User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    7
    This game is actually pretty fun. It adds a variety of challenge and a new jumping mechanic, which isn't as helpful as it seems, you can beat every level without ever jumping. Still, BC Rearmed 2 is definitely one of the better XBLA titles.
  2. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Great game. Seems like many people expected the sequel be just as the first game. It offers a lot of challenges and the art style is really nice. As a non hard core gamer I really like the new level of difficulty. I couldn't even complete the first 3 levels in the first game. A wide range of weapons makes a higher replay value as well.
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    I think this game is really great. I did not play the first game that much, but this I really like. I think it's the controller that is making the difference. Also, it's fun to play co-op.
  4. Feb 5, 2011
    9
    This is more of the same, plus new features such as death from above and jumping. Great looking game, and basically, if you liked BCR you'll like this.
  5. Feb 3, 2011
    6
    this was an instant buy for me and at first i was happy about the nice graphical style but once i started actually playing, major disappointment set in. i expected the basic gameplay to be exactly as in BCR1 but with jumping added on a formerly unused button.
    instead, EVERYTHING is different. and often unnecessarily so. because e.g. grabbing and throwing barrels works exactly like it did
    in BCR1 but the input you have to do on the controller is different. the way you swing is basically the same (with some added features) but the way you tell the game to let go is not the same. again, for no apparent reason. and probably most stupid: it is not possible to shoot the arm straight forward using the d-pad. you can only do that with the analog stick and by aiming between "forward" and "down-forward". very badly designed.
    they could've at least had the old control scheme as an option. not difficult to program, there are barely any options as it is anyway - so no reason not to include that.
    another drawback IMO is the fact that the record times for the various levels do not differentiate between the use of jumps and retro gameplay.
    as already said in the beginning - the graphical touchup is great. and some of the added features make the game feel nicer (e.g. not needing a shotgun to start swinging and being able to adjust the arm length while hanging) but with the broken controls that means nothing.
    unless there will be an update offering the option to have retro control scheme/mechanics, i refuse to play this.
    Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    This is more of the same, plus new features such as death from above and jumping. Great looking game, and basically, if you liked BCR you'll like this.
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    76
    I'd say the reason to play it is that it's a solid, if unremarkable, platformer that can be a slightly fun means by which to pass the time. There's zero story and the bulk of the challenge has been removed, thereby reducing Bionic Commando ReArmed 2 to just another side scrolling shooter with some jumping elements.
  2. Mar 17, 2011
    70
    While Bionic Commando Rearmed 2 is still a solid side-scrolling platformer and still when of the best such co-op games around, it seems confused as to what made the first game so popular to begin with. It seems happy to free of the shackles of being a remake, completely unaware that it may have lost its identity in the process.
  3. 60
    Gains legs but loses charm. [Apr 2011, p.108]