Bionic Commando Rearmed Xbox 360

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 4 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MagdalenaS
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    The game is awesome. The multiplayer is great, we've been playing it for hours and hours.
  2. SinguleJ.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    Stunning, enchanting and may I say bloody brilliant! Gameplay, controls 100 %.
  3. RafaelD.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    What a great remake of a classic game. An instant success.
  4. RyanB.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Bionic Commando Rearmed is amazing. Its the best XBL arcade to date imo.
  5. M.R.
    Aug 14, 2008
    9
    One of the best games yet to grace Xbox Live Arcade. An absolute steal at ten dollars.
  6. RobertB.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    The game is great! Is crack legal in UK? Thinking about the Xbox World review, the dude must have been smoking something.
  7. A.M.
    Aug 17, 2008
    9
    Anyone that enjoyed the original game will love this. Absolutely fantastic.
  8. PedroA.
    Aug 16, 2008
    3
    So soooo so disappointing. The core control mechanic is utterly broken. It's almost impossible to get diagnols on the 360's controller, meaning I can never shoot the arm where I mean to- why not use the right analogue stick? The overhead sections are utterly pointless and no fun at all, and the whole thing feels sluggish and tedious. I never played the NES game, just the arcade So soooo so disappointing. The core control mechanic is utterly broken. It's almost impossible to get diagnols on the 360's controller, meaning I can never shoot the arm where I mean to- why not use the right analogue stick? The overhead sections are utterly pointless and no fun at all, and the whole thing feels sluggish and tedious. I never played the NES game, just the arcade and Amiga versions, but if it was anything like this trainwreck I'm glad I got the decent versions. The art is nice enough (but looks crap when swinging) I wish they'd given it to people outside the dev team to playtest. It's horrible, unresponsive where it should have been an effortless joy. Definitely try the demo before blowing 800 points. Quite how it's getting such good reviews is an absolute mystery. Expand
  9. MattS.
    Aug 22, 2008
    3
    I never played the original version and now I'm glad I didn't. But then again maybe if I had I wouldn't have wasted my money on this game. The controls blow, update them, maybe a little?
  10. JustinW.
    Aug 17, 2008
    9
    Addictive Swinging action!!!
  11. DesO.
    Aug 30, 2008
    9
    By far the best and most challenging sidescroller to come out for XBLA and a worthy remake of an arcade classic. The single player can last anywhere between a single hour and 10 hours depending on how good you are and how quickly you can figure out how to beat each boss (each one is like a puzzle). If you get really stuck you can play co-op with a friend who can help. When you do finish By far the best and most challenging sidescroller to come out for XBLA and a worthy remake of an arcade classic. The single player can last anywhere between a single hour and 10 hours depending on how good you are and how quickly you can figure out how to beat each boss (each one is like a puzzle). If you get really stuck you can play co-op with a friend who can help. When you do finish the story mode the challenges and local multiplayer will keep you entertained for weeks. The only thing that could have made it better is online play and at 10 euro its not like you've been horribly ripped off. Obviously if sidescrollers aren't your thing then stay away from Bionic Commando but please, don't tarnish it with bad reviews just because you can't figure out how to use the grappling hook (seriously, it takes all of about 10 minutes practice before you're punching away bullets and swinging over gaps like spiderman). Expand
  12. ShimmyA
    May 29, 2009
    9
    I've played the original and this game is an amazing update. The play mechanics are all intact. Very beautiful multiplayer albeit no online but on a single console it's a blast. The graphics are very neat, good usage of textures to give you the feel of the old. The music is top notch. The challenge rooms will make you hate how bad your reflexes are and are a good throwback to I've played the original and this game is an amazing update. The play mechanics are all intact. Very beautiful multiplayer albeit no online but on a single console it's a blast. The graphics are very neat, good usage of textures to give you the feel of the old. The music is top notch. The challenge rooms will make you hate how bad your reflexes are and are a good throwback to the days when games were really challenging. Overall Grin did an amazing job. Thank you for a fantastic game. Expand
  13. MatthewB.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Nearly perfect. If you dont like the brutal diffuculty dont play it. dont come on here lowering the average.
  14. OliverR.
    Aug 16, 2008
    9
    First of all: Great remake! The level design is taken pretty much 1:1 from the NES, the controls got a minimal touchup, the graphics a major touchup and you get some additional goodies like the challenges and multiplayer. Talking of which: There is no online MP?! That is a big disappointment! It's a shame, as similar games of that price range feature that. The Dev Team said, they First of all: Great remake! The level design is taken pretty much 1:1 from the NES, the controls got a minimal touchup, the graphics a major touchup and you get some additional goodies like the challenges and multiplayer. Talking of which: There is no online MP?! That is a big disappointment! It's a shame, as similar games of that price range feature that. The Dev Team said, they planned it, but due to budget limitation couldn't get it finished, so lets all bomb Konami to make them finish it! But even so: Great game with a lot of oldschool fun feeling to it and lots of nice, ironic humor in between. Expand
  15. PhilipS.
    Aug 16, 2008
    9
    As amazing and relentlessly unforgiving as the original.
  16. AdamP.
    Aug 17, 2008
    8
    Great game, reminds me of the old days when I was playing it on NES. Fortunately, it's just as hard as it used to be.
  17. AdolfoV.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Excellent game it fells like a game that you will never finish.
  18. ScottT
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    Anyone who says the control mechanics are broken hasn't taken the few minutes to run through the tutorial. Contrary to some complaints, you don't need to point diagonally to shoot the arm diagonally. By default, it shoots diagonally: hold forward to shoot forward, up to shoot up, and no direction to shoot diagonally (when swinging, it shoots diagonally when you point in no Anyone who says the control mechanics are broken hasn't taken the few minutes to run through the tutorial. Contrary to some complaints, you don't need to point diagonally to shoot the arm diagonally. By default, it shoots diagonally: hold forward to shoot forward, up to shoot up, and no direction to shoot diagonally (when swinging, it shoots diagonally when you point in no direction OR forward). The controls work perfectly. That said, I was a fan of the NES original. The remake is much much better though. The bosses are much more fun and the weapons system is way cooler since you have access to all of your weapons at all times now. Also, the machine gun is now fun to use and useful, and the challenge modes are a blast (though I don't think I'll ever get 5 stars on most of them). As others have said, the top down mode isn't very fun, however, you can breeze through them quickly and they don't distract too much or too often. By far, this is the best remake I've ever played and it would be worth a purchase at twice the price. Expand
  19. JohnB.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    We all hear the same garbage all the time; that a game would be better if it had online multiplayer. Well, you know what? That's just straight bollocks. This game is fantastic. It revamps the original in a thoughtful and well-executed manner and keeps to why we play games in the first place...for a challenging and fun escape from everyday life. So, here's an idea, why not invite We all hear the same garbage all the time; that a game would be better if it had online multiplayer. Well, you know what? That's just straight bollocks. This game is fantastic. It revamps the original in a thoughtful and well-executed manner and keeps to why we play games in the first place...for a challenging and fun escape from everyday life. So, here's an idea, why not invite a friend over to play WITH you? Have we become so socially degenerate that we have to hold entire relationships with people through a communicative medium? Should we hold every developer to making a game available online-multiplayer ready, whether or not it improves the game? Is 800 points for this gem not enough? Don't mind me, I'm probably the only person who gets tired of douche bags online whistling and humming craptastic house music in my headphones. Anyway, the game is great and anyone who can't appreciate that bit of fact...well, I just can't relate to you. Expand
  20. JohanK
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    A breath of fresh air among all the cheap ports and remakes on old games this gen. Capcom being Capcom, commissioned GRIN to show everyone how you properly re-release an old classic for the new generation of gamers. It still feels old, with melodramatic dialogues and unforgiving difficulty. But some of the cheapness is taken out and instead we get a "how it should have been made in the A breath of fresh air among all the cheap ports and remakes on old games this gen. Capcom being Capcom, commissioned GRIN to show everyone how you properly re-release an old classic for the new generation of gamers. It still feels old, with melodramatic dialogues and unforgiving difficulty. But some of the cheapness is taken out and instead we get a "how it should have been made in the first place". Its a shame its getting some bad scores because of its controls. Once you learn to control the arm, its as easy as one, two, three, and I think its unfair to blame your own shortcomings on the game. To give it a 3 out of 10 because of the controls is just moronic. Support the future of arcade titles like this instead of spending your money on cheap ports (VC *cough*) and by next gen, this genre could mature into its own industry. Expand
  21. DavidC
    Nov 15, 2008
    5
    is it me, or is this game a thing of the past? it probably is, but i really don't have any interest in re-playing these old classics. the controls are brutal, the game play is stale, and the artistic style of the game is unattractive.
  22. DillonL
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    A remake of a classic game that actually was better than the original. This game brought new life into the 2D world. It's awesome!
  23. KevinR.
    Aug 13, 2008
    6
    This game looks great but doesn't really deliver all the goods. The controls need a some work done and the game presents a lot of challenges, but they are just aggravating which makes the game no fun at all. The challenges are a nice addition. Now I like that there is multiplayer in this game but it sucks that it is only LOCAL mulitplayer and not ONLINE multiplayer. I was really This game looks great but doesn't really deliver all the goods. The controls need a some work done and the game presents a lot of challenges, but they are just aggravating which makes the game no fun at all. The challenges are a nice addition. Now I like that there is multiplayer in this game but it sucks that it is only LOCAL mulitplayer and not ONLINE multiplayer. I was really looking forward to playing co-op online with some of my friends but all of that was just smashed into oblivion when I found out that it is local only. Most of my friends live in different cities and with the way gas prices are these days, I'd rather just stay home and play online with them rather than travel to their house to play this game. There are many of good games out there that are better than this, for example: Braid. This game is really for the die hard fans of the NES classic and for no one else. Expand
  24. MattB.
    Aug 14, 2008
    9
    Listen to IGN on this one. People are forgetting that the mechanic is SUPPOSED to be very hard and old school, and it is both... but because of that, it's immensely satisfying every time you conquer a section. Isn't that what gaming used to be all about? If you have a bone of old school love in your body, you will buy this game. One of the top few games of the year for me.
  25. dangcucu
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Could someone from metacritic please remove Xbox World 360 Magazine UK from the Critics group; no link to why the MOSTLY review all games as low as it does. From UK so we can't even read why on paper. At least let us rate the reviewers seems as some of them just rate games low for attention without merit. Otherwise, BC is an updated retro game that was hard back in the day & surprise Could someone from metacritic please remove Xbox World 360 Magazine UK from the Critics group; no link to why the MOSTLY review all games as low as it does. From UK so we can't even read why on paper. At least let us rate the reviewers seems as some of them just rate games low for attention without merit. Otherwise, BC is an updated retro game that was hard back in the day & surprise surprise... it is hard now. but truly enjoyable. would be a 10 is online co-op was made. not sure why a lot of recent games don't include (ex. soulcalibur, Geometry Wars 2). Except for soulcalibur may have wanted to force you to buy the newest disc instead for that/ but that's no excuse. BC gets 9/10. Expand
  26. PioH.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    The only people who don't enjoy this game 1. Never did the CRUCIAL basic tutorial, 2. Didn't try playing it on normal difficulty, and after playing the game for a bit without 1. or 2. threw it down and never played it again. I was unsure if this would be worth my Microsoft Points buying it and my mind was almost preparing for regret. Then I was dumbstruck. The cool, stylish and The only people who don't enjoy this game 1. Never did the CRUCIAL basic tutorial, 2. Didn't try playing it on normal difficulty, and after playing the game for a bit without 1. or 2. threw it down and never played it again. I was unsure if this would be worth my Microsoft Points buying it and my mind was almost preparing for regret. Then I was dumbstruck. The cool, stylish and skilful gameplay, the epic and controlling music, the beautiful visuals and the boss battles. The only flaw is an irregular control system that needs to be gotten used to. But once you do master it, you're in. This was the best remake I have ever played and one of the best XBLA games ever. You just need to get into it. Expand
  27. Feb 5, 2011
    10
    I really really like this game. It's attractive, it's unortadox and it has really good music. The multiplayer is not online, and that is the only thing I am missing. I would have liked to play the very crazy tempo mp game over the net.
  28. Jun 27, 2014
    7
    A side-scrolling 2d platformer/shooter Bionic Commando Rearmed is a great update to a series that made its debut in the late 80's with the bionic arm, which has a whole host of uses such as traversing large gaps or grabbing enemies, really helping the game to stand out from other titles in the genre. As an added bonus the entire game can even be played in a well implemented local co-opA side-scrolling 2d platformer/shooter Bionic Commando Rearmed is a great update to a series that made its debut in the late 80's with the bionic arm, which has a whole host of uses such as traversing large gaps or grabbing enemies, really helping the game to stand out from other titles in the genre. As an added bonus the entire game can even be played in a well implemented local co-op mode.

    Aside from a final level that is too long to not have any checkpoints (We gave up after dying on the final bonus for a 2nd time and being forced to play through the entire level again) its hard to really have many complaints about Rearmed and at about £10 it offers great value for money.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Bionic Commando is one of the top ten classic remakes that have been revived for the consoles since the concepts debut. Bionic Commando Rearmed does everything right from its updated beautiful looking graphics, to the added multiplayer support and new challenge mode.
  2. They even managed to spice things up by re-tooling boss fights, puzzles, and later sections in the game to sit more comfortably with the way gaming has evolved.
  3. If you're even the slightest fan of the original then you owe it to yourself to pick up this downloadable title.