Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    With the first story add-on for Bioshock Infinite we find ourselves back in Rapture and we absolutely loved it. Some parts are even scarier than Infinite, with the Splicers as the point of attention. However, with only two hours, it’s too short for a magnificent add-on.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    80
    A DLC for fans and only for fans of the lore of Bioshock saga in general. The chance to go back to Rapture is well used, and it´s nice seeing Elizabeth again in a more mature version. But the DLC does little to extend the gameplay of the original.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    In many ways Irrational has combined the best elements of original BioShock and Infinite and returned us to a world we’ve been sorely missing.
  4. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2013
    75
    Beautifully presented and fantastic fun to play. [Jan 2014, p.80]
  5. 75
    It’s difficult to call Burial at Sea’s first episode especially satisfying — by its cliffhanger ending, the labyrinthine overworked plot teeters between collapsing in on itself and being a devilishly clever rug-puller. But even as it stumbles, this DLC installment remains a fascinating, complicated riddle to watch unfold.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    you know a DLC i successful when it accomplishes to keep the player interested in the environment while exploring and following the storyline,you know a DLC i successful when it accomplishes to keep the player interested in the environment while exploring and following the storyline, and that's exactly what this DLC accomplishes. in my opinion this DLC is the best DLC of 2013 hell even since 2010 (Fallout 3 DLC), to me it is amazing to finally be exploring the secrets of Rapture with a catching story and of cause our "oh, so beloved" Elizabeth". Of cause there is the economic site of the matter, this DLC cost about Dollar 14,95 which isn't cheap BUT with no doubt worth it! i recommend buying the season pass for not many Dollars more that the single DLC. The season pass will include all of the already released DLC for Bioshock: Infinite, as well as Burial at sea part 1 AND Burial at sea part 2. SO if you are a fan of the original bioshock (or Bioshock 2) you will with no doubt have a very satisfying, joyful and nostalgic time playing this DLC. a lot of you guys might think 10 is a little too much for this DLC, but on thing is sure, 8,6 (current user score) is not even close to being enough for Burial at sea Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Why is this getting bad reviews? Granted, it is short, but the narrative is very good and gives a surprising twist at the end. The combat isWhy is this getting bad reviews? Granted, it is short, but the narrative is very good and gives a surprising twist at the end. The combat is great. Definitely try this out if you are even liked BioShock a little. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    First off, this DLC is an amazing feat. While using the infinite engine, all the assets seem to be built from the ground up. I really enjoyedFirst off, this DLC is an amazing feat. While using the infinite engine, all the assets seem to be built from the ground up. I really enjoyed experiencing rapture while it was still alive and understand that it truly was a beautiful place to behold. Make no mistake, this is Bioshock fan service in every way. If you're not into Bioshock 1, 2, or Infinite you won't care for this either.

    In a lot of reviews I've read they complained about the length. Now, I will say you get the most out of any bioshock when you're looking for more narrative and hidden items. I enjoy a slower pace with these games and beat the dlc is 4 hours. Most people seem to beat it between 2-3. I felt completely satisfied when it was over though. I do feel it ended rather abruptly and could've benefitted through some more deliberate pacing or a more elaborate ending but I really enjoyed the entire experience.

    If you're already a fan of bioshock this is a no brainer. It's an experience that definitely adds to the entire Bioshock my this and will keep you entertained.
    Full Review »