Bayonetta Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 588 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 588
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KenL
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    This is why Platinum Games joining with Sega is a good thing. This is the next evolution of Devil May Cry from the people who actually created Devil May Cry. The style may offend some, but it is style none the less. Controls never failed me. The only gripe I have is the manual Camera is a little slow. Switching scenarios with dramatic changes like the Motorcycle and "Space Harrier" levels This is why Platinum Games joining with Sega is a good thing. This is the next evolution of Devil May Cry from the people who actually created Devil May Cry. The style may offend some, but it is style none the less. Controls never failed me. The only gripe I have is the manual Camera is a little slow. Switching scenarios with dramatic changes like the Motorcycle and "Space Harrier" levels never tripped me up. The QTEs even kept the Controller in my hands during the cut-scenes. This is the perfect balance between Serious and completely self-aware poke-funery. Plus there are tons of homages to other games from Classic Sega arcade games, Past Capcom games, to Assassin's Creed. Expand
  2. DaveL
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is an awe inspiring game with flashy attacks combined with a fluidity most games could only dream of. This game is clearly not for all gamers but if you like fast paced action games, then you might enjoy this. The fighting system works well once you play through normal and attempt hard, the game progresses once you learn the moves, it is certainly most not a hack n' slash Bayonetta is an awe inspiring game with flashy attacks combined with a fluidity most games could only dream of. This game is clearly not for all gamers but if you like fast paced action games, then you might enjoy this. The fighting system works well once you play through normal and attempt hard, the game progresses once you learn the moves, it is certainly most not a hack n' slash despite what others might say. Bayonetta may have a bit of a confusing story but it becomes clearly towards the end, The replay system is an absolute joy as things become once easier. The creators clearly has a plan to make the game sexual in nature, but it is integrated smoothly and in a seductive way. The game overall is a must buy if you are patient enough to take the time to learn moves, learn enemies, and enjoy the sometimes over the top attacks. 10/10 easy Expand
  3. CRAIGB
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    I wasn't too sure when I first started playing Bayonetta but now I love it, its funny, has amazing game play and its a bit twisted which is fun.
  4. JJS.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This game looks and plays beautifully, possibly the best combat system out there at this time.
  5. KenM.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Great game filled with action and sexiness from alpha to omega!
  6. ChristianG.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This is the best fighting game out there right now. The gameplay mechanics are so fluid and redeeming, the story is incredibly bizzare and exciting, and the characters are fantastic. The game is also incredibly hard, but it's too much fun. Definitely a "must" buy.
  7. PedroA.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    It's Amazing. Congratulations SEGA.
  8. AlanJ.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, fast paced, great story line, excellent graphics. Everything a good game should be.
  9. JasonC.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    While this game isn't really worth a 10 from its lack of story, there's no way I'm going to give it a 9. I wish there was a 9.5 or even 9.7 rating because the combat is just that good. You'll be laughing at and with the game the entire time and with DMC creators doing the combat theres never a moment -ever- where the controls do something different than what you While this game isn't really worth a 10 from its lack of story, there's no way I'm going to give it a 9. I wish there was a 9.5 or even 9.7 rating because the combat is just that good. You'll be laughing at and with the game the entire time and with DMC creators doing the combat theres never a moment -ever- where the controls do something different than what you wanted. This game has -perfect- gameplay. Expand
  10. AmandaK.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Game is absolutely beautiful and well-done. Little lacking in how the story shows through during the game. I asked many times "what am I doing now?" or "Whats going on?". But it didn't really matter because I was having fun playing. Bayonetta's intelligence, sass, and sexiness. AWESOME.
  11. WilliamBradley
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    One of the best games I've played in a long long time.
  12. CollinJ
    Feb 22, 2010
    9
    I must say, I have to laugh at everyone who thinks these reviews are fake. It's a love-it-or-hate-it type game, and personally I love it. Most of the comments say "Save money for ME2" or "I'm gonna play CoD instead."... This isn't Cod. This isn't Mass Effect, it's a completely different genre entirely. The battle system is very fluid, the visuals are amazing. I must say, I have to laugh at everyone who thinks these reviews are fake. It's a love-it-or-hate-it type game, and personally I love it. Most of the comments say "Save money for ME2" or "I'm gonna play CoD instead."... This isn't Cod. This isn't Mass Effect, it's a completely different genre entirely. The battle system is very fluid, the visuals are amazing. Sure, you can get through the entire game button mashing, but that's not the POINT! If you build up your combos and take pride in pulling off bad-ass combos, it's a very fulfilling game. I agree the cinematics drug on a bit, but this is a game of spectacle. If you don't enjoy this sort of thing, grade it on the merits this sort of game is normally based. The action is fluid, and it does a good job of occasionally shifting up the action. And as for Bayonetta being over the top and a transparant character... She's supposed to be over the top, but is definately not two dimensional. If you'd play more through the game, she story has enough twists to keep it interesting. The game is supposed to be ripe in self-parody, that's what it's always been meant to be. And it is extremely replayable, but only if you're a perfectionist and want to unlock all the extra modes and costumes. Overall I give this game a 9; the only gripe I have with it is some occasional sputerring of the frame rate. Expand
  13. JasonG.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    great game i am lucky enough to have an xbox 360 and a ps3 having originally bought the ps3 version i was i was very dissapointed by the choppy action and loading every time i picked something up but having taken the game back and exchanging it for the 360 version i was greeted with a really good game fun to play and full of good ideas the game is top notch.
  14. PeterC.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    The story is unfocused (although often humorously over the top). But the _game_ part of this game is phenomenal. I've never even _enjoyed_ an action game before, much less fallen in love with one. Some of the most fantastic set pieces of any work in any medium ever.
  15. ALL242
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    The Onion (A.V. Club) can't review it's way out of a wet paper bag. This is what Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden always wished it could have been. Both franchises could take a lot of lessons on how to do their next game from Bayonetta. The only thing in this game that was tedious was the long cutscenes. Sega even threw in some minigames that were very Space Harrierlike. Phenomenal game.
  16. DanP
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    After beating the game, I feel like I have only scratched the surface of what lies beneath. The combat (while it can be played as a button masher on easier difficulties) is incredibly deep in its execution. There are a ton of combos at your disposal, each of which you can delay at any moment by holding down attack buttons. This will cause Bayonetta to freeze in her combo and use her After beating the game, I feel like I have only scratched the surface of what lies beneath. The combat (while it can be played as a button masher on easier difficulties) is incredibly deep in its execution. There are a ton of combos at your disposal, each of which you can delay at any moment by holding down attack buttons. This will cause Bayonetta to freeze in her combo and use her weapons specifically based on the current attack. You can also dodge out of any combo and continue it where you left off. You can equip a variety of weapons on both your hands and legs creating different effects for every combination. The sheer number of combos and animations is astonishing. There are a ton of unlockables including new weapons. The story is dumb, but the way in which it is presented sometimes is borderline hilarious. The game is completely over the top, and I love it for that. It never seems to take itself seriously, which you should not either. It is by definition a game, amusement in a pure form. There are some frustrating moments where the camera gets in your way, but that is really my only complaint as far as gameplay is concerned. It is by far the best game of this type I have ever played. I mean seriously.. you can kick ass on ice skates while shooting rocket launchers! Expand
  17. PontusBostrom
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    As close to perfection a game will ever come. Non-stop action, beutiful graphics and bizarre boss battles.
  18. FelixB.
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Best Game I've ever played. Great Stroy, Great Gameplay,Great Graphic and amazing Characters. I first thought, ohh DMC with astupid porno Star, please not. But after the first 30 min. you beginn to see, that there is more than just a good looking Lady on the screen, and that was the point where I couldn't stop playing.
  19. PhoebusSecret
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    BAYONETTA IS JUST A.W.E.S.O.M.E.! I don't think I've played a so unbelievable awesome game in many years! The last game that I really loved and couldn't stop playing at all was "Jak 3" for the PS2. This game is worth every little penny and if you own PS3 och 360! Get this game as fast as you can! (The 360 version is better) I'm to lazy to put up a little review or BAYONETTA IS JUST A.W.E.S.O.M.E.! I don't think I've played a so unbelievable awesome game in many years! The last game that I really loved and couldn't stop playing at all was "Jak 3" for the PS2. This game is worth every little penny and if you own PS3 och 360! Get this game as fast as you can! (The 360 version is better) I'm to lazy to put up a little review or something here....so that was everything I hade to say. Expand
  20. FranzL
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is the best action game to date. I have not played an action game with more depth then this one. I certainly have never played an action game over again on the hardest difficulty and had more fun the second time around. The criticisms about the plot are valid though. It is pretty terrible. Is this game also excessively objectifying to woman? Yes it is. If you can get past those Bayonetta is the best action game to date. I have not played an action game with more depth then this one. I certainly have never played an action game over again on the hardest difficulty and had more fun the second time around. The criticisms about the plot are valid though. It is pretty terrible. Is this game also excessively objectifying to woman? Yes it is. If you can get past those two things then you arrive at the gameplay which demands nothing less than a 10. Expand
  21. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    This Game has a great feel for it, it starts off a bit camp to say the least but the further you get the more EPIC it gets. The end was fantastic.This game is worth ever bit of your time just ease into it and don't take it seriously.
  22. Mar 21, 2011
    8
    Bought this game expecting nothing more than a few hours of hack and slash entertainment. That's not my norm but sometimes you just don't want to play a game where you have to read everything and agonize over every single choice. In that respect this game more than met my expectations, which as I said were amazingly low but playing it was truly a delight. The lead is sassy, if a littleBought this game expecting nothing more than a few hours of hack and slash entertainment. That's not my norm but sometimes you just don't want to play a game where you have to read everything and agonize over every single choice. In that respect this game more than met my expectations, which as I said were amazingly low but playing it was truly a delight. The lead is sassy, if a little over the top with the in your face sexuality and the action is non-stop basic wave combat. What really sets this apart, in my opinion, is that your attacks are fluid. You aren't cracking the whip, you are the whip and that sort of boneless grace is refreshing when compared to similar titles like Dante's Inferno, God of War and Darksiders. My only complaint is that the story is a bit convoluted and sporadic, as opposed to the more engaging Mass Effect and ME2 titles but overall a very enjoyable game. Expand
  23. RobM
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Let me just start off by saying that I have never played any of the Devil May Cry games, infact I am a complete novice to this style of action game. I play way to many FPS' and a game has to really be special to drag me away from my beloved Modern Warfare 2. But this has! This is fantastic. I didn't go into this looking to compare this to another game, I just wanted something Let me just start off by saying that I have never played any of the Devil May Cry games, infact I am a complete novice to this style of action game. I play way to many FPS' and a game has to really be special to drag me away from my beloved Modern Warfare 2. But this has! This is fantastic. I didn't go into this looking to compare this to another game, I just wanted something new to play for a while. The graphics are beautiful, rich and colourful, Bayonetta herself looks sasy and sexy and is one of the more interesting gaming characters I've seen in a while. The gamplay is the main part of the game though... and whilst it's got a ton of depth, getting to use all that depth can be quite hard and sometimes tedius. However some of the set-pieces boggle the mind, the Boss battles are huge in terms of scale. My main compleint about the game is that there is very little variety in the types of enemys you fight in general. That's it. Overwise this is a great great great game! Expand
  24. JonB
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    Let me start the review by saying I've just played through Darksiders previous to playing Bayonetta and found it a much more enjoyable experience. I should also mention I'm only a few "acts" in to Bayonetta so far. I wanted to provide some balance to all the reviews praising this game. It's a good game but it definitely has it's flaws! It suffers from controls that are Let me start the review by saying I've just played through Darksiders previous to playing Bayonetta and found it a much more enjoyable experience. I should also mention I'm only a few "acts" in to Bayonetta so far. I wanted to provide some balance to all the reviews praising this game. It's a good game but it definitely has it's flaws! It suffers from controls that are overly complex, to the point of making me consider using my SF IV game stick to play, and the hyper sexualized content is amusing at best. The storyline also suffers from confusing presentation causing you to loose any real interest in it. The "arcade shooter" between acts is so disjointed from the rest of the gameplay that it seems pointless. There is no real way to perfect your combos which is the core of the gameplay. Whilst the game does let you practice whilst it's loading, if you've installed it to your hard drive this won't last long enough to pull off even some of the shorter combos. Finally there is the frustration of "Quicktime" gameplay requiring you to hit just the right button combination, at the right time, in the middle of a cutscene. Darksiders had these as well, but at least in Darksiders you had a good couple of seconds to respond, rather than the fraction of a second Bayonetta provides. So by all means buy and enjoy the game, but do so realizing it's not quite as great as some reviewers are making out. :) Expand
  25. LeahR
    Jan 15, 2010
    9
    It's not perfect, but for a linear action game, Bayonetta is like an expertly-cut diamond that is so dazzling at times, it's almost painful to look at. Its ridiculous story is just a stage for the wonderfully realized characters to act on. The overt sex and violence is pure camp, never taking itself seriously. Strip away the overwhelming amount of tongue-in-cheek cutscenes, and It's not perfect, but for a linear action game, Bayonetta is like an expertly-cut diamond that is so dazzling at times, it's almost painful to look at. Its ridiculous story is just a stage for the wonderfully realized characters to act on. The overt sex and violence is pure camp, never taking itself seriously. Strip away the overwhelming amount of tongue-in-cheek cutscenes, and you're left with a linear action game that shuttles you from scripted battle to scripted battle, where the goal is to kill enemies with combo attacks for points. It's accessible enough for button mashers to progress at a steady pace, yet offers a challenge of finesse for skilled players to achieve higher grades. What pushes this tight action game over the top is the exuberant, unrepentant sense of humor and imagination that suffuses every last bit, from the titular character's exaggeratedly seductive-yet-badass combat animations, to the epic, building-sized bosses. Bayonetta borrows from many excellent action games, from Devil May Cry to Shadow of the Colossus, and distills the essence of their gameplay into a pure, joyous form...then wraps it up in an insanely-realized universe that drips with style. It's difficult to even write about the game without lapsing into glamorous hyperbole--it just puts you into a certain mindset. The game's overbearing style means it won't appeal to everyone, but for fans of combo-based action games, Bayonetta is the crown jewel. Expand
  26. MrTwinbee
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Stunning. A real celebration of videogames. The thing with this game, unlike many over-easy games these day, is that it requires SKILL! Yes you read that correctly, SKILL! Just like in the old days, before games became more dumbed-down and mainstream, Bayonetta throws you in at the deep end. Yes, there are easy modes, but Normal is fairly tough, no cheating here im afraid. Anyone who Stunning. A real celebration of videogames. The thing with this game, unlike many over-easy games these day, is that it requires SKILL! Yes you read that correctly, SKILL! Just like in the old days, before games became more dumbed-down and mainstream, Bayonetta throws you in at the deep end. Yes, there are easy modes, but Normal is fairly tough, no cheating here im afraid. Anyone who dislikes the game for its difficulty or combat system is missing the point. Anyone who dislikes it for the story is missing another point. Anyone who claims that they "Jack off over the game" is missing therapy sessions. Expand
  27. KostasI.
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    I am especially astonished that this game exists. Normally it shouldnt because its "predecessors" (Ninja Gaiden, Devil May Cry) were already deemed perfect in their art style combat mechanics. Sorry Dante and Ryu but Bayonetta just blows the both of them out of the water in terms of intricate and deep combat styles and NG series was already an awesomely high mark to catch, let alone I am especially astonished that this game exists. Normally it shouldnt because its "predecessors" (Ninja Gaiden, Devil May Cry) were already deemed perfect in their art style combat mechanics. Sorry Dante and Ryu but Bayonetta just blows the both of them out of the water in terms of intricate and deep combat styles and NG series was already an awesomely high mark to catch, let alone surpass. Bayonetta however has done exactly that, it has surpassed the impossible. The combat system is of course the focus of the game, as is with any skilled type third person action game, and it is just magnificent. Every movement of your witch perfectly matches your playstyle as she is able to accomodate a variety of playing styles for every possible type of dextrous hand. I really dont want to say more than that. The story is kind of silly yeah but this is not the point of the game. The story is an excuse to slash up angels to high heaven and back but damn what a fine way that is. NG and DMC fans out there just go and grab this. You will not be dissapointed. There really aren't enough games such as these handy around. Expand
  28. FranklinD.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Best Action games ever! A beautiful and fun way to start the new year!!!
  29. :)
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    It's one of the best action games EVARRR!! It's not as good as Devil May Cry 3 or 4, but very few games are. This feels like a mesh between Devil May Cry and Viewtiful Joe in which everything except for demon mode is an element from DMC with just a different look, for example you buy your moves the same way using a currency you earn from killing enemies called halos, which are It's one of the best action games EVARRR!! It's not as good as Devil May Cry 3 or 4, but very few games are. This feels like a mesh between Devil May Cry and Viewtiful Joe in which everything except for demon mode is an element from DMC with just a different look, for example you buy your moves the same way using a currency you earn from killing enemies called halos, which are exactly like red orbs, and you can get one of four pieces of a "witch heart" that boosts your health just like with blue orbs. The way it feels like Viewtiful Joe is that you don't have to execute your attacks as perfectly as you have to in Devil May Cry, but they don't feel as over powered as in games such as God of War or Ninja Gaiden 2 (which are still great games, btw). Spoiler: she even uses his catch-phrase in chapter 3. The stages are longer than in Devil May Cry, and the enemies are a lot better. For one thing, they're extremely detailed and varied, but the best part is that they are managable. In DMC3, all enemies that weren't Hells or dammed chestmen annoyed the living daylights out of me, and in number 4 the enemies seemed to have way too many hitpoints sometimes, and in both games the boss battles were a major pain. In Bayonetta, boss battles and encounters with varying enemies feel a lot more fluid. The game is also a lot harder than Devil May Cry because, as I mentioned, there is no demon-mode that lets you recover some of your hitpoints; the only way to do so is to pick up a green halo (exactly like a green orb), and if you do than you've got to be the luckiest person on earth because I've barely ever gotten one. The one bad aspect of Bayonetta is the story, it sucks. It's fun to watch the cutscenes but I haven't got a clue what's going on. Other than that, the game's AMAZING. Expand
  30. M'Ellis
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    The camera can be troublesome, but it does have an adjustable speed. The combat and dodge mechanic in this game are the closest to perfection I've experienced in a Japanese Action Adventure game (Yes I have played Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden). Sometimes the sexuality can be off-putting, but the way it's incorporated into the character are just brilliant. On the challenging The camera can be troublesome, but it does have an adjustable speed. The combat and dodge mechanic in this game are the closest to perfection I've experienced in a Japanese Action Adventure game (Yes I have played Devil May Cry and Ninja Gaiden). Sometimes the sexuality can be off-putting, but the way it's incorporated into the character are just brilliant. On the challenging side, it's easy enough on easy-normal, and hard can kick your butt. Very Hard mode had me lookin' back to Dante Must Die mode from the DMC series. It's just taken everything from this sub-genre and made it the perfect experience fr those fans and even newcomers. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. A game that exemplifies so much of what commentators claim has died in the Japanese game industry. A blast of creative brilliance, both technically accomplished, strategically deep and infused with rare imagination, Bayonetta represents the pinnacle of its chosen niche. [JPN Import]
  2. A beautiful and graceful fighting game that lets imagination loose, and winks before slapping Dante, Kratos and every other hero back to the drawing board. [Christmas 2009, p.90]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    Astonishingly, every one of these dazzling battles is thrilling without overstaying its welcome - and also challenges you without being cheap. [Jan 2009, p.66]