Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 85
    Hardcore Battlefield 3 strategists will be disappointed by the sudden emphasis on breakneck speed over deliberate tactics, not to mention Close Quarters' 16-player limit and infantry-only focus. But even they'll be sucked in if they give this add-on a chance.
  2. 80
    A high-speed change of pace. [Aug 2012, p.117]
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    78
    A finely constructed distraction for BF fans, but won't hold their attention for long. [Sept 2012, p.101]
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    Sadly, Close Quarters is a perfect example of a "Call of Duty wannabe". This is a carbon copy of the popular FPS, disguised as a simple DLC. Even the game modes are the same. The lack of original ideas is sad, but it isn't enough to crush a good experience. The maps are interesting and if you're looking for something different from the original (and awesome) Battlefield gameplay, you could give it a try.
  5. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    Close Quarters provides those short rushes of adrenaline that sometimes we missed, although it's a shame that it only adds four new maps.
  6. Jun 20, 2012
    70
    After spending several days exclusively on Close Quarters matches, I dipped into a Rush match on Kharg Island and in the first five minutes shot down a helicopter with a rocket launcher, crashing it into an enemy jet for a spectacular double kill. That is why I play Battlefield.
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    70
    As good as Close Quarters is, then, it just doesn't have the tools to offer up anything so profound at Battlefield 3 proper.
  8. Jun 26, 2012
    60
    Close Quarters has a nice balance of new geography, modes and tactics but not enough to really excite.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    This is a fresh expansion on the normally big BF maps, because the maps in Close Quarters are very small and gives you a lot more action. For 4 maps 15 euro's is maybe too much but it's definitely fun to play on small maps instead of the other big maps. Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    5
    Was disappointed with this DLC on the 360. I knew this was supposed to be fast-paced infantry based gameplay, but in my opinion it just didn't hit the mark. Wish I hadn't bothered wasting my money on it. I wasn't impressed with the visuals (from what I saw) although to be fair I didn't play for that long. BF just doesn't do this type of game play as good as COD. My tip. Don't bother. Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    Like so many others the quality of this dlc plays 2nd place to the business model adopted by EA. Battlefield 2 was a great game. Battlefield 3 has become a cash cow. The customer buys the game.. pays for xbox live membership... now they have to pay to rent a server...EA having no respect for their customers. Its s short sighted business model. I wont be buying this. I wont be buying another battlefield game. Full Review »