User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1327 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    Picking up a few months after the original title former Arkham Asylum warden Hugo Strange now reigns over a territory within Gotham known as Arkham City. Unfortunately criminals and super villains have been allowed to run free and so it is up to Batman to step in and take control. Arkham Asylum took many people by surprise and fans of the first game will be immediately at home here.Picking up a few months after the original title former Arkham Asylum warden Hugo Strange now reigns over a territory within Gotham known as Arkham City. Unfortunately criminals and super villains have been allowed to run free and so it is up to Batman to step in and take control. Arkham Asylum took many people by surprise and fans of the first game will be immediately at home here. Rocksteady have retained the core gameplay that was so successful. Combat remains fast and fluid and with a wealth of new counters, some of which allow you to take on multiple enemies at once, as well greater variety of enemy types there is now far more diversity between different bouts.

    The much hyped 'open world' acts more like a hub between different locations than a true open world like Liberty City but is for the most part a welcome addition. Side missions pop-up and can be accessed at any time and while the main campaign can be completed in well under eight hours these will keep you going for a far while longer. One minor criticism of the more open world is that the game does not always make it clear exactly how you are supposed to access certain areas which can lead to some frustrating back tracking at times.

    Outside the main game the challenge maps also return offering the chance to earn medals and a place on the Xbox Live leaderboards and this all makes Arkham City a thoroughly enjoyable return to the world of Batman even if it is not the revolution that the original was.
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    As good as the first game. I could even say it is better at times, but the only reason I don't rate it higher than the first game is because it handle more or less the same and adds very little new to the gameplay. Think about it, aside from the Catwoman sections, Batman more or less can do everything he did in the first game with a few small additions. There are more villains in thisAs good as the first game. I could even say it is better at times, but the only reason I don't rate it higher than the first game is because it handle more or less the same and adds very little new to the gameplay. Think about it, aside from the Catwoman sections, Batman more or less can do everything he did in the first game with a few small additions. There are more villains in this game, but also they feel not as well flushed out as they were in the first game. Overall: A fantastic game that improves upon the first game but doesn't add too much new. Expand
  3. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. You feel like you are really batman. The controls in this game are superb. Better than any batman movie ive ever seen.
  4. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    I feel it improved from the first game but it also featured a lot more problems. The world is bigger and because of it there is lag and a very noticeable drop in frame-rates when you get to certain areas. I liked how great the environments look and how every character has dropped their bodybuilder look for something more original. There are a ton more challenge maps ,which is good andI feel it improved from the first game but it also featured a lot more problems. The world is bigger and because of it there is lag and a very noticeable drop in frame-rates when you get to certain areas. I liked how great the environments look and how every character has dropped their bodybuilder look for something more original. There are a ton more challenge maps ,which is good and annoying, that are a lot tougher to complete. A ton more riddler challenges as well (which I love doing) that are a lot harder then the first game.

    There are a ton of new bosses in the game. Although i hated how the boss fights were over almost as soon as they started (literally one punch for some of them), It took away from what made the first game so good (a few bosses but all with their original boss fights).

    Overall, I liked it almost as much as the first game but it didnt really capture me the way the first game did.
    Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Its bigger but not better. The game features a rather noticeable drop in frame rate in some areas, Boss fights are short and make poor uses of good characters, The campaign (including main and side missions) are rather short as well. It doesnt have the same addictive feel that the previous game had either. Its a good game but not as great as the previous one.
  6. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    Easily one of the best games of 2011, the voice acting and characters alone set this apart from most of everything else from 2011. I personally felt that Arkham Asylum got a bit too repetitive and this one was no better. However the story and everything that revolved around that really makes this a great game, if for nothing else than to hear Mark Hamill perform his final performance ofEasily one of the best games of 2011, the voice acting and characters alone set this apart from most of everything else from 2011. I personally felt that Arkham Asylum got a bit too repetitive and this one was no better. However the story and everything that revolved around that really makes this a great game, if for nothing else than to hear Mark Hamill perform his final performance of the Joker. The ending is great and I feel that everyone should play this if just to see how things turn out for our favorite bat. A couple of issues I saw were that Catwoman's story, a major part of the game, is not available from the start. You need to download it and good luck if you buy this used. Playing her story will cost you 10 more bucks, which means you should just buy it new until the price goes down if you want to experience the full story. Another thing I didn't like was the fact that pretty much 90% of the available side missions in the game were just to collect Riddler trophies. I expected something more when they said there would be hours of side missions to do. I did not want to waste around 8-9 hours of my life on a glorified fetch quest. Other than those things, this is a must play. Whether you want to experience the catwoman part of the story is completely up to you as it's not totally necessary to enjoy this game but you will miss out on alot if you don't play it. Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    One of the best superhero video game of all time is back, and this time it offers a more vastly bigger environment. Great action, superb controls (with a little bit of a learning curve) and superb production values are staples. What makes it the best super hero game series is its ability to make the player 'become' the Dark Knight himself. Highly recommended.
  8. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Arkham City is the sequel to the 2009 hit Arkham Asylum. As we've seen in the past, most notably the Ultimate Alliance series, Superhero sequels have bright spots, but fall short of the predecessor. Arkham City laugh at that though. With a great voice cast, great expanded side missions, and of course, great characters and story, Arkham City set the bar for superhero games. It will be aArkham City is the sequel to the 2009 hit Arkham Asylum. As we've seen in the past, most notably the Ultimate Alliance series, Superhero sequels have bright spots, but fall short of the predecessor. Arkham City laugh at that though. With a great voice cast, great expanded side missions, and of course, great characters and story, Arkham City set the bar for superhero games. It will be a while before we see a game as good as this. Or at least, until Arkham Origins comes out. Expand
  9. Dec 8, 2011
    7
    Arkham City is a fun and a worth while single player game but is not the masterpiece many claim. I enjoyed the open world of Arkham city and found gliding and fighting around at my own leisure fun for a time. The environmental graphics are good, batman also looks good with a great animating cape. The story has a few moments but did not surprise me at all and ends up being completelyArkham City is a fun and a worth while single player game but is not the masterpiece many claim. I enjoyed the open world of Arkham city and found gliding and fighting around at my own leisure fun for a time. The environmental graphics are good, batman also looks good with a great animating cape. The story has a few moments but did not surprise me at all and ends up being completely unbelievable even for a cartoon which is unacceptable for a claimed 'masterpiece'. The combat is good and feels unique (much improved from Arkham Asylum being more fluid and giving the player more options in combat). Most of the Batman franchise is over used in the game with too many villains that are just there for the sake of it without much use or need. unfortunately as its a franchise Batman will never really learn any real lessons about crime or criminals and there never will be an end to Batman's troubles, batman is never going to die which destroys any suspense of danger, he will never totally defeat his enemies either, Joker will always come back again and again and again which does water down the any story's significance. Recommened. Expand
  10. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Arkham City is the essential Batman game, incorporating perfectly the characters, themes and style of the comics and films. It expands on its predecessor in every way. The story is more exciting and fast paced, with plenty of characters but never feeling overstuffed. Voice acting and great writing bring these characters to life and give them their own unique spin. The combat is similar butArkham City is the essential Batman game, incorporating perfectly the characters, themes and style of the comics and films. It expands on its predecessor in every way. The story is more exciting and fast paced, with plenty of characters but never feeling overstuffed. Voice acting and great writing bring these characters to life and give them their own unique spin. The combat is similar but improved and more varied. Its greatest achievement is making you feel like you really are Batman. The stealth is excellent and the gadgets lead to creative ways of remaining hidden. The game has an insane amount of replay value thanks to the challenge maps and Riddler trophies. Definitely one of the best games of 2011. Expand
  11. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Batman Arkham City was amazing game by far the best superhero game of all time, even better than Batman Arkham Asylum which was amazing. The story line was fantastic. Many bad guys in it. Rider challenges are fun as hell and a supprise at the end. Campain 9/10 Rider challenges 9/10 Batman Arkham City 9.8/10
  12. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    this game is pretty much the same from the first game (batman arkham asylum), the only difference is that this game is all the greater good, all systems were improved and the game has a better story, it is enough to give a perfect score the batman arkham city.
  13. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Arkham City is a very good game that builds upon the foundation of the first game. The open world elements are all nicely implemented and the combat is smoother. Really, if you like Batman or action games, you can't go wrong with this game.
  14. May 26, 2012
    9
    Batman Arkham City is no doubt the best superhero game of all time, and one of the best video games of 2011. Every fight is an intense battle that you will never want to end. The game features everything you would want to do if you were Batman. With a storyline full of twists and turns, action unparallelled in the world of video games, and epic boss fights. Even when you select Easy,Batman Arkham City is no doubt the best superhero game of all time, and one of the best video games of 2011. Every fight is an intense battle that you will never want to end. The game features everything you would want to do if you were Batman. With a storyline full of twists and turns, action unparallelled in the world of video games, and epic boss fights. Even when you select Easy, Arkham City is still very challenging. Anyone that has either a PS3 of an Xbox 360 should get the game. Expand
  15. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    The best thing about the game is the fact that the map is bigger and their is more to do, sadly that is also the biggest issue i have with the game, it just feels so goddamn overwhelming in fact it can be at times so overwhelming that i feel like im about to be sick, seriously though i can only play this game for s certain amount of time without feeling sick, still captures the sameThe best thing about the game is the fact that the map is bigger and their is more to do, sadly that is also the biggest issue i have with the game, it just feels so goddamn overwhelming in fact it can be at times so overwhelming that i feel like im about to be sick, seriously though i can only play this game for s certain amount of time without feeling sick, still captures the same experience of the first game and the story is captivating and interesting, and very UN predictable yet because everything feels like a big fat man is throwing stuff at you the game gets very overwhelming Expand
  16. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    I'm gonna keep this review short and snappy. If you have money, buy this game. I hate superhero games, and dislike batman in general (except for the riddler) but this game is on another level, very very good.
  17. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Arkham City is a bigger and better game than its already excellent predecessor.The game is absolutely filled with things to do and the new open world nature of AC is a blessing.There are almost too many upgrades,gadgets and secrets in the game and trying to remember combos is a challenging,but welcome,exercise in hand-eye coordination at times.Adding to a decent length campaign areArkham City is a bigger and better game than its already excellent predecessor.The game is absolutely filled with things to do and the new open world nature of AC is a blessing.There are almost too many upgrades,gadgets and secrets in the game and trying to remember combos is a challenging,but welcome,exercise in hand-eye coordination at times.Adding to a decent length campaign are hundreds of Riddler challenges,numerous side missions,balloon popping,dive bombing,challenge maps and a short,fun stint as Catwoman.Amazing... Expand
  18. Oct 5, 2012
    7
    It's a short story, so it may not be worth the full $60 for you. But half that price and its worth your money. The story itself is only about 20% of the game while the rest makes up with a few side quests without any boss fights. Then the other 60% of the game is scavenger hunts for Riddler's question marks or racing from one phone booth to another. Now I'm not a plan of the precisionIt's a short story, so it may not be worth the full $60 for you. But half that price and its worth your money. The story itself is only about 20% of the game while the rest makes up with a few side quests without any boss fights. Then the other 60% of the game is scavenger hunts for Riddler's question marks or racing from one phone booth to another. Now I'm not a plan of the precision platforming games where there is only one way to move from one linear area to another, unless the developers find a way to not make this the main part of the game. With an Arkham city to roam in, it feels more like a sandbox game with only the precision platforming interruptions when you have to enter the buildings for your quest. The big plus in this game compared to the first is that your Batman can finally knock weapons out of the enemies hands. Thank you! Plus you don't have just one attack button to mash anymore, but more like two buttons to mash plus a couple of combo moves tossed in. It's a shame that the extra characters of Catwoman, Robin, and Nightwing are paid dlc because that would have made this a more awesome game and more than just an eight hour storyline. Expand
  19. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    I have already reviewed most of the games I have played this year so far so I thought I would go back and review a few games I played a year or two ago.
    Batman Arkham City is the awesome sequel to the then best superhero game of all time Batman Arkham Asylum. Is this game better than Arkham Asylum? Yes it is, Arkham City improves on all most everything that needed improving from the first
    I have already reviewed most of the games I have played this year so far so I thought I would go back and review a few games I played a year or two ago.
    Batman Arkham City is the awesome sequel to the then best superhero game of all time Batman Arkham Asylum. Is this game better than Arkham Asylum? Yes it is, Arkham City improves on all most everything that needed improving from the first game.
    10/10 One of the best games I have ever played
    Expand
  20. May 29, 2013
    10
    When I look at Batman Arkham City, I can't really find anything to criticize it for. Sure there are minor things to pick at like how unlikely this scenario would be in the first place, but this is also a universe about a man dressing up as a bat. Beyond that I can't really think of anything else I don't like. Beating up baddies was once again very fun, stealth missions were improved andWhen I look at Batman Arkham City, I can't really find anything to criticize it for. Sure there are minor things to pick at like how unlikely this scenario would be in the first place, but this is also a universe about a man dressing up as a bat. Beyond that I can't really think of anything else I don't like. Beating up baddies was once again very fun, stealth missions were improved and the boss fights were really good. They were more than just side stepping a steroid abused guerrilla and required a bit of thinking. They added much more replay value by converting it into a sandbox and adding more side quests and just stuff to do in general. So, overall, this gets a 9.9. out of 10 from me. Expand
  21. May 26, 2012
    9
    Very good game this.After playing the excellent Arkham Asylum,I was expecting alot,& alot i got.While i enjoyed Arkham Asylum & think its a good game,i didnt like the relatively small & claustrophobic setting of Arkham itself.Arkham City however is in a much larger area & in proper urban enviroments,which is lets face it,Batmans bread & water.You can literally spread your wings & takeVery good game this.After playing the excellent Arkham Asylum,I was expecting alot,& alot i got.While i enjoyed Arkham Asylum & think its a good game,i didnt like the relatively small & claustrophobic setting of Arkham itself.Arkham City however is in a much larger area & in proper urban enviroments,which is lets face it,Batmans bread & water.You can literally spread your wings & take flight.The game still has a fixed narrative of course,but is properly free roaming now,& has a whole host of exra things to be doing alongside the main story.You start the game with ALL the skills available in Arkham Asylum,plus more to unlock in this game,so thats impresssive,plus theres the Catwoman bits.Personally i'm not interested in the Catwoman content,but even so i thought is was extremely naughty for Rocksteady to make it accessable only if you are online & have bought the game new,via a code.It doesnt bother me,as i had the option to not download it,& forgoe playing as Catwoman & play it as a pure batman experience,but on principle,i dont agree with it,as it denies the content to people that have the right no choose to not have an internet connection,but have paid for the full game.The game on the whole though is excellent.It still has that fantastic combat system,& much more enemies to use it on.It also has challenge maps,with more to unlock in game,plus the ability to re-play the game after completition in 'Plus' or normal mode,with all your unlocks & alternative choices of Batman costumes,which is great.The game is actually a massive technical achievment in my opinion.In the next game though,can we finally have Batman- 'Gotham' city,complete with Batmobile please,thanks. Expand
  22. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Rocksteady's second rendition of the Dark Knight is just about as brilliant as anybody has any right to expect. Everything has been expanded and improved upon from the extremely fast and frenetic combat to the tactically satisfying combat. The wow moments are also significant and the cast of characters is extensive and varied. It doesn't completely eclipse the Arkham Asylum with theRocksteady's second rendition of the Dark Knight is just about as brilliant as anybody has any right to expect. Everything has been expanded and improved upon from the extremely fast and frenetic combat to the tactically satisfying combat. The wow moments are also significant and the cast of characters is extensive and varied. It doesn't completely eclipse the Arkham Asylum with the absence of truly wonderous sections like that of scarecrow's in the first game. But it does everything a brilliant sequel would do and that in itself is astounding. The only downside would be if this had a sequel, it's extremely unlikely to find anything that would make Bats this good, and would disappoint. But counting Rocksteady out is a fool's game. This is exceptional. Expand
  23. Rem
    Dec 3, 2013
    8
    Batman Arkham City has one notable strength: it's stuffed with content. It also has one notable weakness: it's stuffed with content. Now don't get me wrong, I love a filled game as much as anyone else, but much of the content in here distracts me from the storyline or any storyline and when I do return to it, it becomes hard to remember why I was fighting Penguin. The combat this timeBatman Arkham City has one notable strength: it's stuffed with content. It also has one notable weakness: it's stuffed with content. Now don't get me wrong, I love a filled game as much as anyone else, but much of the content in here distracts me from the storyline or any storyline and when I do return to it, it becomes hard to remember why I was fighting Penguin. The combat this time around is much more diverse allowing me to use gadgets even in the heat of combat. I am not a huge Batman fan, so I may not appreciate the game as much as I would have liked. Despite this, this game stands as one of 2011's best and one of Batman's best games. Expand
  24. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    This batman game expanded arkham asylum and became open world but wasnt better in my opinion than the original. Anyway I gave the game a 9.5 out of 10.
  25. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    "Arkham Asylum" is as close to to a masterpiece as video-games get for me, and this isn't. The atmospheres are nearly identical, and there's not much new to do. Occasionally very fun (the flying sequence), but disappointing.
  26. May 10, 2013
    10
    It is amazing how everything in this game vetch, the combat mode, the beautiful graphics, the campaign mode which has a perfect story and the epic finale, the charismatic characters and challenge modes of Rindle.
  27. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Arkham City has a lot of pressure to deliver, as Batman: Arkham Asylum was one of the best games of the generation. And in almost every way, Arkham City delivers. Pretty much every villain ever, lots of wonderful new toys, genius Predator maps. In fact, once you really get into Arkham City, there's no returning to Arkham Asylum. You get so good with these new tools, AA's Batman feelsArkham City has a lot of pressure to deliver, as Batman: Arkham Asylum was one of the best games of the generation. And in almost every way, Arkham City delivers. Pretty much every villain ever, lots of wonderful new toys, genius Predator maps. In fact, once you really get into Arkham City, there's no returning to Arkham Asylum. You get so good with these new tools, AA's Batman feels ill-suited to the job. The story isn't quite as tight as Asylum's however, with villains in their many not fulfilling their potential. The ending is also fairly weak besides the very last gasp: a shocker that changes Batman himself. But, overall Arkham City is a super sequel, and improves on the previous game in almost every way. Expand
  28. Oct 27, 2011
    5
    That's why writing reviews on day one is pointless. People who give a 10 have barley played it so first impression is the review you will read. A bad review is either a troll (if instant review) or will get loads of "thumbs down" on his comment because he won't give a "green" coloured review. Truth is the game is OK not bad and by no means great! It's literally the same as AA (no I'm notThat's why writing reviews on day one is pointless. People who give a 10 have barley played it so first impression is the review you will read. A bad review is either a troll (if instant review) or will get loads of "thumbs down" on his comment because he won't give a "green" coloured review. Truth is the game is OK not bad and by no means great! It's literally the same as AA (no I'm not saying its an expansion pack "rip off") it's literally the same game but the Map is now bigger. Story was boring tbh as it didn't grab my attention like AA did. Yes there's lots of side missions but they also get boring and fast too. The story was an easy 7 hours without speed rushing. I do feel the release videos by the dev's were way over there head, I would be proud of making a bigger scale game too. But don't believe the hype. Good game but sadley not THAT much off an improvement. My opinion anyway. Expand
  29. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt the most entertaining and rewarding game I have ever played. For a comicbook and videogame nerd, this game hit all the right marks and left me wanting more.
  30. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    Spider-Man (PS1) & Spider-Man 2 (PS2) & The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction used to be the best superhero games until the Arkham series stole all their sunshine. Arkham City is arguably the finest creation in the Arkham trilogy.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    95
    Improved gameplay, new mechanics, and an even stronger story denote whether you care about Batman or not, it's still a game worthy of your time. With some easter eggs possibly hinting at plots for a third game, let's hope Rocksteady isn't quite done with the Dark Knight.
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    Arkham City handles its side-stories gloriously. [Christmas 2011, p.102]
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.