BattleBlock Theater Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 141

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    Got this game right when it came out... was a big fan of Castle Crashers (the last game they made). The gameplay is pretty fun, platforming-style, but it feels good, but not great. I feel that it just doesn't have that spark that Castle Crashers and Alien Hominid had. Multiplayer was pretty vacant when I played, but I imagine that will change if more people buy the game. The heads toGot this game right when it came out... was a big fan of Castle Crashers (the last game they made). The gameplay is pretty fun, platforming-style, but it feels good, but not great. I feel that it just doesn't have that spark that Castle Crashers and Alien Hominid had. Multiplayer was pretty vacant when I played, but I imagine that will change if more people buy the game. The heads to collect and trade is a cool idea, but a lot of people play with the same head, making it easy to lose your character. The graphics style and cut-scenes are awesome and hilarious! The menu and UI just feels kinda unfinished and it can be frustrating to find what you are looking for. No controller options, limited other options (no brightness, safe screen, sensitivity, etc.). Also, this game took forever to come out, and they kept releasing screens and videos, but I have a feeling they were taking their sweet time to build up a following. Probably not worth a 3+ year wait... but a fun game nonetheless! Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    5
    Does almost nothing new for the genre of puzzle platformers and feels way too old and generic. Everything seen here can be seen in other platformers dating back to the 80's. That said, multiplayer and a robust level editor will keep you busy and there are several premade levels and lots of costumes. Considering the studio that made it and the amount of time it took for this game to be madeDoes almost nothing new for the genre of puzzle platformers and feels way too old and generic. Everything seen here can be seen in other platformers dating back to the 80's. That said, multiplayer and a robust level editor will keep you busy and there are several premade levels and lots of costumes. Considering the studio that made it and the amount of time it took for this game to be made I expected better. Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    Personally i loved this game, the challenges are superb and kept me challenged at all times. Very good learning curve were the game slowly gets harder while at the same time can be frustrating and also easy. The multiplayer is a complaint because i just don't like the combat and the game modes are not very great. There is a very good creation mode, where you create your own courses forPersonally i loved this game, the challenges are superb and kept me challenged at all times. Very good learning curve were the game slowly gets harder while at the same time can be frustrating and also easy. The multiplayer is a complaint because i just don't like the combat and the game modes are not very great. There is a very good creation mode, where you create your own courses for other people to play, this is done superbly. Even with my complaints i have not put this game down since i bought it 2 months ago. 7/10 Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    A highly enjoyable plat-former from the very talented people behind Castle Crashers and Alien Hominid. Much of the humor revolves around poop and farts, but to the immaturity in all of us, you'll laugh, I know I did. As levels progress new elements are added and old ones are extended, you get a satisfied feeling after beating each level, similar to when playing portal. There are tons ofA highly enjoyable plat-former from the very talented people behind Castle Crashers and Alien Hominid. Much of the humor revolves around poop and farts, but to the immaturity in all of us, you'll laugh, I know I did. As levels progress new elements are added and old ones are extended, you get a satisfied feeling after beating each level, similar to when playing portal. There are tons of collectibles and extra things to do. The $15 price tag is very justified and like Castle Crashers, it will be played for quite some time to come. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 22, 2013
    90
    The Behemoth's follow-up to Castle Crashers has been well worth the wait. [Issue#98, p.79]
  2. May 20, 2013
    80
    The surprisingly lengthy co-op mode does not experience this fatigue, and coupled with the replayability of the other multiplayer options means there's a lot of fun to be had. [Issue#135, p.117]
  3. May 13, 2013
    70
    A pleasant and hard (in a fair way) platformer, but I think authors should have left out the enemies and the means to fight them, because they introduce unwanted chaos and the sense of losing full control over the character. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.78]