Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 653 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by WB Games Montreal, Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two critically acclaimed games of the franchise. Taking placeDeveloped by WB Games Montreal, Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two critically acclaimed games of the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City's most dangerous criminals, the game showcases a young and unrefined Batman as he faces a defining moment in his early career as a crime fighter that sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. As the story unfolds, players will meet many important characters for the first time and forge key relationships. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    92
    A brilliant prequel story that retains the high standards of the series to date, Batman: Arkham Origins is a superlative third instalment that perfectly embodies the spirit of DC's darkest and most enduring hero. The Dark Knight rises once again, and he kicks ass.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    86
    Arkham Origins is a fantastic game, and one that is worthy of the Arkham legacy, but that being said, one can’t help but feel that WB Games Montreal played this one safe. They relied on the strength of Rocksteady’s rock-solid foundation, and simply applied new coats of paint and some extra decorations that weren’t there before.
  3. 80
    It's a case of more of the same, but with such good source material this isn't a bad thing. [Issue#105, p.87]
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    However, in the midst of solving crimes while exploring Gotham, it's impossible to ignore some annoying issues. Firstly, there are bugs.
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    Arkham Origins isn't the next great Batman game but rather a competent rehash of Rocksteady's two entries. While it's filled with more flaws and familiarity than I'd like, it's still the third best Batman game the medium's ever seen.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    70
    Batman: Arkham Origins doesn’t seem to realize its true potential, and because of it, falls short.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    20
    I really can’t figure out why this game exists other than the desire to cash in on the work done by Rocksteady. The combat isn’t as good, the story is weak and meaningless, all tension drained from it because we know that nothing bad happens to anyone as they’re all around in Arkham Asylum, and the gadgets are either exactly the same or have the barest of cosmetic differences to distinguish them from previous games’ gadgets.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 190
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it mayPlayed 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    Enjoyed the game, story was good, nice to have new characters added but felt they could have expanded them before facing them, likedEnjoyed the game, story was good, nice to have new characters added but felt they could have expanded them before facing them, liked investigating the crime scenes and loved how much darker the game and character was, it may have similarities to Arkham City but didn't detract it from being a really good game shame i got through it so quick, the combat system, predator and free roam are all smooth. excellent 10/10. Expand
  3. May 5, 2015
    9
    Una muy buena historia a mi humilde opinion...percibí un batman con una personalidad más fuerte que las otras entregas, recordándome más comoUna muy buena historia a mi humilde opinion...percibí un batman con una personalidad más fuerte que las otras entregas, recordándome más como es en los comics.Entretenido Y emocionante con una historia bastante buena que recordaba a año uno. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Expanded upon the open world of Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a great addition as a prequel to the franchise. WB has once done it again combining great combat mechanics with great stealth mechanics. The side missions are great, the main story line is fantastic, and the new modes/multiplayer are great new additions to the game. With the addition of actual detective work side missions, you become the Great Detective.

    However, there are a few things that irk me:

    1) The game seems more of a stand alone title, than a part of the Arkham series. Even for being a prequel, the game has no connection to Arkham Asylum which kind of downplays the point of the series.

    2) The fact that Joker makes an appearance as the main villain of the game made me really sad. I was hoping for a game that would have one of Batman's lesser known enemies be the main antagonist. Black Mask may be just a mafia boss, but it would have been a nice change from the Joker dependency of the series.

    3) The Electrocutioner. Really? I wanted a bad-ass fist fight with this guy. A Russian tough from the streets trying to make a name for himself in the contract killer world would have been a great fight for Batman. Then you get into the arena with him about to go toe-to-toe with this guy, I was pumped to fight this guy. You throw a punch.....and he's out. Really? Come on WB. Give lesser Batman villains a chance to be cool. Anarky made a great appearance in this game, as well as Copperhead. Why not give Electrocutioner that same spotlight instead of a pushover?

    4) Deadshot. Why does this fight exist? You basically turned the Catwoman vs. Two-Face battle into an extremely hard and fight. "Lets give this guy armor, endlessly spawning lackeys with different attributes, a hostage, a small map, and super awareness to EVERYTHING" is basically the synopsis of this fight. I would have preferred a hard version of Arkham City's Deadshot confrontation rather than this.

    5) Penguin. This is the same reason why I was rather annoyed with him in Arkham City. In both games, Batman has pushed him over so easily. Cobblepot is a boxing champion as well as a skilled martial artist from the comic books. Why doesn't this transfer over into the game to have an interesting and fun fight with one of Batman's key villians of his series?

    Overall, its a great game. People who played the series form Arkham Asylum will love it, as it keeps to the gritty environment and dark tone that the original game set up. The ability to explore a more open world with more side quests gives this game diversity. The addition of new modes and multiplayer with online makes the replay value extremely high making it from a twice-through. The addition of new villains from the Batman universe makes it seem that the game is not just a copy-paste However, some on the villains in the game really are sad and could have been developed better, the Joker's reappearance is just disappointing, and the game overall doesnt fit in the "arkham" series.
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    While it is fun to once again play as Batman, Origins is lacking compared to the other games in the series. It is great to see how peopleWhile it is fun to once again play as Batman, Origins is lacking compared to the other games in the series. It is great to see how people react to Batman when no one knows who he is but it is not so fun when your game crashes 4 times, a boss battle bugs out and becomes impossible to complete and to put the frosting on the cake, corrupted save file, forcing me to start all over again. Which I am not going to do. I wish I could have enjoyed this game more but when I spent a large amount of time turning it off because it crashed, I simply cannot. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    6
    Gets boring real fast. Mostly due the tired formula. Also very unbalanced going from press button multiple times to win to memorize everythingGets boring real fast. Mostly due the tired formula. Also very unbalanced going from press button multiple times to win to memorize everything with Rythim Heaven precision on the fight with Deathstroke. Unninpresive graphics, absent music, bad design... Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    This game is a waste of time and money. I am sick of hearing my gf go on and on and on about absolute Enigma this Enigma that just shhhhht.This game is a waste of time and money. I am sick of hearing my gf go on and on and on about absolute Enigma this Enigma that just shhhhht. I usually don't mind watching the Batman games but this one is a crock of crap!! I would prefer playing in feces. Expand

See all 190 User Reviews