Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 817 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this installment, the Bad Company crew again find themselves in the heart of the action, where they must use every weapon and vehicle at their disposal to survive. In Battlefield: Bad Company 2, the 'B' company fight their way through snowy mountaintops, dense jungles and dusty villages. With a heavy arsenal of deadly weapons and a slew of vehicles to aid them, the crew set off on their mission and they are ready to blow up, shoot down, blast through, wipe out and utterly destroy anything that gets in their way. Total destruction is the name of the game, delivered as only the DICE next generation Frostbite engine can. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 100
    Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is as complete a package as you could ever ask for. Multiplayer-heavy titles can be a fickle beast, but we’re pretty sure we’ll be playing this one for quite some time to come.
  2. Easily the best FPS I’ve played in a long time. Dialogue that makes me want to watch a feature film starring these guys. A virtually flawless single and multiplayer experience.
  3. Not only has the technology behind the Frostbite engine been improved but the multiplayer shows major signs of improvement and a willingness by DICE to push the boundaries further. The single player campaign, despite feeling like an added component to a 100% multiplayer focused experience, is much more streamlined and interesting this time around. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a great game but it also does what many games with a ’2’ next to their name fail to do; improve.
  4. 90
    Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is a great shooter and ranks among the top of this time. The multiplayer is reason enough to buy this great game.
  5. 'Battlefield: Bad Company 2' comes armed with a heavy arsenal and some bad attitudes, and delivers another solid shooting experience that will please fans of the original, and dare I say it, the “COD” clan as well.
  6. A stellar multiplayer setup ensures you'll be playing Battlefield: Bad Company 2 long after the 10 or so hours spent in the already satisfying single-player campaign. [Apr 2010, p.76]
  7. There's no denying the appeal of Bad Company 2's multiplayer. DICE is still expertly nailing down what it pioneered all the way back in 2002, and the experience remains far from stale. However, poor design in the single-player makes for a campaign that's not only lacklustre throughout, but cripplingly buggy at times as well.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 152
  1. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    What makes BC2 the best multiplayer FPS I've ever played? It's the cinematic moments. Such as riding shotgun on a 4-wheeler through the Atacama desert as an Apache pilot flies low and close on your tail looking for the easy kill. Except, you pull out your Carl Gustav and watch it crash in flames on the ground after you catch it with your rocket dead on the nose. You and your squad then laugh as your 4-wheeler dodges the derbris and flames of what's left of the Apache on your way to capturing objective Charlie. Expand
  2. VadimB
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    Absolutely stunning. MIND YOU: The reviewers that gave this game below 9 generally bashed elements such as uninteresting and short single player, and underdeveloped characters, while at the same time not saying anything like that on their Modern Warfare 2 review, which had an almost idiotic single player story with totally forgettable characters. As far as graphics, sound, and multiplayer (24 players, huge maps, destructible environments and vehicles > MW2) is way superior to MW2 Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Simply the most explosive, unbelievably intense & varied battlefield experience you will be talking about with your friends until the next iteration comes out! Bring on the Vietnam DLC!!! Battlefield presents you with hundreds of WTF situations, in a good way (affectionately known as "Battlefield Moments") Simply outclasses all competition. BUY IT! (& I'll see you on the battlefield!) Xbox live handle "|| BKSP ||" Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    excellent game, exceeded my expectations and i actually prefer it to CoD as the multiplayer is less flawed and less cheaters around, variety of online games is a bit poor though. Story mode is quite engaging and fairly lengthy too Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    this game is super fun and i recommend it. although it does have some issues, overall it's great. the single player was short and not very fun. but the multiplayer was great, particularly for its destruction. Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    On the back of the cover box, there's a quote from Game Informer stating: "Best tactical multiplayer action on the planet". I frown upon Game Informer's usage of the term "tactical multiplayer", seeing as how in actuality this game requires no more strategy or tactics than for instance Modern Warfare, and in many cases actually requires less. I feel that the only people who disagree with me on this are extreme fanboys. The Battlefield franchise is clearly one of the best military shooter series out there; a clear cut second place in my opinion, with Modern Warfare still pulling ahead in almost every department, save a few. But then again, beating out the likes of Medal of Honor and Operation Flashpoint isn't that impressive, but that's not to put this game down in any manner. The single player of Bad Company 2 is absolutely horrid. I was utterly appalled that a game this high quality could produce such a drab, unexciting, and disappointing campaign. I could not care for the story any less, and the ending was laughably bad. Seriously, play the last level and try not to laugh. It tried so hard to be this epic single player experience that delivers mind-blowing set pieces and explosive sequences but ends up falling flat. The characters are all idiotic with extremely cliche personalities, although they do occassionally deliver funny dialogue. Overall, do not purchase this game for single player. Thankfully, the multiplayer is where the meat and potatoes are at. There are two things and two things only that Battlefield does better than Call of Duty: sound effects and largescale battles. The sound department is miles ahead of the competition, and whether it's the echoing of your pistol reloading inside of a building or the thundering boom of mortal shells annihiliating your cover, you will always feel like you're really there. The entire arsenal is about as balanced as you can get, with a few exceptions not worth mentioning. However, I mainly play Rush mode, mainly because it's the most intense and has the most epic battles. Battlefield's team deathmatch, however, is an absolute joke. Unless you enjoy getting killed by extreme campers hiding in the most absurd places, than you will probably not enjoy the TD mode at all. There are a few complaints I would prefer to get out in the open, and one of my biggest ones being the constantly delay/lag in every game. There is no denying it, I have an amazing internet connection, and Battlefield still is delayed every game. If I shoot an enemy point blank with a shotgun and there is almost a full second delay till he dies, than you kind of notice it. This may not sound so huge, but while you're attempting to run n' gun and you're killed by an enemy that you shot at first, it gets on your nerves. I think that my largest complain with this game is the people who play it. I used to think that Call of Duty had the worst crowd of people to play with, but wait until you play this. Literally, in a game of 12v12, there will be at the very least 4 enemies who refuse to play the objectives in Rush mode and will be camping nonstop. They will not even attempt to defuse the bomb, even if it is within 15 feet of them, nor will they attempt to plant it if they're Attacking. It's embarassing, and makes me laugh at how horrible the general Battlefield population is. The explosions on this game, despite sounding and looking amazing, are completely unrealistic. If a hand grenade can really kill me while I'm standing 30 feet away in another room and my grenade launcher can't even kill a guy 2 feet from the explosion, than it seems to me that it needs a little bit of work. The graphics are essentially excellent, with the environments and destructibles being impressive, while the character animations and models leave much to be desired. As mentioned earlier, this game does not require any more tactics than Call of Duty, no matter how badly you want it to, so I use the term "largescale warfare" when I say this: It's probably the best largescale warfare game on the market today, but still needs more polish to become insanely good. Difficult to compare to Call of Duty side by side, since they're both different types of military shooters. If you hate COD, you will probably love this. If you love COD like I do, you will still probably like this game. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    Great game completely ruined by the greed of the corporation that put it out. It's a fun mosh-pit of doom in Multiplayer matches and features bullet drop and delay along with destruction mechanics. However there is little to no explanation as how to use things in Multiplayer. People can also BUY the unlocks which is downright disgusting. Another crippling feature is the squads. The squads can only communicate with other squad members, and coincidentally NO SQUAD I HAVE EVER JOINED IN A SOLID WEEK OF PLAY HAD A SINGLE PERSON WITH A MICROPHONE. As a result, the Multiplayer is like a silent single-player with a cowboys and Indians feel to it with everyone rushing about aimlessly due to an inability to properly communicate. It's a game that's built around teamwork that allows one or two crippling features to break the game... Like not being able to talk. Wait does that even make sence? A teamwork game where you CANT TALK?! Don't these idiots go to COLLAGE to get a degree for this kind of work? I'm sorry, the only logic I can find behind such features would be to intentionally sabotage the game in order to fix the issues in a sequel, which is both disgusting and insulting to the gaming community and the creators should be ashamed of themselves. Collapse

See all 152 User Reviews