User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 861 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 861
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NodnarbC
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    Just picked up this game, have been playing most of the day. The online is very very solid, there is a vast array of land, air, and sea vehichles and a huge variety of weapons. The destructible environments add a lot of depth by allowing you to use literally any object in the game to your advantage. The team play is well organized and the visuals are spectacular. I have not played much of Just picked up this game, have been playing most of the day. The online is very very solid, there is a vast array of land, air, and sea vehichles and a huge variety of weapons. The destructible environments add a lot of depth by allowing you to use literally any object in the game to your advantage. The team play is well organized and the visuals are spectacular. I have not played much of the campaign as of yet but from what I have played it seems DICE has tried to immerse the player into a more cinematic experience than the first Bad Company. All in all this is a great game, campaign seems fairly good and the multiplayer is extremely solid. Expand
  2. RemingtonW
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    Coming from a long time battlefield fan, BFBC2 is well worth the money. Great graphics, shooting is solid and multilayer is as good as ever, please bring a mic as teamwork is what makes this game worlds ahead of the mindless killing of MW2. That said, the single player is the weaker part of the game, havnt spent much time there.
  3. SeanW
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    Excellent multiplayer. Destructible environments. Vehicles. Awesome sound production. Balanced play. Good maps.
  4. SuleimanY
    Mar 24, 2010
    9
    The multiplayer is 10 out of ten if your a serious fps gamer like me however its not very noob freindly, which is why it wont sell as much as call of duty. The single player first two missions just blew my mind away then towards the end it just got wierd, repetitive and somewhat boring. Good things - best multiplayer on console Bad things - You cant go prone and Hardcore mode is pretty The multiplayer is 10 out of ten if your a serious fps gamer like me however its not very noob freindly, which is why it wont sell as much as call of duty. The single player first two missions just blew my mind away then towards the end it just got wierd, repetitive and somewhat boring. Good things - best multiplayer on console Bad things - You cant go prone and Hardcore mode is pretty retarded, (every one just uses the sniper rifle). Its a really good idea but they should have just left the health as it was, its just basically no one going after the objectives and people camping in bushes. My game of the year so far. Expand
  5. MarkB
    Mar 29, 2010
    8
    Pros: Decent story with a nice science fiction twist, Squad characters are funny and entertaining, Combat is improved greatly by destructable environments, Story mode is on the brief side, with further playthroughs encouraged by hidden unlockables, Multiplayer is fast paced and best played in teams of friends, Cons: Story is a little similar, with Russia again the main enemy, to CODMW2, Pros: Decent story with a nice science fiction twist, Squad characters are funny and entertaining, Combat is improved greatly by destructable environments, Story mode is on the brief side, with further playthroughs encouraged by hidden unlockables, Multiplayer is fast paced and best played in teams of friends, Cons: Story is a little similar, with Russia again the main enemy, to CODMW2, Levels with poor visibility (snow / sand) can be annoying as the player cannot see enemy NPC's but they can see the player, Similarly the enemy NPC's can see the player through walls and other solid objects, Weapon selection is of a decent size but not varied as much as MW2; e.g. XM8 and XM8 with a red dot are too seperate weapons, Helicopters dominate multiplayer, while anti-aircraft weaponry is largely ineffective and mostly only serves to give your position away. Expand
  6. EchoingCalm
    Mar 3, 2010
    9
    Does this game live up to the hype? Of course it does! Sure the single player may not be "all that it can be", with some minor glitches but it still provides a great experience and the different missions keep things varied from start to finish. Oh and the part where you fight inside a plane with an auto-shotty and every bullet rips holes in the walls and tears apart the seats in clouds of Does this game live up to the hype? Of course it does! Sure the single player may not be "all that it can be", with some minor glitches but it still provides a great experience and the different missions keep things varied from start to finish. Oh and the part where you fight inside a plane with an auto-shotty and every bullet rips holes in the walls and tears apart the seats in clouds of smoke and dust... EPIC. Now the only reason i give it 9 (if i could i would give 9.5) is because of single player, meaning multiplayer is truly flawless. This game will live for years to come with good DLC and support, unlike this other shooter i wont name. Still, the action is non-stop gut tearing fun and the sound effects are the best i have ever heard in a game, when you shoot your gun it actually sounds like its the real deal because you hear the loud echo with every shot. In my opinon, anyone who rates less then 8 is not a shooter fan and does not enjoy an extroardinary multiplayer experience - and should not be rating video games at all. Thank you. Expand
  7. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 5, 2010
    9
    Cutting out the BS simply put this game is far more enjoyable than MW2, but admittedly it does borrow a lot of aspects from MW2. I enjoyed BC2 single player more because the rather linear narrative does exactly what one should want in a shooter, intense action and less talking! Though enemies are bullet sponges and friendly A.I. is a joke, it's entertaining in a cheap Michael Bay Cutting out the BS simply put this game is far more enjoyable than MW2, but admittedly it does borrow a lot of aspects from MW2. I enjoyed BC2 single player more because the rather linear narrative does exactly what one should want in a shooter, intense action and less talking! Though enemies are bullet sponges and friendly A.I. is a joke, it's entertaining in a cheap Michael Bay kinda way. I enjoy the multiplayer far, far more than MW2 because of these three reasons: 1) Players need SKILL to achieve kills/good squad scores rather than the hacking camping gits in MW2. 2) Leveling up is way fairer, a guy with a lower rank can still stand a chance against a General rather than getting blown away instantly like in MW2. 3) NO POLITICS INVOLVED! I'm pissed off with the anti Middle East/ pro US BS, just deliver games than are escapism with no hidden agendas behind them! A solid 9, mainly for the multiplayer though! Expand
  8. simonp
    Mar 7, 2010
    9
    I give the single player an 8 and multiplayer a 10. Single player is a blast and looks and sounds great. It is fairly derivitive though; nothing really new. What's there is very well done and there's a good variety to the levels, if not the core gameplay. Weapons have a great feel to them, which is important in a shooter. This game really earns its stripes with multiplayer. I give the single player an 8 and multiplayer a 10. Single player is a blast and looks and sounds great. It is fairly derivitive though; nothing really new. What's there is very well done and there's a good variety to the levels, if not the core gameplay. Weapons have a great feel to them, which is important in a shooter. This game really earns its stripes with multiplayer. I'm a late comer to the Battlefield series, having started with the excellent 1943. This has the same riotous unpredictability of that game, just on much bigger scale. CODMF2 left me cold but I am hooked on this - a much better multiplayer experience in my opinion. Enjoy. Expand
  9. AverageChris
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    If it wasn't for the campaign, I'd give this a ten. I was disappointed on how slowly the campaign was at the beginning, but it picked itself up afterward the first half was finished. With that said, the multiplayer is absolutely fantastic. Big Battlefields riddled with destructible buildings and environments is what defines this game. Intense moments arise when you find out the If it wasn't for the campaign, I'd give this a ten. I was disappointed on how slowly the campaign was at the beginning, but it picked itself up afterward the first half was finished. With that said, the multiplayer is absolutely fantastic. Big Battlefields riddled with destructible buildings and environments is what defines this game. Intense moments arise when you find out the building you are currently in is about to collapse. The graphics look excellent, and sometimes I lose myself to the backdrops of the multiplayer maps. Sound design is something to behold, with explosions deafening temporarily and even the subtle trash talking of the soldiers online. Controls are very fluid whether your running around the maps, driving in a tank, or flying a helicopter. Plus plenty of things to unlock, albeit they are somewhat easy to get. This is a game I highly recommend. Expand
  10. MigM
    Apr 3, 2010
    9
    No clue why 3 companies gave it a 70... in my opinion, GameInformer's review is the best. They are professional and have people playing the game that actually like shooters, they don't compare to other games, they look at it as if Modern Warfare 2 or Halo 3 never came out. And *laughs* I have never heard of a company named "Total Video Games", "Games (TM)", or "Teletext No clue why 3 companies gave it a 70... in my opinion, GameInformer's review is the best. They are professional and have people playing the game that actually like shooters, they don't compare to other games, they look at it as if Modern Warfare 2 or Halo 3 never came out. And *laughs* I have never heard of a company named "Total Video Games", "Games (TM)", or "Teletext Gamecentral". So people, stick to the experts review (GameInformer, Gamepro, Eurogamer, Team Xbox, and Gametrailers) they know what they're talking about. Expand
  11. JacobR
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    An incredible game. Battlefield games have always been multiplayer focused and even though the story mode is nothing groundbreaking, it is still brilliant fun. the multiplayer is outstanding. Get together a gorup of battlefield franchise competent friends and just enjoy the best muliplayer on xbox live. The games are just as fun as any of the matches I've played on PC aswell!
  12. MichaelP.
    Apr 11, 2010
    10
    An incredibly fun game online, and feels so realistic when in the heat of battle. Scares the crap out of you when a wall gets blown up right in your face...and you suddenly have to run for cover. I actually traded COD MW2 towards the purchase of this title, and have never looked back. If you want the real deal, that makes you think twice before hiding behind a structure in the An incredibly fun game online, and feels so realistic when in the heat of battle. Scares the crap out of you when a wall gets blown up right in your face...and you suddenly have to run for cover. I actually traded COD MW2 towards the purchase of this title, and have never looked back. If you want the real deal, that makes you think twice before hiding behind a structure in the maps...it's all here. Expand
  13. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This game rocks. BFBC2 clearly is more balanced in terms of guns and gameplay than MW2. I only have one concern, they should have provided more maps n modes for the game. If you want to play tactically in a squad, this game is for u :D 910 for multiplayer. 810 for single player.
  14. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Much much better then mw2. I still play mw2 but if i had to burn one of them games I wouldn't even think about it. Although i was not a fan on the campaign it was still interesting but the multiplayer is by far the upside of the game.
    Getting to pic guys off running around in rush. Reviving team mates, drivin cars, tanks, helicopters. It is a great FPS stratagy game. I give it a 9.5 out
    Much much better then mw2. I still play mw2 but if i had to burn one of them games I wouldn't even think about it. Although i was not a fan on the campaign it was still interesting but the multiplayer is by far the upside of the game.
    Getting to pic guys off running around in rush. Reviving team mates, drivin cars, tanks, helicopters. It is a great FPS stratagy game. I give it a 9.5 out of 10.

    Review9
    Expand
  15. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    I couldn't wait for Battlefield Bad Company 2 to come out in March, sick and tired of Modern Warfare 2 and its alarming acceptance of the casual gamer. I was not disappointed. BFBC2 is better or as good as Modern Warfare 2 in every area, except for fanbase size (surprising considering this is a much better game) . This is the year that Battlefield has eclipsed Call of Duty in terms ofI couldn't wait for Battlefield Bad Company 2 to come out in March, sick and tired of Modern Warfare 2 and its alarming acceptance of the casual gamer. I was not disappointed. BFBC2 is better or as good as Modern Warfare 2 in every area, except for fanbase size (surprising considering this is a much better game) . This is the year that Battlefield has eclipsed Call of Duty in terms of enjoyability and gameplay.

    First, the sound FX and graphics are both extremely detailed. The environments are very large and well-rendered, and the game runs very smoothly even when there is lots of action on the field. The sound is stunning, featuring an excellent soundtrack by Mikael Karlsson (although I think MW2's soundtrack is better) However, MW2 does not have sound FX that are even close to the magnitude of BFBC2. A sniper shot. A mortar volley. A grenade launcher. All of these sound realistic, whether they are flying by you and around you or you are delivering them unto others. The campaign is much better than before, sporting less scripted gameplay with an average story. Gameplay in BFBC2 has been vastly improved over its predecessor. There is many more game modes, much more variety in weapons (statistically), more vehicles, enhanced destruction, improved physics engine, better servers, balanced gameplay, and (arguably the most important) feedback from DICE and response from them. Arguably, that is what sets ths game apart the most from IW's overhyped disaster. For example, nearly every glitch and balancing issue (including the dreaded M60 LMG Sniper and 1-hit kill snipers in Hardcore) has been fixed. Meanwhile, IW has fixed only a few, extremely large glitches that shouldn't have even made it into the game. This game is a must-buy if you enjoy fun, balanced shooters where you won't get killed randomly all the time.
    Expand
  16. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I'll make this quick and easy.

    Singleplayer - 9 (Not the best, but I really liked it) Multiplayer - 10 (Very balanced, vehicles, 24 players) Gameplay - 10 (AI isn't stupid, Graphics are amazing, Destruction 2.0) Playability - 10 (Small learning curve, Tight Controls, No Hosts for servers) Replayability - 9 (Maps are starting to get stale(Vietnam!), Very fun, Intense combat) Much more
    I'll make this quick and easy.

    Singleplayer - 9 (Not the best, but I really liked it)
    Multiplayer - 10 (Very balanced, vehicles, 24 players)
    Gameplay - 10 (AI isn't stupid, Graphics are amazing, Destruction 2.0)
    Playability - 10 (Small learning curve, Tight Controls, No Hosts for servers)
    Replayability - 9 (Maps are starting to get stale(Vietnam!), Very fun, Intense combat)

    Much more teamwork w/o having to talk. For me it's an upside. Using the context sensitive keys you can designate what you want to do or want others to do with ease. From spotting enemies, to asking for ammo/health, or asking to ride in vehicles, it's mostly all there. If only you could have 2 channels, 1 for squad talk and 1 for team talk. I gave this game a 9 because it isn't perfect and doesn't deserve a 10 for me. Compared to other famous FPS's out there, this is the highest score I have given. CoD MW gets an 8, MW2 gets a 6, Halo Reach got a 7, and I won't even get Black Ops.
    Expand
  17. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    excellent game, exceeded my expectations and i actually prefer it to CoD as the multiplayer is less flawed and less cheaters around, variety of online games is a bit poor though. Story mode is quite engaging and fairly lengthy too
  18. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Simply the most explosive, unbelievably intense & varied battlefield experience you will be talking about with your friends until the next iteration comes out! Bring on the Vietnam DLC!!! Battlefield presents you with hundreds of WTF situations, in a good way (affectionately known as "Battlefield Moments") Simply outclasses all competition. BUY IT! (& I'll see you on the battlefield!) XboxSimply the most explosive, unbelievably intense & varied battlefield experience you will be talking about with your friends until the next iteration comes out! Bring on the Vietnam DLC!!! Battlefield presents you with hundreds of WTF situations, in a good way (affectionately known as "Battlefield Moments") Simply outclasses all competition. BUY IT! (& I'll see you on the battlefield!) Xbox live handle "|| BKSP ||" Expand
  19. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    The game has a very well constructed online system and breaks away from the norm of online shooters allowing you to level up classes that you use often and collecting attachments on the way. However the game is brought down significantly by its shody campaign which is slow paced and doesn't seem to make much sense. You'll will probrably decide to leave the campiagn ( unless you areThe game has a very well constructed online system and breaks away from the norm of online shooters allowing you to level up classes that you use often and collecting attachments on the way. However the game is brought down significantly by its shody campaign which is slow paced and doesn't seem to make much sense. You'll will probrably decide to leave the campiagn ( unless you are intrested in gaining achievements like me for example!). I only recccomend buying the game for its online qualities and to give it a miss if you arn't able to connect to xbox live. Expand
  20. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    This game depicts perfectly the battlefield feeling! its destruction, large maps, teamwork, vehicles all make up the greatest experience in an FPS online to date! Yes, this means I am willing to say "This has a better online experience than Modern Warfare 2!" Don't think it's all perfect though, the campaign was fairly tedious and wasn't exactly gripping enough to keep me fixed in theThis game depicts perfectly the battlefield feeling! its destruction, large maps, teamwork, vehicles all make up the greatest experience in an FPS online to date! Yes, this means I am willing to say "This has a better online experience than Modern Warfare 2!" Don't think it's all perfect though, the campaign was fairly tedious and wasn't exactly gripping enough to keep me fixed in the whole way through so Modern Warfare 2 and World at War still ultimately have the better Campaign experiences! Kudos DICE and we eagerly await Battlefield 3!!! Expand
  21. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This is a pretty good game. The single player was okay and I got through it, but the multiplayer is why people play this game. It's good, and the action often feels tense and engaging. But, I feel like no one actually works as a team and most of the time I find myself walking 20 miles back to the action only to get sniped by some guy camping in a building. It's just not something that IThis is a pretty good game. The single player was okay and I got through it, but the multiplayer is why people play this game. It's good, and the action often feels tense and engaging. But, I feel like no one actually works as a team and most of the time I find myself walking 20 miles back to the action only to get sniped by some guy camping in a building. It's just not something that I can get into, but that's more or less my own style of play which is more CoD paced, so I don't knock the game for that. Solid overall. Worth owning if you like more slowly paced military shooters. Expand
  22. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    This game is great if you love good relaxing storyline and a intense Multilayer with a wide range of weapons and vehicles. by relaxing storyline, I mean you don't get frustrated that you died 2000 times.
  23. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    Battlefield has always been a great set of games and Bad Company 2 is no exception. BFBC2's strength is in the online multiplayer game play across 5 game modes (you can download additional modes like "Vietnam" for more $$) & a good deal of unlock able weapons & gadgets. The single player campaign is worth a play through but you probably won't care about revisiting it. With EABattlefield has always been a great set of games and Bad Company 2 is no exception. BFBC2's strength is in the online multiplayer game play across 5 game modes (you can download additional modes like "Vietnam" for more $$) & a good deal of unlock able weapons & gadgets. The single player campaign is worth a play through but you probably won't care about revisiting it. With EA constantly upgrading /updating the game & a loyal fan base, you will have a blast with Bad Company 2! Expand
  24. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Bad Company 2 truly blows the recent Call Of Duty games out of the water. It's realism, intensity and fast paced action online just make the best multiplayer experience I've ever had. In comparison, Modern Warfare1/2 lack realism, with GI's calling in harriers and gunships every 5 seconds and Commando Pro allowing infinite drop height. Another feature that makes Bad Company so spectacularBad Company 2 truly blows the recent Call Of Duty games out of the water. It's realism, intensity and fast paced action online just make the best multiplayer experience I've ever had. In comparison, Modern Warfare1/2 lack realism, with GI's calling in harriers and gunships every 5 seconds and Commando Pro allowing infinite drop height. Another feature that makes Bad Company so spectacular online is the maps, of which there are many, and all are extremely well made. Destruction 2.0 also changes the way maps are played - if a house is full of snipers, knock it down. While the maps on Modern Warfare games are also well made, they are far too small, making real sniping impossible, and creating a pathetic and frustrating niche of 'quick scoping' and 'no scoping'. The campaign was great, though admittedly too short. It looked fantastic and played great, and with no set path and destructible buildings, every playthrough is different and intense. Expand
  25. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    If there's any game that deserves to be called one of the best shooters of 2010, it's this game. I'm tired of hearing about the extremely hyped up Call of Duty Black Ops, the game that I gave a 5, not a 10 or a 9, but a 5. If you want to know why I don't like Black Ops, read my review. In my opinion, Battlefield BC 2 is not hyped up enough. The experiences I had with this game far exceedIf there's any game that deserves to be called one of the best shooters of 2010, it's this game. I'm tired of hearing about the extremely hyped up Call of Duty Black Ops, the game that I gave a 5, not a 10 or a 9, but a 5. If you want to know why I don't like Black Ops, read my review. In my opinion, Battlefield BC 2 is not hyped up enough. The experiences I had with this game far exceed Call of Duty. So with that said, let me explain the reasons why Battlefield BC 2 is superior to Black Ops. The game's multiplayer is actually pretty similar to Call of Duty, because it runs on a similar engine. However, unlike Black Ops, or any other COD game for that matter, Battlefield BC 2 actually adds MORE to it. That's called updating, Activision. You did a good job with GoldenEye, but not with COD, regardless of how popular the series is. Battlefield's multiplayer gives you everything that COD has, AND MORE! For example: you can't drive tanks in COD, you can't fly choppers in COD, you destroy buildings in COD, and it's easier to camp in COD. One thing I never liked about COD is anybody can play it, because it's so easy to play. You can camp in a corner the whole game, and be the MVP. In Battlefield BC 2, it's nearly impossible to camp since buildings and walls can be destroyed, exposing you. This means you'll actually have to run around the field and fight rather than just staying in one spot the whole time. Unless of course, you're a sniper, but it is more difficult to snipe in this game, but that's the magic of BBC2, it's challenging. The game is very realistic and chaotic in the multiplayer, the realism in this game far surpasses COD. Now I've never been a guy who cares about realism in video games, but when it comes to games that are trying to be a realistic warfare game, Battlefield delivers much better than COD does. My favorite things though, that BBC2 has that COD doesn't, are the vehicles. But much more importantly, it's not just tanks and four wheelers, but choppers too. You can put together teams on a vehicles and buff it up to start annihilating the other team. The chopper however, is the most fun. Imagine being in a chopper with your team and just covering up the whole ground with bullets. The other team hiding in doors so they can stay safe from you, but then you can just destroy the roof, and expose them. It gives you a much greater sense of accomplishment than getting a headshot in COD doesn't it? Another cool thing is the classes. The classes are almost as customizable as they are in a COD game, except you can choose a type of class that gives you special supportive abilities to help your team. Like Medic, who can heal or revive other players. Engineers, who can repair vehicles and other types of equipment. Recon, who are snipers, and can call air strikes to attack an enemy base. Or Assault, in which you can supply ammo to your allies, and better equipment for assaulting. But even if you're a medic, you can still do some great damage to the enemy team with light machine guns and grenades and vehicles. But the thing that makes the multiplayer superior to the COD multiplayer, is that it's much more like fighting in a real war than COD is. So the multiplayer in this game really shines, and is a whole lot of fun. My friends and I can't get enough of it. As far as the campaign goes, it's great. Best shooter campaign I've seen all year. The characters are very memorable, which is unusual for a shooter campaign, and the story is full of drama, action, and comedy. I have to admit, I havn't finished the campaign yet, but based on what I've played from it, it's really good. I'm almost finished with it though, pretty sure I have 2 more levels left befopre finishing it. And DLC? Tons and tons and tons of DLC. You'll be amazed by how much DLC it has. It has at least twice as much DLC, maybe even more, than any COD game. Lots of great maps and game modes, and unlike COD, this game actually requires skill. Overall, Battlefield Bad Company 2 is a load of fun, and is a must buy if you are a big fan of shooters. Far better than COD Black Ops. Battlefield Bad Company 2 gets a 9/10, and is my choice for 2010 Best Multiplayer Game. Can't wait for Battlefield 3. :) Expand
  26. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    This game is a masterpiece and it's the best FPS I am able to play at the moment on my Xbox. -Its realism is great. The only bad point is the necessity of sometimes have to empty an entire mag to defeat an enemy on multiplayer mode.
    -Its equipment kit - class system is original and foments team playing that's more realistic than being Rambo in such games like its main rival Call of Duty,
    This game is a masterpiece and it's the best FPS I am able to play at the moment on my Xbox. -Its realism is great. The only bad point is the necessity of sometimes have to empty an entire mag to defeat an enemy on multiplayer mode.
    -Its equipment kit - class system is original and foments team playing that's more realistic than being Rambo in such games like its main rival Call of Duty, and changes completely the view of the game.
    -Flawless graphics.

    I can't wait for Battlefield 3.
    Expand
  27. Mar 3, 2011
    9
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 is the way sequels should be made. It looks like DICE has listened to the community with regards to the gripes of the original Bad Company and has, in return, delivered a near-perfect shooter. First of all, Bad Company 2 has been built on the Frostbite 1.5 engine. It's basically a modification of the previous engine, nonetheless, it delivers with sharper textures,Battlefield Bad Company 2 is the way sequels should be made. It looks like DICE has listened to the community with regards to the gripes of the original Bad Company and has, in return, delivered a near-perfect shooter. First of all, Bad Company 2 has been built on the Frostbite 1.5 engine. It's basically a modification of the previous engine, nonetheless, it delivers with sharper textures, improved lighting and shading. Then we come to the destructibility, which was not quite we hoped for in the original Bad Company. It came across as a marketing gimmick. In Bad Company 2,everything you see on screen can be destroyed, from buildings to trees. That is why the player is unable to open doors, just equip a grenade launcher and blow a hole through the wall. The gameplay remains more or less the same, collectibles return from the first game, and that's by no means a bad thing. I enjoyed exploring the maps and discovering new weapons to make use of in the campaign. This time around, the weapons feel more satisfying to fire, unlike the than those in the original Bad Company. The AI is definitely smarter, and will attempt to flank you now and then, this can lead to some challenging, yet immersive firefights. The single-player lasts about 6 hours on normal difficulty, which in my opinion, left me wanting more.However, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a highly polished shooter that has bettered the original in every way. The campaign is no more a throwaway, and is driven by an engrossing narrative. In terms of single player, it's more rewarding than it's Call Of Duty counterparts. Expand
  28. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    The best FPS I have ever played. Destructible environments, HUGE maps and a large variety of weapons and attachments leads to a completely customizable experience. I would have rated a 10 but the game lacks a true cover mechanic (Like Rainbow Six Vegas games) and its hard to distinguish an enemy from a teammate (the name above the head takes too long to emerge). I have played over 750The best FPS I have ever played. Destructible environments, HUGE maps and a large variety of weapons and attachments leads to a completely customizable experience. I would have rated a 10 but the game lacks a true cover mechanic (Like Rainbow Six Vegas games) and its hard to distinguish an enemy from a teammate (the name above the head takes too long to emerge). I have played over 750 hours on this game and keep coming back! Expand
  29. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    This game just barely gets a 7. The single player campaign was pretty good. I enjoyed it. It was definitely worth one play through. I also really enjoyed Onslaught mode. I liked the challenge on of and the team work involved to win. But that's where my liking ends. I tend to enjoy multiplayer on most games more than anything... and I hate multiplayer on this game. The games modes are fewThis game just barely gets a 7. The single player campaign was pretty good. I enjoyed it. It was definitely worth one play through. I also really enjoyed Onslaught mode. I liked the challenge on of and the team work involved to win. But that's where my liking ends. I tend to enjoy multiplayer on most games more than anything... and I hate multiplayer on this game. The games modes are few and they suck. The vehicles are over powered. Being able to spawn on your team mates is crap. I kill a guy and then another pops up and another. If I can manage to kill those two that popped up out of NO WHERE. Then comes another. It's stupid. I respect the realism that they are going for, but this game just does not play that well. Controls feel whacky. I guess I'm spoiled by the IW engine on COD. Expand
  30. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    One of the best games i have every played. The multi-player is superb and really has a team spirit that Call of Duty lacks. I hope there is a BC3 along with BF3. Keep up the good work Dice!
  31. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    A "meh" campaign can hardly tarnish the incredible fun available online with Bad Company 2. The combination of tactical gameplay, destroyable environments, outstanding sounds, and group teamwork elevates Bad Company 2 into the category of elite online experiences found on the 360.
  32. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    What has always separated Battlefield from other shooters is the shear size of the maps, speaking about multiplayer of course. One thing that has always irritated me was tiny small multiplayer maps with 12 people running around pumping as much lead at each other as possible. Its a cage match constantly, although does at some point require skill but no teamwork or real tactics are used.What has always separated Battlefield from other shooters is the shear size of the maps, speaking about multiplayer of course. One thing that has always irritated me was tiny small multiplayer maps with 12 people running around pumping as much lead at each other as possible. Its a cage match constantly, although does at some point require skill but no teamwork or real tactics are used. With Battlefield the multiplayer maps are huge allowing you to create a squad and use tactics and teamwork to defeat the enemy players. I love the huge maps did I say this already?....being able to snipe somebody at 1000 yards really interests me ya know? I have had a lot of holy sh*t and wow moments online with this game, its truly one of the finest online shooters I have ever played. The bullet trajectory is a really nice feature, most shooters you point your reticule on the target and shoot...well this game you actually have to adjust and make up for the distance as the bullet tumbles in order to burn your target. The over all feel of this game just fits from its destructible environments, to the vehicles and helicopters flying over head as you hide away in bushes or a blown up house. The single player campaign is descent, its kind of short and there are some pretty heavy moments in the campaign that can get somewhat frustrating on hard of course but no different then any other game. The real potential of this game is in the multiplayer, dedicated servers is a very nice addition to this game that alone is a plus. If your an fps fan and if you have not already played this game you really should because your missing out. Expand
  33. Apr 14, 2011
    8
    First off,i want to start by saying this is a VERY good game.Much better in fact than the overated Modern Warefare series,which is getting tired & increasingly ridiculous plots.The campaign in Bad Company 2 is excellent,with top notch graphics,sound,Destruction Physics & Gunplay.Its one of the few games where i feel i'm actually 'in' a battle.The campaign is far too short though,withFirst off,i want to start by saying this is a VERY good game.Much better in fact than the overated Modern Warefare series,which is getting tired & increasingly ridiculous plots.The campaign in Bad Company 2 is excellent,with top notch graphics,sound,Destruction Physics & Gunplay.Its one of the few games where i feel i'm actually 'in' a battle.The campaign is far too short though,with little to no empasis on using vehicles(you dont pilot a Helicopter even once)! One big thing the Battlefield games have over CoD,is the vehicles,So why waste this aspect!? Another major feature missing from the game is Campaign Co-Op.This game would've really benefited from this,& i'm suprised they didnt learn this from Bad Company 1.I always tend to feel that multiplayer modes in a game(Deathmatch etc),take alot of focus,time,resources etc away from the main part of the game,which to me,is the campaign.Saying that,the multiplayer in Bad Company 2 is one of the few multiplayers i actually play(i'm not big on multiplayer,if you didnt guess).But with the vehicles,Team focused gameplay features(Being able to paint enemy targets for your team is genius)! & big open maps,all sit with me very nicely(Rush mode particulally stands out for me) its a much better multiplayer experience than any CoD game by far.If the campaign was longer,& had Co-Op,i would've given this a perfect ten.Even to be able to play the multiplayer maps solo,or with friends against Bots would've been nice.The Co-Op pack they released,The Onslaught pack,just didnt cut it unfortunately,Too little,too late.. Looking foreward immensly to Battlefield 3 now though,though i wont hold my breath for campaign Co-Op,(These Co-Op modes outside the campaign,just dont cut it either,its just not the same,or anywhere near as good,or wanted,as campaign Co-Op.Developers need to get this into their heads). Expand
  34. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    Best FPS leading up to BF3. We all sank 500+ hours into it, and loved it. Slightly clunky controls, but more than makes up for this with audacious features in all departments. Infantry-centric with vehicles. Most fun for sniping in multiplayer of any shooter in history. Story that knew not to take itself too seriously. SkizDriz's game of the year 2010.
  35. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Superb game! By far the best simulated warfare game on the xbox360. COD got me playing on the 360, BFBC2 got me addicted to it! The Vietnam expansion was just superb. I hope if they make a BFBC3 they just iron out the odd niggle and change very little in terms of how it plays. Was always an RPG player in the main, but this game really enabled me to thoroughly enjoy the FPS! Bravo
  36. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    This has a surprisingly good storyline in the single player campaign. I was engrossed the entire time. Multiplayer is fun and makes you think. If you see a used copy, pick it up. You won't be disappointed.
  37. May 25, 2012
    10
    best game ever. no competition. I use to be a cod fan boy till i took an arrow to the knee. but seriously i hated this game at first, because i was used to the fantasy physics and shooting in other shooters. I eventually adjusted and fell in love with this game. Also it has the best graphics for any game on console. If you play cod after this game, you will think you are in a cartoon. ALsobest game ever. no competition. I use to be a cod fan boy till i took an arrow to the knee. but seriously i hated this game at first, because i was used to the fantasy physics and shooting in other shooters. I eventually adjusted and fell in love with this game. Also it has the best graphics for any game on console. If you play cod after this game, you will think you are in a cartoon. ALso this game requires the most tactics to be successful and survive and thrive. Im guessing NF123 never wins, do to her lack of understanding of way gameinformer says this is the most tactical game, because if you wanna win it is. you have to ensure your team doesn't have only mechanics or medics, you gotta have the right mix of mechanics, support, medics, and a few snipers. Just like in real life. imagine if armies were only snipers. whole wars could be fought in new york city, and it would just appear that the crime right has slightly gone up. Expand
  38. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a sequel to Battlefield:Bad Company, and while it retains the same characters as the first Bad Company, there's really no mention of the events of the first game. The game definitely takes a much more serious tone, but still retains some of the comedy you'd seen in the first game, it's just a lot less goofy, and there aren't any golf carts anymore. TheBattlefield: Bad Company 2 is a sequel to Battlefield:Bad Company, and while it retains the same characters as the first Bad Company, there's really no mention of the events of the first game. The game definitely takes a much more serious tone, but still retains some of the comedy you'd seen in the first game, it's just a lot less goofy, and there aren't any golf carts anymore. The campaign's much better than what you'd seen in the first game. It starts off pretty slow, but gets much better toward the end, but that being said, the campaign is still quite mediocre. Assuming you bought the game new, you'll also get a bunch of free maps right away, and if you get the Ultimate Edition, the Onslaught (Objective-based survival-y mode) and Battlefield 1943 (Arcade title) for free. While I didn't find Onslaught all that fun, the 1943 is pretty nice and even being an arcade title, uses the Frostbite engine, meaning destruction and great graphics (for a $10 game). The main attraction of course, being multi-player, is great. You're still limited to the 24 players, but that's still much better than 12. There are some key differences from Bad Company's multiplayer to Bad Company 2. There's no longer the five kits: Assault, Recon, Specialist, Demolition and Support. Bad Company 2 features Assault, Engineer, Medic and Recon. Assault is very similar to Bad Company's variation, still being equipped with assault rifles and grenade launchers, and can now lay down ammo for teammates to resupply. Engineers are the combination of Demolition and Specialists, being equipped with SMG's and Carbines, rocket launchers and repair tools. Medic is fairly similar to the Support class, being equipped with LMG's, but now specialize in reviving and healing teammates. Then there's Recon, who are mixes of Recon and Specialist, having scoped rifles, and sabotage equipment (mortar strikes, C4 and motion sensors). And shotguns are now integrated as weapons to be used on any kit, alongside the G3 and M14. This new system works well, simplifying the so everyone knows their role. Assaults focus on just killing people, engineers work with the vehicles, medics keep up spawn tickets by reviving and lay down heavy fire with LMG's, and Recon take down enemies at long ranges and sabotage the enemy with their explosive equipment. In terms of vehicles, there isn't much change, but there are now vehicle specs, which allow you to carry a unique ability or piece of equipment for your vehicle, such as a coaxial LMG, increased health or damage, deployable smoke or mobile motion sensor. Then there's the human specs, which give things like increased damage or health, and increased weapon accuracy. And then weapon specs which include sights/scopes, extra ammo, faster movement and special shotgun slugs. There's also plenty of weapons to choose from, about 5-7 per kit, plus pistols (There are no longer silenced pistols), which oddly, in Bad Company 1, not all kits were equipped with. And one big thing Bad Company didn't have (at least at launch) Conquest, the most popular Battlefield game mode wasn't even featured in Bad comapny 1 until after launch, not to mention the gamen ever even came to PC players. Gold Rush is now just Rush, with crates you must arm, destroy with heavy explosives or crush. And yes, you can now collapse almost every building on the map, rather than just blowing the walls in. There is also a smaller variant of Rush called Squad Rush with scales down the game to cope with only 8 players, and no vehicles, and then Squad Deathmatch which has 16 players fighting for kills in 4 squads, with a single vehicle thrown into the mix. One last thing, the controls don't suck anymore. They're actually practical. So is this game worth it, yes. Any shooter fan should give it a try. A lot of players turn a blind eye to the Battlefield series due to its intense learning curve, but if you give it a chance and continue playing it, I promise you you'll get better, and start to like it more. So, improved destruction, more weapons, player options and better controls, not to mention the campaign going a step up from terrible, to just about playable (and hey, who really buys Battlefield for the campaign, seriously?), this game is a huge improvement over Battlefield: Bad Company. You can probably find this game for $20 now, and maybe the Ultimate Edition for like $25-30, so if you like shooting games at all, and are scared of Frostbite 2, go pick up Bad Company 2. Expand
  39. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    this is not awsome, but BF3 is better than Modern lolfare.
    also, nice gunplay ...
    in addition, BF: BC2 was so better. battlefiled: bad company 2 is one of the best games I have ever played mainly because of the game modes and maps, in the modern shooter genre.
  40. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Great war game. The multiplayer offers endless opportunities with 4 different classes, loads of maps and 4 gametypes. You will get addicted. The campaign is weak though.
  41. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 has something that Battlefield 3 didn't have, a great single player. Its a bit short but a hell of a lot of fun. And the multiplayer is as amazing as battlefield 3's. So if you are of getting Battlefield Bad Company 2 or Battlefield 3, Battlefield Bad Company is the game for you. Single player 8/10 Multiplayer 10/10 Battlefield Bad Company 2 9.1/10
  42. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    The campaign is the only thing in this game that disappoints, but when you get to the multiplayer you will not be able to stop playing. Bad Company 2 is the best online FPS experience out there. You are basically thrown in a battle with complete freedom on what to do. Tanks, helicopters... you name it, only jets got taken out. The maps are huge especially if you are playing rush mode.The campaign is the only thing in this game that disappoints, but when you get to the multiplayer you will not be able to stop playing. Bad Company 2 is the best online FPS experience out there. You are basically thrown in a battle with complete freedom on what to do. Tanks, helicopters... you name it, only jets got taken out. The maps are huge especially if you are playing rush mode. Weapons aren't less player friendly, but more realistic. The sound effects are the best out there. The main game persists in teamwork, but if you want to do things on your own there is also a mode for that. Finally the best part of all... environmental destruction, all buildings, all walls, all trees even the ground isn't safe. But the bad things about Bad Company 2 are few improvements from the first Bad Company. Destruction improvements are less than promised and only the graphics are more improved. Tampering with the rush mode has made it more uninteresting than in the previous installment. In the campaign you are given less freedom than previously and your squad mates become completely useless. And worst of all Haggard doesn't act like Haggard at all.

    If you play Modern Warfare please play other battlefields before Bad Company. It may come useful.
    Expand
  43. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    I liked the game, at first I was skeptical, and a bit of a "Call of duty fanboy" but I soon got into the game, I didn't like the singleplayer very much, but it wasn't terrible. The multiplayer was quite fun, and still is today.
  44. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 proved to be really fun for me in the campaign and multiplayer in the campaign it had great story with rememberal characters with a good sense of humor that made the campaign more playable and the multiplayer with the new update in the frostbite engine not just made it fun but destructive and intense so in at least in my opinion one of the best FPS of all time.
  45. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Im not a fan boy but I love this game. This is the only shooter I really like, Dont care for COD, Halo or the other BC titles. This game is great. the online player base is pretty low these days but it dont stop me from enjoying the best shooter to date. IMO
  46. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    Definitely one of the strongest games in the series if not a bit repetitive. Its campaign is the best of any first person shooter, and its multiplayer is worthy as well although it's easy to get tired of.
  47. May 7, 2013
    9
    the game made me ditch COD. Overall amazing MP experience. excellent Map Design, IMO, better than BF3. Like rush, what an addictic mode. BFBC2 and BF3 have a mature community than COD, (e.g, trash talk, cheaters) still happened in the game, but much much better than other online games. also, a game needs true corporation and teamwork, have a few friends, play with your clan, the game is athe game made me ditch COD. Overall amazing MP experience. excellent Map Design, IMO, better than BF3. Like rush, what an addictic mode. BFBC2 and BF3 have a mature community than COD, (e.g, trash talk, cheaters) still happened in the game, but much much better than other online games. also, a game needs true corporation and teamwork, have a few friends, play with your clan, the game is a blessing. Expand
  48. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    The multiplayer is the shining star for this game. Destructive environments, well-balanced classes and vehicle combat. The single player story is good enough for a 1 time play through but is not engaging as some of the other stories in the FPS marketplace.
  49. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    this review coming from a heavily seasoned battlefield players view, i love bad company 2! i have indeed played all of the battlefield games thankfully, and this one is my 3rd favrite! For battlefield veterans, you will defenitally love bad comapny 2!
  50. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    this game is super fun and i recommend it. although it does have some issues, overall it's great. the single player was short and not very fun. but the multiplayer was great, particularly for its destruction.
  51. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    ---Rating---
    Design: 4 /5 (interesting and unique gunplay, and an unusually enjoyable SP campaign)
    Polish: 4 /5 (very good graphics and mostly bug-free, but suspect hit detection at times) Value: 4 /5 (standard price, maps are quite large but there could always be more of them) ---Review--- A solid online multiplayer FPS with a moderately enjoyable singleplayer campaign to boot. The
    ---Rating---
    Design: 4 /5 (interesting and unique gunplay, and an unusually enjoyable SP campaign)
    Polish: 4 /5 (very good graphics and mostly bug-free, but suspect hit detection at times)
    Value: 4 /5 (standard price, maps are quite large but there could always be more of them)

    ---Review---
    A solid online multiplayer FPS with a moderately enjoyable singleplayer campaign to boot. The game features a good variety of weapons and gadgets that- for the most part- legitimately feel different from one another, but the process of unlocking weapons seems quite superfluous and even masochistic given the game's base learning curve. The maps combine a comparatively impressive sense of scale with the dynamic experience of a destructible environment, along with accommodating higher player counts than its direct competitors. As with just about every other FPS, the hit detection can be a bit suspect at times and there are a few balance issues, but altogether BC2 strikes an enjoyable balance between action and tactics.
    Expand
  52. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Despite this game being 5 years old, it is still worthy of playing in the battlefield series. Multiplayer servers are still going strong and out of BF3 and 4, the MP action in BF2BC seems better and gives you more opportunity to survive a bit longer, whether you are a noob or a rank 50. With great vast maps like Heavy Metal and a recon's dream in Harvest Day you will have a lot of fun.Despite this game being 5 years old, it is still worthy of playing in the battlefield series. Multiplayer servers are still going strong and out of BF3 and 4, the MP action in BF2BC seems better and gives you more opportunity to survive a bit longer, whether you are a noob or a rank 50. With great vast maps like Heavy Metal and a recon's dream in Harvest Day you will have a lot of fun. (conquest and rush plus more all add great variations to how you can play) The single player game has some great some moments and the destruction physics are pretty good. Having played BC1 and 2, there is something about the characters that you enjoy, they are funny and quite frankly stupidly likeable. Single player in BF3 and 4 were embarrassing, dialogue ridiculously scripted. BF2BC is worth buying if you haven't played it, I have it on PC and 360 and always find myself returning to it after getting bored with the current MP offerings out there currently. Worth a £10 and you will have hours, days, weeks, months of fun ranking up your weapons and gadgets, helis, tanks etc. A great game. Expand
  53. May 26, 2015
    10
    This battlefield actually has a good campaign! I enjoyed like hell and love playing muiltplayer with my friends, its just way to much fun. Story may not be something like last of us buts its actually funny and cool
  54. Oct 20, 2015
    9
    Best battlefield game to date. The personality in this game is unmatched. The maps were very well designed and the sniping was challenging and very rewarding. Fun to play with a squad.
  55. Jul 27, 2016
    10
    La mejor campaña de la saga Battlefield, graficemente es de lo mas impresionante que he visto en la generacion anterior, el motor frostbite deja en pañales al usado en otras franquicias coff coff Call of duty coff coff y es por mucho el mejor de la saga porque consiguió lo que no pudo el 3, 4 y Hardline, una campaña memorable
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Not content to settle for second place, DICE throws down the gauntlet with Bad Company 2, delivering its best multiplayer package since Battlefield 2 and a remarkably improved single-player campaign that openly mocks its rival while cribbing from them at the same time. [Issue#203, p.84]
  2. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is one of the best shooters of this generation. The game has steel-solid mechanics, top gen graphics and an incredible multiplayer. Call of Duty has a new rival.
  3. 89
    Bad Company 2 as an online shooter is flexible and engaging, offering several features that the competition can only dream of. If you're looking for a more strategic and team-based change of pace, look no further. This is the game for you.