User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 868 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 868
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 is, in my opinion, one of the greatest online FPS of all time! Obviously it has fault at some points (campaign isn't great) but the online aspect of the game is outstanding. The maps are huge, they provide different sorts of enviroments and best of all, something that most online games struggle at, they are BALANCED. DICE really have discovered hidden treasureBattlefield Bad Company 2 is, in my opinion, one of the greatest online FPS of all time! Obviously it has fault at some points (campaign isn't great) but the online aspect of the game is outstanding. The maps are huge, they provide different sorts of enviroments and best of all, something that most online games struggle at, they are BALANCED. DICE really have discovered hidden treasure because the quality of gameplay, graphics and teamwork. I find myself playing the game 3-5 hours daily and not once do I ever "rage quit" or get bored. The Cod series really need to step up to the plate this time and come up with new ideas as revamping older games into new games and selling them off for 50+ just simply isn't good enough. I challenge anyone to play Battlefield Bad Comany 2 online for 2-3 hours for a few days in 1 week and prove me wrong. All in all, 10/10 is my verdict. Simply a masterpiece, thinking "outside the box" is a huge step forward for gaming innovation. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This game is just the best game in Battlefield series to now and in my opinion the best shooter so far in the seventh generation. The single player is ok, but the multiplayer is indescribable. I can't understand why there are people who can't see its greatness. There are only a few flaws in multiplayer, but I think most of them is because of my connection (not so good). And sometimes theThis game is just the best game in Battlefield series to now and in my opinion the best shooter so far in the seventh generation. The single player is ok, but the multiplayer is indescribable. I can't understand why there are people who can't see its greatness. There are only a few flaws in multiplayer, but I think most of them is because of my connection (not so good). And sometimes the game gets kind of unbalanced, driving you crazy in a low level team versus a almost full of high levels team. I would rate it 9.5, but since I can only rate integers and there are a lot of haters' reviews (c'mon, how the heck this game could get less than 6?) I can only rate it a 10.
    I had to pay approximately 81 dollars in my country for this one month after launching time, and believe me, I do really think it was so much worthy.
    Expand
  3. GrahamR
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    Sometimes when you trade a game in you may have regret's... not in this case however, one I got BFBC2 home after trading in MW2 in my local game store I only regretted buying MW2 in the first place. The single player (altough aint great) is still miles better than MW2, the characters, dialogue and settings for the games levels put it above any other FPS in recent memory. Sometimes when you trade a game in you may have regret's... not in this case however, one I got BFBC2 home after trading in MW2 in my local game store I only regretted buying MW2 in the first place. The single player (altough aint great) is still miles better than MW2, the characters, dialogue and settings for the games levels put it above any other FPS in recent memory. Multi-player.... best there is!!!... FACT! Nothing comes close to this, expansive maps, excellent vehicle's, great weapon loadouts and an all round superb joy to play. Forget what critic's have to say about this game and just buy it!! with new free (with the VIP code in every new edition) DLC coming it will remain fresh. Listen to real people judging a brilliant game and get it now! Leave the kids to play MW2!!!!! Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    This game is very fun online for both casual and hardcore gamers alike. The maps are huge meaning brilliant sniping, tank or airbourne fights are immense. The campaign can be fun at parts but is very boring when your file save corrupts which it always seems to do. The online is great for tactical play as addictive rush mode is brilliant. However if you dont have xbox live or have dial upThis game is very fun online for both casual and hardcore gamers alike. The maps are huge meaning brilliant sniping, tank or airbourne fights are immense. The campaign can be fun at parts but is very boring when your file save corrupts which it always seems to do. The online is great for tactical play as addictive rush mode is brilliant. However if you dont have xbox live or have dial up the campaign alone probably isnt worth it. Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    The best FPS you can get on a console. Great sound, great physics, great destruction this game is awesome. The only thing i can complain about is that there is just a small amount of lag when you shoot a building with an explosive but how many games are there on a console with complete destruction in the multiplayer mode?
  6. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    This is the game to own if you like team work, and realism. Sure it has glitches, and time where you are ready to smash your TV, but there is nothing better than playing Battlefield Bad Company 2 on hardcore on a rainy Sunday with a couple of friends. This game is 10x better than any Call of Duty, those games are for kids. This is a mans game
  7. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    This is one of the best online experiances ever.Team based gameplay and excellent modes make this title truely great.You can drive a range of vechals as well. Single player is good not great.Plot is tired and worn off but allows crazy amounts of action.Grapics and destructable enviorments both are amazing.But constant action dosent allow any tension building.It goes for the epic feelingThis is one of the best online experiances ever.Team based gameplay and excellent modes make this title truely great.You can drive a range of vechals as well. Single player is good not great.Plot is tired and worn off but allows crazy amounts of action.Grapics and destructable enviorments both are amazing.But constant action dosent allow any tension building.It goes for the epic feeling call of duty gave but dosent nail it.Buy this one and play multiplayer you will have a blast. Expand
  8. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    I've had this game since it released and I still love it. The only knock I have is the weapons are not as cool as other shooters. The xm8 is a cancelled project and it is one of the main weapon systems in this game. The under barrel shotgun would be cooler as a traditional master-key.All that is so minor and this game is great where it counts. The single player campaign is entertaining andI've had this game since it released and I still love it. The only knock I have is the weapons are not as cool as other shooters. The xm8 is a cancelled project and it is one of the main weapon systems in this game. The under barrel shotgun would be cooler as a traditional master-key.All that is so minor and this game is great where it counts. The single player campaign is entertaining and maintains enough of the "sandbox" gameplay from the fist bc while providing scripted action sequences. The gameplay and fun factor of multiplayer is unmatched. This game is awesome and a must buy! Expand
  9. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    It was said that Bad Company 2 is MW2's rival, and with that pointed out, I say it's a tie. Despite MW2 having a better SP experience (IMO), and having better "loner" gameplay in MP, Bad Company 2 takes the crown in combined arms (vehicle vs vehicle/infantry), strategy, and balance (I'm speaking for individual classes, I realize some classes are OP). It became immediately apparent thatIt was said that Bad Company 2 is MW2's rival, and with that pointed out, I say it's a tie. Despite MW2 having a better SP experience (IMO), and having better "loner" gameplay in MP, Bad Company 2 takes the crown in combined arms (vehicle vs vehicle/infantry), strategy, and balance (I'm speaking for individual classes, I realize some classes are OP). It became immediately apparent that the team with the better cooperation (or in Rush camping skills) is usually if not always the victor. The only thing holding this thing back from a 10 is the fact that you can't really enjoy yourself while playing as a loner, and the SP experience is anything but original. Anybody who wants a good game, or just something NOT Call of Duty, this is your best bet. Worth every penny. Expand
  10. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    In my opinion Battlefield bad company 2 is overall, a good game. The campaign is not that good in my opinion because of the boring storyline, and dull missions, but the multiplayer makes up for that. Battlefield bad company two is one of the best multiplayer games I have ever played mainly because of the game modes and maps. If you are looking for a good multiplayer game, than you shouldIn my opinion Battlefield bad company 2 is overall, a good game. The campaign is not that good in my opinion because of the boring storyline, and dull missions, but the multiplayer makes up for that. Battlefield bad company two is one of the best multiplayer games I have ever played mainly because of the game modes and maps. If you are looking for a good multiplayer game, than you should get battlefield bad company 2. Expand
  11. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest, action-packed games I have ever played. Next to the upcoming Halo 4, MW3, and Battlefield 3, Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a thrilling adrenaline pumping game that no one should miss. If you otherwise want to buy Bayonetta, then this is not the game for you.
  12. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    Excellent game. The lowest leaderboard rank I got was 6,000. It's a great game, requiring teamwork for success. This game is best played with at least 3 friends to make a full "squad". Mics make it even better. A team with mics will always beat a team without. This game has great graphics, animations and good campaign. Couldn't have asked for more...
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is my favorite first person shooter of all time. Before i bought it i had already played modern warfare 2 and black ops, and i did enjoy them, but i found them repetitive and simple. To then play battlefield and have the freedom of flying around in UAVs, road killing snipers with tanks and grenade bombarding m-coms with boats was amazing. The campaign is pretty good, short butThis game is my favorite first person shooter of all time. Before i bought it i had already played modern warfare 2 and black ops, and i did enjoy them, but i found them repetitive and simple. To then play battlefield and have the freedom of flying around in UAVs, road killing snipers with tanks and grenade bombarding m-coms with boats was amazing. The campaign is pretty good, short but action packed and even funny at times. I give the singleplayer 8/10, but that doesnt bring the review down because battlefield is about the multiplayer. Customisation and leveling is perfect. Maps are superb in terms of gameplay and visuals, and there no other multiplayer experience like it in my opinion.
    I urge anyone to get this game, and any other battlefield game they can.
    Expand
  14. Dec 12, 2011
    8
    had high hopes for this game, i loved the first bad company. The first game had it's flaws sure but it where a different experience from other games in the same genre. This review is going to be a both a comparison towards the first game and other games in the same genre. SINGLEPLAYER The singleplayer part of the game is the disappointing part of the game for sure. The first bad companyhad high hopes for this game, i loved the first bad company. The first game had it's flaws sure but it where a different experience from other games in the same genre. This review is going to be a both a comparison towards the first game and other games in the same genre. SINGLEPLAYER The singleplayer part of the game is the disappointing part of the game for sure. The first bad company game had a special feeling when you sat down to play. Even though it was a hidden linear experience,BC2 is a more linear experience then the first game and more to compare towards infinity wards Modern Warfare 2. The environments are still as large and open world as the first game but there is more directions of exact ways to play through the game. I prefer the way from the first game since it makes it worth playing again. Even though i explained the linear part of the game the singleplayer has more flaws. The story is for me the biggest NoNo with this game. The story is boring and now 1 week after i finished the game i still can't remember why i did all the things i did during the singleplayer campaign. The first game had a good script and humor, while this just has a boring story that in the end makes you skip the cutscenes. MULTIPLAYER DICE is a company famous for great multiplayer in their games and as you may have guessed this is one of the best multiplayer releases this year. It got the usual ranking system from the first game and now it got more reasons to rank up. The tactical destruction is a main part of the multiplayer that you're going to miss when it's gone. I can't play games like Modern Warfare 2 since i played my first game of Bad Company 2. The destruction is giving the game a whole new tactical view over the battlefield. If an enemy is hiding in a building just blow a hole in the wall and dispose of him in a safe way. The unfortunate part of the multiplayer is the fact that sometimes you can get onto servers with 3-4 people playing even though there is a lot of soldiers out on the battlefield. Okay now i'm going to write a small thing about graphics. This game is using the inhouse developed frostbite engine and gives the game an awesome graphical standpoint. But there is a few flaws with the frostbite engine form my view. First one is that if your'e playing on a standard def tv the game is pretty dark on the original settings. I've tried out my xbox with 4 different SD Tv's and i need to sit for 3-5 minutes trying out different settings to get it okay. The second flaw is that why is there so much fog on every map? If your trying to use a sniper on some multiplayer maps you can't se further then 20 feet and on some you can see the end of the map on the other side Expand
  15. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    This game has nice Visuals and plays well but the single player was not worth it but battlefield is about the multi player. This game is not easy because you have to play as a team. Cod Tactics will not work because the maps are huge and destroyable. Destruction 2.0 changes the game because cover is gone then it will get harder as the match progresses. I would say this is a great game andThis game has nice Visuals and plays well but the single player was not worth it but battlefield is about the multi player. This game is not easy because you have to play as a team. Cod Tactics will not work because the maps are huge and destroyable. Destruction 2.0 changes the game because cover is gone then it will get harder as the match progresses. I would say this is a great game and a must have for battlefield fans (or bad company fans). Expand
  16. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    A very fun multiplayer. One of the best among fps's. They fixed most of the problems in bad company 1, but the campaign is a bit boring and uninteresting. Its "cinematic events" are just not as exciting or interesting as ones in its major competitor, cod, but its multiplayer makes up for a poor campaign
  17. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 without a doubt is one of the best console fps games I have ever played. I picked it up again recently after more than a year of playing other fps games and it is still great.

    Single player campaign is fun even when replaying and feels head and shoulders above bland and boring attempts at storytelling both of Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 to name a few
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 without a doubt is one of the best console fps games I have ever played. I picked it up again recently after more than a year of playing other fps games and it is still great.

    Single player campaign is fun even when replaying and feels head and shoulders above bland and boring attempts at storytelling both of Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3 to name a few recent failures. It has memorable characters which are not too serious about themselves, Battlefield signature destructible environments, plot with some rather predictable twists, is blissfully free of nuclear terrorists and it manages to conclude itself before getting too long and boring.

    Battlefield Bad Company 2 multiplayer has something that I have yet to find in any other fps
    Expand
  18. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    I got this game a while after it came out (A month or so), and I gotta say, I was pleased with it. Not only did the explosions and impacts delight me but so did the great guns. Another cool thing about this game that I thought was that everybody on the online community was very polite and we kind of worked together to win. Nowadays I gotta say, the online gaming community is a sh*tholeI got this game a while after it came out (A month or so), and I gotta say, I was pleased with it. Not only did the explosions and impacts delight me but so did the great guns. Another cool thing about this game that I thought was that everybody on the online community was very polite and we kind of worked together to win. Nowadays I gotta say, the online gaming community is a sh*thole now. People don't care about playing the objective or the actual games most people sit around, troll, or do some other annoying crap. The biggest downer about this game was that its campaign was horrible. Now I understand some people may like it and I respect that but I just thought that the whole story was pretty ridiculous. Overall I think this is one of the best battlefield games in the series, but there are still a lot more (Hopefully) to come. Expand
  19. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    What makes BC2 the best multiplayer FPS I've ever played? It's the cinematic moments. Such as riding shotgun on a 4-wheeler through the Atacama desert as an Apache pilot flies low and close on your tail looking for the easy kill. Except, you pull out your Carl Gustav and watch it crash in flames on the ground after you catch it with your rocket dead on the nose. You and your squad thenWhat makes BC2 the best multiplayer FPS I've ever played? It's the cinematic moments. Such as riding shotgun on a 4-wheeler through the Atacama desert as an Apache pilot flies low and close on your tail looking for the easy kill. Except, you pull out your Carl Gustav and watch it crash in flames on the ground after you catch it with your rocket dead on the nose. You and your squad then laugh as your 4-wheeler dodges the derbris and flames of what's left of the Apache on your way to capturing objective Charlie. Expand
  20. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    This game is probably the best FPS game I have ever played on the Xbox360. I thoroughly enjoy the balance of the game compared to other games in the FPS genre. I like how most buildings can be completely demolished, and how you can change the tide of the battle with a single vehicle. Pros: Graphics, sound, replay value, squad system, controls, use of multiple vehicles (Sea, Land, Air),This game is probably the best FPS game I have ever played on the Xbox360. I thoroughly enjoy the balance of the game compared to other games in the FPS genre. I like how most buildings can be completely demolished, and how you can change the tide of the battle with a single vehicle. Pros: Graphics, sound, replay value, squad system, controls, use of multiple vehicles (Sea, Land, Air), unlockable items, Cons: Cursing players (I have kids, so I have to play the game late at night), no fixed-wing aircraft Expand
  21. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    not a good campaign but the multiplayer more than makes up for. The multiplayer is the best i have ever seen in my life and i never get bored of it.
  22. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    On the back of the cover box, there's a quote from Game Informer stating: "Best tactical multiplayer action on the planet". I frown upon Game Informer's usage of the term "tactical multiplayer", seeing as how in actuality this game requires no more strategy or tactics than for instance Modern Warfare, and in many cases actually requires less. I feel that the only people who disagree withOn the back of the cover box, there's a quote from Game Informer stating: "Best tactical multiplayer action on the planet". I frown upon Game Informer's usage of the term "tactical multiplayer", seeing as how in actuality this game requires no more strategy or tactics than for instance Modern Warfare, and in many cases actually requires less. I feel that the only people who disagree with me on this are extreme fanboys. The Battlefield franchise is clearly one of the best military shooter series out there; a clear cut second place in my opinion, with Modern Warfare still pulling ahead in almost every department, save a few. But then again, beating out the likes of Medal of Honor and Operation Flashpoint isn't that impressive, but that's not to put this game down in any manner. The single player of Bad Company 2 is absolutely horrid. I was utterly appalled that a game this high quality could produce such a drab, unexciting, and disappointing campaign. I could not care for the story any less, and the ending was laughably bad. Seriously, play the last level and try not to laugh. It tried so hard to be this epic single player experience that delivers mind-blowing set pieces and explosive sequences but ends up falling flat. The characters are all idiotic with extremely cliche personalities, although they do occassionally deliver funny dialogue. Overall, do not purchase this game for single player. Thankfully, the multiplayer is where the meat and potatoes are at. There are two things and two things only that Battlefield does better than Call of Duty: sound effects and largescale battles. The sound department is miles ahead of the competition, and whether it's the echoing of your pistol reloading inside of a building or the thundering boom of mortal shells annihiliating your cover, you will always feel like you're really there. The entire arsenal is about as balanced as you can get, with a few exceptions not worth mentioning. However, I mainly play Rush mode, mainly because it's the most intense and has the most epic battles. Battlefield's team deathmatch, however, is an absolute joke. Unless you enjoy getting killed by extreme campers hiding in the most absurd places, than you will probably not enjoy the TD mode at all. There are a few complaints I would prefer to get out in the open, and one of my biggest ones being the constantly delay/lag in every game. There is no denying it, I have an amazing internet connection, and Battlefield still is delayed every game. If I shoot an enemy point blank with a shotgun and there is almost a full second delay till he dies, than you kind of notice it. This may not sound so huge, but while you're attempting to run n' gun and you're killed by an enemy that you shot at first, it gets on your nerves. I think that my largest complain with this game is the people who play it. I used to think that Call of Duty had the worst crowd of people to play with, but wait until you play this. Literally, in a game of 12v12, there will be at the very least 4 enemies who refuse to play the objectives in Rush mode and will be camping nonstop. They will not even attempt to defuse the bomb, even if it is within 15 feet of them, nor will they attempt to plant it if they're Attacking. It's embarassing, and makes me laugh at how horrible the general Battlefield population is. The explosions on this game, despite sounding and looking amazing, are completely unrealistic. If a hand grenade can really kill me while I'm standing 30 feet away in another room and my grenade launcher can't even kill a guy 2 feet from the explosion, than it seems to me that it needs a little bit of work. The graphics are essentially excellent, with the environments and destructibles being impressive, while the character animations and models leave much to be desired. As mentioned earlier, this game does not require any more tactics than Call of Duty, no matter how badly you want it to, so I use the term "largescale warfare" when I say this: It's probably the best largescale warfare game on the market today, but still needs more polish to become insanely good. Difficult to compare to Call of Duty side by side, since they're both different types of military shooters. If you hate COD, you will probably love this. If you love COD like I do, you will still probably like this game. Expand
  23. Sep 4, 2010
    9
    The single player game may be short, but it's a fun ride while it lasts. Multiplayer, however will keep you hooked for months. The competitive component of this game offers a well-implemented progression system, an assortment of cool vehicles, damn good maps, and enough explosive spectacle to make Michael Bay green with envy.
  24. May 1, 2011
    10
    This has got to be the best game for the 360...I've played a good many of this Genre and this has to be the best on line game out at the moment. Graphics, playability, maps, All feel great.
  25. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    After redownloading this game on the Xbox Live marketplace, I realised how terribly wrong I was in my past review. This blows MW2 and Black Ops out of the water, and is on par - in some aspects, better - with such classic COD games as COD5 and Modern Warfare. Can't wait for Battlefield 3, which i'm sure will be ten times better than this game. The only problems I can think of in this gameAfter redownloading this game on the Xbox Live marketplace, I realised how terribly wrong I was in my past review. This blows MW2 and Black Ops out of the water, and is on par - in some aspects, better - with such classic COD games as COD5 and Modern Warfare. Can't wait for Battlefield 3, which i'm sure will be ten times better than this game. The only problems I can think of in this game are the lackluster campaign that generally fails to impress and the slightly overpowered medic class.

    Multiplayer - 9.5/10
    Campaign - 6/10

    Overall - 8.5/10
    Expand
  26. Justin
    Mar 4, 2010
    10
    This game is garbage. I can't believe that Jim Sterling still has a job at Destructoid, after giving this piece of trash game a 10 out of 10. He is a disgrace to all video game reviewers. This game is the worst of this entire generation, and he shouldn't be aloud to review games if he think this game is anything above a 4 out of 10.
  27. samueld
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    I've never actually played the game before, but from what i've seen on youtube, and what i've heard from friends who have played it before, it sound and look incredible. I have the first bad company on xbox 360 and i believe it is one of the best first person shooters ever, prior to cod4.
  28. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    No doubht one of the best shooters of the year large maps on multiplayer and intense campaign gameplay make this one of the greatest games ever and a must buy!
  29. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    The single-player campaign follows the story of a bunch of soldiers as they travel around the world on the hunt for a mythical weapon of mass destruction which absolutely must not fall into the hands of the Russians. It's a typical story of unlikely heroes as they attempt to save the world, and it will take you across a great variety of locations that range from frozen mountains to denselyThe single-player campaign follows the story of a bunch of soldiers as they travel around the world on the hunt for a mythical weapon of mass destruction which absolutely must not fall into the hands of the Russians. It's a typical story of unlikely heroes as they attempt to save the world, and it will take you across a great variety of locations that range from frozen mountains to densely packed jungles.

    Unfortunately, DICE still hasn't wowed us with its single-player design in Bad Company 2. Unforgivable bugs, linked to a weak trigger point system, cheapen a campaign that's far from brilliant in the first place - even without taking the bugs into account, Bad Company 2 still plays out unremarkably. Hopefully Bad Company 3 will make a strong campaign. (For once in the Battlefield series!)

    But, for many, the campaign won't matter one bit. These people come for the multiplayer and that's where Bad Company 2 delivers. Here the destructible environments of the campaign take on a new meaning. Your target might be waiting inside a shack. An enemy squad may be using a tower as a spawning point. This can all change with just a few well placed explosives as you literally level the playing field. It adds an extra tier of strategy to the game as you struggle to work through extended fights, adapting your approach to the fight as the world around you crumbles.

    Little squads can be created, making larger teams into strike forces which can each play a specific role. Then within that squad, players can choose between four load-out kits that range from the light machinegun toting medic to the SMG wielding specialist engineer. Each has its own weapons and unique tools that allow you to set yourself up as a small but integral part in the team's success. Teamwork is the key in this game so if your used to never playing with friends or sticking together with other players, you will die A LOT.

    What impressed me the most with Bad Company 2 is how flexible the multiplayer game is. The class system allows you to choose what your approach to battle will be. It's the maps and modes that allow you to choose exactly what kind of game you want to play. There is a huge difference between the giant and extended team Rush games which is an attack and defend mode which plays out across expansive maps and features lots of vehicles -- and the tighter Squad Deathmatch games which can feel like there's an enemy around every corner. If you care for something in between, you can just hop into a Conquest game to try your hand at the classic Battlefield fight over specific areas controlled by raising and lowering flags.

    In my view, Bad Company 2's online is the best around (Yes, BETTER than CoD and Halo) but has a weak campain so just misses out on 10!
    Expand
  30. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 is kind of a mixed bag for me. I played through the campaign and it was... really a bit of a disappointment. They seemed to really strip out all of the... open worldiness that you would expect in a Battlefield game. I never played the original Bad Company, so I dunno how that campaign was, but BC2's is just... kinda **** bland and lifeless. Everything's tight andBattlefield Bad Company 2 is kind of a mixed bag for me. I played through the campaign and it was... really a bit of a disappointment. They seemed to really strip out all of the... open worldiness that you would expect in a Battlefield game. I never played the original Bad Company, so I dunno how that campaign was, but BC2's is just... kinda **** bland and lifeless. Everything's tight and scripted, except for that one open level in the desert, but even that was very limited and bordery. Cause you'd drive around in your jeep but if you didn't approach the three separate objective locales in the way that they (DICE) wanted you to, you'd just run up against their **** lame ass uh... I don't even know what to call it. The "You are leaving the game level, 10 seconds to turn back" prompt pops up. You guys know what I mean. That **** limit. Cause DICE isn't even capable of conjuring up traditional level boundaries. They don't use trees or debris to block your path, or invisible walls, they just hit you with that prompt and the 10 seconds to cease and desist. Just... ughhhh. In a multiplayer game like Battlefield 2... maybe that's okay and fine and whatever, cause you're just playing against other dudes and spawning and doing **** but in a singleplayer campaign... it just feels very out of place and lame and um, dumb.

    So yea, everything's generally pretty damn linear and scripted, but... there isn't the polish that a similar game like Modern Warfare 2 has. In Modern Warfare 2, everything's scripted to hell and back but at least it provides a pretty cool experience. There's a lot to look at and take in and it's a roller coaster ride. With BC2's campaign, there's not much polish, there's not much excitement. You just move from one encounter to another while marveling at how the graphics look not so great.

    Again... MW2 has its share of problems, but the game looked good for the most part. Infinity Ward got a lot out of their refined CoD 4 engine. BC2 on the other hand, has a startling lack of AA, so you've got jaggies everywhere. Then you look at the outdoors terrain, and some of it can look alright, but then other times you'll glance up at a hillside and see a bunch of... uh, rows of trees? At least, I think that's what they're supposed to be depicting? Cause honestly, they seem like a bunch of placeholder textures that DICE's newest intern placed on the level because he didn't know what the **** else to do with the map editor. Really low rez textures of trees bunched together, placed about 4 or 5 times up the side of these hills... it's pretty atrocious. They're like DooM-era sprites. Very hard to miss, I think. A lot of the terrain unfortunately looks like that.

    BTW, what is up with the turret on the Humvee? Did anyone else notice that when you swivel it, it'll just go off the axis? So you can shoot it, but the damn thing is aiming off to the side from your perspective? It doesn't look straight ahead like a regular turret? Why the hell did DICE have that in the game? Do people actually shoot the humvee MG like that? It just... it looks **** weird. And I'm kinda OCD, so it bugs the hell out of me. Was there some reason they designed that to look that way? It's so confounding. Now, the shooting in this game is pretty interesting. I was kinda surprised by the shooting mechanics in this game at first. Cause if you've played MW2, you're pretty used to that sort of shooting. Everything feels very easy and smooth in that game. You press the trigger, and your aim doesn't alter much. There's a real sense of ease with which you tap-tap-tap things to death. It's like firing a nailgun or something, there's just very little recoil or feedback to the shooting. It's why most people just snipe with the assault rifles in that game, there's not much difficulty to it.

    BC2's shooting is almost a sea change in comparison. There's way more kick, way more jolting and jittering going on. In fact, the first level in WW2 had almost a bit too much of that, it felt like your aim was shaking all over the place like you had Parkinson's. Just a ridiculous amount of that. But in general, the feeling of shooting is much more visceral, and probably much more realistic. The recoil kicks your view around a bit and makes it somewhat harder to land shots. Like I said, firing in MW2 feels like you're shooting nails or something. In BC2, you definitely feel like you're firing a big heavy firearm and sending some nasty ordinance downrange. It's a satisfying feeling and being different from another game is fine. It just takes a bit to get adjusted to.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Not content to settle for second place, DICE throws down the gauntlet with Bad Company 2, delivering its best multiplayer package since Battlefield 2 and a remarkably improved single-player campaign that openly mocks its rival while cribbing from them at the same time. [Issue#203, p.84]
  2. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is one of the best shooters of this generation. The game has steel-solid mechanics, top gen graphics and an incredible multiplayer. Call of Duty has a new rival.
  3. 89
    Bad Company 2 as an online shooter is flexible and engaging, offering several features that the competition can only dream of. If you're looking for a more strategic and team-based change of pace, look no further. This is the game for you.