User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 142

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveLeverton
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    This is basically a cut down version of a full battlefield title, with the full frostbite engine which was used for Bad Company without a single player campaign. It may only have 3 maps (4 when 43 million kills have been registered) but the ranking system will keep the game fresh for months to come for me.
    For the price you can't argue... i think its around £9 which is a
    This is basically a cut down version of a full battlefield title, with the full frostbite engine which was used for Bad Company without a single player campaign. It may only have 3 maps (4 when 43 million kills have been registered) but the ranking system will keep the game fresh for months to come for me.
    For the price you can't argue... i think its around £9 which is a steal! If you liked any of the battlefields before this then it is just as good only without the campaign.
    Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    This game was great and definitely worth the cheap price tag. I've gotten many hours of enjoyment out of this game. The only complaints were that the game was EXTREMELY laggy online when I first played. It since seems to have been fixed however, so that's not an issue anymore. Another complaint is that there are not enough maps to choose from. Overall though, a most enjoyable gameThis game was great and definitely worth the cheap price tag. I've gotten many hours of enjoyment out of this game. The only complaints were that the game was EXTREMELY laggy online when I first played. It since seems to have been fixed however, so that's not an issue anymore. Another complaint is that there are not enough maps to choose from. Overall though, a most enjoyable game available for a low price. Worth a purchase. Expand
  3. DustinG
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Best game on 360. Hands Down. Blows away Call of Duty games.
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    People are still playing the online multiplayer DEMO for this arcade game to this day... that alone should tell you this is a smart purchase, lol. You can easily sink hours upons hours into this game. Definitely good bang for your buck.
  5. ConnorP.
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    all of the animations are breathtaking and really makes you feel like you are there. the scream of the planes and the bombing runs intensifies the battles. however when lag strikes you want to be nowhere near it. also with only 3 classes gameplay may feel limited to older battlefield fans.
  6. EvanT
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    This game is by far one of the best values for my money ive ever seen in a game. Fallout 3 expansions cost $10 but only provide 5-6 more hours of play while this $15 game has already provided me with 34 hours of fun nonstop entertainment. The very first time you start a match and launch in off the aircraft carrier was an experience ive never felt from a game before. If you like shooters, This game is by far one of the best values for my money ive ever seen in a game. Fallout 3 expansions cost $10 but only provide 5-6 more hours of play while this $15 game has already provided me with 34 hours of fun nonstop entertainment. The very first time you start a match and launch in off the aircraft carrier was an experience ive never felt from a game before. If you like shooters, you will like this game. Expand
  7. AnttiL
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    Best XBLA game so far. It's a great idea to make online-only game, because everyone who gets a XBLA game, has Live too. Great graphics, better than in most full priced games. It's simplified in many ways, but it's extremely well balanced. No class or vehicle is overpowered. The destruction is great, I was worried that the battlefield would be totally flat in the end of the Best XBLA game so far. It's a great idea to make online-only game, because everyone who gets a XBLA game, has Live too. Great graphics, better than in most full priced games. It's simplified in many ways, but it's extremely well balanced. No class or vehicle is overpowered. The destruction is great, I was worried that the battlefield would be totally flat in the end of the round, but that never happens. You're too busy shooting the enemy to level down terrain. It's really a great game and I hope they release a few DLC extra maps, I would definitely biy them. Expand
  8. BrandonF
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    The server problems seemed to be fixed. I've had no problem connecting to a match. BF:1943 is simply the best XBLA release to date. With enough interest EA will release DLC which can only extend the playability of an already good use of your 15$. When it comes down to price per hour of play this title will smoke most full retail games. A must buy.
  9. SeanC.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Much better than BF:BC. Even though there is a lack of a campaign or many maps, the great value and replayability is worth it.
  10. LiamW.
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    Fantastic. easily the best arcade game ever. this game provides are very satisfying and complete experience even though its an arcade game and for only 1200 ms points. love the air superiority game mode especially now matchmaking speed has been massively increased.
  11. TheSaltAustralia
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    Those of you preaching about how this game isnt a proper BF experience etc. You are tripping. This is a combination between BF2MC & BadCompany, with all the frustrating elements of BadCompany no longer present. I hated BadCompany, and was not overly impressed with my first impressions of this game, was not impressed by the tanks lack of splash damage, struggled with the SMG - but then Those of you preaching about how this game isnt a proper BF experience etc. You are tripping. This is a combination between BF2MC & BadCompany, with all the frustrating elements of BadCompany no longer present. I hated BadCompany, and was not overly impressed with my first impressions of this game, was not impressed by the tanks lack of splash damage, struggled with the SMG - but then made a switch to the RIFLEMAN class which is one of the best BF classes ever made. The game's depth & charm has grown on me constantly. I'm a seasoned BF player on consoles, and regarded as one of the best tankers in the game - not many games have been able to compare to BF2 Modern Combat - but this one does in its own unique way. Its the hottest game on the xbox right now. If anyone says any different they dont know games or gaming at all. Give the game more time, and rewarded it for what it does. All the major BF console clans are taking this game very seriously. This game is big...and fantastic signs for whats to come with BadCompany 2. GO BUY THIS GAME NOW! Expand
  12. danielb.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    This game is a masterpiece and shouldn't be missed out on. the graphics rival retail games and the vehicles do a lot to enhance the game.
  13. AnthonyW
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    An impressive looking game that is loads of fun to play, for a mere 15 bucks!? Almost too good to be true!
  14. AnonymousMC
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Imersive gameplay and quick fire action. Battlefield sticks to what it knows best based around thier engine and FX, although it appears missed out slightly on blowing up objects/building's with a player in, can be annoying when looking for kills. Good download for the money and a online shooter to be proud of.
  15. MartinR
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    Online FPS at it's best!
    Anyone who see's this game won't believe it's an arcade title for a mere 1200 points! The graphics look great, the new engine adds a whole new tactical element to the game and the ability to control planes, tanks and boats s always a crowd pleaser.
    I'd be very surprised if this didn't win XBLA game of the year.
  16. [Anonymous]
    Jul 10, 2009
    8
    Pretty entertaining game, and certainly worth the 1200 points. It is not a masterpiece. It is not Battlefield 1942 with better graphics. It is also *not* terrible. Battlefield 1943 is a simplified Battlefield game. Ammo reloads on a timer. To get you into the action immediately, the game will automatically spawn you at the flag closest to the action, though you can still choose where you Pretty entertaining game, and certainly worth the 1200 points. It is not a masterpiece. It is not Battlefield 1942 with better graphics. It is also *not* terrible. Battlefield 1943 is a simplified Battlefield game. Ammo reloads on a timer. To get you into the action immediately, the game will automatically spawn you at the flag closest to the action, though you can still choose where you want to spawn. Vehicles are still there, but don't dominate infantry despite the lower player counts; while they are very useful they're also not impossible for infantry to defeat. AA turrets are scattered about, and the infantry class doubles as an AT class. The maps' layouts have been modified, mostly to take advantage of the greater graphical prowess and destructible environments that the engine affords over 1942's. For instance, water towers and additional structures and trees on Wake. There are also changes which are definitely meant to affect gameplay, such as adding boats to the Wake island to allow people to traverse it more easily, or adding tank traps (Czech hedgehogs) along the beaches to slow down anyone attempting to skirt around a flag without conflict. These changes lend themselves to the game's apparent policy of constant action, with little downtime. They help funnel players into conflicts, so despite the lower player count of this against BF 1942, it never feels like there is a lack of people to shoot. As with almost any Xbox Live game, this is better with friends rather than purely strangers. And with the squad mechanism this is doubly so. As in BF2, you can chat amongst squad members, or spawn off of them. And you can start matchmaking with friends, similar to Halo 3's system, and so join the same game and the same squad right away. There are weird things. Grenades can be thrown a good hundred metres. The reload timer is also far too brief for grenades, though due to the game's hectic pace this actually doesn't end up being as big a problem as it could be. The servers are still completely overloaded right now, so it takes far too long actually get into a game. If you can actually get in a server (hopefully they'll get that fixed soon), this is definitely a game worthy of the $15 price tag. It's great to have a fun, light FPS that can be started right from the console without any discs. Expand
  17. AaronC.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    Excellent game, good pacing, good graphics, great price. The game is loads of fun, and there's no end to the action. The vehicles are well balanced; you never feel like a tank is impossible to destroy, or that an aircraft is too powerful.
  18. GeorgeJ.
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    For about 15 dollars(1200 microsoft fun points whatever) you can own a great multiplayer experience in which almost no other arcade game can offer. Although to some there might be some few faults with the game like the one only mode conquest and 4 maps 1 of them airplanes only, there is a limitless amount of ways in which you can achieve your goal with the varying 3 classes you have. The For about 15 dollars(1200 microsoft fun points whatever) you can own a great multiplayer experience in which almost no other arcade game can offer. Although to some there might be some few faults with the game like the one only mode conquest and 4 maps 1 of them airplanes only, there is a limitless amount of ways in which you can achieve your goal with the varying 3 classes you have. The graphics are great for an arcade game not to mention 90% of the battlefield is destroyable and deformable. Also you have the fast jeep, powerful tank, airplanes, aa guns, and the bombers all to control, I just wish it had submarines, and controllable battleships like 1942 did. Any way you should at least check out the demo, and if you like it and buy the game your gonna get a lot of bang for your buck. Expand
  19. BrendanM
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    As far as downloadable games go, Battlefield 1943 is near perfect. The game takes the series' signature game-play, and focuses it like a laser. The three available classes are nearly perfectly balanced, and the vehicles are powerful while not seeming to godly. The maps on hand are all great, and each presents unique threats, challenges and strategies. I always found the Battlefield As far as downloadable games go, Battlefield 1943 is near perfect. The game takes the series' signature game-play, and focuses it like a laser. The three available classes are nearly perfectly balanced, and the vehicles are powerful while not seeming to godly. The maps on hand are all great, and each presents unique threats, challenges and strategies. I always found the Battlefield series to be a battle of attrition for n00bs, but 1943 totally rewrites that sentiment for me. I highly recommend this game to shooter fans as well as anyone looking for a game that can easily be picked up, but also has surprising depth. Buy this mofo! Expand
  20. DonnyD.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    An awesome game. High quality at a low price. Let's hope they release more packages like this. Love the destructibility.
  21. PPBB
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    This is a great 15 dollar game. Everyone who is comparing this game to COD4 and COD5 should realize that this game is about one quarter the price, and you get MORE than what you pay for. If you have frineds to play with this game is amazing, a littel less when playing alone, but still good fun.
    Great value , great visuals, great fun FOR ITS 15 dollar price tag.
  22. ChrisN
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    I've never had as many great gaming moments, and hours of entertainment from any other $15 game. So many ways to kill and be killed. I can't think of any arcade game with more bang for your buck.
  23. OliverH
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    1 of the best online experiences on the 360. A really outstanding achievement by DICE. This game was fantastic on the PC and on the 360 there is no exception. If you love a squad/team based fps then i cant recommend this enough and at only 1200points its a steal!
  24. KrassG
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    This game was simply amazing, i have spent hours playing it, why? Because of its simple addictive game play that keeps me coming back for more. And of course im going to compare it to L4D, L4D has great graphics, great sound, but it only has 4 characters and is extremely linear. Whereas Killing Floor as about 10 or so characters, it has several levels that are not linear, both made by the This game was simply amazing, i have spent hours playing it, why? Because of its simple addictive game play that keeps me coming back for more. And of course im going to compare it to L4D, L4D has great graphics, great sound, but it only has 4 characters and is extremely linear. Whereas Killing Floor as about 10 or so characters, it has several levels that are not linear, both made by the developers and made by the players. L4D only has about 8 weapons total, Killing Floor has so many weapons, but im to lazy to name them all, hah. KIlling Floor is a great game, and for the $20 price tag, it is just a better buy for anyone looking for some good ol' co-op shooting action. Expand
  25. jasongarnham
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    i was cursing this game when i first bought it as i hadent managed to connect to any games for a few days then lo and behold all the issues were sorted out great fun not perfect for for 1200 points is well worth the money while the graphics are not exeptional the gameplay is more like this please.
  26. AlexV.
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    This is a great little gem on the Xbox Live Arcade and for only $15 it's a great value as well. It is a online-only game and is very addicting. Not only is the game fun to play, it looks incredible. While playing it I kept forgetting I was even playing an XBLA game and not an actual disc game. The buildings and terrain is destroyable due to the Frostbite Engine which was used in This is a great little gem on the Xbox Live Arcade and for only $15 it's a great value as well. It is a online-only game and is very addicting. Not only is the game fun to play, it looks incredible. While playing it I kept forgetting I was even playing an XBLA game and not an actual disc game. The buildings and terrain is destroyable due to the Frostbite Engine which was used in Battlefield: Bad Company and that helps when driving vehicles or trying to get to people camping out in buildings. The game is definitely worth the money and I can see it having great replay value especially if DICE releases downloadable content down the road. Expand
  27. AnonymousMC
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Battlefield 1943 is a game that delivers on the most essential element of any quality video game experience: the fun factor. It is not something that should be judged in comparison to previous installments in the long running series. That would be unfair, and entirely contrary to the developers intentions. BF 1943 is an arcade game, and it never attempts to argue otherwise. InfiniteBattlefield 1943 is a game that delivers on the most essential element of any quality video game experience: the fun factor. It is not something that should be judged in comparison to previous installments in the long running series. That would be unfair, and entirely contrary to the developers intentions. BF 1943 is an arcade game, and it never attempts to argue otherwise. Infinite health, ammo, sprint- they're all present. This is not a "hardcore" fps, and I realize how that may disappoint fans of the series. However, if they would only judge the game purely on its own merits, then perhaps they would see the light. And oh what a beautiful, luminescent light it is. The premise of the game is beautifully simple. Set in the chaotic Pacific theater of 1943, two teams (the Americans and Japanese, obviously) duke it out in the ultimate hopes of conquering, or defending, a piece of land. This is accomplished through the capturing of flags, dispersed evenly throughout the three islands (Iwo Jima, Guadalcanal and Wake Island.) A meter at the top of the screen clearly displays the progress of both teams; the side that captures more flags and kills more soldiers will ultimately emerge victorious. That is, however, a boring synopsis of the game. The real fun lies in the methods of killing the enemy, of which there are numerous options. Tanks, planes, rifles, machine guns, snipers, grenade launchers, swords, wrenches; if it was used in WW2, it will most likely be found in BF 1943. The presentation is also superb, especially for an arcade game. The bright sun illuminates the colorful islands and sparkling Pacific waters of Wake Island and Guadalcanal, while the setting sun presents an eery backdrop for Iwo Jima. Bombs, grenades and tank shells explode around you in deadly showers of dirt, gravel and fire while you marvel at their beauty. The quality of audio is unmatched; as planes fly over you, you almost feel an instinctive impulse to duck. The sound of discharged rifle rounds changes when you step into interior settings. As buildings explode near you, you can hear the dirt and stone raining down upon you. It all makes for one hell of an immersive experience. If one fault can be attributed to BF 1943, it is that the three maps eventually begin to lose their initial appeal and ultimately wear on you. I sincerely hope that DICE fully supports this title post-release, for it has the potential to blossom into a thriving online community, with the proper developer support, of course. BF 1943 is beautiful, immersive, addictive, and above all, fun. For the insane price of $15, it cannot, must not, be ignored. This is the future of gaming, my friends. Enjoy. Expand
  28. JohnGO
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    Great game well worth the 1200 points. It's a bit dumbed down but At thesame time it's very fast paced and fun
  29. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    Battlefield 1943 is one of my personal all time favourite games on the 360 and my favourite game in the Battlefield series. For the price this is an astounding game and is almost impossible to differentiate from any regular retail game. The graphics are sharp and the sound is excellent. However, the gamplay is where Battlefield 1943 exceeds. It's the same formula found in any BattlefieldBattlefield 1943 is one of my personal all time favourite games on the 360 and my favourite game in the Battlefield series. For the price this is an astounding game and is almost impossible to differentiate from any regular retail game. The graphics are sharp and the sound is excellent. However, the gamplay is where Battlefield 1943 exceeds. It's the same formula found in any Battlefield game. You're placed on one of two opposing teams, in this case the Americans or the Japanese. You win by capturing flags and reducing the opposing teams tickets to zero. Battlefield 1943 is a must buy for any XBOX Live member. Expand
  30. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    One of the best value Xbox Live arcade games available in the marketplace. The large open maps are perfect for warfare on the land, sea or air. I have never had to wait more than 10 seconds to join a game which impressed me as waiting can be one of the most annoying things in multiplayer gaming.
  31. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    By no means, by me giving this game an 8 does it mean it's incomplete, bad, or it couldn't require a fix. My biggest complaints are snipers are semi useless aside from using C4 as traps, which is like always in a BF game, fun, but the sniper rifles are next to useless all thanks to the Rifleman's stellar accuracy. But the worst complaint of all that halts me from rewarding this game withBy no means, by me giving this game an 8 does it mean it's incomplete, bad, or it couldn't require a fix. My biggest complaints are snipers are semi useless aside from using C4 as traps, which is like always in a BF game, fun, but the sniper rifles are next to useless all thanks to the Rifleman's stellar accuracy. But the worst complaint of all that halts me from rewarding this game with a 9 or even better is the lag. I realize this is an arcade game and it shouldn't be held to a AAA titles standards, but for me paying about $15 every 3 months for XBox LIVE and the amount of deaths I've had over lag (not shooting each other at the same time, I'm talking about the lag where your jumping around everywhere/the enemies jumping around everywhere, or your retracing your steps about 3 times before the lag corrects your movement). If this game had lag spikes once every few 2-4 games, once a round I wouldn't have no complaints. But the fact that I have at least 1 spike every spawn (and no it's not my connection/just my connection). But once you brush your way through the lag, and learn the mechanics you can see the full potential of this game, which is anything but a bad. Expand
  32. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    In my opinion, this game is a great multiplayer game that is definitely worth the microsoft points. It is not to violent, and is a game that you could play for hours on. This is an arcade game that is a definite buy.
  33. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    This is the sort of game that I can truly respect, a completely multiplayer game with a low but very fair price tag, after forking out $90 for Battlefield 3 and finding out only about $40 of it was money well spent (multiplayer was good) it's really good to come across this gem of a game, three maps from the world war II era, a well-balanced three classes and ace vehicular combat, andThis is the sort of game that I can truly respect, a completely multiplayer game with a low but very fair price tag, after forking out $90 for Battlefield 3 and finding out only about $40 of it was money well spent (multiplayer was good) it's really good to come across this gem of a game, three maps from the world war II era, a well-balanced three classes and ace vehicular combat, and Battlefield's brilliant engine, all for under $20, if you have any integrity at all, you'd scoff at the **** that is Battlefield 3 and but this instead, I guarantee the legs on this baby will take you much farther than BF3 ever will Expand
  34. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    This game is a great deal, a low priced game with unlimited fun and great multiplayer it brings back the 1942 formula and makes a great game with destructible environments and modified graphics. Before buying this game though, consider the fact that there is a lot of lag, screen tearing, and team balancing issues that may make your experience less fun. Despite that, Battlefield 1943 is aThis game is a great deal, a low priced game with unlimited fun and great multiplayer it brings back the 1942 formula and makes a great game with destructible environments and modified graphics. Before buying this game though, consider the fact that there is a lot of lag, screen tearing, and team balancing issues that may make your experience less fun. Despite that, Battlefield 1943 is a very good game and something that will deliver hours of fun and entertainment. Expand
  35. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Great game can't believe only 14 pounds so much fun only problem is that eventually it gets boring with only 3 maps and 3 classes although that is only eventually I mean after AGES
    Also you sometimes get some really annoying people and it is quite hard to mute people as you have to join a squad and if they are then in your squad you are COMPLETELY screwed
  36. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    The gaming gods truly blessed us with this amazing piece of craftsmanship! Great graphics, fun gameplay, and excellent maps. I just wish there were more maps. The 3 available are great but can get repetitive.
  37. Aug 4, 2017
    9
    Battlefield 1943 is a great game. Taking the best parts from the classic BF titles, and from Bad Company that came out a year prior to this, and combining it into a new WWII Battlefield experience on the Frostbite engine. Allowing you to pilot vehicles like Jeeps, Tanks, and Spitfires to destroy buildings, or send the opposing team to the respawn screen. Sure, the gunplay is unrefined andBattlefield 1943 is a great game. Taking the best parts from the classic BF titles, and from Bad Company that came out a year prior to this, and combining it into a new WWII Battlefield experience on the Frostbite engine. Allowing you to pilot vehicles like Jeeps, Tanks, and Spitfires to destroy buildings, or send the opposing team to the respawn screen. Sure, the gunplay is unrefined and looks the same as it does in Bad Company, but it still does the job. If you are struggling to scrape together cash to pick up Battlefield 3 or Bad Company 2, get this game. It's fairly cheap and provides a hugely fun online experience. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. What you get, really, is Battlefield at its most pure. [Aug 2009, p.71]
  2. GamePro
    90
    With satisfaction always within reach, Battlefield 1943 makes for an addictive online experience. [Aug 2009, p.79]
  3. A perfectly sized, expertly-crafted romp, Pacific gives other download games their marching orders. [Aug 2009, p.97]