Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 598 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by WB Games Montreal, Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two critically acclaimed games of the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City's most dangerous criminals, the game showcases a young and unrefined Batman as he faces a defining moment in his early career as a crime fighter that sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. As the story unfolds, players will meet many important characters for the first time and forge key relationships. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. 92
    A brilliant prequel story that retains the high standards of the series to date, Batman: Arkham Origins is a superlative third instalment that perfectly embodies the spirit of DC's darkest and most enduring hero. The Dark Knight rises once again, and he kicks ass.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    86
    Arkham Origins is a fantastic game, and one that is worthy of the Arkham legacy, but that being said, one can’t help but feel that WB Games Montreal played this one safe. They relied on the strength of Rocksteady’s rock-solid foundation, and simply applied new coats of paint and some extra decorations that weren’t there before.
  3. 80
    It's a case of more of the same, but with such good source material this isn't a bad thing. [Issue#105, p.87]
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    However, in the midst of solving crimes while exploring Gotham, it's impossible to ignore some annoying issues. Firstly, there are bugs.
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    Arkham Origins isn't the next great Batman game but rather a competent rehash of Rocksteady's two entries. While it's filled with more flaws and familiarity than I'd like, it's still the third best Batman game the medium's ever seen.
  6. 70
    Batman: Arkham Origins doesn’t seem to realize its true potential, and because of it, falls short.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    20
    I really can’t figure out why this game exists other than the desire to cash in on the work done by Rocksteady. The combat isn’t as good, the story is weak and meaningless, all tension drained from it because we know that nothing bad happens to anyone as they’re all around in Arkham Asylum, and the gadgets are either exactly the same or have the barest of cosmetic differences to distinguish them from previous games’ gadgets.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 180
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    For having to go up against the 2 previous entries in the series, I'd say Arkham Origins is pretty damn good. First up, get over there not being civilians walking around. Seriously not even rocksteady wants to tackle that. It's Batman folks, not Spider-man; Batman doesn't stroll the streets of Gotham while people gawk at him. Second up, the so-called "win" buttons. Have you guys even attempted I am the night? Holy crap. Even the most veteran of "Batmen"(batmans?, batmen? will be hard pressed not to use these "win" buttons as a last resort to save their hours of hard work in a pinch. The graphics are captivating, bringing out the most beautiful Gotham I have ever laid eyes on. The score is a masterpiece I can't do justice to in 5000 characters. It's just fantastic. You really cant feel like Batman without a bad ass soundtrack to go with it. (Seriously, imagine the Dark Knight without the epic score by Hanz Zimmer) The story is up there with the best of the Batman stories. While not as shocking as Arkham City, Arkham Origins is, in my humble opinion, better than Arkham Asylum. Step away from the series and view the story (just the story) as the first Batman game you've ever played and it just blows your mind. Compared to other video games of this genre, Arkham Origins is truly among the cream of the crop. Next up, Gameplay. I can not thank Rocksteady enough for giving us and WB Montreal the best (in my opinion) combat system ever created in video games. I also can not thank WB Montreal enough for not screwing it up "win" buttons or not. (If it bothers you that much, they are optional, be your own Batman folks) I felt the new enemies presented a greater challenge than we faced in either previous entry, and the game achieved the empowering but not overpowering balance perfectly. When i wasn't on my game I still got my ass kicked and thats how I think it should be. The voice acting is something to admire. These guys had some of the biggest shoes to fill and I'd say they did a superb job that they should all be proud of. I really felt that this was a young Batman whether he was extremely pissed off, constantly brooding, and sometimes surprised, for me it sounded like Batman. As for Troy Baker's Joker: Wow. I never thought that anyone could ever bring Joker to life the way Mark Hamill did but I couldn't have been happier to be wrong. I'd almost say WB owes it to themselves to have more Batman games with Troy Baker as Joker just to give us all the pleasure of experiencing that. There's really too much potential there for them to not seize a golden opportunity. Can you have too much Joker? Not in my book. Wrapping up, I can't say that Arkham Origins was the mind-blowing Arkham Asylum when we realized superhero games didnt have to suck and could in fact be really good, or the huge leap forward that Arkham City represented by showing us all just how good a Batman could be in a larger world, but what I can say is that Arkham Origins is a welcome, and dare I say necessary evolution in the series with a huge world with subtle improvements on what is already one of the best series in video games. Arkham Origins in its success also gives birth to new possibilities in the way of new stories to be told and adventures to be had as the Dark Knight and lets us know that the Dark Knight has a bright future in the Arkhamverse. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    It's basically a carbon copy of Arkham City...just with a different story. That is not a bad thing. Arkham City was a 10 for me. This is a 9 because it didn't add much. (Again not a bad thing) I give it a safe score because the new developers played it safe. The fact that this has a 73 (as of this writing) metascore it unacceptable. (I could see it being in the 80s because it played safe but not in the low 70s) At launch there were some pretty bad bugs but most have been fixed by now. Overall, better than Arkham Asylum, not as good as Arkham City but it really gives the Arkham series a sense of completeness to that of a trilogy. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Arkham Asylum and Arkham City are some of my favorite games of all time and of course, I was looking forward to Origins. My review; decent story and bosses and good graphics but the city is empty and the game doesn't make all that amazing of additions. The game is just missing the magic that made the first two games incredible, but if you want to go back to the Arkham series, I'd recommend picking this up. Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    7
    A good game definitely not the best in the Arkham series. Graphics are bout the same a bit better than Arkham city. Story is top notch. The gameplay... Is the same. The open world feels empty and feels like you already been there. Combat is mostly the same. The only new feature new to the Arkham verse is reconstructing a crime scene these are very fun and cool to watch. In the end this game boils down to being a rehash nowhere near terrible but it just feels to similar to Arkham city and not worth $60 in my opinion. A good game but not great. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2014
    6
    Short Review: Meh. It doesn't really live up to the standards Arkham City had set. But it's a decent standalone game.

    Full Review: So I got
    this game a while back on my 360. I was already a fan of the previous two games and was delighted when I've heard of another one coming out. That being said, I was kinda disappointed when I played it. The epic plot line, engaging combat system, and intriguing environment were all seemingly downsized in this would-be sequel (and I use that term loosely). I'll explain.

    So, point number one: Story. I could probably spoil the ending here because of how predictable it was, but I won't. There are absolutely zero plot twists and surprises to keep you on your toes. Even when there are, they make no logical sense whatsoever. WHY was that one guy posing as the other one? (If you played the game, you should know what I mean) How did that one guy even get there in the first place? And etc. The story isn't very compelling, either. It's just Batman fighting some "assassins" who appear to be just shoehorned in competing for a bounty on his head. All in all, the story's just uninspired and dull.

    Second point: Gameplay. The combat system, for one, is almost a carbon copy of Arkham City's with no real additions, save for a few new enemies (who rarely show up) and, like, two new gadgets. The second thing I noticed about it is that it's much clunkier than its predecessor. Timing feels off, not as fluid or accurate, etc. It's still a good system to begin with, but it feels like it's trying too hard to be Arkham City when it isn't, really. Moving on to the predator segments of the game, I think Splash Damage did a good job on this part, actually. There are many more ways to take down enemies without even knowing the Bat is watching them, and at the same time the player is unable to clear the room just by firing a few gadgets and sitting on that vantage point. The rooms are also a whole lot more interesting and challenging, as their specific designs might sometimes prevent a "silent-takedown everyone" approach, especially in New Game Plus. This forces the player to come up with new strategies, which I applaud. I might even go so far as to say it's BETTER than Arkham City's predator levels. Moving on to bosses now. Yes, bosses are a very big part of this game, and thankfully, they're (kinda) varied and some are even for side missions only. The first boss (who I won't mention), though, can be pretty annoying as most of xir's attacks involve countering at very random times and, if you press counter just once at the wrong time, you fail the counter altogether and you get damaged. The worst part is: the game doesn't tell you what you're doing wrong. This is especially frustrating in New Game Plus where you can't see counter symbols at all, and can ruin the game for some. Aside from That One Boss who is fairly early in the game, almost all the other bosses are defeated by repetitive maneuvers. They are still challenging, if a little repetitive. Lastly, open-world exploration. It's virtually the same as Arkham City. You've got those relays to destroy (which are the same as the cameras), extortion data packs to collect (Riddler Trophies), random bad guys to beat up, side quests to do, and a pretty much lifeless city. Wait, isn't this supposed to be Gotham and not Arkham City...? Well, it is Christmas Eve. Almost nothing has changed, save for two exceptions. Now you can fly around the city to certain areas in the Batwing, provided you unlock the drop points first. Second, random crimes happen and they involve beating up both thugs and police (for some reason) who just love to Kick the Dog. I'd also like to mention the mystery-solving feature, but I'll just say it's just...meh. Nothing more I can say here.

    Conclusion: Since I need to wrap this thing up, it's time to write the conclusion. All in all, I think that this game is uninspired and plain for an Arkham entry. Still, it does have some redeeming qualities that potentially make this game enjoyable at times. But I feel like this game was trying too hard to be Arkham City when it really should've added in its own distinct flavor, like Arkham City did to Arkham Asylum. If you can get this game at less than full price, it's not a bad option.

    Batman: Arkham Origins gets a 6 out of 10.

    I'm SirShortyTall, and thank you for reading my review.
    Expand
  7. Ape
    Feb 26, 2014
    0
    Trash. Game is a blatant copy of Arkham City while limiting your essential game play mechanics in an artificial attempt at making the city feel bigger than you. Hopefully rocksteady comes back for the next installment otherwise the series is dead to me. Expand

See all 180 User Reviews