Bayonetta Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 555 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 555

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    Bayonetta stoops to the lowest common denominator. The character is empty and the plot even more shallow. A "Witch" who's only power is a hair suit that reveals **** and ass when she goes into beast mode. The game is a rip off of a far superior game in the genre "Devil May Cry". There is even an "Auto play" button for those too lazy to play. Who ever made this game needs to grow out theirBayonetta stoops to the lowest common denominator. The character is empty and the plot even more shallow. A "Witch" who's only power is a hair suit that reveals **** and ass when she goes into beast mode. The game is a rip off of a far superior game in the genre "Devil May Cry". There is even an "Auto play" button for those too lazy to play. Who ever made this game needs to grow out their hair and hang them selves with it. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2010
    3
    This game just assaulted my senses on every level. The movement was jerky and annoying, the storyline was non-existent as far as I'm concerned, but the graphics were above average. It takes way more than a pretty face to get me to play a game, though, and this game just didn't deliver. I actually wanted to vomit after playing it for more than 30 minutes. That's never happened to meThis game just assaulted my senses on every level. The movement was jerky and annoying, the storyline was non-existent as far as I'm concerned, but the graphics were above average. It takes way more than a pretty face to get me to play a game, though, and this game just didn't deliver. I actually wanted to vomit after playing it for more than 30 minutes. That's never happened to me before...well, not from a game anyway. Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    2
    This game has awesome ideas and feels like a step up compared to other Devil May Cry-clones. Too bad it's sexist, stupid and has the worst story I've ever experienced. I was absolutely disgusted with the cut-scenes and felt like taking a shower when I turned it off. Never to play it again.
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    Devastatingly frustrating with bad cameras and nearly impossible to defeat enemies that ruin any chance for this game to succeed to me. Only thing that stuck out to me were the nice use of some graphical capabilities.

    4 out of 10
  5. BGrant
    Jan 11, 2010
    2
    Japan really needs to stop doing the same thing over and over again. This game feels like I should have seen it in an arcade 10 years ago minue all the camel toe. I am so confused by the high ratings, is this a joke on me? If you are an 11 year old with no access to porn this is your game, otherwise stay away.
  6. JeffR
    Feb 24, 2010
    1
    Is it legal for a company to flod the market with Fake reviews? Just throwing you hands up and explaining that all the crap that makes the game so awful is done on purpose for camp value or this "over the top" thing I keep seeing people write doesn't make it better it makes it worse. What is the difference between over the top and just plan unoriginal crappy game making? Over the top Is it legal for a company to flod the market with Fake reviews? Just throwing you hands up and explaining that all the crap that makes the game so awful is done on purpose for camp value or this "over the top" thing I keep seeing people write doesn't make it better it makes it worse. What is the difference between over the top and just plan unoriginal crappy game making? Over the top as in extra sh***y? over the top like when a toilet gets cloggest and a football team keeps shitting in it and the crap flows over the top? maybe. Expand
  7. Flagello
    Mar 29, 2010
    0
    Good grief! Unmitigated garbage. How did this game get such a high score? It defies belief. The lack of R-thumbstick camera cntrl is the first sign of trouble. Cinematic sequences are poorly animated, overlong, too frequent, and incoherent (in the worst Japanese tradition), but provide some relief from the pointless button mashing. Mobs drop shiny little rings - feels a bit like Sonic the Good grief! Unmitigated garbage. How did this game get such a high score? It defies belief. The lack of R-thumbstick camera cntrl is the first sign of trouble. Cinematic sequences are poorly animated, overlong, too frequent, and incoherent (in the worst Japanese tradition), but provide some relief from the pointless button mashing. Mobs drop shiny little rings - feels a bit like Sonic the Hedgehog lol. The gaming community has progressed so far beyond stuff like this it's just not funny. So-called professional reviewers who praised this product should be shot, dismembered, and fed to pigs. I hope the free lunch with the girl from marketing with the cleavage who called you handsome was worth the loss of your credibility. An abomination that should be chained up in the cellar and fed dog food, never to see the light of day. Expand
  8. Feb 23, 2013
    0
    This game can be great but there are way too many annoying things, the camera angle is pure horrible, how can you make a game where you spent half your time fixing the camera angle so you can see the enermy? The boss are way too rediculous, it often feels like a lottery wether you win or not. the final boss was just stupid, with a one hit kill!! wtf is the point of that? the only wayt toThis game can be great but there are way too many annoying things, the camera angle is pure horrible, how can you make a game where you spent half your time fixing the camera angle so you can see the enermy? The boss are way too rediculous, it often feels like a lottery wether you win or not. the final boss was just stupid, with a one hit kill!! wtf is the point of that? the only wayt to escape is to go the panther form, but every now and then it will just return you to normal and thus killing you, just pure randomness wether you win or not. Expand
  9. Jun 18, 2014
    0
    Worst game I have played in my life.
    Its like DmC with a lot of bronze powder.

    The story is a bad joke, making have hard to stay playing this game after some hours.
  10. KarlS.
    Mar 11, 2010
    4
    This is pretty much a game designed around a character, a horendiosly over the top, awkwardly voice acted and all around anatomically out of proportion character. The story is bland at best, I think they did that on purpose so you could stare at the "eyes" of the main character durring cut scenes and not have to worry about missing out on anything important. On the side of gameplay its This is pretty much a game designed around a character, a horendiosly over the top, awkwardly voice acted and all around anatomically out of proportion character. The story is bland at best, I think they did that on purpose so you could stare at the "eyes" of the main character durring cut scenes and not have to worry about missing out on anything important. On the side of gameplay its fun at first but does drag on and begins to become very repetitive, repetive in the sence that this game is way longer than any button mashing shooter ever should be, the few "driving" scenes are closer to way too long on rail cutscenes where all you have to do is hold down a and the trigger simultaniosly....for about 10 minutes....the replay value is, well who am i kidding, what replay value? the most you'll get out of a second go is a few more moments of cleavage before you get tired to hitting the same three buttons over and over again. All in all the game is yet another washed out DMC wanna be with a trying too hard to be OTT character and terrible music. I have to give them one thing though, the badies look f***ing awesome. Expand
  11. BobL
    Jan 13, 2010
    2
    The movies between levels and between the parts within the levels were long enough for me to jackoff to the long legged chick with the tiny head but I hardly got to play the game. Even after I cleaned up she looked so hot just walking around slowly and everytime I did a combo her costume came off so ofcourse I started jacking and the bad guys killed me. Poorly thought out game.
  12. RalphPootawn
    Jan 5, 2010
    1
    I did not like the game one bit, the generic hack n slash, bad j-pop, bad story and horrible character design just wasn't for me.
  13. Mike
    Jan 5, 2010
    2
    Terrible writing, ten tons of visual noise, can't be rescued by the decent combat system.
  14. ChipK
    Feb 22, 2010
    0
    What the hell is this crap? I returned it to GameStop (thank God for their satisfaction guarantee on used games) after playing through a handful of battles because it was just random button-mashing at monsters coming at you from every angle. It got really repetitive, really fast. Oh, and the story is absolutely nonsensical.
  15. SkullScience
    Feb 1, 2010
    4
    Hideously over-rated!!! Granted, the game looks fantastic, but I come from a generation (I am 32) that appreciates gameplay over graphics. The oxymoron is that the whole game is aimed at teenage boys as a substitute to porn, yet the age certificate contradicts its target audience. The game is just silly, and the gameplay is simply button mash, dodge, button mash, dodge. I know it is from Hideously over-rated!!! Granted, the game looks fantastic, but I come from a generation (I am 32) that appreciates gameplay over graphics. The oxymoron is that the whole game is aimed at teenage boys as a substitute to porn, yet the age certificate contradicts its target audience. The game is just silly, and the gameplay is simply button mash, dodge, button mash, dodge. I know it is from the same creator as 'Devil May Cry' and he sure shows a lack of originality. If this game had a 'Devil May Cry' title, no-one would have blinked. An average, unoriginal game that was way overhyped. Looks great but is boring to play. Darksiders is much superior. Expand
  16. DonnieS.
    Jan 7, 2010
    4
    I can't see what the fuss is about here. Games for me have always been about a great experience which includes story and character. Like a bad book without first a world and events that hold captivating interest I just don't see much for the player to hold on to. The sparse settings and horribly shallow soundtrack that feels like it was pulled from a flash based ad game leave me I can't see what the fuss is about here. Games for me have always been about a great experience which includes story and character. Like a bad book without first a world and events that hold captivating interest I just don't see much for the player to hold on to. The sparse settings and horribly shallow soundtrack that feels like it was pulled from a flash based ad game leave me feeling like I don't really belong and keep screaming to remind me, this is only a game, not something true of an absorbing experience. Besides the over the top action of stringing combos, there isn't much here past the hair monsters and boot guns. I would have been happier repeating the demo for free than to pay for the "full experience". Expand
  17. JeffS
    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    I agree these reviews have to all be fake -- they all mention the same dribbel. Having played this game, I can attest to it's crappiness. Sadly, they've already probably sold a million future coasters, ensuring that this vicious behavior continues.
  18. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 29, 2010
    3
    May word, how people were sucked in because a lady is the heroine of the piece! I seriously don't see how people, especially mags like Edge, could give this anything more than 6 at very best. The gameplay is too hap-hazard, graphics suffer when multiple enemies on are screen, and I honestly found it over-blown and frustrating! Fail on this one Sega.
  19. MattL.
    Jan 10, 2010
    3
    Bayonetta is one of the most overrated games I have ever played. After spending a few hours with it I became clear that the hype was unjustified. I seriously do not understand the glowing reviews this games is recieving. Sure you can perform some pretty cool moves but the enemies are much the same and Bayonetta is an extremely unlikeable character and WAY to over the top. I really wanted Bayonetta is one of the most overrated games I have ever played. After spending a few hours with it I became clear that the hype was unjustified. I seriously do not understand the glowing reviews this games is recieving. Sure you can perform some pretty cool moves but the enemies are much the same and Bayonetta is an extremely unlikeable character and WAY to over the top. I really wanted to like this game and had looked forward to playing it for weeks. I may be in the minority here so try it out and make up your own mind Expand
  20. BG
    Jan 13, 2010
    1
    These are fake reviews. This game ranks up there with GTA 4, halo 3 and fallout 3? I hate when companies do this.
  21. ChrisW
    Apr 26, 2010
    0
    This game has major problems , slow down, screen tearing, glitches. The combat is basic ( keep hitting the Y button to beat all enemies, the a.i. is retarded - you can keep your eyes closed + win easily.) You have to fight each boss AT LEAST twice, revisit every location in the game AT LEAST twice. The story is terrible, and the main character looks like a seven foot hairy crossdresser This game has major problems , slow down, screen tearing, glitches. The combat is basic ( keep hitting the Y button to beat all enemies, the a.i. is retarded - you can keep your eyes closed + win easily.) You have to fight each boss AT LEAST twice, revisit every location in the game AT LEAST twice. The story is terrible, and the main character looks like a seven foot hairy crossdresser with a freakishly small head. Plus you have to listen to the "fly me to the moon" song everytime you fight - which sux. In short , this is without doubt the 'CAMPEST' game ever, that requires no skill to play. And it has glitches and slowdown. I can't believe 'certain games mags ** cough, cough, EDGE and Game central, cough, cough** gave this game 10/10. I feel robbed. Save your money and get DMC, Ninja Gaiden or GOW instead. Expand
  22. BillD.
    Jan 8, 2010
    0
    This game is a rental, there is no replayability after playing it twice (if you can stand it) you wont want to play it ever again. This game is a mesh of elements from many other games and the innovations are ludicrous. I mean her hair is a weapon and her hip-hop ground spin is a lame attempt at being cool for the kids. Weak game over-all, if you haven't bought this don't save This game is a rental, there is no replayability after playing it twice (if you can stand it) you wont want to play it ever again. This game is a mesh of elements from many other games and the innovations are ludicrous. I mean her hair is a weapon and her hip-hop ground spin is a lame attempt at being cool for the kids. Weak game over-all, if you haven't bought this don't save your money for Mass Effect 2 and rent this game if you must. Expand
  23. Jul 5, 2015
    3
    The graphics are very good, I'll grant you that. The story and game play however are just boring after a very short period of playing. I was scratching my head the first half hour trying to work out what the game is about because I was looking for depth that wasn't there. Mostly a button masher at normal difficulty. I don't understand the over the top ratings this game got. The cut scenesThe graphics are very good, I'll grant you that. The story and game play however are just boring after a very short period of playing. I was scratching my head the first half hour trying to work out what the game is about because I was looking for depth that wasn't there. Mostly a button masher at normal difficulty. I don't understand the over the top ratings this game got. The cut scenes are way too long and boring. I don't think I'm likely to finish it. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. A game that exemplifies so much of what commentators claim has died in the Japanese game industry. A blast of creative brilliance, both technically accomplished, strategically deep and infused with rare imagination, Bayonetta represents the pinnacle of its chosen niche. [JPN Import]
  2. A beautiful and graceful fighting game that lets imagination loose, and winks before slapping Dante, Kratos and every other hero back to the drawing board. [Christmas 2009, p.90]
  3. Astonishingly, every one of these dazzling battles is thrilling without overstaying its welcome - and also challenges you without being cheap. [Jan 2009, p.66]