Batman: Arkham City Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1446 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside theDeveloped by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside the heavily fortified walls of a sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City, this highly anticipated sequel introduces a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features to deliver the ultimate experience as the Dark Knight. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    Controlling Batman as he completely terrorizes his victims, whether via the invisible predator gameplay or the brutal combat, is an experience rivaled by few others. From its memorable Bourne Identity-esque opening to its shocking ending, Batman: Arkham City secures its place as my favorite superhero game since Freedom Force.
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    Arkham City is stuffed to the edge of the disc with content and replay value (in addition to the gigantic campaign there's an expanded Challenge Mode and New Game Plus), is incredible amounts of fun, is polished to perfection, has had real love poured into every aspect, and most importantly, it makes you feel like Batman.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2011
    100
    A Batman game like never before. Fans will feel like they're dreaming, whereas everyone else has an incredibly large and in-depth world to enjoy and engage with. It doesn't get much better. [Issue#78, p.80]
  4. Oct 19, 2011
    95
    Arkham City does what everyone hoped it would yet feared it couldn't; expand and improve on Arkham Asylum. Indeed, Arkham City is a bigger and better game in all regards, delivering an immaculately presented, rich, compelling play experience and gripping story while simultaneously respecting its source material's legacy and pushing the Batman myth further forward.
  5. Oct 14, 2011
    93
    Arkham City feels like a logical extension of its predecessor, wholly embracing and expanding upon all the elements that made it great. It most certainly is the definitive Batman game, but to leave it there would be to damn it with faint praise. Simply put, if you admire painstakingly-realized worlds rich with secrets and game mechanics that never cease to surprise you, then you it to yourself to experience Arkham City. Your interest in the source material is irrelevant.
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    90
    With a gripping fighting system, lots of diversity and a great atmosphere, Batman: Arkham City is one of the best superhero games out there. Some may even say it is one of the best games of all time.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Even if there is still some reason to quibble here and there, Arkham City is undoubtedly the result of which we dreamed, rich and surprising in many ways. A feat which makes it a must-see title of 2011.

See all 87 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 374
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Arkham City is a bigger and better game than its already excellent predecessor.The game is absolutely filled with things to do and the newArkham City is a bigger and better game than its already excellent predecessor.The game is absolutely filled with things to do and the new open world nature of AC is a blessing.There are almost too many upgrades,gadgets and secrets in the game and trying to remember combos is a challenging,but welcome,exercise in hand-eye coordination at times.Adding to a decent length campaign are hundreds of Riddler challenges,numerous side missions,balloon popping,dive bombing,challenge maps and a short,fun stint as Catwoman.Amazing... Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    Great game! Big map! Awesome combat ! Fascinating gameplay and the amount of gadgets, upgrades are challenging. Riddles are sometime confusingGreat game! Big map! Awesome combat ! Fascinating gameplay and the amount of gadgets, upgrades are challenging. Riddles are sometime confusing and you must use your mind. Hand-eye coordination is also required during combats and stealth takedowns since the map is swarming with bad guys. Boss fights are great and the ways in which you can slow them and defeat them makes it even more fantastic. The game is very lengthy but isn't boring at all due to the inclusion of these riddles. The Catwoman story also gives a taste about the character who has a completely different combat style which again makes the gameplay interesting. Overall it is worth the money and definitely deserved the game of the year title Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game was very exciting. I dropped tears of joy when i first unwrapped the game. I then started to play it, and again dropped tears ofThis game was very exciting. I dropped tears of joy when i first unwrapped the game. I then started to play it, and again dropped tears of joy. :D TOT worth $ 66.40 Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This is how you make a sequel to the best game of the decade. Everything that made Arkham Asylum great has made its way to Arkham City.This is how you make a sequel to the best game of the decade. Everything that made Arkham Asylum great has made its way to Arkham City. Everything's been expanded upon: The combat system and the opponents are better and more varied than ever, as are the environments. The boss fights are top notch and have also seen considerable improvement over the original. Few games offer experiences as satisfying as disassembling an opponent's machine gun, doing the knife dodge takedown or diving from a skyscraper and pulling up at the last minute. The Catwoman side character is well done, and I hope to see much more of that in the third installment of the series. Expand
  5. KON
    Nov 17, 2011
    9
    The game is all good and has free roam optional. Besides the intense graphics and the higher video requirements, I daresay this game is indeedThe game is all good and has free roam optional. Besides the intense graphics and the higher video requirements, I daresay this game is indeed an upgrade from the previous Batman-Arkham Asylum.
    High end PC gamers can take huge advantage of this game from CUDA and Phys-X as well. Although
    Campaign seems to be a lot longer than the previous game and the intensity of the game brings you
    straight into the story.
    Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    My favourite of the Batman Arkham Series. Wonderful, dark, gritty places to explore. Stealth and beat-em-up combat remains similarly the same,My favourite of the Batman Arkham Series. Wonderful, dark, gritty places to explore. Stealth and beat-em-up combat remains similarly the same, if not improved a bit. And I can play it with enjoyment while playing the story, or just roaming. Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    While Asylum was one of the best games I have played, Arkham City doesn't live up to it unfortunately. The sandbox element doesn't feel veryWhile Asylum was one of the best games I have played, Arkham City doesn't live up to it unfortunately. The sandbox element doesn't feel very good. The grapling hook doesn't work half the time, the fights are quite silly and not very challenging. The best part about the game is the voice acting and story. And that are the two aspects I care the least about in games. I want fun gameplay, and this one just doesn't cut it unfortunately Expand

See all 374 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.