BioShock 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 572 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 572
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    The 2 things wrong with this game is it's repetition and its re-playability. It was fun to shoot a splicer the first time but that seems to be all you do the entire story. The story is way to forward with one easily predictable twist,but i really don't care too much about the story. I might have a slightly biased review for this game since I'm good at the multi player but it does a goodThe 2 things wrong with this game is it's repetition and its re-playability. It was fun to shoot a splicer the first time but that seems to be all you do the entire story. The story is way to forward with one easily predictable twist,but i really don't care too much about the story. I might have a slightly biased review for this game since I'm good at the multi player but it does a good job of killing the camping element that dominates call of duty. the combination of plasmids and guns orchestrate a beautiful amount of variety while playing. Even the best of campers can't kill you more than once since they need a constant supply of eve.In short its story is a flunk and its multilayer did well. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    It's story/plot may not be as good as it's predecessor and it may lack the feel that gamers felt when playing the original for the first time, but Bioshock 2 is a fun, surprisingly and still atmospheric sequel that though not as good as it's predecessor, it still provides some brilliant moments.
  3. DanielH
    Feb 11, 2010
    8
    Bioshock 2 falls short for the simple fact that nothing completely new can be expected out of the game. The first one was awesome because the mechanics and A.I. were progressive and fresh. Bioshock 2 should have been a 30 dollar download to extend the first game. I wanted so bad to like this game and gave it every opportunity to wow me like the first one. Here is an idea. Put an inventory Bioshock 2 falls short for the simple fact that nothing completely new can be expected out of the game. The first one was awesome because the mechanics and A.I. were progressive and fresh. Bioshock 2 should have been a 30 dollar download to extend the first game. I wanted so bad to like this game and gave it every opportunity to wow me like the first one. Here is an idea. Put an inventory in the game along with the ability to combine items into weapons or ammo. Give me a reason to search bodies and containers other than to get money, ammo and food. Thanks for memories 2k, reinvent System Shock 2 and I'll be a hardcore fan once more. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    The first BioShock was amazing but the game broke on me :(. So I decided to play the second game. Improvements from the old game, decent story, improved gameplay but its too much the same as the first one. BioShock 2 8.1/10
  5. DanD
    Feb 9, 2010
    8
    Realistically, this is about as good a sequel as one could hope for BioShock. The first game had a certain special feeling to it, a mystery, that can't be attained in the second trip to Rapture. I hate to fault this game because of that, when compared to other, non-BioShock shooters it stands up remarkably well, but I'm so attached to the first game that I can't help but Realistically, this is about as good a sequel as one could hope for BioShock. The first game had a certain special feeling to it, a mystery, that can't be attained in the second trip to Rapture. I hate to fault this game because of that, when compared to other, non-BioShock shooters it stands up remarkably well, but I'm so attached to the first game that I can't help but think less of this one. If you haven't played BioShock, this is worth picking up on its own merits (but you'd be better off getting the Oblivion/BioShock package...I mean, duh), and if you have played it, expect a good game -- if not the most mind-blowing experience. Expand
  6. TaylorM
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    One of the best games ive ever played. It has a storyline just as good as the first one and even better game play with traps and plasmid weapon combos it just gets better and better. Only downfall is a few glitches online that can be fixed with a single patch. I recommend it to anyone.
  7. m2
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    For single player lovers: Amazingly complex storyline, albiet short, that keeps you going through the whole 5 hours of gameplay. It is one of few shooters who can give you amazing graphics at more than playable rates with special gameplay mechanics yet tell a deep story that throws you for a wild ride from the continuation of MW. I prefer the better story over extended play time but thats For single player lovers: Amazingly complex storyline, albiet short, that keeps you going through the whole 5 hours of gameplay. It is one of few shooters who can give you amazing graphics at more than playable rates with special gameplay mechanics yet tell a deep story that throws you for a wild ride from the continuation of MW. I prefer the better story over extended play time but thats a quality I like to see in my games. >For multiplayer lovers: If you go this route then be prepared to be dissappointed... maybe. I could care less for dedicated servers right now as long as they delievered an intuitive and fast game style where your never doing nothing for a long time. The bad stuff is you can't bend around corners, no dedicated servers, at times bad lag, and a game picking style similar to consol games like Halo 2. Conclusion: Great singleplayer if your looking for quality over quantity, mediocer multiplayer if you enjoy playing with friends for kicks and giggles but definitely not a clan game. I gave it a 9 because singleplayer for me comes first since multiplayer is pretty vanilla for the FPS genre. Don't like MW2 multiplayer? Then go get something else. Expand
  8. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    I f you loved the first game you WILL love this game. There is really no way to hate this game with all the content that is given. It's a fantastic shooter.
  9. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    The gameplay is as excellent ,if not better than the first.However the story as a whole isn't nearly as good
    I loved exploring new parts of Rapture and can thoroughly recommend this to anyone.
  10. Rem
    Jul 10, 2013
    8
    Bioshock 2's biggest flaw isn't one of technical or story parts, but rather the feeling. If you played the first Bioshock, everything feels all too familiar. It is no longer as mysterious and as a result, the game loses some of its luster. However, I will say the game is a step up from the first in its design and gameplay. While not vastly improved, minor annoyances such as the hackingBioshock 2's biggest flaw isn't one of technical or story parts, but rather the feeling. If you played the first Bioshock, everything feels all too familiar. It is no longer as mysterious and as a result, the game loses some of its luster. However, I will say the game is a step up from the first in its design and gameplay. While not vastly improved, minor annoyances such as the hacking minigame has been simplified. I just wish I felt like a Big Daddy throughout the whole game. The story on the other hand, while not as shocking or engrossing, is more clearly told and is much tighter emotionally since there is a set goal from the beginning. The multiplayer of Bioshock 2 is good, but nothing we haven't seen before. In the end, Bioshock 2 does not surpass the original, but boy it sure is fun to play. Expand
  11. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Fun and entertaining, It will continue to go all out on trying to kill you with wall crawling enemies or giant brutes that will overwhelm you. The Story is amazing if you haven't played the first one. But for a person going blind for the first time, The old fashion futuristic city is almost a dream to play in and kill some rotting ass. Plasmids are fun to play with once you mastered themFun and entertaining, It will continue to go all out on trying to kill you with wall crawling enemies or giant brutes that will overwhelm you. The Story is amazing if you haven't played the first one. But for a person going blind for the first time, The old fashion futuristic city is almost a dream to play in and kill some rotting ass. Plasmids are fun to play with once you mastered them but at the beginning I felt like I had to save it for major battles instead of using it on little guys which really held me back and got me hit. You have some weapons that you could upgrade to make them stronger but at times I just felt like I wanted more weapons enough though they were at poverty, there could of been a lot more than the generic weapons that was given to you. Bioshock 2 is amazing until the end but trying to play it again was very boring for me because I knew what was going to happen and I couldn't really play in any other direction. Expand
  12. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Perfection yet again! They took an already amazing game and turned it into an amazing sequel with new characters, new enemies, and a whole new situation. You now get to see what it is like to be a big daddy and see what Rapture has now become. Not to mention and the new improvements they added to hacking! I could not have asked for a better sequel! It even adds a new version of the BigPerfection yet again! They took an already amazing game and turned it into an amazing sequel with new characters, new enemies, and a whole new situation. You now get to see what it is like to be a big daddy and see what Rapture has now become. Not to mention and the new improvements they added to hacking! I could not have asked for a better sequel! It even adds a new version of the Big Daddy known as the Big Sister and be ready because she will give you a run for your money! Expand
  13. GarrettC.
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    The story might not have as many twists and turns and the characters might not be as memorable BUT Bioshock 2 beats out the original in game play in every way. Hacking is improved, duel wield weapons and plasmids, upgrades are more noticeable in plasmids and weapons and controls a lot smother. Sill has the creepy feel with new foes and a lot of decayed environments. Rapture is still The story might not have as many twists and turns and the characters might not be as memorable BUT Bioshock 2 beats out the original in game play in every way. Hacking is improved, duel wield weapons and plasmids, upgrades are more noticeable in plasmids and weapons and controls a lot smother. Sill has the creepy feel with new foes and a lot of decayed environments. Rapture is still awesome and the story of Bioshock 2 is the best you will find, well besides the original. Expand
  14. Nov 19, 2010
    9
    Wow, Bioshock 2 delivers all the freakishly addictive action and suspense of the first Bioshock, but with an even more engaging story. I couldn't believe how good it was. Aside from the half-baked multiplayer addition, this game is fantastic.
  15. May 3, 2011
    8
    For what it's worth this is a good game, It doesn't give bioshock a bad name, but in my mind all it does is make me wonder why they would create a sequel that doesn't live anywhere close to the legacy of Bioshock! Not even in the same ball park! On the plus side the atmosphere is still great, and the gameplay did see some major improvements. The online has great shock value at first, butFor what it's worth this is a good game, It doesn't give bioshock a bad name, but in my mind all it does is make me wonder why they would create a sequel that doesn't live anywhere close to the legacy of Bioshock! Not even in the same ball park! On the plus side the atmosphere is still great, and the gameplay did see some major improvements. The online has great shock value at first, but got old extremely fast. Expand
  16. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    BioShock 2 is one of the best games of all time,really this game is awesome and also better than the first game,is an enjoyable game with many elements of horror,this game will follow me all my life!!!!!!
  17. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Whilst this game wasn't quite what was expected by me upon it's release it was actually a lot better than what was expected by me, the game includes the same fantastic scenery and newer characters from Bioshock, however this game will sadly never be able to compare with the original bioshock, still a great game however
  18. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    One hell of a sequel! "Bioshock 2" is packed with more action, more characters, more mystery, more story, more fun! Fans of the first installment should have quite a blast with this new, incredible sequel.
  19. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    BioShock is among the greatest games of my generation, and ranks in my top 10 all time games (classics not included). BioShock 2, for the most part, does not live up to the standard of the first. But that's not saying much. It is akin to trying to sequel a masterpiece of art, or a symphony. Sure, the artist will give you a good product, but overcoming the barrier they set forBioShock is among the greatest games of my generation, and ranks in my top 10 all time games (classics not included). BioShock 2, for the most part, does not live up to the standard of the first. But that's not saying much. It is akin to trying to sequel a masterpiece of art, or a symphony. Sure, the artist will give you a good product, but overcoming the barrier they set for themselves seems to be too much to handle most of the time. This game falls squarely into that category. It is a very good game, and one I enjoyed very much. But really, how do you follow up a artistic masterpiece? Expand
  20. Nov 29, 2013
    8
    Don't get me wrong this was an excellent game, thrilling story, polished game-play, enthralling scenery and that same creepy shining-esque vibe of the original Bioshock. I gave the first game a 10, This game i have given an 8 largely based on 2 things. First the atmosphere of this game whilst staying true to the image of rapture never truly creeped me out or scared me, I felt that theDon't get me wrong this was an excellent game, thrilling story, polished game-play, enthralling scenery and that same creepy shining-esque vibe of the original Bioshock. I gave the first game a 10, This game i have given an 8 largely based on 2 things. First the atmosphere of this game whilst staying true to the image of rapture never truly creeped me out or scared me, I felt that the colour scheme and graphics were more stylized and though beautiful were lacking that same dark edge of the original. Second was the gameplay, it was slightly more polished but similar enough that it only served to point out the shortfall between this games end result and that of the first. In saying all this it was never going to be a good thing being destined to be compared to a game like Bioshock and this game is definitely still worth your time. Expand
  21. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    Adorei, jogo assustador o jogador fica tenso em todas as fases do game se uma porta bater no local que estiver jogando com certeza você vai levar um grande susto....Recomendo.
  22. BillM
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    I think alot of the people reviewing Bio 2 are comparing it to the first Bio. If you you look at this game by itself, the gameplay surpasses that of the first one. Bio 2 is the best fps I have experienced, and I have played alot of them. My advice is to play the game like there was no first one, don't compare. This way you will see how much better of a game Bio 2 is.
  23. DavidM
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Bioshock 2 is a great sequel that makes improvement right where it should. The combat has been greatly revamped and if you dont mind hopping back into a very familiar Rapture, which fans of the first game shouldn't, then this game will hit home with you.
  24. RyH.
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    An incredible game! One of the best I've ever played. It has great gameplay, an amazing multiplayer mode, an awesome story, and one of the most incredible settings - if not the most incredible - I've ever seen in a video game. This game has been improved over the first in every possible way, the only drawback being that the city is not quite as impressive the second time around An incredible game! One of the best I've ever played. It has great gameplay, an amazing multiplayer mode, an awesome story, and one of the most incredible settings - if not the most incredible - I've ever seen in a video game. This game has been improved over the first in every possible way, the only drawback being that the city is not quite as impressive the second time around (because you've lost the initial shock after seeing Rapture for the first time). However, this is to be expected. That said, being able to go out in the water this time around and see Rapture from a new perspective is awesome and a really great addition to the game. Everything about this game is amazing and incredibly fun to play. Make sure you don't miss out on this awesome experience. You won't regret it. Expand
  25. DFarmer
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Brilliant Game!
  26. NateB
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    While no sequel can truly live up to the original in terms of story as the mystery and wonder have been spent, this game does improve on every gameplay mechanic from the first. The hacking mechanism is greatly improved, graphics are more vibrant, sound fine tuned and the overall level design is just more balanced and more carefully thought out. A must own if you enjoyed the first Bioshock While no sequel can truly live up to the original in terms of story as the mystery and wonder have been spent, this game does improve on every gameplay mechanic from the first. The hacking mechanism is greatly improved, graphics are more vibrant, sound fine tuned and the overall level design is just more balanced and more carefully thought out. A must own if you enjoyed the first Bioshock and at least worth a rental if you're unfamiliar with the series. Expand
  27. TylerV.
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    The first Bioshock delivered a story an environment that have yet to be approached by other shooters (and many other game genres) out there. Bioshock 2, while not being able to impress its players in the same way as the first (due to being located in the same setting and the first game's story simply being incredible), still manages to be an amazing game due to a well put together The first Bioshock delivered a story an environment that have yet to be approached by other shooters (and many other game genres) out there. Bioshock 2, while not being able to impress its players in the same way as the first (due to being located in the same setting and the first game's story simply being incredible), still manages to be an amazing game due to a well put together story, refined and augmented gameplay, and the addition of a multiplayer mode. Expand
  28. RobertA
    Feb 11, 2010
    8
    I give this an 8 because I would give Bioshock 1 a 9, and I think this game is one step below the first one. The difference is the environment -- it's just too similar. The gameplay, in my opinion, is clearly improved. The big differences, like duel-wielding plasmids and weapons, is a great improvement; and the minor things like being able to regenerate health at the weapon/plasmid I give this an 8 because I would give Bioshock 1 a 9, and I think this game is one step below the first one. The difference is the environment -- it's just too similar. The gameplay, in my opinion, is clearly improved. The big differences, like duel-wielding plasmids and weapons, is a great improvement; and the minor things like being able to regenerate health at the weapon/plasmid select screen is much better. One of the things I keep thinking while playing is that I really don't feel like a Big Daddy. Anyway, I'm about 6 hours into it and it is just as hard to put down as the first one, but this time it's more due to gameplay and less due to the story. Of course, I still have plenty of the story to unravel. As far as multiplayer goes, it's very good, surprisingly good. The only problem is that it's just not as fluid as COD or other shooters. I feel very slow in this game; maybe something I could get over, but I'd rather play COD than get used to the speed. Expand
  29. CameronS
    Feb 19, 2010
    8
    It lags behind the first installment. The supporting characters were not nearly as engaging. I didn't feel like throttling Lamb as much as I did Ryan and I don't even remember why Sinclair was helping me. I do like how this game took a contrasted view of society from the first one and made it look bad. The first one was all about doing what's best for the self and this one It lags behind the first installment. The supporting characters were not nearly as engaging. I didn't feel like throttling Lamb as much as I did Ryan and I don't even remember why Sinclair was helping me. I do like how this game took a contrasted view of society from the first one and made it look bad. The first one was all about doing what's best for the self and this one seems to emphasize society as a whole being more important. I loved being able to use plasmids and weapons at the same time but preferred the old way of hacking better, it felt more like a puzzle. Though trying to hack in combat does present an interesting challenge. Perhaps the best part of the game though is being able to adopt Little Sisters and defending them while they get ADAM. It also makes traps useful whereas in the first game I never really found a good use for them. Expand
  30. Randy
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    Rapture never grows stale, Going into BS2 i was expecting a decent story in a world fall apart at the seams(and i men because we thought we saw all rapture had to offer) well we thought wrong! Bioshock 2 is an explosion of gameplay, a astonishing soundtrack and one of the most gripping narratives i have ever been told. Playing as a big daddy is loads of fun as splicers fall to the way Rapture never grows stale, Going into BS2 i was expecting a decent story in a world fall apart at the seams(and i men because we thought we saw all rapture had to offer) well we thought wrong! Bioshock 2 is an explosion of gameplay, a astonishing soundtrack and one of the most gripping narratives i have ever been told. Playing as a big daddy is loads of fun as splicers fall to the way side and even other big daddies provide little challenge near the end of this adventure, but thats not a bad thing, if one bid daddies not a challenge heres two more...go nuts. Bioshock 2 is amazing and deserves to be praised as one of gamings greatest adventures. Expand
  31. MichaelH.
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing, and it is clear that 2K has exceeded all expectations with the quality of the single player and the astounding addition of multiplayer to the mix. There is a reason that Bioshock won so many Game of the Year awards in 2007, and those same reasons: great story, exciting gameplay, intuitive controls, moral and ethical dilemmas inherent within the narrative, and This game is amazing, and it is clear that 2K has exceeded all expectations with the quality of the single player and the astounding addition of multiplayer to the mix. There is a reason that Bioshock won so many Game of the Year awards in 2007, and those same reasons: great story, exciting gameplay, intuitive controls, moral and ethical dilemmas inherent within the narrative, and countless hours of replayability, make Bioshock 2 another epic example of what video games and thoughtful art in general can achieve when it is presented with such masterful ease. This is the game that you must play and I promise you won't regret it. Expand
  32. ChrisH
    Feb 9, 2010
    9
    The first Bioshock was almost perfect to begin with (imho) but they still improved lots of things in the game like plasmids, weapons, and hacking. They also put in a lot more action sequences like escorting little sisters and fighting big sisters. The multiplayer was mediocre at best, but if you liked the first Bioshock then theres no reason why you wont like the second.
  33. OscarH
    Feb 9, 2010
    8
    The atmosphere is there, but this is exactly what happens when you take a singleplayer experience and later add online multiplayer. The overall experience takes a beating and, in the end, doesn't really improve on the last trip to Rapture.
  34. HLime
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    Rapture is still gorgeous; the voice acting is top-notch, as before; and, the story that gradually emerges through recordings and through various scenes is gripping. Unlike most FPS games that focus on the plane of the horizon, Bioshock 2's stunning scenery is an encompassing, breathing, creature, up, down, and all-around. The ocean, the statuary, it's all stunning, even this Rapture is still gorgeous; the voice acting is top-notch, as before; and, the story that gradually emerges through recordings and through various scenes is gripping. Unlike most FPS games that focus on the plane of the horizon, Bioshock 2's stunning scenery is an encompassing, breathing, creature, up, down, and all-around. The ocean, the statuary, it's all stunning, even this second trip down. It's not the life-encompassing RPG that ME2 or Oblivion is--and it's not meant to be. It's an entirely manageable dozen-hour or so adventure into great storytelling, some great FPS action, and stunning scenes and music. Heartily recommended. Expand
  35. Sh0dan
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    I was one of the outspoken sceptics about this game having loved the original so much. However after playing it now, I can honestly say it was money well spent. Its lost some of the magic of the original, the developers don
  36. SamuelB
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    I won't argue- when I first started playing the game I had felt a tinge of disappointment. As everyone else has said, the second trip to Rapture is never as mind-blowing as the first time around- yet when that's virtually all you can hold against a game, it has to be one helluva game. Bioshock 2's only flaw was that it clung too tightly to what it had done the first time I won't argue- when I first started playing the game I had felt a tinge of disappointment. As everyone else has said, the second trip to Rapture is never as mind-blowing as the first time around- yet when that's virtually all you can hold against a game, it has to be one helluva game. Bioshock 2's only flaw was that it clung too tightly to what it had done the first time around, so it doesn't feel groundbreaking like the first one did. Asides from an alteration in hacking and the new set of characters, it feels like it could very well be the first game but refurbished. With most other games, this could be considered a cardinal sin for a sequel, but Bioshock 2 remains the same incredible thrill ride the second time around as it was when the original came out. But don't let me gripe about this game's single Achilles Heel- the pros still outweigh the bad 3 to 1 here. The game does everything right the first game did and subtly improved on it's flaws, and coming back to explore the tortured city of broken dreams that is Rapture makes it worth the 60$. Plus, nothing beats ramming a noisome Splicer at 50MPH with your Big Daddy drill. Nothing. Don't let the officials less-than-glowing reviews fool you- most of these are based off of disappointment from sheer hype alone rather then the game's actual substance. If you don't have this game in your library, you're only holding out on yourself. Expand
  37. BenF
    Feb 17, 2010
    8
    Bioshock 2 is a good game, nothing more nothing less. Lets start off with the gameplay. Now you play is a big daddy, prototype big daddy and I have to say that I was surprised at the very little change to gameplay. The only change I saw is that you can now dual wield plasmids and weapons. There are different guns now but it doesn't change up the gameplay much. Gameplay 8/10 because Bioshock 2 is a good game, nothing more nothing less. Lets start off with the gameplay. Now you play is a big daddy, prototype big daddy and I have to say that I was surprised at the very little change to gameplay. The only change I saw is that you can now dual wield plasmids and weapons. There are different guns now but it doesn't change up the gameplay much. Gameplay 8/10 because not much change from original. The graphics are good but not up to par with many games on the market right now but the overall art style makes up for the ok graphics which make it a 8/10. The multiplayer is good in this game and I was surprised being a big fan of Bioshock I never expected multiplayer to be so good. It is though a little slow paced for my taste and some annoyances but other than that it's good 8.5/10. Length/Replay Value is just ok. The single player is fairly long about 10 hours but after the single player there is just multiplayer for me because I just don't want to play bioshock 2 single player so there is just multiplayer left and dont get me wrong multiplayer is good in this game but it just does'nt have enough replay value. Replay Value/Length 7.5/10 Overall I had fun with this game and I would reccomend it to people that haven't played the first one because you will probably enjoy it more than if you played the first one. Thank you for reading my review and remember this is just my opinion on the game. People will think differently. Expand
  38. JeffL
    Feb 22, 2010
    9
    I didn't expect it, but I've had a ton of fun playing this game. The game is interesting in that you rarely end up dying from a fight but the battles are really intense and give you the feeling that you might. The combat is much faster paced and there are a wide variety of plasmids/new weapons you can use with some really empowering effects. Ultimately, forget it says "2" at the I didn't expect it, but I've had a ton of fun playing this game. The game is interesting in that you rarely end up dying from a fight but the battles are really intense and give you the feeling that you might. The combat is much faster paced and there are a wide variety of plasmids/new weapons you can use with some really empowering effects. Ultimately, forget it says "2" at the end and if you want, play it, I don't think you'll be upset. Expand
  39. originlhks.
    Feb 22, 2010
    9
    Multiplayer is basically like playing the original game with other people online. The rank system is really well done and the unlocks are epic (ex. houdini splicer plasmid). The story is both well written and moving with a fantastic ending. The new weapons and bad guys make the game a challenge even at easier difficulties but it is still not overly difficult. My only qualm about the game Multiplayer is basically like playing the original game with other people online. The rank system is really well done and the unlocks are epic (ex. houdini splicer plasmid). The story is both well written and moving with a fantastic ending. The new weapons and bad guys make the game a challenge even at easier difficulties but it is still not overly difficult. My only qualm about the game is that you cannot go back and replay area's like in the first game (so make sure you have dealt with all the little sisters and gotten all the power to the people machines before leaving to the next area). Expand
  40. ChristianT.
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    While the world of Rapture felt far less mysterious and haunting the second time around, an improved combat system and stronger character development make Bioshock 2 a game worth playing over and over.
  41. MarioD
    Feb 9, 2010
    9
    Ok ok, Bioshock 2 is not as novel and fresh and revolutionary as Bioshock 1, we get it. Now, If you can move beyond that inevitably unavoidable (and almost cliché, by this point) comment and focus on the actual experience of playing Bioshock 2 itself, my bet is, you're having fun! Because Bioshock is a really fun game! Here's the thing, if you think you were a huge fan of Ok ok, Bioshock 2 is not as novel and fresh and revolutionary as Bioshock 1, we get it. Now, If you can move beyond that inevitably unavoidable (and almost cliché, by this point) comment and focus on the actual experience of playing Bioshock 2 itself, my bet is, you're having fun! Because Bioshock is a really fun game! Here's the thing, if you think you were a huge fan of the first game, let me tell you this..., the developers of Bio 2 were even bigger fans! And for that reason, they never tried to outdo the first one, or pervert it..., they just tried to live up to it and give the fans more Bioshock goodness; new areas to explore, new enemies, new powers, all that while addressing the few shortcomings of the first game..., and you know what? They succeeded! So move beyond the obligatory clichés and go enjoy one of the finest games you'll play this year. Expand
  42. JamieC.
    Feb 12, 2010
    10
    Okay bioshock one was astounding, the only real reason still to by a 360 from my point of veiw, but then again it came out improved on the ps3, this is irrelevent i am just trying to say that the first one was veryyy good, now bioshock 2 has alot of competition to top the original. i feel that the main gameplay, more weaponry, plasmids/ guns at the same time, ect ect it also fills in the Okay bioshock one was astounding, the only real reason still to by a 360 from my point of veiw, but then again it came out improved on the ps3, this is irrelevent i am just trying to say that the first one was veryyy good, now bioshock 2 has alot of competition to top the original. i feel that the main gameplay, more weaponry, plasmids/ guns at the same time, ect ect it also fills in the backstory of big daddies and other large gaps in the originals mysterious past. Now i really enjoyed bioshock 2, i played through on hard and i felt it was really an absorbing experience, yes some dodgy textures here and there but the over all beauty of rapture more than makes up for it with charm and character. the fact that your now a big daddy does make it a little differnt you feel a big heavier when you first start but you get used to it very quickly, i am a die hard bioshock fan and this hasnt tarnished the games name at all it has only added to it, the fact that this is below 90 at 88 is beyond me but i guess its down to opinion, i would really highly recommend this game, best release of 2010 so far, and will definatly keep you occupied till god of war 3 :) Good job 2K you gave me a very good 20 hours or so of gaming there and i have hardly scratched the Multiplayer. Expand
  43. JackH
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    What's wrong with these critics? I think the most spot on one I read out of these was Games Radar. I'm deffinately going to that website more often. I'm sure there will be some that don't like it. I loved the first Bioshock, and love this one EVEN MORE. It's just more fun because of simple things. The hacking is soooo much better (no more annoying Pipe Dream). What's wrong with these critics? I think the most spot on one I read out of these was Games Radar. I'm deffinately going to that website more often. I'm sure there will be some that don't like it. I loved the first Bioshock, and love this one EVEN MORE. It's just more fun because of simple things. The hacking is soooo much better (no more annoying Pipe Dream). Duel Wielding makes a huge difference. Everything just feels better. More plasmids. See for me, I love setting up defensive type of stuff and strategy, such as turrets, traps, etc. proximity mines... this is my dream game. And the difficulty is perfect as well. Really, just go pick this up. Either way you'll be happy. If you love what I mentioned, such as defense and strategy in a FPS, don't even think anymore, just go get it. Have no money? Rob someone, go get it. Now. Expand
  44. JakC
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    this game is perfect at everything it tries to do, and it does a lot. It starts with a truly unique atmosphere thats just as amazing the 2nd time around, add in a pretty good dose of variously afflicted foes with different tactics and personalities, gives you a nice assortment of weapons to chose from with an equally nice assortment of upgrades that can be set up to reflect your this game is perfect at everything it tries to do, and it does a lot. It starts with a truly unique atmosphere thats just as amazing the 2nd time around, add in a pretty good dose of variously afflicted foes with different tactics and personalities, gives you a nice assortment of weapons to chose from with an equally nice assortment of upgrades that can be set up to reflect your indevidual style, add in a cohesive, intreguing story that has to be approached with a certain amount of strategy and shazam, there it is right there, a game thats truly on top of its.....game !! Expand
  45. MitchelP
    Feb 15, 2010
    8
    I can't tell you how much excitement I had for the game, as I loved the first one. Bioshock 2 has all the feeling of simularity, but it lacked the demented beings and atmoshpere of Bioshock. The best we have here is Lamb, and she is interesting to a certain degree. For all of the hype of "Big Daddy" gameplay and personalized plasmids, it was little change from the first. Mechanics I can't tell you how much excitement I had for the game, as I loved the first one. Bioshock 2 has all the feeling of simularity, but it lacked the demented beings and atmoshpere of Bioshock. The best we have here is Lamb, and she is interesting to a certain degree. For all of the hype of "Big Daddy" gameplay and personalized plasmids, it was little change from the first. Mechanics and Audio are great in this game. All in all, if you have played the first one, this is worth a look at, but if you have never played the first Bioshock, go back and play it first. Expand
  46. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    A decent sequel, but lacks BioShock 1's attention to level detail, especially later on when the levels become more sloppy. The game feels a bit like you have been there and done it before, but even so, 2K Marin improved on the formula in many ways and even managed to tell a very meaningful and emotionally moving story too. My biggest regret is that they put you in a big daddy suit right atA decent sequel, but lacks BioShock 1's attention to level detail, especially later on when the levels become more sloppy. The game feels a bit like you have been there and done it before, but even so, 2K Marin improved on the formula in many ways and even managed to tell a very meaningful and emotionally moving story too. My biggest regret is that they put you in a big daddy suit right at the beginning of the game. This took away a lot of the fear of vulnerability and kind made me feel overpowered like a superhero. Still the game has its moments like exploring outside Rapture, but I think making the player a big daddy was the wrong call. The biggest detractor for this sequel though goes to the inclusion of a pointless and expensive multiplayer mode. I really wish such an unwanted component didn't bring the score down, but it does. So there you have it. A great sequel marred only by its forced in multiplayer addition. Expand
  47. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    While I can't say it was as original in its delivery as the first Bioshock was, and wasn't as long, it was still awesome. I enjoyed it as much, and appreciated the tweaks in the controls.
  48. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    Although not a worthy successor to the original Bioshock, this is still a great game in its own right. Combat has been improved, allowing for the simultaneous use of plasmids and weapons. This sequel is much more action oriented than the first at the expense of atmosphere. Rapture is not nearly as chilling or as interesting as it was and the religious proclamations of Sofia Lamb are lessAlthough not a worthy successor to the original Bioshock, this is still a great game in its own right. Combat has been improved, allowing for the simultaneous use of plasmids and weapons. This sequel is much more action oriented than the first at the expense of atmosphere. Rapture is not nearly as chilling or as interesting as it was and the religious proclamations of Sofia Lamb are less enjoyable to listen to than the self-righteousness of Andrew Ryan. Multiplayer is entertaining for a while and I liked its attempt to connect itself with the story of Rapture. Expand
  49. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    While I am aware that Bioshock 2 is not much of a environment change (considering it's still in Rapture) that in no way stops it from being quite an impressive edition. The world of Rapture has somehow gotten even more beautiful since the last time we saw it. You play as a big daddy which heightens the coolness of the game, makes you stronger, faster and all around better. The story isWhile I am aware that Bioshock 2 is not much of a environment change (considering it's still in Rapture) that in no way stops it from being quite an impressive edition. The world of Rapture has somehow gotten even more beautiful since the last time we saw it. You play as a big daddy which heightens the coolness of the game, makes you stronger, faster and all around better. The story is great, as are the characters. In my book Bioshock 2 is just as grand as the first. Expand
  50. Dec 2, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bioshock 2 is the half-baked sequel to the first Bioshock. I say "half-baked" because, well, it was half-baked.

    Take a painting like the Mona Lisa, and then draw a mustache and top hat on it. Did ya make it better? No, of course not; and that's what Bioshock 2 is.

    Bioshock 2 added some really cool stuff. You play as one of the prototype Big Daddies known as an "Alpha". However, you, the player, are referred to as "Delta" for some reason. The setting takes place a couple of years after the first Bioshock, and also takes place in Rapture. There are some pretty cool weapons, plasmids, and mechanics. There were new enemies as well, such as the brute splicers, Alpha big daddies, and the Big Sisters. Now, while the Big Sisters were cool, they were pretty annoying. They would show up every time you interacted with too many little sisters, and even though they had much less armor than any of the big daddies did, they were the hardest to kill. They were quick, hard to hit, and screamed every five seconds. All of this takes the cool factor from the Big Sisters, and replaces it with "Oh good, this b**ch again."

    The story was decent, but it wasn't very interesting. The entire game, you're looking for your daughter. When you find her, her mother tries to kill both of you. The mother figure (who's name I can't really recall) isn't a very interesting villain, and is just annoying. Near the end of the game, your daughter becomes a Big Sister, and you can summon her via a plasmid... which I found pretty lame. Not to mention, she would only stick around for like two minutes and then bounce. Another thing I should mention, is that the end of the game was also the best part of the game, but for bad reasons.

    Reason number one: All of the final upgrades for your plasmids and weapons can only be obtained in the final moments of the game. This is bad, because the upgrades are awesome, but it's the final level of the game. That's like eating a pie, but only tasting the flavor of the pie in the last bite.

    Reason number two: It's the end of the game! The game you've been playing through is almost over, and it's just starting to get good! I'm not saying the rest of the game wasn't good, but why on Earth are the final moments the best part?

    Now, the online multiplayer was good. I had a lot of fun with that. Me and my buddies had some good times playing it. However, while the multiplayer was fun, it had very many things wrong with it. Things such as: Long waiting times, bad servers, lag issues, connection issues, and many ways for people to exploit the mechanics. This ultimately drove people away from it, which only caused even more connection issues.

    Also, I should mention that the DLC for this game was better than the game itself. If you ever plan on getting this game, (or already have it), I highly recommend getting the "Minerva's Den" DLC. Minerva's Den was phenomenal, and (for me at least) made up for many of the flaws the main campaign had.

    Over-all, I really enjoyed the game. It was a lot of fun, and the new weapons/enemies/mechanics were awesome. I can easily replay through the game, over and over again. But the story wasn't very compelling and the game itself felt too short.

    Without the multiplayer and DLC, I would give this game a sturdy 6/10. But, with the multiplayer and DLC in consideration, I give it a decent 8/10. If you didn't like the first Bioshock, you probably wouldn't like this game. But, if you did enjoy the first game, then I recommend at least trying this game out.
    Expand
  51. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    I didn't think anything could beat Bioshock as my favourite game ever. that was until no2 came along. I need a 11 rating for this as i put 10 for Bioshock 1.
    The story is better, the plasmids are improved, the weapons are a step up and the fact that i can simultaneously use my weapons and plasmids really opened up the game!
    Love it, my new fav game of all time!
  52. Mar 8, 2016
    9
    t's story/plot may not be as good as it's predecessor and it may lack the feel that gamers felt when playing the original for the first time, but Bioshock 2 is a fun, surprisingly and still atmospheric sequel that though not as good as it's predecessor, it still provides some brilliant moments.
  53. May 1, 2015
    9
    You may have fallen slightly from the first, but BioShock 2 has plenty of emotion to captivate even the most critical. .
  54. Dec 20, 2014
    9
    Certainly the lesser of the three Bioshock titles, but this second release still delivers strong. It is impossible to not enjoy delving deeper into new areas of Rapture.
  55. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    This was a very well done game an excellent succesor of the original. It is a shooter with some RPG elements which takes us back to Rapture an underwater city which captured my imagination the first time I visited. The action is very narrative driven which I love in a game and while I did not find the story quite as captivating as the original it is still very well done. I think theyThis was a very well done game an excellent succesor of the original. It is a shooter with some RPG elements which takes us back to Rapture an underwater city which captured my imagination the first time I visited. The action is very narrative driven which I love in a game and while I did not find the story quite as captivating as the original it is still very well done. I think they actually improved several aspects of the game such as the hacking mechanic which I did not enjoy in the last game. The action in this game hinges around preparing for battles with the big sister characters. Unlike Big Daddy's they are very fast and hard to pin down. The multiplayer doesn't really do much for me but that takes nothing away from a very solid single player experiance. Pick up this game if you haven't Expand
  56. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Its story may not be as complex as the game preceding it, but "Bioshock 2" sure does elevate nearly every gameplay element, making it a brilliantly worthy sequel.
  57. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    While I know many will disagree with me on this, I preferred Bioshock 2 over the original. Granted it more or less is almost the same game, but just better with improved gameplay mechanics, more or less fixing and improving on things that people complained about in the first game. It is a true sequel and as such it works well. In fact this is the first game who I actually like theWhile I know many will disagree with me on this, I preferred Bioshock 2 over the original. Granted it more or less is almost the same game, but just better with improved gameplay mechanics, more or less fixing and improving on things that people complained about in the first game. It is a true sequel and as such it works well. In fact this is the first game who I actually like the multiplayer. It's nowhere near as complex and developed as other online multiplayer shooters, but for me that's what I like: It was simple and straightforward. Overall: I thoroughly enjoyed Bioshock 2 and look forward to Infinite. Expand
  58. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    with the exception of the final run of the game it never gets out of its predecessors shadow, but on its own terms its still a great time that deserves a playthrough. Gameplay is improved in every way, even if the story is not as strong.
  59. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Rapture isn't quite as mysterious or intimidating the second time around, but the combat is hugely improved in Bioshock 2. If you enjoyed the first game for more than its story, you'll have fun with 2.
  60. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Volviendo a esa ciudad que me lleno de emociones, sustos y enojo.Volviendo a Rapture.

    Bioshock 2. Esta Mini-review va a hacer muy corta, no tengo mucho para decir de este juego solo algunas novedades y cosas diferentes. Este capaz no tendrá lo innovador ni lo glorioso del primero pero sigue siendo Excelente en la mayoría de las cosas y lo mas genial es que ahora sos un Big daddy. La
    Volviendo a esa ciudad que me lleno de emociones, sustos y enojo.Volviendo a Rapture.

    Bioshock 2.

    Esta Mini-review va a hacer muy corta, no tengo mucho para decir de este juego solo algunas novedades y cosas diferentes. Este capaz no tendrá lo innovador ni lo glorioso del primero pero sigue siendo Excelente en la mayoría de las cosas y lo mas genial es que ahora sos un Big daddy. La historia comienza 2 años antes del primer rapture y sigue 8 años despues. Con la muerte de tales personajes(por los que no hayan jugado al 1) Lamb comienza a manipular a los Splicers gracias a una secta llamada la Familia de Rapture, liderada por el Padre Simón.

    En el primer bioshock solo eran los big daddy, ahora son las big sisters, los big daddy y los alfa. Los mas jodidos entre los 3 son las Big sisters que serian las little sister ya en adolescentes.

    PUNTOS A FAVOR: Todo.Ser un big daddy.

    PUNTOS EN CONTRA: No innova en nada, solo algunas cosas nuevas pero nada que lo haga mejor que el 1.

    Bioshock 2 es un excelente juego aunque no mejor que el 1 pero vale la pena jugarlo....ahora me voy columbia.
    Expand
  61. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    Flawed. Not as good as the first one, not my favorite, but this is a good game. I will start out with the good. This gameplay has been improved. Now that you have the ability to dual wield your plasmids and weapons, its great, really. The sound is still here. This game sounds great, and nothing was lost. The game is still really creepy, which is awesome. And it is cool how you participateFlawed. Not as good as the first one, not my favorite, but this is a good game. I will start out with the good. This gameplay has been improved. Now that you have the ability to dual wield your plasmids and weapons, its great, really. The sound is still here. This game sounds great, and nothing was lost. The game is still really creepy, which is awesome. And it is cool how you participate in the Little Sister-Big Daddy relationship. The music is still fine, but not as breathtaking as the first. And thats the good. But the graphics have... lost some touch. No more art-deco means no more beauty. Sigh. And some of the level design was just to generic. It was based off of the items you achieved through the game. This game is less scarier, mainly because we have been here before. But I hate to say it, but some characters are not developed like in Bioshock 1. Eleanor, a main character in the story did not feel that emotional, even when she was supposed to be emotional. In fact, this games only competition is really against itself, Bioshock 1. But it still is fun to play. Bioshock fans will enjoy it, but it is linear. And as for the multiplayer, I did not like it. I will continue to avoid it because it was not "well developed" at all. I did not enjoy that aspect. But in the end, this is worth a buy, but only if you enjoyed the first. Expand
  62. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Bioshock 2 was definitely one of my favourite games; to begin it has one of the best story lines I have come across in a game, to fully understand it you would have needed to play the first Bioshock, but in short… A city was built incredibly deep underwater as a form of paradise away from the rest of the world, but the city had its floor including the stem cell discovery called ADAMBioshock 2 was definitely one of my favourite games; to begin it has one of the best story lines I have come across in a game, to fully understand it you would have needed to play the first Bioshock, but in short… A city was built incredibly deep underwater as a form of paradise away from the rest of the world, but the city had its floor including the stem cell discovery called ADAM discovered from a parasite in the ocean that caused addiction and terrible side effects as well as a civil war breaking out in rapture to earn freedom, while you play as a “Big Daddy” which is an experiment of a man connected to a girl whom collects the contents of ADAM from corpses. All of the Bioshocks have this amazing/beautiful world the developers have created, but it is once you have entered it that you see the real sinister side behind it that was hidden from you, but what I loved about the introduction to Bioshock 2 is how it shows the point of view from the “bad guys” of the game, you see how they see and how they are trapped in this glorious world of their own in shining gold and its glory when actually they are in a war-torn wreck of a world with corridors of leaking cracked glass flooded with the growth of fungi and the dead.
    The game gives a large amount of back-story to the original and teaches you the details and viewpoints of several characters while introducing new ones, while playing the game at times you get the sheer amazing feeling of being a walking tank as you plough a drill fist through the face of a splicer or light them on fire with a modified rivet gun.
    The original Bioshock was slightly more of a horror game using several scenes that will make you jump and just a scary atmosphere in general, the second Bioshock how ever didn’t have as many scary scenes but still had its moments, I still remember playing the game in my younger teens when the game came out, several moments in the game had scared the living crap out of me including suspense built by the “big sisters” in the game.
    All in all Bioshock 2 was a very amazing beautiful game and has earned a high place in my list of top games just for the sheet sights, beauty and amazing feeling of being one hell of a bad-ass.
    Expand
  63. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    Back in 2010 this game was received positively by critics and gamers alike. 3 years later this game still plays great, with amazing scenery graphics this game simply rocks. However being a sequel to the extremely successful Bioshock 1 comparison is unavoidable... And this is were bioshock 2 falls a bit short.. Simply put its predecessor is much better.. However Bioshock 2 is still anBack in 2010 this game was received positively by critics and gamers alike. 3 years later this game still plays great, with amazing scenery graphics this game simply rocks. However being a sequel to the extremely successful Bioshock 1 comparison is unavoidable... And this is were bioshock 2 falls a bit short.. Simply put its predecessor is much better.. However Bioshock 2 is still an amazing game and it has to be enjoyed by every gamer... Expand
  64. May 28, 2013
    8
    Not better than Bioshock 1, but it definitely a true sequel to it! The MP is the only thing that brings this game down, but its you'll forget its there very easily! The atmosphere of this one is just as creepy with the new water riddled ruins of Rapture! A great sequel overall!
  65. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    Firstly; If you're expecting the beastiality of Biosock the First, then dont get your hopes up. However, this game is still a really good ride. The gameplay and graphics are better than Bioshock one. Overall a more fun game. But- and there's always a but- The storyline is not as good (so you get shot in the head, live, but the only way you can live forever is through Eleanor, I won't spoilFirstly; If you're expecting the beastiality of Biosock the First, then dont get your hopes up. However, this game is still a really good ride. The gameplay and graphics are better than Bioshock one. Overall a more fun game. But- and there's always a but- The storyline is not as good (so you get shot in the head, live, but the only way you can live forever is through Eleanor, I won't spoil it though), and there is way too much ammo lying around, and why no tommy gun Anyway, the guns are a bit OP, especally the drill, and there is not much interaction between Big Daddys (imagine how cool that would be). On a more positive note, the Big sister battles are really fun. Overall, pick this game up for a very enjoyable ride through the Rapturian Eutopia. Expand
  66. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I believe this game is well developed and I do agree that there are not as many twists and turns as the first but its story line is vary elaborate and entertaining.
  67. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    I think it's just as good as the first, except feels a bit too familiar. Everything has been improved but story, and a multiplayer has been added. If you liked the first, you'll like this one, if you didn't, you won't.

    Bioshock 2 gets an 8.7/10
  68. Nov 15, 2015
    9
    An excellent game ! Its only default is to be a little too close to BioShock 1, making each comparison at a disadvantage (especially the story). But game feels and Rapture atmosphere are still there, and that's the main thing.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 93 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 93
  2. Negative: 0 out of 93
  1. 100
    Still, BioShock 2 not only re-captures the dystopian aesthetic, gripping narrative, and deep gameplay of Irrational's original, but it actually greatly improves on the BioShock experience as a whole, fine-tuning what made Jack's voyage to Rapture such a memorable experience two years ago.
  2. It's well over two year's since we first had the privilege to be submerged into the world of Rapture for the very first time. In contrast to the first outing, the sequel certainly delivers that same and unique feel with the combination of well thought out design and audio. It's not so much 'better' than the original, but provides enough twists and turns to keep us unadulterately submerged in this mesmerizing underwater (and demented) utopia.
  3. Rapture may not be as mysterious and intriguing this second time around, but it is nonetheless host to a powerful and moving tale that allows you to better realize--or pervert--Ryan's principles at your own discretion. Regardless of whether or not this is a return visit to paradise lost, there is plenty to be found here to make it a worthwhile, meaningful, and compelling one.