User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1382 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2013
    10
    A brilliant shooter with an awesome story. Sometimes I think it got a little carried away from the original formula, but that reflects his own originality
  2. May 11, 2013
    7
    Visually amazing, but overall in my humble opinion it wasnt as amazing as everyone is saying, the reason i never ended up beating this game was because i lost 2 hours of progress due to save issues and it just happened to be the part where you backtracked in the future and different paralleled worlds.... that ruined it for me still good just wish that never happened
  3. May 14, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutley flawless, and has above nd beyond visuals ...the gameplay is outstandimg...excellent vigors.
    Nd alot of weapons to use...this is the best bioshock of the series...the game is aboit 12-15hrs if your the type of gamer thaat searches everything....best 360 game of 2013
  4. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Does this game live up to all the hype? In some areas it does, in other areas it falls short. The bests aspects of the game are its characters, setting, semantics and story. While the combat is arguably one of the games lower points. In many places the combat seems terribly scripted and some of the level design is awfully generic. And sadly there isn't that much variation in the enemies, the adversaries shown off in the trailer only make brief appearances in the latter half of the game. My biggest gripe however is the plot, I won't spoil anything, but too me it seems like the developers ran out of ideas and came up with a plot twist that would extend the length of the game. Sadly though in the process they throw every thing that was important during the first half out the window, characters, setting and even semantics.

    All that said, it is still a very enjoyable experience, and despite the poor engine optimization I would highly recommend this game.
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2013
    10
    Going to keep it short and simple, this is one of the best story driven games ever made. If you see comments about shooting and vigors not being perfect or that the story isn't great, ignore them. This is essentially a fantastically written book made into a video game. If you have more than 2 brain cells to rub together and like to think for yourself rather than being spoon-fed then you will love this! Brilliant game, emotionally engaging and damn fun, buy it now and be glad you did!! Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    this game is amazing it goes the extra mile for graphics and storytelling everything it does it accomplishes and from a developer who makes masterful games its only a cycle for irrational now just amazing.
  7. May 22, 2013
    10
    Infinite manages to blend so many themes, all of them pertinent to the central characters and story, that the game becomes a piece of artwork just as much as a video game by the end. From a disconcerting portrayal of American exceptionalism to an examination on the dangers of idolatry and jingoism, Infinite incessantly pushes the envelope of what a video game can, and is willing to, portray. Engaging and varied combat and an exceptionally smart partner in Elizabeth only add to the great experience this game provides. The absolutely mind-blowing ending doesn't hurt either. Expand
  8. May 25, 2013
    10
    The most outstanding video game of this generation! Bioshock Infinite is a game that should be played for years and deserves a GOTY award hands down! Truly AMAZING!!!
  9. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game while a little slow at first was great from beginning to end. Just to put it out of the way I am very impatient but strangely with this game I was ok with the slow intro. I have always loved the Bioshock series and I am happy they didn't stray to far from the series. The campaign confused me at first but the ending tied everything to get and I finally understood the whole idea of Bioshock. Expand
  10. May 25, 2013
    9
    Creativity, sound, animation, and innovation are at a peak with Bioshock: Infinite. Everything, it seems, works as it was intended. The scope of the world and the design themselves are magnificent, and the small amount of detail in every space in Columbia immerses you in its Utopian and radically racist and religiously controlled world. However, I felt that the general story wasn't anything too out there, all multiverse and other crazy theories considered. It was fun and exciting to finish the game and see the amazing touches and twists Irrational put into it. The controls were tight and Vigors were rewarding to use and watch, but the gun and melee combat, although intentional, was way too fast paced for how much time the world required. There is strategy with enemies' strengths and weaknesses and what Vigors to combine and use, but pace seemed constant and could've used more planning, all exploration aside. All together, one of the greatest and most fufilling games I've played in a long time. Expand
  11. May 28, 2013
    6
    I wasn't really expecting much from this game since early demos made it look much more action-oriented than previous games. And it came out exactly as I expected. Basically, Bioshock Infinite has made itself as close to Call of Duty as it can. They've introduced a two weapon limit, most areas are just full of chest high cover for you to hide behind as you pick off waves of hostile enemies and exploration is much less present than it was before. Vigors replace Plasmids, but they do it very poorly. None of them are particularly fun to use and they don't fit into the world of Columbia at all. Basically this game tries to craft a "clever" story and just pastes on Call of Duty gameplay to get the player to each revelation. And I didn't find the story very compelling either, so that made things worse.

    The high point of the game is simply the aesthetic of the city, it's nice to look at. That's it. The guns are average, the Vigors are average, the gameplay is average and the story is average. It's not horrible by any stretch, but it's not a great entry in the series. I had more fun playing Bioshock 2. I traded this game in after getting 1000G, which took only a few days. There is absolutely no replay value, anyone who has beaten the game will understand. Rent if you can, don't buy.
    Expand
  12. May 31, 2013
    6
    I really couldn't find myself to finish this game. It was okay. I stopped at the part where Elizabeth had changed her outfit the first time. It's not as good as the first two Bioshock games. I wish they could have had something to do with the first two. It's a complete re-imagining of the series. The setting is great but there's zero acknowledgement that Rapture had ever existed. Overall, it's okay. Expand
  13. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Bioshock infinite is by far the best game of the year so far and in my top ten favorite games of this generation. the graphics are amazing you'll stop and stare for tens of minuets. the story is the best i have seen in a game for a long time. Elizabeth is awesome and she can give ammo,health and money and can open tears in realty which give you cover guns and robotic allies. this game is worth every penny. 10/10 Expand
  14. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    it was hard to decide to give it 10 or a 9, when i think back im glad i gave it a 10. but anyway. its a game that is close to perfection if there is such a thing. the story and characters are the strongest i have seen in a long time. i highly recommend playing on hard mode for a challenge because lesser difficulty's you can walk through it with no need to change play style..hard is different you will need to mix up ability's and guns. but still all you really need is a few upgraded guns and you will be fine.. but all the positives and negatives have already been said by other reviewers. just enjoy one of best ride's you will take this year. Expand
  15. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    There is only a couple things you should play this game for, and that's the Story and Art Direction. Bioshock Infinite looks beautiful and the story is nice and thought out, but if you play games mainly for the gameplay, you're gonna have a problem. 2 Guns. Ammo is not a problem anywhere in the game, you can blast away without having to worry one bit. Conserving ammo? Who needs that, you're like Rambo without the arsenal of guns. You'd think with such a large budget, they would've spent more on the game and not on the advertising of said game. Not to mention, even on the PC, the textures in this game are vomit inducing, and all of the foliage is done very, very poorly. Expand
  16. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    I'll never forget when I crossed the track that led me to Black Mesa, I did not know what awaited me. After drove the Xen in their size, however I knew that my concezzione shooter (and game in general) was changed forever. I tried again the feeling of crossing the rail when I entered the elevator that took me straight to Columbia. I could sit here for hours telling you about how beautiful Columbia, but I prefer focalizzarmi on the best and worst (because there are) of the game. From the beginning Columbia looks like a city alive and pulsating with a cast of characters (Elizabeth in particular) truly memorable, all set in a plot truly memorable and never banal. Bioshock Infinite said so far seems to work better realizata man, but here is where the problems begin. The graphics on the whole is good, but if we focus on the details, many elements of the scenario are not very defined and very "square". In addition, the gameplay does not invent anything new in a sea of ​​Fps too populated. The much pubblicizata Elizabeth ability to open gates of space and time adds very little to the gameplay, and serves only to create defenses or rifonirvi (all too often) of weapons and supplies. Bioshock Infinite before it came out I was ready to finish the game and try again the feelings that I had tried finishing the first Half-Life, but I had to make me realize that that was not the case. Revenue in Columbia for a great story and a great setting, but do not expect when you exit the title that will change your life. VOTE 8.5 Expand
  17. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Wonderful game and definitely my favorite in the Bioshock series. I thought the combat in this game was much better than 1. I played this back in March, and I think its my top game of the year and right up there in the top 3 for 360.
  18. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    FYI: I just want to point out before this review that I chose to review the Xbox 360 version because that was the platform I happened to play it on, I don't believe that the game is better nor worse on any other platform.

    I am honestly speechless. Bioshock Infinite is one of the best video games I have played in the last decade. It has the greatest video game storyline I have probably
    ever played with complex twists and turns that will make your mind melt. I've been a part of the Bioshock since the first game back in 2007, and it was so revolutionary, I thought nothing could compete with it. Three years later, Bioshock 2 was released and I was disappointed with its short run through time and weak plot. Two years later Bioshock Infinite was shown at E3 and people were informed that it would take place in a different setting with a different storyline and usually in a series, whether it be movies, TV, or games, is usually not a great sign of the product being good. When Bioshock Infinite finally released this year, I was instantly blown away, the actions and gameplay mechanics were so great that I was almost in tears, it had so many cool aspects to it, it felt so good as if someone was throwing free money at you. My hands were shaking the entire playthrough with happiness. By the time I finished the game the storyline had already made my brain explode into 1,000 pieces and I was honestly crying that I had to finish such an amazing game that doesn't come around often. Bioshock Infinite isn't just a game, It's a living, breathing experience. Expand
  19. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinte is such a fantastic game, story wise it is full of twists, turns and great characters with great voice actors. Gameplay wise it is full of great combat with challenging enemy types keeping you on your toes. Bioshock is an amazing game, it is the full package. 10/10
  20. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    This game is hands down the best game I have played in the past year or more. It is amazing to look at. the Sound is brilliant (especially if you have 7.1 headphones). I can't recommend enough.
  21. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is an absolutely fantastic game. The original Bioshock definitely presented some original and good material such as the scenery and themes incorporated into that shooter. This new Bioshock makes great improvements and is one of my favorite Xbox 360 games.

    The scenery of Rapture in the first Bioshock was awesome. Columbia in this Bioshock is also awesome. It's a city in
    the clouds and it is incredibly beautiful. There are very vibrant and vivid colors in this game that work very well. With the city you also get skyrails which are incredibly fun to ride on and attack enemies from.

    The characters in this game all have a distinct purpose and are all awesome. Booker DeWitt, Comstock, Fink, and Daisy Fitzroy are just a few of this great characters. With great characters, you also get a great story. The plot twist I didn't even see coming and it was incredibly shocking.

    I do have a couple of minor gripes with this game. While I did love the patriots at first, you grow to dislike them by the end of the game, because they are overused. The plot is fantastic, but it still could have flowed better. Still even with those complaints I enjoyed this game a whole lot.
    Expand
  22. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    I put off playing this game for along time because I never got into the series (was too scared of the Big Daddy's!). Recently I bought it and completed it in 2 days, and I have to say, I love to hate it. As a game, it's god damn awful. Tedious, repetitive and inspired gameplay. Yet, as a story, it is utterly captivating. Charming, rich and vivid, I was totally enthralled by Infitnite's narrative. In the end, it was the only thing that made me slug through the hours of endless shooting and Motorised Patriots (god damn, I was scared of those too!). The game is also beautiful, both in the physical world and in its social background. As I've previously stated: it's rich, vivid and divulging. If this game had been released as book or a film, it'd be an instant hit. The score I've given for this review is based on the lasting impression Infinite gave me: "This has changed the way I look at video games". Expand
  23. Jun 9, 2013
    6
    BioShock Infinite is not a bad game. The setting and game does a good job matching two of Bioshock 1's big strengths, scenery of immersion. Story-wise, I think it tries hard and comes up with something interesting, but not particularly great. The combat takes center stage in this game, with shootouts galore. The vigors/tonics you use are somewhat underwhelming, a few decent. I'm not a fan of the sky-hook, but that is me. Your companion through much of the game is probably the brightest part, far more engaging than Booker (your persona) and not a hassle to keep around at all. This is worth a play through, but little substance here. I could not imagine waiting for the DLC content from launch day, there is nothing to tide anyone over for a great length of time. 12 hours possibly tops, and little replay value as it stands sans-dlc. Expand
  24. Jun 10, 2013
    0
    Esta avaliação contém spoilers, clique em expandir-se para ver. Sim, temos que, o conteúdo artístico bom. Mas em que ponto Bioshock se tornar um atirador sólida? Este jogo necessário muito pouco foco nas habilidades de vigor, e praticamente rapidamente transformou em um run-e-gun com algum conteúdo, tais como voar através de trilhos e quais não. As habilidades de vigor não eram tão útil quanto Bioshocks anteriores, ea personalização de armas foi sem imaginação na melhor das hipóteses. Quanto ao enredo, whoooo menino. Os desenvolvedores decidiram fazer a abordagem de "Inception", que, basicamente, apenas ficava mudando o que estava acontecendo por meio do uso de "lágrimas". Eu gosto de dispositivos do lote que são imaginativos e se prestam a jogos? Sim. Eu gosto de jogos que têm dispositivos de enredo pretensiosos que insistem em si mesmos para fazer um final completamente inócuo? Inferno para o não! Expand
  25. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    Id like to say straight of the bat do you think that because you can see the sky you have freedom Bioshock infinite is a good game im not knocking that but there is no freedom here. From trailers i saw I thought that you could travel around Columbia and serch every part in a similar way to a sandbox. No you sense of freedom you feel is because you are in a box that looks like the outside. Have you ever seen the Truman show staring Jim Carey This i what bioshock is you love the game because you know no better but if you could go to the edge of that map you would realise that you in a box. yer you have room in your box but your freedom is still restricted. The skylines do not have any freedom to the either yer they can move you from place to place but not multiple places. Most of the time they are a loop anyway and you don't really even need to use them. only time i found it necessary was 2 handyman fights and that's only because i need to move away fast. Rapture in bioshock felt more free than this because even though you were walled in you were made to use every bit of space in every area and often go back for integral story. But in infinite the only time you tend to go back is to pick a lock or find upgrade potions. What im saying is the initial sense of WOW pretty ran out pretty fast for me when i realized that yet again i was playing a very linear FPS.
    Now don't misunderstand me i still enjoyed i don't dislike infinite i did enjoy my time with the game. There were things i enjoyed but nothing really stands out in my mind as memorable. Ive pretty much forgotten what happened in the story i know i was at first trying to take Elizabeth but end up saving her instead. but no moment there really stood out as a WOW moment. bioshock infinite is worth your time but rent it first or at least buy it 2nd hand. Its not as technical as the first game and the world just isnt as engaging.
    Expand
  26. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    Just finished this yesterday, and it's pretty good. Not the greatest GAME i've ever played, I mean, I enjoyed Mirror's Edge more than this gameplay wise, but not too bad. Story wise, it's a marvel. It's a spectacular story with twists, turns, tension and more than enough to make you sorry for the lead characters.

    Recommended for fans of story, and for people who wanted Dishonored to
    feel more like Call of Duty. Expand
  27. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    Fantastic story! But, Not what I was looking for from the next Bioshock game.

    Infinite was well written,well designed, and game play was entertaining and worthwhile. However, after being a big fan of bioshock 1 and 2, this game just felt too far out of context. This can be a really good thing and a really bad thing. Change is good in video games a lot of the times,but to much change can
    really make something feel wrong. Without this amazing twisted story, the game would have been a much lower rating. Let's hope future Bioshock's combine the game play and atmosphere of 1 & 2 with the incredible storytelling of infinite. Expand
  28. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Great fps and really exciting combat. The thing that made the game,though, was the ending. Shocking and unpredictable! I had a huge problem with the screen tear, it really took away the from the beautiful sights and the smooth graphics.
  29. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game so far this year. An incomparable story, great game-play, nice graphics. The story is mind blowing and the powers are brilliant (minus return to sender)This is one of those games that you will want to play over and over again and it will never get old
  30. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bioshock is amazing the way it pans out, the story is great like at the end when elizabeth(s) end up drowning you its so messed up but in a unique way. Although it is amazing it can get boring especially depending on what difficulty your playing on, not to mention that its only got campaign but it is pretty long so its not to bad considering that its good. Expand
  31. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Bioshock is back and better than ever. Now not as good as the original genius dark and emotionally gripping Bioshock that released in 2007 it definitely overpowers the faults of Bioshock 2. Its social commentary and use of its own unique story and fun action-packed gameplay come together for this crazy ride of not just a GAME, but a work of ART. This is the type of game we want to show people that these are more than just games, but beautiful crafts. Its unique art style and deep character development shows the genius that is Bioshock Infinte. This is one of the games that is worth to keep on the shelves for a while, worth the heart-wrenching 60$, and worth the replay to find a new adventure for you. 9/10 Excellent. Expand
  32. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    Remember that feeling of chills and claustrophobia from when you first stepped into Rapture? Well, don't expect that here. While this is a very good FPS, for me it didn't deliver what I loved BioShock 1 for. The only major thing that sets this game apart from being just another shooter is Elizabeth. I truly felt dread (spoiler)when I lost her in the game and had to fight to get her back. That part was the best in the game.for me. Other than that though the game felt like a carbon copy of the first 2 games with a new coat of paint. I never got that feeling of "falling" from the skylines like they showed in that one impressive E3 video way back and everything just felt a bit lifeless up there. Maybe if had got a chance to play on PC at max settings I would feel different, but as it stands the world seems a little too ambitious for current gen hardware. You're still going to get a solid shooter here with a great story but you're going to be disappointed if you go in expecting to have the same feeling you did when your first played Bioshock 1. Expand
  33. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    This game brought some amazing sights and lots of great combat. I don't think any companion has been as useful as Elizabeth in any other game. I did however find the combat to get a bit repetitive towards the end. The story was the highlight and without spoiling be prepared for some plot twists.
  34. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games i have ever played in year when the first Bioshock came out) one of the best story art and just a all around Great game a must buy for any one who is looking for the game of the year of 2013 buy now!!!!!!!
  35. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    If you like games with stunning atmosphere, amazing story, then this game if for you. If you compare it to other Bioshocks in terms of gameplay, then you will find the weapon selection underwhelming. I loved the art style of Rapture, and whenever I hear "somewhere beyond the see" it gives me goosebumps and I remember the first time I played Bioshock. Columbia is a very interesting city. Not quiet as interesting as Rapture, but overall, very interesting. The attention to detail is phenomenal. The city feels alive, and the art style is unique. Let me say this without spoiling too much the atmosphere and story is what makes this game, not any sort of innovation to gameplay. However, the skyrails are very very fun. I was suprised how fluid jumping to one skyrail to another was. I give this game a 7.3 on gameplay but a 10 for story. Overall, I give a 9. Play this game and get immersed by the atmosphere. Pick up every audio. Enjoy this game, and its story, because its video game storytelling at its finest right here. Expand
  36. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    I really liked this game it has a good plot, interesting story and the best graphics that I seen in a game it is a very fun game. I really had a really nice time playing it. There is zero flaws that I had when I playing BioShock and I played all the games I sort of enjoyed BioShock 1 but it looks like it had hard levels and BioShock 2 was a half descent game. This game was very fun I really recommend you buy this game. Expand
  37. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Buy this game! Do not listen to any negative reviews. Games like these come only once every few years. The story is quite spectacular and the FPS mechanics are very well polished.
  38. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is a great game and has great visuals, gameplay, sound, and story. Even though the textures might not be the best quality the creativeness of the world around will astound you at every turn. Every room in the game is set up to amaze you and it certainly does that with the vibrant colors that seem to have disappeared from recent games. The sound of the game is pretty good. The guns sound a bit tinny, but that's ignorable. The soundtrack only has a couple of outstanding songs that will get on your iPod, but even if most of the songs are forgettable, they still fit the game really well and get you immersed into the action. The gameplay is also very good. Even though the game uses "burst control" as a means to make your shots more accurate instead of recoil patterns, it never feels cheap although you never feel like a skilled shot. The vigors are what spice up the gameplay along with the wonderful game-making sidekick Elizabeth. The vigors allow for more combat options than usually present in first person shooters and Elizabeth keeps you company and gives you ammo, health, salts, and she even can spawn in a couple of automatons. The story is what should make you want to buy the game though. Booker and Elizabeth go on an adventure through the sky city of Columbia that cannot be experienced by any other game. The game supplies you with some memorable characters and some plot twists that will leave you thinking a long time after you finish the game. If you haven't bought the game yet, buy it now. It's an amazing game and definitely fits in my top 10 favorite games of all time at number 3. Just below number 2, Ocarina of Time, and number 1, Wind Waker. Expand
  39. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    The setting, gameplay, enemies ai, character and level design was awesome! How can you not buy this game? It's like, when you make a decision when Booker save Elizabeth to elizabeth save Booker. The only question in this game, why it's changed to Elizabeth? Why not Little sister's? Why not in the year of 1960's? Why 1912? and the final question was; where the is Big Daddy/Mr. bubbels and what the happen to Big Daddy/Mr. Bubbels? Expand
  40. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I played the game before, and I just watched a playthrough of it. It has the most beautiful story ever. Everyone should play it. I like the gameplay too. Some people had problems with the combat, I didn't, I really liked it; I usually don't play first person shooters, I don't really like them, but in this game, I enjoyed it. Best ending ever, best game ever, 10/10.
  41. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    What is there to say I loved this bio shock just as much as the others awesome newish feel to the gameplay I think they did a all around amazing job on it
  42. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Definitely a GOTY contender, so far my favorite game of 2013 (as of 7/7). The city of Columbia is a joy to go through, the combat is fairly simple but fun, great graphics and excellent story. Must play, must buy.
  43. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    the game has a interesting storyline, the floating city Columbia is amazing visually and fun to explore and see up close. the characters are interesting and gameplay is entertaining. the vigor abilities make combat interesting and more entertaining.
  44. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    From beginning to end, BioShock Infinite is one of the best experiences I've had with a game. It is easily a top 5 best game of this generation, and probably the last of it's kind. It is amazing how the BioShock creators took a video game series that was already among the greatest of all time, and made it even better which is what I was hoping for when I saw the trailer and gameplay preview. Almost anything that you want out of a FPS is here for the taking. The first thing you will notice when you start playing BioShock Infinite is the environment change. Instead of being in a dark, underwater city, it's actually quite the opposite. You are now sent to a very vibrant, beautiful floating city called Columbia as Booker DeWitt to find and bring back a mysterious girl that has been imprisoned in this city for years, in order to pay off your debt back home. Through this journey the environment begins to get darker and more familiar as all hell breaks loose once you are discovered. Once you find the girl, Elizabeth, you roam Columbia trying to find a way home. Throughout the game there are a number of plot twists that you have to get through with her. The graphics are great as always with BioShock games, but the color in this game has to be the best of the series. The gameplay, along with the presentation, is what really makes this game an all time great. What the BioShock creators did with the gameplay is take certain elements that they already had in the previous games, and if they didn't make them better, they at least made them different which is a good change for the series. An example of this is the health system and the "secondary hand powers" ("vigors" in BioShock Infinite). Instead of just finding health packs and "secondary hand power" viles or buying them from a vending machine and being able to keep up to a certain amount, you still get them from the same sources, but you can only fill up one meter which you can upgrade in order to hold more. The fact that you can't hold up to a certain amount of health packs or vigor viles is countered by Elizabeth giving you health, vigor, or ammunition with generation periods in between when she is looking for it when you need it. The hacking system is also incorporated into the vigors with the "Possession" vigor which allows you to possess enemy machines for only a short period of time or create salt machines (salt is what powers your vigors). Possession is 1 of 8 different types of vigors you will receive throughout the game which you can use any 1 at any time as long as you have the salt for it. The creators also added a couple of things to the gameplay. Aside from the new guns and enemies that you will encounter, Elizabeth eventually develops the ability to open "tears", creations from different worlds, of ammunition, friendly machines, and cover. The gameplay also hasn't lost it's decision making touch when it puts you in some situations where you only have 3-5 seconds to react with a game changing decision. So what the creators have done is replaced almost all old elements of gameplay in previous BioShock's with different and better elements, and added some other elements that make this game a great follow up and addition to the series. The one complaint i have with the game is the fact that some enemies just can't enter some rooms in some situations for no apparent reason. It should take about 10-12 hours to complete the story of BioShock Infinite. Overall BioShock Infinite is a game with great presentation, a good story line that won't disappoint, and new great gameplay. This is a game that you can't miss if you are a fan of the BioShock series or don't want to miss a potential game of the year/generation. Expand
  45. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Recommended to: Fans of the original Bioshock, FPS fans and people looking for an immersive single-player game to sink plenty of time into.

    While Bioshock Infinite does not make huge changes from the original game's formula, it's still an amazing game that takes your breath away at how it looks, feels and plays. The story, while confusing if you don't pay attention or you didn't like
    your High School science classes, is well told and explained by the many hidden collectables throughout the city and characters. Columbia, while sometimes feeling more like a floating ghost-town than a thriving (or collapsing) urban city during the game, looks stunning, and when done right, like a real city. Sadly, this "real city" feel is lost quickly as the story progresses. Booker DeWitt gives the player a very interesting twist on the usual "tough guy who regrets his past" protagonist with some good depth in his character as well, adding even more to the story. Elizabeth, while being a great companion in general, has a few problems in her AI that make her feel a little fake at times and can remove you from the immersion for a while. The enemies in general are nicely made, with a brain on their heads on Medium and can be pretty cunning on hard. One enemy, the Siren, acts more like an annoying bullet sponge than a tough enemy, making the part of the game where you fight her a painful drag. The levels, even though they are linear, are made very well and sometimes feel like you are playing in an open world game instead. In short, this game is not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, Bioshock Infinite is still an amazing game. With its great story, addicting combat and a city in the skies that blows you away, this game is definitely a game of the year contender, and shows that the sky is not the limit for the infinite possibilities of fun and entertainment that you will get from this game! Expand
  46. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    Between the fun gameplay and the great storyline, I really enjoyed this game. The wide expanse of guns and vigors along with all of the skylines make this beautiful setting a great experience to make your way through. The amount of detail put into this game is amazing and you will enjoy every second of it, and if the last of us hadn't come out I'd say that this is game of the year. However, one thing I didn't like about it was that the guns were unbalanced. You'll probably find yourself using either a shotgun or a carbine for most of the game. However, it's still tons of fun and I would give it a 9.5 if user reviews could give decimals, but since that I can only give a whole number, I'll give it a nine. Expand
  47. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is the perfect first person shooter.....it is a bold statement but very true.This game is near perfection, its story is brilliant along with its characters (voice acting excellent as well). It is incredibly paced and gorgeous to look at!. The game will have you in a serious confusion in its last half hour or so as its story takes a massive twist but this was just the icing on the cake and every one will be blown away by it. Play this game! Expand
  48. Jul 19, 2013
    5
    Extremely overrated. Does not hold a candle to the original, seeing as how BioShock revolutionized and paved way for future FPS game and the implementation of mature and cleverly written storytelling. This game has amazing graphics and and unique use for the sky-hooks, but that's all that's really new. It's just another FPS game with badly executed plot devices, a convoluted and pretentious story, a massive amount of filler, irrelevant choices, poor design, transparent characters, and unnecessary consistency that puts a damper on the immersion and story. This game receives a lot more praise than it deserves. Expand
  49. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    By far the best single player experience I've ever played.

    The story is one of the best in video and pulls all of these apparent tropes given at the beginning of the game directly under the rug from you with an ending that sticks with you for a long while, great gameplay and combat in general, fantastic voice acting, and probably the most beautiful and well designed world I've ever seen
    in a video game, aesthetically. Handles topics like racism, patriotism, and American exceptionalism by showing perspectives on things which I never thought possible, making concepts like these somehow feel acceptable and ethical in the context of the universe. Pretty much absolutely everything I would want from a bioshock sequel (no Bioshock 2 does not exist) and an example of how sequels in general should be made, using the previous title as a stepping stone to further and greater heights (quite literally) in the game's own rite. Yes, this game has flaws but none of them come near to be worth mentioning from all of things this game just does right.

    Please, buy this game.
    Expand
  50. Jul 21, 2013
    5
    Loved Bioshock and Bioshock 2 and thus had big expectations on this. Was totally disappointed. Long but boring. Repetitive battles and enemies. After the first third or so I was just hoping it to finish already. Also autosaving sucks bad.
  51. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    If you love the dark-theme of the original BioShock and 2, this game will not deliver that. You don't have daylight in the previous game since the city was located underwater. But that doesn't change the experience you will have in this game.

    You are Booker DeWitt who is sent to the flying city of Columbia to escort a teenage girl named Elizabeth back to New York. As the story goes, you
    will encounter twists and a confusing ending (for some like me). I didn't bother understanding it. Columbia is so beautiful and well-crafted. The lighting, visuals and animations are stunning. AI of Elizabeth and the citizens is very realistic. There's a scene in the beach where each citizen minds their own business and Elizabeth acts like a kid who hasn't seen anything like this and interacts with every citizen. It's very wonderful to watch. Elizabeth in combat is the highlight of the game. Whenever you are low in ammo, health or salts, Elizabeth will toss it over to you and this is the most useful feature. She even tosses coins while out of combat. Besides this, she can spawn hooks, a platform, a turret, cover or even ammo for guns from another dimension. Playing the game will explain this.

    Just like the previous games, you have Plasmids which are renamed into Vigors in this game. Similarly EVE is changed to Salts. In this game, you have a new addition called the Sky-Hook which acts like a melee weapon and to give out a finishing blow to weakened enemies. Besides this, there are skylines mostly in each important or wide areas which can be used as a means of transport to get around the area very fast. It so useful to evade when so much enemies around and take out enemies while railing. The Vigors in the other hand are actually the improved versions of the Plasmids. Instead of throwing fire like a flamethrower, you throw balls of fire at enemies. You can lift enemies, grab enemies from a distant, grab bullets or even toss enemies over board. The Vigors look very bright and powerful even though some act like improved Plasmids. You will enjoy them.

    You can't forget the guns. There are guns labelled as blue and red. There isn't much difference between them. It's just red is more powerful than blue. The guns are splendid. Ranging from pistol to RPG, the guns are amazing. Just like the previous games, you can interact with the dead bodies and the environment for loot and spend the money on upgrading weapons and Vigors and collect gears (tonics in bioshock 1).

    Overall, BioShock Infinite is so amazing and takes a huge leap from the previous BioShock games and stays very strong in everything till the end. If you love the previous BioShock games or haven't played any, this game is the one you should pick. You will not regret buying this game.
    Expand
  52. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Incredible. Everything about this game is fantastic. If you could only afford one game this year I would recommend picking up this one. The story is the best I have ever seen in a video game, and when coupled with the amazing voice acting it makes for a great experience. Gameplay is fast-paced and addicting; providing a skill system through the various skills you acquire. Elizabeth is actually smart and doesn't hamper your ability to deal with enemies. Enemy AI is good, they don't seem to be complete morons leaving themselves out in the open to be slaughtered. Graphics are incredible, among the best I've ever seen on the 360. The world is my favorite out of any game I've ever played. The developers got the early 1900's, turn of the century feel spot on; when mixed with the steampunk aspect of Colombia being a floating city and the semi-advanced technology it makes for a setting that's unparalleled. Oh, and BioShock Infinite has one of the most mind-boggling endings of all time. Expand
  53. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of 2013, absolutely stunning visuals, amazing voice acting and much more. There is a lot of choice in fighting. This game may even be my favorite game of all time, a must own.
  54. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. HUGE SPOILERS BEWARE
    Bioshock infinite, a game that is so difficult to put into words. Not only is it a moving oil painting, dramatic screenplay and an all around mind bending experience… it is easily the best installment in the Bioshock series. Irrational Games broke the barrier between plateau, climax and redemption with its ferocious artistic integrity, themes and gaming techniques. This game is simply one the best games I have ever played and a true gem in my videogame library.
    You play as Booker Dewitt, a down on his luck male looking to wipe away his debt by retrieving a girl locked away in a tower, or so you think. Much like previous Bioshock games, you are brought to your destination in a Bathysphere-like transporting device, in this case you are shot into the sky rather than transported below the ocean. Knowing that Andrew Ryan only controlled the Bioshock Bathysphere’s, I entered Columbia with a foreshadowed sense that the people in charge of the city may already know of my arrival, which peaked my interest early on. Upon entering, you walk through a beautiful cathedral to find the entrance into the city. Viewing extremely conservative and almost prehistoric religious scripture on the walls, you experience an overwhelming sense of corruption and tyrannical religious affluence at the very start of the game. You find that the citizens of Columbia actually worship the founding fathers of America in replacement of Jesus Christ, giving it a very strange “Deliverance” like tone which is truly unique in the world of gaming. Another theme introduced at the start of the game is racism. Through out the game you hear slanders against the Irish, “orient” and African Americans. You find that the religious and discriminatory racial influence of Columbia was started by Comstock, the “prophet” and father of Columbia. A war veteran that fought at the battle at Wounded Knee (much like Booker); Comstock met the Lutece twins who used their scientific genius to create the floating city for Comstock, allowing Comstock’s ideals to thrive in his own institutionalized and segregated society. You come to find that Comstock has dubbed you as the “antichrist” and has known of your arrival and plan to steal “the seed of the prophet” (a.k.a Elizabeth) for years. The upper class Caucasian citizens of Columbia begin to fight against you while the lower working class minorities fight beside you. Once saved from the tower, you learn that Elizabeth has the ability to open “tears” into other dimensions and time, helping you in battle against Comstock’s forces and providing a huge question to the plot, why? Seventy percent of the game you are led to believe that Infinite is a revolution tale, but near the end you learn that is so much more. You discover that Booker is Comstock in another dimension and that you are actually Elizabeth’s father, both realities are able to exist since both the Lutece twins and Elizabeth possess the ability to open different dimensions.

    In one reality, Booker sells baby Elizabeth (a.k.a Anna) in the real world to “settle a debt”. Sick with guilt, Booker is met with the Lutece twins who create Columbia so that Booker may attempt at getting his daughter back over and over in a series of different dimensions. This reality takes place if Booker does not accept the baptism after the battle at Wounded Knee. In a different reality Booker becomes Comstock when he does accept the baptism, becoming sick with the desire to create a better world “free from the Sodom below”, Comstock performs a series of tests in order to produce and maintain Columbia, making him infertile. Comstock then travels into another dimension where Booker doesn’t sell baby Elizabeth. Instead, Comstock steals baby Elizabeth from Booker and keeps her locked away so that Booker can’t take back Comstock’s heir to Columbia, adult Elizabeth. The opening of different tears makes the possibilities of different realities infinite; hence, Bioshock Infinite. Having thousands of worm holes and loops in existence, it isn’t impossible that Rapture was created and that they could both be in relation to the other. With the new downloadable content for Bioshock Infinite “Burial at Sea”, Irrational Games will have the opportunity to further explain this relation.

    I loved that I could view cutscenes from within a tear and walk right into another environment. I also loved that they stuck to their old formula and explained the story through audio logs (voxophones) rather than cut scenes, which allowed me to explore and gather the story at my own pace. Lastly, I truly loved watching Elizabeth develop from a sweet caged bird, Disney Princess-like character into a dark wounded soul with a god-like power that made you fear her yet still made compelled you to bring her out of darkness. Thank you Irrational/2K games for making such a masterpiece and fulfilling every single one of my expectations while also reminding me that all games don’t have to be predictable.
    Expand
  55. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    The opening is so breathtaking and splendorous that it could be played at least a dozen times before the repetitive and often frustrating combat bogs down an intriguing (if somewhat less focused than in previous titles) storyline.
  56. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    Un excelente juego, casi al climax del primero, una historia impresionate, una calidad grafica sobrecogedora y la ciudad de Columbia, y por supuesto el personaje de Elizabeth, que es de lo mejor del juego, mi punto en contra seria que conforme avanzas el juego se vuelve mas lineal quitando el factor de exploracion que distinguia al Bioshock original, los vigorizadores no son tan espectaculares como los adams. Expand
  57. Oct 14, 2013
    6
    This is a good game but not better than the previous installments. The main disappointment is the storyline which is just too confusing to understand. All in all a good game but I prefer bioshock 2.
  58. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    a truly brilliant game with great story, great graphics and unforgettable gameplay. a must play. there are a lot of unforgettable characters, especiallly elizabeth and booker.
  59. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    The first two Bioshocks, combined, I have the most hours played into them on any game I have played combined. Bioshock Infinite is a masterpiece in story telling in video games. The artistic and steam punk feel of the graphics in the game really give a feel of alternative universe and what could be. The soundtrack is brilliant and so is the voice acting. I have never felt so many emotional feelings in a video game before. Being able to find Voxophones and Kinetiscopes adds a medium replay value. This is one of my favorite games of all time. A must buy. Expand
  60. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    This was an enjoyable and praiseworthy game, the graphics and design are unique and very well done, the story delves a bit into philosophy and politics, making this a sort of thinking man's game (although not as much as the first), but...the characters can be a bit one-dimensional and unbelievable at times.

    The game play is fun but is standard fare for a first-person-shooter.

    That
    said, I enjoyed this game far more than anything else I've played this year, and it is much better than the sum of it's parts, definite game of the year contender. Expand
  61. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    This game really boils down to the question, do you focus on plot or gameplay? As far as plot goes, the game manages to surpass its predecessors. The characters are highly believable, the plot is well executed and as far as overall storytelling goes, the game easily lives up to the hype and is deserving of all the praise it has received.

    As for the actual game play itself, well...Its
    fun but it there isn't anything original that hasn't been done sadly. For the most part, the RPG-ish element that felt present (i.e. finding weapon upgrades, saving up EVE for those high priced plasmid upgrades) is largely if not entirely replaced by an admittedly more expansive but largely uninspired shop system. Basically, whenever you want any upgrade outside of your health/vigor(eve)/shields, yes I said shields you go to the circus of values. Even the player upgrades are reduced to search and retrieve missions.

    As for the shooter mechanics, the ability to use the Columbia rail system is fun and leads to some interesting combat mechanics, but after awhile it really does become repetitive. Between the cliche two-gun system, the attachments and the regular repetition of getting into a fight, killing some bad dudes and moving forward the actual gameplay feels far more linear and doesn't encourage players to explore around as in the previous two titles. Don't get me wrong the actual gunplay is SUBSTANTIALLY improved over its predecessors. The weapons feel smoother and the actual guns all have different purposes which will have you weapon switching to suit each battle...but I get the same thing (speaking purely of gunplay here, NOT plot/art!) in Halo to be honest.

    Overall, Bioshock Infinite is a good game I would still recommend to friends...but unless you are looking for a narrative-driven game in which case you will enjoy this significantly more than I did, its just another well-done shooter, but really nothing that is groundbreaking in terms of raw gaming mechanics.
    Expand
  62. Aug 27, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. More like if you know what im saying....
    it's crap, boring weapons, very repetitive, ending written by a high dog about quantum worlds and ****
    because everyone knows what quantum mechanics mean, you can say al kinds of random and everyone's mind wil be ''blown''. Elizabeth seems to be ignored by al the enemies and just tosses you to make the game easier, because it's already extremely easy, you have regenerating shields just like al the modern shooters and the only threat is the boring ghost boss or the handymen who are just stupid bulletspunges. The e3 demo was a lie as well, stealth and choices aren't in the game (choices that change the game's story or gameplay). The weapon upgrades cost a ton so you will be only use the same weapons throughout the game and the upgrades are boring as hell, it's always +10 percent accurcy, damage, less recoil, you name it. People who call this game an artistic statement are just really ignorant. The game touches a lot of ''controversial'' topics, but none of them actually influence the main story. It's is just there to make an impact on people who have never read a good book because this story is Elizabeth seems to be totally shocked when you kill someone for the first time but continues to stop giving a afterwards and just throws weapons to you like it was her job.
    The graphics are rushed with a lot of blooming effects, which is cheap but i actually prefer such cartoon like graphics over realistic ones (although this game runs like even with my titan). Only if you are in to some good voice acting and some pretty enviroments this game can be worth about 10 dollars, but otherwise just stay away from it. I mean really people, how can this game with such a repetitive gameplay and cheap story be rated by some people as the best game ever.
    A huge dissapointment.
    Expand
  63. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    [REUPLOAD]
    FYI: I just want to point out before this review that I chose to review the Xbox 360 version because that was the platform I happened to play it on, I don't believe that the game is better nor worse on any other platform.

    I am honestly speechless. Bioshock Infinite is one of the best video games I have played in the last decade. It has the greatest video game storyline I
    have probably ever played with complex twists and turns that will make your mind melt. I've been a part of the Bioshock since the first game back in 2007, and it was so revolutionary, I thought nothing could compete with it. Three years later, Bioshock 2 was released and I was disappointed with its short run through time and weak plot. Two years later Bioshock Infinite was shown at E3 and people were informed that it would take place in a different setting with a different storyline and usually in a series, whether it be movies, TV, or games, is usually not a great sign of the product being good. When Bioshock Infinite finally released this year, I was instantly blown away, the actions and gameplay mechanics were so great that I was almost in tears, it had so many cool aspects to it, it felt so good as if someone was throwing free money at you. My hands were shaking the entire playthrough with happiness. By the time I finished the game the storyline had already made my brain explode into 1,000 pieces and I was honestly crying that I had to finish such an amazing game that doesn't come around often. Bioshock Infinite isn't just a game, It's a living, breathing experience. Expand
  64. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    bioshock infinite is a great example of phenomenal game and it will be mentioned till the next one comes out. awesome gameplay, compelling story and not bad graphics either and this would be an experience everyone would enjoy, except COD fans of course they just wont bother. P.S the two gun limit is because of how many guns there are so stop complaining about it people.
  65. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    I can't deny that the gameplay here is extremely well-designed and well-implemented, or that the setting is interesting, but the problem with Bioshock Infinite is that there isn't a significant overlap between the two like in the first Bioshock. In the first game, the powers and the gunplay flow naturally from the dark and edgy environment, and the gameplay comments on and expands the ideas laced throughout the environment. Here, though, the powers and gunplay, while extremely well designed and implemented, don't flow from the environment. It's like the gameplay and the environment coexist but don't interact. Some professional reviewers have commented that the violence is actually a distraction from the environment, and I agree. Doesn't mean it's not a fascinating a highly enjoyable game, but don't expect the emotional whomp of the first Bioshock. Expand
  66. Sep 11, 2013
    1
    This game is terrible. The gameplay is nowhere near as good as the first Bioshock. The story is pretty good, that is why I gave this game a 1/10, because of the story. 3 points taken away because of how repetitive the gameplay was. 3 points taken away because of the limited choices of abilities. 3 points taken away because of how disappointing the enemies were, they were not as frightening as the first game's enemies. Absolute disappointment. Overrated. People need to be honest with themselves. I will not recommend wasting your time on this game. Go on the bioshockwiki page and read the story, you'll enjoy it tenfold. Expand
  67. Sep 22, 2013
    5
    Being a fan of the claustrophobic settings of the previous games, I was very dissapointed with the sudden transition to such a large environment, I enjoyed the older games better (just my opinion) the game did excell in gameplay and story, but it just wasn't my kind of bioshock.
  68. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Is anything bad about this game? If so, I was distracted by the general perfection and wonderfulness of the game to notice. It is both fun to play as well as intelligent, a trait few games seem to understand. Rather than trying to scream about how war and violence are bad while selling a game about it, Bioshock Infinite focuses on actual issues of extremism and how monsters can be created out of the best of intentions. On the gameplay side, almost every feature and trait of the game seems to be purposeful and well integrated, with no features seeming out of place. The ending was a bit abstract, but in the best possible way. Expand
  69. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Let me start by saying that I absolutely love this game! Although the gameplay is quite similar to the first Bioshocks in terms of essentially being a shooter whilst giving the player various powers (vigors or plasmids), Bioshock Infinite appealed a lot more to me due to its world and the vibe that naturally comes along with it. In the original Bioshock we went into a lighthouse which took us to a wonderful and claustrophobic underwater world. In Bioshock Infinite we go up instead of down and one of the many amazing moments of this game is the first time when you set foot and discover that bright, seemingly peaceful place in the sky. You immediately get the feeling that something is off, which is up to the player to discover in the rest of the brilliant single player campaign which will make your jaw drop at the end! I also liked that the main hero had a voice this time, compared to the earlier parts, which immerses you more into the game. Finally, a special mention has to go out to Elizabeth who, like many others have already said, is one of the best videogame characters ever written!

    Bioshock Infinite is one of the few games where I was disappointed to have finished the campaign so quickly, simply because I wanted to enjoy the world and story a bit longer. The game has made a unforgettable impression on me and is an instant classic!
    Expand
  70. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Definite contender for game of the year. The game provides a compelling, well rounded off story with fantastic characters, The combat in infinite is the best in the series far and a beautiful environment My only problem the game is that there is nothing else to do after you beat the main campaign.
  71. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, it can't be said any other way. Irrational Games has created another amazing world for us to dive into and explore its deepest secrets. The story of Booker Dewitt and his charge Elizabeth is well done and shocking in its turn of events. The gameplay, however similar it is to Bioshock 1, is fun and gives you the joy of playing with the elements in a new way. The environment of Columbia is nice at first and it seems more of a utopia until you explore Finkton and see the atrocities that every race but white men have to endure. The level design and new Skyhook mechanic coupled with Elizabeth's powers give the game an exotic feel found nowhere else in video games. As for the ending, I'll leave that up to you if you haven't beaten the game. Ken Levine has done it again with this game and everyone should at least give it a try; you won't regret it. Expand
  72. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    There is nothing else to say this game is perfect, if not it's damn near it, the scenery is beautiful, the game play is just brilliant it make you feel like you can beat the game no matter if you have played and mastered the previous Bioshock games or if you are new to the franchise, the story is a great one that has its twists and turns but in the end all lines up beautifully, i felt like the powers (vigors) in this where all a lot more useful than the previous games and while the majority of the game you have Elizabeth along with you she is one of the more useful companions helping you find money and throwing you supplies when you are running low, the voice acting is second to none both Booker and Elizabeth's voices are extremely well done as well as everyone elses in Columbia, the enemies are unique and diverse and all have their individual challenges along with them, and this may not been and "open world game" but there is a lot of exploring that can be done, it would be nice to have a map due to the size of the environment and having the arrow just isn't the same and i feel more changes in the story due to decisions you have made would have added to the replay value but ending is amazing and awe inspiring Expand
  73. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let's be honest all the bioshock's we thought this would really SUCK but a MAJOR Twist happened. For those Who really wanna try this GET IT. Lets face it the voice acting is good the gameplay is incredible the script writing is great. Sound design is Very good so lets face it. All of us after the review's really wanted to try this Very Badly. And those who did not play it have no soul. Expand
  74. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    Great game. Amazing detail and brilliant setting. The pacing is good, not brilliant. The story is very good and enough to keep you playing, wondering what will happen next.

    Combat is varied enough with the help of vigors. Buy lots of ammo as their is lots of combat.

    Only real negative is some of the objectives in the mission dont seem to exciting.

    A MUST PLAY FOR FPS FANS! 8.2/10
  75. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    This is my first bioshock and i still shocked,the weapons hasnt nothing special but the vigors and the powers of Elizabeth make bioshock infinite one of the best games of the year
  76. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is thoroughly enjoyable.Aside from a few problems along the plot line is mixed it still contains the action of the first and second Bioshocks.
  77. Mar 8, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. HONEST REVIEW!!!
    You know what? This review is going to be short, because if it'll be long I ain't going to watch my language.

    Obviously, this game sucks. I played it on xbox and THAT much boring corridors I last time saw in Outlast and that was awful game(but I'll talk later about it). I hadn't completed it, because of its boringness!(if this word exists)
    If you want to play this game, you won't be right? if you'll buy it. This game ain't worth your's or mine money, either! Because you'll just spend time on boring story and monotonous gameplay!
    Expand
  78. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    This IS one of the best game i've ever played, I thought RDR was the best game of the generation, but I was wrong! When i first heard about Bioshock Infinite i tought it was going to be an "new COD", i was really but really wrong, the last time i felt like this for a game was with SOTC for the PS2!
    This is a MUSTHAVE game for XBOX360PS3PC!
  79. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is a crazy game. It's story, while somewhat confusing, is very well done. The shooter mechanics also work really well, providing a diversion from many current shooters.
  80. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    I loved the first two games, and after playing through this one, I found it to be the best of the three. The action and combat improved slightly, and the skyhook system is amazing, but I think where the game really shines is in story. Now I won't give anything away, but it seems to have a basic concept at the beginning: Get the girl, wipe away the debt. There is far more than this to find that you will uncover throughout the game. It's honestly better than some movies out there, the idea is THAT good. Some of the enemies you will encounter seem a bit unnecessary, mostly the bosses, and aren't as interesting as they were in the first two, but it doesn't affect the game or matter much, considering how awesome and amazing the rest of it is.

    Bioshock: Infinite gets a 9.5/10
    Expand
  81. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    The first Bioshock is a great videogame, one of my favourites. It blended a dark toned atmosphere and wonderful art styling born of brilliantly influenced ideas with balls to the walls action and an excellent story with a twist that had me questioning my motives of all previous games I have played. Bioshock 2 was a torrid sack of crap cash cow that missed the point of it's predecessor. Bioshock Infinite is my game of the year for 2013, not that that means **** but I loved it. The gameplay is more the same but you can't complain (apart from the massive leap in difficulty when you meet the handymen) however this time the creepy atmosphere is within an almost Disneyesque world set in the clouds made up of the same standard of artwork that was put into Rapture. The story is fantastic, the end had me thinking for two days, piecing together all the things I had seen while playing the game and seeing them in a different light after the final twist and immediately wanted to play through again and it felt like a different game when you are looking for the significance of the answers rather than just the answers you found in the first play through but in the first play through you don't know the questions till after the twist. The characters are just as colourful as the original while at the same time not kissing it's ass by copy and pasting the villain structure. This game is a must buy. Expand
  82. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    Best graphics i've seen. Soundtrack is outstanding. Story is immaculate and simply unbelievably great. Requires strategic thinking at many points. Character development is on spot. I can't find any flaw.
  83. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is in every way, shape and form a perfect game. Beautiful graphics, insanely addictive story and high quality combat. The story alone is enough for this game to be a perfect 10/10 out of many people's books. This game will mess with your thoughts and emotions, but that's a good thing. Worth a purchase no matter what price. Disappointing that there will no longer be more Bioshock games. Expand
  84. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    This has been and always will be my favorite game of all time. The gameplay was fun it might have been an fps but it was different than most. However the story is the reason why I gave this game a 10 it keeps you on your toes and without spoiling anything when the credits began to roll my jaw hit the floor. If you haven't played this game it's worth every penny and you won't be disappointed.
  85. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    GOOD: superb story, immersive world, great attention to detail, well-written characters, great voice acting, best partner in gaming history who will find a lot of useful items for, abundance of loot like gears and infusions, some good guns, purchase stations, opening tears into other universes, some good vigors, challenging last mission, and a satisfying ending

    BAD: most vigors are
    useless, most guns suck, no weapon purchase stations, questionable AI on melee enemies, all of the small choices in the game like pick the bird or cage will not change the story, when you go through the first half the game exploring you have all the good gears and the second half's gears are useless, backtracking, boring first 1/4 of the game, ending leaves two loose ends even if it's good ending(NO SPOILER: how is Comstock a racist after finding out his origin and how does Elizabeth have powers)

    FINAL VERDICT: It barely squeezes in to an 8/10. It's a fun game that is worth $60 and should played by all shooter fanatics
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. May 27, 2013
    98
    An instant classic that should be kept in a special place in every gamer's collection.
  2. May 11, 2013
    87
    BioShock Infinite is a sure-fire game-of-the-year candidate, and definitely one of the standout single-player games of this generation.
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    70
    Fuzzy-headed narrative and thematically irrelevant auxiliary mechanics make Infinite feel sloppy even when it's working. Combat increases in frequency and decreases in impact after the Hall of Heroes, so for most of its length the game sinks towards a deflated ending rather than rising towards a climax. However, that slow descent starts from a great height, so there is still much to value in Infinite even as it drowns in its own shortcomings.