Bayonetta Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 587 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 587
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2014
    0
    Worst game I have played in my life.
    Its like DmC with a lot of bronze powder.

    The story is a bad joke, making have hard to stay playing this game after some hours.
  2. KarlS.
    Mar 11, 2010
    4
    This is pretty much a game designed around a character, a horendiosly over the top, awkwardly voice acted and all around anatomically out of proportion character. The story is bland at best, I think they did that on purpose so you could stare at the "eyes" of the main character durring cut scenes and not have to worry about missing out on anything important. On the side of gameplay its This is pretty much a game designed around a character, a horendiosly over the top, awkwardly voice acted and all around anatomically out of proportion character. The story is bland at best, I think they did that on purpose so you could stare at the "eyes" of the main character durring cut scenes and not have to worry about missing out on anything important. On the side of gameplay its fun at first but does drag on and begins to become very repetitive, repetive in the sence that this game is way longer than any button mashing shooter ever should be, the few "driving" scenes are closer to way too long on rail cutscenes where all you have to do is hold down a and the trigger simultaniosly....for about 10 minutes....the replay value is, well who am i kidding, what replay value? the most you'll get out of a second go is a few more moments of cleavage before you get tired to hitting the same three buttons over and over again. All in all the game is yet another washed out DMC wanna be with a trying too hard to be OTT character and terrible music. I have to give them one thing though, the badies look f***ing awesome. Expand
  3. BobL
    Jan 13, 2010
    2
    The movies between levels and between the parts within the levels were long enough for me to jackoff to the long legged chick with the tiny head but I hardly got to play the game. Even after I cleaned up she looked so hot just walking around slowly and everytime I did a combo her costume came off so ofcourse I started jacking and the bad guys killed me. Poorly thought out game.
  4. RalphPootawn
    Jan 5, 2010
    1
    I did not like the game one bit, the generic hack n slash, bad j-pop, bad story and horrible character design just wasn't for me.
  5. Mike
    Jan 5, 2010
    2
    Terrible writing, ten tons of visual noise, can't be rescued by the decent combat system.
  6. ChipK
    Feb 22, 2010
    0
    What the hell is this crap? I returned it to GameStop (thank God for their satisfaction guarantee on used games) after playing through a handful of battles because it was just random button-mashing at monsters coming at you from every angle. It got really repetitive, really fast. Oh, and the story is absolutely nonsensical.
  7. SkullScience
    Feb 1, 2010
    4
    Hideously over-rated!!! Granted, the game looks fantastic, but I come from a generation (I am 32) that appreciates gameplay over graphics. The oxymoron is that the whole game is aimed at teenage boys as a substitute to porn, yet the age certificate contradicts its target audience. The game is just silly, and the gameplay is simply button mash, dodge, button mash, dodge. I know it is from Hideously over-rated!!! Granted, the game looks fantastic, but I come from a generation (I am 32) that appreciates gameplay over graphics. The oxymoron is that the whole game is aimed at teenage boys as a substitute to porn, yet the age certificate contradicts its target audience. The game is just silly, and the gameplay is simply button mash, dodge, button mash, dodge. I know it is from the same creator as 'Devil May Cry' and he sure shows a lack of originality. If this game had a 'Devil May Cry' title, no-one would have blinked. An average, unoriginal game that was way overhyped. Looks great but is boring to play. Darksiders is much superior. Expand
  8. DonnieS.
    Jan 7, 2010
    4
    I can't see what the fuss is about here. Games for me have always been about a great experience which includes story and character. Like a bad book without first a world and events that hold captivating interest I just don't see much for the player to hold on to. The sparse settings and horribly shallow soundtrack that feels like it was pulled from a flash based ad game leave me I can't see what the fuss is about here. Games for me have always been about a great experience which includes story and character. Like a bad book without first a world and events that hold captivating interest I just don't see much for the player to hold on to. The sparse settings and horribly shallow soundtrack that feels like it was pulled from a flash based ad game leave me feeling like I don't really belong and keep screaming to remind me, this is only a game, not something true of an absorbing experience. Besides the over the top action of stringing combos, there isn't much here past the hair monsters and boot guns. I would have been happier repeating the demo for free than to pay for the "full experience". Expand
  9. JeffS
    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    I agree these reviews have to all be fake -- they all mention the same dribbel. Having played this game, I can attest to it's crappiness. Sadly, they've already probably sold a million future coasters, ensuring that this vicious behavior continues.
  10. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 29, 2010
    3
    May word, how people were sucked in because a lady is the heroine of the piece! I seriously don't see how people, especially mags like Edge, could give this anything more than 6 at very best. The gameplay is too hap-hazard, graphics suffer when multiple enemies on are screen, and I honestly found it over-blown and frustrating! Fail on this one Sega.
  11. MattL.
    Jan 10, 2010
    3
    Bayonetta is one of the most overrated games I have ever played. After spending a few hours with it I became clear that the hype was unjustified. I seriously do not understand the glowing reviews this games is recieving. Sure you can perform some pretty cool moves but the enemies are much the same and Bayonetta is an extremely unlikeable character and WAY to over the top. I really wanted Bayonetta is one of the most overrated games I have ever played. After spending a few hours with it I became clear that the hype was unjustified. I seriously do not understand the glowing reviews this games is recieving. Sure you can perform some pretty cool moves but the enemies are much the same and Bayonetta is an extremely unlikeable character and WAY to over the top. I really wanted to like this game and had looked forward to playing it for weeks. I may be in the minority here so try it out and make up your own mind Expand
  12. BG
    Jan 13, 2010
    1
    These are fake reviews. This game ranks up there with GTA 4, halo 3 and fallout 3? I hate when companies do this.
  13. ChrisW
    Apr 26, 2010
    0
    This game has major problems , slow down, screen tearing, glitches. The combat is basic ( keep hitting the Y button to beat all enemies, the a.i. is retarded - you can keep your eyes closed + win easily.) You have to fight each boss AT LEAST twice, revisit every location in the game AT LEAST twice. The story is terrible, and the main character looks like a seven foot hairy crossdresser This game has major problems , slow down, screen tearing, glitches. The combat is basic ( keep hitting the Y button to beat all enemies, the a.i. is retarded - you can keep your eyes closed + win easily.) You have to fight each boss AT LEAST twice, revisit every location in the game AT LEAST twice. The story is terrible, and the main character looks like a seven foot hairy crossdresser with a freakishly small head. Plus you have to listen to the "fly me to the moon" song everytime you fight - which sux. In short , this is without doubt the 'CAMPEST' game ever, that requires no skill to play. And it has glitches and slowdown. I can't believe 'certain games mags ** cough, cough, EDGE and Game central, cough, cough** gave this game 10/10. I feel robbed. Save your money and get DMC, Ninja Gaiden or GOW instead. Expand
  14. QingweiJ.
    Jan 10, 2010
    6
    This not so serious action is too overrated.
  15. AnthonyS.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Simply put, if your a fan of the action genre this game is a dream come true. A must buy
  16. BillD.
    Jan 8, 2010
    0
    This game is a rental, there is no replayability after playing it twice (if you can stand it) you wont want to play it ever again. This game is a mesh of elements from many other games and the innovations are ludicrous. I mean her hair is a weapon and her hip-hop ground spin is a lame attempt at being cool for the kids. Weak game over-all, if you haven't bought this don't save This game is a rental, there is no replayability after playing it twice (if you can stand it) you wont want to play it ever again. This game is a mesh of elements from many other games and the innovations are ludicrous. I mean her hair is a weapon and her hip-hop ground spin is a lame attempt at being cool for the kids. Weak game over-all, if you haven't bought this don't save your money for Mass Effect 2 and rent this game if you must. Expand
  17. nacorC.
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    the best of the best in it genre. Crazy replayability. A must buy for hack n slash lovers.
  18. VinceP.
    Jan 21, 2010
    5
    I feel as if I've played this game already, about 4 times now... Devil May Cry 1 - 4 I think... Let's do something original, not something just aimed at getting off 15 year olds.
  19. JasonB.
    Jan 28, 2010
    6
    I kept asking myself as I was playing...how can a game that's all action spectacle be boring? Well, the same way any media with Mary-Sues can be boring. The characters are just bland, the plot nonexistent, and after the 1800th slow-mo ludicrous cutscene, it just gets annoying. The game hits the hyped-up high points like neat set pieces and very fluid action, but it just gets boring I kept asking myself as I was playing...how can a game that's all action spectacle be boring? Well, the same way any media with Mary-Sues can be boring. The characters are just bland, the plot nonexistent, and after the 1800th slow-mo ludicrous cutscene, it just gets annoying. The game hits the hyped-up high points like neat set pieces and very fluid action, but it just gets boring when everything's so over the top and the characters so one-dimensional. We get it...you can flip in slow-motion...next? Very overrated. Expand
  20. JohnnyS.
    Jan 28, 2010
    5
    Classic example of style over substance - if you can really call this stylish. If you're not already dog tired of dodge and juggle button mashing mechanics after four rounds of Devil May Cry, then you might find something to like amidst the deliberately camp histrionics and overwrought cut scenes. The rest of us will wonder what the fuss is about and exactly how much a perfect 40 Classic example of style over substance - if you can really call this stylish. If you're not already dog tired of dodge and juggle button mashing mechanics after four rounds of Devil May Cry, then you might find something to like amidst the deliberately camp histrionics and overwrought cut scenes. The rest of us will wonder what the fuss is about and exactly how much a perfect 40 from Famitsu costs these days. Expand
  21. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    I've owned this game three times from launch. I've gone from hating to loving it, and back and forth. It's taken years for me to be able to say this: Bayonetta is without a doubt the best 3rd person action game ever made. It has nowhere near the scope of God of War, my other favorite, but the wide open creative gameplay just can't be beat.
  22. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Coming from the creator of Devil may Cry it was expected this game would have some kind of innovation and it did not disappoint the combat system is the best out at this point, graphics look great and there are plenty of unlockables to keep you busy for weeks (months ... depending on how much you play).
    This game should not be missed. 10/10
  23. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely brilliant and a real action Masterpiece. Games of this high a quality are a rarity these days and with Dante as good as dead, we now look to Bayonetta to carry the torch.
  24. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Look at the graphics bam boom whoosh the music, the combat, the combos holy **** this game is amazing! Play it, goddamn it! The real DMC sequel, and one of the finest games on the 360. Get it.
  25. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    I know I'm just some dude on the Internet, but you've got to believe me when I say that Bayonetta is the finest action game of the generation and one of the defining games of the genre, Period. If you love action games like DMC or Ninja Gaiden, prepare to have your mind blown by this incredible game!
  26. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    This review is a response to the recent announcement of Bayonetta 2 for the Wii U. I have to admit, the first one was the main reason I bought the XBOX 360. It's a great game done by former members of CLOVER STUDIOS of CAPCOM...wow. Great graphics, superb controls and overall high production values made this an instant classic. The bad thing was that SEGA, its original publisher was inThis review is a response to the recent announcement of Bayonetta 2 for the Wii U. I have to admit, the first one was the main reason I bought the XBOX 360. It's a great game done by former members of CLOVER STUDIOS of CAPCOM...wow. Great graphics, superb controls and overall high production values made this an instant classic. The bad thing was that SEGA, its original publisher was in financial trouble and 'cancelled' this title. Nintendo ended up picking the tab and was 'attacked' by 'fan boys' for making it exclusive to the Wii U. I think these fan boys are over-reacting a bit. I owned a Wii as well and let me tell you, despite its 'outdated' graphics, it hosted some of the most innovative games of this generation. The Wonderful 101, which PG developed for the Wii U exclusively looked great. So will Bayonetta 2...Having Platinum Games developed it for the Wii U will only make it better. Expand
  27. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    This is what a lot of other action game should be. Funny, attractive, endless cutscenes and new stuff to do. You never get bored. The story keep you moving. It's just amazing. It deserves a 10 but the downside is that it's just too short. Should have more levels there. The replay is awesome though.
  28. May 5, 2012
    10
    Bayonetta is a beautiful cinematic game with almost no flaws. Definitely one of the greatest action games out, possibly one of the greatest ever. The best an action game can get.
  29. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Amazing, inspirational game! The story line is captivating and funny. Bayonetta's skills and personality all around are amazing, plus she's very sexy. The combos are creative. It's more of a "Devil-May-Cry" styled game. The cliche' good vs bad plot was taken into a bit of unoriginal and created into it's own. The graphics are great. I think it's safe to say that this is one of my favorite games.
  30. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    THE BEST GAME EVER!!!! Bayonetta is a new incredible saga, with an interesting story, great gamepelay, this is one of my favorite titles. Bayonetta is a classic.
  31. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    One of the best games ever i have played. Heavy gameplay, nice graphics, sexy woman..;)
    I love this game and waiting for chapter 2. This game is for all fans of DMC.
  32. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    This game is serious stuff. This is the best action game I've ever played in my entire life. It's funny as hell, hectic, challenging and above all COOL. There are very very few games that I would give a 10, but Bayonetta is completely flawless.
  33. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Best shasher Game ever. Bayonetta beat DMC, Ninja Gaiden and God Of War! Great game design, lot of funny dialogs and animations. If You like slashers - bui It - you dont sell this game to fast!
  34. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    Really a fantastic game. Great combat, brilliant visuals and interesting story. Granted, it is a blatant Devil May Cry clone, but an extremely good one and it does do enough of its own thing to be considered original. The visuals in the game are just remarkable and truly quite original (or at least creatively used if I'm wrong.) The gameplay is just non-stop fun and can be as simple orReally a fantastic game. Great combat, brilliant visuals and interesting story. Granted, it is a blatant Devil May Cry clone, but an extremely good one and it does do enough of its own thing to be considered original. The visuals in the game are just remarkable and truly quite original (or at least creatively used if I'm wrong.) The gameplay is just non-stop fun and can be as simple or complex as you want, with a very reasonable learning curve. My only gripe with this game would be the lack of real character development for most of the side characters. Aside from Bayonetta and Jeanne, the rest of the cast seem very underdone and given little depth. Overall: Bayonetta is just a great game that I thoroughly enjoyed. Expand
  35. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best games that I played in my life, I dont understand the bad critics about Bayonetta, maybe this guys wants attention
  36. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    Okay so to start off, I thought Bayonetta looked alright, but wasn't sure how it would play. Turns out it's Devil May Cry but with guns on your feet and dragons made out of hair. There is very little that is wrong with this game, in fact it is one of the finest I have ever played.

    The point of this game is the same as Devil May Cry - kill everything, and do so whilst jumping around the
    Okay so to start off, I thought Bayonetta looked alright, but wasn't sure how it would play. Turns out it's Devil May Cry but with guns on your feet and dragons made out of hair. There is very little that is wrong with this game, in fact it is one of the finest I have ever played.

    The point of this game is the same as Devil May Cry - kill everything, and do so whilst jumping around the screen or teleporting, jumping off enemies' heads, and avoiding getting hit by all the hundreds of projectiles or diving attacks from the enemies that surround you. There is also a story but I don't care.

    You can assign one set of weapons to Bayonetta's hands, and one set to her feet (some weapons can be assigned to both, others are unique like the sword and iceskates). As well as this, you can have an alternative set of weapons on your hands and feet, which you can switch between whenever you want. So you have access to 2 sets of hand weapons, and 2 sets of feet weapons. Pressing the punch or kick buttons in sequences with or without pauses create different combos, and each set of weapons on her hands and feet work together for different combos. Most attacks and combos however do follow a pattern, but there are also unique attacks for each weapon, and sometimes unique attacks for a particular set of weapons. Basically, the amount of variety available here is astonishing when you consider that there are eight weapons to combine together.

    As you fight and taunt enemies, you fill a magic gauge which can be used for a number of things. First of all you can use a small amout for "wicked weave" attacks, which are giant hands or feet you can summon to smash enemies for high damage, knock them out of the way, and hit crowds of enemies at a time. You can also use special abilities like teleportation for small amounts of magic per use. The main use of the magic gauge is to perform torture attacks. To do this your magic gauge must be full, and then you can use it to do very high damage to a particular enemy. Your magic gauge will go down if you get hit, so you are rewarded for playing perfectly without taking damage. In addition, if you kill an enemy with a torture attack you can take their weapon - and these weapons can be used a limited amount of times to cause further high damage.

    There are many types of enemies to face off against, and each have a range of attacks and projectiles. Some enemy classes can carry different weapons, which really makes them a whole different class of enemies as they have different attacks. Bayonetta is also one of the few games that has genuinely interesting boss fights. Admitedly, not all of them are so good, but most are pretty extreme, and most importantly, can be beaten without taking damage, once you are an expert.

    The reason why Bayonetta works is because everything is fair. It's a very, very hard game, that's for sure. But along with every enemy attack, there is a sound effect or visual clue to tell you what is about to happen. Things are not just happening out of the blue with no way to react. There is a lot of information to take in, but if you are able to keep track of the entire battle and learn the clues that lead to each enemy attack, then you can fight aggressively, non-stop, whilst also being able to evade.

    This leads me to the genius that is the dodge-offset. You can perform a backflip at any time, which gives you a split second of invulnerability. This works as a standard dodge for all occassions, but if you time it exactly as an enemy attack reaches you, then you are rewarded with "witch time" (slow motion) for a few moments to get payback. In pretty much all other fighting games of this kind, if you are on the offensive, and then a projectile comes your way, you have to cancel your attack, and evade. Bayonetta introduces the dodge-offset, which allows you to hold down the button of your last attack, then press the evade button, then continue from the middle of your previous combo. After a little practice, it becomes apparent that the developers of Bayonetta are geniuses, and all other games are not worth playing because of this.

    You can replay each mission to try to earn medals, based upon time, damage taken, inventory items used, and combo points earned. This is the real challenge, aiming for perfection. Just surviving the game on each difficulty is hard enough, but living up to what the designers consider to be perfection is a whole different level of difficulty. It's up to you how serious you're going to take this game. I guess you can just get through it and enjoy it on some shallow level. But if you put the time in, you can achieve so much more, and experiment with what all the weapons and items have to offer.
    Expand
  37. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This is realy great game but to bad that there is no PC verion of this game (:
    The combat system is great the whole game is amazing but this game is not better then Devil May Cry 4 (:
  38. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    I've played many action/hack and slash games, everything from Devil May Cry to God of War to No More Heroes to Castlevania: Lords of Shadow. While all of those games are amazing, none of them match the brilliance of Bayonetta. Essentially what I'm saying here is that Bayonetta is the best action game I've ever played.

    From a graphical standpoint, this game does not disappoint. The
    I've played many action/hack and slash games, everything from Devil May Cry to God of War to No More Heroes to Castlevania: Lords of Shadow. While all of those games are amazing, none of them match the brilliance of Bayonetta. Essentially what I'm saying here is that Bayonetta is the best action game I've ever played.

    From a graphical standpoint, this game does not disappoint. The graphics are amazing, with outstanding enemy designs and ridiculous set pieces. The only issue is that there is frequent screen tearing which only happens in between fights. It's not much of an issue, just a noticeable flaw.
    The music too is excellent. For some reason, the mix of intense action and J-pop works very well. The best part of the sound track is a remake of Frank Sinatra's "Fly Me to the Moon" as a j-pop song.

    The actions in Bayonetta is on a whole other level. Every weapon allows for a large variety of of combos, and every combination of items between the hands and feet of Bayonetta allows for even more combos. Simply put, there are a lot of possibilities to work with. The best mechanic of the game is Witch Time, which is a slow motion mechanic that is activated with every split second dodge. The actions is perfect. Even better is the fact that the game encourages replay ability, adding to the already 10 hour length of the campaign.

    The main issue that people seem to have with this game is the story. The point of the story is not to have players on the edge of their seats with suspense, but rather to provide context for the ridiculous set pieces and fights that ensue.

    All in all, this game is damn near perfection. Every action fan should pick it up, considering it's only $20 these days.

    9.8/10
    Expand
  39. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    If you like the combat of hack and slash games such as DMC, DmC, Ninja Gaiden, God of War or Dante's inferno.You should try this game.

    The story and characters at first is very annoying however as the game progresses it becomes more and more interesting and it even has a twisted ending that you would never guess and you grow to love the silly characters. The game itself it's very
    If you like the combat of hack and slash games such as DMC, DmC, Ninja Gaiden, God of War or Dante's inferno.You should try this game.

    The story and characters at first is very annoying however as the game progresses it becomes more and more interesting and it even has a twisted ending that you would never guess and you grow to love the silly characters.
    The game itself it's very japanese(not in a kawaii style more like Viewtiful Joe) and if you don't like that style you are probably going to hate it. Also the tone is very girly (things like lipsticks, butterfly wings, violet and pink colors) however if you really don't mind the combination of gore with girly colors that's not a problem.
    The music it's awesome with many mixtures classic games music (like space harrier), jazz, upbeat techno, classical, etc.. and it's mostly awesome.
    The gameplay is the central piece of this game. The game is so fast and with such an awesome control over Bayonetta that you would feel it natural after a couple of hours. Also the levels are well designed and very different one from each other.After some days of bayonetta I returned to Dmc 3 and 4 and it was so slow and clumsy in comparison that I comeback to this game.
    The boss fights are epic as they can with huge with gargantuans as big as cities fighting against you.

    In conclusion, if you don't mind an over the top mixture of ridiculous history (like in DMC) and some girly tone and you are looking for an awesome combat gameplay and level design go for it.

    Notes:
    If you are the super serious masculine type of gamer that plays god of war, manhunt and hates japanese nonsense just play the game in mute, skip the cutscenes and put some metal music or something. The combat is so deep and fast paced that you won't mind after a while.Plus there is a lot of gore.

    If you played the demo and didn't like it give it a chance anyways I played it too and hate it but as it was a good reviewed hack n slash I bought it in a sale.Now I love it the demo is just so misleading to the actual gameplay due to the fact that the awesomeness of the combat starts to show after and hour or two in the game.
    Expand
  40. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Bayonetta is one of the most suprising games ever made! I didn't expect much, but the fun you get from it: the laughs and cries, it's all pure gold! I rarely enjoy this kind of games but Bayonetta made me like this genre more. It looks good, it feels good and the storyline is funny but serious in the same time... weird game in brilliant package!
  41. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    this game is better than god of war
    but its not as good as devil may cry
    bayonetta is one the hotest girl on videogame
    bayonetta has a good gameplay, good graphics
    its a fun game.
  42. Mar 21, 2015
    8
    The director of the original Devil May Cry, Hideki Kamiya brings us another satisfying action game. The mix of ranged and melee combat brings back nostalgic memories of the PS2's demon hunter Dante. But don't just expect a Devil May Cry game under a different. Bayonetta has a personality and flair to combat all her own.

    Platinum Games tries to add a little sexy to death with their
    The director of the original Devil May Cry, Hideki Kamiya brings us another satisfying action game. The mix of ranged and melee combat brings back nostalgic memories of the PS2's demon hunter Dante. But don't just expect a Devil May Cry game under a different. Bayonetta has a personality and flair to combat all her own.

    Platinum Games tries to add a little sexy to death with their heroine. The results are a little uncomfortable. The rampant over-sexualization of the character actually made me dislike her a bit. The amount of suggestive poses and brief flashes of nudity gets out of hand at times. It tries to approach with some humor and a tongue-in-cheek tone, but that doesn't change the fact that it's still inappropriate. Bayonetta will be empowering women one minute only to keep them objectified the next.

    Luckily though it doesn't affect the mostly excellent gameplay. There is plenty of diversity to how you can approach combat. Different weapons can be combined on either Bayonetta's hands or feet. The simple act of changing where you equip a weapon changes your overall combat style and how combos will react. It's pretty brilliant. Enemy variety is also appreciated as they all have their distinctive qualities and require different approaches. A few boss battles make too many reappearances, but it's not a huge issue. There is a healthy challenge to this game. A few camera issues get in the way, but it's not a huge deal.

    It's also got some length behind and plenty of reasons to return thanks to unlockables. Higher difficulties will keep those looking for a real fight coming back. The length though is kind of an issue. It's nice that it's not a few hour romp, but it's clear that some sections go on for too long at times. There is some pretty obvious padding that causes the game to overstay it's welcome by just a little bit.

    However none of it's minor issues destroy this great action game. It's a spiritual successor that expands on a great series. They did go a bit overboard sexing up the title character and some segments go on for too long, but none of that changed the fact that I was having a blast with the great combat. Those who love their action games should check this one out.
    Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2015
    9
    An absolute masterpiece, it has everything you want in a videogame. It has length, content, game-play, grapics, 60 fps. but the long pencil legs that bayonetta has are laughable, as well as her tiny head
  44. Jul 10, 2016
    7
    I want tell you this game's bad thing. First, the difficulty. this game's 'normal' difficulty is 'hard' difficulty in other games. i really wanted to play game between normal and easy difficulty. easy difficulty is too easy. even there exist very easy mode. 'easy' mode can clear with only button attack. Second, there is no practice mode. i didn't know the combo until see ending.
  45. Jul 5, 2015
    3
    The graphics are very good, I'll grant you that. The story and game play however are just boring after a very short period of playing. I was scratching my head the first half hour trying to work out what the game is about because I was looking for depth that wasn't there. Mostly a button masher at normal difficulty. I don't understand the over the top ratings this game got. The cut scenesThe graphics are very good, I'll grant you that. The story and game play however are just boring after a very short period of playing. I was scratching my head the first half hour trying to work out what the game is about because I was looking for depth that wasn't there. Mostly a button masher at normal difficulty. I don't understand the over the top ratings this game got. The cut scenes are way too long and boring. I don't think I'm likely to finish it. Expand
  46. Apr 14, 2016
    7
    very charismatic character and with personality. The game is quite active scenarios are cool. In addition you have a good list of moves. This very well but there Ninja gaiden this bayonetta knows very little.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. A game that exemplifies so much of what commentators claim has died in the Japanese game industry. A blast of creative brilliance, both technically accomplished, strategically deep and infused with rare imagination, Bayonetta represents the pinnacle of its chosen niche. [JPN Import]
  2. A beautiful and graceful fighting game that lets imagination loose, and winks before slapping Dante, Kratos and every other hero back to the drawing board. [Christmas 2009, p.90]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    Astonishingly, every one of these dazzling battles is thrilling without overstaying its welcome - and also challenges you without being cheap. [Jan 2009, p.66]