User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 809 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 809

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2010
    5
    A great game completely destroyed by a lot of small problems and before the rabid fanboys come to try and decapitate my post I want to stress it's almost good. I'll list the main problems I have though,

    1. My biggest problem with this game is the inexplicable load time of 13 seconds. A disgracefully long time given the amount of times you die in this game. It encourages players to camp
    and use overpowered weapons (which I'll get to a bit later). Given that the game encourages you to spawn with your squad it's an appaling decision to have made and it alone breaks the game. But god is that not the only issue.

    2. At the time of writing (august 2010) there are still only 9 new maps available 7 months after the game was released. That's tolerable-ish given that maps can change throughout the game time but DICE and EA lost all credit when they allowed new players to pay to unlock weapons. That is completely unacceptable! Unlocks ARE MEANT TO BE UNLOCKED not payed for.

    3. Imbalance of weapons. Need I mention the M60, a hilariously broken gun even after the patch. Or any later shotgun which is a one shot kill from an ungodly distance.

    4. Squads, wouldn't it make sense to put snipers with snipers, I find that very irritating when you're the only one actually running foward and your squad are half a mile away. and everyone else form a conventional squad. Or be able to spawn within helicopters even if the pilots not part of your squad?

    5. A lot of new stuff is given too you in Multiplayer. This raises a very easy to fix problem, no one knows how to use the damn things! Tracer Darts are never introduced in Singleplayer (nor is flying a helicopter) so you have to know how to use them yourself. This could be fixed by toggling the private match settings so you could run around alone (like in MW2) but you need 7 other players to do so!

    6. Singleplayer, what Singleplayer. It's over in 2 1/2 hours with little fun in between. I think the main problem is a lack of tension. You are with 3 other people and are ONLY with 3 other people. In the rare chance you meet an ally they will be blown up (or die inexplicably). In an invasion of a country you are still only with 4 people. It's also jaw droppingly obvious who the villain is, no that's NOT a spoiler. Also you never feel like you'll be ambushed because about 5 seconds before an Ambush a sign will come up saying FEND OFF THE AMBUSH. Also while I like the deliberate cliche it still takes itself far too seriously.

    The main problem with BC2 is it's competing against MW2 when it shouldn't be. i didn't like mw2 but at least it knew it was a game. This game takes itself seriously half the time and pokes fun at itself the other. It copies MW2 alarmingly and tries to pass it off with a few fun references. it's not a bad game, it's a great game surrounded by mediocre ideas.
    Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    What makes BC2 the best multiplayer FPS I've ever played? It's the cinematic moments. Such as riding shotgun on a 4-wheeler through the Atacama desert as an Apache pilot flies low and close on your tail looking for the easy kill. Except, you pull out your Carl Gustav and watch it crash in flames on the ground after you catch it with your rocket dead on the nose. You and your squad then laugh as your 4-wheeler dodges the derbris and flames of what's left of the Apache on your way to capturing objective Charlie. Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 is, in my opinion, one of the greatest online FPS of all time! Obviously it has fault at some points (campaign isn't great) but the online aspect of the game is outstanding. The maps are huge, they provide different sorts of enviroments and best of all, something that most online games struggle at, they are BALANCED. DICE really have discovered hidden treasure because the quality of gameplay, graphics and teamwork. I find myself playing the game 3-5 hours daily and not once do I ever "rage quit" or get bored. The Cod series really need to step up to the plate this time and come up with new ideas as revamping older games into new games and selling them off for 50+ just simply isn't good enough. I challenge anyone to play Battlefield Bad Comany 2 online for 2-3 hours for a few days in 1 week and prove me wrong. All in all, 10/10 is my verdict. Simply a masterpiece, thinking "outside the box" is a huge step forward for gaming innovation. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    This game is probably the best FPS game I have ever played on the Xbox360. I thoroughly enjoy the balance of the game compared to other games in the FPS genre. I like how most buildings can be completely demolished, and how you can change the tide of the battle with a single vehicle. Pros: Graphics, sound, replay value, squad system, controls, use of multiple vehicles (Sea, Land, Air), unlockable items, Cons: Cursing players (I have kids, so I have to play the game late at night), no fixed-wing aircraft Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    not a good campaign but the multiplayer more than makes up for. The multiplayer is the best i have ever seen in my life and i never get bored of it.
  6. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    On the back of the cover box, there's a quote from Game Informer stating: "Best tactical multiplayer action on the planet". I frown upon Game Informer's usage of the term "tactical multiplayer", seeing as how in actuality this game requires no more strategy or tactics than for instance Modern Warfare, and in many cases actually requires less. I feel that the only people who disagree with me on this are extreme fanboys. The Battlefield franchise is clearly one of the best military shooter series out there; a clear cut second place in my opinion, with Modern Warfare still pulling ahead in almost every department, save a few. But then again, beating out the likes of Medal of Honor and Operation Flashpoint isn't that impressive, but that's not to put this game down in any manner. The single player of Bad Company 2 is absolutely horrid. I was utterly appalled that a game this high quality could produce such a drab, unexciting, and disappointing campaign. I could not care for the story any less, and the ending was laughably bad. Seriously, play the last level and try not to laugh. It tried so hard to be this epic single player experience that delivers mind-blowing set pieces and explosive sequences but ends up falling flat. The characters are all idiotic with extremely cliche personalities, although they do occassionally deliver funny dialogue. Overall, do not purchase this game for single player. Thankfully, the multiplayer is where the meat and potatoes are at. There are two things and two things only that Battlefield does better than Call of Duty: sound effects and largescale battles. The sound department is miles ahead of the competition, and whether it's the echoing of your pistol reloading inside of a building or the thundering boom of mortal shells annihiliating your cover, you will always feel like you're really there. The entire arsenal is about as balanced as you can get, with a few exceptions not worth mentioning. However, I mainly play Rush mode, mainly because it's the most intense and has the most epic battles. Battlefield's team deathmatch, however, is an absolute joke. Unless you enjoy getting killed by extreme campers hiding in the most absurd places, than you will probably not enjoy the TD mode at all. There are a few complaints I would prefer to get out in the open, and one of my biggest ones being the constantly delay/lag in every game. There is no denying it, I have an amazing internet connection, and Battlefield still is delayed every game. If I shoot an enemy point blank with a shotgun and there is almost a full second delay till he dies, than you kind of notice it. This may not sound so huge, but while you're attempting to run n' gun and you're killed by an enemy that you shot at first, it gets on your nerves. I think that my largest complain with this game is the people who play it. I used to think that Call of Duty had the worst crowd of people to play with, but wait until you play this. Literally, in a game of 12v12, there will be at the very least 4 enemies who refuse to play the objectives in Rush mode and will be camping nonstop. They will not even attempt to defuse the bomb, even if it is within 15 feet of them, nor will they attempt to plant it if they're Attacking. It's embarassing, and makes me laugh at how horrible the general Battlefield population is. The explosions on this game, despite sounding and looking amazing, are completely unrealistic. If a hand grenade can really kill me while I'm standing 30 feet away in another room and my grenade launcher can't even kill a guy 2 feet from the explosion, than it seems to me that it needs a little bit of work. The graphics are essentially excellent, with the environments and destructibles being impressive, while the character animations and models leave much to be desired. As mentioned earlier, this game does not require any more tactics than Call of Duty, no matter how badly you want it to, so I use the term "largescale warfare" when I say this: It's probably the best largescale warfare game on the market today, but still needs more polish to become insanely good. Difficult to compare to Call of Duty side by side, since they're both different types of military shooters. If you hate COD, you will probably love this. If you love COD like I do, you will still probably like this game. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    Great game completely ruined by the greed of the corporation that put it out. It's a fun mosh-pit of doom in Multiplayer matches and features bullet drop and delay along with destruction mechanics. However there is little to no explanation as how to use things in Multiplayer. People can also BUY the unlocks which is downright disgusting. Another crippling feature is the squads. The squads can only communicate with other squad members, and coincidentally NO SQUAD I HAVE EVER JOINED IN A SOLID WEEK OF PLAY HAD A SINGLE PERSON WITH A MICROPHONE. As a result, the Multiplayer is like a silent single-player with a cowboys and Indians feel to it with everyone rushing about aimlessly due to an inability to properly communicate. It's a game that's built around teamwork that allows one or two crippling features to break the game... Like not being able to talk. Wait does that even make sence? A teamwork game where you CANT TALK?! Don't these idiots go to COLLAGE to get a degree for this kind of work? I'm sorry, the only logic I can find behind such features would be to intentionally sabotage the game in order to fix the issues in a sequel, which is both disgusting and insulting to the gaming community and the creators should be ashamed of themselves. Expand
  8. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Bad Company 2 takes the FPS genre and brings some refreshing changes into the mix, especially with its multiplayer component. The campaign is fun, the story isn't fantastic but there are some interesting sections to play through and the characters have some mildly amusing dialogue, although not as much as the first game. The online multiplayer is where this game really impresses. There are only 3 modes, squad death match is where 4 teams of 4 players go around the map and try to reach 40 kills before any other. Rush involves one team of 12 attempting to destroy two points before advancing, up to five times depending on the map, and doing so again. Conquest is the classic Battlefield game type where 12v12 teams attempt to gain control of flags and elimate all enemy respawn tickets (250 each I think); the more flags you hold, the easier is it to deplete their tickets. There are four combat classes, assault where you get access to many assault rifles, and have the ability to resupply comrades with ammunition to earn extra points. Engineer has access to silenced SMGs and RPGs, as well as the ability to repair friendly vehicles, or hi-jacked enemy ones. The Medic class can revive recently killed team mates, as well as supply health packs to those who have been badly wounded in a gunfight; this class can use machine guns. The Recon class has access to sniper rifles, and can stay back from the main fight a spot enemies (all players can spot, but recon class can spot from a distance and pick off enemies). Recon can call in mortar strikes on a position. The maps are huge and destructible, virtually every building and tree can be razed to the ground and huge craters appear in the ground where mortar fire rains down. You can play with 4-squad mates, whom you can chat with, and you can respawn on them if they're in trouble or safe, depending on how daring you are. Respawning is the best of any online shooter, you only get killed on spawning if you spawn on a squadmate in imminent danger. You can spawn quite safely in the team's base. Vehicles play a huge part, with different kinds of choppers and tanks and others to take the attack to the enemies. The guns looks and sound fantastic, and with the volume turned up and 'War Tapes' sound setting on, it really immerses you into a proper battle. Be warned, if you're used to playing Call of Duty, there is a steep learning curve to get used to the heavier feel of the game, but once you get through it, there is no game better at making you feel like part of a battle or part of a team. It's the best online shooter out there, so give it a go. Expand
  9. Sep 4, 2010
    9
    The single player game may be short, but it's a fun ride while it lasts. Multiplayer, however will keep you hooked for months. The competitive component of this game offers a well-implemented progression system, an assortment of cool vehicles, damn good maps, and enough explosive spectacle to make Michael Bay green with envy.
  10. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    The best FPS you can get on a console. Great sound, great physics, great destruction this game is awesome. The only thing i can complain about is that there is just a small amount of lag when you shoot a building with an explosive but how many games are there on a console with complete destruction in the multiplayer mode?
  11. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This game is just the best game in Battlefield series to now and in my opinion the best shooter so far in the seventh generation. The single player is ok, but the multiplayer is indescribable. I can't understand why there are people who can't see its greatness. There are only a few flaws in multiplayer, but I think most of them is because of my connection (not so good). And sometimes the game gets kind of unbalanced, driving you crazy in a low level team versus a almost full of high levels team. I would rate it 9.5, but since I can only rate integers and there are a lot of haters' reviews (c'mon, how the heck this game could get less than 6?) I can only rate it a 10.
    I had to pay approximately 81 dollars in my country for this one month after launching time, and believe me, I do really think it was so much worthy.
    Expand
  12. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    This is one of the best online experiances ever.Team based gameplay and excellent modes make this title truely great.You can drive a range of vechals as well. Single player is good not great.Plot is tired and worn off but allows crazy amounts of action.Grapics and destructable enviorments both are amazing.But constant action dosent allow any tension building.It goes for the epic feeling call of duty gave but dosent nail it.Buy this one and play multiplayer you will have a blast. Expand
  13. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    I've had this game since it released and I still love it. The only knock I have is the weapons are not as cool as other shooters. The xm8 is a cancelled project and it is one of the main weapon systems in this game. The under barrel shotgun would be cooler as a traditional master-key.All that is so minor and this game is great where it counts. The single player campaign is entertaining and maintains enough of the "sandbox" gameplay from the fist bc while providing scripted action sequences. The gameplay and fun factor of multiplayer is unmatched. This game is awesome and a must buy! Expand
  14. May 1, 2011
    10
    This has got to be the best game for the 360...I've played a good many of this Genre and this has to be the best on line game out at the moment. Graphics, playability, maps, All feel great.
  15. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    It was said that Bad Company 2 is MW2's rival, and with that pointed out, I say it's a tie. Despite MW2 having a better SP experience (IMO), and having better "loner" gameplay in MP, Bad Company 2 takes the crown in combined arms (vehicle vs vehicle/infantry), strategy, and balance (I'm speaking for individual classes, I realize some classes are OP). It became immediately apparent that the team with the better cooperation (or in Rush camping skills) is usually if not always the victor. The only thing holding this thing back from a 10 is the fact that you can't really enjoy yourself while playing as a loner, and the SP experience is anything but original. Anybody who wants a good game, or just something NOT Call of Duty, this is your best bet. Worth every penny. Expand
  16. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    In my opinion Battlefield bad company 2 is overall, a good game. The campaign is not that good in my opinion because of the boring storyline, and dull missions, but the multiplayer makes up for that. Battlefield bad company two is one of the best multiplayer games I have ever played mainly because of the game modes and maps. If you are looking for a good multiplayer game, than you should get battlefield bad company 2. Expand
  17. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest, action-packed games I have ever played. Next to the upcoming Halo 4, MW3, and Battlefield 3, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a thrilling adrenaline pumping game that no one should miss. If you otherwise want to buy Bayonetta, then this is not the game for you.
  18. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    Excellent game. The lowest leaderboard rank I got was 6,000. It's a great game, requiring teamwork for success. This game is best played with at least 3 friends to make a full "squad". Mics make it even better. A team with mics will always beat a team without. This game has great graphics, animations and good campaign. Couldn't have asked for more...
  19. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    After redownloading this game on the Xbox Live marketplace, I realised how terribly wrong I was in my past review. This blows MW2 and Black Ops out of the water, and is on par - in some aspects, better - with such classic COD games as COD5 and Modern Warfare. Can't wait for Battlefield 3, which i'm sure will be ten times better than this game. The only problems I can think of in this game are the lackluster campaign that generally fails to impress and the slightly overpowered medic class.

    Multiplayer - 9.5/10
    Campaign - 6/10

    Overall - 8.5/10
    Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is my favorite first person shooter of all time. Before i bought it i had already played modern warfare 2 and black ops, and i did enjoy them, but i found them repetitive and simple. To then play battlefield and have the freedom of flying around in UAVs, road killing snipers with tanks and grenade bombarding m-coms with boats was amazing. The campaign is pretty good, short but action packed and even funny at times. I give the singleplayer 8/10, but that doesnt bring the review down because battlefield is about the multiplayer. Customisation and leveling is perfect. Maps are superb in terms of gameplay and visuals, and there no other multiplayer experience like it in my opinion.
    I urge anyone to get this game, and any other battlefield game they can.
    Expand
  21. Dec 12, 2011
    8
    had high hopes for this game, i loved the first bad company. The first game had it's flaws sure but it where a different experience from other games in the same genre. This review is going to be a both a comparison towards the first game and other games in the same genre. SINGLEPLAYER The singleplayer part of the game is the disappointing part of the game for sure. The first bad company game had a special feeling when you sat down to play. Even though it was a hidden linear experience,BC2 is a more linear experience then the first game and more to compare towards infinity wards Modern Warfare 2. The environments are still as large and open world as the first game but there is more directions of exact ways to play through the game. I prefer the way from the first game since it makes it worth playing again. Even though i explained the linear part of the game the singleplayer has more flaws. The story is for me the biggest NoNo with this game. The story is boring and now 1 week after i finished the game i still can't remember why i did all the things i did during the singleplayer campaign. The first game had a good script and humor, while this just has a boring story that in the end makes you skip the cutscenes. MULTIPLAYER DICE is a company famous for great multiplayer in their games and as you may have guessed this is one of the best multiplayer releases this year. It got the usual ranking system from the first game and now it got more reasons to rank up. The tactical destruction is a main part of the multiplayer that you're going to miss when it's gone. I can't play games like Modern Warfare 2 since i played my first game of Bad Company 2. The destruction is giving the game a whole new tactical view over the battlefield. If an enemy is hiding in a building just blow a hole in the wall and dispose of him in a safe way. The unfortunate part of the multiplayer is the fact that sometimes you can get onto servers with 3-4 people playing even though there is a lot of soldiers out on the battlefield. Okay now i'm going to write a small thing about graphics. This game is using the inhouse developed frostbite engine and gives the game an awesome graphical standpoint. But there is a few flaws with the frostbite engine form my view. First one is that if your'e playing on a standard def tv the game is pretty dark on the original settings. I've tried out my xbox with 4 different SD Tv's and i need to sit for 3-5 minutes trying out different settings to get it okay. The second flaw is that why is there so much fog on every map? If your trying to use a sniper on some multiplayer maps you can't se further then 20 feet and on some you can see the end of the map on the other side Expand
  22. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    This game has nice Visuals and plays well but the single player was not worth it but battlefield is about the multi player. This game is not easy because you have to play as a team. Cod Tactics will not work because the maps are huge and destroyable. Destruction 2.0 changes the game because cover is gone then it will get harder as the match progresses. I would say this is a great game and a must have for battlefield fans (or bad company fans). Expand
  23. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    A very fun multiplayer. One of the best among fps's. They fixed most of the problems in bad company 1, but the campaign is a bit boring and uninteresting. Its "cinematic events" are just not as exciting or interesting as ones in its major competitor, cod, but its multiplayer makes up for a poor campaign
  24. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 without a doubt is one of the best console fps games I have ever played. I picked it up again recently after more than a year of playing other fps games and it is still great.

    Single player campaign is fun even when replaying and feels head and shoulders above bland and boring attempts at storytelling both of Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 to name a few
    recent failures. It has memorable characters which are not too serious about themselves, Battlefield signature destructible environments, plot with some rather predictable twists, is blissfully free of nuclear terrorists and it manages to conclude itself before getting too long and boring.

    Battlefield Bad Company 2 multiplayer has something that I have yet to find in any other fps
    Expand
  25. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This game rocks. BFBC2 clearly is more balanced in terms of guns and gameplay than MW2. I only have one concern, they should have provided more maps n modes for the game. If you want to play tactically in a squad, this game is for u :D 910 for multiplayer. 810 for single player.
  26. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Much much better then mw2. I still play mw2 but if i had to burn one of them games I wouldn't even think about it. Although i was not a fan on the campaign it was still interesting but the multiplayer is by far the upside of the game.
    Getting to pic guys off running around in rush. Reviving team mates, drivin cars, tanks, helicopters. It is a great FPS stratagy game. I give it a 9.5 out
    of 10.

    Review9
    Expand
  27. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    I couldn't wait for Battlefield Bad Company 2 to come out in March, sick and tired of Modern Warfare 2 and its alarming acceptance of the casual gamer. I was not disappointed. BFBC2 is better or as good as Modern Warfare 2 in every area, except for fanbase size (surprising considering this is a much better game) . This is the year that Battlefield has eclipsed Call of Duty in terms of enjoyability and gameplay.

    First, the sound FX and graphics are both extremely detailed. The environments are very large and well-rendered, and the game runs very smoothly even when there is lots of action on the field. The sound is stunning, featuring an excellent soundtrack by Mikael Karlsson (although I think MW2's soundtrack is better) However, MW2 does not have sound FX that are even close to the magnitude of BFBC2. A sniper shot. A mortar volley. A grenade launcher. All of these sound realistic, whether they are flying by you and around you or you are delivering them unto others. The campaign is much better than before, sporting less scripted gameplay with an average story. Gameplay in BFBC2 has been vastly improved over its predecessor. There is many more game modes, much more variety in weapons (statistically), more vehicles, enhanced destruction, improved physics engine, better servers, balanced gameplay, and (arguably the most important) feedback from DICE and response from them. Arguably, that is what sets ths game apart the most from IW's overhyped disaster. For example, nearly every glitch and balancing issue (including the dreaded M60 LMG Sniper and 1-hit kill snipers in Hardcore) has been fixed. Meanwhile, IW has fixed only a few, extremely large glitches that shouldn't have even made it into the game. This game is a must-buy if you enjoy fun, balanced shooters where you won't get killed randomly all the time.
    Expand
  28. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    No doubht one of the best shooters of the year large maps on multiplayer and intense campaign gameplay make this one of the greatest games ever and a must buy!
  29. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I'll make this quick and easy. Singleplayer - 9 (Not the best, but I really liked it) Multiplayer - 10 (Very balanced, vehicles, 24 players) Gameplay - 10 (AI isn't stupid, Graphics are amazing, Destruction 2.0) Playability - 10 (Small learning curve, Tight Controls, No Hosts for servers) Replayability - 9 (Maps are starting to get stale(Vietnam!), Very fun, Intense combat) Much more teamwork w/o having to talk. For me it's an upside. Using the context sensitive keys you can designate what you want to do or want others to do with ease. From spotting enemies, to asking for ammo/health, or asking to ride in vehicles, it's mostly all there. If only you could have 2 channels, 1 for squad talk and 1 for team talk. I gave this game a 9 because it isn't perfect and doesn't deserve a 10 for me. Compared to other famous FPS's out there, this is the highest score I have given. CoD MW gets an 8, MW2 gets a 6, Halo Reach got a 7, and I won't even get Black Ops. Expand
  30. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    excellent game, exceeded my expectations and i actually prefer it to CoD as the multiplayer is less flawed and less cheaters around, variety of online games is a bit poor though. Story mode is quite engaging and fairly lengthy too
  31. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Simply the most explosive, unbelievably intense & varied battlefield experience you will be talking about with your friends until the next iteration comes out! Bring on the Vietnam DLC!!! Battlefield presents you with hundreds of WTF situations, in a good way (affectionately known as "Battlefield Moments") Simply outclasses all competition. BUY IT! (& I'll see you on the battlefield!) Xbox live handle "|| BKSP ||" Expand
  32. Oct 23, 2010
    5
    Modern warfare 2 is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much better. go buy modern warfare 2 right now and never even think about buying this game.
  33. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    The game has a very well constructed online system and breaks away from the norm of online shooters allowing you to level up classes that you use often and collecting attachments on the way. However the game is brought down significantly by its shody campaign which is slow paced and doesn't seem to make much sense. You'll will probrably decide to leave the campiagn ( unless you are intrested in gaining achievements like me for example!). I only recccomend buying the game for its online qualities and to give it a miss if you arn't able to connect to xbox live. Expand
  34. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    This game is very fun online for both casual and hardcore gamers alike. The maps are huge meaning brilliant sniping, tank or airbourne fights are immense. The campaign can be fun at parts but is very boring when your file save corrupts which it always seems to do. The online is great for tactical play as addictive rush mode is brilliant. However if you dont have xbox live or have dial up the campaign alone probably isnt worth it. Expand
  35. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    This game depicts perfectly the battlefield feeling! its destruction, large maps, teamwork, vehicles all make up the greatest experience in an FPS online to date! Yes, this means I am willing to say "This has a better online experience than Modern Warfare 2!" Don't think it's all perfect though, the campaign was fairly tedious and wasn't exactly gripping enough to keep me fixed in the whole way through so Modern Warfare 2 and World at War still ultimately have the better Campaign experiences! Kudos DICE and we eagerly await Battlefield 3!!! Expand
  36. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    The single-player campaign follows the story of a bunch of soldiers as they travel around the world on the hunt for a mythical weapon of mass destruction which absolutely must not fall into the hands of the Russians. It's a typical story of unlikely heroes as they attempt to save the world, and it will take you across a great variety of locations that range from frozen mountains to densely packed jungles.

    Unfortunately, DICE still hasn't wowed us with its single-player design in Bad Company 2. Unforgivable bugs, linked to a weak trigger point system, cheapen a campaign that's far from brilliant in the first place - even without taking the bugs into account, Bad Company 2 still plays out unremarkably. Hopefully Bad Company 3 will make a strong campaign. (For once in the Battlefield series!)

    But, for many, the campaign won't matter one bit. These people come for the multiplayer and that's where Bad Company 2 delivers. Here the destructible environments of the campaign take on a new meaning. Your target might be waiting inside a shack. An enemy squad may be using a tower as a spawning point. This can all change with just a few well placed explosives as you literally level the playing field. It adds an extra tier of strategy to the game as you struggle to work through extended fights, adapting your approach to the fight as the world around you crumbles.

    Little squads can be created, making larger teams into strike forces which can each play a specific role. Then within that squad, players can choose between four load-out kits that range from the light machinegun toting medic to the SMG wielding specialist engineer. Each has its own weapons and unique tools that allow you to set yourself up as a small but integral part in the team's success. Teamwork is the key in this game so if your used to never playing with friends or sticking together with other players, you will die A LOT.

    What impressed me the most with Bad Company 2 is how flexible the multiplayer game is. The class system allows you to choose what your approach to battle will be. It's the maps and modes that allow you to choose exactly what kind of game you want to play. There is a huge difference between the giant and extended team Rush games which is an attack and defend mode which plays out across expansive maps and features lots of vehicles -- and the tighter Squad Deathmatch games which can feel like there's an enemy around every corner. If you care for something in between, you can just hop into a Conquest game to try your hand at the classic Battlefield fight over specific areas controlled by raising and lowering flags.

    In my view, Bad Company 2's online is the best around (Yes, BETTER than CoD and Halo) but has a weak campain so just misses out on 10!
    Expand
  37. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This is a pretty good game. The single player was okay and I got through it, but the multiplayer is why people play this game. It's good, and the action often feels tense and engaging. But, I feel like no one actually works as a team and most of the time I find myself walking 20 miles back to the action only to get sniped by some guy camping in a building. It's just not something that I can get into, but that's more or less my own style of play which is more CoD paced, so I don't knock the game for that. Solid overall. Worth owning if you like more slowly paced military shooters. Expand
  38. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    This is the game to own if you like team work, and realism. Sure it has glitches, and time where you are ready to smash your TV, but there is nothing better than playing Battlefield Bad Company 2 on hardcore on a rainy Sunday with a couple of friends. This game is 10x better than any Call of Duty, those games are for kids. This is a mans game
  39. Nov 4, 2011
    4
    This game may have been worthwhile when it came out, but now days there is no reason to buy it anymore, the reason being multiplayer is dead nobody is online anymore, I was able to play two or three matches during my time with it which is probably do to the fact that Battlefield 3 is out, or maybe because of the limited modes and maps, but what I played of the multiplayer I really enjoyed and I would love to play more but sadly I can't because no one plays it anymore, and the campaign sucks, it's no fun at all, the story seems tacked on just to have one, ditches the sense of freedom that gave the originals its charm, and suffers from cheap deaths, one good thing about it is Marlowe and the crew of Bad Company are as likable as ever, it's just sad there mission isn't, it really pains me to have to give it this score because I can see from what little I was able to play that when multiplayer was popular it was the bomb, but now its dead, I guess like all good things, it had to come to an end. Expand
  40. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    This game is great if you love good relaxing storyline and a intense Multilayer with a wide range of weapons and vehicles. by relaxing storyline, I mean you don't get frustrated that you died 2000 times.
  41. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    Battlefield has always been a great set of games and Bad Company 2 is no exception. BFBC2's strength is in the online multiplayer game play across 5 game modes (you can download additional modes like "Vietnam" for more $$) & a good deal of unlock able weapons & gadgets. The single player campaign is worth a play through but you probably won't care about revisiting it. With EA constantly upgrading /updating the game & a loyal fan base, you will have a blast with Bad Company 2! Expand
  42. Jan 14, 2011
    5
    Just received the game for X-mas. I am a long time gamer since the start of gaming, seen it all. Played a bit of the campaign but mostly on X-box live. Lets start with the graphics that everybody is saying so great. My TV is 53" 6 year old HD projection (witch weren't that great to start with) so the graphics look like sh** and I have trouble seeing enemies and tanks even close up some times, you have to look for motion for something to stand out. Especially with all the constant smoke and dust obscuring visibility. You shoot an enemy up and a cloud of smoke obstructs further aiming. Not knowing where your enemies are is very realistic but it seems like most of the times you die you never see it coming, sometime the radar will light up enemies when they are shooting at you but allot of times it doesn't which is very frustrating because you can't rely on it. They are trying to take 3D life where you have your 6 senses working 360 degrees and peripheral vision - and then translate it to 2D which doesn't work. They have to give you alternate senses to rely on to replace the ones lost. Allot of times it ends up being just a free fraul off killing and deaths unless you are on a drastically winning team or are on a private chat with 3 other friends to coordinate attacks and expose enemies by sacrificing your own. The ability to respawn on your own personal and bases makes dying only a minor inconvenience adding to the free fraul. In conquest respawning only at home base would solve this plus being made to take bases in order and the game ending when you posses all the bases would eliminate the craziness and late game home base blood baths creating a straight forward goal based battle. The next biggest frustration with the game is getting stuck on you surroundings either waking or driving. When walking anything over 6 inches tall (step height) stops you dead forcing you to jump as well as hills you think you should be able to climb up stop you and you sit there jumping like an idiot trying to get up. You will end up pulling your hair out because of this. When driving a tank you get stuck on almost everything. There is not much that can stop a tank in real life but when you get stuck on a wooden fence or building it's frustrating. Some things come down easy an others do not - very frustrating You should be able to flatten the grass/bamboo/tin huts in the Vietnam version without even slowing down. Some will break with effort but by then you are dead from enemy fire that you can't locate it's origin . Next is the weapons capabilities, as you build rand they give you more weapons not necessarily better ones. As you scroll thought the list of weapons you can't compare them directly, you find two you like at opposite ends of the list and by the time you scroll from one to the other you can't hardly remember where the bar was - to solve this give the power / accuracy / range bars a numerical value. As well the ability to only use one spec in each of the three spec columns is a piss off. You put hundreds of hours into the game to earn this stuff and only get to use 3. They make you choose between armor or ammo, targeting systems or speedy reloading ect............................It feels like all the time and progress is futile. You should be able to use them all, you put the time in you reap the benefits. If it gives you to much of an advantage make them harder to get or set up games where your entrance depends on ability. Low rank players play with other low rankers ect... Another thing that is frustrating is the aiming ability, whenever you hit the button it seems like I am always pointing at the enemies feet. If you set the sensitivity low it moves to slow and you end up dead, too fast and you over shoot the target every time, I can't seem to find a happy middle ground. Always liked some sort of mild auto aiming. Lastly the gun sights projected out in front of you whether walking or driving are either white or lighted red or blue. The white being the worst, you have a hard time seeing them especially when going though like back ground colours or smoke. Half the time you can't tell where you are aiming. The 4x red dot scope is a great spec but you have to pass up other good specs to use it. I should have waited for version 3. I hope they address all the problems with #2 and fire all their testers and hire some that know what they are doing and have some balls to say that the game isn't ready yet! Expand
  43. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Bad Company 2 truly blows the recent Call Of Duty games out of the water. It's realism, intensity and fast paced action online just make the best multiplayer experience I've ever had. In comparison, Modern Warfare1/2 lack realism, with GI's calling in harriers and gunships every 5 seconds and Commando Pro allowing infinite drop height. Another feature that makes Bad Company so spectacular online is the maps, of which there are many, and all are extremely well made. Destruction 2.0 also changes the way maps are played - if a house is full of snipers, knock it down. While the maps on Modern Warfare games are also well made, they are far too small, making real sniping impossible, and creating a pathetic and frustrating niche of 'quick scoping' and 'no scoping'. The campaign was great, though admittedly too short. It looked fantastic and played great, and with no set path and destructible buildings, every playthrough is different and intense. Expand
  44. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    If there's any game that deserves to be called one of the best shooters of 2010, it's this game. I'm tired of hearing about the extremely hyped up Call of Duty Black Ops, the game that I gave a 5, not a 10 or a 9, but a 5. If you want to know why I don't like Black Ops, read my review. In my opinion, Battlefield BC 2 is not hyped up enough. The experiences I had with this game far exceed Call of Duty. So with that said, let me explain the reasons why Battlefield BC 2 is superior to Black Ops. The game's multiplayer is actually pretty similar to Call of Duty, because it runs on a similar engine. However, unlike Black Ops, or any other COD game for that matter, Battlefield BC 2 actually adds MORE to it. That's called updating, Activision. You did a good job with GoldenEye, but not with COD, regardless of how popular the series is. Battlefield's multiplayer gives you everything that COD has, AND MORE! For example: you can't drive tanks in COD, you can't fly choppers in COD, you destroy buildings in COD, and it's easier to camp in COD. One thing I never liked about COD is anybody can play it, because it's so easy to play. You can camp in a corner the whole game, and be the MVP. In Battlefield BC 2, it's nearly impossible to camp since buildings and walls can be destroyed, exposing you. This means you'll actually have to run around the field and fight rather than just staying in one spot the whole time. Unless of course, you're a sniper, but it is more difficult to snipe in this game, but that's the magic of BBC2, it's challenging. The game is very realistic and chaotic in the multiplayer, the realism in this game far surpasses COD. Now I've never been a guy who cares about realism in video games, but when it comes to games that are trying to be a realistic warfare game, Battlefield delivers much better than COD does. My favorite things though, that BBC2 has that COD doesn't, are the vehicles. But much more importantly, it's not just tanks and four wheelers, but choppers too. You can put together teams on a vehicles and buff it up to start annihilating the other team. The chopper however, is the most fun. Imagine being in a chopper with your team and just covering up the whole ground with bullets. The other team hiding in doors so they can stay safe from you, but then you can just destroy the roof, and expose them. It gives you a much greater sense of accomplishment than getting a headshot in COD doesn't it? Another cool thing is the classes. The classes are almost as customizable as they are in a COD game, except you can choose a type of class that gives you special supportive abilities to help your team. Like Medic, who can heal or revive other players. Engineers, who can repair vehicles and other types of equipment. Recon, who are snipers, and can call air strikes to attack an enemy base. Or Assault, in which you can supply ammo to your allies, and better equipment for assaulting. But even if you're a medic, you can still do some great damage to the enemy team with light machine guns and grenades and vehicles. But the thing that makes the multiplayer superior to the COD multiplayer, is that it's much more like fighting in a real war than COD is. So the multiplayer in this game really shines, and is a whole lot of fun. My friends and I can't get enough of it. As far as the campaign goes, it's great. Best shooter campaign I've seen all year. The characters are very memorable, which is unusual for a shooter campaign, and the story is full of drama, action, and comedy. I have to admit, I havn't finished the campaign yet, but based on what I've played from it, it's really good. I'm almost finished with it though, pretty sure I have 2 more levels left befopre finishing it. And DLC? Tons and tons and tons of DLC. You'll be amazed by how much DLC it has. It has at least twice as much DLC, maybe even more, than any COD game. Lots of great maps and game modes, and unlike COD, this game actually requires skill. Overall, Battlefield Bad Company 2 is a load of fun, and is a must buy if you are a big fan of shooters. Far better than COD Black Ops. Battlefield Bad Company 2 gets a 9/10, and is my choice for 2010 Best Multiplayer Game. Can't wait for Battlefield 3. :) Expand
  45. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    This game is a masterpiece and it's the best FPS I am able to play at the moment on my Xbox. -Its realism is great. The only bad point is the necessity of sometimes have to empty an entire mag to defeat an enemy on multiplayer mode.
    -Its equipment kit - class system is original and foments team playing that's more realistic than being Rambo in such games like its main rival Call of Duty,
    and changes completely the view of the game.
    -Flawless graphics.

    I can't wait for Battlefield 3.
    Expand
  46. Mar 3, 2011
    9
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 is the way sequels should be made. It looks like DICE has listened to the community with regards to the gripes of the original Bad Company and has, in return, delivered a near-perfect shooter. First of all, Bad Company 2 has been built on the Frostbite 1.5 engine. It's basically a modification of the previous engine, nonetheless, it delivers with sharper textures, improved lighting and shading. Then we come to the destructibility, which was not quite we hoped for in the original Bad Company. It came across as a marketing gimmick. In Bad Company 2,everything you see on screen can be destroyed, from buildings to trees. That is why the player is unable to open doors, just equip a grenade launcher and blow a hole through the wall. The gameplay remains more or less the same, collectibles return from the first game, and that's by no means a bad thing. I enjoyed exploring the maps and discovering new weapons to make use of in the campaign. This time around, the weapons feel more satisfying to fire, unlike the than those in the original Bad Company. The AI is definitely smarter, and will attempt to flank you now and then, this can lead to some challenging, yet immersive firefights. The single-player lasts about 6 hours on normal difficulty, which in my opinion, left me wanting more.However, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a highly polished shooter that has bettered the original in every way. The campaign is no more a throwaway, and is driven by an engrossing narrative. In terms of single player, it's more rewarding than it's Call Of Duty counterparts. Expand
  47. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    The best FPS I have ever played. Destructible environments, HUGE maps and a large variety of weapons and attachments leads to a completely customizable experience. I would have rated a 10 but the game lacks a true cover mechanic (Like Rainbow Six Vegas games) and its hard to distinguish an enemy from a teammate (the name above the head takes too long to emerge). I have played over 750 hours on this game and keep coming back! Expand
  48. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    This game just barely gets a 7. The single player campaign was pretty good. I enjoyed it. It was definitely worth one play through. I also really enjoyed Onslaught mode. I liked the challenge on of and the team work involved to win. But that's where my liking ends. I tend to enjoy multiplayer on most games more than anything... and I hate multiplayer on this game. The games modes are few and they suck. The vehicles are over powered. Being able to spawn on your team mates is crap. I kill a guy and then another pops up and another. If I can manage to kill those two that popped up out of NO WHERE. Then comes another. It's stupid. I respect the realism that they are going for, but this game just does not play that well. Controls feel whacky. I guess I'm spoiled by the IW engine on COD. Expand
  49. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    One of the best games i have every played. The multi-player is superb and really has a team spirit that Call of Duty lacks. I hope there is a BC3 along with BF3. Keep up the good work Dice!
  50. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    A "meh" campaign can hardly tarnish the incredible fun available online with Bad Company 2. The combination of tactical gameplay, destroyable environments, outstanding sounds, and group teamwork elevates Bad Company 2 into the category of elite online experiences found on the 360.
  51. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    What has always separated Battlefield from other shooters is the shear size of the maps, speaking about multiplayer of course. One thing that has always irritated me was tiny small multiplayer maps with 12 people running around pumping as much lead at each other as possible. Its a cage match constantly, although does at some point require skill but no teamwork or real tactics are used. With Battlefield the multiplayer maps are huge allowing you to create a squad and use tactics and teamwork to defeat the enemy players. I love the huge maps did I say this already?....being able to snipe somebody at 1000 yards really interests me ya know? I have had a lot of holy sh*t and wow moments online with this game, its truly one of the finest online shooters I have ever played. The bullet trajectory is a really nice feature, most shooters you point your reticule on the target and shoot...well this game you actually have to adjust and make up for the distance as the bullet tumbles in order to burn your target. The over all feel of this game just fits from its destructible environments, to the vehicles and helicopters flying over head as you hide away in bushes or a blown up house. The single player campaign is descent, its kind of short and there are some pretty heavy moments in the campaign that can get somewhat frustrating on hard of course but no different then any other game. The real potential of this game is in the multiplayer, dedicated servers is a very nice addition to this game that alone is a plus. If your an fps fan and if you have not already played this game you really should because your missing out. Expand
  52. Apr 14, 2011
    8
    First off,i want to start by saying this is a VERY good game.Much better in fact than the overated Modern Warefare series,which is getting tired & increasingly ridiculous plots.The campaign in Bad Company 2 is excellent,with top notch graphics,sound,Destruction Physics & Gunplay.Its one of the few games where i feel i'm actually 'in' a battle.The campaign is far too short though,with little to no empasis on using vehicles(you dont pilot a Helicopter even once)! One big thing the Battlefield games have over CoD,is the vehicles,So why waste this aspect!? Another major feature missing from the game is Campaign Co-Op.This game would've really benefited from this,& i'm suprised they didnt learn this from Bad Company 1.I always tend to feel that multiplayer modes in a game(Deathmatch etc),take alot of focus,time,resources etc away from the main part of the game,which to me,is the campaign.Saying that,the multiplayer in Bad Company 2 is one of the few multiplayers i actually play(i'm not big on multiplayer,if you didnt guess).But with the vehicles,Team focused gameplay features(Being able to paint enemy targets for your team is genius)! & big open maps,all sit with me very nicely(Rush mode particulally stands out for me) its a much better multiplayer experience than any CoD game by far.If the campaign was longer,& had Co-Op,i would've given this a perfect ten.Even to be able to play the multiplayer maps solo,or with friends against Bots would've been nice.The Co-Op pack they released,The Onslaught pack,just didnt cut it unfortunately,Too little,too late.. Looking foreward immensly to Battlefield 3 now though,though i wont hold my breath for campaign Co-Op,(These Co-Op modes outside the campaign,just dont cut it either,its just not the same,or anywhere near as good,or wanted,as campaign Co-Op.Developers need to get this into their heads). Expand
  53. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    Best FPS leading up to BF3. We all sank 500+ hours into it, and loved it. Slightly clunky controls, but more than makes up for this with audacious features in all departments. Infantry-centric with vehicles. Most fun for sniping in multiplayer of any shooter in history. Story that knew not to take itself too seriously. SkizDriz's game of the year 2010.
  54. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 is kind of a mixed bag for me. I played through the campaign and it was... really a bit of a disappointment. They seemed to really strip out all of the... open worldiness that you would expect in a Battlefield game. I never played the original Bad Company, so I dunno how that campaign was, but BC2's is just... kinda **** bland and lifeless. Everything's tight and scripted, except for that one open level in the desert, but even that was very limited and bordery. Cause you'd drive around in your jeep but if you didn't approach the three separate objective locales in the way that they (DICE) wanted you to, you'd just run up against their **** lame ass uh... I don't even know what to call it. The "You are leaving the game level, 10 seconds to turn back" prompt pops up. You guys know what I mean. That **** limit. Cause DICE isn't even capable of conjuring up traditional level boundaries. They don't use trees or debris to block your path, or invisible walls, they just hit you with that prompt and the 10 seconds to cease and desist. Just... ughhhh. In a multiplayer game like Battlefield 2... maybe that's okay and fine and whatever, cause you're just playing against other dudes and spawning and doing **** but in a singleplayer campaign... it just feels very out of place and lame and um, dumb.

    So yea, everything's generally pretty damn linear and scripted, but... there isn't the polish that a similar game like Modern Warfare 2 has. In Modern Warfare 2, everything's scripted to hell and back but at least it provides a pretty cool experience. There's a lot to look at and take in and it's a roller coaster ride. With BC2's campaign, there's not much polish, there's not much excitement. You just move from one encounter to another while marveling at how the graphics look not so great.

    Again... MW2 has its share of problems, but the game looked good for the most part. Infinity Ward got a lot out of their refined CoD 4 engine. BC2 on the other hand, has a startling lack of AA, so you've got jaggies everywhere. Then you look at the outdoors terrain, and some of it can look alright, but then other times you'll glance up at a hillside and see a bunch of... uh, rows of trees? At least, I think that's what they're supposed to be depicting? Cause honestly, they seem like a bunch of placeholder textures that DICE's newest intern placed on the level because he didn't know what the **** else to do with the map editor. Really low rez textures of trees bunched together, placed about 4 or 5 times up the side of these hills... it's pretty atrocious. They're like DooM-era sprites. Very hard to miss, I think. A lot of the terrain unfortunately looks like that.

    BTW, what is up with the turret on the Humvee? Did anyone else notice that when you swivel it, it'll just go off the axis? So you can shoot it, but the damn thing is aiming off to the side from your perspective? It doesn't look straight ahead like a regular turret? Why the hell did DICE have that in the game? Do people actually shoot the humvee MG like that? It just... it looks **** weird. And I'm kinda OCD, so it bugs the hell out of me. Was there some reason they designed that to look that way? It's so confounding. Now, the shooting in this game is pretty interesting. I was kinda surprised by the shooting mechanics in this game at first. Cause if you've played MW2, you're pretty used to that sort of shooting. Everything feels very easy and smooth in that game. You press the trigger, and your aim doesn't alter much. There's a real sense of ease with which you tap-tap-tap things to death. It's like firing a nailgun or something, there's just very little recoil or feedback to the shooting. It's why most people just snipe with the assault rifles in that game, there's not much difficulty to it.

    BC2's shooting is almost a sea change in comparison. There's way more kick, way more jolting and jittering going on. In fact, the first level in WW2 had almost a bit too much of that, it felt like your aim was shaking all over the place like you had Parkinson's. Just a ridiculous amount of that. But in general, the feeling of shooting is much more visceral, and probably much more realistic. The recoil kicks your view around a bit and makes it somewhat harder to land shots. Like I said, firing in MW2 feels like you're shooting nails or something. In BC2, you definitely feel like you're firing a big heavy firearm and sending some nasty ordinance downrange. It's a satisfying feeling and being different from another game is fine. It just takes a bit to get adjusted to.
    Expand
  55. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Superb game! By far the best simulated warfare game on the xbox360. COD got me playing on the 360, BFBC2 got me addicted to it! The Vietnam expansion was just superb. I hope if they make a BFBC3 they just iron out the odd niggle and change very little in terms of how it plays. Was always an RPG player in the main, but this game really enabled me to thoroughly enjoy the FPS! Bravo
  56. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    This has a surprisingly good storyline in the single player campaign. I was engrossed the entire time. Multiplayer is fun and makes you think. If you see a used copy, pick it up. You won't be disappointed.
  57. May 25, 2012
    10
    best game ever. no competition. I use to be a cod fan boy till i took an arrow to the knee. but seriously i hated this game at first, because i was used to the fantasy physics and shooting in other shooters. I eventually adjusted and fell in love with this game. Also it has the best graphics for any game on console. If you play cod after this game, you will think you are in a cartoon. ALso this game requires the most tactics to be successful and survive and thrive. Im guessing NF123 never wins, do to her lack of understanding of way gameinformer says this is the most tactical game, because if you wanna win it is. you have to ensure your team doesn't have only mechanics or medics, you gotta have the right mix of mechanics, support, medics, and a few snipers. Just like in real life. imagine if armies were only snipers. whole wars could be fought in new york city, and it would just appear that the crime right has slightly gone up. Expand
  58. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a sequel to Battlefield:Bad Company, and while it retains the same characters as the first Bad Company, there's really no mention of the events of the first game. The game definitely takes a much more serious tone, but still retains some of the comedy you'd seen in the first game, it's just a lot less goofy, and there aren't any golf carts anymore. The campaign's much better than what you'd seen in the first game. It starts off pretty slow, but gets much better toward the end, but that being said, the campaign is still quite mediocre. Assuming you bought the game new, you'll also get a bunch of free maps right away, and if you get the Ultimate Edition, the Onslaught (Objective-based survival-y mode) and Battlefield 1943 (Arcade title) for free. While I didn't find Onslaught all that fun, the 1943 is pretty nice and even being an arcade title, uses the Frostbite engine, meaning destruction and great graphics (for a $10 game). The main attraction of course, being multi-player, is great. You're still limited to the 24 players, but that's still much better than 12. There are some key differences from Bad Company's multiplayer to Bad Company 2. There's no longer the five kits: Assault, Recon, Specialist, Demolition and Support. Bad Company 2 features Assault, Engineer, Medic and Recon. Assault is very similar to Bad Company's variation, still being equipped with assault rifles and grenade launchers, and can now lay down ammo for teammates to resupply. Engineers are the combination of Demolition and Specialists, being equipped with SMG's and Carbines, rocket launchers and repair tools. Medic is fairly similar to the Support class, being equipped with LMG's, but now specialize in reviving and healing teammates. Then there's Recon, who are mixes of Recon and Specialist, having scoped rifles, and sabotage equipment (mortar strikes, C4 and motion sensors). And shotguns are now integrated as weapons to be used on any kit, alongside the G3 and M14. This new system works well, simplifying the so everyone knows their role. Assaults focus on just killing people, engineers work with the vehicles, medics keep up spawn tickets by reviving and lay down heavy fire with LMG's, and Recon take down enemies at long ranges and sabotage the enemy with their explosive equipment. In terms of vehicles, there isn't much change, but there are now vehicle specs, which allow you to carry a unique ability or piece of equipment for your vehicle, such as a coaxial LMG, increased health or damage, deployable smoke or mobile motion sensor. Then there's the human specs, which give things like increased damage or health, and increased weapon accuracy. And then weapon specs which include sights/scopes, extra ammo, faster movement and special shotgun slugs. There's also plenty of weapons to choose from, about 5-7 per kit, plus pistols (There are no longer silenced pistols), which oddly, in Bad Company 1, not all kits were equipped with. And one big thing Bad Company didn't have (at least at launch) Conquest, the most popular Battlefield game mode wasn't even featured in Bad comapny 1 until after launch, not to mention the gamen ever even came to PC players. Gold Rush is now just Rush, with crates you must arm, destroy with heavy explosives or crush. And yes, you can now collapse almost every building on the map, rather than just blowing the walls in. There is also a smaller variant of Rush called Squad Rush with scales down the game to cope with only 8 players, and no vehicles, and then Squad Deathmatch which has 16 players fighting for kills in 4 squads, with a single vehicle thrown into the mix. One last thing, the controls don't suck anymore. They're actually practical. So is this game worth it, yes. Any shooter fan should give it a try. A lot of players turn a blind eye to the Battlefield series due to its intense learning curve, but if you give it a chance and continue playing it, I promise you you'll get better, and start to like it more. So, improved destruction, more weapons, player options and better controls, not to mention the campaign going a step up from terrible, to just about playable (and hey, who really buys Battlefield for the campaign, seriously?), this game is a huge improvement over Battlefield: Bad Company. You can probably find this game for $20 now, and maybe the Ultimate Edition for like $25-30, so if you like shooting games at all, and are scared of Frostbite 2, go pick up Bad Company 2. Expand
  59. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    this is not awsome, but BF3 is better than Modern lolfare.
    also, nice gunplay ...
    in addition, BF: BC2 was so better. battlefiled: bad company 2 is one of the best games I have ever played mainly because of the game modes and maps, in the modern shooter genre.
  60. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Great war game. The multiplayer offers endless opportunities with 4 different classes, loads of maps and 4 gametypes. You will get addicted. The campaign is weak though.
  61. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 has something that Battlefield 3 didn't have, a great single player. Its a bit short but a hell of a lot of fun. And the multiplayer is as amazing as battlefield 3's. So if you are of getting Battlefield Bad Company 2 or Battlefield 3, Battlefield Bad Company is the game for you. Single player 8/10 Multiplayer 10/10 Battlefield Bad Company 2 9.1/10
  62. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    The campaign is the only thing in this game that disappoints, but when you get to the multiplayer you will not be able to stop playing. Bad Company 2 is the best online FPS experience out there. You are basically thrown in a battle with complete freedom on what to do. Tanks, helicopters... you name it, only jets got taken out. The maps are huge especially if you are playing rush mode. Weapons aren't less player friendly, but more realistic. The sound effects are the best out there. The main game persists in teamwork, but if you want to do things on your own there is also a mode for that. Finally the best part of all... environmental destruction, all buildings, all walls, all trees even the ground isn't safe. But the bad things about Bad Company 2 are few improvements from the first Bad Company. Destruction improvements are less than promised and only the graphics are more improved. Tampering with the rush mode has made it more uninteresting than in the previous installment. In the campaign you are given less freedom than previously and your squad mates become completely useless. And worst of all Haggard doesn't act like Haggard at all.

    If you play Modern Warfare please play other battlefields before Bad Company. It may come useful.
    Expand
  63. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    I liked the game, at first I was skeptical, and a bit of a "Call of duty fanboy" but I soon got into the game, I didn't like the singleplayer very much, but it wasn't terrible. The multiplayer was quite fun, and still is today.
  64. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 proved to be really fun for me in the campaign and multiplayer in the campaign it had great story with rememberal characters with a good sense of humor that made the campaign more playable and the multiplayer with the new update in the frostbite engine not just made it fun but destructive and intense so in at least in my opinion one of the best FPS of all time.
  65. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Im not a fan boy but I love this game. This is the only shooter I really like, Dont care for COD, Halo or the other BC titles. This game is great. the online player base is pretty low these days but it dont stop me from enjoying the best shooter to date. IMO
  66. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    Definitely one of the strongest games in the series if not a bit repetitive. Its campaign is the best of any first person shooter, and its multiplayer is worthy as well although it's easy to get tired of.
  67. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    I got this game a while after it came out (A month or so), and I gotta say, I was pleased with it. Not only did the explosions and impacts delight me but so did the great guns. Another cool thing about this game that I thought was that everybody on the online community was very polite and we kind of worked together to win. Nowadays I gotta say, the online gaming community is a sh*thole now. People don't care about playing the objective or the actual games most people sit around, troll, or do some other annoying crap. The biggest downer about this game was that its campaign was horrible. Now I understand some people may like it and I respect that but I just thought that the whole story was pretty ridiculous. Overall I think this is one of the best battlefield games in the series, but there are still a lot more (Hopefully) to come. Expand
  68. May 7, 2013
    9
    the game made me ditch COD. Overall amazing MP experience. excellent Map Design, IMO, better than BF3. Like rush, what an addictic mode. BFBC2 and BF3 have a mature community than COD, (e.g, trash talk, cheaters) still happened in the game, but much much better than other online games. also, a game needs true corporation and teamwork, have a few friends, play with your clan, the game is a blessing. Expand
  69. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    The multiplayer is the shining star for this game. Destructive environments, well-balanced classes and vehicle combat. The single player story is good enough for a 1 time play through but is not engaging as some of the other stories in the FPS marketplace.
  70. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    this review coming from a heavily seasoned battlefield players view, i love bad company 2! i have indeed played all of the battlefield games thankfully, and this one is my 3rd favrite! For battlefield veterans, you will defenitally love bad comapny 2!
  71. Jan 25, 2014
    6
    A good fun game, decent campaign and very entertaining multiplayer. I am pretty new to FPS multiplayer but I just can't honestly say that this game is better than modern warfare 2, it just plain isn't and with two games offering such similar experiences I think you would be in good stead playing through the campaign but leaving the multiplayer to modern warfare 2 (that is my opinion based on release dates)

    On writing this review ghosts and battlefield 4 have just come out, still I would recommend for multiplayer either battlefield 3 for high scale broad multi or modern warfare for shorter more arcade style fast paced action.
    Expand
  72. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    this game is super fun and i recommend it. although it does have some issues, overall it's great. the single player was short and not very fun. but the multiplayer was great, particularly for its destruction.
  73. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    ---Rating--- Design: 4 /5 (interesting and unique gunplay, and an unusually enjoyable SP campaign) Polish: 4 /5 (very good graphics and mostly bug-free, but suspect hit detection at times) Value: 4 /5 (standard price, maps are quite large but there could always be more of them) ---Review--- A solid online multiplayer FPS with a moderately enjoyable singleplayer campaign to boot. The game features a good variety of weapons and gadgets that- for the most part- legitimately feel different from one another, but the process of unlocking weapons seems quite superfluous and even masochistic given the game's base learning curve. The maps combine a comparatively impressive sense of scale with the dynamic experience of a destructible environment, along with accommodating higher player counts than its direct competitors. As with just about every other FPS, the hit detection can be a bit suspect at times and there are a few balance issues, but altogether BC2 strikes an enjoyable balance between action and tactics. Expand
  74. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Despite this game being 5 years old, it is still worthy of playing in the battlefield series. Multiplayer servers are still going strong and out of BF3 and 4, the MP action in BF2BC seems better and gives you more opportunity to survive a bit longer, whether you are a noob or a rank 50. With great vast maps like Heavy Metal and a recon's dream in Harvest Day you will have a lot of fun. (conquest and rush plus more all add great variations to how you can play) The single player game has some great some moments and the destruction physics are pretty good. Having played BC1 and 2, there is something about the characters that you enjoy, they are funny and quite frankly stupidly likeable. Single player in BF3 and 4 were embarrassing, dialogue ridiculously scripted. BF2BC is worth buying if you haven't played it, I have it on PC and 360 and always find myself returning to it after getting bored with the current MP offerings out there currently. Worth a £10 and you will have hours, days, weeks, months of fun ranking up your weapons and gadgets, helis, tanks etc. A great game. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Not content to settle for second place, DICE throws down the gauntlet with Bad Company 2, delivering its best multiplayer package since Battlefield 2 and a remarkably improved single-player campaign that openly mocks its rival while cribbing from them at the same time. [Issue#203, p.84]
  2. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is one of the best shooters of this generation. The game has steel-solid mechanics, top gen graphics and an incredible multiplayer. Call of Duty has a new rival.
  3. 89
    Bad Company 2 as an online shooter is flexible and engaging, offering several features that the competition can only dream of. If you're looking for a more strategic and team-based change of pace, look no further. This is the game for you.