User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 549 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 549

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KenL
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    This is why Platinum Games joining with Sega is a good thing. This is the next evolution of Devil May Cry from the people who actually created Devil May Cry. The style may offend some, but it is style none the less. Controls never failed me. The only gripe I have is the manual Camera is a little slow. Switching scenarios with dramatic changes like the Motorcycle and "Space Harrier" levels This is why Platinum Games joining with Sega is a good thing. This is the next evolution of Devil May Cry from the people who actually created Devil May Cry. The style may offend some, but it is style none the less. Controls never failed me. The only gripe I have is the manual Camera is a little slow. Switching scenarios with dramatic changes like the Motorcycle and "Space Harrier" levels never tripped me up. The QTEs even kept the Controller in my hands during the cut-scenes. This is the perfect balance between Serious and completely self-aware poke-funery. Plus there are tons of homages to other games from Classic Sega arcade games, Past Capcom games, to Assassin's Creed. Expand
  2. DaveL
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is an awe inspiring game with flashy attacks combined with a fluidity most games could only dream of. This game is clearly not for all gamers but if you like fast paced action games, then you might enjoy this. The fighting system works well once you play through normal and attempt hard, the game progresses once you learn the moves, it is certainly most not a hack n' slash Bayonetta is an awe inspiring game with flashy attacks combined with a fluidity most games could only dream of. This game is clearly not for all gamers but if you like fast paced action games, then you might enjoy this. The fighting system works well once you play through normal and attempt hard, the game progresses once you learn the moves, it is certainly most not a hack n' slash despite what others might say. Bayonetta may have a bit of a confusing story but it becomes clearly towards the end, The replay system is an absolute joy as things become once easier. The creators clearly has a plan to make the game sexual in nature, but it is integrated smoothly and in a seductive way. The game overall is a must buy if you are patient enough to take the time to learn moves, learn enemies, and enjoy the sometimes over the top attacks. 10/10 easy Expand
  3. CRAIGB
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    I wasn't too sure when I first started playing Bayonetta but now I love it, its funny, has amazing game play and its a bit twisted which is fun.
  4. JJS.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This game looks and plays beautifully, possibly the best combat system out there at this time.
  5. KenM.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Great game filled with action and sexiness from alpha to omega!
  6. ChristianG.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This is the best fighting game out there right now. The gameplay mechanics are so fluid and redeeming, the story is incredibly bizzare and exciting, and the characters are fantastic. The game is also incredibly hard, but it's too much fun. Definitely a "must" buy.
  7. PedroA.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    It's Amazing. Congratulations SEGA.
  8. AlanJ.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, fast paced, great story line, excellent graphics. Everything a good game should be.
  9. JasonC.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    While this game isn't really worth a 10 from its lack of story, there's no way I'm going to give it a 9. I wish there was a 9.5 or even 9.7 rating because the combat is just that good. You'll be laughing at and with the game the entire time and with DMC creators doing the combat theres never a moment -ever- where the controls do something different than what you While this game isn't really worth a 10 from its lack of story, there's no way I'm going to give it a 9. I wish there was a 9.5 or even 9.7 rating because the combat is just that good. You'll be laughing at and with the game the entire time and with DMC creators doing the combat theres never a moment -ever- where the controls do something different than what you wanted. This game has -perfect- gameplay. Expand
  10. AmandaK.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Game is absolutely beautiful and well-done. Little lacking in how the story shows through during the game. I asked many times "what am I doing now?" or "Whats going on?". But it didn't really matter because I was having fun playing. Bayonetta's intelligence, sass, and sexiness. AWESOME.
  11. WilliamBradley
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    One of the best games I've played in a long long time.
  12. CollinJ
    Feb 22, 2010
    9
    I must say, I have to laugh at everyone who thinks these reviews are fake. It's a love-it-or-hate-it type game, and personally I love it. Most of the comments say "Save money for ME2" or "I'm gonna play CoD instead."... This isn't Cod. This isn't Mass Effect, it's a completely different genre entirely. The battle system is very fluid, the visuals are amazing. I must say, I have to laugh at everyone who thinks these reviews are fake. It's a love-it-or-hate-it type game, and personally I love it. Most of the comments say "Save money for ME2" or "I'm gonna play CoD instead."... This isn't Cod. This isn't Mass Effect, it's a completely different genre entirely. The battle system is very fluid, the visuals are amazing. Sure, you can get through the entire game button mashing, but that's not the POINT! If you build up your combos and take pride in pulling off bad-ass combos, it's a very fulfilling game. I agree the cinematics drug on a bit, but this is a game of spectacle. If you don't enjoy this sort of thing, grade it on the merits this sort of game is normally based. The action is fluid, and it does a good job of occasionally shifting up the action. And as for Bayonetta being over the top and a transparant character... She's supposed to be over the top, but is definately not two dimensional. If you'd play more through the game, she story has enough twists to keep it interesting. The game is supposed to be ripe in self-parody, that's what it's always been meant to be. And it is extremely replayable, but only if you're a perfectionist and want to unlock all the extra modes and costumes. Overall I give this game a 9; the only gripe I have with it is some occasional sputerring of the frame rate. Expand
  13. JasonG.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    great game i am lucky enough to have an xbox 360 and a ps3 having originally bought the ps3 version i was i was very dissapointed by the choppy action and loading every time i picked something up but having taken the game back and exchanging it for the 360 version i was greeted with a really good game fun to play and full of good ideas the game is top notch.
  14. PeterC.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    The story is unfocused (although often humorously over the top). But the _game_ part of this game is phenomenal. I've never even _enjoyed_ an action game before, much less fallen in love with one. Some of the most fantastic set pieces of any work in any medium ever.
  15. ALL242
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    The Onion (A.V. Club) can't review it's way out of a wet paper bag. This is what Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden always wished it could have been. Both franchises could take a lot of lessons on how to do their next game from Bayonetta. The only thing in this game that was tedious was the long cutscenes. Sega even threw in some minigames that were very Space Harrierlike. Phenomenal game.
  16. DanP
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    After beating the game, I feel like I have only scratched the surface of what lies beneath. The combat (while it can be played as a button masher on easier difficulties) is incredibly deep in its execution. There are a ton of combos at your disposal, each of which you can delay at any moment by holding down attack buttons. This will cause Bayonetta to freeze in her combo and use her After beating the game, I feel like I have only scratched the surface of what lies beneath. The combat (while it can be played as a button masher on easier difficulties) is incredibly deep in its execution. There are a ton of combos at your disposal, each of which you can delay at any moment by holding down attack buttons. This will cause Bayonetta to freeze in her combo and use her weapons specifically based on the current attack. You can also dodge out of any combo and continue it where you left off. You can equip a variety of weapons on both your hands and legs creating different effects for every combination. The sheer number of combos and animations is astonishing. There are a ton of unlockables including new weapons. The story is dumb, but the way in which it is presented sometimes is borderline hilarious. The game is completely over the top, and I love it for that. It never seems to take itself seriously, which you should not either. It is by definition a game, amusement in a pure form. There are some frustrating moments where the camera gets in your way, but that is really my only complaint as far as gameplay is concerned. It is by far the best game of this type I have ever played. I mean seriously.. you can kick ass on ice skates while shooting rocket launchers! Expand
  17. PontusBostrom
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    As close to perfection a game will ever come. Non-stop action, beutiful graphics and bizarre boss battles.
  18. FelixB.
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Best Game I've ever played. Great Stroy, Great Gameplay,Great Graphic and amazing Characters. I first thought, ohh DMC with astupid porno Star, please not. But after the first 30 min. you beginn to see, that there is more than just a good looking Lady on the screen, and that was the point where I couldn't stop playing.
  19. PhoebusSecret
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    BAYONETTA IS JUST A.W.E.S.O.M.E.! I don't think I've played a so unbelievable awesome game in many years! The last game that I really loved and couldn't stop playing at all was "Jak 3" for the PS2. This game is worth every little penny and if you own PS3 och 360! Get this game as fast as you can! (The 360 version is better) I'm to lazy to put up a little review or BAYONETTA IS JUST A.W.E.S.O.M.E.! I don't think I've played a so unbelievable awesome game in many years! The last game that I really loved and couldn't stop playing at all was "Jak 3" for the PS2. This game is worth every little penny and if you own PS3 och 360! Get this game as fast as you can! (The 360 version is better) I'm to lazy to put up a little review or something here....so that was everything I hade to say. Expand
  20. FranzL
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is the best action game to date. I have not played an action game with more depth then this one. I certainly have never played an action game over again on the hardest difficulty and had more fun the second time around. The criticisms about the plot are valid though. It is pretty terrible. Is this game also excessively objectifying to woman? Yes it is. If you can get past those Bayonetta is the best action game to date. I have not played an action game with more depth then this one. I certainly have never played an action game over again on the hardest difficulty and had more fun the second time around. The criticisms about the plot are valid though. It is pretty terrible. Is this game also excessively objectifying to woman? Yes it is. If you can get past those two things then you arrive at the gameplay which demands nothing less than a 10. Expand
  21. RobM
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Let me just start off by saying that I have never played any of the Devil May Cry games, infact I am a complete novice to this style of action game. I play way to many FPS' and a game has to really be special to drag me away from my beloved Modern Warfare 2. But this has! This is fantastic. I didn't go into this looking to compare this to another game, I just wanted something Let me just start off by saying that I have never played any of the Devil May Cry games, infact I am a complete novice to this style of action game. I play way to many FPS' and a game has to really be special to drag me away from my beloved Modern Warfare 2. But this has! This is fantastic. I didn't go into this looking to compare this to another game, I just wanted something new to play for a while. The graphics are beautiful, rich and colourful, Bayonetta herself looks sasy and sexy and is one of the more interesting gaming characters I've seen in a while. The gamplay is the main part of the game though... and whilst it's got a ton of depth, getting to use all that depth can be quite hard and sometimes tedius. However some of the set-pieces boggle the mind, the Boss battles are huge in terms of scale. My main compleint about the game is that there is very little variety in the types of enemys you fight in general. That's it. Overwise this is a great great great game! Expand
  22. LeahR
    Jan 15, 2010
    9
    It's not perfect, but for a linear action game, Bayonetta is like an expertly-cut diamond that is so dazzling at times, it's almost painful to look at. Its ridiculous story is just a stage for the wonderfully realized characters to act on. The overt sex and violence is pure camp, never taking itself seriously. Strip away the overwhelming amount of tongue-in-cheek cutscenes, and It's not perfect, but for a linear action game, Bayonetta is like an expertly-cut diamond that is so dazzling at times, it's almost painful to look at. Its ridiculous story is just a stage for the wonderfully realized characters to act on. The overt sex and violence is pure camp, never taking itself seriously. Strip away the overwhelming amount of tongue-in-cheek cutscenes, and you're left with a linear action game that shuttles you from scripted battle to scripted battle, where the goal is to kill enemies with combo attacks for points. It's accessible enough for button mashers to progress at a steady pace, yet offers a challenge of finesse for skilled players to achieve higher grades. What pushes this tight action game over the top is the exuberant, unrepentant sense of humor and imagination that suffuses every last bit, from the titular character's exaggeratedly seductive-yet-badass combat animations, to the epic, building-sized bosses. Bayonetta borrows from many excellent action games, from Devil May Cry to Shadow of the Colossus, and distills the essence of their gameplay into a pure, joyous form...then wraps it up in an insanely-realized universe that drips with style. It's difficult to even write about the game without lapsing into glamorous hyperbole--it just puts you into a certain mindset. The game's overbearing style means it won't appeal to everyone, but for fans of combo-based action games, Bayonetta is the crown jewel. Expand
  23. MrTwinbee
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Stunning. A real celebration of videogames. The thing with this game, unlike many over-easy games these day, is that it requires SKILL! Yes you read that correctly, SKILL! Just like in the old days, before games became more dumbed-down and mainstream, Bayonetta throws you in at the deep end. Yes, there are easy modes, but Normal is fairly tough, no cheating here im afraid. Anyone who Stunning. A real celebration of videogames. The thing with this game, unlike many over-easy games these day, is that it requires SKILL! Yes you read that correctly, SKILL! Just like in the old days, before games became more dumbed-down and mainstream, Bayonetta throws you in at the deep end. Yes, there are easy modes, but Normal is fairly tough, no cheating here im afraid. Anyone who dislikes the game for its difficulty or combat system is missing the point. Anyone who dislikes it for the story is missing another point. Anyone who claims that they "Jack off over the game" is missing therapy sessions. Expand
  24. KostasI.
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    I am especially astonished that this game exists. Normally it shouldnt because its "predecessors" (Ninja Gaiden, Devil May Cry) were already deemed perfect in their art style combat mechanics. Sorry Dante and Ryu but Bayonetta just blows the both of them out of the water in terms of intricate and deep combat styles and NG series was already an awesomely high mark to catch, let alone I am especially astonished that this game exists. Normally it shouldnt because its "predecessors" (Ninja Gaiden, Devil May Cry) were already deemed perfect in their art style combat mechanics. Sorry Dante and Ryu but Bayonetta just blows the both of them out of the water in terms of intricate and deep combat styles and NG series was already an awesomely high mark to catch, let alone surpass. Bayonetta however has done exactly that, it has surpassed the impossible. The combat system is of course the focus of the game, as is with any skilled type third person action game, and it is just magnificent. Every movement of your witch perfectly matches your playstyle as she is able to accomodate a variety of playing styles for every possible type of dextrous hand. I really dont want to say more than that. The story is kind of silly yeah but this is not the point of the game. The story is an excuse to slash up angels to high heaven and back but damn what a fine way that is. NG and DMC fans out there just go and grab this. You will not be dissapointed. There really aren't enough games such as these handy around. Expand
  25. FranklinD.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Best Action games ever! A beautiful and fun way to start the new year!!!
  26. :)
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    It's one of the best action games EVARRR!! It's not as good as Devil May Cry 3 or 4, but very few games are. This feels like a mesh between Devil May Cry and Viewtiful Joe in which everything except for demon mode is an element from DMC with just a different look, for example you buy your moves the same way using a currency you earn from killing enemies called halos, which are It's one of the best action games EVARRR!! It's not as good as Devil May Cry 3 or 4, but very few games are. This feels like a mesh between Devil May Cry and Viewtiful Joe in which everything except for demon mode is an element from DMC with just a different look, for example you buy your moves the same way using a currency you earn from killing enemies called halos, which are exactly like red orbs, and you can get one of four pieces of a "witch heart" that boosts your health just like with blue orbs. The way it feels like Viewtiful Joe is that you don't have to execute your attacks as perfectly as you have to in Devil May Cry, but they don't feel as over powered as in games such as God of War or Ninja Gaiden 2 (which are still great games, btw). Spoiler: she even uses his catch-phrase in chapter 3. The stages are longer than in Devil May Cry, and the enemies are a lot better. For one thing, they're extremely detailed and varied, but the best part is that they are managable. In DMC3, all enemies that weren't Hells or dammed chestmen annoyed the living daylights out of me, and in number 4 the enemies seemed to have way too many hitpoints sometimes, and in both games the boss battles were a major pain. In Bayonetta, boss battles and encounters with varying enemies feel a lot more fluid. The game is also a lot harder than Devil May Cry because, as I mentioned, there is no demon-mode that lets you recover some of your hitpoints; the only way to do so is to pick up a green halo (exactly like a green orb), and if you do than you've got to be the luckiest person on earth because I've barely ever gotten one. The one bad aspect of Bayonetta is the story, it sucks. It's fun to watch the cutscenes but I haven't got a clue what's going on. Other than that, the game's AMAZING. Expand
  27. M'Ellis
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    The camera can be troublesome, but it does have an adjustable speed. The combat and dodge mechanic in this game are the closest to perfection I've experienced in a Japanese Action Adventure game (Yes I have played Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden). Sometimes the sexuality can be off-putting, but the way it's incorporated into the character are just brilliant. On the challenging The camera can be troublesome, but it does have an adjustable speed. The combat and dodge mechanic in this game are the closest to perfection I've experienced in a Japanese Action Adventure game (Yes I have played Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden). Sometimes the sexuality can be off-putting, but the way it's incorporated into the character are just brilliant. On the challenging side, it's easy enough on easy-normal, and hard can kick your butt. Very Hard mode had me lookin' back to Dante Must Die mode from the DMC series. It's just taken everything from this sub-genre and made it the perfect experience fr those fans and even newcomers. Expand
  28. [Anonymous]
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    This game is fun, however is also VERY short.
  29. ColinG.
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. The combat is fast, furious and extremely rewarding. The entire atmosphere is oozing with style and humour. Everything about the game and it's characters exudes a very tongue-in-cheek attitude, I love it. It's a great change of pace to play a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Bayonetta is a fantastic protagonist. She's sexy, funny and This game is amazing. The combat is fast, furious and extremely rewarding. The entire atmosphere is oozing with style and humour. Everything about the game and it's characters exudes a very tongue-in-cheek attitude, I love it. It's a great change of pace to play a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Bayonetta is a fantastic protagonist. She's sexy, funny and most importantly, kicks a whole lot of ass. I'm already eagerly awaiting a sequel. If you're looking for a high quality, stylish action game, then look no further than Bayonetta. Expand
  30. RichardK
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta has to be one of my favourite games of all time now. I cannot see how you can really fault it, the over the top campness and mocking of video game culture is just genius. Any game that can reference so many games in such amazing ways is awesome. The people who give this game low scores obviously cannot comprehend what the game is about. It is not meant to be serious, it is a Bayonetta has to be one of my favourite games of all time now. I cannot see how you can really fault it, the over the top campness and mocking of video game culture is just genius. Any game that can reference so many games in such amazing ways is awesome. The people who give this game low scores obviously cannot comprehend what the game is about. It is not meant to be serious, it is a parody of everything to do with gaming! Expand
  31. JimF
    Mar 28, 2010
    10
    This game is sensational! Yes it can seem like a random button masher at first, but those who dismiss it as such are missing the whole point of the game. There's lots of challenge in actually learning the combo system and the fastest way to dispatch enemies to get the higher rankings. Truly astonishing visuals, both technically and in design, and while some of the cutscenes and voice This game is sensational! Yes it can seem like a random button masher at first, but those who dismiss it as such are missing the whole point of the game. There's lots of challenge in actually learning the combo system and the fastest way to dispatch enemies to get the higher rankings. Truly astonishing visuals, both technically and in design, and while some of the cutscenes and voice acting are a bit cringe-inducing, I personally can't get enough of the over the top style of the gameplay. This is one game I will want to replay, because it's just so fun! Brilliant, best action game for a long time. Not to be missed. Expand
  32. BradT
    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    This may be my favorite video game of all time. It has everything a gamer could want: great graphics, fun gameplay, a smart, funny, and sexy main character, a cool story, and overall,it is just a great, fun game.
  33. JohnF.
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Bayonetta is a love-it-or-hate-it game. Some people aren't going to get past the cheesy feel or corny, overacted cutscenes and will hate the game. Others will love it. It does take a while to get going, but once it hits its stride, this becomes a great game. The later boss fights in this game are some of the best that gaming has ever seen, no exaggeration. The game has issues -- Bayonetta is a love-it-or-hate-it game. Some people aren't going to get past the cheesy feel or corny, overacted cutscenes and will hate the game. Others will love it. It does take a while to get going, but once it hits its stride, this becomes a great game. The later boss fights in this game are some of the best that gaming has ever seen, no exaggeration. The game has issues -- it's got some technical hiccups like slowdown in a couple places, shaky camera on a few encounters and screen tearing, plus some people might not like the fact that it borrows/recycles heavily from previous games put out by Platinum Games/Clover and even a few others. And the game does go heavy on quicktime events, which some people won't like, while others might not like the heavy sexual innuendo. I thought the good definitely outweighed the bad with Bayonetta though. It's a fast, exciting, sometimes epic action game that rightfully takes its place alongside the Devil May Cry or Ninja Gaiden games. Expand
  34. RobertA
    Mar 16, 2010
    9
    If your first impression is: "a handful of battles because it was just random button-mashing at monsters coming at you from every angle. It got really repetitive, really fast" then you did something wrong, like not having the patience to do the tutorials, which is vital, to understand and get into the incredible fresh and addictive dodging mechanics, really, it takes the hack n slayIf your first impression is: "a handful of battles because it was just random button-mashing at monsters coming at you from every angle. It got really repetitive, really fast" then you did something wrong, like not having the patience to do the tutorials, which is vital, to understand and get into the incredible fresh and addictive dodging mechanics, really, it takes the hack n slay gameplay to onther level, besides having great and crazy grafix and a lolita and gothic soundtrack not heard in a videogame for a long time its so challenging on normal, but not really unfair (even if it sometimes does seem overwhelming against some bosses at times, but thats what a boss is suposed to be, not only look mean, but alos be mean Bayonetta is (besides Batman) the surprise (non sequel) game of the last 12 months, by far! Bayonetta is such a rollercoster of action, style and madness, you'll fall for her for sure (if you give the tutorials a moment of time) dont let the pics of her somewhat strange proportions make you think, she doest look cool, once seen in movement, you'll have a hard time, not taking your eyes of her. Expand
  35. giangian
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    If You like action game, are a fans of videogame, and You don't get turn off by wacky stuff, than this is the game for You. Controls like a dream, and i didn't play any game with such a deep and satisfyng combat system. This is a game that doesn't take itself seriously but manage to offer a great great fun and challenge and after You finish it one time You just want to If You like action game, are a fans of videogame, and You don't get turn off by wacky stuff, than this is the game for You. Controls like a dream, and i didn't play any game with such a deep and satisfyng combat system. This is a game that doesn't take itself seriously but manage to offer a great great fun and challenge and after You finish it one time You just want to start again!!! Expand
  36. RyanM
    Mar 21, 2010
    9
    I enjoyed this game a lot. I didn't enjoy halo farming for characters that weren't worth a damn, and it most certainly could have been longer, but all in all it was a very well put together game, and looked amazing. Lol at those who think all of these people are paid advertisers.. Anyway, I give this game a 4/5 and plan to hold on to it for awhile.
  37. KariP
    May 24, 2010
    9
    I found this game to be incredibly addictive and its been so very long since i found gameplay to be so very compelling. The combo and dodge system is so incredibly fluid in this game nothing I have played compares. Go back to God of War III after playing through Bayonetta and it feels clunky. You probably CAN get through this game mashing buttons on the normal difficulty. You will die a I found this game to be incredibly addictive and its been so very long since i found gameplay to be so very compelling. The combo and dodge system is so incredibly fluid in this game nothing I have played compares. Go back to God of War III after playing through Bayonetta and it feels clunky. You probably CAN get through this game mashing buttons on the normal difficulty. You will die a lot and your rating will be terrible, but you can do it. Throughout the game though it teaches you to play with more strategy and skill through the use of alfheims and strings of difficult enemies. And to truly master this game you cannot just mash on the buttons. And that's part of the beauty of it - its really easy to pick up no matter what your gaming expertise and its a true challenge to get really good at it. I think the reason I enjoy playing as much as I do is because its fun to move around as Bayonetta. Its fun to do flips and acrobats to kick ass. You also feel very powerful as Bayonetta. I get to throw semis and buildings around. There are two levels in the game that I did find to be pretty boring and excessively long. These two levels are basically on the rail shooters that go on forever. These levels do not have the same fluid controls and gameplay and they go on forever. They are not a challenge either. But overall, they are a small fraction of the overall game and do not keep me from wanting to play the rest of the amazing game! I find the game to have immense replay value - at least for me. I find myself wanting to replay different levels always trying to improve my performance. The harder difficulties are truly a challenge and I really do want to get through every Alfheim! I will concede that the story makes little sense. I discovered this quite clearly trying to explain it to someone else. Needless to say you can't explain it because it doesn't make sense so I gave up. But I thoroughly enjoyed the actual characters even when they are ridiculously over the top. One of my favorite scenes little Cereza is imitating Bayonetta because she wants to be strong and powerful just like her one day. It was cute. Overall I love this game. I haven't played a game I enjoyed as much in years. Expand
  38. RyanG.
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Honestly this is 1 of the best games ive ever played...and if you think this game is crap you are either crying for attention or have a slight case of retardation.
  39. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. This is what devil may cry 4 should have been. The amount of combat control is just mind boggling there is just so much you can do. Also factor in you can switch on the fly a different weapon set up to mix up very varying combo styles. Rocket launchers on the feet is somehow full of awesome when you pull off amazing feats of combos. You can also activate aThis game is absolutely amazing. This is what devil may cry 4 should have been. The amount of combat control is just mind boggling there is just so much you can do. Also factor in you can switch on the fly a different weapon set up to mix up very varying combo styles. Rocket launchers on the feet is somehow full of awesome when you pull off amazing feats of combos. You can also activate a matrix bullet time slow mo (which is called witch time in this game) when you narrowly dodge enemy attacks, this is used to unleash and plan very destructive combos. Also in other games you see fancy epic choreographed CGI cutscenes well in bayonetta there is so much depth and control you can pull off amazing CGI choreographed styled fights in game, that's what sets this game above other hack and slash action games. If you're the type of gamer that wants more then just button mashing bayonetta can give you that control if you are willing to learn it. Also this game is the return of epic boss battles which the last 2 are some of the best in action gaming history. Doesn't hurt the game runs silky smooth at 60 FPS, which makes all those combos look phenomenal. The sound track is very nice as well with very atmospheric pieces and the choir chanting just races your adrenaline. With that bayonetta does have some awkward jazzy tunes like a japanese "fly me to the moon" jazz rendition when bayonetta is just being sassy and comical. But when things get serious that's when the real highlight of the OSt breaks out. If you love pure action games then this game is as good as it gets to being perfect gameplay wise. A must try for pure action enthusiast that love sexy smooth gameplay and who like lots of depth in combat options. Expand
  40. RandallH
    Jun 14, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is an over the top all out fun in an old school hard sort of way extravaganza. The graphics are beautiful, the score is wonderful, though you will likely grow tired of the main combat theme over multiple playthroughs. Incredible replayability and more unlockables than any game I have seen in years. Definitely worth the price of admission to get this great game.
  41. RonanF.
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    This game is perfect, absolut contagios Jogo excelente, sistema de batalha unico e perfeito
  42. RobD
    Mar 29, 2010
    9
    I too have Briefly looked at a few user comments & critics as well. WTF is up w the ridiculously LOW scores? Do people NOT do ANY research B4 buying anything? If a gamer is too stupid to know what genre game they are buying & then bash it because they are mad at themselves that is BS! The Same holds true for critics partial to specific types that seemingly forget they are reviewing the I too have Briefly looked at a few user comments & critics as well. WTF is up w the ridiculously LOW scores? Do people NOT do ANY research B4 buying anything? If a gamer is too stupid to know what genre game they are buying & then bash it because they are mad at themselves that is BS! The Same holds true for critics partial to specific types that seemingly forget they are reviewing the product based on quality NOT their preferences! This is similar to the Devil May Cry series & I,for one, happen to Like these titles a LOT. I have still Only rated this a 9 rather than just popping a 10 because Bayonetta is Not perfect but it does almost everything right. The 1 point deduction I gave is for the fact that Bayonetta IS a niche title. as Many have stated this does fit the Love or Hate category well but Should satisfy Most fans of quality action games. I am Not a FPS fan but you don't see me dropping 1s on CODMW2 or BC2. Extend the Same courtesy as we should be helping one another by providing Fair & Accurate reviews! Expand
  43. SeanM
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    This game is near perfect. The game does draw out near the middle/end, but will pick the pace at the end. It is around 10 hours if you rush through normal. I would like to see some sort of horde/firefight like mode on it, but future DLC could fix this. Also, the sexual themes in this game are there for a comedic effect, its there to laugh at, intentionally or not. If you like This game is near perfect. The game does draw out near the middle/end, but will pick the pace at the end. It is around 10 hours if you rush through normal. I would like to see some sort of horde/firefight like mode on it, but future DLC could fix this. Also, the sexual themes in this game are there for a comedic effect, its there to laugh at, intentionally or not. If you like action/hack-and-slash, I recommend it. Expand
  44. RicardoPulido
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Games like this don't come around very often, while Kamiya's title doesn't re-invent the genre it certainly rocks the hell out of it. Don't judge a book by it's cover, is the name of the game with Bayonetta. Do yourself a favor and star your new year with one of the best action titles to be released in this generation. In three words: Non-Stop-Climax.
  45. RobertoDelaT
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    this game is awesome, the variety of battle movements of bayonetta and the challenging boss enemies. Grats and thanks platinum games.
  46. JamesS
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Jumps up my personal list as one of the best games I've ever played (and I've been playing games for 28 years). You have to play this and judge for yourself and hopefully you'll find something here as enduring as I did. It's all about the gameplay. Do not let the cynics fool you into thinking it's repititive; I guarantee none of them have the skills needed to get Jumps up my personal list as one of the best games I've ever played (and I've been playing games for 28 years). You have to play this and judge for yourself and hopefully you'll find something here as enduring as I did. It's all about the gameplay. Do not let the cynics fool you into thinking it's repititive; I guarantee none of them have the skills needed to get through this challenging game. Lots of variety (you map numerous weapons to your hands AND feet opening up a lot of different combos). Great great great replay to those who love challenging themselves and having fun. Expand
  47. PaulR.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Best action game i've ever played.
  48. R.G
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I have to say, I am astonished to read a review from "gamers" that rate a game a zero (0), and for this game anything lower than a 5 is just imflamatory, from a person that must have a gripe from the developers! This game is so well done in gameplay, good graphics, music, and the story is just fun. YES, it is over the top and it is meant to be, it is a witch! It has a funfactor that I have to say, I am astonished to read a review from "gamers" that rate a game a zero (0), and for this game anything lower than a 5 is just imflamatory, from a person that must have a gripe from the developers! This game is so well done in gameplay, good graphics, music, and the story is just fun. YES, it is over the top and it is meant to be, it is a witch! It has a funfactor that anyone that considers themselves a gamer can enjoy. I am sick of people putting bs scores and it makes just remindes me that the world is full of idiots. I can find fun in most games, and if your a true gamer you should too. By the way a rating of a 4 is a game that has many flaws-this game does not have any flaws (framerate, tearing, etc.). So enough of my rant. This is one of the best games i have played in a long time, and i am sick of seeing scores on all games that are just plain stupid. Even games that are bland and not great like CSI games dont deserve lower than a 4 or 5, and those games dont add much of anything to gaming. Expand
  49. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Sexy and deathly, Batonetta is equal too Devil May Cry and God Of War . Only absurd and weird , sometimes even stupid. The cut scene are very violent with the set pieces that make your jaw to drop. Visuals are fine enough to please every body ( seriously) . Another good female character that is bad ass.
  50. KingG.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta has ruined me for all other action games.
  51. RandyB
    Mar 1, 2010
    9
    Bayonetta is different, fast-paced and loads of fun, a terrific job was done in making this game work within the crazy wolrd in which its told. Theres something special about bayonetta, maybe its the absurdly fast combat, the story of an umbra witch, or maybe its just bayonettas legs! i cant decide either way this i a sure-fire purchase and id recommend it to all who like the God of war Bayonetta is different, fast-paced and loads of fun, a terrific job was done in making this game work within the crazy wolrd in which its told. Theres something special about bayonetta, maybe its the absurdly fast combat, the story of an umbra witch, or maybe its just bayonettas legs! i cant decide either way this i a sure-fire purchase and id recommend it to all who like the God of war or DMC series. Expand
  52. JesseP.
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, and one of the best of this generation. The combat and imagination present here trump Ninja Gaiden, God of War, Dante's Inferno, and Devil May Cry. I only wish more companies would let their imagination run wild like Platinum Games has done here.
  53. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    A wonderful game, with good mechanics, no glitches that I could find, an excellent story, and good characters. Some of the tribute pieces, such as Verses 1 and 2 of Chapter 14, seem out of place, but the rest of the game makes up for it. The sexuality in the game is so overblown as to be comical rather than insulting, but can still be annoying at times. I easily put 60 hours into the game,A wonderful game, with good mechanics, no glitches that I could find, an excellent story, and good characters. Some of the tribute pieces, such as Verses 1 and 2 of Chapter 14, seem out of place, but the rest of the game makes up for it. The sexuality in the game is so overblown as to be comical rather than insulting, but can still be annoying at times. I easily put 60 hours into the game, and would have put in more time had I not lent it to a friend. Buy this game. Collapse
  54. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    Great. Just great. The game has some flaws, but it's made to be FUN and to help the player enjoy the game. The story is completely absurd and it's just a way to add incredible and over the top bosses (the last one is probably one of the biggest bosses I remember).

    I didn't like the DMC saga much, because it started to feel repetitive and you were revisiting levels a lot. There's some
    Great. Just great. The game has some flaws, but it's made to be FUN and to help the player enjoy the game. The story is completely absurd and it's just a way to add incredible and over the top bosses (the last one is probably one of the biggest bosses I remember).

    I didn't like the DMC saga much, because it started to feel repetitive and you were revisiting levels a lot. There's some repetition in this one but a lot less. To sum it up, if you enjoyed games like God Hand (or any other kind of dumb fun like Serious Sam) you'll love this.
    Expand
  55. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This is quite frankly the GREATEST GAME IN EXISTANCE! The word masterpiece doesn't even begin to cover it. It just kicks the living **** out of that crap pathetic game Devil May Cry 4. If you have DMC4 forget it go and get this and see what a true action game is all about. Everything about this game is perfect. The controls, gameplay and graphics are just truly magnificent. I love all theThis is quite frankly the GREATEST GAME IN EXISTANCE! The word masterpiece doesn't even begin to cover it. It just kicks the living **** out of that crap pathetic game Devil May Cry 4. If you have DMC4 forget it go and get this and see what a true action game is all about. Everything about this game is perfect. The controls, gameplay and graphics are just truly magnificent. I love all the old school SEGA references in it. A total must buy game! Expand
  56. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    Bayonetta is a solid action game using a fast paced play style that is an evolution of the style of Devil May Cry. It is extremely addictive, and before writing this I have played through it several times on varying difficulty settings. The story works to capture the style of the game. Set in the fictional European city of Vigrid, you play as the last Umbra Whitch, who is namedBayonetta is a solid action game using a fast paced play style that is an evolution of the style of Devil May Cry. It is extremely addictive, and before writing this I have played through it several times on varying difficulty settings. The story works to capture the style of the game. Set in the fictional European city of Vigrid, you play as the last Umbra Whitch, who is named Bayonetta. She is constantly perused by an angelic presence called the Laguna that is out to destroy her at any cost, as well as a human rival named Jeanne who has an agenda of her own. The story is full of ridiculous humor and comic relief, and hardly ever takes itself seriously. This is a good thing, because so little in the game is in any way believable, being an over the top fantasy with little if any attention payed to realism. The gameplay in Bayonetta can be described as simply: adrenaline, over the top, and addictively crazy. Despite there being hundreds of different moves you can pull off, the core mechanics are very simple: 1 button for punching, 1 button for kicking, and the experience to put them together to pull of some, frankly, hilariously overpowered combos. Press a button in Devil May Cry, and the playable character pulls a move. Press a button in Bayontta, and the screen explodes. Often times there so many things happening that I can't even keep track of what's going on, but the game somehow has been programmed to cope with this, as whenever I did die I easily knew which enemy it was that struck the killing blow. I have never played a more fast paced action game then Bayonetta. Your first go through the game should take you about 12 hours. However, the game still manages to have a lot of content because it is so replayable. Just like in DMC, you can carry upgrades over from previous playthroughs, and it appears to be the way the designers intended players to progress to higher difficulties, thus making the total content of the game at least a couple times that of your first trip through the campaign. Overall, I really enjoyed this game, and I encourage anyone who regularly plays action to pick up this game as soon as you can if you have not already. Expand
  57. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    Probably one of the best action games of this generation of consoles and the reasons are simple: 1) the action is extremely fast but it still can make you think on your actions, alternating dodges in order to activate the witch time (a slow-mo) and strong flurries of attacks in order to kill your enemies while they're slowed down, without mentioning the execution skills 2) There is a vastProbably one of the best action games of this generation of consoles and the reasons are simple: 1) the action is extremely fast but it still can make you think on your actions, alternating dodges in order to activate the witch time (a slow-mo) and strong flurries of attacks in order to kill your enemies while they're slowed down, without mentioning the execution skills 2) There is a vast amount of weapons that can be attached to both your hands and legs, each with their own skill list and both usable together wth one button (Y for the hands, B for the legs). And guns are used with the X button. 3) The game has a huge amount of unlockables and really encourages you to replay the game more and more, in order to find secret "verses" (the combat sections), the weapons, costumes, anything, so the longevity in the game is also great, and so far I've spent over 40 hours of gameplay. And I still gotta play with Jeanne! With that much praise said to this game, why a 9? Simple, it always slows down on moments of mass fighting, halving the frames in those moments and can really frustrate you sometimes. Although it's not game breaking of course, but in a game based on pure action and fast combats, these slow downs are just unforgivable. And yes, the plot is kinda "horrible" but I didn't really hate it, and besides the action was more than enough to fix this flaw, and the cutscenes were really funny to watch, so not a big flaw in my opinion. That's all I can say really: one big flaw, one point less to perfection, but this game still rocks and I highly suggest to give it a try. Expand
  58. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    We've seen a lot of super male character in almost every game, and this is one of the rare games that has woman as its own main character. Beat up and kick ass enemy's face is extremely fun, and nearly flawless colourful graphics and performance. If you love this category, you should have it and enjoy! Warning: Do not purchase the PS3 version, or you'll suffer one of the worst port of all time
  59. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    One of the most amazing games of this generation, Bayonetta is distilled essence of what other games would love to be.

    The biggest selling point, of course, is the combat. Bayonetta is given a huge variety of weapons and combos she can use in combat to battle her way through. Combos are similar, but can change in interesting ways between weapons, and almost all can excel in some
    One of the most amazing games of this generation, Bayonetta is distilled essence of what other games would love to be.

    The biggest selling point, of course, is the combat. Bayonetta is given a huge variety of weapons and combos she can use in combat to battle her way through. Combos are similar, but can change in interesting ways between weapons, and almost all can excel in some situations. Which time is a fun mechanic that rewards you for timing your dodges instead of mashing them out, and the enemy AI is varied enough to reward you for carefully selecting strategies for each.

    Another great thing about this game is the unlockables, the game is FULL of them. While there are a few that will be all but impossible for the most dedicated of players to get, there are plenty of costumes, extra weapons, items, and accessories that will drive you to keep playing.

    I would love to give this game a perfect 10, but you do need some minor deductions for the ridiculous story, which while fun, will leave you scratching your head for a while, and doesn't hold up to much scrutiny.

    Still, overall this is one of the best games of this console generation, and anyone who thinks they might be interested in this genre deserves to pick up this game.
    Expand
  60. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    High-class next gen game. Runs at 60 FPS. Satisfying combat, visuals, feel and sound. Tough to put down and delivers the shiver up the spine. Usually can trust the reviews of professionals. That is why they are hired for what they do. It has a lot of reasons to keep playing it after you beat it the first time. Unlockables and progressive mastering of techniques and all very rewardingHigh-class next gen game. Runs at 60 FPS. Satisfying combat, visuals, feel and sound. Tough to put down and delivers the shiver up the spine. Usually can trust the reviews of professionals. That is why they are hired for what they do. It has a lot of reasons to keep playing it after you beat it the first time. Unlockables and progressive mastering of techniques and all very rewarding experience for a single player video game. Just can't give anything a ten though unless it completely floors. This comes close as far as action games are concerned. Expand
  61. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    This has been the game I've played two summers ago, and I can say it's a great game! It's difficult to play, but controls are easy and quick to learn, the graphics are not the best you can find in a XBox 360 game, but there's great a style that makes it good to watch.
  62. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brilliant game it's what drove me to get the 360 nearly four years ago and will probably make me get the Wii U when the second one is due later this year. I know the plot does not make sense and that's accepted as a fact it makes no sense at all in some places but given the insane combat and sheer fluid way in which you take it on you can forgive the plot being a bit ropey.

    Also have to say I love the voice acting it's flawless and extremely funny and you spend a lot of time seeing that the game is indeed taking the proverbial out of it's self and also to some degree pointing fingers at the sexism that is all to often in the games industry as well. I loved Bayonetta for that she's a strong lead character who comes off as cold and uncaring but by the end you realize she's not such a ice queen as she makes out. All 10 from me.
    Expand
  63. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    From looking at a fair few critic and user reviews, its pretty obvious that a lot of people don't 'get' this game.
    They complain that its all about sex because the protagonist has exaggerated features which are frequently flaunted during cinematics. That's not the case. The sexuality of the character is intended as a joke. The parts which show her strip off her suit or where the camera
    From looking at a fair few critic and user reviews, its pretty obvious that a lot of people don't 'get' this game.
    They complain that its all about sex because the protagonist has exaggerated features which are frequently flaunted during cinematics. That's not the case. The sexuality of the character is intended as a joke. The parts which show her strip off her suit or where the camera focuses on her breasts are intended to make you laugh at the profanity, not bust a nut. In truth, this game does have its flaws. The story is pretty incoherent and some of the cutscenes are half-arsed and presented in a film-reel style as opposed to full animation. Furthermore, some sections are a little tedious such as riding a missile or motorcycle for 15 minutes, but there are only 2 of these sections.
    If you can look past the negatives, you'll see that Bayonetta is truly a fantastic game. The graphics look stunning, the soundtrack is catchy, but the gameplay is where it really shines, and in the hack n' slash genre, that's what counts. Combat is flashy and fluid. There are hundreds of combos to use and many different weapons, all unique in purpose. There are very useful combat accessories and moves to unlock.
    The combat flows astoundingly well and is very pleasurable to play. There is very little downtime in battles and everything you do flows in to your next action. The game is never cheap and enemies present a real threat, even if some are just cannon fodder.
    The higher difficulties will have you pulling your hair out as you die over and over, but beating them is well rewarded and gives a feeling of great satisfaction. You are also ranked on online leaderboards and in-game for playing each level based on how well you performed. If you're a perfectionist, you'll have your work cut out for you to get Pure Platinum trophies on every mission.
    As for length, on my first play-through on Normal difficulty, it took me about 14 hours, but it is possible to beat it in under 3, and there is an achievement for doing so.
    In terms of replayability, I've clocked up over 100 hours playing a 3 hour, single player game. I think that says enough to rate this game 10/10
    Expand
  64. Feb 5, 2011
    10
    GAME OF THE DECADE. I can not think of a better game than BAYONETTA. This game is CRANKED UP TO ELEVEN AND THEN SOME. GAME OF THE DECADE. I DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO SAY.
  65. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    To put it simply one of the xbox 360's greatest games, graphics, gameplay and music all spot on, and it does have a nice story, tough at first but once used to the dodging mechanics i breezed through it.great game.
  66. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game, and my favorite game this gen. Also one of my favorite games ever, up there with Ocarina of Time, Arkham Asylum, Warcraft 3 and Battlefield 2. Besides the obvious fan-service(which I have no problem with, and you shouldn't either unless you're uptight) the combat is intuitive and fun. The game is of satisfying length, the main character is easily likable(notAbsolutely amazing game, and my favorite game this gen. Also one of my favorite games ever, up there with Ocarina of Time, Arkham Asylum, Warcraft 3 and Battlefield 2. Besides the obvious fan-service(which I have no problem with, and you shouldn't either unless you're uptight) the combat is intuitive and fun. The game is of satisfying length, the main character is easily likable(not because of the skin tight suit), the supporting characters are fun, and the plot, while confusing at first, is complete with unexpected twists and an interesting backstory. Expand
  67. AnthonyS.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Simply put, if your a fan of the action genre this game is a dream come true. A must buy
  68. nacorC.
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    the best of the best in it genre. Crazy replayability. A must buy for hack n slash lovers.
  69. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    I've owned this game three times from launch. I've gone from hating to loving it, and back and forth. It's taken years for me to be able to say this: Bayonetta is without a doubt the best 3rd person action game ever made. It has nowhere near the scope of God of War, my other favorite, but the wide open creative gameplay just can't be beat.
  70. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Coming from the creator of Devil may Cry it was expected this game would have some kind of innovation and it did not disappoint the combat system is the best out at this point, graphics look great and there are plenty of unlockables to keep you busy for weeks (months ... depending on how much you play).
    This game should not be missed. 10/10
  71. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely brilliant and a real action Masterpiece. Games of this high a quality are a rarity these days and with Dante as good as dead, we now look to Bayonetta to carry the torch.
  72. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Look at the graphics bam boom whoosh the music, the combat, the combos holy **** this game is amazing! Play it, goddamn it! The real DMC sequel, and one of the finest games on the 360. Get it.
  73. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    I know I'm just some dude on the Internet, but you've got to believe me when I say that Bayonetta is the finest action game of the generation and one of the defining games of the genre, Period. If you love action games like DMC or Ninja Gaiden, prepare to have your mind blown by this incredible game!
  74. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    This game was just plain, simple FUN. OLD SCHOOL FUN! It was a blast. Creative, inventive and immaginative (is that a word?) whatever....it was awesome!
  75. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    This review is a response to the recent announcement of Bayonetta 2 for the Wii U. I have to admit, the first one was the main reason I bought the XBOX 360. It's a great game done by former members of CLOVER STUDIOS of CAPCOM...wow. Great graphics, superb controls and overall high production values made this an instant classic. The bad thing was that SEGA, its original publisher was inThis review is a response to the recent announcement of Bayonetta 2 for the Wii U. I have to admit, the first one was the main reason I bought the XBOX 360. It's a great game done by former members of CLOVER STUDIOS of CAPCOM...wow. Great graphics, superb controls and overall high production values made this an instant classic. The bad thing was that SEGA, its original publisher was in financial trouble and 'cancelled' this title. Nintendo ended up picking the tab and was 'attacked' by 'fan boys' for making it exclusive to the Wii U. I think these fan boys are over-reacting a bit. I owned a Wii as well and let me tell you, despite its 'outdated' graphics, it hosted some of the most innovative games of this generation. The Wonderful 101, which PG developed for the Wii U exclusively looked great. So will Bayonetta 2...Having Platinum Games developed it for the Wii U will only make it better. Expand
  76. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    This is what a lot of other action game should be. Funny, attractive, endless cutscenes and new stuff to do. You never get bored. The story keep you moving. It's just amazing. It deserves a 10 but the downside is that it's just too short. Should have more levels there. The replay is awesome though.
  77. May 5, 2012
    10
    Bayonetta is a beautiful cinematic game with almost no flaws. Definitely one of the greatest action games out, possibly one of the greatest ever. The best an action game can get.
  78. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Amazing, inspirational game! The story line is captivating and funny. Bayonetta's skills and personality all around are amazing, plus she's very sexy. The combos are creative. It's more of a "Devil-May-Cry" styled game. The cliche' good vs bad plot was taken into a bit of unoriginal and created into it's own. The graphics are great. I think it's safe to say that this is one of my favorite games.
  79. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    THE BEST GAME EVER!!!! Bayonetta is a new incredible saga, with an interesting story, great gamepelay, this is one of my favorite titles. Bayonetta is a classic.
  80. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    One of the best games ever i have played. Heavy gameplay, nice graphics, sexy woman..;)
    I love this game and waiting for chapter 2. This game is for all fans of DMC.
  81. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    This game is serious stuff. This is the best action game I've ever played in my entire life. It's funny as hell, hectic, challenging and above all COOL. There are very very few games that I would give a 10, but Bayonetta is completely flawless.
  82. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Best shasher Game ever. Bayonetta beat DMC, Ninja Gaiden and God Of War! Great game design, lot of funny dialogs and animations. If You like slashers - bui It - you dont sell this game to fast!
  83. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    Really a fantastic game. Great combat, brilliant visuals and interesting story. Granted, it is a blatant Devil May Cry clone, but an extremely good one and it does do enough of its own thing to be considered original. The visuals in the game are just remarkable and truly quite original (or at least creatively used if I'm wrong.) The gameplay is just non-stop fun and can be as simple orReally a fantastic game. Great combat, brilliant visuals and interesting story. Granted, it is a blatant Devil May Cry clone, but an extremely good one and it does do enough of its own thing to be considered original. The visuals in the game are just remarkable and truly quite original (or at least creatively used if I'm wrong.) The gameplay is just non-stop fun and can be as simple or complex as you want, with a very reasonable learning curve. My only gripe with this game would be the lack of real character development for most of the side characters. Aside from Bayonetta and Jeanne, the rest of the cast seem very underdone and given little depth. Overall: Bayonetta is just a great game that I thoroughly enjoyed. Expand
  84. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best games that I played in my life, I dont understand the bad critics about Bayonetta, maybe this guys wants attention
  85. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    Okay so to start off, I thought Bayonetta looked alright, but wasn't sure how it would play. Turns out it's Devil May Cry but with guns on your feet and dragons made out of hair. There is very little that is wrong with this game, in fact it is one of the finest I have ever played.

    The point of this game is the same as Devil May Cry - kill everything, and do so whilst jumping around the
    Okay so to start off, I thought Bayonetta looked alright, but wasn't sure how it would play. Turns out it's Devil May Cry but with guns on your feet and dragons made out of hair. There is very little that is wrong with this game, in fact it is one of the finest I have ever played.

    The point of this game is the same as Devil May Cry - kill everything, and do so whilst jumping around the screen or teleporting, jumping off enemies' heads, and avoiding getting hit by all the hundreds of projectiles or diving attacks from the enemies that surround you. There is also a story but I don't care.

    You can assign one set of weapons to Bayonetta's hands, and one set to her feet (some weapons can be assigned to both, others are unique like the sword and iceskates). As well as this, you can have an alternative set of weapons on your hands and feet, which you can switch between whenever you want. So you have access to 2 sets of hand weapons, and 2 sets of feet weapons. Pressing the punch or kick buttons in sequences with or without pauses create different combos, and each set of weapons on her hands and feet work together for different combos. Most attacks and combos however do follow a pattern, but there are also unique attacks for each weapon, and sometimes unique attacks for a particular set of weapons. Basically, the amount of variety available here is astonishing when you consider that there are eight weapons to combine together.

    As you fight and taunt enemies, you fill a magic gauge which can be used for a number of things. First of all you can use a small amout for "wicked weave" attacks, which are giant hands or feet you can summon to smash enemies for high damage, knock them out of the way, and hit crowds of enemies at a time. You can also use special abilities like teleportation for small amounts of magic per use. The main use of the magic gauge is to perform torture attacks. To do this your magic gauge must be full, and then you can use it to do very high damage to a particular enemy. Your magic gauge will go down if you get hit, so you are rewarded for playing perfectly without taking damage. In addition, if you kill an enemy with a torture attack you can take their weapon - and these weapons can be used a limited amount of times to cause further high damage.

    There are many types of enemies to face off against, and each have a range of attacks and projectiles. Some enemy classes can carry different weapons, which really makes them a whole different class of enemies as they have different attacks. Bayonetta is also one of the few games that has genuinely interesting boss fights. Admitedly, not all of them are so good, but most are pretty extreme, and most importantly, can be beaten without taking damage, once you are an expert.

    The reason why Bayonetta works is because everything is fair. It's a very, very hard game, that's for sure. But along with every enemy attack, there is a sound effect or visual clue to tell you what is about to happen. Things are not just happening out of the blue with no way to react. There is a lot of information to take in, but if you are able to keep track of the entire battle and learn the clues that lead to each enemy attack, then you can fight aggressively, non-stop, whilst also being able to evade.

    This leads me to the genius that is the dodge-offset. You can perform a backflip at any time, which gives you a split second of invulnerability. This works as a standard dodge for all occassions, but if you time it exactly as an enemy attack reaches you, then you are rewarded with "witch time" (slow motion) for a few moments to get payback. In pretty much all other fighting games of this kind, if you are on the offensive, and then a projectile comes your way, you have to cancel your attack, and evade. Bayonetta introduces the dodge-offset, which allows you to hold down the button of your last attack, then press the evade button, then continue from the middle of your previous combo. After a little practice, it becomes apparent that the developers of Bayonetta are geniuses, and all other games are not worth playing because of this.

    You can replay each mission to try to earn medals, based upon time, damage taken, inventory items used, and combo points earned. This is the real challenge, aiming for perfection. Just surviving the game on each difficulty is hard enough, but living up to what the designers consider to be perfection is a whole different level of difficulty. It's up to you how serious you're going to take this game. I guess you can just get through it and enjoy it on some shallow level. But if you put the time in, you can achieve so much more, and experiment with what all the weapons and items have to offer.
    Expand
  86. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This is realy great game but to bad that there is no PC verion of this game (:
    The combat system is great the whole game is amazing but this game is not better then Devil May Cry 4 (:
  87. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    I've played many action/hack and slash games, everything from Devil May Cry to God of War to No More Heroes to Castlevania: Lords of Shadow. While all of those games are amazing, none of them match the brilliance of Bayonetta. Essentially what I'm saying here is that Bayonetta is the best action game I've ever played.

    From a graphical standpoint, this game does not disappoint. The
    I've played many action/hack and slash games, everything from Devil May Cry to God of War to No More Heroes to Castlevania: Lords of Shadow. While all of those games are amazing, none of them match the brilliance of Bayonetta. Essentially what I'm saying here is that Bayonetta is the best action game I've ever played.

    From a graphical standpoint, this game does not disappoint. The graphics are amazing, with outstanding enemy designs and ridiculous set pieces. The only issue is that there is frequent screen tearing which only happens in between fights. It's not much of an issue, just a noticeable flaw.
    The music too is excellent. For some reason, the mix of intense action and J-pop works very well. The best part of the sound track is a remake of Frank Sinatra's "Fly Me to the Moon" as a j-pop song.

    The actions in Bayonetta is on a whole other level. Every weapon allows for a large variety of of combos, and every combination of items between the hands and feet of Bayonetta allows for even more combos. Simply put, there are a lot of possibilities to work with. The best mechanic of the game is Witch Time, which is a slow motion mechanic that is activated with every split second dodge. The actions is perfect. Even better is the fact that the game encourages replay ability, adding to the already 10 hour length of the campaign.

    The main issue that people seem to have with this game is the story. The point of the story is not to have players on the edge of their seats with suspense, but rather to provide context for the ridiculous set pieces and fights that ensue.

    All in all, this game is damn near perfection. Every action fan should pick it up, considering it's only $20 these days.

    9.8/10
    Expand
  88. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    If you like the combat of hack and slash games such as DMC, DmC, Ninja Gaiden, God of War or Dante's inferno.You should try this game.

    The story and characters at first is very annoying however as the game progresses it becomes more and more interesting and it even has a twisted ending that you would never guess and you grow to love the silly characters. The game itself it's very
    If you like the combat of hack and slash games such as DMC, DmC, Ninja Gaiden, God of War or Dante's inferno.You should try this game.

    The story and characters at first is very annoying however as the game progresses it becomes more and more interesting and it even has a twisted ending that you would never guess and you grow to love the silly characters.
    The game itself it's very japanese(not in a kawaii style more like Viewtiful Joe) and if you don't like that style you are probably going to hate it. Also the tone is very girly (things like lipsticks, butterfly wings, violet and pink colors) however if you really don't mind the combination of gore with girly colors that's not a problem.
    The music it's awesome with many mixtures classic games music (like space harrier), jazz, upbeat techno, classical, etc.. and it's mostly awesome.
    The gameplay is the central piece of this game. The game is so fast and with such an awesome control over Bayonetta that you would feel it natural after a couple of hours. Also the levels are well designed and very different one from each other.After some days of bayonetta I returned to Dmc 3 and 4 and it was so slow and clumsy in comparison that I comeback to this game.
    The boss fights are epic as they can with huge with gargantuans as big as cities fighting against you.

    In conclusion, if you don't mind an over the top mixture of ridiculous history (like in DMC) and some girly tone and you are looking for an awesome combat gameplay and level design go for it.

    Notes:
    If you are the super serious masculine type of gamer that plays god of war, manhunt and hates japanese nonsense just play the game in mute, skip the cutscenes and put some metal music or something. The combat is so deep and fast paced that you won't mind after a while.Plus there is a lot of gore.

    If you played the demo and didn't like it give it a chance anyways I played it too and hate it but as it was a good reviewed hack n slash I bought it in a sale.Now I love it the demo is just so misleading to the actual gameplay due to the fact that the awesomeness of the combat starts to show after and hour or two in the game.
    Expand
  89. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Bayonetta is one of the most suprising games ever made! I didn't expect much, but the fun you get from it: the laughs and cries, it's all pure gold! I rarely enjoy this kind of games but Bayonetta made me like this genre more. It looks good, it feels good and the storyline is funny but serious in the same time... weird game in brilliant package!
  90. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    this game is better than god of war
    but its not as good as devil may cry
    bayonetta is one the hotest girl on videogame
    bayonetta has a good gameplay, good graphics
    its a fun game.
  91. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    A wonderful game, with good mechanics, no glitches that I could find, an excellent story, and good characters. Some of the tribute pieces, such as Verses 1 and 2 of Chapter 14, seem out of place, but the rest of the game makes up for it. The sexuality in the game is so overblown as to be comical rather than insulting, but can still be annoying at times. I easily put 60 hours into the game,A wonderful game, with good mechanics, no glitches that I could find, an excellent story, and good characters. Some of the tribute pieces, such as Verses 1 and 2 of Chapter 14, seem out of place, but the rest of the game makes up for it. The sexuality in the game is so overblown as to be comical rather than insulting, but can still be annoying at times. I easily put 60 hours into the game, and would have put in more time had I not lent it to a friend. Buy this game. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. A game that exemplifies so much of what commentators claim has died in the Japanese game industry. A blast of creative brilliance, both technically accomplished, strategically deep and infused with rare imagination, Bayonetta represents the pinnacle of its chosen niche. [JPN Import]
  2. A beautiful and graceful fighting game that lets imagination loose, and winks before slapping Dante, Kratos and every other hero back to the drawing board. [Christmas 2009, p.90]
  3. Astonishingly, every one of these dazzling battles is thrilling without overstaying its welcome - and also challenges you without being cheap. [Jan 2009, p.66]