Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 13 out of 22
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    41
    The gameplay is horrendous, and the whole lack of multiplayer makes Battle: LA absolutely worthless.
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    40
    Although the looks of Battle: Los Angeles are acceptable, the length of the game is not. The price doesn't justify the quality of the game and you'll find yourself longing for a good game even before you reach the end of this incredibly mediocre game, that doesn't even last two hours.
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    40
    The gaming equivalent of buying a gourmet mince and cheese pie - you'll be uncertain you've got your money's worth, and pretty sure you could have done a better job.
  4. Mar 25, 2011
    40
    I realise first person shooters are getting shorter these days, but, come on. Did Saber Interactive really imagine that releasing a movie tie-in that you can sleepwalk through inside an hour was going to be acceptable?
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    35
    Easy, short, linear and with embarrasing flaws in AI, this game is a huge disappointment.
  6. Mar 26, 2011
    35
    A game that puts all its bets in the good graphics and physics, but neglecting very important things like longevity, plot and gameplay variety. There are game demos out there that offer an highly more rewarding experience than this, and are even free.
  7. May 22, 2011
    30
    A lifeless carcass in the FPS mould lies in its wake. [Issue#109, p.104]
  8. Mar 21, 2011
    30
    Short, unremarkable, and overpriced, Battle: Los Angeles is a shooter to be avoided.
  9. 20
    A mercifully brief battle. [June 2011, p.103]
  10. May 6, 2011
    20
    Thought the movie sucked? Play the game. [June 2011, p.81]
  11. Apr 25, 2011
    20
    A videogame that thrills almost not at all that also happens to represent atrocious value. [Issue#71, p.102]
  12. The worst 30 minutes of our gaming year so far. Please don't make it yours as well. [June 2011, p.119]
  13. Mar 23, 2011
    20
    Like poking a dead bluebird with a stick. For a few seconds you're fascinated by the grotesque, then you walk away, disgusted.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Apr 14, 2011
    3
    This game is awful, even for an XBL arcade game. As a modern FPS, it has some glaring errors that I'm surprised the developers didn't take the time to fix. The controls are slow and sluggish, forcing you to move around from battle to battle in tiny, fenced in maps to kill a few aliens and repeat... over and over and over. The character models don't even look down the barrels of their guns, but stare off to the side while they fire to the front. The AI is a joke and basically consists of "pop up here, then fire from here till the player kills you".

    The audio is annoying as you'll hear the same things from your AI "allies" repeated about 10 times per level. The cut scenes look like they were made in a high school animation class - think low budget south park. Even on the hardest setting the game is easy completely killing replay value.

    The positives of getting to lay waste to aliens as a marine gets old after the first level and you feel like you're being punished for buying the game. I think the only positive reviews are by the developers themselves or poor souls who are gullible enough to appreciate any rushed, half-developed game made to increase sales based on a weak IP.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    This was fun! I played it on all four difficulty levels, and enjoyed opening up all the cool modes and mods and videos and artwork--plus the last level is seriously hard. Overall, I think it looks better (shadows, lights, effects, texturing, and on) than Call of Duty . It was a bargain at under ten bucks. I'm kind of shocked that I actually enjoyed a movie licensed game. And it wasn't as short as some people in forums noted. I'm not the fastest player on the planet, but beating it on all four difficulty levels was most of my day (after I saw a Battle Los Angeles Matinà Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    What a happy surprise. This looks and feels like a regular game instead of an Xbox Arcade title. It was in 3D--and played very well. Opening up all the unlockable content was a blast--and playing an Arcade title that looked as good as a full price game at less than ten bucks had me feeling like it was by far the best money I've spent on the Xbox this year. Go Battle: LA. Full Review »