User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 465 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 465

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    The 2 things wrong with this game is it's repetition and its re-playability. It was fun to shoot a splicer the first time but that seems to be all you do the entire story. The story is way to forward with one easily predictable twist,but i really don't care too much about the story. I might have a slightly biased review for this game since I'm good at the multi player but it does a good job of killing the camping element that dominates call of duty. the combination of plasmids and guns orchestrate a beautiful amount of variety while playing. Even the best of campers can't kill you more than once since they need a constant supply of eve.In short its story is a flunk and its multilayer did well. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    8
    Great game, the gameplay is arguably the best in the series and you feel extremely badass. The story and creepiness suffered though and the game was a bit shorter and just lacked some of the epicness the original Bioshock had and also Bioshock Infinite but it's still a very good game.
  3. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    I f you loved the first game you WILL love this game. There is really no way to hate this game with all the content that is given. It's a fantastic shooter.
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    It's story/plot may not be as good as it's predecessor and it may lack the feel that gamers felt when playing the original for the first time, but Bioshock 2 is a fun, surprisingly and still atmospheric sequel that though not as good as it's predecessor, it still provides some brilliant moments.
  5. Jan 1, 2012
    6
    Bioshock 1 instantly impressed with its unique design and kept the player hooked with its uncommon gameplay and story through the game. Now with bioshock 2 it is somehow like hearing the same joke twice in a row. It fails to deliver enough new elements to be interesting. While i would really love to tell positive things about this game since i generally really like the combination of 3d shooter with slight rpg elements i just honestly can not do so. I did not even manage to finish the game, just got bored after a while and stopped playing it. Sure will give it a second chance some time and maybe even enjoy finishing it than, but at its release it just disappointed me. 6/10 Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    The first BioShock was amazing but the game broke on me :(. So I decided to play the second game. Improvements from the old game, decent story, improved gameplay but its too much the same as the first one. BioShock 2 8.1/10
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Perfection yet again! They took an already amazing game and turned it into an amazing sequel with new characters, new enemies, and a whole new situation. You now get to see what it is like to be a big daddy and see what Rapture has now become. Not to mention and the new improvements they added to hacking! I could not have asked for a better sequel! It even adds a new version of the Big Daddy known as the Big Sister and be ready because she will give you a run for your money! Expand
  8. Aug 14, 2010
    5
    The first Bioshock was better. The storyline's too short, the splicers are more cartoony than Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, but at least that was good!! The horror isn't as scary as Bioshock 1. They totally copied off of Kill Bill when you shoot yourself in the head... and survive?! What a bunch of lazy developers! The first Bioshock- Nearly perfect. The second Bioshock- half as good
  9. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    My biggest problem with BioShock 2 is the story. Yes, I am biased from the first game being so immersive and drawing me into a narrative that really made me pause and think before I continued. BioShock 2, however, is no where near the level of the first game and itâ
  10. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    In short, the original BioShock was a lot better. I think the main problem this game faces is that it cannot capture the atmosphere and ambience that the original game had. And without this major feature, the game doesn't do much for me. The game isn't bad, but really the whole point of a sequel is to improve upon its predecessor. And sadly, this game does not do that.
  11. Sep 20, 2010
    6
    Frankly, this game does not need to exist. The first Bioshock was an incredibly good game and this adds nothing but plot holes. It was fun enough for one playthrough simply because the combat has been improved but the storyline to Bioshock 2 makes no sense, and this is especially important because of how important the storyline was to the first game. It just feels like the developers had to think of something, anything, for another Bioshock game so they just kind of tacked on these extra characters and settings that are incompatible with the events of the first game. Also, because you play as a big daddy, the game is no longer scary. Big Sisters are a bit scary, but they just seem tacked on as well and after a while you know when they show up so that loses it's thrills. Overall, maybe rent this game if you are dying to return to Rapture, but otherwise just play the first Bioshock again or something, Expand
  12. Nov 19, 2010
    9
    Wow, Bioshock 2 delivers all the freakishly addictive action and suspense of the first Bioshock, but with an even more engaging story. I couldn't believe how good it was. Aside from the half-baked multiplayer addition, this game is fantastic.
  13. Oct 29, 2010
    7
    The singleplayer is by no means bad and the story itself will keep you going to the end with ease. The graphics are satisfying and the world of Rapture looks great onscreen and finally the atmosphere is overall very positive. The online doesn't present any major problems either...However, with all those positive features, we still found this game to overall not be anything that special. perhaps we could not fully fathom the Undersea place of Rapture within our puny minds....We will still see if the next Bioshock game will impress. The sky is the limit - literally in the next game!!! Expand
  14. May 3, 2011
    8
    For what it's worth this is a good game, It doesn't give bioshock a bad name, but in my mind all it does is make me wonder why they would create a sequel that doesn't live anywhere close to the legacy of Bioshock! Not even in the same ball park! On the plus side the atmosphere is still great, and the gameplay did see some major improvements. The online has great shock value at first, but got old extremely fast. Expand
  15. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    A decent sequel, but lacks BioShock 1's attention to level detail, especially later on when the levels become more sloppy. The game feels a bit like you have been there and done it before, but even so, 2K Marin improved on the formula in many ways and even managed to tell a very meaningful and emotionally moving story too. My biggest regret is that they put you in a big daddy suit right at the beginning of the game. This took away a lot of the fear of vulnerability and kind made me feel overpowered like a superhero. Still the game has its moments like exploring outside Rapture, but I think making the player a big daddy was the wrong call. The biggest detractor for this sequel though goes to the inclusion of a pointless and expensive multiplayer mode. I really wish such an unwanted component didn't bring the score down, but it does. So there you have it. A great sequel marred only by its forced in multiplayer addition. Expand
  16. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    While I can't say it was as original in its delivery as the first Bioshock was, and wasn't as long, it was still awesome. I enjoyed it as much, and appreciated the tweaks in the controls.
  17. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    A disappointing sequel that captures none of the magic that made the first game great, the campaign is weak, the story and characters are uninteresting unlike the first where the story instantly sucked me in and I had to find out all about the characters, even the audio logs which were fantastic in the first, are stupid and honestly just boring to listen to, and the while thing just suffers of a feeling of been there done that, it's only in its last few levels that it's fun to play, and packs one moment I wont forget, you think that going back to Rapture would be a chance to find out some new secrets about it, but it only allows you to find out one, and finding out that secret is the best part of the game just because it's more info on the little sisters, they did add some new features like the ability to use Plasmids and guns at the same time, and added new weapons but honestly I didn't really like them I would have much rather just of had the original guns, and only the shotgun actually seems powerful, and you also are a Big Daddy this time, but for some reason you feel like a weakling, I felt more powerful in the original, and ammo just seems to disappear to quickly, so the campaign is a HUGE and frustrating let down up until the last few levels, the best part and the reason you should buy this is for the multiplayer which is fantastic and will keep me coming back, and still has a large community still playing it, so if your not connected to Xbox Live you can pass on this unless you have to have more Rapture, in the end it's a sad sequel to a fantastic game, and it's campaign only manages to be fun in it's last moments, but manages to pack some fantastic multiplayer, but learning more about the Little Sister is worth it, so do I recommend this? yes, but only to the most hardcore of Bioshock fans that can forgive the numerous flaws and the disappointments. Expand
  18. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    The gameplay is as excellent ,if not better than the first.However the story as a whole isn't nearly as good
    I loved exploring new parts of Rapture and can thoroughly recommend this to anyone.
  19. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    Although not a worthy successor to the original Bioshock, this is still a great game in its own right. Combat has been improved, allowing for the simultaneous use of plasmids and weapons. This sequel is much more action oriented than the first at the expense of atmosphere. Rapture is not nearly as chilling or as interesting as it was and the religious proclamations of Sofia Lamb are less enjoyable to listen to than the self-righteousness of Andrew Ryan. Multiplayer is entertaining for a while and I liked its attempt to connect itself with the story of Rapture. Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    BioShock 2 is one of the best games of all time,really this game is awesome and also better than the first game,is an enjoyable game with many elements of horror,this game will follow me all my life!!!!!!
  21. Apr 8, 2011
    5
    I started to play this game because I really like Bioshock, but 2 just couldn't hook me. There was nothing in it that I wanted to know except for when it'd do something interesting. But it didn't and I eventually gave it up.
  22. Jun 8, 2011
    6
    While BioShock 2 makes many new ways to fight than Bioshock, it comes at the cost of losing the political and mental elements of the original. While Bioshock's characters will be remembered in gaming history, chances are no one is going to remember Generic Evil Woman #1, Sophia Lamb.
  23. Jul 9, 2011
    6
    Hey, Guys! Guess what? I found a game that won't tear off your nuts! Legitamite! This game has pretty nutty good graphics, OK gameplay, but the storline compared to the original... Do I hear funeral music? Yeah I do, buy if your a absaloute goner if you don't waste your money on it, if your new to the waste-your-money process, keep away.
  24. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Whilst this game wasn't quite what was expected by me upon it's release it was actually a lot better than what was expected by me, the game includes the same fantastic scenery and newer characters from Bioshock, however this game will sadly never be able to compare with the original bioshock, still a great game however
  25. Jul 9, 2011
    6
    This would've been a great game, but there's too much repetition of scenery, and enemies. However, the expansion of the plasmid abilities was great, but too much repetition of the same plasmids. The big daddy weapons were also great, if they hadn't had all the same weapons as the other one, excluding the drill and rivet gun. Upgrades would've been good if they weren't basically a repeat of the first upgrades. The multiplayer would've been good, but needs a lot of improvement. All in all, I like playing the game, but there's a lot that needs to be improved. I am however expecting great things from the new Bioshock game coming out in 2012. Expand
  26. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    Gameplay was fun, but it didn't feel like the first. The story wasn't even close to being as good as the first so it kind of felt like i was just mindlessly killing everything instead of being immersed like the first one. But the lack in single player was probably due to the new multiplayer which, to my surprise, was actually pretty fun. I just would've liked to have more from the single player game and no multiplayer at all. Expand
  27. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    One hell of a sequel! "Bioshock 2" is packed with more action, more characters, more mystery, more story, more fun! Fans of the first installment should have quite a blast with this new, incredible sequel.
  28. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    While I am aware that Bioshock 2 is not much of a environment change (considering it's still in Rapture) that in no way stops it from being quite an impressive edition. The world of Rapture has somehow gotten even more beautiful since the last time we saw it. You play as a big daddy which heightens the coolness of the game, makes you stronger, faster and all around better. The story is great, as are the characters. In my book Bioshock 2 is just as grand as the first. Expand
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    a disappointment to say the least. this game did not live up to the hype for me at all. The entire premise of the game is being able to play as a big daddy, but you never actually FEEL like the terrifying monstrosities from the first Bioshock.

    I can understand why you're not supposed to be invincible, it doesn't make for a fun game if no one can kill you, but there just wasn't enough in
    this game to set aside the growing fact that this game wasn't a worthy sequel to one of the best games of this console generation. The controls were a bit clunky for my tastes, and a lot of the plasmids felt very rushed and under developed.

    It wasn't a terrible game, by any means. I enjoyed it, it just didn't live up to the hype in my opinion. I think the main problem is that Ken Levine didn't have any hand in this game. He was the creative director for the 1st Bioshock, and is back for Bioshock Infinite. I believe IT will be the true sequel we all wanted this game to be. the game play was solid, but it didn't really capitalize on any new ground breaking experiences. The part of the game where you actually start to FEEL like a big daddy is so late that it feels like a missed opportunity, and the Big Sisters are too predictable to be a real threat. the tact on multi-player was poorly designed, and wasn't any fun at all. I'm giving this game a 6 out of 10. it had a hint of the glory that was Bioshock, but it failed to actually even compare to the original.
    Expand
  30. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    I didn't think anything could beat Bioshock as my favourite game ever. that was until no2 came along. I need a 11 rating for this as i put 10 for Bioshock 1.
    The story is better, the plasmids are improved, the weapons are a step up and the fact that i can simultaneously use my weapons and plasmids really opened up the game!
    Love it, my new fav game of all time!
  31. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    BioShock is among the greatest games of my generation, and ranks in my top 10 all time games (classics not included). BioShock 2, for the most part, does not live up to the standard of the first. But that's not saying much. It is akin to trying to sequel a masterpiece of art, or a symphony. Sure, the artist will give you a good product, but overcoming the barrier they set for themselves seems to be too much to handle most of the time. This game falls squarely into that category. It is a very good game, and one I enjoyed very much. But really, how do you follow up a artistic masterpiece? Expand
  32. May 12, 2012
    8
    BIOSHOCK 2 may not have been near as good as the first BIOSHOCK, but it is still a pretty good game. I didn't have the reaction I had for the first game while playing this game, and that disappointed me. But there are some things I really like about this one that the first didn't have and the improved the game. BIOSHOCK 2 is not as good as the first BIOSHOCK but it will surely please fans of the first. Expand
  33. Oct 27, 2012
    6
    Well, I have to say I was excited to see a Bioshock sequel coming around the corner, considering how much I loved the story, environment and combat of Bioshock. Unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed. I was glad that they decided to allow you to use Plasmids AND Guns at the same time, rather than having to switch between each one manually. Also, they did do a great job of making you feel as if you are a Big Daddy, with the big submarine helmet, your bigfoot movement and the damage you took. I'm glad they added melee attacks to guns as well (since you might not want to have to switch to your drill). Hacking is now done in real-time, which seems like an improvement, but now the hacking system is even easier than the previous hacking system. And the guns, well, aren't much to brag about. They are practically the same as the previous game, just with a different name, ammo type and outlook. The only 'new' item is the hack tool, which is particularly good considering that now you can hack remotely from a distance. The "Protect the Sister" parts on the singleplayer are a nice touch, and I'm glad that 2K took attention to realize that you are a Big Daddy that needs to protect their little sisters as they are recovering adam for you. And you will need it. the secret improve-your-gun stations are more rare and now you will have to strategically choose which upgrades you want on your gun, because you won't get them all. However, I was disappointed they completely cut the ammo creation station, which made the game feel much shorter from the previous game. Also, I don't like how you have to use your Health Kits using one button on the D-pad, yet you can only take your plasmids when you are COMPLETELY out of EVE at the time. Iron Sights have been added for all guns now, and you can put on true ironsights if you want (even for the hack tool). But, the story was the real kick in the shins for me. Now, it was interesting, initially, with the whole Big Sister concept and how you were slowly dying and losing your mind from being torn apart from your little sister, but the tyrant, Sofia Lamb, was a lot less interesting than Andrew Ryan and more annoying so. Sofia just seems to keep talking to you as if she's trying to analyze something, and compared to her methods from Andrew Ryan, she's taken a more collective and socialistic method rather than him. The graphics seem downgraded somehow from the previous game, with graphics constantly being blurred out that haven't loaded right, as well as very smooth and choppy NPC's. Also, the ending was most possibly the most anti-climactic boss fight I have seen yet. In the fight to retain your little sister back and to get revenge on sofia lamb, you COMPLETE THE GAME BY DESTROYING TWO PIPES! TWO PIPES?! WOW! that must have been hard, considering that vigilante Big Daddy's and Brute Splicers will keep spawning on you if you don't destroy them. But, the most annoying thing that I think 2K thought they had to do to make the game popular was the multiplayer. I have heard so many bad things about it, and playing it, all of them were true. Most graphic pop-ups won't load, player movement is always choppy, and gameplay can become seriously unbalanced considerably. But, other than Black Ops, it was actually funny for me to see all of this happen as I was playing, and I just played to see how bad or good it really was. Bioshock doesn't need multiplayer, the first one was fine on it's own on the singleplayer because it was engaging and awesome at the same time. I guess when 2K decided to make Bioshock 2's singleplayer kind of recycled from the first game, they decided to make multiplayer to compensate for it. It didn't work. Hopefully, Bioshock: Infinite should be worthwhile considering that is free from the original bioshock universe. Still, this game should be worth your time, considering many of it's improvements, but it is seriously lacking in a decent multiplayer experience and far more an engaging and unfamiliar story arc. Expand
  34. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    This was a very well done game an excellent succesor of the original. It is a shooter with some RPG elements which takes us back to Rapture an underwater city which captured my imagination the first time I visited. The action is very narrative driven which I love in a game and while I did not find the story quite as captivating as the original it is still very well done. I think they actually improved several aspects of the game such as the hacking mechanic which I did not enjoy in the last game. The action in this game hinges around preparing for battles with the big sister characters. Unlike Big Daddy's they are very fast and hard to pin down. The multiplayer doesn't really do much for me but that takes nothing away from a very solid single player experiance. Pick up this game if you haven't Expand
  35. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Its story may not be as complex as the game preceding it, but "Bioshock 2" sure does elevate nearly every gameplay element, making it a brilliantly worthy sequel.
  36. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    While I know many will disagree with me on this, I preferred Bioshock 2 over the original. Granted it more or less is almost the same game, but just better with improved gameplay mechanics, more or less fixing and improving on things that people complained about in the first game. It is a true sequel and as such it works well. In fact this is the first game who I actually like the multiplayer. It's nowhere near as complex and developed as other online multiplayer shooters, but for me that's what I like: It was simple and straightforward. Overall: I thoroughly enjoyed Bioshock 2 and look forward to Infinite. Expand
  37. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    with the exception of the final run of the game it never gets out of its predecessors shadow, but on its own terms its still a great time that deserves a playthrough. Gameplay is improved in every way, even if the story is not as strong.
  38. Jul 20, 2013
    6
    Bioshock 2 is the sequel to one of my favorite games, so it has a high expectation in my opinion. The story this time around has you playing as a big daddy and protecting little sisters. The plot does not feel as fresh as the first because we already had visited Rapture before. Nothing story wise lives up to its predecessor, not even the villain who falls in comparison to Andrew Ryan. The gameplay on the over hand is better than ever. You now get to use a weapon and a plasmid at the same time. The combat feels good and you really feel like you are a big daddy because how powerful you are in the game. There are a couple of new additions like a defense segment where you have to protect your little sister as she gathers atom for you. The multiplayer is very unnecessary and feels tacked on to an already complete package. The premise and set up is interesting but when you get down to the game itself it feels very bland. Bioshock 2 is still a good game, it might not live up to greats like the first Bioshock, but still worth a play for fans of the series. Expand
  39. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Rapture isn't quite as mysterious or intimidating the second time around, but the combat is hugely improved in Bioshock 2. If you enjoyed the first game for more than its story, you'll have fun with 2.
  40. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Volviendo a esa ciudad que me lleno de emociones, sustos y enojo.Volviendo a Rapture.

    Bioshock 2.

    Esta Mini-review va a hacer muy corta, no tengo mucho para decir de este juego solo algunas novedades y cosas diferentes. Este capaz no tendrá lo innovador ni lo glorioso del primero pero sigue siendo Excelente en la mayoría de las cosas y lo mas genial es que ahora sos un Big daddy. La
    historia comienza 2 años antes del primer rapture y sigue 8 años despues. Con la muerte de tales personajes(por los que no hayan jugado al 1) Lamb comienza a manipular a los Splicers gracias a una secta llamada la Familia de Rapture, liderada por el Padre Simón.

    En el primer bioshock solo eran los big daddy, ahora son las big sisters, los big daddy y los alfa. Los mas jodidos entre los 3 son las Big sisters que serian las little sister ya en adolescentes.

    PUNTOS A FAVOR: Todo.Ser un big daddy.

    PUNTOS EN CONTRA: No innova en nada, solo algunas cosas nuevas pero nada que lo haga mejor que el 1.

    Bioshock 2 es un excelente juego aunque no mejor que el 1 pero vale la pena jugarlo....ahora me voy columbia.
    Expand
  41. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    Flawed. Not as good as the first one, not my favorite, but this is a good game. I will start out with the good. This gameplay has been improved. Now that you have the ability to dual wield your plasmids and weapons, its great, really. The sound is still here. This game sounds great, and nothing was lost. The game is still really creepy, which is awesome. And it is cool how you participate in the Little Sister-Big Daddy relationship. The music is still fine, but not as breathtaking as the first. And thats the good. But the graphics have... lost some touch. No more art-deco means no more beauty. Sigh. And some of the level design was just to generic. It was based off of the items you achieved through the game. This game is less scarier, mainly because we have been here before. But I hate to say it, but some characters are not developed like in Bioshock 1. Eleanor, a main character in the story did not feel that emotional, even when she was supposed to be emotional. In fact, this games only competition is really against itself, Bioshock 1. But it still is fun to play. Bioshock fans will enjoy it, but it is linear. And as for the multiplayer, I did not like it. I will continue to avoid it because it was not "well developed" at all. I did not enjoy that aspect. But in the end, this is worth a buy, but only if you enjoyed the first. Expand
  42. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Bioshock 2 was definitely one of my favourite games; to begin it has one of the best story lines I have come across in a game, to fully understand it you would have needed to play the first Bioshock, but in short… A city was built incredibly deep underwater as a form of paradise away from the rest of the world, but the city had its floor including the stem cell discovery called ADAM discovered from a parasite in the ocean that caused addiction and terrible side effects as well as a civil war breaking out in rapture to earn freedom, while you play as a “Big Daddy” which is an experiment of a man connected to a girl whom collects the contents of ADAM from corpses. All of the Bioshocks have this amazing/beautiful world the developers have created, but it is once you have entered it that you see the real sinister side behind it that was hidden from you, but what I loved about the introduction to Bioshock 2 is how it shows the point of view from the “bad guys” of the game, you see how they see and how they are trapped in this glorious world of their own in shining gold and its glory when actually they are in a war-torn wreck of a world with corridors of leaking cracked glass flooded with the growth of fungi and the dead.
    The game gives a large amount of back-story to the original and teaches you the details and viewpoints of several characters while introducing new ones, while playing the game at times you get the sheer amazing feeling of being a walking tank as you plough a drill fist through the face of a splicer or light them on fire with a modified rivet gun.
    The original Bioshock was slightly more of a horror game using several scenes that will make you jump and just a scary atmosphere in general, the second Bioshock how ever didn’t have as many scary scenes but still had its moments, I still remember playing the game in my younger teens when the game came out, several moments in the game had scared the living crap out of me including suspense built by the “big sisters” in the game.
    All in all Bioshock 2 was a very amazing beautiful game and has earned a high place in my list of top games just for the sheet sights, beauty and amazing feeling of being one hell of a bad-ass.
    Expand
  43. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    Irrational Games, or 2K Boston, stepped out of the Bioshock series and left it to 2K Marin to develop the sequel to the marvel that is Bioshock. Bioshock 2 sold more copies than its predecessor during the opening month, but did not get the same rave reviews. It did is still a critically acclaimed game, just not the same as Bioshock 1. I believe it was overrated.

    Single-Player
    The
    gameplay is about the same. You have a similar amount of plasmids with a few old ones being replaced with new ones, and it is the same deal with the weapons. How you upgrade the weapons is exactly the same. There are still environmental hazards that can be utilized, however it doesn't seems as important to the mission. I found myself not using them nearly as much as I used them in Bioshock 1. The things that are new in the gameplay is the certain missions that are given like protecting a little sister from time to time.

    The presentation in the first game is not the same. This could be either a good or a bad thing. In my humble opinion, it is a bad thing. The entire feel of the world completely changed for me during my play through because of one thing, which took me time to realize. In the first game, you are practically alone against impossible odds. This time, you are the impossible odd. You are what you feared most in Bioshock 1, which is a Big Daddy. For some this can be an awesome experience, but to me, it took away that feeling of helplessness and fear that I once had. People feared me, instead of me fearing them. The game did have that same underwater, eerie city with psychos around every corner, I just feel that I wasn't really caring because I was the badass with a drill for a hand.

    Multiplayer
    I was actually surprised by the multiplayer. The use of plasmids and upgrading certain weapons using attachments was welcomed. There are also different weapons to be used in the multiplayer apart from the campaign. The maps may be limited and the customization may be slim, but the choices you had to eliminate the opposing team or protect a little sister was massive with all the combinations.
    At any given time a Big Daddy suit will pop up and allow a player to jump in it and have the abilities of an average Big Daddy. This added a sense of competition to it, as the first one who gets in it is able to dominate, however it isn't overpowered at all. There are multiple game modes to go along with the multiplayer that are welcomed and varied from each other, however it is the typical capture the flag and team death match deal. Overall the multiplayer is good, but it doesn't seem very bioshock-e. It is more like Call of Duty with plasmids, and you have to pick up a randomly dropped care-package in order to get a score streak. Overall the multiplayer is good, and is new to the series, just not new to the gaming industry, and what it has done has been done better.

    Put both the multiplayer and the single player together and you do indeed get a decent game, but the same thrill as in the previous game wasn't there, and it seemed to be more of a shooter than a survival horror shooter.
    Expand
  44. Rem
    Jul 10, 2013
    8
    Bioshock 2's biggest flaw isn't one of technical or story parts, but rather the feeling. If you played the first Bioshock, everything feels all too familiar. It is no longer as mysterious and as a result, the game loses some of its luster. However, I will say the game is a step up from the first in its design and gameplay. While not vastly improved, minor annoyances such as the hacking minigame has been simplified. I just wish I felt like a Big Daddy throughout the whole game. The story on the other hand, while not as shocking or engrossing, is more clearly told and is much tighter emotionally since there is a set goal from the beginning. The multiplayer of Bioshock 2 is good, but nothing we haven't seen before. In the end, Bioshock 2 does not surpass the original, but boy it sure is fun to play. Expand
  45. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    Back in 2010 this game was received positively by critics and gamers alike. 3 years later this game still plays great, with amazing scenery graphics this game simply rocks. However being a sequel to the extremely successful Bioshock 1 comparison is unavoidable... And this is were bioshock 2 falls a bit short.. Simply put its predecessor is much better.. However Bioshock 2 is still an amazing game and it has to be enjoyed by every gamer... Expand
  46. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Fun and entertaining, It will continue to go all out on trying to kill you with wall crawling enemies or giant brutes that will overwhelm you. The Story is amazing if you haven't played the first one. But for a person going blind for the first time, The old fashion futuristic city is almost a dream to play in and kill some rotting ass. Plasmids are fun to play with once you mastered them but at the beginning I felt like I had to save it for major battles instead of using it on little guys which really held me back and got me hit. You have some weapons that you could upgrade to make them stronger but at times I just felt like I wanted more weapons enough though they were at poverty, there could of been a lot more than the generic weapons that was given to you. Bioshock 2 is amazing until the end but trying to play it again was very boring for me because I knew what was going to happen and I couldn't really play in any other direction. Expand
  47. May 28, 2013
    8
    Not better than Bioshock 1, but it definitely a true sequel to it! The MP is the only thing that brings this game down, but its you'll forget its there very easily! The atmosphere of this one is just as creepy with the new water riddled ruins of Rapture! A great sequel overall!
  48. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Take everything great about Bioshock and strip away the good story and you'll have Bioshock 2. Sure, it's entertaining, but the magic of a memorable story or new environment isn't there. And I don't know about you, but I expect big daddies to be agile, menacing characters. Yet when you take control of one, you're a slow, lumbering beast. Overall, the worst entry in the series by far, but still a notch ahead of most games you'll find out there. Expand
  49. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    Don't get me wrong this was an excellent game, thrilling story, polished game-play, enthralling scenery and that same creepy shining-esque vibe of the original Bioshock. I gave the first game a 10, This game i have given an 8 largely based on 2 things. First the atmosphere of this game whilst staying true to the image of rapture never truly creeped me out or scared me, I felt that the colour scheme and graphics were more stylized and though beautiful were lacking that same dark edge of the original. Second was the gameplay, it was slightly more polished but similar enough that it only served to point out the shortfall between this games end result and that of the first. In saying all this it was never going to be a good thing being destined to be compared to a game like Bioshock and this game is definitely still worth your time. Expand
  50. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    Firstly; If you're expecting the beastiality of Biosock the First, then dont get your hopes up. However, this game is still a really good ride. The gameplay and graphics are better than Bioshock one. Overall a more fun game. But- and there's always a but- The storyline is not as good (so you get shot in the head, live, but the only way you can live forever is through Eleanor, I won't spoil it though), and there is way too much ammo lying around, and why no tommy gun Anyway, the guns are a bit OP, especally the drill, and there is not much interaction between Big Daddys (imagine how cool that would be). On a more positive note, the Big sister battles are really fun. Overall, pick this game up for a very enjoyable ride through the Rapturian Eutopia. Expand
  51. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    Adorei, jogo assustador o jogador fica tenso em todas as fases do game se uma porta bater no local que estiver jogando com certeza você vai levar um grande susto....Recomendo.
  52. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I believe this game is well developed and I do agree that there are not as many twists and turns as the first but its story line is vary elaborate and entertaining.
  53. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    I think it's just as good as the first, except feels a bit too familiar. Everything has been improved but story, and a multiplayer has been added. If you liked the first, you'll like this one, if you didn't, you won't.

    Bioshock 2 gets an 8.7/10
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 93 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 93
  2. Negative: 0 out of 93
  1. 100
    Still, BioShock 2 not only re-captures the dystopian aesthetic, gripping narrative, and deep gameplay of Irrational's original, but it actually greatly improves on the BioShock experience as a whole, fine-tuning what made Jack's voyage to Rapture such a memorable experience two years ago.
  2. It's well over two year's since we first had the privilege to be submerged into the world of Rapture for the very first time. In contrast to the first outing, the sequel certainly delivers that same and unique feel with the combination of well thought out design and audio. It's not so much 'better' than the original, but provides enough twists and turns to keep us unadulterately submerged in this mesmerizing underwater (and demented) utopia.
  3. Rapture may not be as mysterious and intriguing this second time around, but it is nonetheless host to a powerful and moving tale that allows you to better realize--or pervert--Ryan's principles at your own discretion. Regardless of whether or not this is a return visit to paradise lost, there is plenty to be found here to make it a worthwhile, meaningful, and compelling one.