Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shipwrecked. Captured. Betrayed. Forced to perform for an audience of cats? You’ve only just unlocked the door to BattleBlock Theater! There is no turning back once you have embarked upon your quest to free your imprisoned friends from evil technological cats! Immerse yourself in this mind-bending tale of treachery as you battle your way through hundreds of levels in to discover the puzzling truth behind BattleBlock Theater. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    92
    At 1200 MS points it’s a small price to pay for the madness, and certainly lives up to its Castle Crashers pedigree for polish, poise, and preposterous premise.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    There are moments of glorious frustration, as there are in any great platformer, but the sting of such hurdles is always soothed by the sweetness of victory when you overcome them.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    90
    An excellent platform puzzle by The Behemoth team and one of the best Live Arcade offerings of 2013. Lots of fun with multiplayer modes. If you like the genre, don't miss this game.
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    85
    This is one of the gems we randomly find on the Marketplace. Simple but fun, BattleBlock Theater offers a great platformer, it's surprising and very addictive.
  5. Apr 12, 2013
    81
    BattleBlock Theater is a fine little game, and though it has charm and pizazz, it also comes of feeling a bit of a sideshow, just something to pull out on a rainy day for a fast fifteen to buy a new head, play a quick match, or toy around with a level idea. You’ll get your mileage, and scratch that itch to run, jump, and punch with wild abandon, which for fifteen bucks is A-OK.
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    80
    There's a good four years of development time on display in Battleblock Theater and even though the light-hearted but mischievous brand of carnage tries its best to ensure you that you are only partaking in a boatload of puerile nonsense, you really notice every hour The Behemoth has put into this. The fighting might not be up to scratch, but the measured level design shows a degree of polish worthy of this genre's masters. So, it's up to you to decide, if the style and its over-sugared, over-caffeinated Saturday morning cartoon sensibilities float your boat. What you can't do anything about, though, is the fact that The Behemoth has mastered three different genres with only three games.
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    60
    There's some good fun to be had with BattleBlock Theater and it's a mostly charming title. But its fair share of problems hold it back from being an unequivocally entertaining, must-have game.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Got this yesterday, couldn't put it down. Incredibly addicting with a nice learning curve no platforming fan should miss this.

    Controls,
    the tightest I've had for a plat former since super meat boy.

    Great art style

    Hilarious and quirky sense of humor with a great story

    Level editor and community content

    Many different modes to play

    Incredible 4 player coop

    Massive customization options

    Yea buy this, its even more perfect and bursting with content than Castle Crashers, the Behemoth's last game
    Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    At around launch I finished single player in about a week. I played the beta too and even got one of my friends on the beta. He hardly touched it. About 2 weeks after launch I kept hearing that the multiplayer is the best feature. I wanted my friends to actually buy it so I invited them over. We all got frustrated at each other at points but we were all having fun. The trolling was so balanced and the game drove us to actually play it at times. My friends weren't fans of the arena games because I was a lot better than them. It was fun to watch and have my friends play each other. this game can get someone really pissed off but in the end they both bought the game. Single player is a blast for the story. The comedy is their, and Stamper who narrates the game almost makes it. Replay value is strong at first but you are highly likely to stop playing after 2 months. The game feels like a Nintendo game because it is a fun game, but even better with friends. This is reccamended buy for anyone. Even if you are the type of person to play Call Of Duty and **** like that I bet you will enjoy this game. Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    This game is an absolute masterpiece. Hilarious, creative and stupid fun! Way better than Castle Crashers and Castle crashers was great. Hatty Hattington rules!!!! Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    This is a tight platformer with an insanely hilarious narrator, lots of costumes that are easy to earn, super-fun and hectic MP arena matches, and lots of style to boot. The level editor is excellent... I mean, there is a lot of quality content here. especially recommended if you are a platformer fan. I love it. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    A highly enjoyable plat-former from the very talented people behind Castle Crashers and Alien Hominid. Much of the humor revolves around poop and farts, but to the immaturity in all of us, you'll laugh, I know I did. As levels progress new elements are added and old ones are extended, you get a satisfied feeling after beating each level, similar to when playing portal. There are tons of collectibles and extra things to do. The $15 price tag is very justified and like Castle Crashers, it will be played for quite some time to come. Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    9
    Quite a lot of levels and stuff to do with friends. There is also a simple "forge" mode to make levels and stuff for your friends and the world to try. There are two main reasons I only give this a 9. The in game currency is based on new levels played so if you're replaying it with a friend its not for the money. Also some levels are confusing, very hard or impossible if you do one thing wrong. Other than that, the cut-scenes are funny and man insane mode is crazy. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2013
    5
    Does almost nothing new for the genre of puzzle platformers and feels way too old and generic. Everything seen here can be seen in other platformers dating back to the 80's. That said, multiplayer and a robust level editor will keep you busy and there are several premade levels and lots of costumes. Considering the studio that made it and the amount of time it took for this game to be made I expected better. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.