BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea - Episode Two Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this DLC pack, you become Elizabeth as she seeks to bring closure to her story, and to BioShock Infinite's. Like Episode 1, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before and gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges theIn this DLC pack, you become Elizabeth as she seeks to bring closure to her story, and to BioShock Infinite's. Like Episode 1, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before and gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges the best parts of BioShock and BioShock Infinite. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
BioShock Infinite: The First Five Minutes
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 17, 2014
    95
    For those who purchased Burial at Sea Episode 1 and felt burned by the lack of content, Episode 2 is a fuller package, and worth picking up to finish the story.
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    90
    I don’t know what the next Bioshock game will be, but it better not be Infinite 2 because it seems insulting to mess with something that already ended so perfectly.
  3. Apr 1, 2014
    90
    The second episode of Burial At Sea brings a fitting end to the BioShock Infinite storyline while introducing some new gameplay elements. Sneaking around as Elizabeth gives Rapture a new creepy atmosphere and it fits the character very well. We couldn't have asked more for our (probably) last trip to Rapture.
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    89
    BioShock Infinite Burial at Sea - Episode 2 is the perfect ending to a saga that marked a generation and will be long remembered.
  5. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    A vast improvement on the first episode and a suitably ambitious send-off for both BioShock Infinite and the people that made it.
  6. 80
    A slightly uneven but still arresting journey back to BioShock’s past, future, and present that makes a worthy protagonist out of Elizabeth, while introducing some downright cool new gameplay into the series’ mix.
  7. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 24, 2014
    80
    One of the series' highest points. [June 2014, p.90]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    A year or two ago my brother said if he had one wish it would be to have the bioshock experience for the first time again. He was not wrong.A year or two ago my brother said if he had one wish it would be to have the bioshock experience for the first time again. He was not wrong. If you never play anything else, play bioshock all the way through. Burial at sea 2 completes a mind bending saga that left me in tears. Game mechanics are great for this last episode, though I found it hard to survive and follow the story at the same time. This is as good as it gets. Start at the beginning and play through. If you don't cry, you're not human. Incinerate yourself. Collapse
  2. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    Seriously, how amazing is Bioshock? Irrational went out on a high note. It's sad that this was it for them. Hopefully 2K Marin can keep upSeriously, how amazing is Bioshock? Irrational went out on a high note. It's sad that this was it for them. Hopefully 2K Marin can keep up with the quality bar that Irrational set. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2016
    10
    The perfect ending to a perfect game. This made me jump to tears and I simply loved it so much, Bioshock is my favourite videogame series andThe perfect ending to a perfect game. This made me jump to tears and I simply loved it so much, Bioshock is my favourite videogame series and I personally believe Burial at Sea 2 was an incredible way to finish up what was one of the best series ever made. It's truly a masterpiece. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2014
    8
    Burial at Sea- Episode 2 is basically Ken Levine's way of tying the stories of the original BioShock and BioShock: Infinite together beforeBurial at Sea- Episode 2 is basically Ken Levine's way of tying the stories of the original BioShock and BioShock: Infinite together before disbanding his development studio.

    The gameplay is great and has very little flaws, if any. It even adds some much needed variety to the base game's gameplay with the new stealth mechanics.

    Rapture looks better than ever, which is a real trip for a fan of the original BioShock.

    While the time travel and alternate reality involved story was expertly crafted and tied together in the style of "Back to the Future Part 2" or "Donnie Darko", it didn't seem all that necessary in the end. As a BioShock fan, I can tell you with confidence that the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite were amazing games all on their own. Tying them together seems like an afterthought. By no means does that make the game bad, but at the end of the day, the BioShock series wouldn't be any better or worse without it.

    I would recommend this to hardcore BioShock fans, but for anyone else, it isn't essential.
    Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2017
    8
    (XBOX ONE) Though this game and downloadable content includes plenty of flavor with its stealth game play its story can tend to dry things up(XBOX ONE) Though this game and downloadable content includes plenty of flavor with its stealth game play its story can tend to dry things up from time to time with unnecessary details and delay. Turning things around I never expected 2K to come up with a stealth downloadable content as fantastic as this one with a variety of new weapons as well. These weapons being, The crossbow with 3 variants, and an air grabber that knocks enemies out cold instead of killing them. There is also a new plasmid being Peeping Tom which makes yourself invisible and able to see through walls when sitting still. The only new vigor I'm not especially impressed with unlike the plasmid however it is called iron sides which collects enemy ammo. Its found upgrades are nice however. Beating this DLC twice first just for fun and second on 1998 mode (the stealth and hardest difficulty) I enjoyed this DLC and thought it was awesome.

    Positives

    -Great graphics (10)
    -Nice gameplay (8)

    Negatives
    -Story improvements (7)
    Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Condensed]

    The main tool you'll be using is a crossbow with darts that knock your opponents out with ease, and some wisely chosen knickknacks like fire crackers and gas- to round out your already hefty array of powers and gadgets. The stealth oriented gameplay is amplified by the ability to use an almost 'detective vision' type of sight and see your enemies through objects, as well as the ability to essentially turn invisible and lurk about in the shadows. As much as I loved the explosive action of the Bioshock titles in the past, it is neat to see another twist for a change- and stealth is as good as any I've thought of before, as twist mechanics go. The ending ends up being very apropos, and you'll definitely love every bit of story this time around- making it much more interesting than part one was, and also a bit more bittersweetbitter. I loved every moment of this episode, even if I wasn't willing to fully let go in the end.

    Concept: Irrational's final tribute to Rapture and the culmination of a trilogy's worth of content in one brief, concise story that will continue the revelations we thought were already unveiled accordingly. Truly a masterful finish if there ever was any.

    Graphics: Still utilizes the same system branch-off of Unreal Engine 3 that the main title and Episode One also utilized, with great success.

    Sound: Remember all the voices we heard in Rapture and Columbia? Well, chances are most of them are back, or Irrational at least got excellent copycats to voice their slightly different characters here.

    Playability: The controls are as tight and easy to handle as they were in the main title and the first downloadable story episode, and still manage to add in uses for new weapons and gadgets as well, on top of that fact.

    Entertainment: It takes a different approach, especially during combat, but is no worse off for it. In fact, it's actually more fun than I had in episode one.

    Replay Value: Moderate.

    Overall Score: 8.5
    Expand
  7. May 16, 2014
    0
    If you care about the story at all DO NOT BUY THESE DLCS. They have bits that are internally inconsistent and completely ruin it... not toIf you care about the story at all DO NOT BUY THESE DLCS. They have bits that are internally inconsistent and completely ruin it... not to mention the ending is complete crap. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews