Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Most importantly though is that BioShock Infinite takes the story and uses the gameplay to enhance it. It puts the player firmly in the shoes of Booker, it makes Elizabeth not just your ward but a crucial part of your game. It connects the player and the player character inextricably, and then it tells a story through that connection.
  2. 90
    The story, albeit rather complex, is riveting and the gameplay is highly enjoyable. BioShock Infinite also hits home runs in the visual and audio departments. Some of the framerate issues, backtracking, and that nasty glitch I encountered when I ran into the first fireman, cast somewhat of a shadow over the entire experience though. I also wish the game could have also been experienced in the form of a co-op mode.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    100
    The backgrounds are so insanely complex and detailed, with massive chunks of land that float through the sky and move around independently, that corners probably had to be cut somewhere so that our consoles didn’t simply buckle under the weight of all this stuff happening at once. And I’ll gladly take some pixilated textures over a small draw distance, which could have completely destroyed the entire feel of this painstakingly crafted environment.
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    100
    BioShock Infinite is an excellent game and will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. Once you finish the game it will make you play the original BioShock all over again, which is truly saying something about this release.
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    BioShock Infinite is a proper interactive mystery, and it's a sight to behold and a joy to experience.
  6. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    To the casual observer, BioShock Infinite may look like just another game starring a scowling, testosterone-infused hero cocking a shotgun at onrushing enemy hordes. But just like Irrational’s 2007 trip through an undersea Objectivist paradise gone mad, this is far more than a simple first-person shooter; the experience will make players think, inspire them to explore, and leave them emotionally spent by the time it’s all over. With BioShock Infinite, Ken Levine cements his status as one of gaming’s elite creative minds.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Infinite is more than a new setting, story, and characters; those elements are seamlessly integrated with complex themes, a mysterious plot, and entertaining combat to create an amazing experience from beginning to end. Familiar threads run through it – a lighthouse, a strange city, a charismatic antagonist – but they are homages to the past rather than attempts to recycle it. The core of Infinite is unlike anything else on land, sea, or air.
  8. May 11, 2013
    87
    BioShock Infinite is a sure-fire game-of-the-year candidate, and definitely one of the standout single-player games of this generation.
  9. Mar 29, 2013
    90
    Elizabeth is easily one of the best characters to come out of gaming this generation, and Irrational Games, and her actress(es) did an excellent job bringing her to the small screen.
  10. May 27, 2013
    98
    An instant classic that should be kept in a special place in every gamer's collection.
  11. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    You'll be haunted by this thematically devastating adventure, and indeed, its phenomenal final minutes, which are bound to be discussed and dissected for some time to come.
  12. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    A game you can lose yourself in for hours, only looking away to wonder where the time has gone. It is one of this generations great games, as simple as that.
  13. Apr 4, 2013
    91
    It’s a well-crafted experience that’s certainly more than the sum of its parts, even if those parts are by and large pretty damn good. It’s a satisfying and intriguing experience from top to bottom, and something that’s well worth checking out.
  14. Apr 1, 2013
    97
    Bioshock Infinite is a masterpiece, and few games can stand up to it in terms of quality of writing, presentation, and atmosphere. I present to you, your stand-out contender for Game of the Year.
  15. 100
    Whether or not you enjoy first-person shooters is irrelevant. It is whether or not you want an experience like no other; one that will be left in the back of your mind for years to come.
  16. Mar 21, 2013
    94
    A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay. It trips over itself in a couple of spots, but not in any way that should keep you from embracing it with your utmost enthusiasm.
  17. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    When scaled down to the core mechanics of the game, Bioshock Infinite is a somewhat predictable (even if largely enjoyable) game. But its preciousness lays elsewhere, within the cloudy streets of Columbia, inside the mechanical heart of the Songbird, beyond those sad blue eyes that Elizabeth always keeps wide open. A testament to what Irrational Games and the videogame industry as a whole can achieve.
  18. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Bioshock Infinite is indeed a very good game, mostly because of its narrative and atmosphere. It offers a well written story in a living and interesting gameworld with believable characters. The only downside is the action scenes, which are both too frequent and feel somewhat unsubstantial.
  19. Apr 1, 2013
    98
    While maintaining the core elements of the BioShock formula, Infinite succeeds at moving the franchise one step forward. The result is one of the best FPS of this generation and a moving story that no one should miss. From the detailed city of Columbia to the lovely and believable Elizabeth, BioShock Infinite surprised us as an almost perfect game.
  20. Mar 29, 2013
    93
    A great game with awesome settings, a deep and extremely complex story and charming characters. It left a bitter taste in our mouths for not fully reaching its initial ambitions, especially regarding Elizabeth's interactions in combat and for lacking some of the magic present in the first BioShock, but it's nonetheless an excellent game which surely deserves to be played.
  21. 95
    As fun as its combat is, BioShock Infinite’s real strengths are its weirdly lovable characters, its richly realized world, and its story, which stays addictively convoluted from its eerie intro to its lengthy, jaw-dropping ending. It may not always be quite as inventive as the original BioShock, but it’s just as — if not more — unforgettable.
  22. 90
    The combat is gripping, taking a successful formula and bulking it out in ways that make it more demanding, tactical and entertaining...You're expecting a 'but', and we've got one. The only place where Infinite falls any distance short of brilliance is in its own audacious plot.
  23. Apr 15, 2013
    93
    Bioshock Infinite is in many ways far superior to the original Bioshock. Still, it shares many of its predecessors weaknesses. The gunplay feels so-so and the different role-playing game ideas are only toyed with, and not fully committed to. The storyline, the environments and the interaction between Booker and Elizabeth more than make up for it, though. [Apr 2013]
  24. 100
    Bioshock Infinite is a game that deserves to be played, and then played again straight afterwards. It’s one of those games that you finish and just feel sad because you know you won’t be playing another game that good for a long time to come.
  25. Apr 3, 2013
    90
    If you like science fiction Infinite is one of the best stories ever told via a game. Without question it represents one of the most ambitious set of ideas developed for a mainstream multi-million dollar release.
  26. Mar 28, 2013
    88
    A flawed masterpiece. When it is on, there is no other game like it, but it's frustrating when it fails. The story line is simultaneously clever and too impressed with its own cleverness, and the gameplay veers between some of the most exciting you'll ever play and being workmanlike and tedious. The failures in Infinite are mostly from setting such a high standard that it is disappointing when some moments don't live up to it. This is a rare example of a good game that disappoints because it could have been even more.
  27. Mar 26, 2013
    90
    Ultimately, though, no matter what you read elsewhere, its perfection, or lack thereof, will boil down to your own ability either to forgive, or to be blind to a few inarguable flaws: a slow start for an FPS, an ending that doesn’t feel earned, and too big a contrast in your behaviour versus Elizabeth’s reactions to it.
  28. 94
    As a longtime BioShock fan, I was reticent in bidding farewell to Andrew Ryan's Rapture. Zachary Comstock managed to create a worthy replacement in Columbia, however. With Infinite, Ken Levine establishes himself as one of the powerhouses in storytelling in video game; as divisive as it is, the resultant discussion has to be seen as a plus.
  29. 100
    Not only one of the best story-driven games of all time, it’s one of the best games we’ve ever played full stop. With a fantastic chemistry between the game’s two central characters, one of the most stunningly realised game worlds, some excellent game mechanics, incredible production values and a frankly genius story, it’s a game that simply everyone and his dog must own.
  30. Apr 4, 2013
    93
    Bioshock Infinite is a really remarkable game. While the combat may get old at times the story never does, and I really don’t want to write anything about it, because discovering it was such a joy. Any complaints I had were immediately washed away by the game’s incredible ending, which is one of the best game endings I have ever experienced. It’s a well-polished, exceptional experience, and something that I would recommend to anyone.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1427 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 395
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    I loved the original Bioshock when it came out in 2007. That the pace of the plot evaporated after the twist mattered not one jot, the game delivered deep in something sadly missing from many games today atmosphere. Bioshock 2 I also enjoyed in 2010, with the way that it opened up more, and gave a spin on events in Rapture of its own accord, but it never stunned like the original. After seeing the first trailers for Bioshock Infinite 2 years ago, I was hoping for something that would deliver in all key areas of a great game i was not disappointed!! Presentation is generally excellent for the 360, the loads being minimal and fairly fast. The graphics are beautiful in the way that they are executed and the imagination behind them, and if there is the occasional pop-in of objects or textures, and an odd moment of frame rate stutter, it never affects the gameplay. Sound design is on another level though, completely the voice actors do a sterling job, the sound effects are eerie in their delivery, and coupled with the amazing soundtrack which at times evokes memories of Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, amongst other things. The soundtrack is a loud, cluttered and often blustering bundle of objects that does what its supposed to it fills in the spaces that the graphics depend on to deliver the whole 'feel' so to speak. And so to the gameplay, which is where I have to state that this latest entry in the Bioshock series truly is the best so far. There are a handful of neat gimmicks put into the game at key points (the skyhooks, the tears in time), which when coupled with some familiar aspects (the vigors you may have seen before, and the weaponry), makes for some compulsive First-Person shooter gameplay however, the final ingredient, the one that makes this game truly great, and probably one of this years' best (and probably the decades I'm going to state right now!!) is the plot thundering through on some riffs from Alan Moore (think sparks of League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and Watchmen), and some very clear influences from Terry Gilliam (Brazil, 12 Monkeys), and many more I could mention, the whole thing moves from scene to scene, and never ever detaches the player from the game I've said this before, but if this were a book (the whole thing certainly feels like a graphic novel) you'd be up until 4 in the morning reading it!! The last time I played a game that truly made me want to get to the end, to see the whole thing, and know what was going on so much, was either Shadow of the Colossus or Half Life 2, so I think you can understand how highly I rate this game. i could write more, but alas, I'm on my second playthrough of the cursed game you see, and I want to get back to it, so I'll finish with this it is the best single-player campaign game I have played in years, it threatens to overflow with the wealth of ideas bursting forth, and even if you don't think you'll enjoy it, you have to give it at least a try. One utterly superb game. Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    I would like to preface this by saying that while I did enjoy BioShock 1, I thought and still think it is massively overrated. From the “original” story (while expertly written and acted) which was actually an exact copy of the one found in System Shock 2 right down to the “unpredictable” twist, to the ridiculously binary “moral” choices, to the overly dumbed-down and easy gameplay, to the weak gunplay and contrived use of plasmids… It was, however, very much a game that was more than the sum of its parts, as the setting of Rapture was so unique and well-designed, and its inhabitants so interesting and deep, that I borderline ignored the game’s numerous flaws to complete it three times since its release 5-and-a-half years ago. Needless to say, I was sceptical going into BioShock Infinite, as it was once again being highly praised and hyped by critics. Fool me twice, shame on me, right? Well, since my pre-order copy arrived three days before this game’s release date, I can tell you as one of the first people on the planet outside of Irrational Games to have completed BioShock Infinite that it is, from start to finish, a bona fide masterpiece. I will not discuss the 12-15 hour story for fear of giving away spoilers, but know that it is one of the greatest and most thought-provoking tales in gaming history. It’s worth noting that like System Shock 2 and BioShock 1, there is once again a twist ending, and the revelation is so mind-blowing that it literally makes you want to play the whole game over once you know it. The combat is the most improved aspect over BioShock 1, with numerous weapons that all feel powerful and are useful in different situations, eight dual-functional vigours which are a joy to use and alter your tactics, the superbly innovative ability to ride and fight from Sky-Lines adding verticality, and a wide assortment of enemy types often requiring different attack methods. Elizabeth is the greatest AI companion since Half-Life 2’s Alyx Vance, as not only does she not require any protecting, she also helps you out by periodically giving you supplies or money, and has the ability to spawn objects from weaponry, to cover, to defensive robots, and much more. The city of Columbia itself is far more interesting than even Rapture, and that’s saying something. It absolutely begs for every nook and cranny to be explored, and its Art Nouveau style is like nothing seen in gaming, or indeed film. It’s also filled with civilians something Rapture unfortunately avoided. I could go on and on about why I think this is one of the greatest and most important games ever made, but I’ll close with this: BioShock Infinite, unlike BioShock before it, deserves every bit of praise lavished upon it. Along with (arguably) Mass Effect 2 and (probably) Grand Theft Auto V, it is the game that is destined to be remembered for defining the heights of what the seventh gaming generation managed to achieve in terms of storytelling, artistry, and game design. Play it now. Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    6
    Bioshock Infinite feels like the 1st year sociology major that has decided to talk to you and you are sort of interested in what they are saying but they go on & on and you end up losing interest and then realise that they don't really understand what they are talking about and don't have a point but just enjoy hearing themselves talk about social theory and concepts ect. Also they are no fun. This is Bioshock Infinite, has a lot to say, starts off interesting but fails to maintain interest and ends up being a conversation that you are keen to finish. Infinite can be fun at times,I was very much looking forward to the sky hook tool, but the shooting is very clunky (probably more accurate with a mouse) and the sky hook, when you're allowed to use it, is just not as enjoyable as it should be. Draw distance is meh and the graphics overall do not compliment the sweeping vistas that are associated with a city in the clouds. The atmosphere of the first Bioshock is not apparent after the first hour of gameplay, the sense of wonder is lost and the "city in the sky" is merely a set of boxes in the sky connected by elevators and sometimes sky rails. Plasmids, or vigors, are noticibly less usefull than in previous games, markedly in the number available (8), and the types available. I loved the freezing, telekenisis and insect plasmids and they are now gone, replaced with mediocre ones which I didn't end up using or upgrading. Also the weapons do not physically change when upgraded, something I really enjoyed in the 1st game. There is an exact point when I realise I am not having fun playing a game when I open up the achievements menu and count how many chapters or special/ secret achievements I have to go until I finish the game and this happened about 4 hours into Infinite. I still finished it and the ending is interesting however nonsensical and the combat can be very fun at times. But the hacking, sense of exploration, creepyness, a great antagonist and well presented story is gone. Definitely worth a play and undoubtabley some people will LOVE the themes explored and the occasional fun combat and level design but my opinion is that it is a messy game without clear direction, ended up being a chore and the sky hook should have been awesome. 6/10. Also Elizabeth's ability to open time but ONLY at a certain place, and ONLY bringing in certain objects is rubbish compared to what was shown at E3. Full Review »