Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1284 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rocksteady Studios, Batman: Arkham City builds upon the intense, atmospheric foundation of Batman: Arkham Asylum, sending players soaring into Arkham City, the new maximum security "home" for all of Gotham City's thugs, gangsters and insane criminal masterminds. Set inside the heavily fortified walls of a sprawling district in the heart of Gotham City, this highly anticipated sequel introduces a brand-new story that draws together a new all-star cast of classic characters and murderous villains from the Batman universe, as well as a vast range of new and enhanced gameplay features to deliver the ultimate experience as the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    Controlling Batman as he completely terrorizes his victims, whether via the invisible predator gameplay or the brutal combat, is an experience rivaled by few others. From its memorable Bourne Identity-esque opening to its shocking ending, Batman: Arkham City secures its place as my favorite superhero game since Freedom Force.
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    Arkham City is stuffed to the edge of the disc with content and replay value (in addition to the gigantic campaign there's an expanded Challenge Mode and New Game Plus), is incredible amounts of fun, is polished to perfection, has had real love poured into every aspect, and most importantly, it makes you feel like Batman.
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    100
    A Batman game like never before. Fans will feel like they're dreaming, whereas everyone else has an incredibly large and in-depth world to enjoy and engage with. It doesn't get much better. [Issue#78, p.80]
  4. Oct 19, 2011
    95
    Arkham City does what everyone hoped it would yet feared it couldn't; expand and improve on Arkham Asylum. Indeed, Arkham City is a bigger and better game in all regards, delivering an immaculately presented, rich, compelling play experience and gripping story while simultaneously respecting its source material's legacy and pushing the Batman myth further forward.
  5. Oct 14, 2011
    93
    Arkham City feels like a logical extension of its predecessor, wholly embracing and expanding upon all the elements that made it great. It most certainly is the definitive Batman game, but to leave it there would be to damn it with faint praise. Simply put, if you admire painstakingly-realized worlds rich with secrets and game mechanics that never cease to surprise you, then you it to yourself to experience Arkham City. Your interest in the source material is irrelevant.
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    90
    With a gripping fighting system, lots of diversity and a great atmosphere, Batman: Arkham City is one of the best superhero games out there. Some may even say it is one of the best games of all time.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Even if there is still some reason to quibble here and there, Arkham City is undoubtedly the result of which we dreamed, rich and surprising in many ways. A feat which makes it a must-see title of 2011.

See all 87 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 352
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Arkham City is a bigger and better game than its already excellent predecessor.The game is absolutely filled with things to do and the new open world nature of AC is a blessing.There are almost too many upgrades,gadgets and secrets in the game and trying to remember combos is a challenging,but welcome,exercise in hand-eye coordination at times.Adding to a decent length campaign are hundreds of Riddler challenges,numerous side missions,balloon popping,dive bombing,challenge maps and a short,fun stint as Catwoman.Amazing... Expand
  2. May 4, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt my favourite game of all time, and definitely the best superhero game ever. a big improvement to arkham Asylum, it has awesome graphics, a big city to roam around, lots of side missions, cool storyline, well voice acted and presented characters, a riveting combat system and super cool gadgets to use. this game includes really cool combos that you can use and the boss fights are challenging in a way that won't make you rage but you still feel you've achieved something when you have completed them. Also, it gives you the oppurtunity to solve crimes around Gotham and catch many famous Batman villains. I can't think of any flaws with this game. Overall a gaming epic. A definite 10/10! Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    absolutely superb campaign. great game lovingly made, not quite the 30 hour marathon some would have you believe though. i got through the campaign and side missions in about 10 hours or so. not much replay value and not interested in the challenge maps (basically fighting a ton of enemies in areas that you already fought a ton of enemies in-game) if you like Batman youll love this! my biggest criticism would only be the guy who does the Penguin voice, where did you learn your english accent? watching Dick Van Dyke? awful and insulting. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt the most entertaining and rewarding game I have ever played. For a comicbook and videogame nerd, this game hit all the right marks and left me wanting more. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game takes everything that was great about Arkham Asylum and raises the bar in every aspect. More quests, more gadgets, an open world and even better combat controls. The graphics, sound, and gameplay are basically flawless. The story reminds you of something that you could really see yourself reading in a comic book and the art direction of Arkham makes you feel like you are really in a dark and twisted place. The Catwoman story arc integrated into the main story was actually a quite a surprise, it didn't feel like dlc and felt like it was integrated into the game very well. This game is by far the best game ever based on a comic book character, if only other developers would take the same approach with their licensed franchises the gaming world would be a better place. Easily one of the top 5 games of 2011, and quite possible the GOTY in my opinion. It's been a long time since a game has grabbed me and kept my attention the whole way through and left me wanting more while still feeling complete. Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Graphics:10/Gameplay:9/Story:7/Music:9
    ---------9/awesome----------------
    one of the best game for a console,particularly the
    graphics...arkham city roooocks.the gameplay is like assassin's creed in a darky way.love the way batman cracks codes with gadgets.music is also very good to listen to.
    few negatives:the fights is boring ,lots of x smashing (hand hurts),lots of unnecessary combos,witch you cannot even understand how they works,gadgets is also unusable in fights(at least for me).unable to understand how to get around to rich misson .lake of tutorials, frustrating ogmented trainning.short story if you did not download the separated catwoman dlc ,she should have been nativly included!!
    Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2014
    0
    Good story, nice voice acting too and graphics but the game got very repetitive for me after the first playthrough. I've never really got into superhero games so I couldn't really get a hang of this. Other than that, it's worth getting. Expand

See all 352 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.