Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1517 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thrust into the year 1912, players take on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, who has traveled to the flying city of Columbia on a rescue mission. His target is Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned since her childhood years. During their bold escape, Booker and Elizabeth form aThrust into the year 1912, players take on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, who has traveled to the flying city of Columbia on a rescue mission. His target is Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned since her childhood years. During their bold escape, Booker and Elizabeth form a powerful bond -- one which lets Booker enhance his own abilities with her world-altering control over the environment. As a team, they fight from high-speed Sky-Lines, in the streets and houses of Columbia, on giant Zeppelins and in the clouds, while simultaneously learning to harness an growing arsenal of weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Infinite is more than a new setting, story, and characters; those elements are seamlessly integrated with complex themes, a mysterious plot, and entertaining combat to create an amazing experience from beginning to end. Familiar threads run through it – a lighthouse, a strange city, a charismatic antagonist – but they are homages to the past rather than attempts to recycle it. The core of Infinite is unlike anything else on land, sea, or air.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    A game you can lose yourself in for hours, only looking away to wonder where the time has gone. It is one of this generations great games, as simple as that.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    100
    BioShock Infinite is an excellent game and will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. Once you finish the game it will make you play the original BioShock all over again, which is truly saying something about this release.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    94
    A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay. It trips over itself in a couple of spots, but not in any way that should keep you from embracing it with your utmost enthusiasm.
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    91
    It’s a well-crafted experience that’s certainly more than the sum of its parts, even if those parts are by and large pretty damn good. It’s a satisfying and intriguing experience from top to bottom, and something that’s well worth checking out.
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    90
    Elizabeth is easily one of the best characters to come out of gaming this generation, and Irrational Games, and her actress(es) did an excellent job bringing her to the small screen.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    Bioshock Infinite attempts an Uncharted style relationship between two characters. It doesn’t work as well as it needs to. Booker DeWitt, ably if not unremarkably acted by Troy Baker, would be a fine figure in a novel or a movie. But in a game driven by his relationship with Elizabeth, Bioshock Infinite snags on the issue of a third-person protagonist in a first-person game. What does Booker look like? How does he feel? How is he reacting to what Elizabeth tells him? What does he do when I press X to “comfort Elizabeth”? Is there any subtext when he makes a choice? How do they look at each other? An actor’s face belongs here. There isn’t one.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 412
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    I loved the original Bioshock when it came out in 2007. That the pace of the plot evaporated after the twist mattered not one jot, the gameI loved the original Bioshock when it came out in 2007. That the pace of the plot evaporated after the twist mattered not one jot, the game delivered deep in something sadly missing from many games today atmosphere. Bioshock 2 I also enjoyed in 2010, with the way that it opened up more, and gave a spin on events in Rapture of its own accord, but it never stunned like the original. After seeing the first trailers for Bioshock Infinite 2 years ago, I was hoping for something that would deliver in all key areas of a great game i was not disappointed!! Presentation is generally excellent for the 360, the loads being minimal and fairly fast. The graphics are beautiful in the way that they are executed and the imagination behind them, and if there is the occasional pop-in of objects or textures, and an odd moment of frame rate stutter, it never affects the gameplay. Sound design is on another level though, completely the voice actors do a sterling job, the sound effects are eerie in their delivery, and coupled with the amazing soundtrack which at times evokes memories of Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, amongst other things. The soundtrack is a loud, cluttered and often blustering bundle of objects that does what its supposed to it fills in the spaces that the graphics depend on to deliver the whole 'feel' so to speak. And so to the gameplay, which is where I have to state that this latest entry in the Bioshock series truly is the best so far. There are a handful of neat gimmicks put into the game at key points (the skyhooks, the tears in time), which when coupled with some familiar aspects (the vigors you may have seen before, and the weaponry), makes for some compulsive First-Person shooter gameplay however, the final ingredient, the one that makes this game truly great, and probably one of this years' best (and probably the decades I'm going to state right now!!) is the plot thundering through on some riffs from Alan Moore (think sparks of League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and Watchmen), and some very clear influences from Terry Gilliam (Brazil, 12 Monkeys), and many more I could mention, the whole thing moves from scene to scene, and never ever detaches the player from the game I've said this before, but if this were a book (the whole thing certainly feels like a graphic novel) you'd be up until 4 in the morning reading it!! The last time I played a game that truly made me want to get to the end, to see the whole thing, and know what was going on so much, was either Shadow of the Colossus or Half Life 2, so I think you can understand how highly I rate this game. i could write more, but alas, I'm on my second playthrough of the cursed game you see, and I want to get back to it, so I'll finish with this it is the best single-player campaign game I have played in years, it threatens to overflow with the wealth of ideas bursting forth, and even if you don't think you'll enjoy it, you have to give it at least a try. One utterly superb game. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    All I need to say is, as of this writing, 805 users think this is a great game. I concur, and there's a near 90% chance you will to... if theAll I need to say is, as of this writing, 805 users think this is a great game. I concur, and there's a near 90% chance you will to... if the user ratings are any judge.

    In all honesty, this is one of the most visually stunning games to grace the Xbox 360. Audio is superb with a soundtrack so beautiful that it's been playing on my iTunes on repeat for the past few months now. Voice acting is equally excellent, though I am NOT listening to it on iTunes... Gameplay is what you've come to expect from Bioshock although you're only able to carry 2 weapons at a time and have 2 abilities mapped at a time which takes a little of the OP feel that I enjoyed from the first Bioshock away from the game when you get toward then end. This winds up being irrelevant however, mostly because of how outstanding every other aspect of this game is. Simply put, stop reading my review and go play this game if you haven't already... and play it again if you have. Bring them the girl... wipe away the debt!
    Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    One of the most overhated games of all time. A lot of people give this game crap because it's different from the first game and more like aOne of the most overhated games of all time. A lot of people give this game crap because it's different from the first game and more like a generic shooter 1. That's a good thing if it was all the same it would get boring like call of duty and assassins creed. 2. Complete **** this is far from a generic shooter and I will explain that later. On to the review, let's start with story. Just like the first game your brought to a lighthouse in the ocean but this time it's in 1912 instead of 1960 and there's no plane crash, instead your on a boat with two mysterious people. The protagonists name is Booker Dewitt, he needs to find a girl named Elizabeth and bring her to New York to wipe away some sort of unspecified debt. This lighthouse launches him up into the sky to Columbia. Columbia's look is based off of that of the worlds fairs. But this city is run by a crazy cult leader named Zachary Comstock who isn't as cool as Andrew Ryan, but effective enough by the end. He runs the city through extreme religion and nationalism. It's also very racist, but that's by default because it takes place in 1912. It doesn't go deep into racism like other people think. But the city knows that you aren't supposed to be there and you have to protect yourself. Once you rescue Elizabeth you and her try to adventure out of Columbia and go to New York, but weird things happen and everything gets involved in the religious origins of the city, alternate universes, why the characters are what they are. It's extremely well told, every character shows emotion and is perfectly acted. I recommend turning on the subtitles to pay attention to everything the characters say. At first you may be confused, but once you understand it, it's really freaking cool and it's amazing how they made such an intricate plot with little to no holes, at least none that I could find. It made sense to me and should to you also as long as you really pay attention. Now for the reason everyone hates this game, the gameplay. It's like the first game where you have guns and superpowers and loot and collect stuff. But it approaches these ideas in a completely different way. You have to remember this isn't a survival horror game like the first one it's more like a swashbuckling action game. But it's not full of scripted sequences, linear hallway levels and bland enemies like many haters say it is. Many things are taken away or simplified. There are no power to the people machines, instead you just buy the same upgrades with money. But you can't get all upgrades in one playthrough so it at least upgrades. The vigors (plasmids) are all given to you and you also buy there upgrades instead of upgrading them with Adam. Just like weapons you have to play it multiple times to see them all. And three tonic categories? Replaced with 4 gear slots. But instead of buying them you have to find them and you don't have to stop at a gene bank to switch them around, you can do it on the go for different situations and there's only gear per slot, and they have bigger affects than tonics. It's different and brings in new strategies for the gameplay. They removed picture taking, hacking is dumbed down to possession, and a few other things are taken away. But it doesn't take away without giving back. There's the skyhook, which is way better than the wrench(but not as cool as the drill) it can be combined bizzarely with other vigors and gears for interesting results, it can be used for gory executions which is enertaining. You can also fly up to freight hooks to get vantage points. The skyline is also awesome and changes things up. It works the way it should and you can fly around the battlefield gracefully and gives access to so many unique battle opportunities. Then there's Elizabeth who will help you find supplies, and also give you supplies. But she doesn't give you an unfair advantage over everybody, many times she will say "sorry that's all I've got". She can also summon many things from alternate universes called tears to bring in tesla coils to electrocute enemies, health packs, and many other things. The enemies are bizarre and diverse, from handymans to robo washingtons with mini guns. The gameplay is fun and diverse and highly replayable with lots of opportunity and feels different and fresh. The graphics aren't realistic but enhance the scale and beautiful vistas of this floating city. Everything sounds cool and badass and keeps you in the right mood at the right times, sound effects, music, etc. This game is different but equally as good as the original. If your tired of boring copy and paste shooters every year and want something unique and refreshing, than I absolutely recommend this game and is well worth whatever price you pay (it's like 20 bucks nowadays) This game and Dishonored are also proof that not every triple A title needs goddamn tacked on multiplayer to be worth buying! Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Simply amazing game, everything about it is just so polished and refined. only complaint is the some of the gun battles in the middle feel aSimply amazing game, everything about it is just so polished and refined. only complaint is the some of the gun battles in the middle feel a bit forced, overall though a fantastic experience. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    This game is better than i thought. Although i thought it was way over rated at first i was wrong. Very very wrong in so many ways. Although iThis game is better than i thought. Although i thought it was way over rated at first i was wrong. Very very wrong in so many ways. Although i will still say that the gameplay isnt the greatest. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    Empezando a jugarlo, hasta el momento es un juego muy bello e imaginativo, pero siento ke le falta mucho de lo siniestro de las anterioresEmpezando a jugarlo, hasta el momento es un juego muy bello e imaginativo, pero siento ke le falta mucho de lo siniestro de las anteriores entregas, parece por momentos a nivel shooter una especie de bulletstorm clone, y el eve se gasta de boleto sobre todo al princiopio del juego, flojera de ke haya poco dinero y todo caro... la solución? Ponte a revisar hasta el último cajón de los muebles de este enorme mundo por unas moneditas, este juego le perdono todo esto por ser parte de una de las sagas mas legendarias en el mundo de los juegos aparte de la estupenda dirección artistica que se trae. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    I enjoyed the first Bioshocks (and loved the original System Shock). This game... well, the best you can say is that the graphics aren't bad.I enjoyed the first Bioshocks (and loved the original System Shock). This game... well, the best you can say is that the graphics aren't bad. They also aren't great, but, hey. Not bad. As game mechanics go, this is your classical "run to an objective, fight the same boring wave of enemies, oh, here's a boss" tripe that gets vomited out by incompetent studios all over the globe. In this case, it's so depressingly ineptly implemented, it'd be funny if it was any worse. Aiming and targeting are finicky and look artificial, enemy animations are incredibly jerky and there is no walk-bounce. Terribly in a first-person shooter, kills immersion if you linearly float through the world. The weapon and vigor system is boring and predictable, the interaction with the world is limited to picking up salt, health and money, and the story is inconsistent, full of holes and above all boring as hell. Stay away, stay far away. Expand

See all 412 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.