Battlefield: Bad Company Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 254

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    I've owned this game for a long, long time now, but never wrote a review. Anyway, I use this game as a measuring stick for all other online FPSs. I'll compare COD and Crysis 2 to this game. Obviously, both fall WAY short of the mark. It confounds me. I've been playing online FPSs since Medal of Honor: Allied Assault. When that game came out (like 11 years ago), I thought theI've owned this game for a long, long time now, but never wrote a review. Anyway, I use this game as a measuring stick for all other online FPSs. I'll compare COD and Crysis 2 to this game. Obviously, both fall WAY short of the mark. It confounds me. I've been playing online FPSs since Medal of Honor: Allied Assault. When that game came out (like 11 years ago), I thought the multiplayer was really cool. It's not so great, however, when COD releases a contemporary multiplayer FPS that mirrors those from over a decade ago. Anyway, tl;dr - Bad Company (and its successor, Bad Company 2) are far superior to all other online FPSs. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    THIS IS MY SH!T. HOW ARE YOU INSULTING A CLASSIC? YOU SCRUBS CLEARLY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT BATTLEFIELD IF YOU ARE GOING TO WHINE AND BI7CH ABOUT EVERY FLAW THIS GAME POSSESSES. YES THE MULTIPLAYER IS BAD, BUT THE CAMPAIGN IS BETTER THAN EVERY SINGLE COD GAME FROM MW1-BO2 COMBINED
  3. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    A good game. Full gameplay and an OK campaign,. The multiplayer is very exciting with a wider area and vehicle use. The weapon strength is a bit to low, and the health bar is a bit primitive. But all around a very good fps. Nothing really special about it though.
  4. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Let's say you created a new battlefield game. Your focus is, as it always was, multiplayer. You've finished making that and put your time into a time-wasting campaign, but somewhere along the line you ruined that plan and made the best singleplayer campaign that any FPS game will ever have. That is Bad Company.
  5. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    battlefield rocks and it is a good game with great graphics but the story wasn't much great as in 2008 there was a game knows call of duty modern warfare which was having great story great action and best characters i know it tried to beat modern warfare but so sad i will give modern warfare 10 and bad company 9
  6. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    The best Battlefield game for consoles, the best single player campaign in the series, alongside the addition of a new and entertaining game mode called Gold Rush, Bad Company is a must have.
  7. Mar 21, 2015
    4
    This game is a little bad, and isn't worth buying unless your a huge battlefield fan. Theses levels are too long as well!

    PROS
    -Humor
    -Combat

    CONS
    -Graphics
    -Story
    -Multiplayer
  8. JohnS.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    How in the world do games like this keep getting made? Doesn't anyone playtest them first, outside of the designers that is? Dialogue is horrible, the field of view seems smashed and flat, and the player's movement is not very realistic. This is no better than the previous Battlefields, although they did do their best to rip off Call of Duty. I also find it amusing that the How in the world do games like this keep getting made? Doesn't anyone playtest them first, outside of the designers that is? Dialogue is horrible, the field of view seems smashed and flat, and the player's movement is not very realistic. This is no better than the previous Battlefields, although they did do their best to rip off Call of Duty. I also find it amusing that the design team and associates are posting good reviews under various aliases here. Just read the highest-rated comments, and notice the similarities in grammar and writing style. Nice try boys. And your a spastic Expand
  9. ScumBag
    Jul 7, 2008
    0
    Holy crap! This is ultimate garbage. Hands down, gold rush is the worst multiplayer mode I have ever played for any game. I can't believe conquest, the mode that made the series, is an afterthought here. The single player may be good, but I wouldn't know because I only play multiplayer games. I am blown away by how bad this trash is, especially as a fan of other Battlefield Holy crap! This is ultimate garbage. Hands down, gold rush is the worst multiplayer mode I have ever played for any game. I can't believe conquest, the mode that made the series, is an afterthought here. The single player may be good, but I wouldn't know because I only play multiplayer games. I am blown away by how bad this trash is, especially as a fan of other Battlefield games. These idiots telling you this is better than COD have clearly never played COD. I cannot stress enough to you that this is total GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE.GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE.GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE. GARBAGE. Expand
  10. ChrisS.
    Jul 9, 2008
    2
    Online is not a fun experience. Disliked the fact that I couldn't talk to all my friends. Also has a steep learning curve and a lot of getting shot in the back. I will pass on this one.
  11. Toltec01
    Sep 4, 2008
    2
    You have to be kidding me, some of the people voting high here actually work for EA! This had to be one of the more poorly tuned fps games in a while! Very consistent with alot of games this year, the art was superior but the gameplay sucked. From the walk and run speed, what does the hero have a short leg? What's up with all the hobbling around? The run speed was far too slow. You have to be kidding me, some of the people voting high here actually work for EA! This had to be one of the more poorly tuned fps games in a while! Very consistent with alot of games this year, the art was superior but the gameplay sucked. From the walk and run speed, what does the hero have a short leg? What's up with all the hobbling around? The run speed was far too slow. Second the whole of idea of setting things up strategically goes out the window; for one when I set up a trap with vehicle blocades and the movie load wipes them out or better yet I fall in love with the russian mortar strike weapon and that gets wiped never be seen again, that sucks! Who thought that was going to be a great idea? COH4 is much more superior than this game, there is no way the too could ever be compared. Two last parting critiques, a) I am the player I am the first person camera, several times I was wondering who the 5th person in the movie was, um, it was me, I guess some junior decided that would be ok, its not, it takes me straight out the game. 2) The comedy was poorly timed and written, next time hire a comedian and not a pretensious "game writer." All in all, again the art on the xbox 360 is superior this year, but the games blow, from Turok to Bad Company, someone needs to step up and hire some experienced devs. Expand
  12. BobD.
    Jun 25, 2008
    4
    Apparently some of you didn't play the same demo I did, because what I experienced was a cartoonish, somewhat clunky second-rate version of CoD4. The graphics aren't as good, the player movement is not realistic, especially the bobbing while walking and running, and the AI was horrible. NPC's would get stuck behind objects regularly. And the voiceovers are just straight Apparently some of you didn't play the same demo I did, because what I experienced was a cartoonish, somewhat clunky second-rate version of CoD4. The graphics aren't as good, the player movement is not realistic, especially the bobbing while walking and running, and the AI was horrible. NPC's would get stuck behind objects regularly. And the voiceovers are just straight cheesy. The one good thing is that the sound is really good, but other than that, back to CoD4 and awaiting Gears 2. Expand
  13. benny
    Jun 27, 2008
    0
    How many more times can EA fool the gulable public. Ive lost count how many times they have repackaged Battlefield, i stopped counting when they hit version 7 of battlefield, same also goes for all other EA game like Command and conquer, Sims, Fifa, NBA, EA aint about new games they are about rehashing old games until mr stupid stops buying them. just hope Rockstar dont sell out to E.A orHow many more times can EA fool the gulable public. Ive lost count how many times they have repackaged Battlefield, i stopped counting when they hit version 7 of battlefield, same also goes for all other EA game like Command and conquer, Sims, Fifa, NBA, EA aint about new games they are about rehashing old games until mr stupid stops buying them. just hope Rockstar dont sell out to E.A or you can say goodby to GTA Series Expand
  14. JonT
    Jul 2, 2008
    1
    Brutal experience. Not fun. Very awkward game. For those of you comparing it to Call of Duty 4, a very simple glance at the official review metascore reveals... Call of Duty 4 = 94 Battlefield BC = 84 End of Story.
  15. AlexH
    Oct 6, 2009
    3
    The single player is fun but gets repetitive. Achievements are stupid in that you will not get the achievement for beating a mission on normal if you played it on hard so you have to play through them twice to get them all. Multiplayer hit detection is awful and you will often be killed and not know how or from where. That doesn't make for a very fun experience and overall this game The single player is fun but gets repetitive. Achievements are stupid in that you will not get the achievement for beating a mission on normal if you played it on hard so you have to play through them twice to get them all. Multiplayer hit detection is awful and you will often be killed and not know how or from where. That doesn't make for a very fun experience and overall this game just doesn't cut it. Pass on this and get Call of Duty. Expand
  16. DanielB.
    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    this game isn't perfect.. or mach up to cod 4 in any way shape or form.... the graphics are pretty good.. but not sharp and photorealistic.. the gameplay is ok.. the blowing up thing is okay at least.. its a nice gameplay feature but is all scripted and doesn't compare to red faction:gorilla.. the story is pretty good filled with fun and creative characters but the AI is sub-par this game isn't perfect.. or mach up to cod 4 in any way shape or form.... the graphics are pretty good.. but not sharp and photorealistic.. the gameplay is ok.. the blowing up thing is okay at least.. its a nice gameplay feature but is all scripted and doesn't compare to red faction:gorilla.. the story is pretty good filled with fun and creative characters but the AI is sub-par and the missions are repetitive and subpar as well. the online maps are huge and a bit hard to find people hit detection is bad at best... while the breakable buildings are fun.. the vehicle controls are terrible and not mention the vehicle themselves are cheap. they spawn in almost completely random places... unaware that they are giving all of them to say the team that is pwning. speaking of controls.. there terrible. at least.... not to mention there is ads.. but only with a few guns.. some just zoom in and its extremely annoying..and the layout itself is just god-awful, y to knife right stick click to duck.... wtf... overall this game is just a cheap COD4 knockoff.. do not buy it Expand
  17. JeffC.
    Jun 21, 2008
    1
    I think the game is awful. The vehicles control horrible. It is only one step above Fronlines fuels of war.
  18. ChaseMurata
    Jun 24, 2008
    0
    Okay, after a few days and a lot of hours with the demo, here is my seasoned critique. A critique, as my first-impressions (of primarily the single-player) were far too generous.

    I do not like how there are only two spawn points (team or base). Opponents can simply camp with tanks and kill you in succession. I was killed five times in a row switching off both spawn points. Every time I
    Okay, after a few days and a lot of hours with the demo, here is my seasoned critique. A critique, as my first-impressions (of primarily the single-player) were far too generous.

    I do not like how there are only two spawn points (team or base). Opponents can simply camp with tanks and kill you in succession. I was killed five times in a row switching off both spawn points. Every time I respawned at our base some asshole would immediately - before I could take a step - fire tank bursts into the spawn area. Between the tank and the machine-that-acts-like-your-own-personal-Airstrike, my entire team was decimated every time we spawned at the base spawn point during that game.

    The imbalance between classes is infuriating. Snipers have the advantage in most games as the scope covers a great deal of the map, and considering Battlefield is a large-scale game, snipers can, literally, see you coming from miles away. I will say, though, that the aiming system is so imprecise that it will take a few shots for them to kill you - but they will kill you before you can fire back.

    Damage is a bit ridiculous, and the Medic class, or what-ever-name-they-gave-it, is not useful at all. Why did they include this class into the game? No one uses it. No one. I have only seen a handful of people use this class in my hours upon hours of gameplay. When I do see them, only few of them handed out health crates. Those who did hand out health crates amidst warfare were killed alongside those who tried to get health crates.

    This brings me to my next point: the damage is ridiculously high. It takes only three shots to kill someone with a pistol, and I
    Expand
  19. NickH.
    Jun 25, 2008
    1
    Frontlines is better and that is sad. Who wants a GAME that u die so fast because your cover gets blown up so fast.
  20. ChrisE
    Jun 26, 2008
    2
    So flimsy and narrow feeling. Graphics disappoint and the combined sensory response to playing the game is frustrated nausea. Avoid, for your own benefit.
  21. DaveR
    Jul 28, 2008
    4
    This game is not fun and carries a limited immersion factor. It's full of bells and whistles and lacks in substance. The multiplayer experience was ridden with clipping issues and vehicle control issues. The regular controls are extremely awkward compared to other similar titles. The graphics are impressive but simply cannot make up for the blemishes. It is worth a rental at best.
  22. RonH
    May 26, 2009
    4
    Overall this game is a huge disappointment and step down from Battlefield 2. Even though I bought it new for 15 bucks, I feel a little ripped off. First off, the single player campaign is quite terrible, for a couple of reasons. The missions quickly become very repetitive and the levels are boring and uninspired. There is not a single urban/city level, all of the levels take place Overall this game is a huge disappointment and step down from Battlefield 2. Even though I bought it new for 15 bucks, I feel a little ripped off. First off, the single player campaign is quite terrible, for a couple of reasons. The missions quickly become very repetitive and the levels are boring and uninspired. There is not a single urban/city level, all of the levels take place outdoors in open fields/sparse forests. This is also something I dislike about the multiplayer maps, the lack of true variety. The music, what little there is, is not up to the standard of Battlefield 2. The story and characters are ok, nothing too special, I have no complaints there. I don't expect anything too original from the stories of FPS games. The graphics are allright, nothing to complain about there, especially since the environments have a lot of destructible objects. The enemy AI is a huge letdown, as well as a cause of great frustration. I found this by far the biggest factor that ruined much of the potential fun of the single player campaign. This is one area where the single player campaign of Call of Duty 4 did a MUCH better job. The enemy seems to have perfect aim and can see through objects, effectively rendering any stealth based approach futile. If it weren't for the fact that any enemies you kill before dying stay dead when you respawn, the campaign would be pretty much unplayable from the get-go. Literally the second you are in a position where the enemies bullets can hit you, they will hit you, with near perfect accuracy every time. One great aspect of the single player campaign is the destructible environments, which is also the best feature of the multiplayer. The vehicles are ok, nothing special, and there isn't nearly as much variety as in Battlefield 2 (both in single player and multiplayer). The controls in the game are allright, they feel a little clunky at first, but I feel they are pretty good after getting used to them. The multiplayer is not much better than the single player, and personally I find it a huge disappointment. To me, the biggest problem is the lack of clan support, private rooms, and just in general the way you join games. You pretty much get placed randomly into a game, it might be the map you chose to play, it might not. But the quality of the game you get thrown into varies greatly due to many different factors. In short, the multiplayer could be so much better than it is, had the developers just implemented a better system for joining games, and fixed the severe issues that plague the gameplay. The multiplayer uses a squad system, where you are paired with 3 other team mates. You can only communicate with them, the rest of your team (the other squads) just go about doing whatever it is they're doing since you have no way of communicating together. This makes the gameplay chaotic and destroys any real sense of teamwork in most matches. In most matches there is a kind of "every man for himself" feeling, even though the gold rush mode (the main multiplayer mode) is supposed to be a team-based objective game. This can get annoying when people are just chasing after kills, rather than defending/attacking the objective. In many rounds on the gold rush mode, and for that matter the conquest as well (which has to be downloaded), people just play like it is a death match and try to get a good kill/death ratio. Sometimes if you invite friends to be in your squad, they still end up in another squad, or even on the other team! This is the least of the problems though. The online is chock-full of glitches and exploits which so many people use that it makes a lot of matches (if not most of them) far more frustrating than fun. For example there is an artillery glitch that allows people to keep firing an incredibly powerful artillery gun at the enemy base without the recharge period the developers intended it to have. But that raises the question if they intended the recharge period to be there why haven't they STILL fixed it? Knifing is completely broken, which is incredibly frustrating. To me this is one of the biggest flaws with the game. Often times it doesn't register when you try to do it, other times you get knifed from literally 20 feet away, and vice versa. It seems completely random as to what will happen when you or your enemy pulls out the knife. Sometimes when you plant C4 on a vehicle, even though you clearly see it got placed where it should, you get mysteriously blown up only to find that the C4 didn't get stuck to the vehicle after all, even though it clearly did. This is another glitch the developers STILL haven't fixed, although this is far less frustrating than the issues with the knife. Another huge issue with the multiplayer is that the weapons are completely imbalanced. Because of this many people will just spam the overpowered weapons, making the game less fun than it should be. The problem is that many guns are very weak and inaccurate, but a few are incredibly powerful and precise. The MP5, for example, is too powerful for what it is, and yet its the starting weapon for the specialist class. Its pretty much as powerful as an M16, and almost as accurate. One of the shotguns which can be unlocked, the NS2000, is by far the most powerful weapon in the game. It can kill in one shot from sometimes over 30 feet away, and you barely have to aim it, just point it in the general direction. Granted anyone can use it to get cheap kills after unlocking it, it simply isn't fun playing a game where people are camping with it near the gold crates/outposts. The other shotguns are completely underpowered by comparison, apart from the MCS, which is also a little overpowered, although nowhere near as ridiculously accurate as the NS2000. The support class machineguns are almost useless at close range, since they take what seems like 50-100 bullets to kill anyone, and maybe 10 shots to the head. The sniper rifles are ok, that and the assault weapons are the only weapons classes that are adequately balanced. Some of the maps are better designed than others. There is one map which is just ridiculously annoying to play, almost every time, if you are on the attacking side. I think its called Deconstruction. There are a few small spots you have to go through to get to the enemy base, which makes it way too easy for the enemy to just camp in their base and kill you over and over again. Often times in this map the round will end without a single crate having been destroyed. A lot of the other maps are better thought but there are a couple of other slightly frustrating ones. Other issues with the multiplayer include team killers/spawn campers. Unlike in past Battlefield titles, it seems no consideration went toward either of these issues. Some rounds are rife with people that have memorized spawn points, who just sit in their enemies base and knife/blow up/gun down people as they appear, before they can do anything. There is no penalty for doing this. Similarly sometimes people deliberately start team killing, and although this decreases their amount of points in the round, there is no real punishment/penalty for it either which is why it happens far more than it should. Basically you can do anything you want in a round and you won't get kicked out no matter what. If the developers thought the multiplayer could function on some sort of unspoken honor system, they were wrong. Another big problem with the multiplayer is that there seems to be no balancing system in place for the teams. Almost every round online consists of a hugely powerful team fighting against a far less powerful team. Often the more powerful team will even have more players than the weaker team, because people on the weaker team just leave the game after being frustrated, and understandably so. 99% of the time you will feel like your team is either completely owning/being owned. It is obvious there is no balancing going on. Some sort of balancing system, at least in between rounds, would really have made the multiplayer more enjoyable. A small, but nonetheless notable issue with the multiplayer is the helicopter controls. It takes a little getting used to, because for some reason they are completely different than in the single player, even though the helicopters are the same. But whats worse is that the manual doesn't mention this, in fact nowhere in the game does it mention the multiplayer helicopter controls. Because of this, people are left to figure it out for themselves through trial and error. Often times inexperienced players will rush to the helicopter, only to end up crashing it a few seconds later, much to the frustration of others, while wondering why the controls didn't do what they thought they should do. Another complaint I have about the multiplayer is regarding the maps in conquest mode. The maps are simply too small and poorly implemented for it. It feels nothing like the conquest mode of previous Battlefield titles. The one great thing about the multiplayer, as mentioned earlier, is the destructible environments. This aspect of the game works very well with only a few minor issues. Buildings and bridges, for example, cannot be completely destroyed. Nonetheless the destructible environments are one of the most fun and well implemented features of both the multiplayer and single player. It is very rewarding to see an enemy/enemies camping behind a wall, and to then blow up the wall and kill the enemy. The C4 also works quite well on buildings and ground, apart from the horrendous vehicle glitch mentioned earlier. Despite the flaws of the multiplayer there is still definitely some fun to be had. Its just that theres so much frustration getting in the way of it. Occasionally you find a good, balanced game, just through sheer luck, where the players aren't glitching/abusing exploits to win. Sometimes you even get a good squad where you all work together to defend/attack the objective or capture bases. The problem is, that often you will have to join about 15 games before you find a truly enjoyable one that isn't populated by people lag-knifing, spawn camping, artillery glitching, team killing, overusing the NS2000, etc. Although many of the flaws of the multiplayer can be blamed on the people who play the game (and choose to glitch/spawn camp/use unfair methods to win), the developers should really have put more effort into fixing the various iissues and balancing the game out, to prevent such flagrant abuses in the first place. I could understand somewhat if the flaws were there upon release, but the fact that they still havent been fixed a year after release is unforgivable. For this reason I am not going to buy Bad Company 2 or Battlefield 1943, unless I can see for sure that all these problems are fixed, especially the issues with the knife. Expand
  23. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    Battlefield: Bad Company follows a team of soldiers who are considered rejects of the military, who get sent to do the military's dirty work, the campaign is not very long but is pretty fun, and the characters are funny, one complaint i have is that it is easy, if you die you just re-spawn at a checkpoint but enemies stay dead, the graphics in this game are great but do show some age, andBattlefield: Bad Company follows a team of soldiers who are considered rejects of the military, who get sent to do the military's dirty work, the campaign is not very long but is pretty fun, and the characters are funny, one complaint i have is that it is easy, if you die you just re-spawn at a checkpoint but enemies stay dead, the graphics in this game are great but do show some age, and voice acting is really good, the controls are different but they still are very good, the multiplayer is a blast it uses more teamwork than other titles, this is a good fps and you should consider getting this if your looking for a break from Halo or Call of Duty Expand
  24. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    The single player does feel like a battlefield unlike CoD, but this is a bad thing if you want lots of action. The only reason for the map to be big is just for them to put gold bars (collectibles) in stupid places. Overall, the campaign isn't attrocious but it is quite boring. Even on a harder difficulty it's still not intense or exciting. Multiplayer is what battlefield has always beenThe single player does feel like a battlefield unlike CoD, but this is a bad thing if you want lots of action. The only reason for the map to be big is just for them to put gold bars (collectibles) in stupid places. Overall, the campaign isn't attrocious but it is quite boring. Even on a harder difficulty it's still not intense or exciting. Multiplayer is what battlefield has always been about. But coming from a CoD player, I wasn't sold on the multiplayer concept. There's only 1 game mode (2 if you include conquest- a copy of domination and war from CoD) and there's not much action. You have to wait to spawn, and you can choose to spawn on your team mate who is either camping nowhere near the action or getting shot to pieces, or you can spawn at base- miles away from the action. I don't like the gun bobbing or the slow movement. No matter what you do, it never feels satisying- the objective nor the kills. In every way, this game is boring. Expand
  25. DavidG.
    Jun 16, 2008
    8
    A very welcome retreat from COD4 the team play is top notch. Hopefully a few minor issues will be addressed before release and I hope they ad a prone stance. A definite buy for me though.
  26. MilenkoM
    Jun 30, 2008
    8
    Single player gets a 7, multi-player (where longevity matters) gets a 9. It's a refreshing take on the battlefield series however Battle Field die hard's may take issue with the drastic changes. The game is great though, destructible environments are excellent graphics are great and maps are vast and diverse. Highly recommended will provide great gameplay for MANY months.
  27. JamesW.
    Jun 30, 2008
    8
    The First Decent Console Battlefield. DICE actually pulled off all the stops here to finally produce an online experience that pretty much meets BF2 standards. Frostbite engine provides much fun in single and multi-play, allowing you to destroy much of the in-game environment, trees included. Word of warning to those deeply vested in the COD4/Halo franchises: Bad Company is a Battlefield The First Decent Console Battlefield. DICE actually pulled off all the stops here to finally produce an online experience that pretty much meets BF2 standards. Frostbite engine provides much fun in single and multi-play, allowing you to destroy much of the in-game environment, trees included. Word of warning to those deeply vested in the COD4/Halo franchises: Bad Company is a Battlefield game highlighting team play via their "gold rush" and (touted downloadable-later) "conquest" game modes. If you're used to just increasing your kill/death ratio with no regards to the eventual outcome of the round, you might not enjoy this game. Which is not to say you must always help your team in each round, but Bad Company like most Battlefield games before it (the abysmal Modern Combat not included) certainly allows more freedom to decide when you should stop sniping for example and jump in a tank to take the next objective. Simply put, while Infinity Ward has the pinnacle of deathmatch gaming, DICE has the pinnacle of team-based gaming. Single-player has never been a Battlefield strongpoint, and while it is given a decent story this time around it is by no means memorable. Gamers new to the Battlefield franchise should definitely give Bad Company a try. Those that are tired of the l33tism and MMO-esque level grind of COD4 or just deathmatch in general, should reacquaint themselves. Battlefield is still as fun as it was in when it first released in 2002 (a full year before the first COD by the way). Better yet, download the demo jump in the artillery in an online match and after 10 kills convince yourself you didn't have a good time. Expand
  28. DesO.
    Jun 30, 2008
    9
    The single player game is fun but flawed. It tells an original enough story with likable and interesting characters. The objectives are varied and there is huge scope for diversity in your approach to them (you could walk, drive, snipe, sneak, full frontal etc..). Its flaws are that it's not hugely challenging and the AI can be a bit "duh?" at times. It is worth playing however and The single player game is fun but flawed. It tells an original enough story with likable and interesting characters. The objectives are varied and there is huge scope for diversity in your approach to them (you could walk, drive, snipe, sneak, full frontal etc..). Its flaws are that it's not hugely challenging and the AI can be a bit "duh?" at times. It is worth playing however and is a great way to kick back after a hardcore multiplayer session. The multiplayer experience is where bad company really shines. It brings all the good from the single player mode and none of the bad. Gold rush is an incredible way of focusing the combat on a map that is otherwise so large that even 24 players would have a hard time finding someone to kill. Vehicles and classes are well balanced and although there are only eight maps the amount of diversity within each map is staggering - they tend to start very vehicle oriented and then slowly move to close quarters infantry battles or vise versa. they also change dynamically as players take advantage of their amazing destruction abilities. Personally I think this is better than COD4 because COD had extremely repetitive multiplayer and single player (I'm sure I'll be ridiculed for saying that). Anyway this game is well worth getting but only if you have online, because the single player is less than a third of the package in my opinion. See you on the battlefield hopefully. Expand
  29. TommyN
    Jun 30, 2008
    9
    Good, solid fps. Addicting online play.
  30. WaldoP.
    Jul 2, 2008
    9
    Good god this game is fun. Had a stressfull busy day? Get yourself home and play Battlefield Bad Company online - it's so much fun just blowing everything up in the huge levels. Whilst not as technically accurate as COD4, the descructability adds a lot of new tactics to this genre - breaching defenses by blowing holes in building walls to get the target, running tanks through fences Good god this game is fun. Had a stressfull busy day? Get yourself home and play Battlefield Bad Company online - it's so much fun just blowing everything up in the huge levels. Whilst not as technically accurate as COD4, the descructability adds a lot of new tactics to this genre - breaching defenses by blowing holes in building walls to get the target, running tanks through fences etc. It's just so much fun that you'll find it hard to quit. This game fixes all the annoyances of the first Battlefield2 (tanks stuck on barrels anyone?) and continues much further to provide the basis of hours and hours of hard-fought multiplayer matches won through sheer attrition. Expand
  31. AndyA.
    Jul 4, 2008
    9
    this is a great game, and it hasn't disappointed like Kane & Lynch did, solo is good fun with a better story than most recent releases, going into summer this is essential, theres nothing coming out until Sep/Nov!!!!!! Criticism is rife, but the amount of online games/players tells the real story, I'm a new player to LIVE and the friends list i have from playing Vegas2 are all this is a great game, and it hasn't disappointed like Kane & Lynch did, solo is good fun with a better story than most recent releases, going into summer this is essential, theres nothing coming out until Sep/Nov!!!!!! Criticism is rife, but the amount of online games/players tells the real story, I'm a new player to LIVE and the friends list i have from playing Vegas2 are all playing and enjoying this, even now theres new content for it !!!!! Dogtags & the 10002 kills achievement will keep people busy for a long, long time. Expand
  32. KevinR
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    This game is very good. I prefer it over Call of Duty 4 mainly because of the destruction and the gameplay is overall fun. The storyline is pretty good but there are a few things missing from it. The multiplayer mode: Gold Rush is very intense whether you are the Attackers or the Defenders. The multiplayer mode: Conquest is a classic in the Battlefield series. It brings some variety to This game is very good. I prefer it over Call of Duty 4 mainly because of the destruction and the gameplay is overall fun. The storyline is pretty good but there are a few things missing from it. The multiplayer mode: Gold Rush is very intense whether you are the Attackers or the Defenders. The multiplayer mode: Conquest is a classic in the Battlefield series. It brings some variety to Bad Company but it does need more maps. Overall, it's very fun to play and it's even more fun to play with friends. Expand
  33. JohnnyG
    Mar 22, 2009
    10
    People whining about realism obviously haven't played a Battlefield game before. And what's the deal with you realism freaks anyway, REALISM PLAYS WORSE gameplay wise. Proning would not contribute anything extra to this game as it would only benefit the campers/snipers. This game plays like a dream online, I'd say it's a lot better than COD4s constant grenade spamming. People whining about realism obviously haven't played a Battlefield game before. And what's the deal with you realism freaks anyway, REALISM PLAYS WORSE gameplay wise. Proning would not contribute anything extra to this game as it would only benefit the campers/snipers. This game plays like a dream online, I'd say it's a lot better than COD4s constant grenade spamming. COD4 is for people who like to shoot people in the back, as you're constantly spawned behind the enemy. BF:BC is for people who enjoy good gameplay and team tactics. Expand
  34. RolandS.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome. From the destructible environments to the graphics and sound - everything is just top notch. The MP is great, though I'd want to see Conquest-mode in there in addition to the awesome fun of Gold Rush. Great game!
  35. MischaB.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    Great game! very cinematic in gameplay. Extremely intense in battle sequences.
  36. BfbccRAzythebestever
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Probably the best fps out there right now. Call of duty 4 comes in a close 2nd with it tho with halo right behind it.
  37. JonasH.
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    Steven L is wrong. The game is fantastic!!! Single player is fun and multiplayer is fast and furious!
  38. SenioerS.
    Jun 30, 2008
    9
    In response to Steven L, you really think developers are posting positive reviews in the user section to boost their score? really? maybe they have similar grammar because people who like this game aren't retarded. An example being you.
  39. ??
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    First of all, this is a brilliant game. The audio is amazing, the special effects are ace, the destruction is breath-taking, the campaign is loads of fun and multiplayer mode is a blast. Sadly, anybody can rate games on Metacritic. Even half-witts. 1) this game is not CoD4. 2) This game is not an expansion of CoD4. 3) This also isnt an exact port of BF 2. So please use your head and First of all, this is a brilliant game. The audio is amazing, the special effects are ace, the destruction is breath-taking, the campaign is loads of fun and multiplayer mode is a blast. Sadly, anybody can rate games on Metacritic. Even half-witts. 1) this game is not CoD4. 2) This game is not an expansion of CoD4. 3) This also isnt an exact port of BF 2. So please use your head and realize that giving this game a lower score because it is not like CoD4 is non-sense. Hell CoD4 wasnt even the best in the series. I bet some of you idiots didnt even play or hear about the other Call of Duty games before CoD4. In all honesty, CoD4 is a peice of over-hyped shit. It is actually a pretty awsome game. But it's not the best game ever made. Shunning other games because they arent as good as CoD4 is simply stupid. How is this game a rip-off of Call of Duty Steven? Are you that dumb that you dont realize that Call of Duty wasnt the first FPS game ever made? What about you Nick? You only die because you are a noob. How could you even be complaining about cover being blown up? That's one of this game's selling points! Expand
  40. DougJ.
    Jul 29, 2008
    9
    This game is great. The single player is funny (albeit easy) and the destructible environments in the game will change the way you play against other people!
  41. KevinF.
    Jul 3, 2008
    7
    An uncommonly addictive fusion of COD4 and Battlefield: MC. Two VERY important things are missing however (beyond the usual rants). First, there is no belly crawl, just a crouch. This is unforgivable--please let me be wrong on this one. Also, they failed to include conquest mode. They say it will be available as an update sometime "after the launch". This is incredibly stupid of EA, and An uncommonly addictive fusion of COD4 and Battlefield: MC. Two VERY important things are missing however (beyond the usual rants). First, there is no belly crawl, just a crouch. This is unforgivable--please let me be wrong on this one. Also, they failed to include conquest mode. They say it will be available as an update sometime "after the launch". This is incredibly stupid of EA, and if they charge for the update, incredibly greedy, as well. Expand
  42. DanN.
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    What can I say about this game other than it is one of the best all around FPS experiences I have played in a long time. The single player is fun and funny. However the multiplayer is where the game truly shines. Though there is only one type of game mode at this point (they are working on more) the simplicity of the mode allows for so many option. With Jeeps, Armored vehicles, boats, What can I say about this game other than it is one of the best all around FPS experiences I have played in a long time. The single player is fun and funny. However the multiplayer is where the game truly shines. Though there is only one type of game mode at this point (they are working on more) the simplicity of the mode allows for so many option. With Jeeps, Armored vehicles, boats, tanks, helicopters, destructible environments, unlockable weapons and items, Laser guided missiles, air strikes, and mortar fire, you never really have the same experience. The game truly brings out the feel of the battle and mass chaos can and generally always does ensue. With five different classes and more weapons to come in the future, with its one game mode, Battlefield Bad Company is truly a great experience. Expand
  43. ApocalypseBrown
    Jul 7, 2008
    8
    I will start this by saying in my opinion this is better than COD4! But Battlefield BC should be a lot better than it currently is. Everyone buys Battlefield due to the multi player, but this time the single player is a blast too. It reminds me a lot of Black, but it similarity ends at big weapons and explosive barrels. While Black was hugely intense and had great A.I./set pieces/aiming, I will start this by saying in my opinion this is better than COD4! But Battlefield BC should be a lot better than it currently is. Everyone buys Battlefield due to the multi player, but this time the single player is a blast too. It reminds me a lot of Black, but it similarity ends at big weapons and explosive barrels. While Black was hugely intense and had great A.I./set pieces/aiming, BC single player has only the set pieces. For the wealth of impressive weaponry, the aiming is terrible! You can dump twenty rounds into a enemy face, and only four shots will connect. Rubbish! Also the A.I. are totally stupid. Enemy bad guys will look at you when your face to face, and do nothing. Yet when your hiding they seem to have x-ray vision and shoot. Rubbish! But there is a lot of fun regardless, with the huge weapons and being able to total buildings in one shot. But the centre piece is the multi player, and man it rocks! But again rubbish aiming, rejoining into hot spots and dying straight away, and no conquest mode suck! But there is too many reason to put this down, BC is great fun! Expand
  44. S.A.CITIZENU
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    Um........ I like the um........ Game.... it is fun and also HELLO IM AMERICAN!
  45. JackF.
    Jul 9, 2008
    9
    I have always hated the BF series ever since Modern Combat. Vehicles dominated multiplayer and the single player was nothing short of embarrassing. However, Bad Company has fixed these issues by creating a clever and interesting single player that's actually worth playing, and vehicles are nowhere near as strong as they were in Modern Combat, which creates an enjoyable multiplayer I have always hated the BF series ever since Modern Combat. Vehicles dominated multiplayer and the single player was nothing short of embarrassing. However, Bad Company has fixed these issues by creating a clever and interesting single player that's actually worth playing, and vehicles are nowhere near as strong as they were in Modern Combat, which creates an enjoyable multiplayer that will keep you playing for its ranking system. The only minor issues are the AI having X-Ray vision and the targetting. It's always frustrating sneaking up on an enemy only for him to turn around and gun you down instantly, and the aiming will sometimes leave you thinking "I swear I shot that guy..." Apart from that, BF is a truly enjoyable experience and definately worth buying. Expand
  46. JustinJ.
    Aug 7, 2008
    8
    I love this game! I've been a huge battlefield fan for quite some time. I have ONE MAJOR ISSUE....I've got to be able to communicate w/ the rest of my team somehow. I love the squad function and I think it should be where you can chat freely amongst your squad but press a button on the d-pad to talk to the rest of your teammates. Too often I feel like its 1 vs. 12 unless I have I love this game! I've been a huge battlefield fan for quite some time. I have ONE MAJOR ISSUE....I've got to be able to communicate w/ the rest of my team somehow. I love the squad function and I think it should be where you can chat freely amongst your squad but press a button on the d-pad to talk to the rest of your teammates. Too often I feel like its 1 vs. 12 unless I have friends on then it feels like its 4 vs. 12. NOT GOOD! With conquest out now you can't get certain squads to guard certain flags but nooo, w/o communication it's terrible. This game could be s0o0o much better and probably my favorite game but w/o Full Team Chat, BF:MC was more fun to play. Just add a function on the d-pad where I can communicate w/ the rest of my team....PLEASE!!!! Expand
  47. ac
    Sep 4, 2008
    7
    The art and physics are immaculate; however the run cycle seemed very strange and so did the speed. I wished I could use more of the weapons or perhaps a greater population spread or a meta game where I can call in for supplies with weapons I'd like versus the gold I've found? For example there were several weapons early on that I really enjoyed but never saw them again. Also The art and physics are immaculate; however the run cycle seemed very strange and so did the speed. I wished I could use more of the weapons or perhaps a greater population spread or a meta game where I can call in for supplies with weapons I'd like versus the gold I've found? For example there were several weapons early on that I really enjoyed but never saw them again. Also the movies were sometimes jarring. I wouldn't give it a 10 thru 8 because it feels like another vector of the game is missing. Right now it just an open level game with vehicles. Sometimes the game heuristics are inconsistent as well, like not being able to use artillery again; why did someone take the time to create that and not allow theplayer to use it again? There are alot of examples like this; all in all, a 7. Expand
  48. BenjaminW
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    Having played both Call of Duty and Bad Company I only wish they could bring the best of both together. The destructability of battlefield's landscapes and buildings with the unlocks available on COD. For me Bad Company wins hands down though, rather than just a death match, it has more strategy, much greater scope of vechles and better sqad play than COD. My favourite game ever!
  49. Sasha
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Great game that shouldn't be missed. first time i rented it i thought it sucked, but when i played it at my friends house later, i gave it another try and loved it. CoD 4 got boring and WaW sucked @$$ cheese so i played this all the F**king time! yay! buy it
  50. MikeM.
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    I'm rating this game only on the single player aspect, as I don't play console first person shooters online due to the lack of decent control options compared to PC. Therefore my score doesn't take into account all the bugs that have apparently gone unfixed since release, which I agree is inexcusable. I bought COD4 about a week before Bad Company. Even though I was really I'm rating this game only on the single player aspect, as I don't play console first person shooters online due to the lack of decent control options compared to PC. Therefore my score doesn't take into account all the bugs that have apparently gone unfixed since release, which I agree is inexcusable. I bought COD4 about a week before Bad Company. Even though I was really enjoying COD 4, as soon as I started Bad Company, I didn't pick COD4 back up until finishing it. Solid voice acting and amusing characters in your squad, a simple but adequate story, enormous maps, all the drivable vehicles, almost everything can be destroyed or damaged structurally, even roads and ground get cratered...very impressive. Not up to par with other single player masterpieces like Bioshock or HL2 (or Deus Ex & System Shock 2 from way back), but not bad at all coming from a developer who has made a name for itself creating online-only games. Definitely worth the 20 bucks I spent for the single player experience. I'm looking forward to the sequel...I just hope it lasts longer, and that length won't just be due to backtracking or some other padding. Some urban environments, as already mentioned, would be a good idea also. Expand
  51. StevenH.
    Jun 17, 2008
    6
    The game was not up to my expectations, yes the graphics were good but explosions didn't feel big enough and the aiming system wasn't as good as Call Of Duty 4 which I am used to.
  52. ImajinS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game! The multiplayer is by far the best I have played on X360 bar none. Definitely a must have.
  53. LanceM.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Demo is great! Vehicles Are solid fun, as are the different classes.
  54. MattS.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Not only are the physics and destruction perfect, but the graphics are amazing. The classes add extreme depth to the game.
  55. Geofft
    Jun 2, 2008
    9
    Based off of the demo it is extremely similar to Battlefield 2 with some differences. No airplanes, an altered leveling system, and now the new destructible environment. Overall all the only thing I am missing from BF2 is the airplanes. The destructive environment adds a beautiful variation to the gameplay and really can create an intense battle. Another wonderful aspect to it are the Based off of the demo it is extremely similar to Battlefield 2 with some differences. No airplanes, an altered leveling system, and now the new destructible environment. Overall all the only thing I am missing from BF2 is the airplanes. The destructive environment adds a beautiful variation to the gameplay and really can create an intense battle. Another wonderful aspect to it are the "battle noises." Crank your stereo up and bask in it, it sounds simply amazing. One thing that I feel is bad that this game follows along with BF2, tank whores. That however cant be completely helped. Expand
  56. ConnorB.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    It seems lacking at first, but as you play you slowly realize the huge amounts of strategic depth this game offers. The multiplayer, while I've only played the demo, is incredibly deep. The level(s) is MASSIVE, and play more like a series of levels than single levels, since they're broken into objectives. I'm a battlefield vet, one of the few out there that is focused on It seems lacking at first, but as you play you slowly realize the huge amounts of strategic depth this game offers. The multiplayer, while I've only played the demo, is incredibly deep. The level(s) is MASSIVE, and play more like a series of levels than single levels, since they're broken into objectives. I'm a battlefield vet, one of the few out there that is focused on the fun and the teamplay instead of the "realism." although this may not match the realism offered by other battlefield titles, it completely trumps previous titles in terms of fun. Expand
  57. WilliamL.
    Jun 23, 2008
    5
    Engine still need more polish, the gameplay sucks too much.
  58. AlexM
    Jun 24, 2008
    9
    This game is most certainly one of the best games out on the Xbox 360 right now. I am familiar with the battlefield experience, as an owner of bf2 this game is something fresh for me and I liked it right from the start. The graphics are outstanding, the gameplay is so fun, map sizes are relatively huge, there is so much depth in the multiplayer it will keep you coming back for more. I This game is most certainly one of the best games out on the Xbox 360 right now. I am familiar with the battlefield experience, as an owner of bf2 this game is something fresh for me and I liked it right from the start. The graphics are outstanding, the gameplay is so fun, map sizes are relatively huge, there is so much depth in the multiplayer it will keep you coming back for more. I also own COD4 and I did eventually get bored of playing that, but now I have something new to focus my gaming pleasure on and I would have to say I rate this over COD4. Reasons why I gave this game a 9 and not a 10 is a few minor drawbacks but nothing to lose sleep over: you cannot parachute, you cannot prone and you cannot completely destroy buildings down to its first brick. All in all I recommend this game to anyone and everyone even if your not a fps fan it is still a good game to pick up on and it may even influence you to enjoy fps! Expand
  59. ChadJ
    Jun 25, 2008
    6
    A quick change to the Halo control scheme makes the vehicular combat fun and frantic. The on-foot action is hampered by unsatisfying shooting mechanics and glitchy bullet hit detection. The game's sense of scale, audio choices, and inconsistent destructibility sometimes will have you scratching your head, but the chaos of multiplayer can be a blast when you look past these blemishes.
  60. TomL
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Welcome back, Battlefield.
  61. ReyM.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    The game is very immersive and feels very organic as far as environment. One of the things that bothered me about COD4 is that in the background you hear mock bombs going off in the BAD COMPANY when it is quiet it is because no one is blasting now when there are explosions it is because some is blowing something up, not just a recording that plays in the background that tries to immerse The game is very immersive and feels very organic as far as environment. One of the things that bothered me about COD4 is that in the background you hear mock bombs going off in the BAD COMPANY when it is quiet it is because no one is blasting now when there are explosions it is because some is blowing something up, not just a recording that plays in the background that tries to immerse you. Now COD4 is my favorite game it is like my CounterStrike for the 360, while the the Bad Company is my BF2 for th e360. I think Bad Company has a lot more to offer in the long run. COD4 just gets too repetitive Expand
  62. BrianS.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    I've played Call of Duty , Everything Call of Duty is missing battlefield makes up for. I just can't stop blowing things up!! Buy this and you will throw out your COD and GTA.
  63. AnttiA.
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    Great game. Single player is surprisingly good. The only bad part is the respawning system, which sometimes respawns you quite far from action. Enemies that have been shot once stay dead, even if you die. This makes the game a bit easier, and not so much frustrating as some parts in Cod4. The multiplayer is where the game really shines. Eight great maps, lots of guns, lots of vehicles, Great game. Single player is surprisingly good. The only bad part is the respawning system, which sometimes respawns you quite far from action. Enemies that have been shot once stay dead, even if you die. This makes the game a bit easier, and not so much frustrating as some parts in Cod4. The multiplayer is where the game really shines. Eight great maps, lots of guns, lots of vehicles, lots of things blowing up. The destruction is really unique and changes how you play the FPS genre. I wish there will be DLC pack of new maps, it´s definitely something I will buy right away.. Expand
  64. GordonC
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    Battlefield Bad company is a true masterpiece, online is addicting and the single player surprises and comes out as a good road movie esque adventure. The amount of polish put in by the devs is truly outstanding. StevenL; Alright so you like call of Duty 4 and it hurts your feelings to see another game get recognition for it´s qualities. Get over it.
  65. EvanH.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    To be honest, this has to be one of the best shooters I've ever played, and up there with the Halo games and Half-Life 2. The only thing that I could have wished for is maybe some weapon customization in the multiplayer like in CoD4. Otherwise, this game blows CoD4 into the water and then back out. Come on, the only innovative thing that CoD4 did was let you shoot through walls, and To be honest, this has to be one of the best shooters I've ever played, and up there with the Halo games and Half-Life 2. The only thing that I could have wished for is maybe some weapon customization in the multiplayer like in CoD4. Otherwise, this game blows CoD4 into the water and then back out. Come on, the only innovative thing that CoD4 did was let you shoot through walls, and not let you blow a hole in them. Also, the single player has a good story that's extremely funny with an awesome ending. Also, by the way... Did I mention that the single-player was pretty much nonlinear? Expand
  66. GregoryW.
    Jun 29, 2008
    3
    Game was fun and unique, my low scoring is based on the controls. My issue is the fact there are NO options when it comes to controls. My friend a leftie, and I would at least appreciate the option of swapping l/r joysticks. I'm sorry, I really can't support that fac.
  67. PaulS
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Excellent game (well multiplayer anyway - this is so addictive I have not even tried the single player yet). Lag can be a bit of a problem down here in NZ - but also the case with COD4. Steve L - come on - get a life. Do you really believe that crap you're spouting???
  68. AdamW
    Jul 11, 2008
    8
    I believe this game deserves an 8. Single player is great fun. Usually I find most other games single player boring. Campaign deserves a 9. Multiplayer however is different. It is amazing! I find it so much fun I played it so much I got to 25 in a week and still playing! The downside though is big. EA servers are constantly failing and is no fun at all. Ive lost all my guns several times I believe this game deserves an 8. Single player is great fun. Usually I find most other games single player boring. Campaign deserves a 9. Multiplayer however is different. It is amazing! I find it so much fun I played it so much I got to 25 in a week and still playing! The downside though is big. EA servers are constantly failing and is no fun at all. Ive lost all my guns several times including my Gold Edition weapons. However it usually doesn't that last long so I miss out on about 1 hours playing. Multiplayer deserves a 7. Without the problems it would be a 10. I hope they fix this soon, for mine and everybody elses sakes. Expand
  69. FrankK.
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    This game is just plain fun. The personalities of your squadmates in single player mode were well thought out. It's like your play part of the cool story line. I like the overall feel of this game compared to any in the COD series. Multiplayer is great as well. On any given map, anything and everything can be destroyed. Very therapeutic!
  70. JohnB.
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    Only two problems mar an otherwise explosive online experience, the inability to go prone and the fact that it takes in some cases an entire clip to drop someone. Admittedly though it could be just the gun walking up on me from full auto fire. Burst fire is more accurate to be sure, but don't expect the instant kills you've come to know in COD4. Those gripes aside, this game Only two problems mar an otherwise explosive online experience, the inability to go prone and the fact that it takes in some cases an entire clip to drop someone. Admittedly though it could be just the gun walking up on me from full auto fire. Burst fire is more accurate to be sure, but don't expect the instant kills you've come to know in COD4. Those gripes aside, this game plays the way I always wanted COD4 to play, that is everything can be blown to bits. If the enemy takes cover in a building, blow the Sh@^ out of it. Need armor, artillery, or air support? Got it here. The symphony of destruction happening online should be music to any gamer's ears. The graphics are as good or better than COD4 and the audio blows you away. There are no looped sound effects in the game, all the gunfire and explosions you hear are from players firing at that moment. It's as close to a living battlefield you can come at this moment. Buy it, it's digital crack! Expand
  71. TysonP
    Jul 21, 2008
    2
    This game's realism was a 5.3/10, the graphics was a 9.0, but the gameplay sucked, like how you have to empty a whole clip on an enemy to kill them. The part of the game that sucked the most, is that when playing online if you always get spawn killed by artillery.
  72. AppleBees
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    This is probably 15 times better than CoD4.
  73. KingGeorge
    Jul 7, 2008
    8
    Tis alright. But I do dislike the fact that in this video game that you can just stick a needle in your arm and heal totally. In real warfare you get shot and it harms you terribly, until you get to the medic and get shot up with morphine and get patched up. However I do like the fact that when you throw an incendiary device at a building the wall falls down. Completely realistic!
  74. AaronFields
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    I think its a good game and very realistic. I just want to say apocalypse brown that accuracy is actually how it is in real life.
  75. PizzatheHutt
    Jul 9, 2008
    3
    Rent before buying. This game is a disapointment to me considering how much I enjoyed BF:MC. The positives are: Sound (some of the best), graphics (sub par compaired to other games but overall nicely done), and battlefield destruction. The negatives are: Speed (feels like you are moving thru molassass), Halo like jumps (just doesn't fit), no prone (wha? are you kidding?), live speech Rent before buying. This game is a disapointment to me considering how much I enjoyed BF:MC. The positives are: Sound (some of the best), graphics (sub par compaired to other games but overall nicely done), and battlefield destruction. The negatives are: Speed (feels like you are moving thru molassass), Halo like jumps (just doesn't fit), no prone (wha? are you kidding?), live speech (you can only talk to 4 people, this is unforgivable). I'm glad I rented as I was about to buy it based off of the 1st game but I got lucky and found a copy to rent at BB and it saved me $60. I recommend you do the same. Expand
  76. MichaelC.
    Jul 9, 2008
    1
    Couldn't fix the spawn camping? C'mon guys, learn from your mistakes. COD4 is still the king of FPS for now.
  77. Johnnyy
    Sep 7, 2008
    8
    AWESOME GAME. ill admit, it could be improved, like how enemies are damn near impossible to kill. but this game is amazing. if you dont have time to run around a building to get to a door, blow a hole in the wall. same with multiplayer. i've killed many men through grenade launcher to wall shots, blowing everyone inside up. call in airstrikes, blow buildings up, its awesome
  78. AndyF
    Sep 8, 2008
    7
    I can only judge this game on the merits of the single-player, as I don't really play online games all that much. BF:BC is very nearly a great game, but I can't help but think that a few niggles let it down from being a classic. It is by no means terrible, but having completed the storyline mode quite a few irritations stick in my mind. The main one is the combat - the enemy in I can only judge this game on the merits of the single-player, as I don't really play online games all that much. BF:BC is very nearly a great game, but I can't help but think that a few niggles let it down from being a classic. It is by no means terrible, but having completed the storyline mode quite a few irritations stick in my mind. The main one is the combat - the enemy in this are either super-accurate or plain random, sometimes legging it out of cover for no good reason. They are also bloody tough, with some taking (and I'm not exaggerating) literally 10's of rounds before they fall down. If given the time to aim carefully and get in a headshot, they will fall down after a few shots, but in the urban scenarios, where you only have time to let off a quick spray, this feels a little shallow. The other main gripe is the way the respawn system works. If you die, you reppaear at your last save-point and continue the battle as if nothing happened; this helps keep the tempo of the firefight up without the frustration of having to 'redo' the whole section again. However, it takes any pressure off you to be careful, as if you do die, you simply come back again & again until the area is clear of enemies. Other minor gripes are the sensitivity of the aiming (this is admittedly a subjective complaint), the rather forced cross-country dashes you sometimes have to make in a vehicle and the sometimes unresponive controls. After all that negativity, the game does have some major pluses. The sound is absolutely fantastic, and it was the quality of the demo alone that persuded me to purchase the full game. The firefights are very immersive, and feel a little more personal than the enormous COD4 set-pieces. Also, the team AI is very good, with the three supporting characters yelling out enemy positions and yells of support right in the thick of the action. Overall, I feel that BF:BC is a solid game, but the developers are probably waiting to pull out the stops for an inevitable sequel. Expand
  79. DustinR
    Apr 7, 2009
    6
    The single player campaign was great. Multi-player is full of glitches/bugs that have yet to be addressed. These bugs can be of great annoyance to the honest gamer. The players that use these glitches to downright murder the opposing team ruin the multiplayer aspect.
  80. Mack
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Bad Company has to be one of the best multiplayer experiences possible. The multiplayer has persistent stats and rankings that will keep you playing. Although, once you reach level 25, there's not much more incentive, besides your skill level. But every other time you level up, you earn 1 credit used to unlock new weapons/equipment. For each class there are 2 weapons to unlock, 1 Bad Company has to be one of the best multiplayer experiences possible. The multiplayer has persistent stats and rankings that will keep you playing. Although, once you reach level 25, there's not much more incentive, besides your skill level. But every other time you level up, you earn 1 credit used to unlock new weapons/equipment. For each class there are 2 weapons to unlock, 1 equipment (such as a tracer gun, etc.), 1 special weapon per class (for doing different things like subscribing to the newsletter or registering another BF game), and 1 extra weapon per class that you unlock for reaching level 25. Oh, and did I mention you can blow S*** up? Enemy hiding behind a wall? No problem, blow that wall open and mow 'em down. Multiplayer: 10 There's not much to say about singleplayer but here goes. This is the first time that a BF game has actually had a good singleplayer(no more bot matches). And I have to say they did quite good. The story is interesting, there's funny dialogue(if sometimes annoying), and destructable enviroments. Singleplayer: 9.5. Expand
  81. DomA
    Jan 24, 2010
    8
    Overall a good game but some massive flaws with it. The campaign is funny but repetetive often involving get in tank drive through enemy position mowing them down or avoiding them entirely by driving around them due to massive campain levels when compared to call of duty with it's stickin you right by the action and providing a challenge on The highest difficulties in comparison bad Overall a good game but some massive flaws with it. The campaign is funny but repetetive often involving get in tank drive through enemy position mowing them down or avoiding them entirely by driving around them due to massive campain levels when compared to call of duty with it's stickin you right by the action and providing a challenge on The highest difficulties in comparison bad companys campaign seemed more of a after thought. Multiplayer adds a whole new scope to the game. Being a noob to the battlefield franchise and a bit of a fanboy for cod at the time I was highly critical of what my mates told me about it however after playing it for a while I feel it adds what cod can't and without the anoying 6 year olds spamming you for using a sniper or a " burst gun " but still is flawed including scope glitches and under powered weapons when compared to others. A 8 coming from a massive cod fanboy is probably a shock to me and I have recently taken to playing this over the new mw2 release despite the stunning looks of the new game. Mw2 provides me no insentive to play skillfully and I often now rely on a 1 one shot snipe whilst playin whereas on bad company I must aim my shots and almost always aqiure headshots sure some nice camo for my effort wouldn't go a miss but at least the bad company glitche abuse isn't in every game I play or as well known as cod glitches . As a afterthought compare the amount of hits for bad company glitches In google to the last 3 cod games and it is enough to leave any cod fanboy speacheless. Expand
  82. Kyle
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I still play this games multiplayer to this day. It's a great game just like the battlfield series. Online multiplayer is so fun when you have four friends defending the objective tactical style. And the sound is just fanatic. Destruction is also great too. Instead of going through doors, just say "fuck it" and blow a hole in the wall! :)
  83. SpencerN.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Amazing, Hard to realize what's going on at first, but once you do are immediately sucked in. The Campaign provides some good laughs for some very serious missions. Top Notch game.
  84. RichardL.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Played the demo today, it is incredible that you can drive vehicles such as tanks, humvees and boats as well as choosing from 5 classes or soldier. on the demo you are restricted to only a few weapons but these are still good enough to show off the effort put into Bad Company. I found the realism most important, in other games you could stand behind a wall as tanks fired shell after shell Played the demo today, it is incredible that you can drive vehicles such as tanks, humvees and boats as well as choosing from 5 classes or soldier. on the demo you are restricted to only a few weapons but these are still good enough to show off the effort put into Bad Company. I found the realism most important, in other games you could stand behind a wall as tanks fired shell after shell into it and not be harmed. in this game however, if you are fired at when behind a wall, the wall will be destroyed along with you! Certainly one of best games for Xbox 360 so far. Buy! Expand
  85. BarryB
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    This game takes everything currently available in a FPS and pushes it further. This is most evident in the sound effects and the impressively destructible environments. The controls are solid and responsive, the graphics are outstanding, the audio/sfx are especially noteworthy, and the replay value is immense. The demo's available for free download over Xbox Live and includes 1 This game takes everything currently available in a FPS and pushes it further. This is most evident in the sound effects and the impressively destructible environments. The controls are solid and responsive, the graphics are outstanding, the audio/sfx are especially noteworthy, and the replay value is immense. The demo's available for free download over Xbox Live and includes 1 mission and 1 multiplayer map. This game is very highly recommended. Expand
  86. JesusChrist
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Anyone who gives this lower than an 8 just doesn't know how to play fps and therefore should suck a dick
  87. ThomasW
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    A very solid game, anyone that says they have problems with the controls just hasn't spend enough time to become good with them. The head bob you soon get over, especially when things are blowing up all around you. Some may say that the buildings blow up in the same places, they do...but at least this is one of the very few games that has tried it...and it is a blast. The single A very solid game, anyone that says they have problems with the controls just hasn't spend enough time to become good with them. The head bob you soon get over, especially when things are blowing up all around you. Some may say that the buildings blow up in the same places, they do...but at least this is one of the very few games that has tried it...and it is a blast. The single player is is funny at times and quite enjoyable, but the true gem is the online play. Your really missing part of the game if you don't try that out. Expand
  88. jeffk
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    I just picked this up today, and I am really enjoying it. Its a great addition to the battlefield series, and fans of the franchise should be MORE then pleased. (not to mention the huge letdown that was BF: modern warefare). Despite the game being launched with only one multiplayer mode (there will be more added for free later, as spoken by the devs) It is a very well produced style, and I just picked this up today, and I am really enjoying it. Its a great addition to the battlefield series, and fans of the franchise should be MORE then pleased. (not to mention the huge letdown that was BF: modern warefare). Despite the game being launched with only one multiplayer mode (there will be more added for free later, as spoken by the devs) It is a very well produced style, and a welcome addition to any gamers collection. Dice also did a great job of making an enjoyable console shooter, and any FPS fan should pick this up, or if all else at least give it a rent. Expand
  89. StevenL.
    Jun 27, 2008
    1
    How in the world do games like this keep getting made? Doesn't anyone playtest them first, outside of the designers that is? Dialogue is horrible, the field of view seems smashed and flat, and the player's movement is not very realistic. This is no better than the previous Battlefields, although they did do their best to rip off Call of Duty. I also find it amusing that the How in the world do games like this keep getting made? Doesn't anyone playtest them first, outside of the designers that is? Dialogue is horrible, the field of view seems smashed and flat, and the player's movement is not very realistic. This is no better than the previous Battlefields, although they did do their best to rip off Call of Duty. I also find it amusing that the design team and associates are posting good reviews under various aliases here. Just read the highest-rated comments, and notice the similarities in grammar and writing style. Nice try boys. Expand
  90. AaronS
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    Not sure how you can give the game a low review. Bad graphics? Maybe they aren't great compared to CoD 4, but CoD 4's graphics outshine every console game thus far. Dialogue is light and humorous, although the characters could be a little rougher around the edges. The destructible terrain, while not perfect, is immensely fun. One of the most fun multiplayer FPSes so far, let Not sure how you can give the game a low review. Bad graphics? Maybe they aren't great compared to CoD 4, but CoD 4's graphics outshine every console game thus far. Dialogue is light and humorous, although the characters could be a little rougher around the edges. The destructible terrain, while not perfect, is immensely fun. One of the most fun multiplayer FPSes so far, let down only by the lack of multiplayer modes. Expand
  91. JosephM.
    Jun 28, 2008
    1
    I think this game deserves a 1 for trying. There are so many things wrong here. Lets start with the simple vehicle control. Why reinvent the wheel? Why not use the standard scheme that is used everywhere. I don't even want to talk about game play but here it is. You are the squad, your mates do nothing to keep the action rolling. You are the new guy but you do everything, they I think this game deserves a 1 for trying. There are so many things wrong here. Lets start with the simple vehicle control. Why reinvent the wheel? Why not use the standard scheme that is used everywhere. I don't even want to talk about game play but here it is. You are the squad, your mates do nothing to keep the action rolling. You are the new guy but you do everything, they don't so much as give you direction. Poor game but I expect that from this cookie cutter publisher. How much did they pay to get good reviews for this garbage? Expand
  92. IanC
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    My favourite game of all time, that's having played video games for over 20 years now. Battlefield was always special for me, old school gaming with a modern face, guns and vehicles, what could be better? Great offline, unbeatable offline (even CoD4 doesn't match the FUN of this), I may never need to buy a game ever again. DICE, I love you.
  93. AaronB
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    10 for an EA game, from me. I've blasted them in the past but quite frankly they hit the sweet spot with this title. DICE should be applauded for what they have achieved with this game. It looks incredible, plays beautifully, the single player is great, giving you a good grounding in all the classes and special weapon uses. Online is definately were its at though....and wait for 10 for an EA game, from me. I've blasted them in the past but quite frankly they hit the sweet spot with this title. DICE should be applauded for what they have achieved with this game. It looks incredible, plays beautifully, the single player is great, giving you a good grounding in all the classes and special weapon uses. Online is definately were its at though....and wait for it....wait for it...theres NO lag. Congrats EA - it would appear that after all these years of milking franchises till there is nothing left, ripping off the gaming community and generally producing shit quality games you have come to your senses. I'm sold again on EA after this. Army of Two still sucked though. Oh and to Kevin F. below, that was the EA of past- and 2 months ago I would have agreed with your comments. Conquest is available to download free, and its superb. They have even updated the maps and lighting/weather effects on 4 of them specifically for conquest mode..yes there is no prone but the game is well balanced without it- don't let that put you off thats for sure. EA has regained some respect from me and that really is a bloody surprise to me I can tell you. Pick this one up for sure. Expand
  94. Trevor
    Sep 26, 2008
    8
    Bad Company is more or less a successor to the past Battlefield games. Having been worked ground up with the Frost Bite engine meant that this was going to be some game and I was right. Aside of the promising multiplayer, Bad Company has itself a single player campaign centering on a group of ARMY soldiers after gold in russia. Not much of a story but it was more or less entertaining to Bad Company is more or less a successor to the past Battlefield games. Having been worked ground up with the Frost Bite engine meant that this was going to be some game and I was right. Aside of the promising multiplayer, Bad Company has itself a single player campaign centering on a group of ARMY soldiers after gold in russia. Not much of a story but it was more or less entertaining to play through. What was also a good factor was the level of destruction in the game. You can blow holes in walls and even level a building with an airstrike or a tank. The game added alot of layers of depth in terms of strategy when it came to that, especially in multiplayer. Usually I am not impressed with EA's lineup of games but this is one rare gem that deserves to be played but any FPS fan. Expand
  95. TravisL
    Sep 29, 2008
    3
    For a game that promised so much gameplay is truly aweful, I was in love with battlefield 2, until COD4 became my new passion and greatly looked forward to this release. Pretty graphics and explosions DON'T make up for shoddy unsatisfying, unrealistic gameplay. The game really has a 80's arcadey feeling to it with the silly rucksacks that pop up whenever you kill someone after For a game that promised so much gameplay is truly aweful, I was in love with battlefield 2, until COD4 became my new passion and greatly looked forward to this release. Pretty graphics and explosions DON'T make up for shoddy unsatisfying, unrealistic gameplay. The game really has a 80's arcadey feeling to it with the silly rucksacks that pop up whenever you kill someone after firing 30 bullets into him. The guns feel very unreal, with little to no recoil the little red dot thing that shows up signifying a "hit" is particularly unsatisfying when compared to COD4's gutsy thump as the bullet strikes home. No prone.. wtf.. ect. serious disappointment. It really is time EA went under, burn EA burn. Expand
  96. DavisS
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    This is easily one of my most favorite games ever. While the single player may have some AI issues with your squadmates, it still has a cool story and fun missions. Where this game really shines is its multiplayer, its simply addicting. With the addition of the conquest game mode on the xbox live marketplace as a free download, former battlefield fans like me can play this game just like This is easily one of my most favorite games ever. While the single player may have some AI issues with your squadmates, it still has a cool story and fun missions. Where this game really shines is its multiplayer, its simply addicting. With the addition of the conquest game mode on the xbox live marketplace as a free download, former battlefield fans like me can play this game just like the old battlefields. The new gold rush mode, while different, is still loads of fun. Its basically attack and defend, but your defending/attacking gold crates instead of something like a base. All in all id give the singleplayer probably a 9/10, but the multiplayer gives this game a 10. Id definitely recommend it to anyone who likes semi-realistic shooters. Expand
  97. PabloR
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    "More Criticism than it Actually Deserves" Everysingle bad reviewer looked at the game, and then looked at the most realistic game on the market, and compared it to that other game, they're comparing it as if it were supposed to be super realistic but the game was designed to be more fun than realistic, but maintain a bit of reality into it. Weapons are fun as hell to use, the "More Criticism than it Actually Deserves" Everysingle bad reviewer looked at the game, and then looked at the most realistic game on the market, and compared it to that other game, they're comparing it as if it were supposed to be super realistic but the game was designed to be more fun than realistic, but maintain a bit of reality into it. Weapons are fun as hell to use, the campaign could be made into a movie, and the graphics are awesome. The grainy textures were meant to be put into the game. When you look around and stuff it's too quick though, even though this can be changed, most games keep it at a more realistic level, but then again, as a soldier fighting this is how quick you might move your gun most of the times, but other than this it deserves a 9.5. Controls weren't too good, realism was average but the game wasn't designed or made to be perfect 10/10 realistic. Graphics were superb, and the campaign was also superb. But, one thing that probably confused a lot of people that it seemed more of a multiplayer match, you kill 30 people, die, then respawn and still those 30 people are gone. But, the game was designed to be difficult and plus in a map you probably face more enemies than you would in a simlilar game. Every aspect of this game was meant to be made in a certain way, the controls were the only problem. There are too many reviews where people are complaining as if they are reviewing a game and expecting it to be 100 percent realistic. Play the game, think, than rate. Since I can't give it a 9.5, I'm gonna give it a 10/10. Expand
  98. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    worlds greatest game even better than the ps3 version if i could rate it higher i so would
  99. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    I'm reviewing this for the single player only.

    Good fun but just too easy. When killed you respawn with the enemies you killed staying dead. This means there is no penalty for dying and takes all tension and excitement from the game. This is a real shame because otherwise it's a solid experience. The destructible environment works well and the combat can be great fun destroying a
    I'm reviewing this for the single player only.

    Good fun but just too easy. When killed you respawn with the enemies you killed staying dead. This means there is no penalty for dying and takes all tension and excitement from the game.

    This is a real shame because otherwise it's a solid experience. The destructible environment works well and the combat can be great fun destroying a building to remove a snipers position can feel great. The weapons animation and sound is solid.

    The story line is interesting and I like the light-hearted feel of it, different to most military shooters around at the minute.

    I would recommend it for picking up and having a few minute of light hearted fun, but certainly not for a tense shootout.
    Expand
  100. Jul 13, 2015
    9
    Great game in my opinion. You can blow things up, there are large open maps, and you can have an infinite amount of health injections. Great game, I'd recommend it to everyone.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 70
    While not a complete success, Battlefield: Bad Company has many plus points, and provides a limited but fun single-player campaign that, while not wholly original, does have some memorable moments.
  2. The extreme polish evident in the final product makes it all worthwhile. Both single- and multiplayer shine - at long last redeeming DICE for the crappy bot-fests offline players had to endure in previous games in the series. [July 2008, p.82]
  3. It may lack the finesse in the single-player that some similar titles have, but it does a great job of making you feel the part as you roll into combat with guns blazing, your squad hooting and bellowing behind you. Add to this the multiplayer which is well rounded and realistic, yet big on the fun, and you have a great experience which could ultimately have you playing for months and months.