Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Really, there's no way you can go wrong with this purchase, especially considering it is only 39.99 for a complete package. And at 2.50 a stage, the downloadable content really isn't all that badly priced, either.
  2. Beautiful Katamari is a great game for fans, but not something that will interest those who didn't like the first three.
  3. Sure, Beautiful Katamari is a little short on new ideas and online play has yet to prove itself. But the game is still blindingly bright, and a bargain at $40.
  4. If you miss Beautiful Katamari... you're just missing out.
  5. Expanded multiplayer options would've made this even more remarkable, especially with online co-op. As it stands, however, Katamari's a ball.
  6. Mad as a brush and all the better for it, Katamari’s combination of a very simple concept coupled with some wonderful physics, brilliant level design, challenging objectives and charming visuals gives it a goofy charm that’s hard to dislike.
  7. Feels reassuringly familiar, but also fresh and new.
  8. It clearly aims to include everyone and exclude no one, and that's just plain refreshing amid a holiday season stuffed full of deadly serious, high-learning-curve me-toos. [Nov 2007, p.96]
  9. Not a massive improvement on the PS2 games, but Beautiful retains all the humour and joy you'd expect. For 360 owners, especially, Beautiful Katamari is a refreshing change of pace.
  10. Never has picking up rubbish felt so good. [Jan 2008, p.92]
  11. The novelty of the series may be gone, but its core stands as a good game idea. It won’t win any beauty pageants, but a big enough Katamari could win a county fair.
  12. 80
    There's a reason that people fell in love with Katamari Damacy a few years ago -- it's an addicting and utterly charming experience.
  13. Worth your money by virtue of being totally unique. [Mar 2008, p.67]
  14. 78
    There’s a decent attempt to extend game through online multiplayer but once again Katamari’s biggest downfall is that the magic is short lived. Even with the few problems I’ve mentioned the game is still a joy to behold and a guaranteed smile in a box.
  15. The game is entirely addictive, and even when things are going wrong for you, you'll have this ridiculous desire to continue playing to see if you can beat the level once and for all. That's why I call it "good ol' evil Katamari."
  16. Those who have lost interest in the katamari series may feel disappointed as no advancements on the formula have been made since the inception of the series.
  17. Nothing much has changed in the world of Katamari and this is both a good thing and a bad thing, but one thing is for certain and that is that Beautiful Katamari for the Xbox 360 is still charming and fun.
  18. For people new to the series, download the demo and see if the gameplay clicks with you. If it does, then you’ll probably get your money’s worth out of a purchase.
  19. Bonkers beyond belief, it's not the best in the series, but it's certainly good enough. [Apr 2008, p.74]
  20. 76
    It's as addictive and amusing as it ever has been, so if you can put up with the quirks and shortcomings, take The Prince for a roll.
  21. Beautiful Katamari includes few surprises, but it does offer up more of the enchanting gameplay and charming atmosphere the series is known for.
  22. Beautiful Katamari is the same old Katamari with high definition graphics. That's it - and it's also very short. Still the original quirky idea provides a few hours of gay old time.
  23. Was I ever surprised when I found myself recommending this game for my ten-year old nephew as well as my twenty-three-year old wife. This game can remind even the most serious gamer of what it was like to play games when they were a child. The storyline is ridiculous, the gameplay is simple, the controls are somewhat difficult, and the graphics are old school but overall this game pulled me in and got me hooked.
  24. It combines most aspects of the older titles and upgrades them into the world of high def. While the original "wow" factor is no longer there, it's still worth it.
  25. It's a routine that does need a bit of innovation. Just don't stray too far away from the formula or you may find your fanbase decrease like the stars in the sky after a day with the King.
  26. 75
    The game is also rather short, but when every outrageous environment is so chock full of goodies, and the atmosphere so relentlessly positive, it's still hard to resist playing just one more time.
  27. Without question, Beautiful Katamari is an entertaining game, especially for newcomers to the series.
  28. The game’s title screams of beauty, but in truth, with the single player experience not being up to spec, this is the ugly duckling of the Katamari series. It just doesn’t have that wow factor going for it like the previous entries did.
  29. If you haven’t played this game before, chances are strong that you’ll have a good time with Beautiful Katamari. Newbies may be confused by the unique gameplay or bizarre story, but this series has a way of endearing itself to you rather quickly.
  30. Highly addictive gameplay that lasts for a few hours. A bit basic for a standalone title.
  31. Despite the admittedly addicting gameplay, Beautiful Katamari falls short on every other front. From sub-par graphics, mediocre sound, lack of story, and few stages supported by a lack of fresh new gameplay mechanics, the title fails to justify its $60 price tag.
  32. To say the Katamari series is becoming stale is something of an overstatement, it’s still as enjoyable as ever but if the next instalment (if there is one) doesn’t take the series in a new direction both on and offline, then this cult series in great danger of killing itself off by the lack of the one thing it brought a bundle of, originality.
  33. 70
    For those who didn't check out the PlayStation 2 and PSP games, it will feel fresh and fun. For the rest of us? It's still fun, as long as you're not looking for much in the way of change.
  34. A solid debut for Katamari on Xbox 360, though the frame rate issue proves all too noticeable.
  35. 70
    Given that Beautiful Katamari's graphics don't look a whole lot different from those in the PS2 original, it's hard not to appreciate the irony of the game's title.
  36. 70
    Definitely an above average game, but significant longevity issues bring an otherwise great game down.
  37. We Love Katamari left us with a deep and good impression, but this sequel – or maybe we should say this add on to the series – only manages to add the online play. It doesn’t want to be a killer game and it doesn’t even take advantage of the hardware to fix some graphic flaws, but it’s still one of the most original concepts of the industry. [March 2008]
  38. Fans of the series will welcome this new version with open arms. Don’t expect any revolutions in gameplay, but be prepared for something even more epic than previous games.
  39. The game hasn't changed the formula which is probably a good thing but the length, camera, multiplayer, and HD visuals all lead to disappoint in some degree or another.
  40. Beautiful Katamari holds out as a well-crafted cash-in of the Katamari formula, seeking to bring it to a new, potentially larger, audience. Unfortunately, "cash-in" still applies, and in spite of some great additions, it's still the same old Katamari.
  41. With its budget price and most of its bizarre humor intact, you could most certainly do worse than pickking up a copy of Beautiful Katamari. [Dec 2007, p.65]
  42. That's how it feels: brand extension, dilution rather than enrichment. [Mar 2008, p.102]
  43. 60
    While it’s great to see it on the newer generation of systems (and on a Microsoft system at that), it doesn’t feel like it’s progressed very much at all since its first iteration, a problem that dogged even We Love Katamari, but which feels even more apparent here.
  44. Lack of coherency, imagination and self-awareness.
  45. Whether the King of all Cosmos is getting a little old or the designers have just lost their way slightly, this latest Katamari game lacks the quirky humour of previous games, favouring more obvious quips, and in turn the whole game feels a little forced.
  46. Too little's been spent on making Katamari feel at home on 360, and that makes us sad. [Issue#30, p.90]
  47. The third time is definitely not a charm. Multiplayer is better in concept than practice, and the rest of the game just feels "tired." Even fans of the series will lose interest.
  48. 60
    If there’s anything to complain about in Beautiful Katamari, it’s that vets will likely tear through the game in a matter of hours. Still, there’ll always be the online multiplayer aspect to keep them going.
  49. 60
    It's too hard at the beginning for newcomers and young ones, too simple in its stage and artistic direction, and overall, it plays like a prototype to the previous and superior Katamari titles.
  50. The bottom line is if the gameplay grabs you it carries with it an addictive quality. However there is nothing remarkable about it; this is just an over produced and pricey 360 Arcade title. Only those looking for the truly bizarre need apply.
  51. Beautiful Katamari does something very wrong--it tarnishhes the series' hallmark simplicity and ease. [Dec 2007, p.126]
  52. I can see that some fans will gain enjoyment, and those gamers tired of the norm, but for my tastes, the appeal of the game was lost pretty early on.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    game is still fun and co-op is a nice addiction but i think a solo mode would have been better as without local friends or internetgame is still fun and co-op is a nice addiction but i think a solo mode would have been better as without local friends or internet connection it becomes unplayable literally Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    Where do I start? This game keeps you interested, just when you think the ball you are meticulously rolling has gotten huge, it only getsWhere do I start? This game keeps you interested, just when you think the ball you are meticulously rolling has gotten huge, it only gets bigger and bigger! This game is great. With so many quirky and questionable Asian themes and songs you truly get a feel of an out of this world experience. This is a great addition to the true namco Katamari fan. The major drawback was the camera angles and the length of play. That's why this fun game only gets an 8 from me. Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    Totally addictive and fun as hell. I picked this up not expecting much. Actually I had no clue what to expect as I had never played a KatamariTotally addictive and fun as hell. I picked this up not expecting much. Actually I had no clue what to expect as I had never played a Katamari game before, only knew them by reputation.

    The levels are short and chaotic, but boy do they have huge replay value. I wish I could be more descriptive but I can't. This is a game that everyone should play at least once. It is strange as can be, but I'm sure that's just the culture barrier in the way (it doesn't matter, but it's there.)

    Overall:
    A very strange but highly enjoyable game that I can some up in one word: Fun!
    Full Review »