Bayonetta Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 598 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 598
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RonanF.
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    This game is perfect, absolut contagios Jogo excelente, sistema de batalha unico e perfeito
  2. MichaelB
    Jan 16, 2010
    7
    Bayonetta is a beautiful, over-the-top action game a la Devil May Cry. And, if you're a fan of that style, you'll love thie game, but it's all button-mashing to me.
  3. RobertoDelaT
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    this game is awesome, the variety of battle movements of bayonetta and the challenging boss enemies. Grats and thanks platinum games.
  4. JamesS
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Jumps up my personal list as one of the best games I've ever played (and I've been playing games for 28 years). You have to play this and judge for yourself and hopefully you'll find something here as enduring as I did. It's all about the gameplay. Do not let the cynics fool you into thinking it's repititive; I guarantee none of them have the skills needed to get Jumps up my personal list as one of the best games I've ever played (and I've been playing games for 28 years). You have to play this and judge for yourself and hopefully you'll find something here as enduring as I did. It's all about the gameplay. Do not let the cynics fool you into thinking it's repititive; I guarantee none of them have the skills needed to get through this challenging game. Lots of variety (you map numerous weapons to your hands AND feet opening up a lot of different combos). Great great great replay to those who love challenging themselves and having fun. Expand
  5. SkullScience
    Feb 1, 2010
    4
    Hideously over-rated!!! Granted, the game looks fantastic, but I come from a generation (I am 32) that appreciates gameplay over graphics. The oxymoron is that the whole game is aimed at teenage boys as a substitute to porn, yet the age certificate contradicts its target audience. The game is just silly, and the gameplay is simply button mash, dodge, button mash, dodge. I know it is from Hideously over-rated!!! Granted, the game looks fantastic, but I come from a generation (I am 32) that appreciates gameplay over graphics. The oxymoron is that the whole game is aimed at teenage boys as a substitute to porn, yet the age certificate contradicts its target audience. The game is just silly, and the gameplay is simply button mash, dodge, button mash, dodge. I know it is from the same creator as 'Devil May Cry' and he sure shows a lack of originality. If this game had a 'Devil May Cry' title, no-one would have blinked. An average, unoriginal game that was way overhyped. Looks great but is boring to play. Darksiders is much superior. Expand
  6. Luigi
    Mar 18, 2010
    5
    Awful camera issues and screen fulls of so much 'stuff' that you can't even see the character you're controlling make this one of the most over rated games ever. Almost unplayable for me. I really like the DMC games, so it's not even a cas of if you like that... This is just a poor clone IMO.
  7. RobD
    Mar 29, 2010
    9
    I too have Briefly looked at a few user comments & critics as well. WTF is up w the ridiculously LOW scores? Do people NOT do ANY research B4 buying anything? If a gamer is too stupid to know what genre game they are buying & then bash it because they are mad at themselves that is BS! The Same holds true for critics partial to specific types that seemingly forget they are reviewing the I too have Briefly looked at a few user comments & critics as well. WTF is up w the ridiculously LOW scores? Do people NOT do ANY research B4 buying anything? If a gamer is too stupid to know what genre game they are buying & then bash it because they are mad at themselves that is BS! The Same holds true for critics partial to specific types that seemingly forget they are reviewing the product based on quality NOT their preferences! This is similar to the Devil May Cry series & I,for one, happen to Like these titles a LOT. I have still Only rated this a 9 rather than just popping a 10 because Bayonetta is Not perfect but it does almost everything right. The 1 point deduction I gave is for the fact that Bayonetta IS a niche title. as Many have stated this does fit the Love or Hate category well but Should satisfy Most fans of quality action games. I am Not a FPS fan but you don't see me dropping 1s on CODMW2 or BC2. Extend the Same courtesy as we should be helping one another by providing Fair & Accurate reviews! Expand
  8. RandallH
    Jun 14, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is an over the top all out fun in an old school hard sort of way extravaganza. The graphics are beautiful, the score is wonderful, though you will likely grow tired of the main combat theme over multiple playthroughs. Incredible replayability and more unlockables than any game I have seen in years. Definitely worth the price of admission to get this great game.
  9. EddieT.
    Jan 11, 2010
    5
    This game's combat is very repetitive. The main character has the most atrocious character design I've ever seen in my life. The story is completely ridiculous. I expected much more from the creators of Devil May Cry.
  10. PaulR.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Best action game i've ever played.
  11. RyanG.
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Honestly this is 1 of the best games ive ever played...and if you think this game is crap you are either crying for attention or have a slight case of retardation.
  12. Sceptic
    Jan 10, 2010
    8
    The Japanese have elevated story-telling in games to a new type of art form.I call it...shite. If you skip every cut-scene and don't listen to arguably the worst dialog in writing history,bayonetta is awesome.Yes,there is a game in there somewhere and it's pretty good.For me,this is just filler 'til mass effect 2 and bioshock 2 arrive amongst some other excellent The Japanese have elevated story-telling in games to a new type of art form.I call it...shite. If you skip every cut-scene and don't listen to arguably the worst dialog in writing history,bayonetta is awesome.Yes,there is a game in there somewhere and it's pretty good.For me,this is just filler 'til mass effect 2 and bioshock 2 arrive amongst some other excellent tiltles.Just keep the receipt for this one though... Expand
  13. QingweiJ.
    Jan 10, 2010
    6
    This not so serious action is too overrated.
  14. SeanM
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    This game is near perfect. The game does draw out near the middle/end, but will pick the pace at the end. It is around 10 hours if you rush through normal. I would like to see some sort of horde/firefight like mode on it, but future DLC could fix this. Also, the sexual themes in this game are there for a comedic effect, its there to laugh at, intentionally or not. If you like This game is near perfect. The game does draw out near the middle/end, but will pick the pace at the end. It is around 10 hours if you rush through normal. I would like to see some sort of horde/firefight like mode on it, but future DLC could fix this. Also, the sexual themes in this game are there for a comedic effect, its there to laugh at, intentionally or not. If you like action/hack-and-slash, I recommend it. Expand
  15. DaveL
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is an awe inspiring game with flashy attacks combined with a fluidity most games could only dream of. This game is clearly not for all gamers but if you like fast paced action games, then you might enjoy this. The fighting system works well once you play through normal and attempt hard, the game progresses once you learn the moves, it is certainly most not a hack n' slash Bayonetta is an awe inspiring game with flashy attacks combined with a fluidity most games could only dream of. This game is clearly not for all gamers but if you like fast paced action games, then you might enjoy this. The fighting system works well once you play through normal and attempt hard, the game progresses once you learn the moves, it is certainly most not a hack n' slash despite what others might say. Bayonetta may have a bit of a confusing story but it becomes clearly towards the end, The replay system is an absolute joy as things become once easier. The creators clearly has a plan to make the game sexual in nature, but it is integrated smoothly and in a seductive way. The game overall is a must buy if you are patient enough to take the time to learn moves, learn enemies, and enjoy the sometimes over the top attacks. 10/10 easy Expand
  16. CRAIGB
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    I wasn't too sure when I first started playing Bayonetta but now I love it, its funny, has amazing game play and its a bit twisted which is fun.
  17. JJS.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This game looks and plays beautifully, possibly the best combat system out there at this time.
  18. RicardoPulido
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Games like this don't come around very often, while Kamiya's title doesn't re-invent the genre it certainly rocks the hell out of it. Don't judge a book by it's cover, is the name of the game with Bayonetta. Do yourself a favor and star your new year with one of the best action titles to be released in this generation. In three words: Non-Stop-Climax.
  19. AnthonyS.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Simply put, if your a fan of the action genre this game is a dream come true. A must buy
  20. KenM.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Great game filled with action and sexiness from alpha to omega!
  21. ChristianG.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This is the best fighting game out there right now. The gameplay mechanics are so fluid and redeeming, the story is incredibly bizzare and exciting, and the characters are fantastic. The game is also incredibly hard, but it's too much fun. Definitely a "must" buy.
  22. BruceL.
    Jan 5, 2010
    5
    I have the game, played it and did not enjoy it. I really do not understand the score of the reviewers, I believe something might be terribly wrong with me, or terribly right like Copernicus and his claim that the earth is round. I myself claim Bayonetta is a very average game that should not be praised. The story is plain dumb and without any depth. The characters are gimmicks and not in I have the game, played it and did not enjoy it. I really do not understand the score of the reviewers, I believe something might be terribly wrong with me, or terribly right like Copernicus and his claim that the earth is round. I myself claim Bayonetta is a very average game that should not be praised. The story is plain dumb and without any depth. The characters are gimmicks and not in the Quentin Tarantino way, but in the gimmick boring way. Nothing is "sexy" about this game unless you enjoy overgrown transsexuals which is what Bayonetta looks like. The graphics are average and the music simply doesn't work. IT doesn't make it sexy, it doesn't make it bad ass, it kills the coolness of the fighting. The only good thing the game has is the Witch Time, the Evade mechanics and the combat system in general. You can't give a game such a high score for just that, or can you? In conclusion, it's an average game with nothing special. The combat is great, but the bad camera and the chaotic nature of the gameplay makes it a mindless button mashing. Most of the time I can kill everything in sight with my eyes closed, and I'm not kidding. Good play through for a rental on a boring weekend, nothing else. Expand
  23. PedroA.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    It's Amazing. Congratulations SEGA.
  24. AlanJ.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, fast paced, great story line, excellent graphics. Everything a good game should be.
  25. JasonC.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    While this game isn't really worth a 10 from its lack of story, there's no way I'm going to give it a 9. I wish there was a 9.5 or even 9.7 rating because the combat is just that good. You'll be laughing at and with the game the entire time and with DMC creators doing the combat theres never a moment -ever- where the controls do something different than what you While this game isn't really worth a 10 from its lack of story, there's no way I'm going to give it a 9. I wish there was a 9.5 or even 9.7 rating because the combat is just that good. You'll be laughing at and with the game the entire time and with DMC creators doing the combat theres never a moment -ever- where the controls do something different than what you wanted. This game has -perfect- gameplay. Expand
  26. KingG.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta has ruined me for all other action games.
  27. DonnieS.
    Jan 7, 2010
    4
    I can't see what the fuss is about here. Games for me have always been about a great experience which includes story and character. Like a bad book without first a world and events that hold captivating interest I just don't see much for the player to hold on to. The sparse settings and horribly shallow soundtrack that feels like it was pulled from a flash based ad game leave me I can't see what the fuss is about here. Games for me have always been about a great experience which includes story and character. Like a bad book without first a world and events that hold captivating interest I just don't see much for the player to hold on to. The sparse settings and horribly shallow soundtrack that feels like it was pulled from a flash based ad game leave me feeling like I don't really belong and keep screaming to remind me, this is only a game, not something true of an absorbing experience. Besides the over the top action of stringing combos, there isn't much here past the hair monsters and boot guns. I would have been happier repeating the demo for free than to pay for the "full experience". Expand
  28. AmandaK.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Game is absolutely beautiful and well-done. Little lacking in how the story shows through during the game. I asked many times "what am I doing now?" or "Whats going on?". But it didn't really matter because I was having fun playing. Bayonetta's intelligence, sass, and sexiness. AWESOME.
  29. BillD.
    Jan 8, 2010
    0
    This game is a rental, there is no replayability after playing it twice (if you can stand it) you wont want to play it ever again. This game is a mesh of elements from many other games and the innovations are ludicrous. I mean her hair is a weapon and her hip-hop ground spin is a lame attempt at being cool for the kids. Weak game over-all, if you haven't bought this don't save This game is a rental, there is no replayability after playing it twice (if you can stand it) you wont want to play it ever again. This game is a mesh of elements from many other games and the innovations are ludicrous. I mean her hair is a weapon and her hip-hop ground spin is a lame attempt at being cool for the kids. Weak game over-all, if you haven't bought this don't save your money for Mass Effect 2 and rent this game if you must. Expand
  30. nacorC.
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    the best of the best in it genre. Crazy replayability. A must buy for hack n slash lovers.
  31. WilliamBradley
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    One of the best games I've played in a long long time.
  32. R.G
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I have to say, I am astonished to read a review from "gamers" that rate a game a zero (0), and for this game anything lower than a 5 is just imflamatory, from a person that must have a gripe from the developers! This game is so well done in gameplay, good graphics, music, and the story is just fun. YES, it is over the top and it is meant to be, it is a witch! It has a funfactor that I have to say, I am astonished to read a review from "gamers" that rate a game a zero (0), and for this game anything lower than a 5 is just imflamatory, from a person that must have a gripe from the developers! This game is so well done in gameplay, good graphics, music, and the story is just fun. YES, it is over the top and it is meant to be, it is a witch! It has a funfactor that anyone that considers themselves a gamer can enjoy. I am sick of people putting bs scores and it makes just remindes me that the world is full of idiots. I can find fun in most games, and if your a true gamer you should too. By the way a rating of a 4 is a game that has many flaws-this game does not have any flaws (framerate, tearing, etc.). So enough of my rant. This is one of the best games i have played in a long time, and i am sick of seeing scores on all games that are just plain stupid. Even games that are bland and not great like CSI games dont deserve lower than a 4 or 5, and those games dont add much of anything to gaming. Expand
  33. CollinJ
    Feb 22, 2010
    9
    I must say, I have to laugh at everyone who thinks these reviews are fake. It's a love-it-or-hate-it type game, and personally I love it. Most of the comments say "Save money for ME2" or "I'm gonna play CoD instead."... This isn't Cod. This isn't Mass Effect, it's a completely different genre entirely. The battle system is very fluid, the visuals are amazing. I must say, I have to laugh at everyone who thinks these reviews are fake. It's a love-it-or-hate-it type game, and personally I love it. Most of the comments say "Save money for ME2" or "I'm gonna play CoD instead."... This isn't Cod. This isn't Mass Effect, it's a completely different genre entirely. The battle system is very fluid, the visuals are amazing. Sure, you can get through the entire game button mashing, but that's not the POINT! If you build up your combos and take pride in pulling off bad-ass combos, it's a very fulfilling game. I agree the cinematics drug on a bit, but this is a game of spectacle. If you don't enjoy this sort of thing, grade it on the merits this sort of game is normally based. The action is fluid, and it does a good job of occasionally shifting up the action. And as for Bayonetta being over the top and a transparant character... She's supposed to be over the top, but is definately not two dimensional. If you'd play more through the game, she story has enough twists to keep it interesting. The game is supposed to be ripe in self-parody, that's what it's always been meant to be. And it is extremely replayable, but only if you're a perfectionist and want to unlock all the extra modes and costumes. Overall I give this game a 9; the only gripe I have with it is some occasional sputerring of the frame rate. Expand
  34. JeffR
    Feb 24, 2010
    1
    Is it legal for a company to flod the market with Fake reviews? Just throwing you hands up and explaining that all the crap that makes the game so awful is done on purpose for camp value or this "over the top" thing I keep seeing people write doesn't make it better it makes it worse. What is the difference between over the top and just plan unoriginal crappy game making? Over the top Is it legal for a company to flod the market with Fake reviews? Just throwing you hands up and explaining that all the crap that makes the game so awful is done on purpose for camp value or this "over the top" thing I keep seeing people write doesn't make it better it makes it worse. What is the difference between over the top and just plan unoriginal crappy game making? Over the top as in extra sh***y? over the top like when a toilet gets cloggest and a football team keeps shitting in it and the crap flows over the top? maybe. Expand
  35. CMS
    Feb 6, 2010
    6
    This game is highly overrated. Artistically it is a spectacle that pushes the bar higher... but it's not that fun (assuming you've played the god of wars, devil may cry's, heavenly blade/sword (?). This game is too over the top, and the story is absolutely absurd to the point of the cut scenes and dialogue being a drag. I give it a 6 for crisp conntrols, technical This game is highly overrated. Artistically it is a spectacle that pushes the bar higher... but it's not that fun (assuming you've played the god of wars, devil may cry's, heavenly blade/sword (?). This game is too over the top, and the story is absolutely absurd to the point of the cut scenes and dialogue being a drag. I give it a 6 for crisp conntrols, technical brilliance, and being sent back to gamefly after only a few hours. Time to put COD back in and have fun in the mean time. Expand
  36. KenL
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    This is why Platinum Games joining with Sega is a good thing. This is the next evolution of Devil May Cry from the people who actually created Devil May Cry. The style may offend some, but it is style none the less. Controls never failed me. The only gripe I have is the manual Camera is a little slow. Switching scenarios with dramatic changes like the Motorcycle and "Space Harrier" levels This is why Platinum Games joining with Sega is a good thing. This is the next evolution of Devil May Cry from the people who actually created Devil May Cry. The style may offend some, but it is style none the less. Controls never failed me. The only gripe I have is the manual Camera is a little slow. Switching scenarios with dramatic changes like the Motorcycle and "Space Harrier" levels never tripped me up. The QTEs even kept the Controller in my hands during the cut-scenes. This is the perfect balance between Serious and completely self-aware poke-funery. Plus there are tons of homages to other games from Classic Sega arcade games, Past Capcom games, to Assassin's Creed. Expand
  37. RandyB
    Mar 1, 2010
    9
    Bayonetta is different, fast-paced and loads of fun, a terrific job was done in making this game work within the crazy wolrd in which its told. Theres something special about bayonetta, maybe its the absurdly fast combat, the story of an umbra witch, or maybe its just bayonettas legs! i cant decide either way this i a sure-fire purchase and id recommend it to all who like the God of war Bayonetta is different, fast-paced and loads of fun, a terrific job was done in making this game work within the crazy wolrd in which its told. Theres something special about bayonetta, maybe its the absurdly fast combat, the story of an umbra witch, or maybe its just bayonettas legs! i cant decide either way this i a sure-fire purchase and id recommend it to all who like the God of war or DMC series. Expand
  38. MichaelH
    Mar 3, 2010
    8
    This is a very solid entertaining action game. I loved the dodging mechanic, I love how it's an action game that has a substantial learning curve, and I love the weapons varitey. But let me just say the story line is horrendous, a few funny parts, terrible voice acting in a few roles (I'm looking at you old british angel guy), and the worst part is that some of the cut scences This is a very solid entertaining action game. I loved the dodging mechanic, I love how it's an action game that has a substantial learning curve, and I love the weapons varitey. But let me just say the story line is horrendous, a few funny parts, terrible voice acting in a few roles (I'm looking at you old british angel guy), and the worst part is that some of the cut scences just draaaaaaaaag ooooooooooooon and they are just pointless, they don't evole the characters, they don't advance the story, they aren't even funny. Another thing I didn't like was the secuinces where your operating some form of vehical, instead of feeling like a fast paced high action little extra in the game, it was a boring, tedious, unpolished snorefest that I was just dying for to be over. BUT, on to the positive, let me say that Bayonetta (while in it's normal action sequences and boss fights) is the most fair, highly polished, and fun action game I've ever put my hands on. Not once in Bayonetta did I think, "okay, yeah, that was REAAAAAL fair there guys, just gonna give no fair warning on that huh?" every time I died I knew it was my fault, and I knew that there was somthing to do about it. I love that in games, and it's really what hardcore action gaming is all about in the end. So, in conclusion, If you are an action gamer (like myself) you will LOVE Bayonetta. But Bayonetta is not a perfect expirence and comes with more flaws than I can count on two hands, if this game didn't have such a confusing, horrendous story line it would have gotten a 9, and if it didn't have several unpolished lame driving senquences , it would have been getting closer to perfect, scrach the jaw droppingly bad voice acting, and to some, and to me, you might have yourself a 10. Expand
  39. ChrisW
    Apr 26, 2010
    0
    This game has major problems , slow down, screen tearing, glitches. The combat is basic ( keep hitting the Y button to beat all enemies, the a.i. is retarded - you can keep your eyes closed + win easily.) You have to fight each boss AT LEAST twice, revisit every location in the game AT LEAST twice. The story is terrible, and the main character looks like a seven foot hairy crossdresser This game has major problems , slow down, screen tearing, glitches. The combat is basic ( keep hitting the Y button to beat all enemies, the a.i. is retarded - you can keep your eyes closed + win easily.) You have to fight each boss AT LEAST twice, revisit every location in the game AT LEAST twice. The story is terrible, and the main character looks like a seven foot hairy crossdresser with a freakishly small head. Plus you have to listen to the "fly me to the moon" song everytime you fight - which sux. In short , this is without doubt the 'CAMPEST' game ever, that requires no skill to play. And it has glitches and slowdown. I can't believe 'certain games mags ** cough, cough, EDGE and Game central, cough, cough** gave this game 10/10. I feel robbed. Save your money and get DMC, Ninja Gaiden or GOW instead. Expand
  40. JasonG.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    great game i am lucky enough to have an xbox 360 and a ps3 having originally bought the ps3 version i was i was very dissapointed by the choppy action and loading every time i picked something up but having taken the game back and exchanging it for the 360 version i was greeted with a really good game fun to play and full of good ideas the game is top notch.
  41. PeterC.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    The story is unfocused (although often humorously over the top). But the _game_ part of this game is phenomenal. I've never even _enjoyed_ an action game before, much less fallen in love with one. Some of the most fantastic set pieces of any work in any medium ever.
  42. MattL.
    Jan 10, 2010
    3
    Bayonetta is one of the most overrated games I have ever played. After spending a few hours with it I became clear that the hype was unjustified. I seriously do not understand the glowing reviews this games is recieving. Sure you can perform some pretty cool moves but the enemies are much the same and Bayonetta is an extremely unlikeable character and WAY to over the top. I really wanted Bayonetta is one of the most overrated games I have ever played. After spending a few hours with it I became clear that the hype was unjustified. I seriously do not understand the glowing reviews this games is recieving. Sure you can perform some pretty cool moves but the enemies are much the same and Bayonetta is an extremely unlikeable character and WAY to over the top. I really wanted to like this game and had looked forward to playing it for weeks. I may be in the minority here so try it out and make up your own mind Expand
  43. ALL242
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    The Onion (A.V. Club) can't review it's way out of a wet paper bag. This is what Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden always wished it could have been. Both franchises could take a lot of lessons on how to do their next game from Bayonetta. The only thing in this game that was tedious was the long cutscenes. Sega even threw in some minigames that were very Space Harrierlike. Phenomenal game.
  44. DanP
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    After beating the game, I feel like I have only scratched the surface of what lies beneath. The combat (while it can be played as a button masher on easier difficulties) is incredibly deep in its execution. There are a ton of combos at your disposal, each of which you can delay at any moment by holding down attack buttons. This will cause Bayonetta to freeze in her combo and use her After beating the game, I feel like I have only scratched the surface of what lies beneath. The combat (while it can be played as a button masher on easier difficulties) is incredibly deep in its execution. There are a ton of combos at your disposal, each of which you can delay at any moment by holding down attack buttons. This will cause Bayonetta to freeze in her combo and use her weapons specifically based on the current attack. You can also dodge out of any combo and continue it where you left off. You can equip a variety of weapons on both your hands and legs creating different effects for every combination. The sheer number of combos and animations is astonishing. There are a ton of unlockables including new weapons. The story is dumb, but the way in which it is presented sometimes is borderline hilarious. The game is completely over the top, and I love it for that. It never seems to take itself seriously, which you should not either. It is by definition a game, amusement in a pure form. There are some frustrating moments where the camera gets in your way, but that is really my only complaint as far as gameplay is concerned. It is by far the best game of this type I have ever played. I mean seriously.. you can kick ass on ice skates while shooting rocket launchers! Expand
  45. PontusBostrom
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    As close to perfection a game will ever come. Non-stop action, beutiful graphics and bizarre boss battles.
  46. FelixB.
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Best Game I've ever played. Great Stroy, Great Gameplay,Great Graphic and amazing Characters. I first thought, ohh DMC with astupid porno Star, please not. But after the first 30 min. you beginn to see, that there is more than just a good looking Lady on the screen, and that was the point where I couldn't stop playing.
  47. BG
    Jan 13, 2010
    1
    These are fake reviews. This game ranks up there with GTA 4, halo 3 and fallout 3? I hate when companies do this.
  48. RobM
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Let me just start off by saying that I have never played any of the Devil May Cry games, infact I am a complete novice to this style of action game. I play way to many FPS' and a game has to really be special to drag me away from my beloved Modern Warfare 2. But this has! This is fantastic. I didn't go into this looking to compare this to another game, I just wanted something Let me just start off by saying that I have never played any of the Devil May Cry games, infact I am a complete novice to this style of action game. I play way to many FPS' and a game has to really be special to drag me away from my beloved Modern Warfare 2. But this has! This is fantastic. I didn't go into this looking to compare this to another game, I just wanted something new to play for a while. The graphics are beautiful, rich and colourful, Bayonetta herself looks sasy and sexy and is one of the more interesting gaming characters I've seen in a while. The gamplay is the main part of the game though... and whilst it's got a ton of depth, getting to use all that depth can be quite hard and sometimes tedius. However some of the set-pieces boggle the mind, the Boss battles are huge in terms of scale. My main compleint about the game is that there is very little variety in the types of enemys you fight in general. That's it. Overwise this is a great great great game! Expand
  49. BobL
    Jan 13, 2010
    2
    The movies between levels and between the parts within the levels were long enough for me to jackoff to the long legged chick with the tiny head but I hardly got to play the game. Even after I cleaned up she looked so hot just walking around slowly and everytime I did a combo her costume came off so ofcourse I started jacking and the bad guys killed me. Poorly thought out game.
  50. JonB
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    Let me start the review by saying I've just played through Darksiders previous to playing Bayonetta and found it a much more enjoyable experience. I should also mention I'm only a few "acts" in to Bayonetta so far. I wanted to provide some balance to all the reviews praising this game. It's a good game but it definitely has it's flaws! It suffers from controls that are Let me start the review by saying I've just played through Darksiders previous to playing Bayonetta and found it a much more enjoyable experience. I should also mention I'm only a few "acts" in to Bayonetta so far. I wanted to provide some balance to all the reviews praising this game. It's a good game but it definitely has it's flaws! It suffers from controls that are overly complex, to the point of making me consider using my SF IV game stick to play, and the hyper sexualized content is amusing at best. The storyline also suffers from confusing presentation causing you to loose any real interest in it. The "arcade shooter" between acts is so disjointed from the rest of the gameplay that it seems pointless. There is no real way to perfect your combos which is the core of the gameplay. Whilst the game does let you practice whilst it's loading, if you've installed it to your hard drive this won't last long enough to pull off even some of the shorter combos. Finally there is the frustration of "Quicktime" gameplay requiring you to hit just the right button combination, at the right time, in the middle of a cutscene. Darksiders had these as well, but at least in Darksiders you had a good couple of seconds to respond, rather than the fraction of a second Bayonetta provides. So by all means buy and enjoy the game, but do so realizing it's not quite as great as some reviewers are making out. :) Expand
  51. LeahR
    Jan 15, 2010
    9
    It's not perfect, but for a linear action game, Bayonetta is like an expertly-cut diamond that is so dazzling at times, it's almost painful to look at. Its ridiculous story is just a stage for the wonderfully realized characters to act on. The overt sex and violence is pure camp, never taking itself seriously. Strip away the overwhelming amount of tongue-in-cheek cutscenes, and It's not perfect, but for a linear action game, Bayonetta is like an expertly-cut diamond that is so dazzling at times, it's almost painful to look at. Its ridiculous story is just a stage for the wonderfully realized characters to act on. The overt sex and violence is pure camp, never taking itself seriously. Strip away the overwhelming amount of tongue-in-cheek cutscenes, and you're left with a linear action game that shuttles you from scripted battle to scripted battle, where the goal is to kill enemies with combo attacks for points. It's accessible enough for button mashers to progress at a steady pace, yet offers a challenge of finesse for skilled players to achieve higher grades. What pushes this tight action game over the top is the exuberant, unrepentant sense of humor and imagination that suffuses every last bit, from the titular character's exaggeratedly seductive-yet-badass combat animations, to the epic, building-sized bosses. Bayonetta borrows from many excellent action games, from Devil May Cry to Shadow of the Colossus, and distills the essence of their gameplay into a pure, joyous form...then wraps it up in an insanely-realized universe that drips with style. It's difficult to even write about the game without lapsing into glamorous hyperbole--it just puts you into a certain mindset. The game's overbearing style means it won't appeal to everyone, but for fans of combo-based action games, Bayonetta is the crown jewel. Expand
  52. MrTwinbee
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Stunning. A real celebration of videogames. The thing with this game, unlike many over-easy games these day, is that it requires SKILL! Yes you read that correctly, SKILL! Just like in the old days, before games became more dumbed-down and mainstream, Bayonetta throws you in at the deep end. Yes, there are easy modes, but Normal is fairly tough, no cheating here im afraid. Anyone who Stunning. A real celebration of videogames. The thing with this game, unlike many over-easy games these day, is that it requires SKILL! Yes you read that correctly, SKILL! Just like in the old days, before games became more dumbed-down and mainstream, Bayonetta throws you in at the deep end. Yes, there are easy modes, but Normal is fairly tough, no cheating here im afraid. Anyone who dislikes the game for its difficulty or combat system is missing the point. Anyone who dislikes it for the story is missing another point. Anyone who claims that they "Jack off over the game" is missing therapy sessions. Expand
  53. VinceP.
    Jan 21, 2010
    5
    I feel as if I've played this game already, about 4 times now... Devil May Cry 1 - 4 I think... Let's do something original, not something just aimed at getting off 15 year olds.
  54. KostasI.
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    I am especially astonished that this game exists. Normally it shouldnt because its "predecessors" (Ninja Gaiden, Devil May Cry) were already deemed perfect in their art style combat mechanics. Sorry Dante and Ryu but Bayonetta just blows the both of them out of the water in terms of intricate and deep combat styles and NG series was already an awesomely high mark to catch, let alone I am especially astonished that this game exists. Normally it shouldnt because its "predecessors" (Ninja Gaiden, Devil May Cry) were already deemed perfect in their art style combat mechanics. Sorry Dante and Ryu but Bayonetta just blows the both of them out of the water in terms of intricate and deep combat styles and NG series was already an awesomely high mark to catch, let alone surpass. Bayonetta however has done exactly that, it has surpassed the impossible. The combat system is of course the focus of the game, as is with any skilled type third person action game, and it is just magnificent. Every movement of your witch perfectly matches your playstyle as she is able to accomodate a variety of playing styles for every possible type of dextrous hand. I really dont want to say more than that. The story is kind of silly yeah but this is not the point of the game. The story is an excuse to slash up angels to high heaven and back but damn what a fine way that is. NG and DMC fans out there just go and grab this. You will not be dissapointed. There really aren't enough games such as these handy around. Expand
  55. JasonB.
    Jan 28, 2010
    6
    I kept asking myself as I was playing...how can a game that's all action spectacle be boring? Well, the same way any media with Mary-Sues can be boring. The characters are just bland, the plot nonexistent, and after the 1800th slow-mo ludicrous cutscene, it just gets annoying. The game hits the hyped-up high points like neat set pieces and very fluid action, but it just gets boring I kept asking myself as I was playing...how can a game that's all action spectacle be boring? Well, the same way any media with Mary-Sues can be boring. The characters are just bland, the plot nonexistent, and after the 1800th slow-mo ludicrous cutscene, it just gets annoying. The game hits the hyped-up high points like neat set pieces and very fluid action, but it just gets boring when everything's so over the top and the characters so one-dimensional. We get it...you can flip in slow-motion...next? Very overrated. Expand
  56. RalphPootawn
    Jan 5, 2010
    1
    I did not like the game one bit, the generic hack n slash, bad j-pop, bad story and horrible character design just wasn't for me.
  57. Mike
    Jan 5, 2010
    2
    Terrible writing, ten tons of visual noise, can't be rescued by the decent combat system.
  58. FranklinD.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Best Action games ever! A beautiful and fun way to start the new year!!!
  59. :)
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    It's one of the best action games EVARRR!! It's not as good as Devil May Cry 3 or 4, but very few games are. This feels like a mesh between Devil May Cry and Viewtiful Joe in which everything except for demon mode is an element from DMC with just a different look, for example you buy your moves the same way using a currency you earn from killing enemies called halos, which are It's one of the best action games EVARRR!! It's not as good as Devil May Cry 3 or 4, but very few games are. This feels like a mesh between Devil May Cry and Viewtiful Joe in which everything except for demon mode is an element from DMC with just a different look, for example you buy your moves the same way using a currency you earn from killing enemies called halos, which are exactly like red orbs, and you can get one of four pieces of a "witch heart" that boosts your health just like with blue orbs. The way it feels like Viewtiful Joe is that you don't have to execute your attacks as perfectly as you have to in Devil May Cry, but they don't feel as over powered as in games such as God of War or Ninja Gaiden 2 (which are still great games, btw). Spoiler: she even uses his catch-phrase in chapter 3. The stages are longer than in Devil May Cry, and the enemies are a lot better. For one thing, they're extremely detailed and varied, but the best part is that they are managable. In DMC3, all enemies that weren't Hells or dammed chestmen annoyed the living daylights out of me, and in number 4 the enemies seemed to have way too many hitpoints sometimes, and in both games the boss battles were a major pain. In Bayonetta, boss battles and encounters with varying enemies feel a lot more fluid. The game is also a lot harder than Devil May Cry because, as I mentioned, there is no demon-mode that lets you recover some of your hitpoints; the only way to do so is to pick up a green halo (exactly like a green orb), and if you do than you've got to be the luckiest person on earth because I've barely ever gotten one. The one bad aspect of Bayonetta is the story, it sucks. It's fun to watch the cutscenes but I haven't got a clue what's going on. Other than that, the game's AMAZING. Expand
  60. M'Ellis
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    The camera can be troublesome, but it does have an adjustable speed. The combat and dodge mechanic in this game are the closest to perfection I've experienced in a Japanese Action Adventure game (Yes I have played Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden). Sometimes the sexuality can be off-putting, but the way it's incorporated into the character are just brilliant. On the challenging The camera can be troublesome, but it does have an adjustable speed. The combat and dodge mechanic in this game are the closest to perfection I've experienced in a Japanese Action Adventure game (Yes I have played Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden). Sometimes the sexuality can be off-putting, but the way it's incorporated into the character are just brilliant. On the challenging side, it's easy enough on easy-normal, and hard can kick your butt. Very Hard mode had me lookin' back to Dante Must Die mode from the DMC series. It's just taken everything from this sub-genre and made it the perfect experience fr those fans and even newcomers. Expand
  61. [Anonymous]
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    This game is fun, however is also VERY short.
  62. ColinG.
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. The combat is fast, furious and extremely rewarding. The entire atmosphere is oozing with style and humour. Everything about the game and it's characters exudes a very tongue-in-cheek attitude, I love it. It's a great change of pace to play a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Bayonetta is a fantastic protagonist. She's sexy, funny and This game is amazing. The combat is fast, furious and extremely rewarding. The entire atmosphere is oozing with style and humour. Everything about the game and it's characters exudes a very tongue-in-cheek attitude, I love it. It's a great change of pace to play a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Bayonetta is a fantastic protagonist. She's sexy, funny and most importantly, kicks a whole lot of ass. I'm already eagerly awaiting a sequel. If you're looking for a high quality, stylish action game, then look no further than Bayonetta. Expand
  63. PhoebusSecret
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    BAYONETTA IS JUST A.W.E.S.O.M.E.! I don't think I've played a so unbelievable awesome game in many years! The last game that I really loved and couldn't stop playing at all was "Jak 3" for the PS2. This game is worth every little penny and if you own PS3 och 360! Get this game as fast as you can! (The 360 version is better) I'm to lazy to put up a little review or BAYONETTA IS JUST A.W.E.S.O.M.E.! I don't think I've played a so unbelievable awesome game in many years! The last game that I really loved and couldn't stop playing at all was "Jak 3" for the PS2. This game is worth every little penny and if you own PS3 och 360! Get this game as fast as you can! (The 360 version is better) I'm to lazy to put up a little review or something here....so that was everything I hade to say. Expand
  64. JesseP.
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, and one of the best of this generation. The combat and imagination present here trump Ninja Gaiden, God of War, Dante's Inferno, and Devil May Cry. I only wish more companies would let their imagination run wild like Platinum Games has done here.
  65. JeffS
    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    I agree these reviews have to all be fake -- they all mention the same dribbel. Having played this game, I can attest to it's crappiness. Sadly, they've already probably sold a million future coasters, ensuring that this vicious behavior continues.
  66. ChipK
    Feb 22, 2010
    0
    What the hell is this crap? I returned it to GameStop (thank God for their satisfaction guarantee on used games) after playing through a handful of battles because it was just random button-mashing at monsters coming at you from every angle. It got really repetitive, really fast. Oh, and the story is absolutely nonsensical.
  67. RichardK
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta has to be one of my favourite games of all time now. I cannot see how you can really fault it, the over the top campness and mocking of video game culture is just genius. Any game that can reference so many games in such amazing ways is awesome. The people who give this game low scores obviously cannot comprehend what the game is about. It is not meant to be serious, it is a Bayonetta has to be one of my favourite games of all time now. I cannot see how you can really fault it, the over the top campness and mocking of video game culture is just genius. Any game that can reference so many games in such amazing ways is awesome. The people who give this game low scores obviously cannot comprehend what the game is about. It is not meant to be serious, it is a parody of everything to do with gaming! Expand
  68. JimF
    Mar 28, 2010
    10
    This game is sensational! Yes it can seem like a random button masher at first, but those who dismiss it as such are missing the whole point of the game. There's lots of challenge in actually learning the combo system and the fastest way to dispatch enemies to get the higher rankings. Truly astonishing visuals, both technically and in design, and while some of the cutscenes and voice This game is sensational! Yes it can seem like a random button masher at first, but those who dismiss it as such are missing the whole point of the game. There's lots of challenge in actually learning the combo system and the fastest way to dispatch enemies to get the higher rankings. Truly astonishing visuals, both technically and in design, and while some of the cutscenes and voice acting are a bit cringe-inducing, I personally can't get enough of the over the top style of the gameplay. This is one game I will want to replay, because it's just so fun! Brilliant, best action game for a long time. Not to be missed. Expand
  69. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 29, 2010
    3
    May word, how people were sucked in because a lady is the heroine of the piece! I seriously don't see how people, especially mags like Edge, could give this anything more than 6 at very best. The gameplay is too hap-hazard, graphics suffer when multiple enemies on are screen, and I honestly found it over-blown and frustrating! Fail on this one Sega.
  70. BoG.
    Apr 15, 2010
    7
    Since when has a game's value been based upon its sole redeeming quality? Yes, the combat is absolutely spectacular. It is lightning fast, and its button mashing facade belies its true depth. For that alone this game deserves a rent, maybe even a buy. Take a look at the game as a composite, the sum of its parts, and you see an entirely different picture. The story plays a marginal Since when has a game's value been based upon its sole redeeming quality? Yes, the combat is absolutely spectacular. It is lightning fast, and its button mashing facade belies its true depth. For that alone this game deserves a rent, maybe even a buy. Take a look at the game as a composite, the sum of its parts, and you see an entirely different picture. The story plays a marginal role in the game, at best, and is laughably nonsensical. The music sucks - I turned it off after the first few minutes of a Japanese pop version of "Fly Me to the Moon" (Sinatra would have keeled over at hearing this abomination if he weren't already dead). And the graphics, while pretty, are simply a uni-dimensional backdrop to the action - they don't play any sort of role in the game play. So let's give this game it's due. If you want fast paced action, an orgy of combos, and the gratification of conquering well thought out and balanced foes - rent this game. Be prepared, however, to utilize the "skip cut-scene" option in the pause menu. Expand
  71. BradT
    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    This may be my favorite video game of all time. It has everything a gamer could want: great graphics, fun gameplay, a smart, funny, and sexy main character, a cool story, and overall,it is just a great, fun game.
  72. BGrant
    Jan 11, 2010
    2
    Japan really needs to stop doing the same thing over and over again. This game feels like I should have seen it in an arcade 10 years ago minue all the camel toe. I am so confused by the high ratings, is this a joke on me? If you are an 11 year old with no access to porn this is your game, otherwise stay away.
  73. FranzL
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is the best action game to date. I have not played an action game with more depth then this one. I certainly have never played an action game over again on the hardest difficulty and had more fun the second time around. The criticisms about the plot are valid though. It is pretty terrible. Is this game also excessively objectifying to woman? Yes it is. If you can get past those Bayonetta is the best action game to date. I have not played an action game with more depth then this one. I certainly have never played an action game over again on the hardest difficulty and had more fun the second time around. The criticisms about the plot are valid though. It is pretty terrible. Is this game also excessively objectifying to woman? Yes it is. If you can get past those two things then you arrive at the gameplay which demands nothing less than a 10. Expand
  74. BrandonB
    Jan 15, 2010
    6
    I really want to like this game. It just ends up feeling sad. The story is horrible, the combat is painfully flashy, the cinematics are long and way too plentiful. Throw in some long pauses when you pick up just about any item, a heroine that caters to 13 year olds, combat that feels rehashed and a really poor tone. But I'm not done here: the music is horrible and completely out of I really want to like this game. It just ends up feeling sad. The story is horrible, the combat is painfully flashy, the cinematics are long and way too plentiful. Throw in some long pauses when you pick up just about any item, a heroine that caters to 13 year olds, combat that feels rehashed and a really poor tone. But I'm not done here: the music is horrible and completely out of place. The voice acting is completely out of place and the characters are just lame. I'd go on, but I get the feeling that this review will get buried in all the other reviews. Expand
  75. JohnF.
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Bayonetta is a love-it-or-hate-it game. Some people aren't going to get past the cheesy feel or corny, overacted cutscenes and will hate the game. Others will love it. It does take a while to get going, but once it hits its stride, this becomes a great game. The later boss fights in this game are some of the best that gaming has ever seen, no exaggeration. The game has issues -- Bayonetta is a love-it-or-hate-it game. Some people aren't going to get past the cheesy feel or corny, overacted cutscenes and will hate the game. Others will love it. It does take a while to get going, but once it hits its stride, this becomes a great game. The later boss fights in this game are some of the best that gaming has ever seen, no exaggeration. The game has issues -- it's got some technical hiccups like slowdown in a couple places, shaky camera on a few encounters and screen tearing, plus some people might not like the fact that it borrows/recycles heavily from previous games put out by Platinum Games/Clover and even a few others. And the game does go heavy on quicktime events, which some people won't like, while others might not like the heavy sexual innuendo. I thought the good definitely outweighed the bad with Bayonetta though. It's a fast, exciting, sometimes epic action game that rightfully takes its place alongside the Devil May Cry or Ninja Gaiden games. Expand
  76. JohnnyS.
    Jan 28, 2010
    5
    Classic example of style over substance - if you can really call this stylish. If you're not already dog tired of dodge and juggle button mashing mechanics after four rounds of Devil May Cry, then you might find something to like amidst the deliberately camp histrionics and overwrought cut scenes. The rest of us will wonder what the fuss is about and exactly how much a perfect 40 Classic example of style over substance - if you can really call this stylish. If you're not already dog tired of dodge and juggle button mashing mechanics after four rounds of Devil May Cry, then you might find something to like amidst the deliberately camp histrionics and overwrought cut scenes. The rest of us will wonder what the fuss is about and exactly how much a perfect 40 from Famitsu costs these days. Expand
  77. KarlS.
    Mar 11, 2010
    4
    This is pretty much a game designed around a character, a horendiosly over the top, awkwardly voice acted and all around anatomically out of proportion character. The story is bland at best, I think they did that on purpose so you could stare at the "eyes" of the main character durring cut scenes and not have to worry about missing out on anything important. On the side of gameplay its This is pretty much a game designed around a character, a horendiosly over the top, awkwardly voice acted and all around anatomically out of proportion character. The story is bland at best, I think they did that on purpose so you could stare at the "eyes" of the main character durring cut scenes and not have to worry about missing out on anything important. On the side of gameplay its fun at first but does drag on and begins to become very repetitive, repetive in the sence that this game is way longer than any button mashing shooter ever should be, the few "driving" scenes are closer to way too long on rail cutscenes where all you have to do is hold down a and the trigger simultaniosly....for about 10 minutes....the replay value is, well who am i kidding, what replay value? the most you'll get out of a second go is a few more moments of cleavage before you get tired to hitting the same three buttons over and over again. All in all the game is yet another washed out DMC wanna be with a trying too hard to be OTT character and terrible music. I have to give them one thing though, the badies look f***ing awesome. Expand
  78. RobertA
    Mar 16, 2010
    9
    If your first impression is: "a handful of battles because it was just random button-mashing at monsters coming at you from every angle. It got really repetitive, really fast" then you did something wrong, like not having the patience to do the tutorials, which is vital, to understand and get into the incredible fresh and addictive dodging mechanics, really, it takes the hack n slayIf your first impression is: "a handful of battles because it was just random button-mashing at monsters coming at you from every angle. It got really repetitive, really fast" then you did something wrong, like not having the patience to do the tutorials, which is vital, to understand and get into the incredible fresh and addictive dodging mechanics, really, it takes the hack n slay gameplay to onther level, besides having great and crazy grafix and a lolita and gothic soundtrack not heard in a videogame for a long time its so challenging on normal, but not really unfair (even if it sometimes does seem overwhelming against some bosses at times, but thats what a boss is suposed to be, not only look mean, but alos be mean Bayonetta is (besides Batman) the surprise (non sequel) game of the last 12 months, by far! Bayonetta is such a rollercoster of action, style and madness, you'll fall for her for sure (if you give the tutorials a moment of time) dont let the pics of her somewhat strange proportions make you think, she doest look cool, once seen in movement, you'll have a hard time, not taking your eyes of her. Expand
  79. giangian
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    If You like action game, are a fans of videogame, and You don't get turn off by wacky stuff, than this is the game for You. Controls like a dream, and i didn't play any game with such a deep and satisfyng combat system. This is a game that doesn't take itself seriously but manage to offer a great great fun and challenge and after You finish it one time You just want to If You like action game, are a fans of videogame, and You don't get turn off by wacky stuff, than this is the game for You. Controls like a dream, and i didn't play any game with such a deep and satisfyng combat system. This is a game that doesn't take itself seriously but manage to offer a great great fun and challenge and after You finish it one time You just want to start again!!! Expand
  80. RyanM
    Mar 21, 2010
    9
    I enjoyed this game a lot. I didn't enjoy halo farming for characters that weren't worth a damn, and it most certainly could have been longer, but all in all it was a very well put together game, and looked amazing. Lol at those who think all of these people are paid advertisers.. Anyway, I give this game a 4/5 and plan to hold on to it for awhile.
  81. Flagello
    Mar 29, 2010
    0
    Good grief! Unmitigated garbage. How did this game get such a high score? It defies belief. The lack of R-thumbstick camera cntrl is the first sign of trouble. Cinematic sequences are poorly animated, overlong, too frequent, and incoherent (in the worst Japanese tradition), but provide some relief from the pointless button mashing. Mobs drop shiny little rings - feels a bit like Sonic the Good grief! Unmitigated garbage. How did this game get such a high score? It defies belief. The lack of R-thumbstick camera cntrl is the first sign of trouble. Cinematic sequences are poorly animated, overlong, too frequent, and incoherent (in the worst Japanese tradition), but provide some relief from the pointless button mashing. Mobs drop shiny little rings - feels a bit like Sonic the Hedgehog lol. The gaming community has progressed so far beyond stuff like this it's just not funny. So-called professional reviewers who praised this product should be shot, dismembered, and fed to pigs. I hope the free lunch with the girl from marketing with the cleavage who called you handsome was worth the loss of your credibility. An abomination that should be chained up in the cellar and fed dog food, never to see the light of day. Expand
  82. KariP
    May 24, 2010
    9
    I found this game to be incredibly addictive and its been so very long since i found gameplay to be so very compelling. The combo and dodge system is so incredibly fluid in this game nothing I have played compares. Go back to God of War III after playing through Bayonetta and it feels clunky. You probably CAN get through this game mashing buttons on the normal difficulty. You will die a I found this game to be incredibly addictive and its been so very long since i found gameplay to be so very compelling. The combo and dodge system is so incredibly fluid in this game nothing I have played compares. Go back to God of War III after playing through Bayonetta and it feels clunky. You probably CAN get through this game mashing buttons on the normal difficulty. You will die a lot and your rating will be terrible, but you can do it. Throughout the game though it teaches you to play with more strategy and skill through the use of alfheims and strings of difficult enemies. And to truly master this game you cannot just mash on the buttons. And that's part of the beauty of it - its really easy to pick up no matter what your gaming expertise and its a true challenge to get really good at it. I think the reason I enjoy playing as much as I do is because its fun to move around as Bayonetta. Its fun to do flips and acrobats to kick ass. You also feel very powerful as Bayonetta. I get to throw semis and buildings around. There are two levels in the game that I did find to be pretty boring and excessively long. These two levels are basically on the rail shooters that go on forever. These levels do not have the same fluid controls and gameplay and they go on forever. They are not a challenge either. But overall, they are a small fraction of the overall game and do not keep me from wanting to play the rest of the amazing game! I find the game to have immense replay value - at least for me. I find myself wanting to replay different levels always trying to improve my performance. The harder difficulties are truly a challenge and I really do want to get through every Alfheim! I will concede that the story makes little sense. I discovered this quite clearly trying to explain it to someone else. Needless to say you can't explain it because it doesn't make sense so I gave up. But I thoroughly enjoyed the actual characters even when they are ridiculously over the top. One of my favorite scenes little Cereza is imitating Bayonetta because she wants to be strong and powerful just like her one day. It was cute. Overall I love this game. I haven't played a game I enjoyed as much in years. Expand
  83. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    A wonderful game, with good mechanics, no glitches that I could find, an excellent story, and good characters. Some of the tribute pieces, such as Verses 1 and 2 of Chapter 14, seem out of place, but the rest of the game makes up for it. The sexuality in the game is so overblown as to be comical rather than insulting, but can still be annoying at times. I easily put 60 hours into the game,A wonderful game, with good mechanics, no glitches that I could find, an excellent story, and good characters. Some of the tribute pieces, such as Verses 1 and 2 of Chapter 14, seem out of place, but the rest of the game makes up for it. The sexuality in the game is so overblown as to be comical rather than insulting, but can still be annoying at times. I easily put 60 hours into the game, and would have put in more time had I not lent it to a friend. Buy this game. Expand
  84. Aug 24, 2010
    3
    This game just assaulted my senses on every level. The movement was jerky and annoying, the storyline was non-existent as far as I'm concerned, but the graphics were above average. It takes way more than a pretty face to get me to play a game, though, and this game just didn't deliver. I actually wanted to vomit after playing it for more than 30 minutes. That's never happened to meThis game just assaulted my senses on every level. The movement was jerky and annoying, the storyline was non-existent as far as I'm concerned, but the graphics were above average. It takes way more than a pretty face to get me to play a game, though, and this game just didn't deliver. I actually wanted to vomit after playing it for more than 30 minutes. That's never happened to me before...well, not from a game anyway. Expand
  85. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    Great. Just great. The game has some flaws, but it's made to be FUN and to help the player enjoy the game. The story is completely absurd and it's just a way to add incredible and over the top bosses (the last one is probably one of the biggest bosses I remember).

    I didn't like the DMC saga much, because it started to feel repetitive and you were revisiting levels a lot. There's some
    Great. Just great. The game has some flaws, but it's made to be FUN and to help the player enjoy the game. The story is completely absurd and it's just a way to add incredible and over the top bosses (the last one is probably one of the biggest bosses I remember).

    I didn't like the DMC saga much, because it started to feel repetitive and you were revisiting levels a lot. There's some repetition in this one but a lot less. To sum it up, if you enjoyed games like God Hand (or any other kind of dumb fun like Serious Sam) you'll love this.
    Expand
  86. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    This Game has a great feel for it, it starts off a bit camp to say the least but the further you get the more EPIC it gets. The end was fantastic.This game is worth ever bit of your time just ease into it and don't take it seriously.
  87. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    From looking at a fair few critic and user reviews, its pretty obvious that a lot of people don't 'get' this game.
    They complain that its all about sex because the protagonist has exaggerated features which are frequently flaunted during cinematics. That's not the case. The sexuality of the character is intended as a joke. The parts which show her strip off her suit or where the camera
    From looking at a fair few critic and user reviews, its pretty obvious that a lot of people don't 'get' this game.
    They complain that its all about sex because the protagonist has exaggerated features which are frequently flaunted during cinematics. That's not the case. The sexuality of the character is intended as a joke. The parts which show her strip off her suit or where the camera focuses on her breasts are intended to make you laugh at the profanity, not bust a nut. In truth, this game does have its flaws. The story is pretty incoherent and some of the cutscenes are half-arsed and presented in a film-reel style as opposed to full animation. Furthermore, some sections are a little tedious such as riding a missile or motorcycle for 15 minutes, but there are only 2 of these sections.
    If you can look past the negatives, you'll see that Bayonetta is truly a fantastic game. The graphics look stunning, the soundtrack is catchy, but the gameplay is where it really shines, and in the hack n' slash genre, that's what counts. Combat is flashy and fluid. There are hundreds of combos to use and many different weapons, all unique in purpose. There are very useful combat accessories and moves to unlock.
    The combat flows astoundingly well and is very pleasurable to play. There is very little downtime in battles and everything you do flows in to your next action. The game is never cheap and enemies present a real threat, even if some are just cannon fodder.
    The higher difficulties will have you pulling your hair out as you die over and over, but beating them is well rewarded and gives a feeling of great satisfaction. You are also ranked on online leaderboards and in-game for playing each level based on how well you performed. If you're a perfectionist, you'll have your work cut out for you to get Pure Platinum trophies on every mission.
    As for length, on my first play-through on Normal difficulty, it took me about 14 hours, but it is possible to beat it in under 3, and there is an achievement for doing so.
    In terms of replayability, I've clocked up over 100 hours playing a 3 hour, single player game. I think that says enough to rate this game 10/10
    Expand
  88. Oct 14, 2010
    7
    Has awesome controls and plays great. Gameplay is sharp, fun, and addictive. I have to stress how great the controls feel and how awesome it feels to defeat the bosses. That being said, the story is an absolute mess of campy nonsense with a horrible side plot involving a little girl. The voice acting is annoying, some cut scenes are told in the form of film reels which is a very poorHas awesome controls and plays great. Gameplay is sharp, fun, and addictive. I have to stress how great the controls feel and how awesome it feels to defeat the bosses. That being said, the story is an absolute mess of campy nonsense with a horrible side plot involving a little girl. The voice acting is annoying, some cut scenes are told in the form of film reels which is a very poor choice. I'd recommend skipping the story. Enemies design is poor, the angels look great and it really does look like work was put into them, but you feel like you're just fighting Angel Guy #2 Version 2.1. No real relevant enemies. Sex appeal goes into the Uncanny Valley with oversexualization leading to creepiness. This is not a game you want to play in front of others.

    Just play it for the gameplay, it's far from perfect, some people will love it, most will probably hate it unless they spend some time learning to block out the negative aspects and enjoy the gameplay.
    Oh yeah. Horrible J-Pop soundtrack :)
    Expand
  89. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    I've owned this game three times from launch. I've gone from hating to loving it, and back and forth. It's taken years for me to be able to say this: Bayonetta is without a doubt the best 3rd person action game ever made. It has nowhere near the scope of God of War, my other favorite, but the wide open creative gameplay just can't be beat.
  90. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Coming from the creator of Devil may Cry it was expected this game would have some kind of innovation and it did not disappoint the combat system is the best out at this point, graphics look great and there are plenty of unlockables to keep you busy for weeks (months ... depending on how much you play).
    This game should not be missed. 10/10
  91. Mar 21, 2015
    8
    The director of the original Devil May Cry, Hideki Kamiya brings us another satisfying action game. The mix of ranged and melee combat brings back nostalgic memories of the PS2's demon hunter Dante. But don't just expect a Devil May Cry game under a different. Bayonetta has a personality and flair to combat all her own.

    Platinum Games tries to add a little sexy to death with their
    The director of the original Devil May Cry, Hideki Kamiya brings us another satisfying action game. The mix of ranged and melee combat brings back nostalgic memories of the PS2's demon hunter Dante. But don't just expect a Devil May Cry game under a different. Bayonetta has a personality and flair to combat all her own.

    Platinum Games tries to add a little sexy to death with their heroine. The results are a little uncomfortable. The rampant over-sexualization of the character actually made me dislike her a bit. The amount of suggestive poses and brief flashes of nudity gets out of hand at times. It tries to approach with some humor and a tongue-in-cheek tone, but that doesn't change the fact that it's still inappropriate. Bayonetta will be empowering women one minute only to keep them objectified the next.

    Luckily though it doesn't affect the mostly excellent gameplay. There is plenty of diversity to how you can approach combat. Different weapons can be combined on either Bayonetta's hands or feet. The simple act of changing where you equip a weapon changes your overall combat style and how combos will react. It's pretty brilliant. Enemy variety is also appreciated as they all have their distinctive qualities and require different approaches. A few boss battles make too many reappearances, but it's not a huge issue. There is a healthy challenge to this game. A few camera issues get in the way, but it's not a huge deal.

    It's also got some length behind and plenty of reasons to return thanks to unlockables. Higher difficulties will keep those looking for a real fight coming back. The length though is kind of an issue. It's nice that it's not a few hour romp, but it's clear that some sections go on for too long at times. There is some pretty obvious padding that causes the game to overstay it's welcome by just a little bit.

    However none of it's minor issues destroy this great action game. It's a spiritual successor that expands on a great series. They did go a bit overboard sexing up the title character and some segments go on for too long, but none of that changed the fact that I was having a blast with the great combat. Those who love their action games should check this one out.
    Expand
  92. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This is quite frankly the GREATEST GAME IN EXISTANCE! The word masterpiece doesn't even begin to cover it. It just kicks the living **** out of that crap pathetic game Devil May Cry 4. If you have DMC4 forget it go and get this and see what a true action game is all about. Everything about this game is perfect. The controls, gameplay and graphics are just truly magnificent. I love all theThis is quite frankly the GREATEST GAME IN EXISTANCE! The word masterpiece doesn't even begin to cover it. It just kicks the living **** out of that crap pathetic game Devil May Cry 4. If you have DMC4 forget it go and get this and see what a true action game is all about. Everything about this game is perfect. The controls, gameplay and graphics are just truly magnificent. I love all the old school SEGA references in it. A total must buy game! Expand
  93. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    LOL at JeffR and JeffS posting fake reviews that they think the magazine reviews are fake.

    There's more to this game than button mashing and the production values and fan service to veteran gamers is out of this world.
  94. Feb 5, 2011
    10
    GAME OF THE DECADE. I can not think of a better game than BAYONETTA. This game is CRANKED UP TO ELEVEN AND THEN SOME. GAME OF THE DECADE. I DON'T KNOW WHAT ELSE TO SAY.
  95. Jun 13, 2011
    8
    The Japanese,when it comes to games,are not usually noted for innovation.Except for the odd gem 'if it aint broke etc' applies forever.Bayonetta is no exception.Almost a cut out of Devil May Cry,Bayonetta is a sexed up,cheesy action game with brilliant visuals,crappy one liners and anime style action seqences.I have no idea why I love it,but I do.Give it a try.
  96. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely brilliant and a real action Masterpiece. Games of this high a quality are a rarity these days and with Dante as good as dead, we now look to Bayonetta to carry the torch.
  97. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    Bayonetta is a solid action game using a fast paced play style that is an evolution of the style of Devil May Cry. It is extremely addictive, and before writing this I have played through it several times on varying difficulty settings. The story works to capture the style of the game. Set in the fictional European city of Vigrid, you play as the last Umbra Whitch, who is namedBayonetta is a solid action game using a fast paced play style that is an evolution of the style of Devil May Cry. It is extremely addictive, and before writing this I have played through it several times on varying difficulty settings. The story works to capture the style of the game. Set in the fictional European city of Vigrid, you play as the last Umbra Whitch, who is named Bayonetta. She is constantly perused by an angelic presence called the Laguna that is out to destroy her at any cost, as well as a human rival named Jeanne who has an agenda of her own. The story is full of ridiculous humor and comic relief, and hardly ever takes itself seriously. This is a good thing, because so little in the game is in any way believable, being an over the top fantasy with little if any attention payed to realism. The gameplay in Bayonetta can be described as simply: adrenaline, over the top, and addictively crazy. Despite there being hundreds of different moves you can pull off, the core mechanics are very simple: 1 button for punching, 1 button for kicking, and the experience to put them together to pull of some, frankly, hilariously overpowered combos. Press a button in Devil May Cry, and the playable character pulls a move. Press a button in Bayontta, and the screen explodes. Often times there so many things happening that I can't even keep track of what's going on, but the game somehow has been programmed to cope with this, as whenever I did die I easily knew which enemy it was that struck the killing blow. I have never played a more fast paced action game then Bayonetta. Your first go through the game should take you about 12 hours. However, the game still manages to have a lot of content because it is so replayable. Just like in DMC, you can carry upgrades over from previous playthroughs, and it appears to be the way the designers intended players to progress to higher difficulties, thus making the total content of the game at least a couple times that of your first trip through the campaign. Overall, I really enjoyed this game, and I encourage anyone who regularly plays action to pick up this game as soon as you can if you have not already. Expand
  98. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    Bayonetta's combat, presentation and style are all excellent. Battles are frantic but never messy, with an insane amount of combos and special attacks even if you will probably end up button mashing. The boss fights are ridiculous and spectacular and must be seen to be believed. Every enemy is carefully designed and is testament to the amount of work that has been put into making thisBayonetta's combat, presentation and style are all excellent. Battles are frantic but never messy, with an insane amount of combos and special attacks even if you will probably end up button mashing. The boss fights are ridiculous and spectacular and must be seen to be believed. Every enemy is carefully designed and is testament to the amount of work that has been put into making this game. Now for the bad stuff. Bayonetta's story manages to be too simple and overly complex at the same time. Most of the time you don't where you are going or for what reason. Bayonetta as a character is irritating. Her relentless arrogance, the sexualization of pretty much everything she does and the half-hearted attempts at developing her character make her just plain unlikeable. The supporting cast are one-dimensional and the writing can be absurd. If you go into Bayonetta solely for its high-octane action, you won't be disappointed but don't expect much more. Expand
  99. Mar 21, 2011
    8
    Bought this game expecting nothing more than a few hours of hack and slash entertainment. That's not my norm but sometimes you just don't want to play a game where you have to read everything and agonize over every single choice. In that respect this game more than met my expectations, which as I said were amazingly low but playing it was truly a delight. The lead is sassy, if a littleBought this game expecting nothing more than a few hours of hack and slash entertainment. That's not my norm but sometimes you just don't want to play a game where you have to read everything and agonize over every single choice. In that respect this game more than met my expectations, which as I said were amazingly low but playing it was truly a delight. The lead is sassy, if a little over the top with the in your face sexuality and the action is non-stop basic wave combat. What really sets this apart, in my opinion, is that your attacks are fluid. You aren't cracking the whip, you are the whip and that sort of boneless grace is refreshing when compared to similar titles like Dante's Inferno, God of War and Darksiders. My only complaint is that the story is a bit convoluted and sporadic, as opposed to the more engaging Mass Effect and ME2 titles but overall a very enjoyable game. Expand
  100. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Look at the graphics bam boom whoosh the music, the combat, the combos holy **** this game is amazing! Play it, goddamn it! The real DMC sequel, and one of the finest games on the 360. Get it.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. A game that exemplifies so much of what commentators claim has died in the Japanese game industry. A blast of creative brilliance, both technically accomplished, strategically deep and infused with rare imagination, Bayonetta represents the pinnacle of its chosen niche. [JPN Import]
  2. A beautiful and graceful fighting game that lets imagination loose, and winks before slapping Dante, Kratos and every other hero back to the drawing board. [Christmas 2009, p.90]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    Astonishingly, every one of these dazzling battles is thrilling without overstaying its welcome - and also challenges you without being cheap. [Jan 2009, p.66]