User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 591 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 591
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SiR
    Feb 21, 2010
    7
    Bioshock 1 is in my top three games of all time. Bioshock 2 most definitely isn't. Ultimately this is a good game but very disappointing. I wasn't compelled to immediately play through this a second and then a third time through like I did for the first Bioshock. The combat plasmids are all the same as the first Bioshock (come on 2K - a little bit of imagination here). It's Bioshock 1 is in my top three games of all time. Bioshock 2 most definitely isn't. Ultimately this is a good game but very disappointing. I wasn't compelled to immediately play through this a second and then a third time through like I did for the first Bioshock. The combat plasmids are all the same as the first Bioshock (come on 2K - a little bit of imagination here). It's short.The end is just stupid (just shoot two pipes then thats it??WTF??!!). Also the new multiplayer def aint no Modern Warfare. I love Rapture and I love Bioshock 1- but this sequel left me cold. Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2012
    6
    Bioshock 1 instantly impressed with its unique design and kept the player hooked with its uncommon gameplay and story through the game. Now with bioshock 2 it is somehow like hearing the same joke twice in a row. It fails to deliver enough new elements to be interesting. While i would really love to tell positive things about this game since i generally really like the combination of 3dBioshock 1 instantly impressed with its unique design and kept the player hooked with its uncommon gameplay and story through the game. Now with bioshock 2 it is somehow like hearing the same joke twice in a row. It fails to deliver enough new elements to be interesting. While i would really love to tell positive things about this game since i generally really like the combination of 3d shooter with slight rpg elements i just honestly can not do so. I did not even manage to finish the game, just got bored after a while and stopped playing it. Sure will give it a second chance some time and maybe even enjoy finishing it than, but at its release it just disappointed me. 6/10 Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2010
    5
    The first Bioshock was better. The storyline's too short, the splicers are more cartoony than Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, but at least that was good!! The horror isn't as scary as Bioshock 1. They totally copied off of Kill Bill when you shoot yourself in the head... and survive?! What a bunch of lazy developers! The first Bioshock- Nearly perfect. The second Bioshock- half as good
  4. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    In short, the original BioShock was a lot better. I think the main problem this game faces is that it cannot capture the atmosphere and ambience that the original game had. And without this major feature, the game doesn't do much for me. The game isn't bad, but really the whole point of a sequel is to improve upon its predecessor. And sadly, this game does not do that.
  5. Sep 20, 2010
    6
    Frankly, this game does not need to exist. The first Bioshock was an incredibly good game and this adds nothing but plot holes. It was fun enough for one playthrough simply because the combat has been improved but the storyline to Bioshock 2 makes no sense, and this is especially important because of how important the storyline was to the first game. It just feels like the developers hadFrankly, this game does not need to exist. The first Bioshock was an incredibly good game and this adds nothing but plot holes. It was fun enough for one playthrough simply because the combat has been improved but the storyline to Bioshock 2 makes no sense, and this is especially important because of how important the storyline was to the first game. It just feels like the developers had to think of something, anything, for another Bioshock game so they just kind of tacked on these extra characters and settings that are incompatible with the events of the first game. Also, because you play as a big daddy, the game is no longer scary. Big Sisters are a bit scary, but they just seem tacked on as well and after a while you know when they show up so that loses it's thrills. Overall, maybe rent this game if you are dying to return to Rapture, but otherwise just play the first Bioshock again or something, Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2010
    7
    The singleplayer is by no means bad and the story itself will keep you going to the end with ease. The graphics are satisfying and the world of Rapture looks great onscreen and finally the atmosphere is overall very positive. The online doesn't present any major problems either...However, with all those positive features, we still found this game to overall not be anything that special.The singleplayer is by no means bad and the story itself will keep you going to the end with ease. The graphics are satisfying and the world of Rapture looks great onscreen and finally the atmosphere is overall very positive. The online doesn't present any major problems either...However, with all those positive features, we still found this game to overall not be anything that special. perhaps we could not fully fathom the Undersea place of Rapture within our puny minds....We will still see if the next Bioshock game will impress. The sky is the limit - literally in the next game!!! Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    5
    I started to play this game because I really like Bioshock, but 2 just couldn't hook me. There was nothing in it that I wanted to know except for when it'd do something interesting. But it didn't and I eventually gave it up.
  8. Jun 8, 2011
    6
    While BioShock 2 makes many new ways to fight than Bioshock, it comes at the cost of losing the political and mental elements of the original. While Bioshock's characters will be remembered in gaming history, chances are no one is going to remember Generic Evil Woman #1, Sophia Lamb.
  9. Jul 9, 2011
    6
    Hey, Guys! Guess what? I found a game that won't tear off your nuts! Legitamite! This game has pretty nutty good graphics, OK gameplay, but the storline compared to the original... Do I hear funeral music? Yeah I do, buy if your a absaloute goner if you don't waste your money on it, if your new to the waste-your-money process, keep away.
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    a disappointment to say the least. this game did not live up to the hype for me at all. The entire premise of the game is being able to play as a big daddy, but you never actually FEEL like the terrifying monstrosities from the first Bioshock.

    I can understand why you're not supposed to be invincible, it doesn't make for a fun game if no one can kill you, but there just wasn't enough in
    a disappointment to say the least. this game did not live up to the hype for me at all. The entire premise of the game is being able to play as a big daddy, but you never actually FEEL like the terrifying monstrosities from the first Bioshock.

    I can understand why you're not supposed to be invincible, it doesn't make for a fun game if no one can kill you, but there just wasn't enough in this game to set aside the growing fact that this game wasn't a worthy sequel to one of the best games of this console generation. The controls were a bit clunky for my tastes, and a lot of the plasmids felt very rushed and under developed.

    It wasn't a terrible game, by any means. I enjoyed it, it just didn't live up to the hype in my opinion. I think the main problem is that Ken Levine didn't have any hand in this game. He was the creative director for the 1st Bioshock, and is back for Bioshock Infinite. I believe IT will be the true sequel we all wanted this game to be. the game play was solid, but it didn't really capitalize on any new ground breaking experiences. The part of the game where you actually start to FEEL like a big daddy is so late that it feels like a missed opportunity, and the Big Sisters are too predictable to be a real threat. the tact on multi-player was poorly designed, and wasn't any fun at all. I'm giving this game a 6 out of 10. it had a hint of the glory that was Bioshock, but it failed to actually even compare to the original.
    Expand
  11. Oct 27, 2012
    6
    Well, I have to say I was excited to see a Bioshock sequel coming around the corner, considering how much I loved the story, environment and combat of Bioshock. Unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed. I was glad that they decided to allow you to use Plasmids AND Guns at the same time, rather than having to switch between each one manually. Also, they did do a great job of making you feelWell, I have to say I was excited to see a Bioshock sequel coming around the corner, considering how much I loved the story, environment and combat of Bioshock. Unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed. I was glad that they decided to allow you to use Plasmids AND Guns at the same time, rather than having to switch between each one manually. Also, they did do a great job of making you feel as if you are a Big Daddy, with the big submarine helmet, your bigfoot movement and the damage you took. I'm glad they added melee attacks to guns as well (since you might not want to have to switch to your drill). Hacking is now done in real-time, which seems like an improvement, but now the hacking system is even easier than the previous hacking system. And the guns, well, aren't much to brag about. They are practically the same as the previous game, just with a different name, ammo type and outlook. The only 'new' item is the hack tool, which is particularly good considering that now you can hack remotely from a distance. The "Protect the Sister" parts on the singleplayer are a nice touch, and I'm glad that 2K took attention to realize that you are a Big Daddy that needs to protect their little sisters as they are recovering adam for you. And you will need it. the secret improve-your-gun stations are more rare and now you will have to strategically choose which upgrades you want on your gun, because you won't get them all. However, I was disappointed they completely cut the ammo creation station, which made the game feel much shorter from the previous game. Also, I don't like how you have to use your Health Kits using one button on the D-pad, yet you can only take your plasmids when you are COMPLETELY out of EVE at the time. Iron Sights have been added for all guns now, and you can put on true ironsights if you want (even for the hack tool). But, the story was the real kick in the shins for me. Now, it was interesting, initially, with the whole Big Sister concept and how you were slowly dying and losing your mind from being torn apart from your little sister, but the tyrant, Sofia Lamb, was a lot less interesting than Andrew Ryan and more annoying so. Sofia just seems to keep talking to you as if she's trying to analyze something, and compared to her methods from Andrew Ryan, she's taken a more collective and socialistic method rather than him. The graphics seem downgraded somehow from the previous game, with graphics constantly being blurred out that haven't loaded right, as well as very smooth and choppy NPC's. Also, the ending was most possibly the most anti-climactic boss fight I have seen yet. In the fight to retain your little sister back and to get revenge on sofia lamb, you COMPLETE THE GAME BY DESTROYING TWO PIPES! TWO PIPES?! WOW! that must have been hard, considering that vigilante Big Daddy's and Brute Splicers will keep spawning on you if you don't destroy them. But, the most annoying thing that I think 2K thought they had to do to make the game popular was the multiplayer. I have heard so many bad things about it, and playing it, all of them were true. Most graphic pop-ups won't load, player movement is always choppy, and gameplay can become seriously unbalanced considerably. But, other than Black Ops, it was actually funny for me to see all of this happen as I was playing, and I just played to see how bad or good it really was. Bioshock doesn't need multiplayer, the first one was fine on it's own on the singleplayer because it was engaging and awesome at the same time. I guess when 2K decided to make Bioshock 2's singleplayer kind of recycled from the first game, they decided to make multiplayer to compensate for it. It didn't work. Hopefully, Bioshock: Infinite should be worthwhile considering that is free from the original bioshock universe. Still, this game should be worth your time, considering many of it's improvements, but it is seriously lacking in a decent multiplayer experience and far more an engaging and unfamiliar story arc. Expand
  12. AlexM
    Feb 10, 2010
    7
    Its OK but don't expect Bioshock 2 to grab and hold you like the first one did. I don't feel any attachment to my character in this one which, coupled with a big sense of 'been there done that' and a weak storyline just kills any feeling of immersion. It looks just as good as the first one, but there's really nothing new to see here. I can best summarize my Its OK but don't expect Bioshock 2 to grab and hold you like the first one did. I don't feel any attachment to my character in this one which, coupled with a big sense of 'been there done that' and a weak storyline just kills any feeling of immersion. It looks just as good as the first one, but there's really nothing new to see here. I can best summarize my experience by saying Bioshock 1 kept me on my toes excited and scared about what I would face around the next corner, whilst Bioshock 2 kept me hoping to find some amazing twist or challenge and just failed to deliver. Expand
  13. JasonG.
    Feb 9, 2010
    7
    Mixed feelings about this one it has to be compared to the original which was a masterpiece of gaming and sadly it does not compare with the the original its story isent as good and dosent draw you in as the last one did its a shame the developers have played it safe and not come up with something more original not bad but not brilliant like the original.
  14. Jake
    Feb 11, 2010
    7
    The game wasn't bad, but I really wish there was more original content in it. All the weapons were just equal counterparts of the weapons in Bioshock 1, ammo included. There were no new plasmids, save for the upgrade system. The atmosphere is quite different from the first game, but not necessarily worse. One thing I really wished was in the game, was a variety in the environments. The game wasn't bad, but I really wish there was more original content in it. All the weapons were just equal counterparts of the weapons in Bioshock 1, ammo included. There were no new plasmids, save for the upgrade system. The atmosphere is quite different from the first game, but not necessarily worse. One thing I really wished was in the game, was a variety in the environments. In Bioshock 1 you could clearly tell what part of the game someone was on based on the setting, but it's more or less all the same in Bioshock 2. I really feel the multiplayer stole what could've been a fantastic single-player experience and one of the best of 2010, but sadly what we got was a 6-hour campaign and a lot of disappointment. Expand
  15. RM
    Feb 11, 2010
    7
    Very good visuals and sound, and quite interesting storyline. However, the combat mechanics are lacking. There's little use you can make of terrain during combat, the enemies are quite stupid, and the weaponry is just as uninspired as in the first part (with the same unbalanced upgrade combinations you can buy and equip). Also, the characters that drive the story are quite uninspiring.
  16. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    My biggest problem with BioShock 2 is the story. Yes, I am biased from the first game being so immersive and drawing me into a narrative that really made me pause and think before I continued. BioShock 2, however, is no where near the level of the first game and itâ
  17. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    A disappointing sequel that captures none of the magic that made the first game great, the campaign is weak, the story and characters are uninteresting unlike the first where the story instantly sucked me in and I had to find out all about the characters, even the audio logs which were fantastic in the first, are stupid and honestly just boring to listen to, and the while thing justA disappointing sequel that captures none of the magic that made the first game great, the campaign is weak, the story and characters are uninteresting unlike the first where the story instantly sucked me in and I had to find out all about the characters, even the audio logs which were fantastic in the first, are stupid and honestly just boring to listen to, and the while thing just suffers of a feeling of been there done that, it's only in its last few levels that it's fun to play, and packs one moment I wont forget, you think that going back to Rapture would be a chance to find out some new secrets about it, but it only allows you to find out one, and finding out that secret is the best part of the game just because it's more info on the little sisters, they did add some new features like the ability to use Plasmids and guns at the same time, and added new weapons but honestly I didn't really like them I would have much rather just of had the original guns, and only the shotgun actually seems powerful, and you also are a Big Daddy this time, but for some reason you feel like a weakling, I felt more powerful in the original, and ammo just seems to disappear to quickly, so the campaign is a HUGE and frustrating let down up until the last few levels, the best part and the reason you should buy this is for the multiplayer which is fantastic and will keep me coming back, and still has a large community still playing it, so if your not connected to Xbox Live you can pass on this unless you have to have more Rapture, in the end it's a sad sequel to a fantastic game, and it's campaign only manages to be fun in it's last moments, but manages to pack some fantastic multiplayer, but learning more about the Little Sister is worth it, so do I recommend this? yes, but only to the most hardcore of Bioshock fans that can forgive the numerous flaws and the disappointments. Expand
  18. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    Gameplay was fun, but it didn't feel like the first. The story wasn't even close to being as good as the first so it kind of felt like i was just mindlessly killing everything instead of being immersed like the first one. But the lack in single player was probably due to the new multiplayer which, to my surprise, was actually pretty fun. I just would've liked to have more from the singleGameplay was fun, but it didn't feel like the first. The story wasn't even close to being as good as the first so it kind of felt like i was just mindlessly killing everything instead of being immersed like the first one. But the lack in single player was probably due to the new multiplayer which, to my surprise, was actually pretty fun. I just would've liked to have more from the single player game and no multiplayer at all. Expand
  19. Jul 20, 2013
    6
    Bioshock 2 is the sequel to one of my favorite games, so it has a high expectation in my opinion. The story this time around has you playing as a big daddy and protecting little sisters. The plot does not feel as fresh as the first because we already had visited Rapture before. Nothing story wise lives up to its predecessor, not even the villain who falls in comparison to Andrew Ryan. TheBioshock 2 is the sequel to one of my favorite games, so it has a high expectation in my opinion. The story this time around has you playing as a big daddy and protecting little sisters. The plot does not feel as fresh as the first because we already had visited Rapture before. Nothing story wise lives up to its predecessor, not even the villain who falls in comparison to Andrew Ryan. The gameplay on the over hand is better than ever. You now get to use a weapon and a plasmid at the same time. The combat feels good and you really feel like you are a big daddy because how powerful you are in the game. There are a couple of new additions like a defense segment where you have to protect your little sister as she gathers atom for you. The multiplayer is very unnecessary and feels tacked on to an already complete package. The premise and set up is interesting but when you get down to the game itself it feels very bland. Bioshock 2 is still a good game, it might not live up to greats like the first Bioshock, but still worth a play for fans of the series. Expand
  20. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    Irrational Games, or 2K Boston, stepped out of the Bioshock series and left it to 2K Marin to develop the sequel to the marvel that is Bioshock. Bioshock 2 sold more copies than its predecessor during the opening month, but did not get the same rave reviews. It did is still a critically acclaimed game, just not the same as Bioshock 1. I believe it was overrated.

    Single-Player The
    Irrational Games, or 2K Boston, stepped out of the Bioshock series and left it to 2K Marin to develop the sequel to the marvel that is Bioshock. Bioshock 2 sold more copies than its predecessor during the opening month, but did not get the same rave reviews. It did is still a critically acclaimed game, just not the same as Bioshock 1. I believe it was overrated.

    Single-Player
    The gameplay is about the same. You have a similar amount of plasmids with a few old ones being replaced with new ones, and it is the same deal with the weapons. How you upgrade the weapons is exactly the same. There are still environmental hazards that can be utilized, however it doesn't seems as important to the mission. I found myself not using them nearly as much as I used them in Bioshock 1. The things that are new in the gameplay is the certain missions that are given like protecting a little sister from time to time.

    The presentation in the first game is not the same. This could be either a good or a bad thing. In my humble opinion, it is a bad thing. The entire feel of the world completely changed for me during my play through because of one thing, which took me time to realize. In the first game, you are practically alone against impossible odds. This time, you are the impossible odd. You are what you feared most in Bioshock 1, which is a Big Daddy. For some this can be an awesome experience, but to me, it took away that feeling of helplessness and fear that I once had. People feared me, instead of me fearing them. The game did have that same underwater, eerie city with psychos around every corner, I just feel that I wasn't really caring because I was the badass with a drill for a hand.

    Multiplayer
    I was actually surprised by the multiplayer. The use of plasmids and upgrading certain weapons using attachments was welcomed. There are also different weapons to be used in the multiplayer apart from the campaign. The maps may be limited and the customization may be slim, but the choices you had to eliminate the opposing team or protect a little sister was massive with all the combinations.
    At any given time a Big Daddy suit will pop up and allow a player to jump in it and have the abilities of an average Big Daddy. This added a sense of competition to it, as the first one who gets in it is able to dominate, however it isn't overpowered at all. There are multiple game modes to go along with the multiplayer that are welcomed and varied from each other, however it is the typical capture the flag and team death match deal. Overall the multiplayer is good, but it doesn't seem very bioshock-e. It is more like Call of Duty with plasmids, and you have to pick up a randomly dropped care-package in order to get a score streak. Overall the multiplayer is good, and is new to the series, just not new to the gaming industry, and what it has done has been done better.

    Put both the multiplayer and the single player together and you do indeed get a decent game, but the same thrill as in the previous game wasn't there, and it seemed to be more of a shooter than a survival horror shooter.
    Expand
  21. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Take everything great about Bioshock and strip away the good story and you'll have Bioshock 2. Sure, it's entertaining, but the magic of a memorable story or new environment isn't there. And I don't know about you, but I expect big daddies to be agile, menacing characters. Yet when you take control of one, you're a slow, lumbering beast. Overall, the worst entry in the series by far, butTake everything great about Bioshock and strip away the good story and you'll have Bioshock 2. Sure, it's entertaining, but the magic of a memorable story or new environment isn't there. And I don't know about you, but I expect big daddies to be agile, menacing characters. Yet when you take control of one, you're a slow, lumbering beast. Overall, the worst entry in the series by far, but still a notch ahead of most games you'll find out there. Expand
  22. Feb 23, 2015
    6
    I have never played this game. .
  23. Sep 20, 2016
    7
    Also a good game as the first Bioshock but not as interesting as its predecessor. The biggest thing, in Bioshock, for me, was the game premesis. Not fan of big Dady :(
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 93 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 93
  2. Negative: 0 out of 93
  1. 100
    Still, BioShock 2 not only re-captures the dystopian aesthetic, gripping narrative, and deep gameplay of Irrational's original, but it actually greatly improves on the BioShock experience as a whole, fine-tuning what made Jack's voyage to Rapture such a memorable experience two years ago.
  2. It's well over two year's since we first had the privilege to be submerged into the world of Rapture for the very first time. In contrast to the first outing, the sequel certainly delivers that same and unique feel with the combination of well thought out design and audio. It's not so much 'better' than the original, but provides enough twists and turns to keep us unadulterately submerged in this mesmerizing underwater (and demented) utopia.
  3. Rapture may not be as mysterious and intriguing this second time around, but it is nonetheless host to a powerful and moving tale that allows you to better realize--or pervert--Ryan's principles at your own discretion. Regardless of whether or not this is a return visit to paradise lost, there is plenty to be found here to make it a worthwhile, meaningful, and compelling one.