User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1682 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    Best graphics i've seen. Soundtrack is outstanding. Story is immaculate and simply unbelievably great. Requires strategic thinking at many points. Character development is on spot. I can't find any flaw.
  2. Jun 30, 2015
    9
    Possibly the best entry in the series Bioshock infinite is confusing and mind boggling to the point of which it is brilliant. Starting out in the floating city of Colombia you are Booker Dewitt, a drunk, a gambler and most importantly a man with nothing to lose sent to retrieve a girl without motive, without question, with money on his mind. However when he realizes he is more out then hePossibly the best entry in the series Bioshock infinite is confusing and mind boggling to the point of which it is brilliant. Starting out in the floating city of Colombia you are Booker Dewitt, a drunk, a gambler and most importantly a man with nothing to lose sent to retrieve a girl without motive, without question, with money on his mind. However when he realizes he is more out then he bargained for Booker not only finds himself on the verge of death a many of time but a reason worth living. With plots twists and fun and fluent Bioshock game-play the only thing preventing me from giving this game a ten is that fact that no game will ever be perfect and there will be always ways to make games better which is the beauty of the industry. With great replay after your mind has blow from the ending great ready for one bumpy ride Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is in every way, shape and form a perfect game. Beautiful graphics, insanely addictive story and high quality combat. The story alone is enough for this game to be a perfect 10/10 out of many people's books. This game will mess with your thoughts and emotions, but that's a good thing. Worth a purchase no matter what price. Disappointing that there will no longer be moreBioshock Infinite is in every way, shape and form a perfect game. Beautiful graphics, insanely addictive story and high quality combat. The story alone is enough for this game to be a perfect 10/10 out of many people's books. This game will mess with your thoughts and emotions, but that's a good thing. Worth a purchase no matter what price. Disappointing that there will no longer be more Bioshock games. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    This has been and always will be my favorite game of all time. The gameplay was fun it might have been an fps but it was different than most. However the story is the reason why I gave this game a 10 it keeps you on your toes and without spoiling anything when the credits began to roll my jaw hit the floor. If you haven't played this game it's worth every penny and you won't be disappointed.
  5. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    GOOD: superb story, immersive world, great attention to detail, well-written characters, great voice acting, best partner in gaming history who will find a lot of useful items for, abundance of loot like gears and infusions, some good guns, purchase stations, opening tears into other universes, some good vigors, challenging last mission, and a satisfying ending

    BAD: most vigors are
    GOOD: superb story, immersive world, great attention to detail, well-written characters, great voice acting, best partner in gaming history who will find a lot of useful items for, abundance of loot like gears and infusions, some good guns, purchase stations, opening tears into other universes, some good vigors, challenging last mission, and a satisfying ending

    BAD: most vigors are useless, most guns suck, no weapon purchase stations, questionable AI on melee enemies, all of the small choices in the game like pick the bird or cage will not change the story, when you go through the first half the game exploring you have all the good gears and the second half's gears are useless, backtracking, boring first 1/4 of the game, ending leaves two loose ends even if it's good ending(NO SPOILER: how is Comstock a racist after finding out his origin and how does Elizabeth have powers)

    FINAL VERDICT: It barely squeezes in to an 8/10. It's a fun game that is worth $60 and should played by all shooter fanatics
    Expand
  6. May 16, 2014
    9
    I haven't played the first 2 bioshocks but wow this game is great i picked up on the story line with some research. very well out together game the story is fantastic very impressed with how this game was developed everything fits in well deep story behind it, the combat to the character built up is great. its a must get. 9.5/10
  7. May 15, 2014
    9
    One of the best games of 2013.
    Original, refreshing. Lots of variety in terms of shooting.
    so fun to sneak around and look for guns, plasmids and stuff
    high rated for a reason
  8. May 19, 2014
    10
    Infinite is an incredible game not only for its innovative gameplay and fantastic FPS style, but for its intelligent and beautifully crafted plot and characters. If you're still hanging on to your last gen console, this is an absolute must buy if you're looking for a strictly campaign FPS.
  9. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    The best video game experience I had in the last 10 years, probably since Half-Life 2. I've just finished this game a few hours ago, and I'm still under the influence of the powerful story it told and the emotional impact it delivered. If we would strip it down to the core gameplay mechanics, it probably wouldn't stand out that much amongst other good games in the genre, but it would stillThe best video game experience I had in the last 10 years, probably since Half-Life 2. I've just finished this game a few hours ago, and I'm still under the influence of the powerful story it told and the emotional impact it delivered. If we would strip it down to the core gameplay mechanics, it probably wouldn't stand out that much amongst other good games in the genre, but it would still hold its ground. Where this game leaves its mark is the unique setting and atmosphere it immerses the player in, and the incredible story that it manages to tell in a flawless way. I'm so sick of games with half-assed endings (which is around 90% of them), so it's very satisfactory to see a game that told a better story than any movie in the last few years. They will probably parade around with Bioshock Infinite as a textbook example of interactive and immersive storytelling in a video game, and other series would have much to learn from it. Expand
  10. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    bueno este juego cuando salio pense que iba a ser un poco mas tetrico por las entregas anteriores y los graficos con los asesinatos se salian un poco pero la verdad soy muy muy fan de bioshock y le puedo perdonar todo menos dos cosas que en vez de llamarlos plasmidos fueron vigorizadores y
    spoiler alert
    que al final te hicieron un lio mental con que tu eres comstock pero el diez se lo
    bueno este juego cuando salio pense que iba a ser un poco mas tetrico por las entregas anteriores y los graficos con los asesinatos se salian un poco pero la verdad soy muy muy fan de bioshock y le puedo perdonar todo menos dos cosas que en vez de llamarlos plasmidos fueron vigorizadores y
    spoiler alert
    que al final te hicieron un lio mental con que tu eres comstock
    pero el diez se lo merece por la originalidad de los vigorizadores osea los poderes y a historia es perfecta a mi punto de vista el segundo mejor juego de bioshock
    Expand
  11. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    Finally got around to finishing this game and I loved it. Totally different vibe than the others. The music and sound design are top notch, visuals are awesome for the 360, and you can't beat the story line. 10/10
  12. Oct 30, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, I'd never played the original two bioshocks, well, I did, but let's just say I didn't have particularly high hopes for it when I picked it up for £8.00 at Cex exchange... I took it home and put it in my Xbox...

    6 hours later, I was swinging around on skyhooks launching crows at giant cyborgs while bringing veritable bullet rain down on the Vox Populi below, all the while getting help from one of the greatest characters in video games. There were, however, a few kinks that could be ironed out for the next one.

    The difficulty goes insane, you cut through soldiers like a knife through newly bloodied butter. But then you run into the slightly larger guys and you need to pump so many clips into them it becomes a chore.

    Elizabeth needs to be more active, the worst thing for a story driven game is to have to stop after every fight to scrounge the battlefield for ammo, money, salts and health.

    The story works well up until the end, with them tying it all up with the almost audible phrase **** it, space time.'

    Here's some good bits though:

    Again, story. All characters are handled well and are likeable.

    That sequence where elizabeth gets carried off by the songbird is great, I really loved that. The sequence with slate was great, and it fitted well into the overarching plot, it's just a shame almost nothing else did.

    I sense a lack of replayability though, there are very few significant choices, and it's too long a game for me to play twice, because the only potentially significant choice is near the start...

    Final verdict:

    One of the best games of all time, so much better than half-life, but it still has the kinks.
    Expand
  13. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    One of the most overhated games of all time. A lot of people give this game crap because it's different from the first game and more like a generic shooter 1. That's a good thing if it was all the same it would get boring like call of duty and assassins creed. 2. Complete **** this is far from a generic shooter and I will explain that later. On to the review, let's start with story. JustOne of the most overhated games of all time. A lot of people give this game crap because it's different from the first game and more like a generic shooter 1. That's a good thing if it was all the same it would get boring like call of duty and assassins creed. 2. Complete **** this is far from a generic shooter and I will explain that later. On to the review, let's start with story. Just like the first game your brought to a lighthouse in the ocean but this time it's in 1912 instead of 1960 and there's no plane crash, instead your on a boat with two mysterious people. The protagonists name is Booker Dewitt, he needs to find a girl named Elizabeth and bring her to New York to wipe away some sort of unspecified debt. This lighthouse launches him up into the sky to Columbia. Columbia's look is based off of that of the worlds fairs. But this city is run by a crazy cult leader named Zachary Comstock who isn't as cool as Andrew Ryan, but effective enough by the end. He runs the city through extreme religion and nationalism. It's also very racist, but that's by default because it takes place in 1912. It doesn't go deep into racism like other people think. But the city knows that you aren't supposed to be there and you have to protect yourself. Once you rescue Elizabeth you and her try to adventure out of Columbia and go to New York, but weird things happen and everything gets involved in the religious origins of the city, alternate universes, why the characters are what they are. It's extremely well told, every character shows emotion and is perfectly acted. I recommend turning on the subtitles to pay attention to everything the characters say. At first you may be confused, but once you understand it, it's really freaking cool and it's amazing how they made such an intricate plot with little to no holes, at least none that I could find. It made sense to me and should to you also as long as you really pay attention. Now for the reason everyone hates this game, the gameplay. It's like the first game where you have guns and superpowers and loot and collect stuff. But it approaches these ideas in a completely different way. You have to remember this isn't a survival horror game like the first one it's more like a swashbuckling action game. But it's not full of scripted sequences, linear hallway levels and bland enemies like many haters say it is. Many things are taken away or simplified. There are no power to the people machines, instead you just buy the same upgrades with money. But you can't get all upgrades in one playthrough so it at least upgrades. The vigors (plasmids) are all given to you and you also buy there upgrades instead of upgrading them with Adam. Just like weapons you have to play it multiple times to see them all. And three tonic categories? Replaced with 4 gear slots. But instead of buying them you have to find them and you don't have to stop at a gene bank to switch them around, you can do it on the go for different situations and there's only gear per slot, and they have bigger affects than tonics. It's different and brings in new strategies for the gameplay. They removed picture taking, hacking is dumbed down to possession, and a few other things are taken away. But it doesn't take away without giving back. There's the skyhook, which is way better than the wrench(but not as cool as the drill) it can be combined bizzarely with other vigors and gears for interesting results, it can be used for gory executions which is enertaining. You can also fly up to freight hooks to get vantage points. The skyline is also awesome and changes things up. It works the way it should and you can fly around the battlefield gracefully and gives access to so many unique battle opportunities. Then there's Elizabeth who will help you find supplies, and also give you supplies. But she doesn't give you an unfair advantage over everybody, many times she will say "sorry that's all I've got". She can also summon many things from alternate universes called tears to bring in tesla coils to electrocute enemies, health packs, and many other things. The enemies are bizarre and diverse, from handymans to robo washingtons with mini guns. The gameplay is fun and diverse and highly replayable with lots of opportunity and feels different and fresh. The graphics aren't realistic but enhance the scale and beautiful vistas of this floating city. Everything sounds cool and badass and keeps you in the right mood at the right times, sound effects, music, etc. This game is different but equally as good as the original. If your tired of boring copy and paste shooters every year and want something unique and refreshing, than I absolutely recommend this game and is well worth whatever price you pay (it's like 20 bucks nowadays) This game and Dishonored are also proof that not every triple A title needs goddamn tacked on multiplayer to be worth buying! Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2014
    8
    The game is good, but there are better options on the market. The story is quite confusing for a videogame, and even if you finish it, you will have to search online to understand the whole plot. Art and music are amazing! The use of "Vigors" and its animation are very cool. However the game is extremely linear to current standards and doesn't require much strategy. Just shoot everythingThe game is good, but there are better options on the market. The story is quite confusing for a videogame, and even if you finish it, you will have to search online to understand the whole plot. Art and music are amazing! The use of "Vigors" and its animation are very cool. However the game is extremely linear to current standards and doesn't require much strategy. Just shoot everything that moves (repetitive action in general). It's a nice and very well done game, but I don't see it as the best FPS of 2013. For me, it's not as challenging, not to mention addicting, as other non-linear experiences available. Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2014
    10
    When I first finished this game, I was thinking about it day and night and couldn't stop because of how astonishing it was. It's a nearly flawless game with thought provoking, controversial themes, great gameplay, memorable characters, and a plot twist you won't see coming and will leave you in shock. The city of Columbia is beautiful yet terrifying at the same time when you find out theWhen I first finished this game, I was thinking about it day and night and couldn't stop because of how astonishing it was. It's a nearly flawless game with thought provoking, controversial themes, great gameplay, memorable characters, and a plot twist you won't see coming and will leave you in shock. The city of Columbia is beautiful yet terrifying at the same time when you find out the dark secrets this city is hiding. Aside from a few moments where the gameplay feels tedious, this is a must have game, and one of the best games of 2013. Expand
  16. Jan 26, 2015
    9
    Bioshock infinite is a game that pushes 1st person shooter to the limit. Great controls, very smooth, unique powers, great story (it will mind **** you), and interesting characters. I Highly recommend this game
  17. Apr 16, 2015
    10
    Bio shock Infinite is one of the best shooters I've ever played.The game play is fun and enjoyable.The story may be a little confusing at first,but once you understand it, you will be very interested in the story .The bond between Elizabeth and Booker is very well done, and I found myself caring about the characters and understanding how they feel.Great game, buy it.
  18. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    One of the best games I have played, and I have never played the first 2 Bioshock's. The game is beautiful, characters are fully developed and able to connect with the player, and the plot is excellent. Despite the very complicated time travelling storyline, this game still pulls off one of the best endings to a video game in my opinion.

    The only drawback is the sometimes repetitive
    One of the best games I have played, and I have never played the first 2 Bioshock's. The game is beautiful, characters are fully developed and able to connect with the player, and the plot is excellent. Despite the very complicated time travelling storyline, this game still pulls off one of the best endings to a video game in my opinion.

    The only drawback is the sometimes repetitive combat gameplay. And also the ridiculously difficult ghost boss!

    I picked this game up for free on Games with Gold, but would pay for it in hindsight. Fully recommend.
    Expand
  19. Jul 5, 2015
    10
    Both Bioshock Infinite and Bioshock are amazing games. However, while Bioshock has a lackluster ending and sometimes frustrating combat system (at least on the console versions), Bioshock Infinite plays and looks better and has a well made and fascinating ending. The characters are more fleshed out in Infinite (Elizabeth is amazing) and the art style of Infinite is absolutely stunning. TheBoth Bioshock Infinite and Bioshock are amazing games. However, while Bioshock has a lackluster ending and sometimes frustrating combat system (at least on the console versions), Bioshock Infinite plays and looks better and has a well made and fascinating ending. The characters are more fleshed out in Infinite (Elizabeth is amazing) and the art style of Infinite is absolutely stunning. The locations are more open and while Rapture may be more of a interesting and enthralling location, Columbia has its merits. Overall, Bioshock Infinite is a masterpiece and, in my opinion, slightly better than the original. The story is superb and the combat is fluid and interesting. The 360 may falter in the fps region, but overall Bioshock Infinite is absolutely a modern masterpiece. Expand
  20. Jan 13, 2016
    10
    There's not much to say about this game except that it's excellent; story development, graphics, characters, plot twists, gameplay. It's just everything to be considered a masterpiece in gaming industry!
  21. Dec 11, 2016
    10
    BioShock Infinite has really fun gameplay, incredible aesthetics and scenery to look at, and a mind bending story that will leave you speechless come the credits. With amazing writing, level design, and voice acting, this is a game that must not be missed.
  22. Nov 26, 2016
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is most certainly one of, if not the, best game I have played in my twenty years of experience. Linking together an emotional, cerebral story with strategic and challenging gameplay laid over a deep and immersive environmental backdrop. The ending manages to hit harder than even the iconic "Would you kindly" from the first game in this series. Simply exceptional.

    Pros:
    Bioshock Infinite is most certainly one of, if not the, best game I have played in my twenty years of experience. Linking together an emotional, cerebral story with strategic and challenging gameplay laid over a deep and immersive environmental backdrop. The ending manages to hit harder than even the iconic "Would you kindly" from the first game in this series. Simply exceptional.

    Pros:
    - Firefights are frenetic and challenging, requiring intelligent use of vigors (plasmids from the first two games)
    - A deep world that feels lived in and real. Walking around and experiencing Columbia in the first hour of the game was thoroughly enjoyable.
    - Well developed characters throughout, from those central to the plot to the various special enemy types.
    - One of the best endings in video game history, on par with Bioshock or Red Dead Redemption
    - Collectables that reveal even more environmental history, meaning that finding them is truly rewarding
    - Stunning visuals, artistically brilliant

    Cons:
    - The desire to get all of the collectables may lead some players to look to guides, breaking the immersion.

    If you missed this on last gen, I can only imagine what a ride this would be on current gen systems. Absolutely worth your time and money.
    Expand
  23. Jan 7, 2017
    10
    (XBOX ONE) Playing this game on Xbox One and Xbox 360 twice one time digging through to find every little secret and the other as a speed run I truly found myself asking for more as I went through the perfectly lengthened campaign. With many but not an overwhelming amount of collectables in the game there is plenty to do. Here are some of many of the great features in this game; great(XBOX ONE) Playing this game on Xbox One and Xbox 360 twice one time digging through to find every little secret and the other as a speed run I truly found myself asking for more as I went through the perfectly lengthened campaign. With many but not an overwhelming amount of collectables in the game there is plenty to do. Here are some of many of the great features in this game; great story phenomenal gunplay and variety not guns, and smooth remastered graphics as well as gameplay.

    Positives
    Graphics(9) Story(10) gameplay(10)

    Negatives (Xbox One only)
    Framerate (6) Long load times (7)
    Expand
  24. Aug 8, 2017
    9
    BioShock Infinite is a masterclass in storytelling, and much like its predecessor, delivers an immersive and amazing experience. The graphics and particularly the art style of Columbia look gorgeous; Irrational Games really nailed it when it came to the setting. The sound design and music really fit in well with the 1910's American streampunk style. I absolutely love the concept andBioShock Infinite is a masterclass in storytelling, and much like its predecessor, delivers an immersive and amazing experience. The graphics and particularly the art style of Columbia look gorgeous; Irrational Games really nailed it when it came to the setting. The sound design and music really fit in well with the 1910's American streampunk style. I absolutely love the concept and storytelling the game delivers, and along with the first BioShock, both games deliver original and captivating stories that handle strong themes that is accompanied by quality voice acting. Unfortunately, it is not without its few shortcoming that prevent it from being a perfect 10. Mainly, it's the fact that the game is average as a first-person shooter. It does a good job at innovating, in which it replaces plasmids with vigors, and the inclusion of the sky-hook system. However, it doesn't prevent many new scenarios at you. Most of the time you are killing enemies with guns, vigors, your hook, or whatever, and barely branches out past that. At harder difficulties, enemies can become bullet sponges, meaning that the only way to beat them is to shoot repeatedly at them. Also, you can only yield two weapons at a time which restricts freedom for the player on how they deal with the enemies. Those are my only complaints thus far. The characters of Infinite are one of the most interesting and believable characters in video games, in fact I slightly like them more as compared to the original game. Overall, BioShock Infinite met my expectations and in some aspects I like it even more than the BioShock back in 2007. Even though I found a few complaints here and there, that doesn't deny the fact that this game is a masterpiece. Expand
  25. Oct 17, 2017
    9
    Bioshock Infinite foi meu primeiro game da trilogia e o último lançado, porém se tratando de um prequel, e definitivamente um dos melhores jogos que eu joguei na geração passada.
    O jogo se passa na cidade fictícia Columbia, que é uma cidade flutuante comandada por um profeta, nós controlamos Booker Dewitt, um homem enviado para resgatar uma garota chamada Elisabeth, a primeira coisa que
    Bioshock Infinite foi meu primeiro game da trilogia e o último lançado, porém se tratando de um prequel, e definitivamente um dos melhores jogos que eu joguei na geração passada.
    O jogo se passa na cidade fictícia Columbia, que é uma cidade flutuante comandada por um profeta, nós controlamos Booker Dewitt, um homem enviado para resgatar uma garota chamada Elisabeth, a primeira coisa que eu quero destacar é como soa natural a relação de Booker com Elisabeth, eles realmente parecem pessoas na situação em que estão, os personagens são muito cativantes e convincentes.
    A jogabilidade é bem completa e funciona muito bem, não tive problema nenhum durante minha experiência, os gráficos são muito bonitos e mais um destaque, dessa vez para o level design, Columbia foi projetada de uma maneira magnífica, a cidade é muito viva e bonita. A trilha sonora também é escolhida a dedo, e me fez procurar e escutar várias vezes, principalmente a performance da música Will the Circle be Unbroken, de Johnny Cash cantada pela Elisabeth (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwFCc4-1scY), A inteligência artificial é muito bem feita, os inimigos buscam maneiras diferentes de te derrotar, oque é facilitado pela vida do personagem de início ser bem baixa (Dica: invista muito em seu HP), creio que o único ponto negativo do jogo ao meu ver seja a falta de um modo multiplayer, que sinceramente não faz falta, já que o jogador com certeza vai querer jogar mais de uma vez de vez em quando pra relembrar algumas partes memoráveis do jogo.
    Gamertag: MVRQ
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. May 27, 2013
    98
    An instant classic that should be kept in a special place in every gamer's collection.
  2. May 11, 2013
    87
    BioShock Infinite is a sure-fire game-of-the-year candidate, and definitely one of the standout single-player games of this generation.
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    70
    Fuzzy-headed narrative and thematically irrelevant auxiliary mechanics make Infinite feel sloppy even when it's working. Combat increases in frequency and decreases in impact after the Hall of Heroes, so for most of its length the game sinks towards a deflated ending rather than rising towards a climax. However, that slow descent starts from a great height, so there is still much to value in Infinite even as it drowns in its own shortcomings.