas to explore and cool enhancements, a must have game for any xbox owner. The combat alone is worth the price of entry alone. It is so fluid and fun just bashing people with their own bats or throwing a smoke pellet and flee from incoming bullets. A great game with a great story !
  94. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The greatest game of the year hands down. I still cannot believe how great it was and the way they delt with mark hamills finishing of his career brought a teat to my eye like how toy story 3 did
  95. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Arkham City takes many aspects of Asylum, and improves them substantially. The combat has been refined ever so slightly to make the free flow even better, and there are more gadgets to play with this time around. the setting of Arkham City is reasonable immersing and the visuals are very nice. Voice acting is phenomenal with the Joker stealing the show. However, the story this time through doesn't feel as engrossing. Much of the time while playing it, I felt like the devs were giving me objectives to do just to fill up gameplay time without any actual substantive meaning. In fact, the majority of the game had to do with the same mission and inconveniences that kept hampering Batman's progress which the player has to play an hour more to overcome. On the contrary, Arkham Asylum had a brilliant sense of pacing and discovery, and nothing felt repetitive.

    Overall, City is a good sequel to Asylum in terms of gameplay, visuals, and voice acting, but lacks the great pacing and intrigue of the first game's story.
    Expand
  96. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This game was amazing this is 10times better than arkham asylum the map was bigger the graphics were amazing the gameplay was phenomenal only thing that let's it down is replay value you do not get the same feeling it feels completely different overall amazing
  97. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Do yourself a favor. Buy this game. So much fun. Combat is amazing when you get really good at it. I was amazing at arkham asylum, so the new enemy types really add a new degree of challenge. Love this game.
  98. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    After playing Arkham Asylum, I had high expectations for Arkham City. All were met as Arkham City is better than its predecessor in all ways. First off, flying is amazing! With a pull of the right trigger, you dive down and gain speed. When you pull up, that speed is transferred into forward momentum. After getting the grapnel boost upgrade, experienced flyers can fly indefinitely. The story? It's full of twist, turns, and not to mention cameos from Batman's old friends. Catwoman is playable, however she doesn't steal the show. My only issue is that if you buy B:AC used, you have to pony up $10 to play as her. She has her own arsenal of weapons, and is definitely fun to play as. The story is fairly short, but not only is there a new game +, there's a whole lot of side missions! Most are easy, but the Riddler's side mission will take quite a while. Not only are there 400 trophies/challenges, but he has 5 hostages hidden all over Arkham for you to save. Once you finish that, there are a multitude of "campaigns" to play through (Essentially the challenge maps from AA). A must buy, as well as a GOTY contender. Keep it up Rocksteady! Expand
  99. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The best game I've played this year so far. The game has a brilliant and engaging storyline, tons of gadgets, a fight system that has been refined and so many great characters from the universe that it truly is remarkable. For me to give something a 10 is a pretty big deal, I don't throw them around. But this game is addictive, immersing, clever, beautiful and huge. The main story is a little brief but with what feels like a thousand side missions it makes it feel so much bigger. The addition of Catwoman is great, she is unique and has her own little story. Though this is where my only gripe with the game is. She feels a little bit tagged on, her story is way too short, she has no gadgets worth anything except her whip. Her combat though is way smoother and faster than Batman's which makes her combat enjoyable. Her stealth element is so frustrating at times, so in respect to Catwoman more of her in every way.

    But Batman is perfected, he is better than ever and considering this is Batman's story all credit goes to the game for making Batman so perfect. Now I'm gonna go glide around the city, as I have perfected how to do it and its so much fun!
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    95
    Improved gameplay, new mechanics, and an even stronger story denote whether you care about Batman or not, it's still a game worthy of your time. With some easter eggs possibly hinting at plots for a third game, let's hope Rocksteady isn't quite done with the Dark Knight.
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    Arkham City handles its side-stories gloriously. [Christmas 2011, p.102]
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.